Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 9, 2013
    80
    What a blast from the past. [March 2013, p.81]
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    80
    The Scorchers is a fine way to re-familiarise yourself and extend the run-time of this under-appreciated throwback shooter.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    It all comes down to the question, if you want more of Rage. Depending on which difficulty setting you're playing on, this is two to four hours of that for the price of about 5 euros. That's pretty decent, considering that there are full price games with just about twice as much of content out there. To surmise: a good story, if you want to call it a story, solid, fresh enemies and new corridors for you to shoot through, that are enjoyable in spite of their linearity. If that sounds like a good evenings' entertainment for you, you can't go wrong with The Scorchers.
  4. Jan 4, 2013
    80
    The entire Scorchers section lasts six levels, and took me between two and three hours to complete, but it also only costs five dollars. That is not a bad deal when you consider comparable DLC packs. What it lacks in direction, it makes up for in sheer content.
  5. 90
    If you never played RAGE, buy it. Then buy this. Play it, love it, and when the "Insert Disc 2" prompt pops up, simply walk away, smiling.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Great DLC add-on to a great game. It is not long, but what would one expect for $4.99? The gameplay is as taught as the full game, and I like the new protagonist, Sarah. The nailgun is inventive, and it's great fun to give another go at a new round of mutant bash tv. Definitely worth the money for a few additional hours of gameplay to an already great title. Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    2
    Very unimaginative and short. What a disappointment. I wanted Loosum Hagar to be my sidekick, not that dreadlocked pretender. They probably couldn't get the voice actress back. There are no new enemies, just reskins and the final boss fight is insultingly bad.

    The graphics seem to look even worse than I remember. I do feel sorry for Carmack but if he bothered to do a proper test of his megatexture technology he would have seen it was not feasible before wasting millions of dollars on making a game using it.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    Just got done finishing this one. Some new hand-crafted maps are introduced, as well as a new Mutant type, new Scorcher bandits, a new weapon, and a new NPC known as Sarah. I finished this add-on sooner than expected. It probably took me two hours tops. One minor technical improvement I might suggest is binding the selection of the new weapon to the "0" key, since that one's unoccupied. Also, The Scorchers add-on job path might be better pursued from the start of a new game, rather than at the end like I did. Full Review »