User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2091 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    With GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hitsWith GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hits the ground was all kinds of fun. The ending to this game be beautiful, heart warming and really enjoyable to play. The biggest issue I have with the game though is that after i beat it I lost all interest in playing it. They do allow you to keep going of course, but only the side quests remain and i beat the bulk of those as i went. Expand
  2. AndyZ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  3. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it.
  4. Sep 10, 2010
    4
    Just like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to theJust like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to the other, exciting. Much of the gameplay consists of what feels more like chores than fun. Activities like hunting for rabbits, plucking flowers, training horses, and herding cattle. None of it is challenging. It's all just designed to waste your time. And after a few hours you'll realize that it's just exactly that: A waste of time. Expand
  5. SeanW
    May 20, 2010
    3
    Really...10/10? What are you critics smoking? The game is simply GTAIV with an overhaul of the game assets to a Western theme. The gameplay is almost identical to anything you've seen in the GTA franchise, the voice acting is terrible and some of the elements of gameplay are tedious and long winded. This is about the most unoriginal thing I've played all year and I cannot Really...10/10? What are you critics smoking? The game is simply GTAIV with an overhaul of the game assets to a Western theme. The gameplay is almost identical to anything you've seen in the GTA franchise, the voice acting is terrible and some of the elements of gameplay are tedious and long winded. This is about the most unoriginal thing I've played all year and I cannot understand how people can rate this anything over a 6 or 7 at best. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost photorealistic.Its a shame the game doesnt have some contemporary modern/western fusion music like Red-Dead Revolver had,but great game nonleless.
    Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    If you love Grand Theft Auto, you'll love this, game is typical of Rockstar, fantastic story, the way they capture the Wild West is amazing, the game had me daydreaming about being a cowboy. If you haven't, do not hesitate to buy it and enjoy, this is a gameplay game, not about the graphics or the franchise, this is what games should be all about (even though the graphics are polished).
  8. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off itThis game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off it has amazing multiplayer to boot, this is no doubt one of the best games of 2010, and a must play, right now you're probably asking "if it's so perfect why not a 10?', there is a few flaws holding it back, like a few glitches, long load times, and the fact that riding everywhere takes up a lot of time and can get boring, but those are easily overlooked, this game is just shy of perfection, I can't think of anyone I wouldn't highly recommend this too. Expand
  9. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time.Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time. The multiplayer is one of my favourite. There are many game modes available, including free roam. I found that a lot of people play online. I have always found full matches on all game modes. I never have to wait for ages. This game does follow the same structure as GTA, but is completely different. Many new features have been introduced, and there is much more to do. I highly recommend getting this game. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  10. RyanJ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    An utterly beautiful game. The comparisons to Grand Theft Auto are fair only in the vein that the open-world genre has never looked more beautiful or contained more things to do. Other than that, I think reviewers are just comparing their level of awe to when they first played GTA IV. Yes, it's that good.
  11. GiovanniC
    May 18, 2010
    10
    first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the similarities that you see between this and GTA. How pathetic are you that you have to come to review site and spend an hour not listing anything constructive. Please go to another website and hurt somebody else's eyes with your terrible grammer. On to other things, this game is great. For anybody who is a fan old spaghetti westerns and sandbox shooters, this is a must play. The story shows the struggle of changing times better than any other game I've ever played. It perfectly reflects the old times of the wild west: the barren wasteland, the gentlemen and vagabonds, the fighting. The gunplay added with the new physics engine, makes for some of the best shooting in gaming. No lie, I'd play this game a million times! Expand
  12. BomB.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are especially good, but the character animations generally dont support the voice acting. I suggest this game to anyone who liked GTA 4 or/ and Clint Eastwood. Expand
  13. SysR
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about the game repetitive except when someone blows up my getaway vehicle in Cops N Crooks. Now I'm wondering, what kinda game or what game in particular would you give a 10/10? Because Rockstar's GTA: IV and RDR are A-list games that deliver the goods on so many levels I could go on for hours and hours about how Rockstar has changed video games and brought something (almost) real to video gaming. I'd rather not go on for hours about how wrong you are. What the hell is wrong though, seriously? Expand
  14. ToJesseJ.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and some still thinks that HL1 is better allthough HL2 is a magnificent game and compering Devil May Cry to Bayonetta, because they are in the same genre and are directed by the same people. And Jesse J., stop bullshiting around lock on shooting, a mehanic that you can TURN OFF in both GTA4 and RDR. Red Dead Redemption is a magnificent game, with a great art style, many different mehanics, great story (for a game) and characters, and a most believing world that I've seen in a videogame. Expand
  15. stephens
    May 18, 2010
    10
    This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love it. The people playing online (from the genuine laughs and screams) are having a great time with this game and so you should as well! If you had a slight fancy for GTAIV's decent multiplayer your gonna LOVE RDR's craziness! Expand
  16. AaronS.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Jesse, I just wanted to tell you that you're an idiot. You haven't played the game, I can tell by your review. You just want to bitch and moan about anything that's popular to try to be cool. People like you are ruining the internet, shut the fuck up. anyway, the game strikes the tones of all great westerns. It's not perfect, but it's close enough for me to give it a 10.
  17. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    To whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit ofTo whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit of repetition in some parts of the game, I found that it was a massive and rewarding experience.
    The only thing I didn't really like was the multiplayer. It's not technically bad, it's just that I feel as if there could have been a lot more done with it. But that doesn't overshadow the awesome campaign. 9/10.
    Expand
  18. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  19. May 6, 2011
    10
    Guess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for characterGuess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for character animations: they are smooth and for the most part realistic (jumping freakin sucks) The game plays like gta4 but is that really bad? That game is no doubt game of 2008. It is a great game and so is Red Dead. There really isnt a reason to not buy it. Unless you have no money. Expand
  20. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a numberGrand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a number of different game modes with your friends. From open world to shoot outs to horse races, Red Dead Redemption can potentially dwindle hours of your life away. Do yourself a favor and experience this game for yourself. Expand
  21. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, captureFantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, capture criminals, or hold up a train, it gives you so much freedom, and allows for so much. The controls are a little hard to master, but are very unique, and has a lot of things you can do at once, EX: On horse press A rapidly for speed, hold down LT To Aim, While holding B To Look towards important characters/places, etc, while turning the joysticks to steer, while press RT to shoot. But it makes it so unique, and so fun. The game blew me away, I thought it was be similar to GTA4, (Which I hated) But it's nothing like it. It's so much different, and it is spectacular, you won't regret this game, I PROMISE. Expand
  22. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Wow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of anWow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of an idiot, but very loving, just dies. Honest to god, I think this video game with it's amazing story that fills many people with emotions, will probably even make a psychopath cry. RIP John Marston. Those of you who says it is another GTA game just set in a WESTERN theme, are just naive people that "judge a book by it's cover". Expand
  23. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    You NEED to buy this game, mp is really good, campaign is way cool, this will always be the best western shooter of all time. One of the best open world games in a long time. Makes GTA look like a d*** made it, literally.
  24. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best cowboy game I have ever played with a good story, good aiming and good horse riding. I would like to congratulate rock star on making this game because it is a master piece.
  25. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a good example on how to make a fantastic game and Rockstar show's that example once again with their games. The campaign in RDR is amazing and ecery mission means something. And the multiplayer is fantastic and a lot to choose from game modes. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 9/10 Red Dead Redemtion 9.7/10
