User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1898 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it.
  2. Sep 10, 2010
    4
    Just like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to the other, exciting. Much of the gameplay consists of what feels more like chores than fun. Activities like hunting for rabbits, plucking flowers, training horses, and herding cattle. None of it is challenging. It's all just designed to waste your time. And after a few hours you'll realize that it's just exactly that: A waste of time. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    With GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hits the ground was all kinds of fun. The ending to this game be beautiful, heart warming and really enjoyable to play. The biggest issue I have with the game though is that after i beat it I lost all interest in playing it. They do allow you to keep going of course, but only the side quests remain and i beat the bulk of those as i went. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost
    photorealistic.Its a shame the game doesnt have some contemporary modern/western fusion music like Red-Dead Revolver had,but great game nonleless. Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2010
    6
    One thing that puzzles me about Red Dead Redemption is how so many people can think that this is an excellent story. Whilst I am a fan of Rockstar games they really need to freshen up their writing as the protagonists are becoming interchangable. John Marston's dialog could have easily come out of Niko Bellic, Johnny Klebitz or Luis Lopez's mouths. I am finding that NPC's are often portrayed as creepy, desperate leeches or (for the female characters) vulnerable, delicate love interests. Aside from having samey characters the biggest frustration is that the story is thrust upon you. You are often forced to ride long distances listening to dreary, unfunny, chatter whilst doing nothing more difficult than holding the A button (to ride your horse alongside your companion). When you get to a mission the gameplay is dull, simple and repetitive - you will more or less complete the game and die only a handful of times.
    The game looks stunning, helped by excellent lighting and animations and the sound design helps build atmosphere (especially the rain effects!) but Red Dead Redemption is more of a tech. demo than a challenging game. If Rockstar allowed you to tell your own story within their games rather than being fixated on replicating movies then they would make something truly timeless, unfortunately this game is a miss in my book.
    Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse, in a desert, with nothing around except for around 10 small villages. The scenery is nice, but that's pretty much all you experience. If you see the the intro video you've pretty much seen it all, cause there's nothing really extra to explore. And this is coming from someone who has 100.0% completion. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funny moments but it executes the serious parts of the game wonderfully. This game is great. And SeanW is an idiot. Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Best Game of the Year 2010. Unbelievable good looking and large world with plenty of things to discover. It is a pity i just completed the main story and almost every side quest. Definitely the best game i played on the the XBox360 to this date. (Played around 80 Games). Soundtrack is lovely too!
    Go and buy this game.
  9. Sep 1, 2010
    6
    Incredible story line but sub par controls...even using the V.A.T.S...oops, I mean Dead Eye controls to help overcome the clumsiness of it all. The GTA style combat was just not fun. If you switched the control settings to casual it actually makes it much harder to use the Dead Eye. In the end itâ
  10. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    it kind of goes without saying that this is one of the best ideas put to video game in the history of video games, but i thought i'd just put in my two cents because this title most def deserves it.
  11. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Out of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described as "Unforgiven" with a few twists. The main character however is quite distinctive. John Marston is a former outlaw that's settled down with a family. While he is generally a good natured person, John's outlaw roots show through whenever he gets angry or when the situation calls for it. That may not sound all that different from a lot of other characters out there, but the way the voice actor delivers his lines lends an air of authenticity that few game characters ever capture. There is a downside, though. No matter what your actions in the game are, the game always makes you out to be the hero. This isn't a huge issue, but it does seem weird when John acts courteous and considerate right after gunning down a prostitute and looting her corpse.

    The gameplay isn't anything groundbreaking, but it is still remarkably strong. Employing the same cover mechanic seen in countless other games, Red Dead will have you with your back up against something most of the time. That's not really the point, though. The beauty of the gameplay lies in context. Every firefight feels like it could be straight out of a Peckinpah film like The Wild Bunch with bullets whizzing every which way and outlaws running desperately for cover as their buddies try to shoot at you from rooftops, balconies, and windows. There are also several epic set pieces which I won't spoil.
    Expand
  12. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    If you love Grand Theft Auto, you'll love this, game is typical of Rockstar, fantastic story, the way they capture the Wild West is amazing, the game had me daydreaming about being a cowboy. If you haven't, do not hesitate to buy it and enjoy, this is a gameplay game, not about the graphics or the franchise, this is what games should be all about (even though the graphics are polished).
