Realms of Ancient War Xbox 360

Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 1, 2012
    70
    Decent fantasy fare with loads going on an loot drops aplenty. [Issue#91, p.80]
  2. CD-Action
    Nov 29, 2012
    50
    As far as I remember it's the most sluggish hack'n'slash I've played in last five years. [CD-Action 13/2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    70
    Realms of Ancient Wars is a game. It's not particularly buggy and it's far more playable than last year's Daggerdale debauchery– in fact, you may even enjoy it for a piece of brainless weekend entertainment. But that's it, completely. It's a game. There's nothing memorable about it and you'll likely finish it and forget about it just as quickly as I have. You might pick it up if you can't find something else to play, but that seems unlikely given the flood of similar, better releases.
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    50
    Realms of Ancient War delivers the basics of action RPGs without any noteworthy hook to make things interesting.
  5. Oct 1, 2012
    50
    R.A.W. Realms Of Ancient War is a mediocre game. The price is too high and the gameplay has many problems.
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    70
    There are many hours to be spent with R.A.W and the gameplay, along with the presentation and that certain feeling you get with looting make it an enjoyable experience, yet only when over a frustrating opening twenty minutes. So much so, that it is easy to dismiss the game early on. However to do so would rob you of a competent game that doesn't set the world alight, but does grow on you the longer you play.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    61
    With a been-there, done-that aesthetic and a middling run time, it's hard to recommend this game at the full $15 price. If you have a co-op partner or can find it on sale, it's probably still worth a run through.
  8. Sep 24, 2012
    55
    With enough issues to dissuade all but the most gluttonous of dungeon crawler junkies, this game seems to think that old school just meant less is more. It isn't. R.A.W. will likely turn you off with missing features, awkward design choices, and loot with no luster.
  9. 70
    It's not the most spirited or original game, but Realms' raw intensity and chaotic excitement will keep you playing.
  10. Sep 19, 2012
    50
    Perfectly fine in execution, its refusal to deviate or break the mould holds back its ideas from becoming fully realised and providing real character or polish.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    7
    Do yourself a favor....get a couple hours into this game before you make a judgment. I've seen a few comparisons of this game to another XBLADo yourself a favor....get a couple hours into this game before you make a judgment. I've seen a few comparisons of this game to another XBLA dungeon crawler called Crimson Alliance. They seemed to think that Crimson Alliance was the better choice. Having played both....I disagree. R.A.W. has better graphics, much better level design, and a much stronger array of player weapons, powers and customizations. The loot system is also better. If you own an Xbox 360 and love dungeon crawler, hack n'slash type games...then you have very few choices. R.A.W. was slow to start, and addictive by the end. Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    8
    Cool game, lot of action, easy to use. I like the graphics, which are pretty good for a downloadable game. You can also play it with a friendCool game, lot of action, easy to use. I like the graphics, which are pretty good for a downloadable game. You can also play it with a friend who doesn't have the game (local game). There's a lot of levels to explore and fine skill combos. A good little game like in good old times :-) Full Review »
  3. Sep 23, 2012
    7
    Diablo 1 in HD. No maps. No zoom. Poor sounds and itens. Smash buttons only. At least it's better than Daggerdale. I'm hoping that the pcDiablo 1 in HD. No maps. No zoom. Poor sounds and itens. Smash buttons only. At least it's better than Daggerdale. I'm hoping that the pc version is better. Full Review »