  26. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I have had some problems putting it down because there is always something else to do or to discover. The main character is great. I really enjoy all of his dialogues and the voice actor they took is super. I am really hooked on hunting and riding a horse while the moon is full to the beautiful soundtrack will NEVER get old. Thank you for this game.
  27. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of justThis game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of just about anything, no matter how perfect it is. The characters in this game barely ever seem like they blend together like so many others and the storyline is fantastic. Maybe this is my favorite game only because I haven't played GTA IV and don't see the similarity's, but honestly, I could care less. Expand
  28. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    There is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the bestThere is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the best video game experiences of your life! Expand
  29. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. AI LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. A great game i really enjoyed it Expand
  30. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Most definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much moreMost definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much more powerful. Amazing. Probably a game I will come back to quite a few times later in life. Expand
  31. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Just shy of a masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is easily the best western video game ever created, and is absolutely stunningly brilliant. Oozing with detail, good writing and varied missions, plus a hefty dose of rpg elements and side quests / games, its easy to see the GTA roots. While some claim foul, I think this great methodology of video game play is perfect for the western setting.Just shy of a masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is easily the best western video game ever created, and is absolutely stunningly brilliant. Oozing with detail, good writing and varied missions, plus a hefty dose of rpg elements and side quests / games, its easy to see the GTA roots. While some claim foul, I think this great methodology of video game play is perfect for the western setting. The soundtrack is original and unique, and there is lots to explore and check out. Easily a 10 / 10. Expand
  32. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    What an amazing game this was, it was unique in almost every way. I would say this is best for hardcore gamers due to many reasons. It would be nice to see more games like this in the future and with the new grand theft auto i'm sure rockstar company will be making a new game or continue one because the amount of money they made could result in another a++ game.
  33. TimothyH
    May 19, 2010
    9
    Very great game. The graphics are beautiful and gritty at the same time. The gameplay is like a throughly refined GTA4 - except the shooting system is now actually pretty great. I deduct a point from what will be game of the year for me because the game can be very unforgiving towards mistakes. If you ACCIDENTALLY aim at a sheriff, for example, you will instantly earn a bounty. By killing Very great game. The graphics are beautiful and gritty at the same time. The gameplay is like a throughly refined GTA4 - except the shooting system is now actually pretty great. I deduct a point from what will be game of the year for me because the game can be very unforgiving towards mistakes. If you ACCIDENTALLY aim at a sheriff, for example, you will instantly earn a bounty. By killing the sheriff in self-defense, you earn another 40 dollar bounty. Considering that money has actual worth in this game, as opposed to GTA games in which you can only buy guns or lame safehouses, this is hugely annoying. Also, water instantly kills you like lava. WTF? But still, game of the year. DO NOT miss this game. P.S. to Jessie J. : You are a ranting lunatic. Expand
  34. BrandonA.
    May 20, 2010
    9
    Is it perfect? No. But is it outstanding? Without a doubt. Red Dead Redemption effectively captures the feel and atmosphere of the Wild West (at least as Hollywood and Clint Eastwood have portrayed her). Throw in a refined formula based off of Rockstar's other sandbox games (GTA, namely) and you have what is nothing less than an evolution on the genre, as well as what can finally be Is it perfect? No. But is it outstanding? Without a doubt. Red Dead Redemption effectively captures the feel and atmosphere of the Wild West (at least as Hollywood and Clint Eastwood have portrayed her). Throw in a refined formula based off of Rockstar's other sandbox games (GTA, namely) and you have what is nothing less than an evolution on the genre, as well as what can finally be considered the great western game. Expand
  35. KevinS
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more detail than has been seem to date - the attention paid to color, lighting, texture, and mood are simply jaw dropping. Getting the ambiance of this gritty and beautiful place so perfectly sets this game apart from most. On top of the striking Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more detail than has been seem to date - the attention paid to color, lighting, texture, and mood are simply jaw dropping. Getting the ambiance of this gritty and beautiful place so perfectly sets this game apart from most. On top of the striking artistic value, the game itself is damn fun. The core missions are varied and entertaining while serving to move the main plot along. At the same time, the many side missions help to fully enrich the RDR world as a whole. Besides being prettier than previous GTA style games, gone are the difficulty spikes that plagued previous games. I also felt that the save points were managed better than previous games. GTA IV raised the bar for open-world, sandbox style games with interesting characters and story. Red Dead Redemption has push that bar even further. This game is a MUST own. Expand
  36. AY
    May 19, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption has something for everyone, but it excels at creating a living, breathing world from another time & place while making you feel very much a part of it. If you crave non-linearity and the freedom to choose how and where to do things across a giant landscape, this is for you. If you don't like choice and like to stay on task and enjoy games more when you're Red Dead Redemption has something for everyone, but it excels at creating a living, breathing world from another time & place while making you feel very much a part of it. If you crave non-linearity and the freedom to choose how and where to do things across a giant landscape, this is for you. If you don't like choice and like to stay on task and enjoy games more when you're being guided rapidly from one piece of action to the next, the game's story and primary missions will keep you more than satisfied as well. My only complaint is that despite the multiplayer being fantastic, is that it doesn't quite deliver what was implied in all the pre-release marketing videos and such. I thought i'd be robbing banks and owning land with friends. I was disappointed to run into a bank and find no way to interact with anything apart from simply entering the building. The single player is worth the fullprice of the game though so I'll take the really good multiplayer as a bonus. Expand
  37. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    There is not a better game out right now. After completing the single-player game, I went and tried the multilplayer which I didn't think would be too great. It was absolutely astounding! It opened up a whole new world for me. The only knock is you have to have at least a decent connectivity to fully play the multiplayer without hiccups, which most Xbox live players have access to nowadays anyway
  38. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This is the best game to come out since GTAIV. The gameplay, graphics, and storyline are all top-notch. Expect this to get a **** ton of awards. I love this game.
  39. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Again, Rockstar blows our minds. Grand Theft Auto IV was probably a top 10 game of all time on Xbox 360 and this is just another one. Everything goes right in this game. there were a few avoidable and forgettable problems with Grand theft auto IV and this just threw em out
  40. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite 2010 game. I've just completed the main adventure, if I can say there is a main adventure. Plenty to do, the sense of freedom is un matched...... just waiting assassin's III to see if there is a game that can match rockstar masterpiece. Definitely buy it, got to the nearest store and tell all your friends you are busy for the entire month........!!!!!!
  41. May 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption stands on top on many of my games and i appreciate the marvelous work that Rockstar has made. Very similar to GTA in terms, both are sandbox. The dialogue is amazing, very real if i say, incredible graphics are beautiful in all aspects. Wild West never looked so good , so if you want a great story line, great action, exploration all well mixed up this is worth looking out. Oh yeah , and the end will be memorable . Hope so. Expand
  42. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    buy this game amazing content great multiplayer and doesnt dissapoint in the story. occasional bugs but overall this deserves its game of the year award
  43. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    RED DEAD REDEMPTION is one of the best open world games ever made and defenetly the best Western game, i RDR has Top voice acting especially the Protagonist John Marston and the graphics are amazing, the story too! RDR has emotional moments that are just so powerful between each character, 9/10.
  44. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Of all the years of my gaming life, Red Dead Redemption is the greatest game I have ever played bar the Last Of Us. As entertainment, I am not a fan of Western Films or Games so for me to be absolutely blown away by the game is a testament to Red Dead Redemption.