  13. Dec 2, 2011
    4
    I cannot get what everyone loves about this game. The gameplay is repetitive, the mini-games lack any kind of fun. The game is set in the west at a time of modernization, yet it's still a long way from the city, with a few farms, a ranch, a couple of small villages - so why am I, in the middle of the night, encountering about ten people out hunting, traveling or plundering in just a couple of minutes' ride? When I kill a bounty, why does his henchmen spawn non-stop to kill me, again and again, until I go back to town, and then forget all about me? Why does 50 people who wants a NPC dead wait through weeks of him alone in the wilderness, until I join him, before they try to kill him - and why do they suddenly stop when I reach another point in the wilderness (no, not a fort or a city or anything, just a curve in the road in the middle of nothing)

    Why, when on a barge in the middle of the river, being pulled along a rope, does the rope bend AGAINST the current? Why, upon saving the life of a person, will this person refuse to talk to you at all afterwards? Why, when I found a horse, sat on top, and was told hey, that's mine,, then climbed back off the horse does the owner still run to the law to say I stole his horse? Why does the game then tell me the law is coming to arrest me - only to have me, standing completely still, no weapon drawn, gunned down from behind? If you can overlook the complete failure to make the setting feel like a desolate western, the throngs of people without any kind of personality at all and the lack of coherence in structuring a society, the scenery does offer some beauty,
    Expand
  14. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is possibly one of the best games out there. If Bethesda Softworks made a Western game, it would look like this, except with no multiplayer. Basically what I'm saying is that Red Dead Redemption is a GREAT game. The storyline and characters are amazing. I thought this game would suck because I hate Western games, but this game changed my entire view on Western games. I got so involved in the game and loved the main character, that I CRIED when he died. I know it sounds lame, but that's how much I loved it. The multiplayer was better than I expected. I thought that with such a great singleplayer, it would degrade the multiplayer expierence. But I was wrong! The multiplayer is awesome and probably the best multiplayer there is. I love Call of Duty, but I just love Free Roam multiplayer. Overall, a great game made by a great studio, Rockstar Games, I applaud you. Expand
  15. Aug 28, 2010
    5
    I bought this game reading all the great reviews and I thought "OMG THIS GAME WILL BE SO AWESOME I HAVE TO BUY IT!" But when I got home to play it... It was boring. Ever so boring. I decided to play through a couple more hours of gameplay to try and make it get good and it did. It was good, for a couple more hours. And then it got boring again. By that time I had played about 11 hours, and I was halfway through the story. I just didn't bother then because it stopped being fun. So I sold it and got $30. Maybe its just me, but I really didn't think this game was good. Expand
  16. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group of outlaws attempting to hang someone, I tried (and failed) to shoot the noose and by the time I re-loaded it was too late. I killed all the bandits and was left with a sobbing husband kneeling below his wife. I shot the noose (I actually missed again as I'm a bit special) to get her down and felt guilt, I could of changed the outcome. From that moment I was sucked into a dynamic living breathing world, intent on wiping out all the scum and the main plot has finally got me interested after an initial misfire. Expand
  17. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones), with some well done dialogue (But nowhere near as good as mass effect, nothing will be). The only reason this doesn't get a 10 is because of a few glitches and bugs, especially the 100% glitch (Still got Redeemed though), but rockstar has announced they're addressing the issue. Expand
  18. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off it has amazing multiplayer to boot, this is no doubt one of the best games of 2010, and a must play, right now you're probably asking "if it's so perfect why not a 10?', there is a few flaws holding it back, like a few glitches, long load times, and the fact that riding everywhere takes up a lot of time and can get boring, but those are easily overlooked, this game is just shy of perfection, I can't think of anyone I wouldn't highly recommend this too. Expand
  19. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time. The multiplayer is one of my favourite. There are many game modes available, including free roam. I found that a lot of people play online. I have always found full matches on all game modes. I never have to wait for ages. This game does follow the same structure as GTA, but is completely different. Many new features have been introduced, and there is much more to do. I highly recommend getting this game. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  20. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    To whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit of repetition in some parts of the game, I found that it was a massive and rewarding experience.
    The only thing I didn't really like was the multiplayer. It's not technically bad, it's just that I feel as if there could have been a lot more done with it. But that doesn't overshadow the awesome campaign. 9/10.
    Expand
  21. Sep 2, 2010
    3
    This is most likely the most boring game I have ever played. I rented this game because of a recommendation from a friend. When the game started, I realized that the graphics were very good. The game started, and i immediatley noticed the terrible control scheme. If I have to ride a horse for five minutes, why do i have to press A rapidly? Then, you have to slow down, the press fast then slow, etc. The story was slow. Repeditive shoot outs, riding your horse for five minutes at a time (thats a long time just to get to a store), and a really uninteresting story. Don't buy this game. Also, video game magazines rate every over hyped game at least a 90. Expand
  22. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  23. Oct 12, 2010
    2
    the game is boring like assassins creed 1 & 2 all you do is run around and shoot/punch people and there isn't a good story to it. Thats what makes it boring
  24. Jan 11, 2011
    5
    the single most over hyped crap of a game in the history of games.

    ride around picking flowers. oh how fun. there is no challenge to this game, you want beautiful scenery?, rent a DVD of the grand canyon. F off with this game.
  25. May 28, 2011
    3
    With limited time and at least 12 unopened games yet to be played I just can't bring myself to waste any more time on this game. The dialouge is only ok the combat is easy the quests are repetitive and I just cant shake the feeling that im playing gta:wild west. The minigames are probably the only marginal bit of fun to be found in this game. This just goes to show that they always sneak a few overhyped games in that just flat out dont deserve it. The boredom and sheer disappointment of this game is almost as obvious as 9/11 being a inside job or that flouride in your water and toothpaste is poision. Please dont buy this but maybe rent it if there is nothing else you would rather play.The graphics are good and thats the only reason I gave this game a 3. The lowest scored game ive rated so far. Expand
  26. May 6, 2011
    10
    Guess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for character animations: they are smooth and for the most part realistic (jumping freakin sucks) The game plays like gta4 but is that really bad? That game is no doubt game of 2008. It is a great game and so is Red Dead. There really isnt a reason to not buy it. Unless you have no money. Expand
  27. May 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! It is virtually a living world where you can do anything. Great story, great characters. This game is limited only by your imagination!
