Prototype Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 352 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 352
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarcelW.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    This game is simply awesome... I've been waiting for it since its first trailer and all my expectation are funlfilled... Its simply fun running and slicing through the city on the search of Alex' memories... The Game has also tons of content like sidemisssions(running,fighting,jumping,absorbing),unlockable moves,hided Orbs and Waypoints... Its definitely one of the best in 09!!
  2. DerekGerig
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    So far it is the best game of 09' however I can't wait till the fall games are realeased to us.
  3. PM
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    All powerful, great sandbox game. Like Crackdown in GTA IV. Wonder why Crackdown was not credited. If you're as excited by Crackdown 2 as I am, Prototype will be a great warm up. If you just love an exciting game full of action and freedom you will still love Prototype.
  4. samaz
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    INFAMOUS was good this one is better! open world massive action great game
  5. ZaxD.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    This game
  6. JF
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Great game, most fun I've had playing a video game for quite some time. Gameplay is amazing and I can't think of anything else which comes close to it's insanely frantic pace. I don't see what's so bad about the graphics looks superb and with all the stuff happening on screen its not like you have much time to pay attention to how shiny something may be. All in Great game, most fun I've had playing a video game for quite some time. Gameplay is amazing and I can't think of anything else which comes close to it's insanely frantic pace. I don't see what's so bad about the graphics looks superb and with all the stuff happening on screen its not like you have much time to pay attention to how shiny something may be. All in all it's turning out to be one of my favorite games and I don't understand why people are giving it lower than it deserves. Expand
  7. TracyM.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Best action game I've played in years, so much to do, so many powers, it's addicting - I can't put the controller down!!
  8. AndrewC.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Fast paced and super gory game!
  9. AlexA.
    Jun 9, 2009
    10
    Masterpiece use of sandbox.
  10. DonnyD.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Deserves a better grade than Infamous. Has more interesting abilities, you can hijack vehicles. The city looks much better, the game plays much better and faster. The atmosphere of a city in riot is better, the story unfolds better. The Infamous moral choices are lame. Prototype beats Infamous in every way possible, I don't understand why people prefer Infamous. Most people Deserves a better grade than Infamous. Has more interesting abilities, you can hijack vehicles. The city looks much better, the game plays much better and faster. The atmosphere of a city in riot is better, the story unfolds better. The Infamous moral choices are lame. Prototype beats Infamous in every way possible, I don't understand why people prefer Infamous. Most people haven't even played both it seems. Expand
  11. JakeT
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic game, great plot, voice-acting and action. the graphics are in need of a tweak, but this is one of the best sandbox/action games I have ever played, and a great game in its own right.
  12. KeithR.
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    definatly one of the best games i've played in a long time. I think that the people who are crying about it just dont like sandbox style games. They just like halo and everything else is crap
  13. MikeC
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    Epic sandbox violence. True heir to Hulk:UD
  14. CodyB.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    The graphics aren't the greatest but that is more than okay since the gameplay blows everything else out of the water. 1UP's reviewer needs to get and enema to flush whatever is up his "you know what". This game is pure unadulterated fun. PERIOD!!!
  15. BobC.
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Who's the dimwit at 1Up that gave this amazing open world game with the 1st TRUE bad ass anti-hero EVER such a low score??? I guess Activision didn't treat him well, all the other reviews are so much higher. I just played thru the first few missions and its fun as hell....Can't wait to get back into it tomorrow. Enjoy fellow Mercerites :)
  16. AaronG
    Jun 15, 2009
    10
    Game is completely different from anything else to be able to pick up anything and grab a human run with them up a building and from them into mid and and watch them fly into cars...What more could u want this game has everything u need to be a good game and there's never a dull moment.
  17. ElFritzo
    Jun 19, 2009
    10
    The reviews on this page just proved just how biased and utterly useless game reviewers are. X360 Magazine UK need to fire this reviewer, because rediculous comments like that are just sad. F**k the "professionals", its the gamers opinions that matter. This game is awesome fun and innovative in so many ways.
  18. JoshM
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic. However, definitely for the hardcore gamer. There is so much to do control wise, chaining everything together, that when you really have it down and the combat flows...wow, just amazing. So Much Fun. But, if you are not "good at gaming" you will likely become frustrated.
  19. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    it had SUCH an incredible amount of potential!! but all we got was a sloppy,repetitive,bland game... btw! its just another variant of another game called 'The Incredible hulk'... I mean other than the lead character & zombies, everything is ditto to the other game! thus... a lot of expectation,but minimum delivery...
  20. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Im always very wary about giving a game 10 out of 10 because sometimes it can seem like a knee jerk reaction,something new and exciting comes along and blows you away and for that brief moment its the best thing since the last best thing which blew you away and has now become a 7 out of 10 and ready for trade in.I bought prototype on its initial release and i loved it,the freedom,theIm always very wary about giving a game 10 out of 10 because sometimes it can seem like a knee jerk reaction,something new and exciting comes along and blows you away and for that brief moment its the best thing since the last best thing which blew you away and has now become a 7 out of 10 and ready for trade in.I bought prototype on its initial release and i loved it,the freedom,the violence,the graphics,sound and story all came together beautifully and crafted an amazing game with so many new features and extras it was sometimes hard to keep up.After finishing the game i did the inevitable and traded it in,i always had good memorys about prototype and that feeling i got when falling from buildings(you know the one).Having seen the game for a good price i re-bought it and i am loving it. Its suprising how the way you approach and play games changes over a couple of years, and i can now say i am enjoying this game more then the first time i had it-the graphics may have aged slightly but the gameplay remains as sharp as anything on the market.Its definatley a game that rewards exploration and doing that little bit extra ends up giving so much more.This gets the heart pumping and still has that wow factor.A definate classic and maybe a genre defining one....until prototype 2. Expand
  21. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I can only lend my support to TomB's review. I have no wish to waste more of my life on such a disappointing game, beyond meeting the 150 character minimum for this review.