    If you are a fan of the Grand Theft Auto games for their story and entertaining action, than you will love RDR. However, if
    Of all the years of my gaming life, Red Dead Redemption is the greatest game I have ever played bar the Last Of Us. As entertainment, I am not a fan of Western Films or Games so for me to be absolutely blown away by the game is a testament to Red Dead Redemption.

    If you are a fan of the Grand Theft Auto games for their story and entertaining action, than you will love RDR. However, if you only play GTA to mess around then RDR may not be for you because there is not as much to do in the sense of vehicles and buildings.

    The story of RDR is absolutely fantastic, the characters have so much depth into them which makes them all individually unique. Of all the games I have played, RDR has the best characters hands down. As for the gameplay, it will be one of your best gaming experiences. For example, on GTA IV I would mostly fast travel (Taxi) from A to B if the distance was far but in RDR it doesn't matter the distance, riding a horse is the best option because you are allowed to look at the beautiful landscapes of southern USA and northern Mexico.

    The action is also outstanding, there is a feature in the game called Dead Eye which allows the gamer to slow time down, assign there bullets onto a target(s) and then release to unload the chosen bullets onto the enemy. Some say this makes the game to easy, but ultimately it is the gamers choice. Finally, I cannot stress how amazing it is to ride a horse in RDR. It is something you have to experience yourself because it makes the gamer feel on cloud nine.

    Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece, simple as that. The story, action, gameplay, characters and in game map makes it one of the greatest games ever made and makes it arguably the best game I have ever played.

    10/10
    Expand
  45. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Rockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, you have games like Call of Juarez, but, Red Dead Redemption is truly the first epic 'wild west' game. The protagonist, John Marston, is similar to other Rockstar protagonists, but I think he's a good character. The storyline is pretty good, but it movesRockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, you have games like Call of Juarez, but, Red Dead Redemption is truly the first epic 'wild west' game. The protagonist, John Marston, is similar to other Rockstar protagonists, but I think he's a good character. The storyline is pretty good, but it moves slowly like GTA IV. Technically, the game is good looking but textures on rocks and such are kind of blurry, there are some glitches, the controls are well done. Overall a great game. Expand
  46. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Wow. Very in depth story, loved all the characters, and allows an amazing amount of freedom. I get the GTA comparisons, but unlike GTA this game doesn't leave you bored after a few hours.
  47. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    An atmospheric and engaging masterpiece, set in a beautifully realised image of the old west with an ensemble of unforgettable characters. I love this game, with Mass Effect 2 and just a few others it ranks as an all time great in my eyes, possibly my all time number 1. Just making John Marston walk causally along the main street of Armadillo and watching as the heat shimmers and dustAn atmospheric and engaging masterpiece, set in a beautifully realised image of the old west with an ensemble of unforgettable characters. I love this game, with Mass Effect 2 and just a few others it ranks as an all time great in my eyes, possibly my all time number 1. Just making John Marston walk causally along the main street of Armadillo and watching as the heat shimmers and dust kicks up from his boots as he steps is a sight to behold. Intuitive controls, satisfying combat and 'dead eye' along with the brilliant inertia reactions to being shot; there's so much to set this game apart as a joy to play. Its like having the leading role in an ultimately heart wrenching yet epic tale of life and loss in the dying days of the old west. Masterpiece. Expand
  48. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    The best of the best...true that a few glitches will let the game down but it is definitely one for the books!!You can do almost anything from riding horses to having drinks at the bar a getting drunk!!
  49. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    More mature, deeply developed and cinematic than anything else Rockstar had done before, Red Dead Redemption really outdid my expectations. The story is gripping and well-paced, leading you across a huge and varied map. The combat is tight and stylish, though unfortunately the movement controls aren't as precise. Firing while on horseback takes a lot of getting used to, as does navigationMore mature, deeply developed and cinematic than anything else Rockstar had done before, Red Dead Redemption really outdid my expectations. The story is gripping and well-paced, leading you across a huge and varied map. The combat is tight and stylish, though unfortunately the movement controls aren't as precise. Firing while on horseback takes a lot of getting used to, as does navigation in general. These slight imperfections do nothing to tarnish the masterpiece that is RDR, and it holds its place as one of the best console exclusives of this generation. Expand
  50. Dec 7, 2013
    6
    Being late to begin this game I thought I should of started after hearing the amazing reviews the game got. Needless to say I was disappointed. I hated the shooting mechanics which were similar to Gta's (too easy) the story became boring at about half way making the game feel like a chore. The only interesting thing about this game was the excellent characters and voice acting other thenBeing late to begin this game I thought I should of started after hearing the amazing reviews the game got. Needless to say I was disappointed. I hated the shooting mechanics which were similar to Gta's (too easy) the story became boring at about half way making the game feel like a chore. The only interesting thing about this game was the excellent characters and voice acting other then that the game was extremely repetitive. I would not recommend this game to anyone, don't waste your time and money. Expand
  51. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. el juego me encanto pero hay partes que me pusieron un poco triste y el red dead redemtion undead nightmare es tambien me gusto, john marston muere y vuelve como zombie Expand
  52. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    The game starts strong; open world, captivating storyline, superb graphics. The controls are very good as well and it really drew me in for the first several hours of gameplay. About halfway through, the I just got bored with it. Sure it's open world but there just nothing to do aside from the main quest. Searching and looting is a waste of time because there is simply nothing outThe game starts strong; open world, captivating storyline, superb graphics. The controls are very good as well and it really drew me in for the first several hours of gameplay. About halfway through, the I just got bored with it. Sure it's open world but there just nothing to do aside from the main quest. Searching and looting is a waste of time because there is simply nothing out there to find. The only way to get new weapons is to finish parts of the main quest. Stranger quests are fruitless at best. Most of the time you're awarded a piece of outfit or some money. But money is plentiful and I really couldn't find a reason to wear any outfits besides the Bounty Hunter Outfit. Seriously, you spend hours trying to get all the pieces for one outfit only to realize there's no point in changing because there's no benefit. I found myself rushing through the objectives and skipping the cinema-tics because I just wanted to play. But there is only a short bit of action followed by more and more horse riding to the next destination. However the treasure hunting challenges were fun, but with money as plentiful as it is, there's no benefit. All in all, a gripping (at first) experience but gets old quick. Buy it used. Expand
  53. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    Overrated a bit. Game play is bland, online was eh, and missions all seemed the same. The only great aspects of this game was the story and graphics. The graphics were amazing and detailed and the story was delicate and immensing.
  54. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. Much better than GTA 5 in my opinion. If you do not buy this, you have no idea what you are missing out on. I have no words how to describe the brilliance this game delivers.
  55. Jul 18, 2014
    9
    GOOD: Great Story; Interesting characters; RPGs elements are in the missions (ex. choosing if you kill him or if everyone else gets to kill him); Great voice acting; Great graphics; Lengthy campaign that lasted me 40 hours); Side missions are really fun to do; Not one mission felt the same as another one; Cool open world to explore combining America and Mexico in the old west; Cool NPCSGOOD: Great Story; Interesting characters; RPGs elements are in the missions (ex. choosing if you kill him or if everyone else gets to kill him); Great voice acting; Great graphics; Lengthy campaign that lasted me 40 hours); Side missions are really fun to do; Not one mission felt the same as another one; Cool open world to explore combining America and Mexico in the old west; Cool NPCS who do their own business (drinking, horse racing, murdering, playing games, etc.); Fun and abundant amount of side activities (Blackjack, horse breaking, arm wrestling, bounty hunting, etc.); Fun Dead Eye mechanic where you pick targets in slow motion and shoot them; Awesome and fun weapons (my favorite is the lasso); Sometimes, you can use a gatling gun and got to shoot a cannon on one mission; Various vehicles to drive or ride(horses, mules, carriages, etc.); Best horses in gaming history; Cool outfits to collect; Good map and GPS system; Can purchase property (items, houses, horses, etc.); As you go through the game, you will get famous and hear NPCs talking about you as you walk around; Depending on your actions, you will gain and/or lose honor which will make people act a certain way around you; No bugs or glitches that I went through in the single player; Okay checkpoint system; Great autosave system

