User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 216
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Very few thought it was possible to bring Rayman back to life. Since the Rabbids came Rayman's fame began to fade and soon the Rabbids took over and Rayman was no more. Then the original creator spoke: A New Rayman is coming! It caused quite as stir, and many and most (including me) tought it was going to be another failed re-hash. But boy were we wrong. Ubisoft had a golden oppurtunity toVery few thought it was possible to bring Rayman back to life. Since the Rabbids came Rayman's fame began to fade and soon the Rabbids took over and Rayman was no more. Then the original creator spoke: A New Rayman is coming! It caused quite as stir, and many and most (including me) tought it was going to be another failed re-hash. But boy were we wrong. Ubisoft had a golden oppurtunity to bring rayman back into the digital world, and they used that oppurtunity to make the best platformer EVER! Yes it's 2D but if crysis was 2D Rayman whould have better graphics. Everything is hand-drawn and animated as smooth as possible. The enviroment, character animations and basically everything is breathtaking. The only problem is to fully enjoy every aspect of Rayman Origins you need to play at 1080p. At this resolution you can take everything in and you will feel as if your in a new world. The gameplay is smooth and challenging. This game makes Mario look like Dora the explorer. The 4 player co-op is as fun as it could be. The gameplay is perfect. Now $60 for a 2D platformer is expensive, but this isn't your average platformer. THIS IS RAYMAN! If your a fan of Rayman or just enjoy a brilliant platformer you should stop reading this now and go buy it. If all the Rayman games coming is like this, I say well done Ubisoft. Well done. You have succesfully brought Rayman back into the gaming world. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    FUN FUN FUN FUN FUN!!!!! What a great fun game especially multiplayer. If you have kids they will love it AND you can even play it with them! It is in no way serious, involved or complicated. I'm not a huge platformer fan but this one is a must have.
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    It's about time we have a platformer like Rayman Origins in our generation. But it's disappointing to see that a game like this does not get enough attention. It's amazing to see game with many of the essentials to a platformer. The story is rock-solid. With multiple unlockable quirky characters to play as, and a variety of enemies to fight, this game won't let up the style and hilarity.It's about time we have a platformer like Rayman Origins in our generation. But it's disappointing to see that a game like this does not get enough attention. It's amazing to see game with many of the essentials to a platformer. The story is rock-solid. With multiple unlockable quirky characters to play as, and a variety of enemies to fight, this game won't let up the style and hilarity. And all this with a soundtrack that UBIsoft nailed to add on to the story. The graphics are hands-down one best you'll see in a 2-D game with a smooth animation and incredible art direction. Even though there is no online, you will still find amusement and glory in this game, whether you're playing alone or with friends. When you're tired of seeing or shooting other bad guys in gory clashes, refresh yourself by playing Rayman Origins. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    Okay, this game is charming, I'll give it that. While I generally thought some of the platform mechanics were a bit frustrating, the ability to do coop play with my kids and husband redeemed this game immeasurably. It's cute, the kids love it, and whether it's my cup of tea or not, there are definitely those in my house that love it, so this review is on their behalf as well. Give it aOkay, this game is charming, I'll give it that. While I generally thought some of the platform mechanics were a bit frustrating, the ability to do coop play with my kids and husband redeemed this game immeasurably. It's cute, the kids love it, and whether it's my cup of tea or not, there are definitely those in my house that love it, so this review is on their behalf as well. Give it a shot, you might be surprised. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    One of the best platformers I've played in a long time. The graphics are brilliant, the gameplay is challenging and varied and while the plot of the game is not particularly complex I do give the developers props for making the premise a tongue-in-cheek stab at similar platformer games and their lack of interesting plotlines (I'm looking at you, Mario).

    I'm not going to get into just what
    One of the best platformers I've played in a long time. The graphics are brilliant, the gameplay is challenging and varied and while the plot of the game is not particularly complex I do give the developers props for making the premise a tongue-in-cheek stab at similar platformer games and their lack of interesting plotlines (I'm looking at you, Mario).

    I'm not going to get into just what makes this game so great because all of the other reviews have already done so-all I'll say is this: If you're a platform gamer or even a casual gamer and you believe that games don't have to be "realistic" (CoD) to have gorgeous visuals than I would suggest at least renting this game and giving it a try. I do not believe that you will be disappointed.