    The developer simply lifted the gameplay, attacks and animations from their previous and vastly superior game Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, then constructed this mess with a minimum of effort, assets or testing. Destroy
    I can only lend my support to TomB's review. I have no wish to waste more of my life on such a disappointing game, beyond meeting the 150 character minimum for this review.

    The developer simply lifted the gameplay, attacks and animations from their previous and vastly superior game Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, then constructed this mess with a minimum of effort, assets or testing. Destroy exactly the same base 20 times over, try to understand the incoherent yet bland plot. The challenge lies in finding a way to enjoy this.
    Expand
  22. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    This game is just amazing and very addictive I just love this game so much and enjoy playing it every single time. The entire game is fantastic I strugle to find any fault in this game maybe as keep playing I might find a fault in the game but at this stage this game is just perfect and so very addictive
  23. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    If you want to feel like you truly have superpowers, buy this game, it blew me away, I've never gone into a game and come out so impressed. Story is great, controls are well thought out and although simple, they allow for user skill as opposed to button mashing.
  24. andrewweb
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Stunning game!!! do not be put off by the idiots that give this a low rating. Believe the hype :)
  25. BenL
    Jun 13, 2009
    9
    A highly addictive fast action slasher with enough events, collectibles and upgrades to stay busy for a while.
  26. SeanM.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    Frantic and fun. The stealth feels tacked on, but the thousands of moves and close combat more than makes up for it. The best game purchase I have made in a long time.
  27. ChrisC
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    The only thing holding me back from giving this game a perfect 10 is the somewhat iffy targeting system. The open world was beautifully executed, and the story is fantastic. I am currently in a game design program at my college, and the best compliment I can give this game was my thought when first putting the disc in: "THIS is why I am in school for this stuff." The game isn't The only thing holding me back from giving this game a perfect 10 is the somewhat iffy targeting system. The open world was beautifully executed, and the story is fantastic. I am currently in a game design program at my college, and the best compliment I can give this game was my thought when first putting the disc in: "THIS is why I am in school for this stuff." The game isn't perfect, but it is very good. This is the first game since Fallout 3 that I have honestly felt was WORTH the 60 dollar price tag. I have spent well over 20 hours gliding around the city, stealing tanks, causing mayhem, and just having fun in general. I look forward to additional content in the future - after I stop playing around in the world long enough to actually finish the storyline!! Expand
  28. MattS.
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    Good game overall, bit cliched at points but still very good. -1 point for crap dialog in the beginning
  29. MarkT.
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    I confess this is based on a mere three hours gameplay - but for sheer crazy fun this game is a blast. Sure, read the IGN review and all the criticisms are valid... but it misses the sheer delight you can take in creating amazing carnage. I might add that the sense of a city facing mounting panic as the infection spreads is very compelling... Could graphics have been better? Sure... the I confess this is based on a mere three hours gameplay - but for sheer crazy fun this game is a blast. Sure, read the IGN review and all the criticisms are valid... but it misses the sheer delight you can take in creating amazing carnage. I might add that the sense of a city facing mounting panic as the infection spreads is very compelling... Could graphics have been better? Sure... the pedestrians are way too cloned, the vehicles and buildings a little dull. This aint GTAIV. But your powers are such awesome over the top manic fun, the joy of running up buildings , leaping and gliding so great, that all is forgiven. This is simple gaming goodness. Expand
  30. DanL.
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    Crackdown on steroids and speed. good controls and compelling story a safe buy and at par with infamous.
  31. ChrisJ.
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    It's an amazing game and it is always fun, no two things ever turn out the same (yet) and is providing much needed entertainment, goodbye HSC Hello Prototype!
  32. GrantR
