Rage Xbox 360

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 543 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 5, 2012
    5
    Rage is about as much of a non-emotional experience as I've ever had. Whilst 80's arcade games lacked a story or depth they often provided excitement, whilst 90's RPGs lacked graphical pizzaz or superb asthetics they made you to care about characters and surrounding events, whilst 00's stratergy games took some time to get into they give you a great sense of satisfaction and feeling ofRage is about as much of a non-emotional experience as I've ever had. Whilst 80's arcade games lacked a story or depth they often provided excitement, whilst 90's RPGs lacked graphical pizzaz or superb asthetics they made you to care about characters and surrounding events, whilst 00's stratergy games took some time to get into they give you a great sense of satisfaction and feeling of challenge - Rage however stimulates you about as much as a wet fart does. It's not bad by any means, the controls are fine, the graphics are good, the overall game is, well, OK......but that's it. There's no stand out moments or instense feeling of excitement or satisfaction, there's just a few good ideas stuck in a mixing pot with the usual FPS elements and the ultimate end product is a rather dull one. Gripes I do have include a totally out of place driving element to the game, which just puts you off even more as it really breaks up the FPS action in a bad way, and the overall cartoony feel to the game feels out of place and nowhere near as immersive as Fallout 3's. Add to that a very short campaign and I can't see any reason to buy this. Bland and kinda pointless. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    I rented RAGE on terms of trying it out being an avid fan of all Bethesda and Id games. First and foremost this was by far one of the most beautiful games I've played on the 360. The style is absolutely stunning, as well as the detail shinning only in areas that are very important. This is a FPS, with subtle RPG elements at the core, but the FPS aspect is very well done. Killing enemies isI rented RAGE on terms of trying it out being an avid fan of all Bethesda and Id games. First and foremost this was by far one of the most beautiful games I've played on the 360. The style is absolutely stunning, as well as the detail shinning only in areas that are very important. This is a FPS, with subtle RPG elements at the core, but the FPS aspect is very well done. Killing enemies is always rewarding and challenging at the same time. It kinda brings back memories of Jak on the playstation but in FPS form. Aside from the FPS aspect there's really nothing else it offers. There's no character development, no one individual protagonist, as well as a very bland story line. You just do missions with no ulterior motive. It's pretty much a straight line right off the bat. These guys are bad, stop them.... If they rewrote the story, gave characters more interaction with the plot, added more upgrades, locations, and weapons you'd have another fallout on your hands. But this isn't Fallout or Oblivion, it's RAGE. While it looks amazing, has a very well polished shooter core, it lacks in story and character development.So I give it a 7/10 and hope this is the start to another great series. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    Rage is, by far, one of the best looking games ever made. When I first emerged in to the open area, my jaw, quite literally, dropped. I stood in amazement at the vista in front of me.

    However, after that moment, my expectations, which may have been to high, were not met. The shooting mechanics are great, as is expected from the creators of Doom. Every bullet you fire at an enemy impacts
    Rage is, by far, one of the best looking games ever made. When I first emerged in to the open area, my jaw, quite literally, dropped. I stood in amazement at the vista in front of me.

    However, after that moment, my expectations, which may have been to high, were not met. The shooting mechanics are great, as is expected from the creators of Doom. Every bullet you fire at an enemy impacts them by either making them stumble, watching them flinch, etc. Each weapon has its use and can be fun to experiment with. Needless to say, id made a great shooter.

    Just like the enemies in game, they stumbled a bit though.

    The areas, even though beautifully rendered, often amount to grey and brown. There are a few good times where your jaw will drop but I did not want this sensation sometimes... I wanted it always. The characters in the game are shallow, and I did not find myself interested in any of them. They are simply quest-givers, and the quests they give are also not very fun. They amount to going to an area you have to explore, grabbing an item or planting some dynamite, then going back for your reward. The story was short, and there isn't that much replayability in it either.