    Now I gave this game a 9, though I wish I could give it a 9.9 or at least a 9.5. Unfortunately Metacritic increments scores by whole numbers, so I gave it a 9. I gave it a 9 because I didn't like the extra unlock-able characters-they are literally just the regular characters with costume changes. I felt the game would have been better without them because at least then I wouldn't feel disappointed every time I unlocked a new character only to find out that it was functionally identical teensie/Rayman/Globox with different clothes.
    Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I remember back to the days of the Playstation one where I would play rayman 1 over and over in hopes of finally finishing it. Genuinely difficult to me at a young age. Rayman then fell out of my life and I never felt the urge to return with all the 'Ravin Rabbits' banter. Suddenly, I see this game appear in the demo section of xbox live and feel its worth a go. Fell in love. Bought theI remember back to the days of the Playstation one where I would play rayman 1 over and over in hopes of finally finishing it. Genuinely difficult to me at a young age. Rayman then fell out of my life and I never felt the urge to return with all the 'Ravin Rabbits' banter. Suddenly, I see this game appear in the demo section of xbox live and feel its worth a go. Fell in love. Bought the game and never looked back. Beautiful graphics, a 'Loco Roco' style soundtrack and fun, smooth gameplay made this game absolutely fantastic for me. Though there is a few levels I found boring and lacking fun elements, the game delivered 95% of an enjoying game. I was truly happy to see this game had co-op, local co-op that is. Something I felt games of the modern age lack. Not all my friends have xboxs, and having them here to play together is a regular occurance and this game is perfect for such situations. I've recommended this game to absolutely every gamer I know and gets a solid 9/10 from me. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Kept me busy for ages. gives mario a run for its money. Absolutely gorgeous. No online multiplayer is a missed oppertunity but great local multiplayer. Buy it!!
  8. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    Platforming has been redefined with Rayman Orgins. A story line isn't needed with a game like this. It is simply a work of art with great controls, a lengthy campaign and up to 4 player co-op offline. The game runs at silky smooth 60 Frames per second with not a single sign of screen tear or freezing issues. The animation is superb with intense game-play moments which always make aPlatforming has been redefined with Rayman Orgins. A story line isn't needed with a game like this. It is simply a work of art with great controls, a lengthy campaign and up to 4 player co-op offline. The game runs at silky smooth 60 Frames per second with not a single sign of screen tear or freezing issues. The animation is superb with intense game-play moments which always make a memorable experience for all of us. Expand
  9. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Clearly UBIsoft has great affection for The Rayman franchise. It shows in every nook and cranny of the game's design. I know it's "cliche" but Rayman Origins is a love-letter to those who love platformers and animatin. Rayman is easily one of the best looking games this generation. With hand-drawn animation that is masterfully crafted. The game is packed with content, which is rare theseClearly UBIsoft has great affection for The Rayman franchise. It shows in every nook and cranny of the game's design. I know it's "cliche" but Rayman Origins is a love-letter to those who love platformers and animatin. Rayman is easily one of the best looking games this generation. With hand-drawn animation that is masterfully crafted. The game is packed with content, which is rare these days. Easy to pick up and play, but incredibly difficult to master. The mark of a truly great platform game. I hope people buy this game, if only to send a message to the industry that games such as this can still exist and do well. And I believe Beyond Good and Evil 2's fate is directly linked to this titles success.

    Buy it. Play it. Love it! Rayman Origins is easily one of the Best Platformers in years!