  28. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a number of different game modes with your friends. From open world to shoot outs to horse races, Red Dead Redemption can potentially dwindle hours of your life away. Do yourself a favor and experience this game for yourself. Expand
  29. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, capture criminals, or hold up a train, it gives you so much freedom, and allows for so much. The controls are a little hard to master, but are very unique, and has a lot of things you can do at once, EX: On horse press A rapidly for speed, hold down LT To Aim, While holding B To Look towards important characters/places, etc, while turning the joysticks to steer, while press RT to shoot. But it makes it so unique, and so fun. The game blew me away, I thought it was be similar to GTA4, (Which I hated) But it's nothing like it. It's so much different, and it is spectacular, you won't regret this game, I PROMISE. Expand
  30. Jul 4, 2011
    3
    Not being a huge fan of Rockstar games, I was some what hesitant to play this game. And I was pretty much right with my expectations. In the hour that I "attempted" to play this game, I found myself battle glitch after glitch. If I wasn't sinking into the terrain to the point my character couldn't move, either my game menu wasn't visible (after pressing start) or I couldn't hitch my damn horse on the initial intro to the game. Sorry Rockstar, fix your stuff before you put games out. Glitches should be a thing of the past. Expand
  31. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Wow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of an idiot, but very loving, just dies. Honest to god, I think this video game with it's amazing story that fills many people with emotions, will probably even make a psychopath cry. RIP John Marston. Those of you who says it is another GTA game just set in a WESTERN theme, are just naive people that "judge a book by it's cover". Expand
  32. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    You NEED to buy this game, mp is really good, campaign is way cool, this will always be the best western shooter of all time. One of the best open world games in a long time. Makes GTA look like a d*** made it, literally.
  33. Feb 7, 2012
    5
    In my opinion this has to be the most overatted game of the last decade. Im thinking the critics are all either huge western fans or didn't play enough of this game to see how boring and empty it is. The only half descent things about this game are the graphics and the story. Everything besides the story is boring and pointless. They made this huge world filled with nothing but some coyotes to kill and flowers to pick. The main protagonist is boing with almost no personallity and already has a vife and kids which excludes even the possibility of a romance angle. Oh and then the ending that the critics are raving about feels out of place and unsatisfying. I didn't even realize there was more story after the big scene with the main villian. The ending just feels tacked on. plus it anoys me that if they would just let me controll my guy I could kill all these enemys because I wouldn't walk right out in front just to get shot. I cannot believe all the praise this game is getting. Expand
  34. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a good example on how to make a fantastic game and Rockstar show's that example once again with their games. The campaign in RDR is amazing and ecery mission means something. And the multiplayer is fantastic and a lot to choose from game modes. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 9/10 Red Dead Redemtion 9.7/10
  35. Sep 10, 2010
    6
    Ok, I know this goes against many people's opinions, but Red Dead Redemption, in my opinion, was an average game. No, I am not saying it is bad, it was good, but not my type of 3rd person open-world shooter. The controls were good, the graphics were great, but the gameplay and story was so-so (For some odd reason, I liked GTA IV's gameplay). I was never a big fan of Western Style games, and that's probably why I didn't like it much. Anyway, this was my opinion on the game. Expand
  36. Sep 15, 2010
    2
    I bought this game when it came out kept it for a week and traded it in for in store credit and bought my kids a Wii game with the credit. This game had nothing worth talking about it was GTA in the Wild West. The multi-player piece was lack luster. It made absolutely no sense what so ever. I wasnt sure what i was supposed to do. People were just running around and killing other people for no other reason then they didnt even know what else to do. The single player game had no real direction, quests were everywhere and i do mean everywhere. The multi-player campaign relies to much on a gaming community that for the lack of better words just sucks. The game had real potential but it got lost in translation from concept to reality. At least in GTA you didn't need to stop for gas, i hate when games try to put an element of reality in the game by giving vehicles or in this case horses stamina. Really why cant i just ride my dang horse man why do i have to keep randomly hitting the button. Ok so i wanted to join the law, i see a fight break out i stop attempt to stop it the guy shoots at me i shoot back kill him and now the law is after me. OK OK wait wait wait... you say i can break up fights but when i do the law comes after me. Where was the law when these two were fighting ..? I give it a 2 for great concept im even willing to give them another try with RDR2 but and i do mean but it will only be a rental until you prove to me that this will work and for goodness sake put a higher rating on it to keep out the people that don't want to play the game as it was intended. Expand
  37. Oct 29, 2010
    6
    Okay. Since I gave this game a six, let me first start by telling you the good parts. Whoever says that Read Dead is GTA in the wild west is absolutely correct. If you enjoy the GTA games then this is right up your alley. Go for it. 1-The world is absolutely beautiful. Hell sometimes I would go on horse rides just to see what I could see. 2-There is so much to do, and much of it isn't scripted. Riding to and from missions I would be distracted by things along the roads. Just dicking around is where I had my most fun! Sadly though, for me at least, those two points summarize the good in RDR. The storyline is little more than annoying. It seems no-one has anything actually interesting to do in the Wild West. Some quest ideas are great, but the implementation of their mechanics is boring at best. Roping a bandit? Awesome! Nope. Lasoing is frustrating at the best of times. Cattle drives? Yessir! Nope. Riding back and forth behind a herd is as boring as it sounds. The characters themselves are just over-the-top stereotypes of classic wild west characters. They're just not likeable. All this to say that the world itself is wonderful, it just is NOT filled with anything as spectacular as it is. But this was the same problem as GTA. Missions are no lasting fun, but making your own fun is too easy for that to be a big deal. For me though story is everything and that is why I gave RDR a 6. Expand