    The car racing, if an odd choice, works well. It is fun to drive around and shoot others, but it is a bit shallow. I found myself using the same strategies to win NPC races and it got boring after a while.

    Then there's the multiplayer. Oh, the multiplayer. I expected a mode where I could shoot my friends, like in every other shooter, and enjoy it. I did NOT expect or want a strict car racing/demolition game. Rage has great shooting mechanics and I wanted to see that in multiplayer. There is a co-op mode where you go through scenarios that are only mentioned at in the game, but this is not enough. I was extremely disappointed in this aspect of the game.

    Rage is beautiful and is a great FPS at its heart. If it simply had more interesting characters, a better story, and a multiplayer that is worth playing, I would have given this a much, much better score.
    Expand
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    5
    Avoid this game at all costs. This game is merely a poor man's Borderlands. Yes, the graphics are pretty, WHEN THE TEXTURES ACTUALLY LOAD! I got motion sickness with the terrible texture pop. The gameplay is nothing really spectacular, and the story is practically non-existant. Not to mention one of the worst final missions in videogame history. I truly hope this game never sees a sequel.
  5. Nov 26, 2011
    7
    Nice graphics, gun play seems a bit old-school but there are some nice gadgets to play with. Overall not a bad game but with the recent release of some very high quality titles it does not really have anything to make it stand out. Its still a decent enough game but might be worth waiting for it to appear in a sale rather than paying full price.
  6. Oct 13, 2011
    6
    Thanks to the exceptionally high standard of animation, RAGE feels great. Every bullet has an effect on the enemies, and so every shot fired feels as satisfying as the next. Mutants swing from the ceiling and walls, launching themselves at you with knives and maces, only to be shot in the face by your rocket-loaded shotgun with astonishing fluidity. It's a shame that almost everything elseThanks to the exceptionally high standard of animation, RAGE feels great. Every bullet has an effect on the enemies, and so every shot fired feels as satisfying as the next. Mutants swing from the ceiling and walls, launching themselves at you with knives and maces, only to be shot in the face by your rocket-loaded shotgun with astonishing fluidity. It's a shame that almost everything else in RAGE is flawed, from the blunt characters and "story" to the lifeless brown/grey environment; you will travel around the wasteland in your bricks-for-wheels buggy, attempting to complete trivial side-quests like collecting parts for a damaged car or finding a gun in a prison, yada yada yada. If anything, RAGE is substantial proof that even the most pointless and uninspiring of games can be considered entertaining, so long as it is executed properly with backing from a big-budget publisher. Expand
  7. Oct 11, 2011
    5
    This is a visually stunning game, that has a lot for everybody. That being said it has it's own host of problems, namely hit detection is beyond horrible, you can be lined up with your sniper rifle 300m out and with the sight directly on the target and hit nothing but air.The guns are equally as accurate when fired from the hip, there is no sway at all when looking through the scope.AIThis is a visually stunning game, that has a lot for everybody. That being said it has it's own host of problems, namely hit detection is beyond horrible, you can be lined up with your sniper rifle 300m out and with the sight directly on the target and hit nothing but air.The guns are equally as accurate when fired from the hip, there is no sway at all when looking through the scope.AI characters running into walls, then flailing about for minutes after they die. But the absolutely worst part for me was the ending. It's just stupid, anti-climatic, answers no questions, no final boss to fight and then the credits start to roll (which is in fact is the only way you will know the game is over.).
    I've played worse games, but I definitely hoped for more out of this game.
    Expand
  8. Oct 10, 2011
    5
    I had really high hopes for this game. Right from the beginning this game drops the ball, taking a world that looks amazing and turning it into something completely mundane. It's like waiting your whole life to drive a Ferrari and realizing all you can do is drive it from one end of your street to the other, at 15 miles per hour. It's clear that id tried way too hard to go out of theirI had really high hopes for this game. Right from the beginning this game drops the ball, taking a world that looks amazing and turning it into something completely mundane. It's like waiting your whole life to drive a Ferrari and realizing all you can do is drive it from one end of your street to the other, at 15 miles per hour. It's clear that id tried way too hard to go out of their comfort zone into RPG territory, without understanding