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    First off, I acknowledge all this game's flaws, just like I did with Sacred 2, and have with every game I've played. With that said, this game was so fun for me that I found easy to forget about them. I'm sure they'll patch the game, or throw in DLC at some point (maybe that co-op mode that they removed from the game before release). Now, what I like the most about First off, I acknowledge all this game's flaws, just like I did with Sacred 2, and have with every game I've played. With that said, this game was so fun for me that I found easy to forget about them. I'm sure they'll patch the game, or throw in DLC at some point (maybe that co-op mode that they removed from the game before release). Now, what I like the most about metacritic is that it shows how schizophrenic and subjective these reviews really are. Many critics hand out the perfect 10s and 9s to shooters without a second glance (Halo 3, Cod4, etc...). They are usually good games, but I can safe without a single doubt that I've had more fun with this and Sacred 2 then i had with Halo or Cod4. The numbers tagged onto these reviews are completely arbitrary. Expand
  33. ryanB
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    Don't listen to the reviewers. there are only two things i do not like about this game and that is the targeting which can sometimes be a pain in the ass, and the shortness of the main story. Other than that this game is just fun and amazing. Climb to the top of the empire state building, glide while your 1,000 feet in the air and then dive into a tank that's on the streets to Don't listen to the reviewers. there are only two things i do not like about this game and that is the targeting which can sometimes be a pain in the ass, and the shortness of the main story. Other than that this game is just fun and amazing. Climb to the top of the empire state building, glide while your 1,000 feet in the air and then dive into a tank that's on the streets to blow it up.... perfect. Expand
  34. SamP
    Jun 19, 2009
    9
    A great game. Admittedly it does have some issues in regards to the parkour and the military can be a bit of a pain. Wasn't what I initially thought it would be but is still an epic game.
  35. RobD
    Nov 4, 2009
    9
    what is wrong with everyone this game is amazing. I think what some people were expecting was for this game to blow them away which explains why it has a 78 which is still really good but seriously COME ON if you can't see that this is a good game then you are not a gamer. Sometimes I swear I'm playing a different game then what others are.
  36. Dec 14, 2010
    9
    If given an option I would have given this game an 8.6/10 but I can't, so it's a 9/10 by round up. As for the game itself, I like the way the story is constructed. You actually have to figure stuff out and it's not spoon-fed to you as you proceed. It's also interesting to note the human you is the bad guy behind all this, but now the virus you wants to kill the virus itself. How ironic. AsIf given an option I would have given this game an 8.6/10 but I can't, so it's a 9/10 by round up. As for the game itself, I like the way the story is constructed. You actually have to figure stuff out and it's not spoon-fed to you as you proceed. It's also interesting to note the human you is the bad guy behind all this, but now the virus you wants to kill the virus itself. How ironic. As for the combat...Its WICKED. The vast amount of powers and options you have for taking people is amazing and your meaty powers can take on anyone, whilest keeping in a vehicle and stealth type of gameplay while not making them bad. The only porblem sometime is that the controls can get in the way a little bit, but this barely ever happens. My only other complaints are that there aren't many collectibles to get, and the city can feel samey and bland, but that's okay because the plus points easily make up for this. Great game. Pick it up if you get the chance. Expand
  37. May 9, 2012
    9
    Getting enjoyment from Prototype really depends how you're wired, and the more wired you are for destruction and all out OTT chaos the more you'll enjoy it. The game itself is fairly simple - typical sandbox stuff but with the added bonus of super powers thrown in to give you real freedom of movement around the city - nice. Combat is nothing particularly revolutionary either, but it isGetting enjoyment from Prototype really depends how you're wired, and the more wired you are for destruction and all out OTT chaos the more you'll enjoy it. The game itself is fairly simple - typical sandbox stuff but with the added bonus of super powers thrown in to give you real freedom of movement around the city - nice. Combat is nothing particularly revolutionary either, but it is good, very violent + OTT, and when you get into the swing of flying around the city and smashing the absolute frickin **** out of everything it's really hard to put down. That's what Prototype nails more than almost every other game I've played - it absolutely excels in making you feel as if you are one badass muther-chuffer. The stealth element is handled quite well too, something which fits surprisingly nicely into such a chaotic game. Slightly pap graphics aren't good on the eyes, and it can get a bit repetitive at times, but my advice would be for any fan of mass annihilation to give it a whirl. Expand
  38. Aug 27, 2015
    9
    This game was a fun play through for me. The gameplay was good, parkour worked well, and it was so satisfying to slice and dice your way through hordes of enemies. However, it's not perfect. I take off points mainly for the story. It was interesting, but after awhile, it looses steam. Also, the stealth mechanics weren't the best. Overall, it's a great game to play, but not entirely perfect.