  38. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of just about anything, no matter how perfect it is. The characters in this game barely ever seem like they blend together like so many others and the storyline is fantastic. Maybe this is my favorite game only because I haven't played GTA IV and don't see the similarity's, but honestly, I could care less. Expand
  39. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    There is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the best video game experiences of your life! Expand
  40. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. A great game i really enjoyed it Expand
  41. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Most definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much more powerful. Amazing. Probably a game I will come back to quite a few times later in life. Expand
  42. Mar 8, 2012
    6
    whilst significantly better and more interesting than rockstars gta iv i still got bored half way through, but i liked being a badass in a trench coat so it gets a six
  43. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Just shy of a masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is easily the best western video game ever created, and is absolutely stunningly brilliant. Oozing with detail, good writing and varied missions, plus a hefty dose of rpg elements and side quests / games, its easy to see the GTA roots. While some claim foul, I think this great methodology of video game play is perfect for the western setting. The soundtrack is original and unique, and there is lots to explore and check out. Easily a 10 / 10. Expand
  44. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    What an amazing game this was, it was unique in almost every way. I would say this is best for hardcore gamers due to many reasons. It would be nice to see more games like this in the future and with the new grand theft auto i'm sure rockstar company will be making a new game or continue one because the amount of money they made could result in another a++ game.
  45. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    There is not a better game out right now. After completing the single-player game, I went and tried the multilplayer which I didn't think would be too great. It was absolutely astounding! It opened up a whole new world for me. The only knock is you have to have at least a decent connectivity to fully play the multiplayer without hiccups, which most Xbox live players have access to nowadays anyway
  46. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This is the best game to come out since GTAIV. The gameplay, graphics, and storyline are all top-notch. Expect this to get a **** ton of awards. I love this game.
  47. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    [Pros]: Amazing graphics, music, story, characters, game play. [Cons]: The ending, boring online and little replay value.. The beginning of the game is great first time, but I was pulling my hair out the second time through. I hate that I have to rely on DLC to save this game.
  48. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Again, Rockstar blows our minds. Grand Theft Auto IV was probably a top 10 game of all time on Xbox 360 and this is just another one. Everything goes right in this game. there were a few avoidable and forgettable problems with Grand theft auto IV and this just threw em out
  49. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    it's a game absolutly great in all, better than GTA 4. The world is huge and very real, it seems to be in a old west film. I have purchased an Xbox 360 only to play with RDR, I love this game! Rockstar Games Rules!!! Now we want Read Dead Redemption 2
  50. May 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption stands on top on many of my games and i appreciate the marvelous work that Rockstar has made. Very similar to GTA in terms, both are sandbox. The dialogue is amazing, very real if i say, incredible graphics are beautiful in all aspects. Wild West never looked so good , so if you want a great story line, great action, exploration all well mixed up this is worth looking out. Oh yeah , and the end will be memorable . Hope so. Expand
  51. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best cowboy game I have ever played with a good story, good aiming and good horse riding. I would like to congratulate rock star on making this game because it is a master piece.
  52. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    If you hate this game you're not a gamer, simple as that. No, I'm not a Rockstar fanboy but it's really so goddamn obvious that Red Dead Redemption is the best game this gen, by far and that is a fact.
  53. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    buy this game amazing content great multiplayer and doesnt dissapoint in the story. occasional bugs but overall this deserves its game of the year award
  54. May 17, 2012
    2
    This really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics are the best part, the music is decent, the voice acting and storyline are both mediocre, and the actual game mechanics are terrible.

    Shooting your gun feels awkward, imprecise, clunky, it's not fun.

    Riding your horse is boring too, it's like driving a
    car in GTA except you press A every couple seconds, and the scenery as you ride is all cactus and grass.

    Herding cattle is probably the most boring thing in the game.

    Racing is all right, but not very satisfying.

    There's no choices in the game, you just watch as the awful story unfolds.

    There's brothels in every town, but you're married so nothing to see here folks.
    Expand
  55. May 16, 2012
    1
    And still no PC version for a game with plenty of shooting, with character controlling, with a great possibilities of modding and graphical enhancements.