what makes a person invested in the story and the characters. The missions in this game are about as fun as going to the grocery store to get food for a party you're not attending, returning home to find you've forgotten something, then going back to the store to find it closed. The shooting environments look cool but for some reason they had the same voice actor voice all the enemies in a particular area, saying the same dumb things to himself over and over. This game suffers from the same condition as Duke Nukem Forever: a situation where the development team has rested so completely on its laurels that they have ignored what has made the great games over the last 5 years great. If you're looking to buy a new game in this style, I'd actually buy Dead Island and then Deus Ex over this. Dead Island is actually quite fun for how simple it is, and Deus Ex has some cool ideas implemented in a somewhat dull story. Or you could buy Fallout New Vegas, ignore the somewhat crappy visuals and spend 50 or so hours poking around the wasteland until Skyrim comes out. Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    Without a doubt the best looking game on consoles. This engine would make a fantastic Fallout game, which is a game Rage borrows heavily from. Unfortunately, the luster fades fast once you realize the linear nature of the game makes exploration pointless and oftentimes impossible. The enemies aren't really engaging, just obnoxious in their behavior, and the boss battles are strictly anWithout a doubt the best looking game on consoles. This engine would make a fantastic Fallout game, which is a game Rage borrows heavily from. Unfortunately, the luster fades fast once you realize the linear nature of the game makes exploration pointless and oftentimes impossible. The enemies aren't really engaging, just obnoxious in their behavior, and the boss battles are strictly an 8-bit affair. Vehicle mode is capable but unnecessary and after several cheap deaths a many hours lost due to a totally arcane save system put this game firmly back in its case. Expand
  10. Nov 30, 2011
    6
    After playing this game for the first few hours, I really couldn't get into it, and if I were strictly to give the game a review based on my first few hours, it would easily reach the lower end of the scale. Some of the shooting and characters felt bland and uninspired, but the voice of John Goodman, was an interesting choice for the role of Dan Hagar in the game. However every time IAfter playing this game for the first few hours, I really couldn't get into it, and if I were strictly to give the game a review based on my first few hours, it would easily reach the lower end of the scale. Some of the shooting and characters felt bland and uninspired, but the voice of John Goodman, was an interesting choice for the role of Dan Hagar in the game. However every time I encountered this character, all I saw and heard was John Goodman, I couldn't picture for the life of me, the character and what kind of person id software was trying to represent, because as it turns out, that the personalities of the characters are stale and bland. I didn't feel I could connect with any of them, so any missions that I did as part of the story, were fulfilled, but purely just so I could get on with the game. HOWEVER, the graphics are phenomenal, and running at 60 FPS, it was quite an astonishing feat to observe. Sometimes there was the occasional texture pop-in, but that also seemed to vanish when I installed the game to the 360 hard drive. The driving sequences are a mixed bag, sometimes the driving and shooting when getting from one place to another, works fine. But during races, due to sloppy handling and a horrible camera, makes the whole thing seem like an afterthought. The open post-apocalyptic world is interesting to look at. The AI is as expected from a game of this era, enemies know your presence quite quickly, and act accordingly. They duck and cover appropriately, and when realizing that there is no defeating the protagonist, they retreat or call in further back-up. Having the main character not engage in dialogue is an odd choice. It disengages me from anything he does. There is nothing about him that makes me relate to him, and I feel that its a poor choice. I've come to expect this from any game that id Software has had involvement in, but I hope that this will change with the release of Doom 4. However, this is a decent game. The shooting works fine, and sound design is alright. The guns shoot and fire as you'd expect. Neither good or bad. Towards the end of the game, I found myself quite enjoying the game, despite its flaws. When I had fully upgraded everything about the character, had all the cool gadgets, weapons and schematics, I found that the game was really a blast to play. And having numerous bullet types for the various guns really spiced things up during combat. All in all, a decent shooter. PROS:
    + Fantastic graphics
    + Great weapons, and crafted creatively
    + Good AI
    + Interesting mini games
    + John Goodman

