Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 77
  2. Negative: 1 out of 77
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    100
    Rage may not represent the gigantic leap into the next era of games that's usually embodied by titles by id software, but it has reaffirmed their position as a premier developer when it comes to everything first person shooter-y.
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    100
    Rage looks like a launch title for whatever system Xbox is planning for us next. I still can't believe my six year old Xbox 360 is capable of delivering the graphics and the gameplay I've been enjoying for the past week. Rage is much more than just the best FPS experience I've had in 2011; it is a pivotal and redefining moment for the future of game design that will push your console further than anyone though it could go. You don't want to miss this.
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    100
    RAGE is easily one of the best games of 2011. The game is stunningly gorgeous, the gameplay is incredibly varied, and the entire experience is insanely addictive.
  4. Oct 4, 2011
    96
    Minor quibbles aside, we here at GamingExcellence have never been so happy to be so enraged. It's a great day for gaming when we can welcome id Software back into our living rooms and computer desks. RAGE is an easy candidate for the best game of the year, and was well worth the wait. Don't miss it.
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    95
    An outRAGEously fun shooter.
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    95
    Graphically there is nothing on the console that compares, and in terms of the complete package, it delivers in every way.
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    95
    While the game doesn't necessarily introduce any kind of ground-breaking gameplay elements, what it does is perform some tried-and-true FPS staples (and some newer concepts too) at a very high level, and hits the mark an overwhelming majority of the time.
  8. Oct 12, 2011
    92
    In the end, iD have come back with gusto and their latest game Rage is definitely a keeper.
  9. Oct 4, 2011
    91
    A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan.
  10. Nov 13, 2011
    90
    While its other elements hep create atmosphere, they aren't as polished as its peerless gunplay. [Issue#77, p.82]
  11. Oct 25, 2011
    90
    RAGE has certainly delivered as a step forward in first person shooters and is a refreshing change from the same old games that are released year-in year-out
  12. 90
    Instead of trying to revolutionize a genre, id has given us another stellar game that's taken elements from a few different games, in many cases improved them, and seamlessly integrated them into RAGE's world.
  13. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Despite some issues regarding the Artificial Intelligence and the dullness of the plot, Rage is a truly masterpiece. After 15 years id Software delivers a rock solid IP: a fascinating world meets an interesting gameplay, various as few other titles. Shooting and driving around in the wasteland is an experience every player should give a try.
  14. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    The gameplay, both driving and shooting, is wild, gory fun; the graphics raise the bar on how a next-generation product is supposed to look; the audio is top-quality; and the multiplayer stuff that does exist is more than enough to keep you and your fellow gamers busy.
  15. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    RAGE is a giant step for id Software, a team proud of its legacy but brave enough to explore a lot of new ideas. It's a must-have for first person shooter fans and people who enjoy a more classical gameplay.
  16. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Rage delivers as an action game, with outstanding graphics and gameplay that is sometimes tactic, sometimes savage and always intense. Some players may expect a sandbox, but the game is really a very classic action shooter.
  17. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Rage's story and overworld design feel dated, but its heart-pounding gunplay is a nice change of pace in a market filled with "follow me" and pop-and-fire shooters. While light RPG elements are present, this is mainly a game for players who love challenging combat experiences.
  18. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    Striding purposefully along the history of a genre it created, id has plucked the best ideas from four generations of first-person shooters and woven them into something not especially original, but truly exceptional nonetheless.
  19. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    RAGE is an excellent game that combines the pedigree of id's amazing gunplay with an open-world style game that focuses on action as opposed to RPG elements.
  20. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    All that said, RAGE still offers a ridiculously fun FPS adventure that is exhilarating, satisfying, and capable of living up to the id Software name in nearly everything that it does.