  39. HagenM.
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    Solid game. Controls are damn near impeccably perfect. The platforming feels sleek and streamlined. This game never has a dull moment.
  40. JoelK
    Jun 13, 2009
    8
    Here's the thing about the graphics - they have almost no effect on the gameplay. And this is the story with 90% of all graphics complaints about games. If I wanted fantastic graphics, I'd just look at screen shots. But unless they affect the gameplay, I don't care. What I want is a fun game, and Prototype is that. Who cares about bland building when you can run up all of Here's the thing about the graphics - they have almost no effect on the gameplay. And this is the story with 90% of all graphics complaints about games. If I wanted fantastic graphics, I'd just look at screen shots. But unless they affect the gameplay, I don't care. What I want is a fun game, and Prototype is that. Who cares about bland building when you can run up all of them and fly over them? My only complaints are the somewhat flunky controls and the pretty worthless targeting system. But the game is about insane, comic-book style combat, and it is a blast. Expand
  41. PixelatedPope
    Jun 9, 2009
    8
    If you've played Spider-Man 2 or Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, you know exactly what you are sitting down to play. This game is just pure, violent fun. That's not to say it doesn't have it's flaws, but the game never fails to offer pure entertainment. Definitely worth a rent if you are unfamiliar with the above mentioned games. And if you enjoyed those two games, then If you've played Spider-Man 2 or Hulk: Ultimate Destruction, you know exactly what you are sitting down to play. This game is just pure, violent fun. That's not to say it doesn't have it's flaws, but the game never fails to offer pure entertainment. Definitely worth a rent if you are unfamiliar with the above mentioned games. And if you enjoyed those two games, then pick up Prototype. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  42. johnk
    Jun 10, 2009
    8
    Would have been a 9 or a 10 if it wasn't single player only and relatively short for £40! Great game but make sure you hire it unless you have a thing for hunting orbs!
  43. jasong
    Jun 14, 2009
    8
    Very good sand box game grusome destructive and fun it would of got a 9 from me if hadent of crashed 3 times in the 3 days that ive played it.okay the graphics aint brilliant but its got some fun missions and the events are fun good stuff please get a patch out to iron out bugs.
  44. JacobC
    Jun 15, 2009
    8
    To the people commenting on how 1up gave the game such a low score, click the link, it turns out 1up actually gave the game a B- and metacritic just messed up the score.
  45. DomzZ
    Jun 16, 2009
    8
    I totally love this game, and when I see some of those revives, I am under impression that some reviewers were playing some sort of alpha build or something. Problems with drawing distances? Bland game world? I am looking at you teletext game central. It's not Super Mario Bros or something. Drawing distances are not worst than Saints Row 2 i.e. they are good.Also I am yet to I totally love this game, and when I see some of those revives, I am under impression that some reviewers were playing some sort of alpha build or something. Problems with drawing distances? Bland game world? I am looking at you teletext game central. It's not Super Mario Bros or something. Drawing distances are not worst than Saints Row 2 i.e. they are good.Also I am yet to experience any problems with funky camera, as it is mentioned in review from game revolution. I understand that everyone is entitled to have opinion about anything, but using dodgy arguments just stinks. Expand
  46. ShubeL
    Aug 22, 2009
    8
    It's a good game, and personally i like it better than InFamous. That has just something to do with the way the action is created and how you will solve it. In InFamous it's not this blood and gore, the climbing is just like in Assassins Creed, but in Prototype you glide and run straight up buildings which makes things funnier. Prototype has a weakness, and that is that It's a good game, and personally i like it better than InFamous. That has just something to do with the way the action is created and how you will solve it. In InFamous it's not this blood and gore, the climbing is just like in Assassins Creed, but in Prototype you glide and run straight up buildings which makes things funnier. Prototype has a weakness, and that is that it's not much different things to do than to kill and consume. All in all i think it deserves about 8. Expand
  47. josiahh
    Dec 30, 2009
    8
    For the first hour or so, the game was amazing. Nothing but a huge playground in which you could kill and blow up everything you wanted. However, eventually that got boring so i was inclined to start doing missions. The missions are boring. Either you run around and smash stuff, or you run around and smash stuff with a time limit. The missions were like chores i had to do to get back to For the first hour or so, the game was amazing. Nothing but a huge playground in which you could kill and blow up everything you wanted. However, eventually that got boring so i was inclined to start doing missions. The missions are boring. Either you run around and smash stuff, or you run around and smash stuff with a time limit. The missions were like chores i had to do to get back to my sanbox mode which is entertaining for half an hour at a time at best. Overall sanbox mode gets a 10. Missions get a 1. Expand
  48. LanceP.
    Jun 11, 2009
    8
    There are a few frustrations to playing this game (the levels without your powers, both in mission and free roam; the targeting, which was more of an opponent than many enemies). But what Prototype does best is give you a ton of diverse powers and really cut you loose, while at the same time providing a challenge so that you're able to feel empowered without getting bored.
  49. aritarkk
    Jun 18, 2009
    8
    It's a good game, the game-mechanics are fun. the controls are smooth. the story is acceptable. graphics are shit, but i don't care because the main character and his effects and abilities are well done. It is also really hard, and sometimes frustrating if you don't have the right upgrades. But as cool as the abilities and the parcour are, the city and the pedestrians are It's a good game, the game-mechanics are fun. the controls are smooth. the story is acceptable. graphics are shit, but i don't care because the main character and his effects and abilities are well done. It is also really hard, and sometimes frustrating if you don't have the right upgrades. But as cool as the abilities and the parcour are, the city and the pedestrians are dull and unimpressive. But maybe that's a good thing because you will spend most of your time cutting trough them, splattering their blood all over the place. It is by far not an epic game with an immersive story that sucks you in, but it's a good stress relieve and i don't regret paying full price for it. It's much better then crackdown, which is nice to compare in terms of dullness and abilities, and you won't think to yourself: "damn green orbs, i just want to climb that building without falling down 200 times." It's simply too much fun to run up a building just to drop hundreds of feed in between taxis and pedestrians. Blowing them away. Yeah... that rocks. If you like things like this, you will like Prototype. For everyone else, it's worth checking out once it's under 40 bucks. Expand
  50. May 2, 2011
    8
    I'm gonna try to keep this short as possible. The story is pretty good but hard to understand sometimes. The gameplay is good you can create combos, use guns, turn into a human war machine and everythin with upgrades and new things to unlock. I had fun with prototype but it isnt gonna be on my shelf for long.
  51. Oct 7, 2011
    8
    Prototype has a lot going for it, Interesting character, cool powers, open world gameplay and the simple fun of creating chaos. However the game can get very repetitive unless you spend time unlocking upgrades which also gets pretty stale after a while. And even though it's fun creating chaos in the city, the game just throws soo many enemies at you in each fight which can be prettyPrototype has a lot going for it, Interesting character, cool powers, open world gameplay and the simple fun of creating chaos. However the game can get very repetitive unless you spend time unlocking upgrades which also gets pretty stale after a while. And even though it's fun creating chaos in the city, the game just throws soo many enemies at you in each fight which can be pretty frustrating. But overall it's a good game that's entertaining enough for at least one playthrough and the city is fun to explore. I give it an 8 out of 10. Expand
  52. Jul 11, 2011
    8
    I highly recommend this game. I am a big fan of the open world games and I was not let down by this one at all. It only got an 8 out of ten because it can get boring after you beat the game.
  53. Apr 16, 2012
    8
    Uff, difficult review for me, because I wait much Prototype, and the game have some mistakes, for example is very short, the graphics ugly, the trama is amazing, but the development is poor, in some moments the game is really funny, for example kill all the people, is like a GTA, but this is funny.
  54. May 13, 2012
    8
    This game is amazing. The game-play is super fun. and running around as Alex Mercer is amazing. However the story was very boring and didn't envelop me at all. But i'm a sucker for a good anti hero.
  55. Nov 27, 2014
    8
    This is a very cool game, and i love it, but if you dedicate yourself to walk around the city, it can be a bit boring
    But anyway it is a very interesting and recommended game
  56. Oct 16, 2015
    8
    lcome to Heller!
    Ok, so you’re a Sgt. in the US Military and a virus hits the isles of NY. Caught up in the pandemic you loose your family to a visionary, shape-shifting prototype, known as Alex Mercer (Prototype 1’s main character).
    The first thing you would do is hunt this freak down, right? Well that is exactly the aim in this open world, action-adventure Radical Ent &
    lcome to Heller!
    Ok, so you’re a Sgt. in the US Military and a virus hits the isles of NY. Caught up in the pandemic you loose your family to a visionary, shape-shifting prototype, known as Alex Mercer (Prototype 1’s main character).