    CONS:
    - Subpar character personalities
    - Terrible driving sequences/camera
    - Predictable gameplay
    - No protagonist dialogue - At times, boring combat, especially towards the beginning
    Expand
  11. Oct 5, 2011
    7
    This game is a prettier Bioshock, without the compelling narrative, and if your only Plasmid were a decapitating boomerang. Add Borderlands to taste. It really is something to marvel at, though, and its connection to Breaking Bad doesn't hurt, either.
  12. Oct 6, 2011
    6
    It sure is pretty and set in a supposedly open world - but the story is still linear and completely devoid of any real choice (or even the illusion of). The game feels uninspired, reeking of that "been there, done that" feeling. When I think of "the wasteland" I still think of Fallout - not Rage. Sorry id, your game is kinda boring.
  13. Oct 6, 2011
    6
    Meh. That's how I'd sum up Rage. It's got pretty decent graphics, but there's a lot of texture pop-in, which is distracting. The pacing and the controls are both too fast. You walk faster than you run in a lot of games so I'm constantly "walking" past buttons or items to pick up -- this can be really annoying in combat. Same goes with the aiming -- too fast, too touchy. There's noMeh. That's how I'd sum up Rage. It's got pretty decent graphics, but there's a lot of texture pop-in, which is distracting. The pacing and the controls are both too fast. You walk faster than you run in a lot of games so I'm constantly "walking" past buttons or items to pick up -- this can be really annoying in combat. Same goes with the aiming -- too fast, too touchy. There's no weight to the story, you wake up, are rescued and then five minutes later are killing large quantities of bad guys. As far as the setting goes, it's generic wasteland stuff. Everything is made of junk and there are mutants and bandits everywhere No depth or breadth or backstory that a Fallout game gives you. It kind of has a "jokey" feel to it, which I think takes away from the Post-Apocalyptic setting the game is going for. Honestly, it feels like a less fun version of Borderlands. And I didn't really like Borderlands too much. The one thing I will say that is that id sure knows how to model guns - they all have a good feel and weight when fired, so as far as that goes, they've done right. I was expecting more and am somewhat disappointed. I'd say it's a good rental or a good used purchase 6 months from now when the price is halved. Expand
  14. Oct 18, 2011
    6
    I have to state up front that I am generally a big fan of Bethesda. I have loved all of the Fallout games and can't wait for the next Elder Scrolls installment. So I Really bought this game off the back of their name. Sadly I feel quite let down. The game looks BEAUTIFUL - really well crafted, but ultimately it's way too short, the game play is way too formulaic and generally I feel quiteI have to state up front that I am generally a big fan of Bethesda. I have loved all of the Fallout games and can't wait for the next Elder Scrolls installment. So I Really bought this game off the back of their name. Sadly I feel quite let down. The game looks BEAUTIFUL - really well crafted, but ultimately it's way too short, the game play is way too formulaic and generally I feel quite let down by playing it. The driving is rubbish, never once was I challenged in the races, and the shooting is not all that hard either. When I finished the game I really couldn't believe that that was it all - that that was the end if the game! Such a shame. 3 discs and about 1/4 the length of Fallout. Not good enough Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    I will say I love the FPS in this game it brings back strafting and close combat and the RPG elements it has is very cool, and the action that is drivin in this game the sounds and how it is slightly scary at times. BUTTT I do no like the whole durby thing and racing and then the muliplayer is drivin just for racing that I think is stupid. one thing that bothers me is the graphics cut inI will say I love the FPS in this game it brings back strafting and close combat and the RPG elements it has is very cool, and the action that is drivin in this game the sounds and how it is slightly scary at times. BUTTT I do no like the whole durby thing and racing and then the muliplayer is drivin just for racing that I think is stupid. one thing that bothers me is the graphics cut in and out like i will come into a area and everything will get blurry then the graphics come in. Expand
  16. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    Great visuals, ok gameplay. It does feel like Quake, but without the original grit of that series. It would have been a score better and possibly a hit had it been 100% co-opable like Borderlands. This game isn't exactly an rpg, but it has light RPG elements. The junk collecting to build things is less than intuitive, dealing with vendors who are sprawled out in a town isn't reallyGreat visuals, ok gameplay. It does feel like Quake, but without the original grit of that series. It would have been a score better and possibly a hit had it been 100% co-opable like Borderlands. This game isn't exactly an rpg, but it has light RPG elements. The junk collecting to build things is less than intuitive, dealing with vendors who are sprawled out in a town isn't really fun. Once the game gets going though, its good. But not great. Expand
  17. Jan 6, 2012
    6
    I have decided to alter my score, since I have played through the entire game, and now have a much better and open opinion on it.

