Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 39
  2. Negative: 31 out of 39
  1. Quantum Theory may not be as detailed, vibrant, engaging and breathtaking as one would have hoped but it does offer a certain enjoyment despite its visible flaws.
  2. Dec 17, 2010
    66
    A lame and not really challenging story combined with repetitive levels and replaceable characters are the key elements of Quantum Theory.
  3. Instead of Gears' gritty realism, Quantum employs flamboyant machismo, with less impressive graphics. [Nov 2010, p.79]
  4. Tecmo's effort here in Quantum Theory is certainly interesting. While it doesn't meet the high bar set by many other competitors in the genre, it's certainly at least in the pile of good third person shooters, just near the bottom somewhere of that stack marked 'average'.
  5. 60
    In the end, though, Quantum Theory bears the terrible imprimatur of the also-ran. While it's a noble effort on Tecmo-Koei's part (this is, after all, their first foray into this genre), it just doesn't have that "oomph" that a killer action game hits you in the sensory cortex with.
  6. Flawed, unoriginal, and dated, it's tough to look past its failings.
  7. Quantum Theory has a lot of problems, which is a shame, because there is certainly the workings of a great game here, even if it is derivative.
  8. We apreciate the effort to reproduce the great Gears of War gameplay, but Quantum Theory lacks in execution with with a repetitive and frustrating gameplay.
  9. There were some promising things in Quantum Theory: its story, its narrative and even the relationship between characters. But the game has constant ups and downs, and the global result is not worthy.
  10. Awful. A game to be forgotten very quickly.
  11. Oct 24, 2010
    42
    The one major difference between the fake Calvin Kline's and the rip-off game is that you can probably get the GoW2:GOTY edition for the same price or cheaper than the imposter.
  12. Oct 25, 2010
    40
    If you have any respect for yourself but feel you must play this, at least wait until it's under ten bucks and nestled safely at the bottom of our local bargain bin.
  13. It looks and feels terribly dated, has next to no creative spark, completely lacks imagination and is certain to be forgotten very quickly.
  14. Quantum Theory is no Gears of War, although it may look like it on the surface. The game simply lacks the polish. You could call it repetitive, bland and uninspiring, but that's not enough. It is playable, but it's just not any fun.
  15. It's hard not to admit that Quantum Theory is, by all means, the worst Gears of War clone currently available on the market. Its mediocre gameplay and forgettable narrative will in fact discourage anyone looking to experience an engaging and fast paced experience.
  16. Dumb enemies, repetitive levels, and downright unappealing looks makes this a theory that's not worth testing.
  17. Quantum Theory looks and feels like an anime-inspired fan mod of Gears of War 1. While I'm a devout supporter of doing things right the first time, I wouldn't mind seeing a sequel that steps up its game, makes better use of Filena, and learns from the critical feedback the original received (which is nearly insurmountable at this point).
  18. Even if you got this game as a gift, you should return it immediately. There are far too many moments that make it unplayable. Go play Gears of War instead.
  19. Oct 22, 2010
    35
    Pointless game. There's really no reason why you should buy this, unless you're a trash fan.
  20. Oct 22, 2010
    35
    Quantum Theory can hardly be congratulated for infringing on other games, as it is hardly even capable of doing that properly. Albeit all attempts to be Gears of War, Quantum Theory is no more fun than burning $60 dollars and to be honest, burning money isn't exactly a lucrative or entertaining hobby.
  21. 35
    There is no reason to pick this game up. It is devoid of any redeeming factors including the novelty of being a terrible game.
  22. 33
    An example of just how much the little details matter in game design. They're what make Gears of War work so well, and where Quantum Theory stumbles just too often to be worth much of anyone's time. The experience of playing it is something like watching a student copy off of an answer sheet for a test...and somehow getting the answers wrong, anyway.
  23. Dec 17, 2010
    30
    Unlike its namesake, Quantum Theory makes no attempt to depart from classical mechanics - it merely diminishes them. [Nov 2010, p.96]