  21. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    After four years of waiting, id rewards us with a surprisingly deep FPS, that combines the usual expertise of the studio in this genre with a rich and engaging world powered by the powerful id Tech 5.
  22. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    Do you feel games similar to Fallout 3 are a little too open-ended? Or maybe Call of Duty is too linear? Well, Rage is some kind of happy medium between the two and it's unlike anything id has done before.
  23. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    We never imagined that the RPG elements would be so vast or deftly handled, resulting in a pleasant surprise. A near-perfect mix of first-person shooting and role-playing, it's a nice fit for those who felt too detached from the gun play in Fallout 3 or Mass Effect.
  24. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    At its core though, RAGE is a triumph for id Software. The game's strengths far outweigh its shortcomings and for shooter fans looking for a challenging, visceral experience that isn't akin to shooting fish in a barrel, you're going to find it here.
  25. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    The core gameplay is well designed and executed and there's plenty to do if you fancy a change of pace. With the FPS genre currently defined and dominated by standardised modern-military shooters, Rage comes as a very welcome breath of fresh air.
  26. 89
    As a fun and frenetic FPS, Rage delivers in spades. That the same can't be said for the game's story is a real shame. It's especially disappointing as Rage feels like it's building to a strong crescendo, before fizzling out like a damp firework. Rage veers incredibly close to greatness then, but ultimately fails to win itself a cigar.
  27. Oct 4, 2011
    89
    The are several flaws in the gameplay starting from the light plot to the unusual checkpoints and savegames system and the minimal multiplayer. But at the same time RAGE does its work as a wonderful first person shooter and the racing section works well too.
  28. Oct 4, 2011
    89
    In the end, Rage plays similar to what may be a cross between Red Dead Redemption, Red Faction and a (not red) racing title, but it does so in traditional Id Software style: unique gameplay, tonnes of re-playability, over the top weapons, vehicles and destruction all wrapped up with a story second to none (believe me, there are some twists but the advancement of the story becomes just as intriguing as the gameplay itself).
  29. 89
    The house of Doom delivers a masterful single-player shooter with top notch gunplay, let down by a disappointing final third.
  30. Oct 11, 2011
    88
    A very good shooter with great visuals and some interesting RPG contaminations. But the dull story and lack of real innovation in the FPS missions keep it from being the great id Software comeback we were expecting.
  31. Oct 4, 2011
    88
    id's back with a funny shooter, filled with content and good ole first person shootin' made in Texas. It could've been much better with more polish and fewer half-cooked ideas though, probably a sign that 5 years out of a fast growing market is way too much.
  32. Oct 9, 2011
    87
    Although Rage has some cookie cutter moments, and the fetch quests can feel a bit too much, the visuals, control, and sound make up for this in spades.
  33. 87
    Some aspects of Rage leave you with the feeling that there could have been more. More open world, more story, more driving. More meaning. Still, Rage is a brilliant shooter from people who know exactly how a perfect shoot-out needs to be. If you love a good gunfight on your screen, this game is for you.
  34. Oct 18, 2011
    86
    It's such a great change of pace from the Modern Warfares and Battlefields that occupy the gaming landscape, and the shooting gameplay only serves to remind us about how well suited id is at developing FPS titles.
  35. Oct 4, 2011
    86
    RAGE is the new standard of post apocalyptic destruction.
  36. Oct 31, 2011
    85
    The shooting is good and the driving/car combat/racing aspects offer a lot of potential to fill out the world even more. As is, Rage is still recommended.
  37. Oct 13, 2011
    85
    RAGE is an ambitious game that brings you a destroyed open world you want to keep coming back to. It's a shame this game suffers from occasional unloaded textures and a longer single player adventure would have been nice. The sheer amount of fun you will find in RAGE however, make this game a must buy for fans of the better shooter and role-playing games.
  38. Oct 4, 2011
    85
    As I mentioned above, Rage runs incredibly smooth on the 360 and it is definitely one of the most beautiful games to hit the console. I enjoyed the variety the gameplay had to offer and I thought the game was paced pretty well. Id Software has created a fun new universe and I can't wait to experience the next chapter.
  39. Oct 3, 2011
    85
    The great controls and useful weapon upgrades help make Rage's shooting parts a lot of fun, but the storyline fails to create any real tension and the game's characters, friendly and hostile, never do or say anything memorable.
  40. Oct 23, 2011
    84
    A game of two halves - starts brilliantly but fades. Nice vehicular combat though. [Dec 2011, p.84]
  41. Oct 14, 2011
    81
