Metascore
40

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Dec 1, 2011
    60
    It could be worse. Hugh Jackman could be in it. [Christmas 2011, p.120]
  2. Oct 27, 2011
    50
    Grinding out levels and paid for content have their places in games, and neither should be in a $10 downloadable game based on a movie. There are a few moments that the game feels really fun but those moments wear off very quickly once the grind kicks in. Unless Real Steel is a movie that defines you there really isn't any reason to go whole hog over this game. Oh, it doesn't have Hugh Jackman in it in case you were wondering.
  3. 50
    Real Steal's fisticuffs are a half step above the usual movie-based dreck, but the constant rattle of a beggar's tin cup in your face only grows more distasteful over time.
  4. Dec 2, 2011
    30
    Real Steel is not a noteworthy videogame. It is a shame, because the idea could have been great if it had been well executed. It has a very limited and repetitive gameplay, and a lackluster appearence.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    30
    A prime example of a film-to-game adaptation gone wrong. It perpetuates the stereotype that games based on movies aren't good with a missed opportunity to use established mechanics effectively.
  6. Oct 18, 2011
    30
    Incredibly tedious and horrible controls make this almost unplayable.
  7. Dec 19, 2011
    15
    By keeping everything good about the game locked away until players cough up the dough, Real Steel can be dismissed as terrible.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 4 out of 10
  1. Oct 15, 2011
    2
    mildly fun game, but SOOOOOOOO LAME that you have to pay extra 240 MS credits as DLC to be able to change your robot's colors. Totally greedy!! Dont buy this game! otherwise it will encourage other developers to release games that are incomplete and will nickle and dime you more to play the whole game. Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2012
    5
    At first glance, Real Steel for Xbox360, seems like a cheap, fun game to have. It only costs 800 Credits (about 12 Euros), to download into your Xbox.
    You start with a stock robot however it is so weak, it cannot beat even the weakest robot in the circuit. So then you spend another amount of points (from 5 to 10 Euros) from your account to buy at least a couple of upgrades.

    If you wish to change your robots color, you must spend more credits from your account. It costs 240 credits just to change colors.
    In time, you unlock items in the shop for your robot which can be bought the the "money" you earn in fights... however the requirements to actually equip them must be met...and they are sky high. So you spend more real money (credits from your account) to get at least to a level where you can say you have a good robot.

    The idea behind the game is great, game play is lame. It only gets entertaining after you've spend quite a bit of money (at least 20 to 30 Euros), to upgrade your robot to a level you don't lose every single fight.
    I would have preferred the game was priced at the normal 60 Euros and bought in a store, in a box, and I could buy upgrafes with the game money I earned while fighting.

    I can only account this to greed. Potentially a player could spend over 100 Euros in Microsoft Credits to buy upgrades and create his dream robot fighter.
    The list of garage upgradres is long which is nice but the repetitive fighting in order to advance in levels so you can equip them is boring and pushes you to just spend Microsoft Credits to just buy them (if you spend the credits, you can equip anything regardless of your levels).

    Too bad, it could have been an awesome game if only the developers were not so greedy. Don't buy unless you have deep pockets.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Great game. I really don`t understand why people give it such a bad score ? In fact there is not much in main game and you should buy some DLC if you want some cool stuff, but you DON`T HAVE TO ! This is very important. Price is very low, so everybody can afford it and play. If you don`t have money you must spend some time to get stuff. But you also get skills. If you have rich parents you can save some time and get things quick, but no skill. This is what i call justice. Gameplay is very cool. No magic, and extra abilities but simple rules and moves. Power depletion is excellent factor, you can`t just hit your enemy endless, you must think. To get new parts you must learn how to defend yourself, you must learn to be quick, you must break some hands and heads and you must be effective. This is chalanging, no question about it. You can`t beat enemies in first encounter, you must find a tactic for almost each one of them. For some of them you`ll also need good parts. Getting money and opportunity to buy better parts you can learn new moves and technics. I have so much fun playing this game with my friends on couch-multiplayer. This is the best part of this game. Perfect for parties. Of course there are some things that could have been done better. I think customization and buying new parts could be done easier. Especially considering that kids will be playing it. I don`t understand why are we playing 3 stages of underground on 1 arena ??????? This is stupid, no question about it. WRB also 1 arena. Who designed it ? No idea. Music is getting boring after few hours. It shouldn`t be hard to put few more tracks in this game right ? Game has problems with saving data. Many times i lost my game progress going back to dashboard. You must enter shop or customization screen and change something (taunts f.i) and then get back to title screen to be sure that everything is saved. I`m not sure about Live multiplayer yet, cause i had few matches only so far. But it was little depressing. It`s very hard to find somebody with low skills (like i have) and weak robot. Most of these guys have top rated, shining all colors monsters. I can`t even scratch them with my robots fists... It should be more balanced or i must just get better in this game :).

    I think it was great idea to make cheap game and add many DLC for people who want their robot to look nice. People who can`t buy DLCs can get almost everything working hard. And getting skills in same time. This is cool idea. Unfortunately looks like i`m the only one who understands and likes it... I love movie and i love this game either.... It gave me many hours of fun and real satisfaction beating twice (or more) higher rated enemies with my real steel, not painted self made robot.

    Oh, and one more thing... You can find Charlie Kenton in this game (not like one if the reviewers mentioned) :) . Not personally but he is there piloting Noisy Boy in single player mode (check description).

    This game is worth buying and playing. I recommend it 100 %
    Full Review »