Prototype Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 352 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 352
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoshM
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic. However, definitely for the hardcore gamer. There is so much to do control wise, chaining everything together, that when you really have it down and the combat flows...wow, just amazing. So Much Fun. But, if you are not "good at gaming" you will likely become frustrated.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Im always very wary about giving a game 10 out of 10 because sometimes it can seem like a knee jerk reaction,something new and exciting comes along and blows you away and for that brief moment its the best thing since the last best thing which blew you away and has now become a 7 out of 10 and ready for trade in.I bought prototype on its initial release and i loved it,the freedom,theIm always very wary about giving a game 10 out of 10 because sometimes it can seem like a knee jerk reaction,something new and exciting comes along and blows you away and for that brief moment its the best thing since the last best thing which blew you away and has now become a 7 out of 10 and ready for trade in.I bought prototype on its initial release and i loved it,the freedom,the violence,the graphics,sound and story all came together beautifully and crafted an amazing game with so many new features and extras it was sometimes hard to keep up.After finishing the game i did the inevitable and traded it in,i always had good memorys about prototype and that feeling i got when falling from buildings(you know the one).Having seen the game for a good price i re-bought it and i am loving it. Its suprising how the way you approach and play games changes over a couple of years, and i can now say i am enjoying this game more then the first time i had it-the graphics may have aged slightly but the gameplay remains as sharp as anything on the market.Its definatley a game that rewards exploration and doing that little bit extra ends up giving so much more.This gets the heart pumping and still has that wow factor.A definate classic and maybe a genre defining one....until prototype 2. Expand
  3. MarcelW.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    This game is simply awesome... I've been waiting for it since its first trailer and all my expectation are funlfilled... Its simply fun running and slicing through the city on the search of Alex' memories... The Game has also tons of content like sidemisssions(running,fighting,jumping,absorbing),unlockable moves,hided Orbs and Waypoints... Its definitely one of the best in 09!!
  4. andrewweb
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Stunning game!!! do not be put off by the idiots that give this a low rating. Believe the hype :)
  5. DerekGerig
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    So far it is the best game of 09' however I can't wait till the fall games are realeased to us.
  6. PM
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    All powerful, great sandbox game. Like Crackdown in GTA IV. Wonder why Crackdown was not credited. If you're as excited by Crackdown 2 as I am, Prototype will be a great warm up. If you just love an exciting game full of action and freedom you will still love Prototype.
  7. BenL
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    A highly addictive fast action slasher with enough events, collectibles and upgrades to stay busy for a while.
  8. JoelK
    Jun 13, 2009
    8
    Here's the thing about the graphics - they have almost no effect on the gameplay. And this is the story with 90% of all graphics complaints about games. If I wanted fantastic graphics, I'd just look at screen shots. But unless they affect the gameplay, I don't care. What I want is a fun game, and Prototype is that. Who cares about bland building when you can run up all of Here's the thing about the graphics - they have almost no effect on the gameplay. And this is the story with 90% of all graphics complaints about games. If I wanted fantastic graphics, I'd just look at screen shots. But unless they affect the gameplay, I don't care. What I want is a fun game, and Prototype is that. Who cares about bland building when you can run up all of them and fly over them? My only complaints are the somewhat flunky controls and the pretty worthless targeting system. But the game is about insane, comic-book style combat, and it is a blast. Expand
  9. samaz
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    INFAMOUS was good this one is better! open world massive action great game
  10. SeanM.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    Frantic and fun. The stealth feels tacked on, but the thousands of moves and close combat more than makes up for it. The best game purchase I have made in a long time.
  11. ChrisC
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    The only thing holding me back from giving this game a perfect 10 is the somewhat iffy targeting system. The open world was beautifully executed, and the story is fantastic. I am currently in a game design program at my college, and the best compliment I can give this game was my thought when first putting the disc in: "THIS is why I am in school for this stuff." The game isn't The only thing holding me back from giving this game a perfect 10 is the somewhat iffy targeting system. The open world was beautifully executed, and the story is fantastic. I am currently in a game design program at my college, and the best compliment I can give this game was my thought when first putting the disc in: "THIS is why I am in school for this stuff." The game isn't perfect, but it is very good. This is the first game since Fallout 3 that I have honestly felt was WORTH the 60 dollar price tag. I have spent well over 20 hours gliding around the city, stealing tanks, causing mayhem, and just having fun in general. I look forward to additional content in the future - after I stop playing around in the world long enough to actually finish the storyline!! Expand
  12. ZaxD.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    This game
  13. JF
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Great game, most fun I've had playing a video game for quite some time. Gameplay is amazing and I can't think of anything else which comes close to it's insanely frantic pace. I don't see what's so bad about the graphics looks superb and with all the stuff happening on screen its not like you have much time to pay attention to how shiny something may be. All in Great game, most fun I've had playing a video game for quite some time. Gameplay is amazing and I can't think of anything else which comes close to it's insanely frantic pace. I don't see what's so bad about the graphics looks superb and with all the stuff happening on screen its not like you have much time to pay attention to how shiny something may be. All in all it's turning out to be one of my favorite games and I don't understand why people are giving it lower than it deserves. Expand
  14. TracyM.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Best action game I've played in years, so much to do, so many powers, it's addicting - I can't put the controller down!!
