Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 151 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The original Kudos challenge: Powersliding, pulling off a 360, getting airtime, staying on the race line, drafting, and getting up on two wheels will earn gamers Kudos points for their style and skill. Take the wheel of more than 80 authentically modeled and licensed supercars from manufacturers such as Ferrari, Dodge, and Lamborghini with fully modeled interiors, functioning dashboards and individually recorded engine roars. Drive in New York, Tokyo, and many other cities, all brought to life with motion-captured crowds of people. Show off in front of a global audience. With GothamTV, gamers can watch any player in the world on live news feeds, get live ticker-tape information when friends break records, and compete with anyone, anywhere, anytime. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 100
    Excels at being both a brilliant showpiece of the power of Microsoft's new console as well as a thoroughly enjoyable racer.
  2. Everything is gorgeous from the city streets to the cars themselves, it’s definitely eye candy (at least running at 1080i).
  3. 91
    Just about the most involving and exciting arcade-sim racing experience yet. Its amazing graphics and sound show off the true power of the Xbox 360. So is it perfect? Not quite. The one problem with PGR3 is the length of its single player Gotham Career.
  4. 90
    If you're looking for a deep racing Sim with a community of opponents ready to go 24 hours a day, this is your game. It's easy on the eyes and a blast to play.
  5. 90
    From mind blowing graphics and lighting effects and the brilliant experience of speed, and the enormous amount of vehicle choices and racing options.
  6. PGR 2.5 would have been a more suitable name, since there is not that much new. The drop dead gorgeous graphics make the game a wet dream for sports car enthusiasts. Easy to handle, beautiful to look at. I can live with that. [Dec 2005]
  7. The developers at Bizarre Creations have made a beautiful thing, but they've given you no reason to enjoy it. [Feb 2006, p.87]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 43
  2. Negative: 10 out of 43
  1. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    This game defines what makes a good RACING game. It's all about precision. Hardcore difficulty requires you to be better than abosolutely perfect. Very difficult, very fun, challenging but rewarding. No customisation, no assists. How it should be. A fair playing field, with the better cars require more car control skill. It is very fun to drive for both drifting and precision with a lot less focus on racing against the AI. If you're the kind of gamer who wants a game which is all about visuals and holding down the trigger rather than apex-perfect precision, than avoid this. If you want pure racing with fantastic driving mechanics which is purely centred around perfection, this is the best racing game EVER. Let's not forget that PGR 3 was released with the Xbox 360 in November 2005. And what a game. It was the first truly 7th generation racing game. It features party modes (as seen in DiRT 3) for a good mess with friends, split-screen local gameplay, a career mode, achievements, medals and a variety of modes & tracks for TrueSkill ranked matchmaking. Everything is pretty much perfectly designed- difficulty, driving physics, graphics, controls, cars, tracks, multiplayer (including tournaments), interior view (which not many games had at the time and even still not all do now) etc. Not only is this game flawless in everything it tries to, it's also a benchmark setter. The sense of speed and the graphics of interior car view still remain unmatched even by Forza 4. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    My first PGR game (played MSR on Dreamcast before).
    A very good arcade game, good graphics, great cars ... just a cool game that takes some
    skill to master - Epic drifts ! Expand
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    PGR 3 is a game witch I got from my first Xbox and played it about once, maybe twice then it stayed in my pail of games for 5 to 6 years. Until one day I found it and I had to play it. So did it not deserve the years of been left at the bottom of the pile? Not been a fan of racing games, but this is a realy good game. Good selection of cars, both good and bad. Some great tracks and none of them are bad. Gameplay is pretty good but time to time annoying. Overall really good and sorry if this review is crap, never reviewed a racing game before. Project Gotham Racing 3 8.1/10 Expand
  4. Jul 24, 2011
    7
    I have only owned this game for about two weeks, and I have to say that it is one of the best racing games I have played. Despite only have 80 cars as opposed to Project Gotham Racing 2's 100+, these cars are not only the rarest, but also have a great amount of detail. The real improvement to the series was the addition of the interior camera. It adds so much depth to the game, because now you can't necessarily see the next corner as clearly as an outside view. The photo mode is also a cool edition, you can get some really good shots. The only reason this game doesn't get a 10/10 is because of the music selection and the limited amount of cars. I hope to soon get Project Gotham 4 and do a hopefully positive review on that. Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2014
    6
    A fun enough game for the start of a consoles life but has since been overshadowed by many games. The two things I remember, beyond the fun drifting, was the terrible out of game interface and how the car design/graphics didn't seem to fit with the background art/graphics, it's like the cars and backgrounds were made by different teams and they both look good but just don't really mix together. Overall this game was only worth playing back when it was released. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2010
    3
    This was one of the original launch games for the Xbox 360 and people used it to prove how good the console could make games look. First off, while it does look pretty good, I felt like the game itself was complete garbage. Everyone got the same car, the fastest one in the game, and raced it over and over and it was awful online. The single player was the most repetitive and uninteresting modes around. I'm usually not so harsh on a game, but this one is just no fun at all. Expand

See all 43 User Reviews