    In the end, Rage reminds me a lot of Borderlands, another game that, while uniquely awesome in its own way, ultimately left me disappointed: same basic locale, same silent protagonist, same pseudo-open world, same focus on driving to missions, same side quest driven, bare-bones story. To be honest, the fact that Rage is a better shooter with much better vehicle controls is tempered by the lack of RPG elements that would allow you to invest in, or "own," your character. Instead, you're just sort of... there.
  42. 80
    The most compelling aspect of Rage is the combat, which is undoubtedly id's forte, but its partly open world, storyline and characters feel diluted and inferior when compared to the big hitters in the action RPG genre. Those hoping to see the developer finally break out of the corridor will have to wait a little longer.
  43. 80
    If you're looking for another post-apocalyptic shooter that offers an interesting take on both the racing and shooter genre, RAGE is the place to look. Though I understand why some may be disappointed after such a long wait with no real revolution here but instead a continuation of what id Software are known for.
  44. Oct 21, 2011
    80
    It's not quite the evolution we hoped it to be, but on the other hand Carmack and his team show how guns on an FPS should really feel like, showcasing amazing A.I. and stunning graphics that never fall below the mark of 60 fps.
  45. Oct 18, 2011
    80
    Rage starts out slow and ends rather bad, but it grows upon you as the game progresses. Id Software really nails the gunfights (as expected) and Rage is loaded with extra content such as races, card games and Easter eggs.
  46. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    Rage is a strange beast, at once very deep and very shallow. Though unlikely to win game of the year, there is still much to like about what is on offer. There is heart here, and there is fun to be had, but unlike in the past this most recent release by id Software is not going to change the world.
  47. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    This is meat-and-potatoes action game design with a few antiquated quirks, but it does what it does well enough--and looks legitimately stunning while doing it--to deliver a satisfying experience, all told.
  48. 80
    Rage is an old school shooter, but a fun one. The enemies are varied and there's lots to do.
  49. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    Rage is a technical powerhouse, and if you can overlook the bits that don't quite work, you'll find one of the most exciting shooters we've had in years.
  50. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    Rage is many things: open-world driving and racing game, meticulously designed first-person shooter, stunning realization of a living post-apocalyptic wasteland, and it does all of these things well. It ends just as the party is really getting going, but even the pre-party is fantastic.
  51. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    As a whole, id Software's game is more than solid, but it still lacks a decent third act, with a scenario that would have focused a little more on the mystery of the apocalypse for example - but more importantly, its underwhelming (to say the least) ending sequence is a stain on an otherwise brilliant world, atmosphere and game design. Controller in hand, it still is a great game to play, with a brilliant gameplay mashup and various neat ideas. This time though, id Software delivered "only" a great game, not a masterpiece.
  52. Oct 4, 2011
    80
    Most surprising are the vehicle-based sections of the game. In a word, they're fantastic.
  53. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Judged on game design and content, then, it's slightly anachronistic, but as a toy box full of things you can only do in games, Rage is warm-hearted and refreshing. It's not going to change the world, but it does serve as a timely reminder of that other thing id Software games always did besides smashing through some new technological barrier.
  54. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    A decidedly mixed affair. It isn't perfect, some of it feels quite antiquated, and it is by no means the high-water moment in the FPS genre that Doom and Quake were in their day. But it is still a very eye-catching and incredibly fun shooter, and in its best moments, it can't be matched for pure entertainment value.
  55. For ten hours, longer than many entire games, RAGE feels massive, open and beautiful. It's crushing to discover that it's all smoke and mirrors, but while the illusion lasts, it's brilliant.
  56. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Rage creates an engrossing world full of dazzling detail and entertaining shooter action.
  57. Oct 3, 2011
    80
    Solid FPS mechanics mixed with funny and entertaining combat-driving sections. Maybe RAGE won't stand out as a new id Software masterpiece, but certainly it's a very good piece of software.
  58. Nov 16, 2011
    79
    Shooter fans will like RAGE, but it's lack of story or really innovative elements won't attract new players that didn't love other id games. I hoped for more, guys.
  59. 75