  56. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    RED DEAD REDEMPTION is one of the best open world games ever made and defenetly the best Western game, i RDR has Top voice acting especially the Protagonist John Marston and the graphics are amazing, the story too! RDR has emotional moments that are just so powerful between each character, 9/10.
  57. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Rockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, you have games like Call of Juarez, but, Red Dead Redemption is truly the first epic 'wild west' game. The protagonist, John Marston, is similar to other Rockstar protagonists, but I think he's a good character. The storyline is pretty good, but it moves slowly like GTA IV. Technically, the game is good looking but textures on rocks and such are kind of blurry, there are some glitches, the controls are well done. Overall a great game. Expand
  58. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Wow. Very in depth story, loved all the characters, and allows an amazing amount of freedom. I get the GTA comparisons, but unlike GTA this game doesn't leave you bored after a few hours.
  59. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    An atmospheric and engaging masterpiece, set in a beautifully realised image of the old west with an ensemble of unforgettable characters. I love this game, with Mass Effect 2 and just a few others it ranks as an all time great in my eyes, possibly my all time number 1. Just making John Marston walk causally along the main street of Armadillo and watching as the heat shimmers and dust kicks up from his boots as he steps is a sight to behold. Intuitive controls, satisfying combat and 'dead eye' along with the brilliant inertia reactions to being shot; there's so much to set this game apart as a joy to play. Its like having the leading role in an ultimately heart wrenching yet epic tale of life and loss in the dying days of the old west. Masterpiece. Expand
  60. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    The best of the best...true that a few glitches will let the game down but it is definitely one for the books!!You can do almost anything from riding horses to having drinks at the bar a getting drunk!!
  61. May 31, 2013
    6
    I was never totally convinced with this game. There are points where it's absolutely beautiful, compelling and absorbing. There are other times where it's frustrating, cheap and shoddy. Which ever side of the fence you sit on, you're going to see at its core a great game. But at times it fails to deliver with its average control scheme, poor combat system, lacking A.I and missons which some times feel like a pain. These are just some things I didn't like about the game on a personal level which is a shame, because the game is very likeable. I can see why it's so famous but for me, it was average. Expand
  62. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. el juego me encanto pero hay partes que me pusieron un poco triste y el red dead redemtion undead nightmare es tambien me gusto, john marston muere y vuelve como zombie Expand
  63. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. Much better than GTA 5 in my opinion. If you do not buy this, you have no idea what you are missing out on. I have no words how to describe the brilliance this game delivers.
  64. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This game was made by aliens. San Andreas & Canis Canem Edit were open world masterpieces on the PS2, Red Dead Redemption & GTA 5 stand on the shoulders of Giants, but they are Giants themselves. Mindblowing how far games have come. Even if you hate the Western genre with a passion, RDR is an experience you can't miss.
  65. Aug 9, 2010
    9
    It's a wide enough universe in this game to get everything you want out of it. The "Gun" games made me a fan of the genre, but I found that the story was too linear and restricting. A game like "Red Dead Redemption" really allows you to become immersed and to get settled in with missions that you like. The graphics are also quite impressive and really show off what the 30 can do.
  66. Aug 8, 2010
    9
    Yep, it's just as good s everyone says it is. There are a couple of periods where things move a bit slowly, and the aiming assist is probably a little too helpful-- but these are very minor complaints for a great game.
  67. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a stunning game that clips its spurs on the way through to the finishing line. John Marston is one of the year
  68. Sam
    Aug 12, 2010
    9
    A wide variety of places to go and situations you wouldn't find in any other game. I think a bit better than Grand Theft Auto IV. The world around the game looks stunning. A must buy.
  69. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Red Dead has everything you could want in a game it really captures the old Western days. I like it more than other Rockstar games such as GTA IV because it has a sense of being unique.
  70. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Ok, I just have to throw my 2 cents in here. In my opinion, the game was all-around perfect EXCEPT 2 things: First, the game is a bit glitchy, but its not glitchy often enough to ruin the game or anything. But, the biggest reason why I would not recommend this game is because THE GUN TARGETING IS GARBAGE! I set it to auto-targeting mode (called "Casual Targeting") and my friend's 4-year-old son cleared out the Fort Mercer Gang Hideout (unlocked fairly late in the game) in about 4 minutes. He was mainly just pressing L & R-Trigger repeatedly. This game is TOO EASY. Then, if you set it to "Expert Targeting" it thankfully removes the auto-aiming, but the gun aiming is WAAAY TOO SLOW even on the max setting! Yes, the gun targeting is terrible, and ruins an otherwise great game. I am on 360 version btw. However, I did really enjoy the storyline in this game. Expand
  71. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    If your a fan of western films like me you'll really love "Red Dead Redemption" because it truly captures the feel and look of those films perfectly.