    The game does have potential, however the story was too short, and the game despite being open ended, doesn't give you an incentive to explore, infact there is no where too explore, since you'll end up visiting everywhere during the main story. As for the
    I have decided to alter my score, since I have played through the entire game, and now have a much better and open opinion on it.

    The game does have potential, however the story was too short, and the game despite being open ended, doesn't give you an incentive to explore, infact there is no where too explore, since you'll end up visiting everywhere during the main story.

    As for the graphics, I have seen better. The so called "Super Textures" were not super. They were good, but as I said I have seen better.

    Also I feel the game placed too much emphasis on racing rather than shooting, and there is no equal balancing between the two. The shooting segments are good, and they are challenging enough but not to the point of frustration.

    Overall if you are expecting a fallout(ish) game then RAGE is not for you, it's way too linear to be considered fallout(ish). If you like racing games then it's worth taking a look at.
    Expand
  18. Dec 23, 2011
    7
    I honestly liked this game. Storyline started off good, but was a bit lame in the end. But if they expand on this in a sequel then I could forgive this. Driving was surprisingly smooth and I am not one to play driving games. It was pretty fun. Weapons were nice but very limited in options. Enemies were not bad but need to have more voiceover options and sayings. Graphics areI honestly liked this game. Storyline started off good, but was a bit lame in the end. But if they expand on this in a sequel then I could forgive this. Driving was surprisingly smooth and I am not one to play driving games. It was pretty fun. Weapons were nice but very limited in options. Enemies were not bad but need to have more voiceover options and sayings. Graphics are incredible. The only real downside is the game is just too short. If it was a bit longer they would have hit it out of the park, IMHO. I would recommend a rent rather than a buy since the replayability is not very high. Multiplayer isn't very challenging either and is limited to racing only. Expand
  19. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    RAGE was a masterpiece in one art-form only. Graphics. I've been a long-time fan of both Bethesda and id and when I saw that they were going to make a baby and name it RAGE, you bet your ass I was on the gift registry. Looking at all the gameplay videos, you see a beautiful world filled with nasty enemies, heavy weapons, and more FPS then you can shake a stick at. Let's dig a bit deeper toRAGE was a masterpiece in one art-form only. Graphics. I've been a long-time fan of both Bethesda and id and when I saw that they were going to make a baby and name it RAGE, you bet your ass I was on the gift registry. Looking at all the gameplay videos, you see a beautiful world filled with nasty enemies, heavy weapons, and more FPS then you can shake a stick at. Let's dig a bit deeper to find the grit beneath the glass.

    Graphics: Stunning. Absolutely amazing work on the animator's parts. Textures are clear and crisp, with the most realistic facial mapping since Half-Life 2's breakthrough. The frames-per-second don't drop below 65 in my estimation, and no matter what I'm doing it never gets hitched up or laggy. Smooth as butter. Delicious, sexy looking, well detailed butter. Yes. Weapons look fantastic, as do the enemies, but unfortunately suffer from what I call "Cookie cutter bad guys". You will see the same damn guys from each set of bad guys innumerable times. Constantly. Doesn't stop them from being pretty or awesome, but there's a lot of the same thing, and it causes concern to see 3 of the same bad guy staring at you with shotguns. Ruins the experience.