    Puzzlingly, Rage even lacks a competitive FPS multiplayer mode - the very thing id Software is best known for. Instead, you get nine two-player co-op side stories (they're decent 20-minute missions worth rolling through once) and a suite of lackluster six-player buggy-racing modes in which you shoot at someone for a while before someone else swoops in and steals the kill at the last second.
  60. Oct 3, 2011
    75
    It's nothing revolutionary. It comes from a different kind of Id, one that would rather play with existing conventions than reinvent them. Conversely, it's the same Id that puts look and feel on the same high pillar, and it's impossible to call Rage badly-composed. I just don't think it's going to be remembered as anything but a sleeper hit of the fall of 2011.
  61. Vision of the future, relic of the past - after such a long wait, Rage turns out to be both a triumph and a tragedy. In 2011, this just doesn't cut it. [Christmas 2011, p.104]
  62. Oct 10, 2011
    70
    Rage is a beautiful game set in a vivid and believable world. The old-school id-polish is present, and the weapons and items at your disposal make for a solid shooter. Sadly, the experience is somewhat thwarted by a severely crippled story arc, repetitive gameplay, and a lack of innovation and lasting multiplayer.
  63. Oct 4, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  64. Oct 4, 2011
    70
    Rage is a stunningly rendered FPS, but one that seems caught between a desire to innovate and the desire to be true to the template its creators defined.
  65. Oct 4, 2011
    70
    Rage is a game that would have benefitted from being streamlined, with additional FPS levels replacing the awkward driving. It should have been an id game. Instead it occupies this weird halfway-house between Borderlands, Motorstorm and Doom, not quite an RPG, not quite a racer and not quite an FPS.
  66. Oct 4, 2011
    70
    By no means is RAGE not worth your time -- it looks stunning, the combat on both wheels and foot is fun, and there's a tremendous sense of atmosphere that deserves to be experienced. However, RAGE's quality only makes its lack of ambition more painful in the long run, as it could easily have been better than it is. It's a good game, most definitely, and one that id fans will enjoy ... just don't expect it to do half of what it looks like it can do.
  67. 65
    Rage is flawed from the get-go, and by the time it finds its legs, its all too little, too late.
  68. Nov 13, 2011
    60
    It's a beautiful pretender; but ultimately, beauty is only a surface attraction.
  69. Oct 19, 2011
    60
    My advice would be to rent Rage, it can be completed within a weekend and has a few great moments, just keep your expectations to a minimum.
  70. Oct 16, 2011
    60
    The knuckle-whitening, often horror-infused experiences inside of RAGE are essential to the vernacular of modern shooters. The pretty case they come in is not.
  71. 60
    Disappointingly mundane first person shooter from the creators of the genre, with only a few interesting ideas and far too many overfamiliar ones.
  72. Oct 3, 2011
    60
    There's just not a lot of "there" there - my first playthrough, which included every side-mission and several job board assignments, took me 9 hours and 15 minutes. My second, where I completed every side-mission, every job board assignment, every courier mission, and most of the races, took eight hours and 50 minutes. RAGE ends so abruptly that I didn't realize it was over until the final cutscene began. I was left wondering what had happened.
  73. Oct 9, 2011
    58
    Huge swaths of Rage are lifted wholesale from Fallout 3, Borderlands, and BioShock, making Rage forever veer between loving homage and blatant plagiarism. In the end, Rage is an insecure, overly busy game that tries too hard to be too many things, and winds up with a greasy sheen of flop-sweat on its brow.
  74. Oct 3, 2011
    58
    Rage starts to wear out its welcome about 3 to 4 hours in. That's the point where it started to feel like the promise of an open world shooter was more of an illusion than reality.
  75. Oct 20, 2011
    50
    Rage is a beautiful, totally decent first-person shooter with some driving elements thrown in to spice it up a bit. Based on it's developer's pedigree, the fact that it's not more than that is exceedingly confusing. There's really no obvious attempt at innovation here minus the marrying of Doom to Twisted Metal.
  76. Oct 4, 2011
    50
    When it comes down to it, Rage is a pretty-faced attempt at combining elements done better in other games.
  77. Oct 6, 2011
    33
    For any oomph it delivers, Rage relies on the same familiar gunshot sound effects and the same ridiculous ragdoll fatalities and the same silly enemies rolling left and right. Rage is a reminder how thin the line is between old school and old hat.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 499 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 193
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    I honestly don't understand the negative reviews that this game is getting. I've been playing it a great deal since getting my hands on it and for the first time since I can remember that I've invested in a new IP and ended up with exactly what I was expecting. Rage delivers on almost every level.

