Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman's new adventure is a two-dimensional cooperative platformer with a colorful, whimsical art style.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    100
    The best-darned platformer you'll play all year.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    96
    I had a blast playing Rayman Origins, and it certainly stands out as a game that developers should take notes from if they're aiming to rejuvenate 2D gaming.
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    92
    Best platformer I've played, experienced and ogled at in a long while.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    90
    If you like 2D platforming games you can't miss this game. Visually gorgeous and with impeccable gameplay, this is a love letter to platforming games and also a great multiplayer experience for up to four players. Rayman has returned with great strength with a very inspiring title.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    90
    At a time when games seem to offer a whole lot of everything, Rayman Origins stays focused on pure platforming pleasure, and it delivers. Yes, it can be too tough for some, but we're betting even the more casual players will soon find themselves hopelessly addicted to the finely tuned challenges on offer here.
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    85
    With platformers enjoying a big resurgence in the last few years, it makes sense that Rayman: Origins has an anachronistic feel. Challenging levels, mosquito breaks, amusing multiplayer, and a hard-as-nails reward for perfectionists assures its place in the platformer pantheon. It just lacks a little of the sparkle that could've helped battle the fatigue of coaxing out every last lum.
  7. 50
    Outstanding platformer with eye-catching visuals brings a couple of great new ideas and always-funny cooperative play. [Christmas 2011]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 53
  2. Negative: 3 out of 53
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Very few thought it was possible to bring Rayman back to life. Since the Rabbids came Rayman's fame began to fade and soon the Rabbids tookVery few thought it was possible to bring Rayman back to life. Since the Rabbids came Rayman's fame began to fade and soon the Rabbids took over and Rayman was no more. Then the original creator spoke: A New Rayman is coming! It caused quite as stir, and many and most (including me) tought it was going to be another failed re-hash. But boy were we wrong. Ubisoft had a golden oppurtunity to bring rayman back into the digital world, and they used that oppurtunity to make the best platformer EVER! Yes it's 2D but if crysis was 2D Rayman whould have better graphics. Everything is hand-drawn and animated as smooth as possible. The enviroment, character animations and basically everything is breathtaking. The only problem is to fully enjoy every aspect of Rayman Origins you need to play at 1080p. At this resolution you can take everything in and you will feel as if your in a new world. The gameplay is smooth and challenging. This game makes Mario look like Dora the explorer. The 4 player co-op is as fun as it could be. The gameplay is perfect. Now $60 for a 2D platformer is expensive, but this isn't your average platformer. THIS IS RAYMAN! If your a fan of Rayman or just enjoy a brilliant platformer you should stop reading this now and go buy it. If all the Rayman games coming is like this, I say well done Ubisoft. Well done. You have succesfully brought Rayman back into the gaming world. Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    What a fantastic surprise this game was! Beautiful hand drawn graphics that are utterly charming. The sound design is brilliant and the musicWhat a fantastic surprise this game was! Beautiful hand drawn graphics that are utterly charming. The sound design is brilliant and the music is a fitting tribute to the mad erratic nature of the game. The gameplay is solid and doesn't try to over complicate with lives and power-ups etc. A pure platformer experience in every shape and form. Also, this is quite a large game with over 10 words containing several levels with a lot of variety, whether your flying on the back of a mosquito or swimming in the deep ocean. I have to say the underwater sections are immensely fun and rather quite beautiful. This game is best played with at least one other person. 2 player co-op is brilliant, 4 player co-op can become quite hectic and very suddenly turns into a slap-fest (you can slap the crap out of each other). So if you want to progress with good scores the 2 player co-op is best, but for maximum on-screen insanity get three friends round and start slapping! Honestly one of the funnest games of last year. I really do struggle to find anything negative about this game. Maybe there are a few pacing issues on some levels and a large amount of trial and error, but that's kind of what platform-games are all about. Anyway frequent checkpoints remove any frustration of having to re-do a tricky part of a level. So no, nothing bad to say about this game. Pah, you can have a 10! Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    Lo primero que me sorprendio son:

    Los graficos Que es en 2D Se puede jugar hasta con 4 jugadores en la misma pantalla.. Soy super
    Lo primero que me sorprendio son:

    Los graficos
    Que es en 2D
    Se puede jugar hasta con 4 jugadores en la misma pantalla..

    Soy super fanatico de esos juegos de antaƱo y verdad que entretiene por horas, algunas misiones si son dificiles y por un super precio $19.90 dolares..
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    Ubisoft has created a 2D platformer that deserves to be mentioned along with Mario titles. A mix of precise fast paced action and slowerUbisoft has created a 2D platformer that deserves to be mentioned along with Mario titles. A mix of precise fast paced action and slower sequences which, although they may not seem exciting, allows for exploration, something that you rarely find in 2D platforming. The artstyle is astonishing as well. The only ting that really hurts this game is its repetitiveness. You essentially traverse through the worlds twice and despite the fact that they are different levels, makes me feel as if I'm playing the first half of the game over again. All in all, however, Rayman Origins is an exciting experience. 9/10 Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    I remember back to the days of the Playstation one where I would play rayman 1 over and over in hopes of finally finishing it. GenuinelyI remember back to the days of the Playstation one where I would play rayman 1 over and over in hopes of finally finishing it. Genuinely difficult to me at a young age. Rayman then fell out of my life and I never felt the urge to return with all the 'Ravin Rabbits' banter. Suddenly, I see this game appear in the demo section of xbox live and feel its worth a go. Fell in love. Bought the game and never looked back. Beautiful graphics, a 'Loco Roco' style soundtrack and fun, smooth gameplay made this game absolutely fantastic for me. Though there is a few levels I found boring and lacking fun elements, the game delivered 95% of an enjoying game. I was truly happy to see this game had co-op, local co-op that is. Something I felt games of the modern age lack. Not all my friends have xboxs, and having them here to play together is a regular occurance and this game is perfect for such situations. I've recommended this game to absolutely every gamer I know and gets a solid 9/10 from me. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2012
    8
    Okay, this game is charming, I'll give it that. While I generally thought some of the platform mechanics were a bit frustrating, the abilityOkay, this game is charming, I'll give it that. While I generally thought some of the platform mechanics were a bit frustrating, the ability to do coop play with my kids and husband redeemed this game immeasurably. It's cute, the kids love it, and whether it's my cup of tea or not, there are definitely those in my house that love it, so this review is on their behalf as well. Give it a shot, you might be surprised. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    I loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a totalI loved the past raymans. However, this game is rigged with bugs and errors that make it hard to play. The game is very boring and is a total step back. Why go back to outdated 2D? The series has done great in 3D and thats how fans enjoyed it. Good thing rayman 3 is coming in HD later march 2012. This game is a total fail. Im a LONG TIME fan, and it SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS. Do not buy this terrible game. Expand

See all 53 User Reviews