Rayman Origins Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman's new adventure is a two-dimensional cooperative platformer with a colorful, whimsical art style.
Buy On
  • Developer: UBlart Montpellier
  • Genre(s): Action, Action Adventure, Adventure, General, Platformer, Fantasy, Platformer, 2D, 2D
  • # of players: 1-4
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E10+
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gamescom 2011: Rayman Origins - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    100
    The best-darned platformer you'll play all year.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    96
    I had a blast playing Rayman Origins, and it certainly stands out as a game that developers should take notes from if they're aiming to rejuvenate 2D gaming.
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    92
    Best platformer I've played, experienced and ogled at in a long while.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    90
    If you like 2D platforming games you can't miss this game. Visually gorgeous and with impeccable gameplay, this is a love letter to platforming games and also a great multiplayer experience for up to four players. Rayman has returned with great strength with a very inspiring title.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    At a time when games seem to offer a whole lot of everything, Rayman Origins stays focused on pure platforming pleasure, and it delivers. Yes, it can be too tough for some, but we're betting even the more casual players will soon find themselves hopelessly addicted to the finely tuned challenges on offer here.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    85
    With platformers enjoying a big resurgence in the last few years, it makes sense that Rayman: Origins has an anachronistic feel. Challenging levels, mosquito breaks, amusing multiplayer, and a hard-as-nails reward for perfectionists assures its place in the platformer pantheon. It just lacks a little of the sparkle that could've helped battle the fatigue of coaxing out every last lum.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 19, 2012
    50
    Outstanding platformer with eye-catching visuals brings a couple of great new ideas and always-funny cooperative play. [Christmas 2011]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 58
  2. Negative: 4 out of 58
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Very few thought it was possible to bring Rayman back to life. Since the Rabbids came Rayman's fame began to fade and soon the Rabbids tookVery few thought it was possible to bring Rayman back to life. Since the Rabbids came Rayman's fame began to fade and soon the Rabbids took over and Rayman was no more. Then the original creator spoke: A New Rayman is coming! It caused quite as stir, and many and most (including me) tought it was going to be another failed re-hash. But boy were we wrong. Ubisoft had a golden oppurtunity to bring rayman back into the digital world, and they used that oppurtunity to make the best platformer EVER! Yes it's 2D but if crysis was 2D Rayman whould have better graphics. Everything is hand-drawn and animated as smooth as possible. The enviroment, character animations and basically everything is breathtaking. The only problem is to fully enjoy every aspect of Rayman Origins you need to play at 1080p. At this resolution you can take everything in and you will feel as if your in a new world. The gameplay is smooth and challenging. This game makes Mario look like Dora the explorer. The 4 player co-op is as fun as it could be. The gameplay is perfect. Now $60 for a 2D platformer is expensive, but this isn't your average platformer. THIS IS RAYMAN! If your a fan of Rayman or just enjoy a brilliant platformer you should stop reading this now and go buy it. If all the Rayman games coming is like this, I say well done Ubisoft. Well done. You have succesfully brought Rayman back into the gaming world. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    the art style is beautiful and the simplistic gameplay is great. It's nice to see Rayman back. I hope they get a go at a sequel to this onethe art style is beautiful and the simplistic gameplay is great. It's nice to see Rayman back. I hope they get a go at a sequel to this one because i don't think I could ever get tired of this game. Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2015
    10
    This game is just another complete rip-off of angry birds. The game itself is exactly the same except the graphics quality is much lower andThis game is just another complete rip-off of angry birds. The game itself is exactly the same except the graphics quality is much lower and the gameplay is significantly less user friendly. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Ubisoft has created a 2D platformer that deserves to be mentioned along with Mario titles. A mix of precise fast paced action and slowerUbisoft has created a 2D platformer that deserves to be mentioned along with Mario titles. A mix of precise fast paced action and slower sequences which, although they may not seem exciting, allows for exploration, something that you rarely find in 2D platforming. The artstyle is astonishing as well. The only ting that really hurts this game is its repetitiveness. You essentially traverse through the worlds twice and despite the fact that they are different levels, makes me feel as if I'm playing the first half of the game over again. All in all, however, Rayman Origins is an exciting experience. 9/10 Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I remember back to the days of the Playstation one where I would play rayman 1 over and over in hopes of finally finishing it. GenuinelyI remember back to the days of the Playstation one where I would play rayman 1 over and over in hopes of finally finishing it. Genuinely difficult to me at a young age. Rayman then fell out of my life and I never felt the urge to return with all the 'Ravin Rabbits' banter. Suddenly, I see this game appear in the demo section of xbox live and feel its worth a go. Fell in love. Bought the game and never looked back. Beautiful graphics, a 'Loco Roco' style soundtrack and fun, smooth gameplay made this game absolutely fantastic for me. Though there is a few levels I found boring and lacking fun elements, the game delivered 95% of an enjoying game. I was truly happy to see this game had co-op, local co-op that is. Something I felt games of the modern age lack. Not all my friends have xboxs, and having them here to play together is a regular occurance and this game is perfect for such situations. I've recommended this game to absolutely every gamer I know and gets a solid 9/10 from me. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2015
    8
    It's a fun game, but made somewhat cumbersome by the amount of collectibles that are needed in order to truly beat the game. Sometimes, theIt's a fun game, but made somewhat cumbersome by the amount of collectibles that are needed in order to truly beat the game. Sometimes, the necessity to collect breaks the flow of what are genuinely well-designed levels. That and there are literally three different sets of collectibles and each requires the previous set. But the well thought out level design, crisp graphics, and amusing humor makes up for it quite well. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2017
    2
    Très joli ce jeu en 256 couleurs et super fluide, voilà qui plaira aux tout **** Il eût fallu cependant le réserver à la Wii ou aux consolesTrès joli ce jeu en 256 couleurs et super fluide, voilà qui plaira aux tout **** Il eût fallu cependant le réserver à la Wii ou aux consoles portables. En l'état, ça ne reste qu'un jeu en 2D assez limité proposé à un prix Triple A alors qu'il aurait du se cantonner au tarif des **** jeux indépendants à deux balles. A noter que ça donne mal à la tête assez vite à la manière d'un Walt Disney qu'on se coltine le dimanche après-midi avec la marmaille. Idiot et chiant comme la pluie. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews