Quake 4 Xbox 360

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 84
  2. Negative: 17 out of 84
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JaceN.
    Feb 5, 2006
    4
    We all had a bit of a giggle when we heard that ID were making another Quake game, considering how the last three had gone...but I decided to give it a chance. Last time I enter familair territory expecting something different! The weapons were a bit "Blah", the enemies with all their rotten bits and metal this & that were sort of so-so and the plot?...spare me! Old school is only good We all had a bit of a giggle when we heard that ID were making another Quake game, considering how the last three had gone...but I decided to give it a chance. Last time I enter familair territory expecting something different! The weapons were a bit "Blah", the enemies with all their rotten bits and metal this & that were sort of so-so and the plot?...spare me! Old school is only good when it brings what was good about the old and leaving the bad aspects behind...this game brings both to the table in a "just figuring out how the 360 works" haze. Figure out how to wrangle the 3 CPU cores (that everyone sick of hearing of by now) on your own time and sell us the end result! Expand
  2. ScottH.
    Jan 20, 2006
    3
    Don't get it on an Xbox! This game is wonderous on PC but abismal and choppy.
  3. PhilK.
    Mar 26, 2006
    4
    A lazy port of a below-average PC game. Nice graphics, but fraught with frame rate problems, and the usual FPS cliches of dimly lit metallic corridors. Gameplay feels very dated, almost like a re-hash of Quake 2. Multiplayer is also the same old story. Some people may view this as a good thing. On the plus side, a perfect port of Quake 2 is included as a bonus, but only the single player mode.
  4. Bill10
    Nov 26, 2005
    2
    Ive played this on the PC so i decided to puchase it when i got my 360.. WTF i was under some impression that the 360 was a killer next gen consol. this game looks terrable and the game play is shite. cant belive i brought a XBOX and after all the hyping ive been telling people, im sure there will be many out there that will think this is a improvement over the original XBOX but for me i Ive played this on the PC so i decided to puchase it when i got my 360.. WTF i was under some impression that the 360 was a killer next gen consol. this game looks terrable and the game play is shite. cant belive i brought a XBOX and after all the hyping ive been telling people, im sure there will be many out there that will think this is a improvement over the original XBOX but for me i feel a right idiot buying one. Expand
  5. ben
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    Crap.
    Im just glad ive now sold my 360 to some complete idiot who was willing to pay £800 for this eggbox.
    and i cant belive that £49.99 is the asking price for these games. get real people compair these games to there PC versions and you will notice 2 things. 1. the PC version looks better and is smoother 2. considering that the games are better looking on the PC they
    Crap.
    Im just glad ive now sold my 360 to some complete idiot who was willing to pay £800 for this eggbox.
    and i cant belive that £49.99 is the asking price for these games.
    get real people compair these games to there PC versions and you will notice 2 things.
    1. the PC version looks better and is smoother
    2. considering that the games are better looking on the PC they are also more than £20 cheaper.
    so it has nothing to do with developing the games its all to do with microsoft selling you a cheap consol and charging you an extra £20 for there games just so they can get there money back. I was realy taken for a complete idiot when i got my 360. im just glad i got rid of it before it cost me anymore money.
    Expand
  6. KDep
    Nov 28, 2005
    3
    Parents be warned!! This game is excessively graphic and the visuals are NOT for anyone under the age of at least 16. First, a little note - I have played a huge number of games, from Warcraft to GTA: San Andreas. I have never been more disgusted by a game than by Quake 4. It's the single player that's bad, multiplayer is the same as Quake 3 (which sucks). As for the gameplay Parents be warned!! This game is excessively graphic and the visuals are NOT for anyone under the age of at least 16. First, a little note - I have played a huge number of games, from Warcraft to GTA: San Andreas. I have never been more disgusted by a game than by Quake 4. It's the single player that's bad, multiplayer is the same as Quake 3 (which sucks). As for the gameplay itself, it's the same old same old with Quake, except prettier (sorta..) People will criticize me, but as I've said, I'm 22 and I've played all the hot games out there, and if I were a parent, I would refuse to buy my kid an Xbox 360 for no other reason than to keep this game out of their hands. Expand
  7. PhilipS.
    Jan 16, 2006
    4
    Superb squad and enemy AI, great weapons and environments, excellent sound effects, and fun levels only to be marred by terrible graphics. The graphics are the same as Doom 3 on Xbox. Even Halo looks as good as Quake 4 and Halo was an Xbox launch game from 2001. Why spend the money on an xbox 360 to play a game with last generation graphics? Quake 4 should have been pushed back until the Superb squad and enemy AI, great weapons and environments, excellent sound effects, and fun levels only to be marred by terrible graphics. The graphics are the same as Doom 3 on Xbox. Even Halo looks as good as Quake 4 and Halo was an Xbox launch game from 2001. Why spend the money on an xbox 360 to play a game with last generation graphics? Quake 4 should have been pushed back until the graphics were improved. Send developers like this a message and not buy so called next generation games with horrible graphics. Not even worth renting. Expand
  8. chrism
    Mar 16, 2008
    0
    This game does not deserve a rating. the reason being is of several reasons. ive always been a fan of quake series until now, this game really has nothing to do with the quake game series, the pc version forces you to log off the game when setting up graphical settings which get annoying sometimes, the online version of this game has nothing to do with the quake 3, its far off, the game This game does not deserve a rating. the reason being is of several reasons. ive always been a fan of quake series until now, this game really has nothing to do with the quake game series, the pc version forces you to log off the game when setting up graphical settings which get annoying sometimes, the online version of this game has nothing to do with the quake 3, its far off, the game was very disappointing, if you have played the previous versions of the quake games then you will agree, the weapons look nothing like a quake game, the look the feel are nothing alike, what made quake games so different was the singleplayer and graphics were far different then any other game todate, quake 3 is still the best quake game out there, as far as the 360 goes its not the best ittle, if you want the feel of the quake 4 just play the doom 3, it features the exact same thing and everything else, this quake four is merly a ripoff version of the doom 3. during the quake 4 storyline gets really boring really fast simply bc of the same bosses and same killing over and over again, the multiplayer has nothing to offer but another doom 3 multiplayer, no joke, ID has gone the cheap way of doing the new quake engine and decided to go with an engine that was already made whether doing what quake was once was, and design a 3d engine that is a quake game, this game was going to get a 3 out of 10 but deserves 0 out of 10 bc of stealing the doom 3 engine. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. While there are certainly flaws in the single player and multiplayer, the game’s fantastic visuals and engaging storyline make it a worthy addition to any Quake fan’s library.
  2. The controls are well done, the sound is very good, the graphics carry the horror and surprise well ... if you have not experienced Quake 4 yet and plan on owning the 360, then this is a game that should be in your library.
  3. 80
    There's a lot to like about Quake 4: vivid (and violent) visuals, comfortable controls, and a surprisingly addictive multiplayer mode. And as a cool bonus, Activision even threw in a gorgeously high-definition version of "Quake II." So what more do you want?