Project Gotham Racing 3 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 156 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The original Kudos challenge: Powersliding, pulling off a 360, getting airtime, staying on the race line, drafting, and getting up on two wheels will earn gamers Kudos points for their style and skill. Take the wheel of more than 80 authentically modeled and licensed supercars fromThe original Kudos challenge: Powersliding, pulling off a 360, getting airtime, staying on the race line, drafting, and getting up on two wheels will earn gamers Kudos points for their style and skill. Take the wheel of more than 80 authentically modeled and licensed supercars from manufacturers such as Ferrari, Dodge, and Lamborghini with fully modeled interiors, functioning dashboards and individually recorded engine roars. Drive in New York, Tokyo, and many other cities, all brought to life with motion-captured crowds of people. Show off in front of a global audience. With GothamTV, gamers can watch any player in the world on live news feeds, get live ticker-tape information when friends break records, and compete with anyone, anywhere, anytime. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 100
    Excels at being both a brilliant showpiece of the power of Microsoft's new console as well as a thoroughly enjoyable racer.
  2. Everything is gorgeous from the city streets to the cars themselves, it’s definitely eye candy (at least running at 1080i).
  3. 91
    Just about the most involving and exciting arcade-sim racing experience yet. Its amazing graphics and sound show off the true power of the Xbox 360. So is it perfect? Not quite. The one problem with PGR3 is the length of its single player Gotham Career.
  4. 90
    If you're looking for a deep racing Sim with a community of opponents ready to go 24 hours a day, this is your game. It's easy on the eyes and a blast to play.
  5. 90
    From mind blowing graphics and lighting effects and the brilliant experience of speed, and the enormous amount of vehicle choices and racing options.
  6. PGR 2.5 would have been a more suitable name, since there is not that much new. The drop dead gorgeous graphics make the game a wet dream for sports car enthusiasts. Easy to handle, beautiful to look at. I can live with that. [Dec 2005]
  7. The developers at Bizarre Creations have made a beautiful thing, but they've given you no reason to enjoy it. [Feb 2006, p.87]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 44
  2. Negative: 10 out of 44
  1. alexthuku
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    I set in my room for hours wasting my short stupid life wondering how a racing similuation could get any better than this. at first i feltI set in my room for hours wasting my short stupid life wondering how a racing similuation could get any better than this. at first i felt like the game was picking on me with its difficulty but once i mastered the scheme my mind almost exploded from the pure entertainment.the games graphics are insane i have no idea how they did it but they did it and when they did they did it with nice frames. i love it if it was a woman i would be erected Expand
  2. Daz
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    This game is AMAZING especially on xbox live. The environments look brilliant even on a normal TV. I spent 100 hours on PGR2 and i think iThis game is AMAZING especially on xbox live. The environments look brilliant even on a normal TV. I spent 100 hours on PGR2 and i think i will equal or even beat that on PGR3. I also have perfect dark zero which i think is very good but i've hardly played it because PGR3 is so great. Highly recommended Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    My first PGR game (played MSR on Dreamcast before).
    A very good arcade game, good graphics, great cars ... just a cool game that takes some
    My first PGR game (played MSR on Dreamcast before).
    A very good arcade game, good graphics, great cars ... just a cool game that takes some skill to master - Epic drifts !
    Expand
  4. TiagoB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Great gameplay, great graphics, great sound, but really poor user interface and offline mode.
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    I have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80I have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80 cars as opposed to Project Gotham Racing 2's 100+, these cars are not only the rarest, but also have a great amount of detail. The real improvement to the series was the addition of the interior camera. It adds so much depth to the game, because now you can't necessarily see the next corner as clearly as an outside view. The photo mode is also a cool edition, you can get some really good shots. The only reason this game doesn't get a 10/10 is because of the music selection and the limited amount of cars. I hope to soon get Project Gotham 4 and do a hopefully positive review on that. Expand
  6. Mr.Review
    Sep 21, 2006
    6
    I do not want to turn away readers by this considerably lower score, but I fail to see the true and fantastic appeal of Project Gotham Racing I do not want to turn away readers by this considerably lower score, but I fail to see the true and fantastic appeal of Project Gotham Racing 3. Yes, it is undeniable the production values are outstanding; including the graphics and depth which this racing game evokes. PGR has always been known for blurring the line between arcade and simulation, and the gameplay witnessed here is none different from the sequel on an inferior console from two years ago. With that said, the online portion of PGR3 is astonishingly deep and cohesive. My main problem is in fact the gameplay, the entire slow moving mechanics and such which turned me away from other popular simulation racers. PGR3 is not about speed, nor is it about a host of unlockable content pleasing fans for months to come. PGR3 is about realistic racing and none less, offering an extremely respectable online service, a nice system of upgrading and levelling, and other various means of differentiating this title from others. The main problems remain in its lackluster direction; I expect more out of a next gen title than simply a revoked online experience. With all these additions noted, PGR3 remains monotonous and average due to the lackluster racing and actual gameplay. If the game ran better with the mechanics and such, I could respect it more. It is not the worst offering on 360 by any means, but i may be in the minority by saying PGR3 is the worst racing title on 360 as of current. Too much of the same, too much of mediocre slow gameplay. Expand
  7. Gery
    Dec 17, 2005
    0
    MS are shhoting themselves in the foot for charging the xbox community 49.99 gor such a sub starndard game. and the thing is that all future MS are shhoting themselves in the foot for charging the xbox community 49.99 gor such a sub starndard game. and the thing is that all future crap games are all gonna be priced at the $50 mark, this is just an awful game Expand

See all 44 User Reviews