    BAD: In the downloadable version that I got, the multiplayer is broken and crashes immediately after I log on, if I log on; Most loading screens are long; After car racing(one-man carriage with a horse) on one mission, I couldn't do it as a side activity(pretty fun doing that); COULD NOT **** ANY OF THE ABUNDANT SUPPLY OF PROSTITUTES; Could not drive an automobile; Wish there was a whip in the game

    FINAL VERDICT: Just alone with the single player, it earns a 9/10! This is my favorite Rockstar game and should be played by everybody. It's an ALL TIME LEGEND!
    Expand
  56. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This game was made by aliens. San Andreas & Canis Canem Edit were open world masterpieces on the PS2, Red Dead Redemption & GTA 5 stand on the shoulders of Giants, but they are Giants themselves. Mindblowing how far games have come. Even if you hate the Western genre with a passion, RDR is an experience you can't miss.
  57. Nov 25, 2014
    10
    Easily the best game Rockstar has made and one of the best of all time. Red Dead Redemption has one of the best stories in a video game as it follows the life of John Marston; an outlaw that is trying to run away from his past. Red Dead Redemption is fun to play and makes you feel for John Marston.

    The shooting works very well, it has a lot of side missions, the graphics are gorgeous,
    Easily the best game Rockstar has made and one of the best of all time. Red Dead Redemption has one of the best stories in a video game as it follows the life of John Marston; an outlaw that is trying to run away from his past. Red Dead Redemption is fun to play and makes you feel for John Marston.

    The shooting works very well, it has a lot of side missions, the graphics are gorgeous, it gives you a lot of freedom and the soundtrack and music is amazing (Such as Compass, Far Away and general combat music).

    Everyone, even the people who don't enjoy video games, have to play Red Dead Redemption.
    Expand
  58. May 4, 2015
    10
    Here is a game that came out in 2010 and it still holds up today.

    This game is just a fantastic masterpiece of awesomeness. The main character of the game is straight a bad-ass, taking no sh't from anybody that come in his way. The graphs in the game are gorgeous to look at, always taking my breath way every time I play the game. My only problems are some missions are a bit silly
    Here is a game that came out in 2010 and it still holds up today.

    This game is just a fantastic masterpiece of awesomeness.

    The main character of the game is straight a bad-ass, taking no sh't from anybody that come in his way. The graphs in the game are gorgeous to look at, always taking my breath way every time I play the game. My only problems are some missions are a bit silly like: Chase after a guy who took something no important from somebody, something like that. Overall Red Dead redemption is a lot of fun to play and something about riding your horse in the middle of the western desert relaxes me.
    Expand
  59. BobC
    May 20, 2010
    9
    I don't have much to say other than comparing the differences between GTA IV and RDR to MW and MW2 is fucking LAUGHABLE Jesse J. If you think this feels "exactly like" GTA IV, you're a moron. As far as single player story dialogue voice acting aesthetics etc go, RDR is on the bleeding edge of the medium's potential. Is it a perfect game? No. But it's not the same thing I don't have much to say other than comparing the differences between GTA IV and RDR to MW and MW2 is fucking LAUGHABLE Jesse J. If you think this feels "exactly like" GTA IV, you're a moron. As far as single player story dialogue voice acting aesthetics etc go, RDR is on the bleeding edge of the medium's potential. Is it a perfect game? No. But it's not the same thing as GTA IV. People like Jesse J are right to critique Publishers like Activision for encouraging the stagnation of the industry, but RDR is not even close to a product of this syndrome. Expand
  60. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funnyI originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funny moments but it executes the serious parts of the game wonderfully. This game is great. And SeanW is an idiot. Expand
  61. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is possibly one of the best games out there. If Bethesda Softworks made a Western game, it would look like this, except with no multiplayer. Basically what I'm saying is that Red Dead Redemption is a GREAT game. The storyline and characters are amazing. I thought this game would suck because I hate Western games, but this game changed my entire view on Western games. I got so involved in the game and loved the main character, that I CRIED when he died. I know it sounds lame, but that's how much I loved it. The multiplayer was better than I expected. I thought that with such a great singleplayer, it would degrade the multiplayer expierence. But I was wrong! The multiplayer is awesome and probably the best multiplayer there is. I love Call of Duty, but I just love Free Roam multiplayer. Overall, a great game made by a great studio, Rockstar Games, I applaud you. Expand
  62. SamB.
    May 19, 2010
    9
    I gave this game a nine because there are always things that need to be improved. I encountered some minor bugs (character being stuck in ground, etc.) but really did not have any other technical problems with the game. The game is also very dark. I had to turn up the gamma on everything I could just to see silhouettes! I have to say it is probably one of the best games overall to date. I gave this game a nine because there are always things that need to be improved. I encountered some minor bugs (character being stuck in ground, etc.) but really did not have any other technical problems with the game. The game is also very dark. I had to turn up the gamma on everything I could just to see silhouettes! I have to say it is probably one of the best games overall to date. Improves on the tried and true Rockstar formula in every way and then delivers more. The random encounters are hilarious and well developed. This game makes you want to do all the side missions because they are so well written. Just give this game a try and you will see how awesome it is. I really like how Jessie said absolutely nothing about Red Dead Redemption. The guy seems stuck on GTAIV. This is a totally different game though that is only comparable because its made by the same developer and uses the same engine. The similarities end there. Expand
  63. BigJohnson
    May 20, 2010
    9
    Great game, good multiplayer. The free roam is nice, but lacking some elements that maybe rockstar will add in as dlc at a later date...maybe. There is no poker in free roam, or random events, I think they should have added random events like in single player where players can save a stage coach from bandits or some one being attacked by wolves and get little bits of bonus xp for doing Great game, good multiplayer. The free roam is nice, but lacking some elements that maybe rockstar will add in as dlc at a later date...maybe. There is no poker in free roam, or random events, I think they should have added random events like in single player where players can save a stage coach from bandits or some one being attacked by wolves and get little bits of bonus xp for doing so, but thats me. You can play private free roam and get xp, which I think is HUGE mostly because the first time I got on public free roam I pretty much was in a gun fight with anyone I came across even though I didn't want that. All in all the single player is great and the multiplayer is a lot of fun with friends. A game well worth checking out. Expand
  64. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    it kind of goes without saying that this is one of the best ideas put to video game in the history of video games, but i thought i'd just put in my two cents because this title most def deserves it.
  65. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Out of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described asOut of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described as "Unforgiven" with a few twists. The main character however is quite distinctive. John Marston is a former outlaw that's settled down with a family. While he is generally a good natured person, John's outlaw roots show through whenever he gets angry or when the situation calls for it. That may not sound all that different from a lot of other characters out there, but the way the voice actor delivers his lines lends an air of authenticity that few game characters ever capture. There is a downside, though. No matter what your actions in the game are, the game always makes you out to be the hero. This isn't a huge issue, but it does seem weird when John acts courteous and considerate right after gunning down a prostitute and looting her corpse.

