Project Gotham Racing 3 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 159 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The original Kudos challenge: Powersliding, pulling off a 360, getting airtime, staying on the race line, drafting, and getting up on two wheels will earn gamers Kudos points for their style and skill. Take the wheel of more than 80 authentically modeled and licensed supercars fromThe original Kudos challenge: Powersliding, pulling off a 360, getting airtime, staying on the race line, drafting, and getting up on two wheels will earn gamers Kudos points for their style and skill. Take the wheel of more than 80 authentically modeled and licensed supercars from manufacturers such as Ferrari, Dodge, and Lamborghini with fully modeled interiors, functioning dashboards and individually recorded engine roars. Drive in New York, Tokyo, and many other cities, all brought to life with motion-captured crowds of people. Show off in front of a global audience. With GothamTV, gamers can watch any player in the world on live news feeds, get live ticker-tape information when friends break records, and compete with anyone, anywhere, anytime. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 100
    With stellar Xbox Live integration and an almost infinite number of ways to play the game Project Gotham Racing 3 is the definition of what next-gen gaming should be.
  2. Everything is gorgeous from the city streets to the cars themselves, it’s definitely eye candy (at least running at 1080i).
  3. The lack of gameplay innovation in the series keeps it from soaring into the stratosphere, but for shear driving fun, Project Gotham Racing delivers.
  4. The amount of cars to buy and collect is staggering. PGR 3 proves that sequels can be better if time is taken and its done right.
  5. 90
    From mind blowing graphics and lighting effects and the brilliant experience of speed, and the enormous amount of vehicle choices and racing options.
  6. PGR 2.5 would have been a more suitable name, since there is not that much new. The drop dead gorgeous graphics make the game a wet dream for sports car enthusiasts. Easy to handle, beautiful to look at. I can live with that. [Dec 2005]
  7. The developers at Bizarre Creations have made a beautiful thing, but they've given you no reason to enjoy it. [Feb 2006, p.87]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 45
  2. Negative: 10 out of 45
  1. alexthuku
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    I set in my room for hours wasting my short stupid life wondering how a racing similuation could get any better than this. at first i feltI set in my room for hours wasting my short stupid life wondering how a racing similuation could get any better than this. at first i felt like the game was picking on me with its difficulty but once i mastered the scheme my mind almost exploded from the pure entertainment.the games graphics are insane i have no idea how they did it but they did it and when they did they did it with nice frames. i love it if it was a woman i would be erected Expand
  2. Daz
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    This game is AMAZING especially on xbox live. The environments look brilliant even on a normal TV. I spent 100 hours on PGR2 and i think iThis game is AMAZING especially on xbox live. The environments look brilliant even on a normal TV. I spent 100 hours on PGR2 and i think i will equal or even beat that on PGR3. I also have perfect dark zero which i think is very good but i've hardly played it because PGR3 is so great. Highly recommended Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    My first PGR game (played MSR on Dreamcast before).
    A very good arcade game, good graphics, great cars ... just a cool game that takes some
    My first PGR game (played MSR on Dreamcast before).
    A very good arcade game, good graphics, great cars ... just a cool game that takes some skill to master - Epic drifts !
    Collapse
  4. TiagoB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, but really poor user interface and offline mode.
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    I have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80I have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80 cars as opposed to Project Gotham Racing 2's 100+, these cars are not only the rarest, but also have a great amount of detail. The real improvement to the series was the addition of the interior camera. It adds so much depth to the game, because now you can't necessarily see the next corner as clearly as an outside view. The photo mode is also a cool edition, you can get some really good shots. The only reason this game doesn't get a 10/10 is because of the music selection and the limited amount of cars. I hope to soon get Project Gotham 4 and do a hopefully positive review on that. Expand
  6. StevietheK
    Jan 2, 2007
    6
    Beautiful looking, ordinary in play. For example, compare it to Forza Motorsport on the xbox - which provides slightly less detail on the Beautiful looking, ordinary in play. For example, compare it to Forza Motorsport on the xbox - which provides slightly less detail on the backgrounds, but a much more immersive simulation. Crash your car in PGR and all you have to do is gear down to first and get going. In Forza, you deal with crash damage and impaired performance. You also get to tune nearly any aspect of the car. Combining these critical gamelay differences with the excruciatingly slow load times and ponderous (but flashy!) menus, and you've got the racing game equivalent of a supermodel - all looks, no fun. Expand
  7. Gery
    Dec 17, 2005
    0
    MS are shhoting themselves in the foot for charging the xbox community 49.99 gor such a sub starndard game. and the thing is that all future MS are shhoting themselves in the foot for charging the xbox community 49.99 gor such a sub starndard game. and the thing is that all future crap games are all gonna be priced at the $50 mark, this is just an awful game Expand

See all 45 User Reviews