    Sound: Ahh, the grit. Here we go. Vehicle sounds can be ridiculous, but I've yet to find a game with decent driving noises [save from driving games]. Environments have their own feel and let you know it with dripping, rocks crumbling, birds cawing, whatever needs to be heard to feel realistic. Weapons are orgasmically awesome thanks to id, who have always delivered the heavy firepower. Then we get to the true grit, which is voices of the enemies. Every-single-enemy-has-the-same-voice. Not meaning all of them in the entire game. I mean each group, like the mutants or gear heads. They are all the same person, same voice, same annoyance, same bloodstain. Gets repetitive real quick when you're just mowing down same fake russian accent after fake russian accent. Also: JOHN GOODMAN!
    Expand
  20. Oct 6, 2011
    6
    This game while beautiful engine is lacking in almost every other area.

    It just seems like a Fallout 4 Technology Demo. The whole time I was playing its short campaign I was thinking - so that is what Skyrim and Fallout 4 is going to look like.
  21. Oct 6, 2011
    5
    Overall:
    this game's single player campaign is short. very short.
    This is not Fallout 4.... it's barely Doom 3. What's good: graphics are cool. the animations are outstanding! the characters emote like a pixar movie. One this this game does that I never see in games is a full-body performance from the character. The characters will emote and pound on the table for emphasis, or play with
    Overall:
    this game's single player campaign is short. very short.
    This is not Fallout 4.... it's barely Doom 3.

    What's good:
    graphics are cool. the animations are outstanding! the characters emote like a pixar movie. One this this game does that I never see in games is a full-body performance from the character. The characters will emote and pound on the table for emphasis, or play with their glasses - it's a joy to watch.

    Graphics:
    the whole thing seems very uneven, the graphics even go from a Borderlands style illustrated painting look to a hyper-realistic. some things are beautiful and some things look like someone drew on it with a magic marker. The characters and costumes are all done brilliantly, I found my self striking up conversations with every Tom Dick and Harry in the game just to see the wonderful animations

    the shootouts are fun, but all very predictable and no real re-play value. the driving combat made me long for BorderLands... it's really much better in this arena

    Gameplay:
    I was sold a open-world sandbox game. Rage is not that. It is a very linear shooter where instead of being lead down claustrophobic corridors in Doom3 you are lead down claustrophobic canyons with a view of the sky. there are only a handful of areas and there is no real emergent gameplay
    I feel cheated, mislead.

    Listen to Dean Devlin:
    Dean Devlin once said something like, "if you order Pizza and you get Chinese food, it doesn't matter how good that Chinese food is - it's going to be a bad experience"