    The gameplay isn't anything groundbreaking, but it is still remarkably strong. Employing the same cover mechanic seen in countless other games, Red Dead will have you with your back up against something most of the time. That's not really the point, though. The beauty of the gameplay lies in context. Every firefight feels like it could be straight out of a Peckinpah film like The Wild Bunch with bullets whizzing every which way and outlaws running desperately for cover as their buddies try to shoot at you from rooftops, balconies, and windows. There are also several epic set pieces which I won't spoil.
    Expand
  66. BrunoG.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Rating this game less than a 9 would be a statement that people around here ahte anything related to the western genre. RDR is easily the best sandbox game I've ever seen, and even more easily the best western game ever produced. Has anyone seen so lifelike faces before, such landscapes. It is bound to become the next San Andreas. The best 70 euros ever spent in game this year! An Rating this game less than a 9 would be a statement that people around here ahte anything related to the western genre. RDR is easily the best sandbox game I've ever seen, and even more easily the best western game ever produced. Has anyone seen so lifelike faces before, such landscapes. It is bound to become the next San Andreas. The best 70 euros ever spent in game this year! An absolute masterpiece! Expand
  67. CoreyC.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Surpasses GTA IV in scope, depth and just overall fun. I wasn't sure what to expect going into this game but it has been nothing short of epic from the start. The controls are much refined over GTA IV. Yes, it feels similar and fans of Rockstar will sense that from the start. With the addition of many mini-games, TONS of random events and even hunting you'll have SO much to do Surpasses GTA IV in scope, depth and just overall fun. I wasn't sure what to expect going into this game but it has been nothing short of epic from the start. The controls are much refined over GTA IV. Yes, it feels similar and fans of Rockstar will sense that from the start. With the addition of many mini-games, TONS of random events and even hunting you'll have SO much to do outside of the main storyline... which by the way,is phenomenal. Rockstar San Diego hit this one out of the ball park. I couldn't recommencement this game more. Expand
  68. May 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! It is virtually a living world where you can do anything. Great story, great characters. This game is limited only by your imagination!
  69. DC
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best multiplayer video game I have ever played. I have never played a game with so much to it, never a game the actually puts you in the time and setting and gives you the feel of really being a part of the environment. Blows any Rockstar game out of the water put it up to any GTA and this blows it away. If you don
  70. BrendonN
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Ahh Jesse, you are a fool. While I would agree with some of that, in this game. That context is ridiculous. This is the game I was hoping it would be, a sandbox game made by the king of sandbox games that gives you the feeling of being in a western. From the incredible voice acting, to the story, to the massively enjoyable multiplayer system. This game is amazing. Yes, it uses a system Ahh Jesse, you are a fool. While I would agree with some of that, in this game. That context is ridiculous. This is the game I was hoping it would be, a sandbox game made by the king of sandbox games that gives you the feeling of being in a western. From the incredible voice acting, to the story, to the massively enjoyable multiplayer system. This game is amazing. Yes, it uses a system that has been used to GTA IV, but that's because that system worked and is still the best open world game out. Rockstar knows what they are doing and since the scope of this project is absolutely breath-taking, I'll give the bugs a big fat pass. Seriously, this game is amazing. I hope it does well so Rockstar can free themselves from GTA IV and bring out projects that make you feel a part of a breathing world with incredible story and dialog. This game is awesome, and if you are tired of game engines being re-used, then you should just stop playing games. Of course a pre-exsisting system is going to be used in a game. It makes sense financially, and the good engines gives the designers a good place to start to build the world you want. The business has worked this way for damn near ever, and it wont change. I personally don't want it to. An awesome game is an awesome game. Read Dead Redemption is an awesome game. 10/10 Expand
  71. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Best Game of the Year 2010. Unbelievable good looking and large world with plenty of things to discover. It is a pity i just completed the main story and almost every side quest. Definitely the best game i played on the the XBox360 to this date. (Played around 80 Games). Soundtrack is lovely too!
    Go and buy this game.
  72. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group ofI quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group of outlaws attempting to hang someone, I tried (and failed) to shoot the noose and by the time I re-loaded it was too late. I killed all the bandits and was left with a sobbing husband kneeling below his wife. I shot the noose (I actually missed again as I'm a bit special) to get her down and felt guilt, I could of changed the outcome. From that moment I was sucked into a dynamic living breathing world, intent on wiping out all the scum and the main plot has finally got me interested after an initial misfire. Expand
  73. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones),This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones), with some well done dialogue (But nowhere near as good as mass effect, nothing will be). The only reason this doesn't get a 10 is because of a few glitches and bugs, especially the 100% glitch (Still got Redeemed though), but rockstar has announced they're addressing the issue. Expand
  74. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    it's a game absolutly great in all, better than GTA 4. The world is huge and very real, it seems to be in a old west film. I have purchased an Xbox 360 only to play with RDR, I love this game! Rockstar Games Rules!!! Now we want Read Dead Redemption 2
  75. Feb 7, 2012
    5
    In my opinion this has to be the most overatted game of the last decade. Im thinking the critics are all either huge western fans or didn't play enough of this game to see how boring and empty it is. The only half descent things about this game are the graphics and the story. Everything besides the story is boring and pointless. They made this huge world filled with nothing but someIn my opinion this has to be the most overatted game of the last decade. Im thinking the critics are all either huge western fans or didn't play enough of this game to see how boring and empty it is. The only half descent things about this game are the graphics and the story. Everything besides the story is boring and pointless. They made this huge world filled with nothing but some coyotes to kill and flowers to pick. The main protagonist is boing with almost no personallity and already has a vife and kids which excludes even the possibility of a romance angle. Oh and then the ending that the critics are raving about feels out of place and unsatisfying. I didn't even realize there was more story after the big scene with the main villian. The ending just feels tacked on. plus it anoys me that if they would just let me controll my guy I could kill all these enemys because I wouldn't walk right out in front just to get shot. I cannot believe all the praise this game is getting. Expand
  76. Oct 29, 2010
    6
    Okay. Since I gave this game a six, let me first start by telling you the good parts. Whoever says that Read Dead is GTA in the wild west is absolutely correct. If you enjoy the GTA games then this is right up your alley. Go for it. 1-The world is absolutely beautiful. Hell sometimes I would go on horse rides just to see what I could see. 2-There is so much to do, and much of itOkay. Since I gave this game a six, let me first start by telling you the good parts. Whoever says that Read Dead is GTA in the wild west is absolutely correct. If you enjoy the GTA games then this is right up your alley. Go for it. 1-The world is absolutely beautiful. Hell sometimes I would go on horse rides just to see what I could see. 2-There is so much to do, and much of it isn't scripted. Riding to and from missions I would be distracted by things along the roads. Just dicking around is where I had my most fun! Sadly though, for me at least, those two points summarize the good in RDR. The storyline is little more than annoying. It seems no-one has anything actually interesting to do in the Wild West. Some quest ideas are great, but the implementation of their mechanics is boring at best. Roping a bandit? Awesome! Nope. Lasoing is frustrating at the best of times. Cattle drives? Yessir! Nope. Riding back and forth behind a herd is as boring as it sounds. The characters themselves are just over-the-top stereotypes of classic wild west characters. They're just not likeable. All this to say that the world itself is wonderful, it just is NOT filled with anything as spectacular as it is. But this was the same problem as GTA. Missions are no lasting fun, but making your own fun is too easy for that to be a big deal. For me though story is everything and that is why I gave RDR a 6. Expand
  77. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    If you hate this game you're not a gamer, simple as that. No, I'm not a Rockstar fanboy but it's really so goddamn obvious that Red Dead Redemption is the best game this gen, by far and that is a fact.
  78. May 31, 2013
    6
    I was never totally convinced with this game. There are points where it's absolutely beautiful, compelling and absorbing. There are other times where it's frustrating, cheap and shoddy. Which ever side of the fence you sit on, you're going to see at its core a great game. But at times it fails to deliver with its average control scheme, poor combat system, lacking A.I and missons whichI was never totally convinced with this game. There are points where it's absolutely beautiful, compelling and absorbing. There are other times where it's frustrating, cheap and shoddy. Which ever side of the fence you sit on, you're going to see at its core a great game. But at times it fails to deliver with its average control scheme, poor combat system, lacking A.I and missons which some times feel like a pain. These are just some things I didn't like about the game on a personal level which is a shame, because the game is very likeable. I can see why it's so famous but for me, it was average. Expand
  79. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse,It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse, in a desert, with nothing around except for around 10 small villages. The scenery is nice, but that's pretty much all you experience. If you see the the intro video you've pretty much seen it all, cause there's nothing really extra to explore. And this is coming from someone who has 100.0% completion. Expand
  80. Nov 7, 2010
    6
    One thing that puzzles me about Red Dead Redemption is how so many people can think that this is an excellent story. Whilst I am a fan of Rockstar games they really need to freshen up their writing as the protagonists are becoming interchangable. John Marston's dialog could have easily come out of Niko Bellic, Johnny Klebitz or Luis Lopez's mouths. I am finding that NPC's are oftenOne thing that puzzles me about Red Dead Redemption is how so many people can think that this is an excellent story. Whilst I am a fan of Rockstar games they really need to freshen up their writing as the protagonists are becoming interchangable. John Marston's dialog could have easily come out of Niko Bellic, Johnny Klebitz or Luis Lopez's mouths. I am finding that NPC's are often portrayed as creepy, desperate leeches or (for the female characters) vulnerable, delicate love interests. Aside from having samey characters the biggest frustration is that the story is thrust upon you. You are often forced to ride long distances listening to dreary, unfunny, chatter whilst doing nothing more difficult than holding the A button (to ride your horse alongside your companion). When you get to a mission the gameplay is dull, simple and repetitive - you will more or less complete the game and die only a handful of times.
    The game looks stunning, helped by excellent lighting and animations and the sound design helps build atmosphere (especially the rain effects!) but Red Dead Redemption is more of a tech. demo than a challenging game. If Rockstar allowed you to tell your own story within their games rather than being fixated on replicating movies then they would make something truly timeless, unfortunately this game is a miss in my book.
    Expand
  81. Sep 10, 2010
    6
    Ok, I know this goes against many people's opinions, but Red Dead Redemption, in my opinion, was an average game. No, I am not saying it is bad, it was good, but not my type of 3rd person open-world shooter. The controls were good, the graphics were great, but the gameplay and story was so-so (For some odd reason, I liked GTA IV's gameplay). I was never a big fan of Western Style games,Ok, I know this goes against many people's opinions, but Red Dead Redemption, in my opinion, was an average game. No, I am not saying it is bad, it was good, but not my type of 3rd person open-world shooter. The controls were good, the graphics were great, but the gameplay and story was so-so (For some odd reason, I liked GTA IV's gameplay). I was never a big fan of Western Style games, and that's probably why I didn't like it much. Anyway, this was my opinion on the game. Expand
  82. Aug 28, 2010
    5
    I bought this game reading all the great reviews and I thought "OMG THIS GAME WILL BE SO AWESOME I HAVE TO BUY IT!" But when I got home to play it... It was boring. Ever so boring. I decided to play through a couple more hours of gameplay to try and make it get good and it did. It was good, for a couple more hours. And then it got boring again. By that time I had played about 11 hours, andI bought this game reading all the great reviews and I thought "OMG THIS GAME WILL BE SO AWESOME I HAVE TO BUY IT!" But when I got home to play it... It was boring. Ever so boring. I decided to play through a couple more hours of gameplay to try and make it get good and it did. It was good, for a couple more hours. And then it got boring again. By that time I had played about 11 hours, and I was halfway through the story. I just didn't bother then because it stopped being fun. So I sold it and got $30. Maybe its just me, but I really didn't think this game was good. Expand
  83. Jan 11, 2011
    5
    the single most over hyped crap of a game in the history of games.

