Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Oct 5, 2012
    40
    On its surface, Realms delivers the experience it promises. However, a closer look reveals too many missing elements that come standard in comparable games. Realms is like a first-person shooter without a reload button. The game works, and you still get to shoot, but you're going to notice that button is missing and it's going to frustrate you to no end.
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    39
    Controls are simple, character development is just doing enough to keep things interesting. From a technical point of view this hack&slay would leave a solid impression if you wouldn't encounter invisible level borders that restrict you. But what annoys me most is the completely useless experience system, where the points you get seem to be dished out at random.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    35
    In every review the main question is 'why would the consumer buy this?' For R.A.W. Realms of Ancient War that is a hard question to answer. Yes, it is an action RPG like great titles such as Diablo III and Torchlight II. But no, we wouldn't recommend this game to anyone.
  4. 30
    There's not a single reason to spend your time or money on this dilapidated adventure. You'll be much better off with Torchlight, Crimson Alliance or Dungeon Defenders.
  5. Sep 26, 2012
    30
    If R.A.W. was some oldie hack and slash which I'd gotten from the bargain bin for three bucks to finish it in one miserable weekend's sitting, I could surely present you with some redeeming arguments. Like, it was only three bucks, the game's a decade old and so on. But it is neither.
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    30
    R.A.W is a waste of time, energy and money, as you get very little value and content, and no reward other than a sore thumb and a sour attitude.
  7. Sep 19, 2012
    30
    To add insult to injury, RoAW makes it frustratingly hard to get into the lore.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    Do yourself a favor....get a couple hours into this game before you make a judgment. I've seen a few comparisons of this game to another XBLADo yourself a favor....get a couple hours into this game before you make a judgment. I've seen a few comparisons of this game to another XBLA dungeon crawler called Crimson Alliance. They seemed to think that Crimson Alliance was the better choice. Having played both....I disagree. R.A.W. has better graphics, much better level design, and a much stronger array of player weapons, powers and customizations. The loot system is also better. If you own an Xbox 360 and love dungeon crawler, hack n'slash type games...then you have very few choices. R.A.W. was slow to start, and addictive by the end. Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    8
    Cool game, lot of action, easy to use. I like the graphics, which are pretty good for a downloadable game. You can also play it with a friendCool game, lot of action, easy to use. I like the graphics, which are pretty good for a downloadable game. You can also play it with a friend who doesn't have the game (local game). There's a lot of levels to explore and fine skill combos. A good little game like in good old times :-) Full Review »
  3. Sep 23, 2012
    7
    Diablo 1 in HD. No maps. No zoom. Poor sounds and itens. Smash buttons only. At least it's better than Daggerdale. I'm hoping that the pcDiablo 1 in HD. No maps. No zoom. Poor sounds and itens. Smash buttons only. At least it's better than Daggerdale. I'm hoping that the pc version is better. Full Review »