    The first thing you would do is hunt this freak down, right?

    Well that is exactly the aim in this open world, action-adventure Radical Ent & Activision.

    The game begins with new protagonist Sgt. James Heller crashing into the highly infected red zone. But who would cause this? Yep, you guessed it, Mercer. You set off in chase to be met with in-game prompts that keep the action rolling, away from those mindless tutorials. When you do catch up with him, Mercer ‘infects’ you with the god-like powers, and after a little chat, dashes off, leaving you more than a little confused.

    Prototype2 Game ReviewShortly after you are captured by Gentek & Blackwatch (the brains & brawn monitoring the outbreak) to be tested on. A few prompts and a breakout later, you are free to explore the vast world, gain mutations, earn upgrades and track down that S-O-B Mercer and his army, one way or another.

    Twists and turns develop along the way, with testing alliances, shocks and surprises together with a worthy array of enemies that come in all shapes and sizes. These are backed up by the new and more realistic AI to add in on the experience.

    The main story also has additional side missions, although not essential, they do take the entire game time up to 15-20 hours. Whether you choose to find ‘Blackboxes’, destroy Lairs, wipe out Field Ops teams, or hack the Blacknet systems. Rewards are given to further strengths, defences and giving more insight of what is actually going on.

    The development team have ploughed new aspects all through Prototype 2, the duel attack system, extra mutations, pack leader, hunting mode and especially Radnet.

    Radnet is an online section separate to the main game. Weekly events, challenging friends and themed awards, all similar to that of Call of Duty: Elite (if you are COD savvy). Very cool, but this feature is currently only available through pre-order and new game copy’s of the Ranet Edition, and not purchasable in any other form.

    I did have some movement issues at times and travelling from one side to the other did get slightly tedious even with use of the heliport. That aside, the awesome Sim City style cut scenes and the previously mentioned additions on a whole surpasses the original in this short, but great series.

    I enjoyed loading up on Prototype 2, and if they release anymore I’ll definitely be gliding from the rooftops while dropping my devastating moves.
    Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. 90
    I can't wait to go play some more. I suspect that some people will find their enthusiasm drained more than mine by the shallow enemy gene pool, but even they're bound to get swept away by the myriad pleasures of tearing up town as a ghoulish and preternaturally fleet-footed shape-shifter.
  2. One of the best games to release this generation and is definitely the best game to drop in 2009 (so far). Outside of the lackluster stealth and disguising mechanic, the brutal combat, huge open-world, varied challenges, and utterly satisfying gameplay makes this a must-have title for any serious gamer's collection. Get ready to put your life on hold!
  3. The insane amount of strength, skills and powers you get in the game is amazing and the game does a great job of making you feel like you’re really in control of a truly powerful being.