  72. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play as John Marston, who once rode in a gang. Now, blackmailed by federal agents he must hunt down his former friends and bring them in, or great harm will come to his family. That's the basis, and like all great western films it encompasses justice, betrayal and visceral violence. You'll become absorbed in the plot, and actually feel for the characters, like you would in any great TV show or film. The voice acting is incredible, every lone wandering cowboy sound's different, each region reflects part of the west today, with different accents and morals. You'll travel throughout the desolate plains, and through the beautiful red rock expanses of land in Mexico. The landscape though, acts as another character. Everything from the heat shimmers on the horizon, to the sunset's, are incredible. You'll become engrossed in the world, and it is very, very easy to spend alot of time just wondering and admiring the terrain of which this epic tale is set in. Wandering round ranches at night, you'll see groups huddled round camp fires playing instruments, and informing others of local news. You may them talking about your character, or a certain event that you have been involved in. This adds to your ego, but more importantly the atmosphere. One word to describe the size of the playable area is; scope. It'll take you a good half an hour to cross on horseback, even longer on foot. There are random events that occur as you are travelling, a women asks for your help while she stands next to a battered stagecoach, do you help or leave? It's up to you, whatever the outcome, it will help shape your characters 'honour' and 'fame' stats, a representation of what local townsfolk think of you. You can be an outlaw or a good guy, these choices are all yours. The combat is also solid, you'll recognise things like the cover system from GTA IV, but there are legitimate weapons, and gunshot wounds, which all add to the experience and authenticity. 'Dead-eye' enables the player to slow down time and place several shots on enemies, letting go of the activation button see's Marston fire off at all the targets in rapid succession, particularly useful if you are low on health and outnumbered. There isn't much of a learning curve with the controls, and although the game may seem challenging at times, it never becomes frustrating. Riding a horse, although not as exciting as driving a car, is also fun. You become attached to your mount, and it can be difficult to leave it it dies and collapses during a fight. The music is also very atmospheric. The OST gives a western vibe, and other songs like Jose Gonzalez's 'Far Away' feel right when played. There are alot of memorable moments in this game, ones that will stay with you forever and never fail to amaze or shock time and time again. Watching a sunset whilst standing on top of a huge cliff, admiring the landscape laid out in front of you can be extremely relaxing, it looks real thanks to the wonderful art direction and graphics behind the game. I could go on and on about Red Dead Redemption but I fear that I would ruin the experience. This is simply a must play game, and will prove to anyone that games can provide interesting story lines and contain atmospheres on par with blockbuster films. As Clint Eastwood once famously said in A Fistful Of Dollars; "You will never see another one like it." Red Dead Redemption will go down in history. Expand
  73. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Just when I thought that Rockstar Games couldn't create anything other than overhyped crap, I was proven wrong with this game. And I must tell you, it never felt so good to be wrong.
  74. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Quite immersive setup with a very impressive range of things to do and environments. Free-roam multilayer is a MASSIVE step in the right direction that other companies should look into. The repetitiveness of the single player kicks this otherwise great game down a few notches, but the multilayer can easily make up for it. The only issue I have so far is that ITS NOT ON PC!
  75. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I have had some problems putting it down because there is always something else to do or to discover. The main character is great. I really enjoy all of his dialogues and the voice actor they took is super. I am really hooked on hunting and riding a horse while the moon is full to the beautiful soundtrack will NEVER get old. Thank you for this game.
  76. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Oh my god .. Wooow . I can't believe that games has reached this level of gaming experience , in this game we - gamers . we're proud of what videogames finally has reached .. and This game ( Red Dead Redemption ) it's 4 me the best game ever made . i played a lot and a lot of games but this one is really really special , the graphics are immersive .. imagine that u have a map of a hundreds of Km2 full with a wonderfull lightning . and a beautifully reflexes and all sorts of weather .. The horses are perfectly made ... the story is perfect .... and a hooole of new ideas u can find .. and the best thing that i loved in this game is that u can spend hours and hours of gaming to reach the 100% of the game .. an infinite secondary missions ... in each place u go u'll find something to do .. just like the real life ... and summered this game i can say ... Red Dead redemption is the mirror of the real life back in 19's .. i realy injoyed this game i realy lived the western experience thanx to rockstar games .. if you don't buy this game you will miss a lot and a lot .. Expand
  77. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is yet another fantastic game by Rockstar!! Its amazing from the moment you pop the disk in, all the way up to the stunningly brilliant conclusion. It can be looked at as a close cousin to Grand Theft Auto IV. It has many similar traits like aiming, running and mission structure. While, using this tried and true backbone for a new game is great and works, at times it feels almost too similar to GTA. That and the lack of difficulty have to be my only two complaints, but they don't take enough away from the game to even damage the experience a bit. The landscape, setting, graphics, characters and story are all great. Some very interesting characters have too small of a part or just don't come back again after they exit the storyline the first time but some do and you become attached them. All in all Red Dead is a must play for any gamer. Its enjoyable through multiple playthroughs and has a fair amount of extras to keep you busy. Go out and buy I now!!!!! Expand
  78. Dec 3, 2010
    7
    It's obvious Rockstar Games worked hard to create an immersive and highly detailed virtual world with hours upon hours of activities, but they should have put more effort to improve or overhaul the core gameplay experience, rather than merely tweaking the gameplay from their previous titles, particularly from Grand Theft Auto IV. The subpar controls and badly paced storyline is so prevalent that it turns a potentially amazing game into merely a decent one. Regardless of all the wonderful details and choices available in Red Dead Redemption, control and pacing issues should not be excused. No game is perfect, but the way the game controls and the way a story driven game is paced, are elements so important that they should have been given top priority. Expand