    Well done UBIsoft. Well done indeed.
    Expand
  10. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    Some of the most fun I've had playing or watching friends playing a video game in a long time. Rayman Origins is a beautiful looking game, the background music is epic (it will have you laughing out loud), and the gameplay couldn't be better. Not many, if any games out there have this level of style and fun, the gaming industry can learn a few things from Rayman Origins. This is theSome of the most fun I've had playing or watching friends playing a video game in a long time. Rayman Origins is a beautiful looking game, the background music is epic (it will have you laughing out loud), and the gameplay couldn't be better. Not many, if any games out there have this level of style and fun, the gaming industry can learn a few things from Rayman Origins. This is the definition of a video game. Expand
  11. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    I thought it was over for Rayman. I'll be honest and blunt. I thought it was a franchiseon its way out - with the latest being in the Raving Rabbids party series and Rayman 3D (See my review). However Rayman Origins has the shock factor and is exceptional in almost every way, an ideal platformer with plenty to give to not just gamers but an example of how platformers are done. RaymanI thought it was over for Rayman. I'll be honest and blunt. I thought it was a franchiseon its way out - with the latest being in the Raving Rabbids party series and Rayman 3D (See my review). However Rayman Origins has the shock factor and is exceptional in almost every way, an ideal platformer with plenty to give to not just gamers but an example of how platformers are done. Rayman Origins takes the successful elements of pprevious Rayman's and adds a huge layer of depth to the beloved franchise. This 2D platformer should not be judged by it's cover, many I have spoken to about commented on the artstyle not looking like Skyrim or Uncharted, SO WHAT. The artstyle is amazing in this game and should not be taken lightly a true delight o see that in an age where there are GOW3, UC and Crysis that even 2D platformers shine with their artstyle and shock gamers with the fluidity of their presentation. Gameplay:9, Graphics: 9, Sound: 9, Presentation:9, Lasting appeal: 9.5 Expand
  12. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    the best plat former ive played this generation and some of the best graphics ever it is a must buy for platforming fans and rayman fans if only it had online though!!! but just grab 2 or 3 friends and have the best laughs you will have this 2011 year
  13. May 22, 2012
    6
    I really did not enjoy Rayman Origins singleplayer that much, but the multiplayer is very enjoyable and very fun. Playing this game on your own was **** and really lowed the score for this game. The multiplayer is very fun and I would play this game with friend or 2 but singleplayer is just terrible. Singleplayer 4/10 Multiplayer 8/10 Rayman Origins 6.3/10
  14. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    Truly an overrated game. Sure, it's one of the best looking games out there, and has an amazing soundtrack too, but the floaty controls, occasional camera glitches and insane difficulty ramp up near the end pretty much makes this game incredibly frustrating and at the price of a full retail game, it's just not worth it.
  15. Dec 19, 2011
    6
    wtf so many people rating this game a perfect 10/10
    This is a good game but it really doesn't deserve a 10/10
    I've played Rayman several years ago on the PC and it was great and when I played this game from a rent...but expectations just collapsed onto a bottomless pit. It gave me a good feel of nostalgia but that was all I got from the game to say the least. just wasn't my type of game
  16. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    I loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a total step back. Why go back to outdated 2D? The series has done great in 3D and thats how fans enjoyed it. Good thing rayman 3 is coming in HD later march 2012. This game is a total fail. Im a LONG TIME fan, and it SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS. Do not buy thisI loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a total step back. Why go back to outdated 2D? The series has done great in 3D and thats how fans enjoyed it. Good thing rayman 3 is coming in HD later march 2012. This game is a total fail. Im a LONG TIME fan, and it SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS. Do not buy this terrible game. Expand
  17. Sep 27, 2015
    8
    It's a fun game, but made somewhat cumbersome by the amount of collectibles that are needed in order to truly beat the game. Sometimes, the necessity to collect breaks the flow of what are genuinely well-designed levels. That and there are literally three different sets of collectibles and each requires the previous set. But the well thought out level design, crisp graphics, and amusingIt's a fun game, but made somewhat cumbersome by the amount of collectibles that are needed in order to truly beat the game. Sometimes, the necessity to collect breaks the flow of what are genuinely well-designed levels. That and there are literally three different sets of collectibles and each requires the previous set. But the well thought out level design, crisp graphics, and amusing humor makes up for it quite well. Expand
  18. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    Rayman Origins is a terrific platformer with a coop that makes it even more fantastic. The controls are flawless, and it is the certainly the best looking 2D game to date - the soundtrack and voice-work are also hilarious. Without a shadow of a doubt one of the richest and most fun experiences I've had in recent memory. Do not miss out on this great game, play it with a friend and you willRayman Origins is a terrific platformer with a coop that makes it even more fantastic. The controls are flawless, and it is the certainly the best looking 2D game to date - the soundtrack and voice-work are also hilarious. Without a shadow of a doubt one of the richest and most fun experiences I've had in recent memory. Do not miss out on this great game, play it with a friend and you will both be in for a ton of fun. Expand
  19. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    The best 2d platformer I have played in years. Rayman Origins captures the magic, creativity and nostalgia of the 2d platformer, a dying genre in games today and even though I love Super Mario, it's a very refreshing shift instead of having to rely on Mario for platformers most of the time. The gameplay is fun, the music is funny and the graphics and art design are colourful and beautifulThe best 2d platformer I have played in years. Rayman Origins captures the magic, creativity and nostalgia of the 2d platformer, a dying genre in games today and even though I love Super Mario, it's a very refreshing shift instead of having to rely on Mario for platformers most of the time. The gameplay is fun, the music is funny and the graphics and art design are colourful and beautiful to look at, proof that a game doesn't need realism to look good this generation. The local 4 player multiplayer is ridiculously fun and a great game when friends are around. If you love 2d platformers and games in general, do not pass this up on any console you own. Expand
  20. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Accidentally posted this review under PS3 when I own the 360 version...