    ride around picking flowers. oh how fun. there is no challenge to this game, you want beautiful scenery?, rent a DVD of the grand canyon. F off with this game.
  84. Mar 8, 2012
    6
    whilst significantly better and more interesting than rockstars gta iv i still got bored half way through, but i liked being a badass in a trench coat so it gets a six
  85. Sep 1, 2010
    6
    Incredible story line but sub par controls...even using the V.A.T.S...oops, I mean Dead Eye controls to help overcome the clumsiness of it all. The GTA style combat was just not fun. If you switched the control settings to casual it actually makes it much harder to use the Dead Eye. In the end itâ
  86. May 28, 2011
    3
    With limited time and at least 12 unopened games yet to be played I just can't bring myself to waste any more time on this game. The dialouge is only ok the combat is easy the quests are repetitive and I just cant shake the feeling that im playing gta:wild west. The minigames are probably the only marginal bit of fun to be found in this game. This just goes to show that they always sneak aWith limited time and at least 12 unopened games yet to be played I just can't bring myself to waste any more time on this game. The dialouge is only ok the combat is easy the quests are repetitive and I just cant shake the feeling that im playing gta:wild west. The minigames are probably the only marginal bit of fun to be found in this game. This just goes to show that they always sneak a few overhyped games in that just flat out dont deserve it. The boredom and sheer disappointment of this game is almost as obvious as 9/11 being a inside job or that flouride in your water and toothpaste is poision. Please dont buy this but maybe rent it if there is nothing else you would rather play.The graphics are good and thats the only reason I gave this game a 3. The lowest scored game ive rated so far. Expand
  87. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    [Pros]: Amazing graphics, music, story, characters, game play. [Cons]: The ending, boring online and little replay value.. The beginning of the game is great first time, but I was pulling my hair out the second time through. I hate that I have to rely on DLC to save this game.
  88. Dec 2, 2011
    4
    I cannot get what everyone loves about this game. The gameplay is repetitive, the mini-games lack any kind of fun. The game is set in the west at a time of modernization, yet it's still a long way from the city, with a few farms, a ranch, a couple of small villages - so why am I, in the middle of the night, encountering about ten people out hunting, traveling or plundering in just a coupleI cannot get what everyone loves about this game. The gameplay is repetitive, the mini-games lack any kind of fun. The game is set in the west at a time of modernization, yet it's still a long way from the city, with a few farms, a ranch, a couple of small villages - so why am I, in the middle of the night, encountering about ten people out hunting, traveling or plundering in just a couple of minutes' ride? When I kill a bounty, why does his henchmen spawn non-stop to kill me, again and again, until I go back to town, and then forget all about me? Why does 50 people who wants a NPC dead wait through weeks of him alone in the wilderness, until I join him, before they try to kill him - and why do they suddenly stop when I reach another point in the wilderness (no, not a fort or a city or anything, just a curve in the road in the middle of nothing)