    So, take it from the guy who made movies that looked cool but never really delivered (Independence day, Godzilla, etc.) and apply his experience this game that looked cool but also never really delivered
    Expand
  22. Oct 11, 2011
    7
    It's a good game with some interesting new weapon combinations and an interesting art style. Most of it takes the form of find a person, get a job, perform the job, and return to collect reward. There are some nifty specializations and vehicles to drive, but nothing quite groundbreaking. It is a fulfilling game to play while BF3 beta is over and the week before Arkham City comes out.
  23. Oct 10, 2011
    7
    Wolfenstein, Doom, Quake... Rage. The gap between id's latest game and the classics which came before is more than just temporal. There's a noticeable difference in quality. A beautiful engine is marred by ridiculous texture pop-in. Fun gunplay is dampened by repetitive fetch quests. A refreshing (for id) new world is tainted by the fact we've played similar games like Fallout andWolfenstein, Doom, Quake... Rage. The gap between id's latest game and the classics which came before is more than just temporal. There's a noticeable difference in quality. A beautiful engine is marred by ridiculous texture pop-in. Fun gunplay is dampened by repetitive fetch quests. A refreshing (for id) new world is tainted by the fact we've played similar games like Fallout and Borderlands. For every positive, there's a negative and this is what makes Rage a letdown. It could have been great, but it'll have to settle for good. Expand
  24. Oct 5, 2011
    5
    Probably the most disappointing game I've ever played. After months of anticipation, all id can muster is a lame knock-off of Borderlands and Fallout 3. Don't get me wrong, Rage is full of polish and technical merit, but it is so uninspired that you are constantly followed by the feeling that you've been there done that. Disappointingly, with each release id puts under its belt, it seemsProbably the most disappointing game I've ever played. After months of anticipation, all id can muster is a lame knock-off of Borderlands and Fallout 3. Don't get me wrong, Rage is full of polish and technical merit, but it is so uninspired that you are constantly followed by the feeling that you've been there done that. Disappointingly, with each release id puts under its belt, it seems that their focus shifts more to delivering a technical knock-out rather than innovative, original gameplay. Expand
  25. Oct 7, 2011
    7
    If you are one of those people that cares only about graphics and never play more then 30 minutes of any game this is the best game in the world. If you are one of the very few that plays games through and care about the whole package its a good game, not great. Nobody likes to read too much so I will sum it up, its like Fallout 3 with much better interaction with the world andIf you are one of those people that cares only about graphics and never play more then 30 minutes of any game this is the best game in the world. If you are one of the very few that plays games through and care about the whole package its a good game, not great. Nobody likes to read too much so I will sum it up, its like Fallout 3 with much better interaction with the world and characters but minus the leveling and RPG elements plus a light sprinkling of boarderlands. Expand
  26. Jan 3, 2012
    6
    Its alright, but nothing stand out amazing. Good graphics, nice combination of vehicles, combat and RPG elements. But the game does tend to suffer from the typical Id enemy spawning and attack patterns, just like Doom 3 making combat not that fun when enemies tend to spawn all around you and love nothing better than to get right in your face. Probably less frustrating on PC since you gotIts alright, but nothing stand out amazing. Good graphics, nice combination of vehicles, combat and RPG elements. But the game does tend to suffer from the typical Id enemy spawning and attack patterns, just like Doom 3 making combat not that fun when enemies tend to spawn all around you and love nothing better than to get right in your face. Probably less frustrating on PC since you got quicker twitch skills with M/K, but really in this day and age, twitch shooters are feeling dated. The other thing I didn't like was the lack of true exploration. In many games, if you can see it, you can go to it. But not in Rage. Its faked openness, just like Gear of War. Its like walking through a museum and seeing all the pretty pictures and sculptures but not actually being able to get close to them or touch them. Essentially there is a distinct lack of interactivity, you are constantly stopped by invisible barriers that prevent you getting off the rail of the games levels. A shame, because some of the exterior vehicle sections can be fun. Anyway its a decent game, but there are better games in the shooter / RPG / post apocalypse genre, if your tight on money and looking for more freedom, like Borderlands or Fallout 3 / New Vegas. Expand
  27. Nov 28, 2011
    5
    Passable, but nothing more. First off, the game is cut into two genres, FPS and racing. While both parts are handled well enough, they don't compliment each other, making for an awkward experience overall. It's like playing two entirely different games, but neither of them are fleshed out enough. You have the gunplay, which mostly holds up due to the rather impressive enemy ai. And thenPassable, but nothing more. First off, the game is cut into two genres, FPS and racing. While both parts are handled well enough, they don't compliment each other, making for an awkward experience overall. It's like playing two entirely different games, but neither of them are fleshed out enough. You have the gunplay, which mostly holds up due to the rather impressive enemy ai. And then you have the racing, which is rather fun, but is held back by repetition, and some poor design choices. Then you have the game's biggest draw, it's graphics. At a glance, the game looks pretty damn good. There is a lot of detail in just about every corner of the world, and is easily one of the best looking games on the consoles. Again though, I said at a glance. Take the time to stop and admire the scenery, and you will quickly realize there isn't all that much to admire. The game suffers from terrible texture load-in, and many of the texture are set at an extremely low resolution. Easily, the the most impressive thing about this game, in terms of visuals, are the animations, which benefit from the high frames per second id's new engine has the game Rage running at. It has to be mentioned that the visual issues with this are only magnified when it comes to the pc version, which should have been the best version of the game, considering. To make matters worse, the developers were pretty sneaky with how they marketed the game. From early on, they led people into believing that the game was largely open-world, which helped create buzz for the game, pre-release. Only days after the game launched did they come out and say that the game wasn't a, "fully open-world", but a jointed collection of areas, separated by stretches of wasteland. Basically, "You people thought it, and we let you believe it". Not a good way to handle yourself, being that this was your first major release in over six years.