  79. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    This game can be described in one word - EPIC !!!! Rockstar has done it again proving yet another time that it is the master of open world gameplay.The storyline , gameplay and overall mechanics of the game well managed and were very well complimented by the music and sound effects. With this game you will feel as if you are playing GTA just that this time around its with horses and revolvers instead of Ferrari's and fully automatics. I actually ended up enjoying this game more than the GTA editions put out by rockstar.The graphics were very well done with one or two minor hiccups here and there. The shooting game mechanic was a great leap forward from the GTA versions of the game making the game much more engaging. The game plays very smoothly whether it's dueling with some stranger for respect and fame, playing a game of poker or just taking a ride across the countryside on your horse this game will keep you engaged and provide enjoyment at every turn. Expand
  80. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another Grand Theft Auto game. Expand
  81. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I've never been a fan of Western-type games. I've never thought that anyone could really develop a Western title that would have any relevance to the standard gamer. I didn't even enjoy GTA IV, despite the two game being very similar in comparison. After playing through Red Dead Redemption, it's safe to say that this game has changed my mind on the whole genre. I'm only here to write my review on the single player aspect of this game, since I had to return the game back to my friend, leaving me with little time to enjoy the multiplayer aspects. To start, Red Dead Redemption does not have what I would call the most original storyline, but it still works. You're John Marston, an extremely polite former outlaw whose family is being threatened by the government if he does not assist them in hunting down several of his former gang members. The story is honestly not much more deeper than that, but it does contain plenty of interesting plot twists and arcs. Some reviewers complained about this game being more akin to a movie rather than a video game, which is true to a certain extent in a good way. Certain action sequences such as duels and Dead Eye (which is essentially slow-mo) make this statement true. But the sheer amount of intense shootouts and other Western set-pieces (such as stopping another gang of outlaws from robbing a train) solidify this title as a truly triple A game. The game displays some of the best voice-acting I've ever heard in a game before, creating a realistic feel to the whole experience. The dialogue is superbly written and contains some absolutely hilarious moments. The characters in the game are expertly done, each with their own unique personalities and backgrounds. The game is entirely open-world, allowing you to literally cross the border between Mexico and Texas freely later in the game. One of the things that amazed me was the vast amount of things to do. Whether it was saving a damsel in distress from a group of highway robbers or getting caught while cheating during a game of Texas-Hold-Em, I never ran out of things to do, even after the game's completion. The missions that advance the storyline forward never stale, despite some of them essentially being the same thing. As you progress through each Act, you'll eventually build up to a climax mission for each one. These missions really allow the game to shine, forcing you through intense shootouts that really get your adrenaline pumping. Graphically, the game is impressive for the time that it was released. The character models look fantastic and the animations are all extremely fluid. Environments look good, but do tend to stale halfway through the game. There's tons of variation in the game, so you will never have to worry about getting bored. I have played a little bit of the online, and I will say that from what I experienced, I would gladly sink in many more hours to rank up. As with every game, there's always flaws, and this one's no exception. I think that the biggest flaw for me was the controls. Speaking for myself, the controls never felt comfortable. I never enjoyed mashing the A button over and over to sprint, nor did I find the game's cover system very well-implemented. I have died multiple times throughout the game due to the poor cover system. Several times, I would slide into cover and try and maneuver my way around where I was more protected from enemy fire. Instead of maneuvering to the side, my character would simply stand back up and be brutally mowed down instantly by the deadly accurate sharpshooting AI. Riding horses is smooth enough, but carriages and carts need to be worked on. I also had a minor problem with capturing bounties in the North. I would capture a bounty and wave after wave of his friends would come, which is fine by me. But then a random wild grizzly bear would maul my horse to death, while the captured bounty falls onto the ground. As I'm desperately trying to find the nearest mount so that I don't have to hoof it halfway across the map, the continuous onslaught of enemies never ceases. I'll kill one outlaw, attempt to put the captured bounty on top of his now vacant horse, which seems to run away immediately after I kill the rider, and then find myself face-to-face with another grizzly bear, forcing me to once again place the bounty back onto the ground while I exterminate the bear. Keep in mind that the animations for placing the captured bounty anywhere take about 2 seconds each, so it really grinds my nerves when it shows my character slowly place him on the ground when in reality I need to quickly throw him away to react fast enough. Of course, I've never made it out of one of these situations in time and always end up dying, forcing me to restart the entire mission. Despite all of these complaints, which are minor to be honest, the game is still a truly elite title. Rockstar has made the Western genre relevant again and here's hoping for a sequel. Expand
  82. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    My review of Red Dead Redemption is basically this i think this is probably the greatest game of all time second only to Halo and Grand theft auto 4. I really liked the story to this game,the action is incredible,and the multiplayer is topnotch.The horseriding in Red dead is better than any Old west game that came before. A definite must buy
  83. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    Great game. Beautifully crafted. One negative would be some of the content. i know that is an "adult" game etc etc... I just think they add some aspects just for the shock factor rather than it's actual benefit to the game.