    Gorgeous game. Classic platforming. The world 's are very creative and the music is amazingly in tune to the theme of each world. Although there is no online multiplayer, there is still some good replay value if you attempt to go for 100%, as some of the challenges are quite difficult. This game is a stellar
    Accidentally posted this review under PS3 when I own the 360 version...

    Gorgeous game. Classic platforming. The world 's are very creative and the music is amazingly in tune to the theme of each world. Although there is no online multiplayer, there is still some good replay value if you attempt to go for 100%, as some of the challenges are quite difficult. This game is a stellar representation of the mechanics that cause us to look back fondly on games from past generations. Sure it doesn't tick every check box of a modern game component list (multiplayer, extensive options,etc), but the developer has concentrated resources into maximizing the awesomeness of the components that are present. Do not miss this game. If nothing else rent it.
    Expand
  21. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    Beautiful hand drawn graphics, classic 2-d side scroller game-play with modern twists! This is what happens when France makes Mario, a hilarious, adorable, and addicting game. The SFX are unique and well done and is adding to my experience. I've been recommending this game to kids and adults alike, the 4 player co-op adds to the easy play-ability. And the replayability is high becauseBeautiful hand drawn graphics, classic 2-d side scroller game-play with modern twists! This is what happens when France makes Mario, a hilarious, adorable, and addicting game. The SFX are unique and well done and is adding to my experience. I've been recommending this game to kids and adults alike, the 4 player co-op adds to the easy play-ability. And the replayability is high because of the challenges on each level. I've been playing it more than Skyrim as of late! Expand
  22. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    The first thing most gamers will notice upon starting Rayman Origins is the fantastic cartoon like graphics, fortunately it also the gameplay to back it up. As with most Rayman games Origins is side scrolling 2D platformer. Don’t let that put off however as aside from arguably a few games in the Super Mario series it is full of more ideas than virtually any other game of its kind.

    The
    The first thing most gamers will notice upon starting Rayman Origins is the fantastic cartoon like graphics, fortunately it also the gameplay to back it up. As with most Rayman games Origins is side scrolling 2D platformer. Don’t let that put off however as aside from arguably a few games in the Super Mario series it is full of more ideas than virtually any other game of its kind.

    The basic idea of each level is to gather enough ‘electoons’ to unlock subsequent levels and challenges. Electoons are awarded simply for completing each level but more can be gained by finding secret areas, collecting the required amount of ‘Lums’ or racing to the end in under a set time. Each of these different goals allows the majority of the already well designed levels to be played in a variety of ways. On top of this added bonus levels can be unlocked that task the player with chasing a treasure chest non-stop through ever shifting terrain, mess up once and its back to the start.

    Played in single player the game is certainly enjoyable but it really comes alive when played with a friend (up to four can play at once but any more than two on screen at one time can become a little too crowded). Working together to negotiate the games trickiest moments must rank amongst the very best offline multiplayer experiences on the current generation of consoles.