    Rage is a game that showed much potential, but ultimately, the developers delivered what is more or less minimalism. Gameplay that is less than truly satisfying. An rather uninteresting world. Forgettable side-content. And, ultimately, a package that doesn't live up to the full retail price it asks for. Bargain material for those still interested, and little else.
    Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    This game had everything a great game should have. The graphics, the frame rate, the animations, the sound. But it lacked any sort of innovation really. It didn't have the player freedom I expected, and the story wasn't at all great, and it was short. It is fun the first time around but after that it isn't worth playing any more and you just wasted a hundred bucks. How does a meteorThis game had everything a great game should have. The graphics, the frame rate, the animations, the sound. But it lacked any sort of innovation really. It didn't have the player freedom I expected, and the story wasn't at all great, and it was short. It is fun the first time around but after that it isn't worth playing any more and you just wasted a hundred bucks. How does a meteor hitting earth turn a human into a 100 meter tall mutant? Expand
  29. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    solid FPS game with great graphics and atmosphere, they want you to belive its an open world game but really its linear as hell, some side-missions take you back to where you allready been in the story missions witch is negative. the aim down the sight function is actually not good on this game, this game allows you to shoot from your hip in a better way then aiming down the sight, oldsolid FPS game with great graphics and atmosphere, they want you to belive its an open world game but really its linear as hell, some side-missions take you back to where you allready been in the story missions witch is negative. the aim down the sight function is actually not good on this game, this game allows you to shoot from your hip in a better way then aiming down the sight, old school style, kinda of cool and stupid at the same time. overall you will enjoy rage especially at the low price it allready dropped to. Expand
  30. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    Very underrated game. A great start to a franchise. Rage is a beautiful post apocalyptic world with a lot of character and atmosphere. The game is very polished and everything is top notch. The bandits fighting style is refreshing and makes the shooting more fun than typical first person shooters. The game is pretty long so like any game, the combat can get repetitive. The only majorVery underrated game. A great start to a franchise. Rage is a beautiful post apocalyptic world with a lot of character and atmosphere. The game is very polished and everything is top notch. The bandits fighting style is refreshing and makes the shooting more fun than typical first person shooters. The game is pretty long so like any game, the combat can get repetitive. The only major shortcoming is the games plot. Just when the game starts to get interesting, it ends. There is really no major conflict and resolution in the game. Despite this, the game is still a lot of fun to play and one of the best games this generation. Definitely one of the best shooters this generation and in gaming in general. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 77
  2. Negative: 1 out of 77
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    79
    Shooter fans will like RAGE, but it's lack of story or really innovative elements won't attract new players that didn't love other id games. I hoped for more, guys.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    89
    As a fun and frenetic FPS, Rage delivers in spades. That the same can't be said for the game's story is a real shame. It's especially disappointing as Rage feels like it's building to a strong crescendo, before fizzling out like a damp firework. Rage veers incredibly close to greatness then, but ultimately fails to win itself a cigar.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Nov 13, 2011
    90
    While its other elements hep create atmosphere, they aren't as polished as its peerless gunplay. [Issue#77, p.82]