Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    88
    Quarrel is a masterful combination of classic tabletop war gaming and wordsmithing. For those that enjoy the domination gameplay of Risk but recoil at the overly random nature of dice rolls, Quarrel is worth a look. If you're a word nerd that is looking for a competitive experience that is fresher than Words with Friends, this is the game you've been waiting for.
  2. Feb 24, 2012
    90
    Overall, Quarrel is an enjoyable game that word puzzle fans will really appreciate since such games are a rarity on XBLA. Add an extra layer of strategy from the Risk aspect of the game, and you have a great little game to play when you want to give your brain more of a workout than your reflexes.
  3. Feb 24, 2012
    90
    Quarrel! is one of those games that comes from out of nowhere but instantly will keep you playing through a whole day without warning. It doesn´t matter if you compete against the AI or other players, Quarrel! turns out to be an intelligent and highly motivating challenge.
  4. Jan 31, 2012
    91
    The game is cute, well designed, well implemented and just the thing to show off your big brain to all of your friends.
  5. Jan 29, 2012
    90
    One of the best smartphone games of last year gets the multiplayer mode it's always needed, in this superb mix of Risk and Scrabble.
  6. Jan 26, 2012
    88
    All I know is that the world would probably be a better place if we all treated words with the same reverence Quarrel does.
  7. Jan 26, 2012
    90
    All of this adds up to a very feature rich game that deserves praise, it has taken the best bits from board games such as Scrabble, Risk and Boggle and mixed them up into a unique and satisfying experience. At 800 Points it would be more than worth it, however at just 400 Microsoft Points it is an absolute no brainer, go ahead and buy it right now.
  8. Jan 25, 2012
    90
    I was really pleasantly surprised at the tremendous amount of content I was able to get for such a small price and even more pleasantly surprised at how much fun I had with it. If you're looking for something to workout your mental muscles and don't want a plot driven game, then I can't more highly recommend Quarrel.
  9. Jan 25, 2012
    90
    Quarrel is still the horribly compelling single-player game it's always been on mobiles, with an extra dollop of polish and a few new tantalising game modes for the console release - and all for the laughable sum of 400 Microsoft Points.
  10. 90
    Relentlessly clever and deviously charming. [May 2012, p.85]
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. I have Quarrel Deluxe on my iPad, and the one thing I felt was missing was multiplayer--well I have it in full force on myLOVE LOVE LOVE IT. I have Quarrel Deluxe on my iPad, and the one thing I felt was missing was multiplayer--well I have it in full force on my Xbox and it really completes the game play experience. Full Review »
  2. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    A very nice XBLA game, a mixture between Scramble and Risk: you take turns, with the AI or your Friends (local and online multiplayer), in aA very nice XBLA game, a mixture between Scramble and Risk: you take turns, with the AI or your Friends (local and online multiplayer), in a determined scenario, where each one of you has territories, and the amount of "soldiers" in the disputed territory, determines how many letters you can use to form a word, the winner is the one who spells the highest points, and with this beat the enemies soldiers. Well, to resume: it's Risk with words in the place of numbers... very fun indeed! My score: 9,0 / 10, 0 . Full Review »
  3. Jan 25, 2012
    10
    I love this game on the iPad. Thank you, Ignition, for bringing it to the 360 and adding multiplayer! Canâ