    Why, when on a barge in the middle of the river, being pulled along a rope, does the rope bend AGAINST the current? Why, upon saving the life of a person, will this person refuse to talk to you at all afterwards? Why, when I found a horse, sat on top, and was told hey, that's mine,, then climbed back off the horse does the owner still run to the law to say I stole his horse? Why does the game then tell me the law is coming to arrest me - only to have me, standing completely still, no weapon drawn, gunned down from behind? If you can overlook the complete failure to make the setting feel like a desolate western, the throngs of people without any kind of personality at all and the lack of coherence in structuring a society, the scenery does offer some beauty,
    Expand
  89. Jul 4, 2011
    3
    Not being a huge fan of Rockstar games, I was some what hesitant to play this game. And I was pretty much right with my expectations. In the hour that I "attempted" to play this game, I found myself battle glitch after glitch. If I wasn't sinking into the terrain to the point my character couldn't move, either my game menu wasn't visible (after pressing start) or I couldn't hitch my damnNot being a huge fan of Rockstar games, I was some what hesitant to play this game. And I was pretty much right with my expectations. In the hour that I "attempted" to play this game, I found myself battle glitch after glitch. If I wasn't sinking into the terrain to the point my character couldn't move, either my game menu wasn't visible (after pressing start) or I couldn't hitch my damn horse on the initial intro to the game. Sorry Rockstar, fix your stuff before you put games out. Glitches should be a thing of the past. Expand
  90. G.S
    May 21, 2010
    7
    Put it this way if you like GTA4 you are gonna love this,if you don't then you probably will not like the game.It's the same f-ing game only in the wild west,and as for the story gess what it's boring as f#@%.I think i have heard the names Miss Macfarlane & John Marston wayyyyyyyyyyyyy to many times,thank you miss macfarlene,why thank mr marston,thank you miss Put it this way if you like GTA4 you are gonna love this,if you don't then you probably will not like the game.It's the same f-ing game only in the wild west,and as for the story gess what it's boring as f#@%.I think i have heard the names Miss Macfarlane & John Marston wayyyyyyyyyyyyy to many times,thank you miss macfarlene,why thank mr marston,thank you miss macfarlene..Look its an ok game but the way ppl r slapping 10's all over the f'n place it is not. Expand
  91. Sep 2, 2010
    3
    This is most likely the most boring game I have ever played. I rented this game because of a recommendation from a friend. When the game started, I realized that the graphics were very good. The game started, and i immediatley noticed the terrible control scheme. If I have to ride a horse for five minutes, why do i have to press A rapidly? Then, you have to slow down, the press fast thenThis is most likely the most boring game I have ever played. I rented this game because of a recommendation from a friend. When the game started, I realized that the graphics were very good. The game started, and i immediatley noticed the terrible control scheme. If I have to ride a horse for five minutes, why do i have to press A rapidly? Then, you have to slow down, the press fast then slow, etc. The story was slow. Repeditive shoot outs, riding your horse for five minutes at a time (thats a long time just to get to a store), and a really uninteresting story. Don't buy this game. Also, video game magazines rate every over hyped game at least a 90. Expand
  92. May 17, 2012
    2
    This really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics are the best part, the music is decent, the voice acting and storyline are both mediocre, and the actual game mechanics are terrible.

    Shooting your gun feels awkward, imprecise, clunky, it's not fun. Riding your horse is boring too, it's like driving a
    This really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics are the best part, the music is decent, the voice acting and storyline are both mediocre, and the actual game mechanics are terrible.

    Shooting your gun feels awkward, imprecise, clunky, it's not fun.

    Riding your horse is boring too, it's like driving a car in GTA except you press A every couple seconds, and the scenery as you ride is all cactus and grass.

    Herding cattle is probably the most boring thing in the game.

    Racing is all right, but not very satisfying.

    There's no choices in the game, you just watch as the awful story unfolds.