    Aside from a few trial and error moments it is hard to really find any fault with Rayman Origins and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a title that puts the fun back into playing video games.
    Expand
  23. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    I'm a hardcore gamer and yet I find Rayman to be a pure marvel, it is the most gorgeous game you will ever play, visuals are out of this world, Music is incredible, ultra atmospheric, and most importantly, super fun, do not miss this one, it is a Gem!
  24. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Just got the game today for christams and i am loving it. 4 friends sitting on the couch together having a great time! This is just the kind of game i needed. 10
  25. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    I'm going to be very straight-forward. My Game of the Year for 2011 was not Skyrim, neither Zelda, nor Uncharted. It was Rayman Origins. Rayman Origins is a masterpiece of a game - it's graphics are beautiful, it's soundtrack is amazing, it's gameplay is breathtaking and it's impossible not to have fun with. While playing the 15-17 hour long story mode, you will find yourself laughing moreI'm going to be very straight-forward. My Game of the Year for 2011 was not Skyrim, neither Zelda, nor Uncharted. It was Rayman Origins. Rayman Origins is a masterpiece of a game - it's graphics are beautiful, it's soundtrack is amazing, it's gameplay is breathtaking and it's impossible not to have fun with. While playing the 15-17 hour long story mode, you will find yourself laughing more often than you'd think. Playing this with friends is a total blast, and the game is fair, creative and free of glitches. It doesn't need any violence to be successful, and it can be very challenging towards the end and even more if you're looking for all of the achievements, speed trophies or medals. The only fault I see is not having online multiplayer. Rayman Origins is as good as Super Mario World or Sonic the Hedgehog 2 when it comes to a masterpiece platformer. Everyone, even if not a gamer, should give it a shot. Expand
  26. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    What a gorgeous, fun and clever game! An hommage to the glory days of platforming. Extremely fun with friends. Finished it in one 10-hour session with friends in 4-player coop. We laughed so so much!
  27. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    I had no faith in Rayman: Origins and felt like the price for the title was bound to make it fail. But surprise, the demo was awesome, so I went out on Black Friday and braved the crowds to pick it up on sale. Story is goofy, tons of unlockables, bountiful replay value, laugh out loud drop-in drop-out co-op, great sense of humor, very well done platforming and a beautiful hand-drawn artI had no faith in Rayman: Origins and felt like the price for the title was bound to make it fail. But surprise, the demo was awesome, so I went out on Black Friday and braved the crowds to pick it up on sale. Story is goofy, tons of unlockables, bountiful replay value, laugh out loud drop-in drop-out co-op, great sense of humor, very well done platforming and a beautiful hand-drawn art style makes this game a whirl-wind stand out title and the biggest gaming surprise of 2011. A friend who came over looked at me like I was a little weird in the head for buying ended up loving it. And personally I am NOT a big co-op gamer, but this game is so much fun to play with friends. This is pure nostalgia and it's just plain fun. Expand
  28. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    A miracle! Can't stop smiling... even after I've finished the game =)
    This game is full of dynamism, so colorful and fun! Bring your friend home and have so much fun that you will never regret it.
    Need another Michel Ancel's games !
  29. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    WOW. Completely charming and so much fun. I am 26 and cant get enough of this bright, colourful and imaginative wonder of a game.It plays like an old school platformer but with enough modern bells and whistles to make it more than relevant by todays standards.
  30. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    This was the funnest game that I played throughout all of 2011. It was great. Hand drawn graphics, and crisp, fun game play kept me smiling until the very end.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 90
    Rayman Origins is a breath of fresh, colourful air to the industry that sadly I think will go largely ignored by the masses. Ubisoft and Michel Ancel have managed to craft something that has clearly had a lot of love and effort gone into it, both presentation wise and gameplay wise.
  2. Feb 15, 2012
    89
    A triumphant comeback for the series, Rayman Origins sees the influence of creator Michel Ancel at work once more, and a strong showing for Ubisoft's hand-drawn UbiART Framework, giving the game a unique and stunning style that's entirely its own thing. Rayman Origins is addictive, entertaining and quite possibly the best 2D platformer money can buy on Xbox 360.
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    93
    Overall, Rayman Origins goes where very few games have been able to go before and has shown that it is possible to revive a classic and to make it even better. It's excellently developed and is great fun to play from start to finish. Minus a few little problems, Rayman Origins is one of the most underrated games of 2011, which is certainly worth playing through.