  84. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I don't understand some people, "crappy story"!? What makes this game an ABSOLUTE winner is it's characters and Rockstars attention to detail. Reading Cormac McCarthy's novels alongside playing RDR is an absolute joy, my imagination is running amuck with mexican horse thieves and lonely harmonicas.
  85. Sep 17, 2010
    6
    Detailed story with Plenty of characters the majority being very real and with the strong western theme carried out perfectly, stacked along side strong, varied game-play this is a very enthralling game. However as the cowboy novelty wears off, and you get used to the quite repetitive game-play and plot you might find you never pick this game up off the shelf after the first few weeks
  86. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    This an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep you on your toes, and as I said before the story is fantastic. It's pretty close to a perfect game. Expand
  87. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Great voice acting, engaging story, beautiful cinematics and very well paced. I thoroughly enjoyed this game, despite the aiming system being a little too easy. This is Rockstar grown up.
  88. Dec 10, 2010
    8
    A massive sandbox game full of beauty and splendour, Red Dead: Redemption proves that RockStar can make a grand and fantastic western game. What I didn't like were the many glitches and a very offensive rape joke that made me lose interest in the main character. Super Mario Galaxy 2 or Bayonetta should be GOTY instead.
  89. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    pros - Awesome story, great gameplay, beautiful graphics, western setting, multiplayer has a boat load of variety, you can work together to hunt animals, or just go all out killing each other.
    cons - shorter single player then previous rockstar games. This game is worth the $60 price tag.
  90. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    wow i can't believe how awesome that was, don't miss out on this game. i see 50 or so people didn't like this game and i feel bad for you few that have no taste in games.
  91. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more being chased by the cops for minor traffic infringements. No more shocking auto aim. NO MORE MOBILE PHONE. Simply put, RDR is a masterpiece of gaming, most notably the storytelling, the realisation of the game world, and the characterisation. The missions are varied, the voice acting top notch, the world is believable, and it never overstays its welcome. If it weren't for Mass Effect 2, this would be my Game of the Year 2010. And with Undead Nightmare, it's even better. Expand
  92. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    A fair warning to kids, "Red Dead Redemption" is not some twitchy fantasy western shooter shooter, it is a game that actually plays in the old west. Well, actually plays in a virtual old west anyway. The game has you rope, ride, drive cattle, throw horse shoes, fire one bullet at a time, and fight off the occasional cougar (not a 30 something woman with an eye for you, a real virtual cougar). And you will experience the story whether you like it or not. For a sand box game, this is no choose your own adventure. The only recourse you have is to stop playing the game when you are satisfied with the ending, because like any good piece of art, the actual ending will leave you with mixed feelings. The ending here surpasses the Lone Wolf level of "Halo: Reach" as the most iconic ending of all time. 2010 was a banner year for video game endings in that respect.

    Speaking of respect, this game has it. Each character looks lovingly made and easily distinguished. Funny how video game characters now look more real than the made-up actors and actresses we see on TV and in movies. The whole world here seems handcrafted. Sparse but not lifeless. Earth toned but not dull. This is what the actual earth looks like, after-all. "Red Dead Redemption" sets a new standard for games. Sure it has funny glitches and I never did figure out how the gunfight mechanic was supposed to work. No game of this scope has been or ever will be perfect. By going somewhere few games have ever gone, into the realm of dare I say it, art, "Red Dead Redemption" has achieved the status of legend.
    Expand
  93. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    Alas I found this a clumsy and confusing game. When you're lost and don't know what to do it becomes dull. I'm sure there's a great game in here, but if it doesn't hook you, it'll be a disappointing experience.
  94. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A truly amazing game, one of my favorite of all time. Their is just so much to do, the story is compelling and when this is matched with a superb sandbox experience it make a true masterpiece of gaming delight. Have purchased all the DLC and still loving it. Now I just want to get every last achievement, but ill still be playing it after that.
  95. Oct 13, 2010
    6
    Another "fun for 8 hours" sandbox game from Rockstar. The story is quite nice, however, combat can be quite boring, especially if you use a lot of "Red Dead Eye" and the in game auto-aim. Oh, and multi-player is complete and utter rubbish.
  96. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This Game es PERFECT and much better than any Grand Theft Auto may have existed, but I can not wait to see what they have prepared for the sequel. Rockstar is undoubtedly the king of the sandbox!
  97. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redepmtion is an incredible game, for me it beats GTA. This game definetly deserves its pace as one of the greatest games of all time. The graphics, characters and story all add up to this rockstar masterpiece. It's a must have if you don't already have this you should purchase it right away. Quality Game!
  98. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. In fact, it's a game that just evolves with the use of the online free roam and all the challenges packed into it as well as the other online game modes. Graphically it is jaw droppingly good.

    Anyone giving this game less than 8 confuses me. It is a masterpiece both on and offline and there really can be no disputing that. Even if it isn't your
    type of game, it's qualities cannot be ignored. Expand
  99. Nov 8, 2010
    9
    This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  100. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    It was good, Not as great as everyone made it out to be but it was well worth playing. Had a fair share of annoying bugs and glitches and a campaign filled with repetitive objectives though. Other then that it was fine.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.