  15. MattS.
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    Good game overall, bit cliched at points but still very good. -1 point for crap dialog in the beginning
  16. AndrewC.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Fast paced and super gory game!
  17. PixelatedPope
    Jun 9, 2009
    8
    If you've played Spider-Man 2 or Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, you know exactly what you are sitting down to play. This game is just pure, violent fun. That's not to say it doesn't have it's flaws, but the game never fails to offer pure entertainment. Definitely worth a rent if you are unfamiliar with the above mentioned games. And if you enjoyed those two games, then If you've played Spider-Man 2 or Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, you know exactly what you are sitting down to play. This game is just pure, violent fun. That's not to say it doesn't have it's flaws, but the game never fails to offer pure entertainment. Definitely worth a rent if you are unfamiliar with the above mentioned games. And if you enjoyed those two games, then pick up Prototype. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  18. DonnyD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Deserves a better grade than Infamous. Has more interesting abilities, you can hijack vehicles. The city looks much better, the game plays much better and faster. The atmosphere of a city in riot is better, the story unfolds better. The Infamous moral choices are lame. Prototype beats Infamous in every way possible, I don't understand why people prefer Infamous. Most people Deserves a better grade than Infamous. Has more interesting abilities, you can hijack vehicles. The city looks much better, the game plays much better and faster. The atmosphere of a city in riot is better, the story unfolds better. The Infamous moral choices are lame. Prototype beats Infamous in every way possible, I don't understand why people prefer Infamous. Most people haven't even played both it seems. Expand
  19. JakeT
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic game, great plot, voice-acting and action. the graphics are in need of a tweak, but this is one of the best sandbox/action games I have ever played, and a great game in its own right.
  20. KeithR.
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    definatly one of the best games i've played in a long time. I think that the people who are crying about it just dont like sandbox style games. They just like halo and everything else is crap
  21. MikeC
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    Epic sandbox violence. True heir to Hulk:UD
  22. May 9, 2012
    9
    Getting enjoyment from Prototype really depends how you're wired, and the more wired you are for destruction and all out OTT chaos the more you'll enjoy it. The game itself is fairly simple - typical sandbox stuff but with the added bonus of super powers thrown in to give you real freedom of movement around the city - nice. Combat is nothing particularly revolutionary either, but it isGetting enjoyment from Prototype really depends how you're wired, and the more wired you are for destruction and all out OTT chaos the more you'll enjoy it. The game itself is fairly simple - typical sandbox stuff but with the added bonus of super powers thrown in to give you real freedom of movement around the city - nice. Combat is nothing particularly revolutionary either, but it is good, very violent + OTT, and when you get into the swing of flying around the city and smashing the absolute frickin **** out of everything it's really hard to put down. That's what Prototype nails more than almost every other game I've played - it absolutely excels in making you feel as if you are one badass muther-chuffer. The stealth element is handled quite well too, something which fits surprisingly nicely into such a chaotic game. Slightly pap graphics aren't good on the eyes, and it can get a bit repetitive at times, but my advice would be for any fan of mass annihilation to give it a whirl. Expand
  23. HagenM.
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    Solid game. Controls are damn near impeccably perfect. The platforming feels sleek and streamlined. This game never has a dull moment.
  24. AlexA.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Masterpiece use of sandbox.
  25. MarkT.
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    I confess this is based on a mere three hours gameplay - but for sheer crazy fun this game is a blast. Sure, read the IGN review and all the criticisms are valid... but it misses the sheer delight you can take in creating amazing carnage. I might add that the sense of a city facing mounting panic as the infection spreads is very compelling... Could graphics have been better? Sure... the I confess this is based on a mere three hours gameplay - but for sheer crazy fun this game is a blast. Sure, read the IGN review and all the criticisms are valid... but it misses the sheer delight you can take in creating amazing carnage. I might add that the sense of a city facing mounting panic as the infection spreads is very compelling... Could graphics have been better? Sure... the pedestrians are way too cloned, the vehicles and buildings a little dull. This aint GTAIV. But your powers are such awesome over the top manic fun, the joy of running up buildings , leaping and gliding so great, that all is forgiven. This is simple gaming goodness. Expand
  26. DanL.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Crackdown on steroids and speed. good controls and compelling story a safe buy and at par with infamous.
  27. johnk
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    Would have been a 9 or a 10 if it wasn't single player only and relatively short for £40! Great game but make sure you hire it unless you have a thing for hunting orbs!
  28. ChrisJ.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    It's an amazing game and it is always fun, no two things ever turn out the same (yet) and is providing much needed entertainment, goodbye HSC Hello Prototype!
  29. CodyB.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    The graphics aren't the greatest but that is more than okay since the gameplay blows everything else out of the water. 1UP's reviewer needs to get and enema to flush whatever is up his "you know what". This game is pure unadulterated fun. PERIOD!!!
  30. BobC.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Who's the dimwit at 1Up that gave this amazing open world game with the 1st TRUE bad ass anti-hero EVER such a low score??? I guess Activision didn't treat him well, all the other reviews are so much higher. I just played thru the first few missions and its fun as hell....Can't wait to get back into it tomorrow. Enjoy fellow Mercerites :)
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. 90
    I can't wait to go play some more. I suspect that some people will find their enthusiasm drained more than mine by the shallow enemy gene pool, but even they're bound to get swept away by the myriad pleasures of tearing up town as a ghoulish and preternaturally fleet-footed shape-shifter.
  2. One of the best games to release this generation and is definitely the best game to drop in 2009 (so far). Outside of the lackluster stealth and disguising mechanic, the brutal combat, huge open-world, varied challenges, and utterly satisfying gameplay makes this a must-have title for any serious gamer's collection. Get ready to put your life on hold!
  3. The insane amount of strength, skills and powers you get in the game is amazing and the game does a great job of making you feel like you’re really in control of a truly powerful being.