    There's brothels in every town, but you're married so nothing to see here folks.
    Expand
  93. QuentinK.
    May 20, 2010
    3
    This game is a completely mistake. It has bad graphics (Uncharted 2 or Killzone 2 are 100x better), and poor story. There are bad animations - horse is rather teleporting than running. Bunch of glitches and bugs - carriages are disappearing in terrain. Textures are blurry and not very sharp. Game of the year? NOPE. We have to wait for Mafia II or some real, good games only for This game is a completely mistake. It has bad graphics (Uncharted 2 or Killzone 2 are 100x better), and poor story. There are bad animations - horse is rather teleporting than running. Bunch of glitches and bugs - carriages are disappearing in terrain. Textures are blurry and not very sharp. Game of the year? NOPE. We have to wait for Mafia II or some real, good games only for Playstation3. Xbox360 version is technically crap - 640p, QAA and bad framerate. Expand
  94. Sep 15, 2010
    2
    I bought this game when it came out kept it for a week and traded it in for in store credit and bought my kids a Wii game with the credit. This game had nothing worth talking about it was GTA in the Wild West. The multi-player piece was lack luster. It made absolutely no sense what so ever. I wasnt sure what i was supposed to do. People were just running around and killing other peopleI bought this game when it came out kept it for a week and traded it in for in store credit and bought my kids a Wii game with the credit. This game had nothing worth talking about it was GTA in the Wild West. The multi-player piece was lack luster. It made absolutely no sense what so ever. I wasnt sure what i was supposed to do. People were just running around and killing other people for no other reason then they didnt even know what else to do. The single player game had no real direction, quests were everywhere and i do mean everywhere. The multi-player campaign relies to much on a gaming community that for the lack of better words just sucks. The game had real potential but it got lost in translation from concept to reality. At least in GTA you didn't need to stop for gas, i hate when games try to put an element of reality in the game by giving vehicles or in this case horses stamina. Really why cant i just ride my dang horse man why do i have to keep randomly hitting the button. Ok so i wanted to join the law, i see a fight break out i stop attempt to stop it the guy shoots at me i shoot back kill him and now the law is after me. OK OK wait wait wait... you say i can break up fights but when i do the law comes after me. Where was the law when these two were fighting ..? I give it a 2 for great concept im even willing to give them another try with RDR2 but and i do mean but it will only be a rental until you prove to me that this will work and for goodness sake put a higher rating on it to keep out the people that don't want to play the game as it was intended. Expand
  95. Oct 12, 2010
    2
    the game is boring like assassins creed 1 & 2 all you do is run around and shoot/punch people and there isn't a good story to it. Thats what makes it boring
  96. Michaels.
    May 20, 2010
    5
    Single play is beautiful. Multilplayer is painful... mutiple disconnects, timeouts while entering free roam, and invisible horses really detract from what could be a very high scoring game. I almost feel it is premature to vote on a game that is only 65% playable.
  97. PhilG
    May 20, 2010
    6
    Like all Rockstar properties, definitely overhyped. Rockstar delivered a good game that lets you do a lot of things you wish you could in a Western game, but left some really key parts of the experience out. Robbing trains? Boring and pointless. Robbing banks? Can't seem to do it in MP (maybe I'm doing something wrong, idk). Want a lasso? Ok, go play the game for about 4 hours Like all Rockstar properties, definitely overhyped. Rockstar delivered a good game that lets you do a lot of things you wish you could in a Western game, but left some really key parts of the experience out. Robbing trains? Boring and pointless. Robbing banks? Can't seem to do it in MP (maybe I'm doing something wrong, idk). Want a lasso? Ok, go play the game for about 4 hours first (why it's not the first thing you get I have no idea...also, still haven't unlocked it in MP after another 4 hours spent there). Really the multiplayer is one of the problems because they could have done so much more with it. Why can't I play the poker/blackjack mini-games against my friends? Why do they remove most of the civilians and such from the cities? Why does my money disappear every time I leave someplace instead of being used like XP for upgrades? If I break the law, why do the sheriffs only come after me instead of the posse? Just a few of the problems with what realistically was the main selling point of the game. It suffers from "Elder Scrolls syndrome" where you have a wide open world to explore and ransack, but you end up sitting there not sure what to do or where to go. And finally, the cutscenes and side conversations are too long and do little to build any kind of story or interest. 3/5 SP, 3/5 MP. Expand
  98. JesseJ.
    May 18, 2010
    6
    You know, to date, I have thought that sure, sure critics make mistakes, but not I realized, they don't just make mistakes, they are all a bunch of idiots. I quote "As good as if not better than Grand Theft Auto IV" -Boomtown Okay, so wait, let me get this right, you are comparing RDR with a 3 year old game and saying it deserves a 10 because it is better than that game? It is like You know, to date, I have thought that sure, sure critics make mistakes, but not I realized, they don't just make mistakes, they are all a bunch of idiots. I quote "As good as if not better than Grand Theft Auto IV" -Boomtown Okay, so wait, let me get this right, you are comparing RDR with a 3 year old game and saying it deserves a 10 because it is better than that game? It is like me saying Forza 3 is 10/10 because it is the same game as Forza 2 (an example, not true). Its just plain stupid. What happened to all you idiotic critics going on about originality? After giving me all that crap, then you come and tell me that a game deserves 10/10 because it is identical to its predecessor with a new skin? Didn't the same thing happen to MW2? How long are you critics going to give us this bullshit? I quote myself from another website: "I know how this will turn out, critics will give it 10/10s around the world (because they get carried away with hype, not what you expect from so called "professionals"), millions of people will buy it because of the bullshit they just bought, and 2 weeks in the bitching will start and it wont stop until 2015. Then later on critics will be too scared to hate on the game or not give it GOTY because they will be ruining their own reputation by denying what they themselves had previously said. Then we will have to wait for websites like VG charts to give it biggest disappointment because they don't do reviews. You can quote me on this." And everything seems to be going as planned so far. Ladies and gentlemen, let me tell you about this game. And what it actually is. Just GTA IV, with a new skin. GTA IV had some of the biggest flaws in gaming, like lock on shooting (even though other developers stopped using that design a long long time ago.). That is not the only problem as GTA IV had some of the most repetitive missions. I could go on for hours about GTA IV but I wont, even I was stuck under the hype, first week or so I played it and I thought it was the most amazing game ever, then I realized what a piece of shit it was. Dont buy this game, don't support idiots like Activision and Rockstar, they are practically ruining the industry, they are sending out a bad message to other developers "make the same identical shitty game as the old one and give a new number next to the name and every body will buy it LOLOLOLOL". Expand
  99. AllistairP.
    May 21, 2010
    6
    Do you like video games not for the challenge but for the opportunity for an "interactive cinematic experience?" Boy, are you in luck then! Rockstar's San Diego studio has been slaving away for the past 6 years to cook up Red Dead Redemption, game that that was admitted to be a "huge disaster" 6 months ago by one of the key developers--who went on to claim that it existed only to Do you like video games not for the challenge but for the opportunity for an "interactive cinematic experience?" Boy, are you in luck then! Rockstar's San Diego studio has been slaving away for the past 6 years to cook up Red Dead Redemption, game that that was admitted to be a "huge disaster" 6 months ago by one of the key developers--who went on to claim that it existed only to prove that the San Diego studio can make a game that compares to GTA IV--not hard when you are relying mainly on resources. None of this matters to the player however. What matters to the player is that the game offers NONE TO LITTLE CHALLENGE and looks to film history more than it does to game history. This is a game for idiots, to be frank. A game where you hide behind rocks and press the right trigger to win. Move cattle by pressing foward long enough. Etc, etc. It's a boring game. The little movie clips in between the missions, especially the ones where you can move about on horseback (oooh, interactive storytelling!) are excellent when compared to its predecessor. In every other respect, it's a failure of a game. You press buttons, you win. It's a child's toy for children--thus, the man-baby journ-lol-ists celebrate it. ITS LIKE I'm WATCHING A MOVIE!!! Great, but how about us mature gamers who want to, you know, play a GAME? Expand
  100. PlasmaV
    May 19, 2010
    6
    After about 4hours of in-game play this is my take: Lots of waiting around for cinematics. Lots of holding down one button for several minutes as you travel from point a to point b listening to people talk. The game is slightly more action packed than Viva Pinata... meaning that if you're not in a fight it feels a lot like waiting for a bus in Wyoming. The Graphics feel dated, and no After about 4hours of in-game play this is my take: Lots of waiting around for cinematics. Lots of holding down one button for several minutes as you travel from point a to point b listening to people talk. The game is slightly more action packed than Viva Pinata... meaning that if you're not in a fight it feels a lot like waiting for a bus in Wyoming. The Graphics feel dated, and no that's not a pun. The animation and movements are fluid and well done. It's not a very fun or addictive game, plays more like a sim with a decent script. The developers added several mini-games like Poker, horseshoes, etc to I assume help fight off the boring. If you've got $60 and 4 hours to kill you'd get more entertainment from a couple of old westerns on Blu-ray with your favorite snacks and drinks, or some other game. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.