  24. The game's central conceit, which has you infiltrating giant towers with the aim of bringing them down from the inside, encourages uninspiring, repetitive internal environments, a problem the game's art team fails to overcome.
  25. Awful - a crushing disappointment. [Oct 2010, p.102]
  26. A truly rubbish shooter that lies deep in Gears' shadow, pillaging it for set pieces, designs and mechanics with zero subtlety. [Issue#64, p.89]
  27. Pity for poor Tecmo is probably the main reason why Epic Games won't be suing over this embarrassingly inept clone of Gears Of War.
  28. In short then, Quantum Theory is just too flat, too unpolished and too unoriginal to make any positive lasting impression.
  29. All I can say is, don't spend your money on this game because you will be very disappointed and with so many good releases coming out this month, it's not like you will need much persuasion to go and purchase something else!
  30. 30
    Quantum Theory will always be remembered (if it's remembered at all) as that game that tried desperately to be Gears of War and failed miserably.
  31. It doesn't take a quantum theorist to see this is rotten.
  32. 25
    Its uninspired level design, terrible shooting, and frustrating instant-kill portions make this a game that I simply couldn't recommend to anyone at anytime.
  33. Even the most hardcore shooter fans should skip Quantum Theory. Even excusing the barren online community and confusing story this game has too many issues with core gameplay to make the experience worth the $70 investment.
  34. Quantum Theory is what would happen if Gears of War and Super Mario Bros. had a baby. A mewling, deformed, horrific baby that doctors would try to drown.
  35. Our review code froze four times during play, each occasion coming as a blessed relief, a welcome respite from the tedium. [Issue#101, p.111]
  36. Quantum Theory is nothing but a dirt cheap ripoff from Gears of War. Everything is stolen, exept the good parts.
  37. Stay far away from Quantum Theory. You'll find nothing remotely interesting here and are better off picking up a budget copy of Gears of War.
  38. Mar 1, 2011
    15
    Quantum Theory is a disgrace to the video game industry.
User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 10 out of 14
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    I just don't understand the bad reviews about this game. I love it. It is true that is very similar to Gears of War, but that makes it good. The mechanics of throwing/launching your fighting mate (filena) are quite good. -It has a very decent cover system
    The storyline is really interesting, -The play mechanics (design) of the levels are quite interesting, -Play mechanics that encourage melee attacks mixed with fighting far enemies
    very varied and fun weapons, specially the gun-axe (not the real name, I can't remember), bad for shooting but brutal melee attack, I keep it always on my character, plus the electrocuting one, those make my permanent 3 weapons (besides the main one, that you can't throw) -Very varied levels, that change in real time, removing your cover in some difficult moments (fun). and also the game is very challenging, in the best way. -For me this game has A LOT of replay value. I just regret not having purchased it as it was launched so I could tasted the online mode, today January 2012, it is almost imposible to find online players, I just would love to try the co-op multiplayer mode (I guess it must be similar to the GOW horde mode). I even would put a higher score than 8, but being out there games like Gears of War 3, Uncharted 3, Battlefield 3 I just can't. But for sure I think this game deserves better score than what is reflected here.

    Try it if you are going to approach it openly and I bet you will enjoy it.

    Alex
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    1
    Gears of "Ewwwwwwwwww" Try the demo and you will see what Im talking about!

    Sucks that I have to spew forth 150 characters. Just dont
    bother with this game, its a sad, sad joke! Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2010
    1
    Don't waste your money on this if you can buy Gears of War 1 and 2 for half the price. Its basically a very clunky and duller graphics version of them. In fact Gears 2 was sort of ruined for me because of the change of online to sub par dedicated servers which meant the shotgun could make my body explode across the map if an American was firing it at me but even a full lancer wouldnt bring them down. Buy Gears 1. The onlne was much better. Full Review »