    I don't need to get into Rage's graphics or presentation; one look at the game speaks for itself in case you haven't heard id's ongoing rambling about it being one of the best looking games available. id Tech 5 shows off enough power here to impress any reasonable person. That being said, I'm playing Rage on the PS3 (that installation time was a **** and the only graphical flaws are minor but similar to those I've seen in Killzone 3 and Crysis 2. I considered getting this game for the 360 but I was turned off by the need for having to install three discs. I have the 250-GB slim model, but as someone who once had the old (and very limited) 20-GB 360, I feel the pain of those who won't have the hard drive space to install all three at once.

    Audio design is just as well done in every aspect one would expect, but I'll leave it up to you to discover how great it is rather than going into detail here.

    My only legitimate complaint thus far is that the checkpoint system in Rage is basically non-existent. You'll receive auto-saves at the beginning of and just after missions, but that's it. Traveling through one of the game's lengthy city stages and being sent back to outside the city walls upon death was frustrating enough for me to put the game down for a while. I've experienced this type of setback a few times already. This is solved simply enough by saving the game whenever it comes to mind, but I'm generally more focused on trying to immerse myself in the world and the action around me to worry about a feature that's standard in most games nowadays.

    Also, it's worthy of a small note that this is not Shakespeare. Rage has a plot, and as some of it's elements aren't exactly new and exciting, (we've all walked out of a vault, scrounged to stay alive, and spent many hours in futuristic wastelands), the player shouldn't expect a groundbreaking narrative from id Software. I was let down by this, as I hoped Rage would be a rift in the trend of shooters with poor stories. It's not a bad plot, it's just kind of there to get you from A to B.

    Other than my minor gripes, Rage is everything I wanted.

    Enemies are just as brutal and resourceful as we've heard, as Rage features some of the best enemy AI I've ever seen. Mutant thugs dodge your reticule when you go ADS, downed foes crawl to cover as they bleed out, etc. I've already been forced to do some encounters twice (see ****y paragraph above) and can confidently say that other than perhaps boss battles, no two encounters in Rage will ever be the same.

    The arsenal available to the player is also impressive, if not comprised of elements that have been done before. Four weapons can be hot-mapped to the right trigger/R2 menu, with additional weapons available in the game's in-depth and useful Inventory system. Two assault rifles, two shotguns, a pistol, a sniper rifle, a rocket launcher, and yes, a crossbow, are among the main tools that deal out very convincing damage to opponents. Each weapon has various firing modes and ammunition types. Coupled with Rage's stellar opponents, mixing weapons, ammo types, and equipment is what makes the combat fun. It's very much the player's game, and it generally rewards creativity with success in combat.

    Driving across the wasteland has been surprisingly fun and deep to this point. It easily outdoes the fragile and clunky controls of the go-karts in Borderlands. Vehicles are waiting to be unlocked, their weapons upgraded, their bodies painted, and bonus powers are available to turn the odds on the bandits who always outnumber the player.
    id obviously has a lot of faith in their vision for Rage's vehicular combat. Races and unlocking new vehicles are key components of progressing in the campaign. Also, traditional FPS multiplayer components have been scrapped and replaced by Twisted Metal-like car combat. It's not a venue of endless entertainment, but it is a fun break from traditional shooters and is much deeper than most will be expecting.

    I firmly believe that reviews have been unfair to Rage. This is, in my opinion, a perfect example of a game that is fun despite some abstract number some critic picked out. The presentation is gorgeous, the gameplay is tight but expansive fun, and this game does just enough right to warrant a return to the all-too-familiar apocalypse setting.

    Rage isn't a masterpiece; it's a vision.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    2
    Boring. Banal. ID fails to deliver either coherent story or strong gameplay. Carmack has lost his touch in pursuit of $$$ and no longer cares about making good games. Avoid this turd. Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Beautiful graphics.. Sharp Sounds. States of Art.
    RAGE is great mixture of Quake II and Bioshock. first 30 min, maybe boring. but when you
    reach some 'So Many thing to kill zone'... you'll never gonna miss the truth. you're playing idsoftware's game. Full of blood on screen, Shotguns running out of ammo, Explosion... and the new head popper. wingstick
    Maybe some COD kids will HATE this game(lack of cutscene and too much blood and gore) but i believe many of people will like this and love it. Oh you think Storyline is bad ? you should go play some torment over and over again. this is a shooter game. everyone knows.
    Full Review »