User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2336 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 7, 2013
    6
    Being late to begin this game I thought I should of started after hearing the amazing reviews the game got. Needless to say I was disappointed. I hated the shooting mechanics which were similar to Gta's (too easy) the story became boring at about half way making the game feel like a chore. The only interesting thing about this game was the excellent characters and voice acting other thenBeing late to begin this game I thought I should of started after hearing the amazing reviews the game got. Needless to say I was disappointed. I hated the shooting mechanics which were similar to Gta's (too easy) the story became boring at about half way making the game feel like a chore. The only interesting thing about this game was the excellent characters and voice acting other then that the game was extremely repetitive. I would not recommend this game to anyone, don't waste your time and money. Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    The game starts strong; open world, captivating storyline, superb graphics. The controls are very good as well and it really drew me in for the first several hours of gameplay. About halfway through, the I just got bored with it. Sure it's open world but there just nothing to do aside from the main quest. Searching and looting is a waste of time because there is simply nothing outThe game starts strong; open world, captivating storyline, superb graphics. The controls are very good as well and it really drew me in for the first several hours of gameplay. About halfway through, the I just got bored with it. Sure it's open world but there just nothing to do aside from the main quest. Searching and looting is a waste of time because there is simply nothing out there to find. The only way to get new weapons is to finish parts of the main quest. Stranger quests are fruitless at best. Most of the time you're awarded a piece of outfit or some money. But money is plentiful and I really couldn't find a reason to wear any outfits besides the Bounty Hunter Outfit. Seriously, you spend hours trying to get all the pieces for one outfit only to realize there's no point in changing because there's no benefit. I found myself rushing through the objectives and skipping the cinema-tics because I just wanted to play. But there is only a short bit of action followed by more and more horse riding to the next destination. However the treasure hunting challenges were fun, but with money as plentiful as it is, there's no benefit. All in all, a gripping (at first) experience but gets old quick. Buy it used. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    Overrated a bit. Game play is bland, online was eh, and missions all seemed the same. The only great aspects of this game was the story and graphics. The graphics were amazing and detailed and the story was delicate and immensing.
  4. Oct 29, 2010
    6
    Okay. Since I gave this game a six, let me first start by telling you the good parts. Whoever says that Read Dead is GTA in the wild west is absolutely correct. If you enjoy the GTA games then this is right up your alley. Go for it. 1-The world is absolutely beautiful. Hell sometimes I would go on horse rides just to see what I could see. 2-There is so much to do, and much of itOkay. Since I gave this game a six, let me first start by telling you the good parts. Whoever says that Read Dead is GTA in the wild west is absolutely correct. If you enjoy the GTA games then this is right up your alley. Go for it. 1-The world is absolutely beautiful. Hell sometimes I would go on horse rides just to see what I could see. 2-There is so much to do, and much of it isn't scripted. Riding to and from missions I would be distracted by things along the roads. Just dicking around is where I had my most fun! Sadly though, for me at least, those two points summarize the good in RDR. The storyline is little more than annoying. It seems no-one has anything actually interesting to do in the Wild West. Some quest ideas are great, but the implementation of their mechanics is boring at best. Roping a bandit? Awesome! Nope. Lasoing is frustrating at the best of times. Cattle drives? Yessir! Nope. Riding back and forth behind a herd is as boring as it sounds. The characters themselves are just over-the-top stereotypes of classic wild west characters. They're just not likeable. All this to say that the world itself is wonderful, it just is NOT filled with anything as spectacular as it is. But this was the same problem as GTA. Missions are no lasting fun, but making your own fun is too easy for that to be a big deal. For me though story is everything and that is why I gave RDR a 6. Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2012
    5
    In my opinion this has to be the most overatted game of the last decade. Im thinking the critics are all either huge western fans or didn't play enough of this game to see how boring and empty it is. The only half descent things about this game are the graphics and the story. Everything besides the story is boring and pointless. They made this huge world filled with nothing but someIn my opinion this has to be the most overatted game of the last decade. Im thinking the critics are all either huge western fans or didn't play enough of this game to see how boring and empty it is. The only half descent things about this game are the graphics and the story. Everything besides the story is boring and pointless. They made this huge world filled with nothing but some coyotes to kill and flowers to pick. The main protagonist is boing with almost no personallity and already has a vife and kids which excludes even the possibility of a romance angle. Oh and then the ending that the critics are raving about feels out of place and unsatisfying. I didn't even realize there was more story after the big scene with the main villian. The ending just feels tacked on. plus it anoys me that if they would just let me controll my guy I could kill all these enemys because I wouldn't walk right out in front just to get shot. I cannot believe all the praise this game is getting. Expand
  6. Sep 10, 2010
    6
    Ok, I know this goes against many people's opinions, but Red Dead Redemption, in my opinion, was an average game. No, I am not saying it is bad, it was good, but not my type of 3rd person open-world shooter. The controls were good, the graphics were great, but the gameplay and story was so-so (For some odd reason, I liked GTA IV's gameplay). I was never a big fan of Western Style games,Ok, I know this goes against many people's opinions, but Red Dead Redemption, in my opinion, was an average game. No, I am not saying it is bad, it was good, but not my type of 3rd person open-world shooter. The controls were good, the graphics were great, but the gameplay and story was so-so (For some odd reason, I liked GTA IV's gameplay). I was never a big fan of Western Style games, and that's probably why I didn't like it much. Anyway, this was my opinion on the game. Expand
  7. May 31, 2013
    6
    I was never totally convinced with this game. There are points where it's absolutely beautiful, compelling and absorbing. There are other times where it's frustrating, cheap and shoddy. Which ever side of the fence you sit on, you're going to see at its core a great game. But at times it fails to deliver with its average control scheme, poor combat system, lacking A.I and missons whichI was never totally convinced with this game. There are points where it's absolutely beautiful, compelling and absorbing. There are other times where it's frustrating, cheap and shoddy. Which ever side of the fence you sit on, you're going to see at its core a great game. But at times it fails to deliver with its average control scheme, poor combat system, lacking A.I and missons which some times feel like a pain. These are just some things I didn't like about the game on a personal level which is a shame, because the game is very likeable. I can see why it's so famous but for me, it was average. Expand
  8. Jan 11, 2011
    5
    the single most over hyped crap of a game in the history of games.

    ride around picking flowers. oh how fun. there is no challenge to this game, you want beautiful scenery?, rent a DVD of the grand canyon. F off with this game.
  9. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse,It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse, in a desert, with nothing around except for around 10 small villages. The scenery is nice, but that's pretty much all you experience. If you see the the intro video you've pretty much seen it all, cause there's nothing really extra to explore. And this is coming from someone who has 100.0% completion. Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2010
    5
    I bought this game reading all the great reviews and I thought "OMG THIS GAME WILL BE SO AWESOME I HAVE TO BUY IT!" But when I got home to play it... It was boring. Ever so boring. I decided to play through a couple more hours of gameplay to try and make it get good and it did. It was good, for a couple more hours. And then it got boring again. By that time I had played about 11 hours, andI bought this game reading all the great reviews and I thought "OMG THIS GAME WILL BE SO AWESOME I HAVE TO BUY IT!" But when I got home to play it... It was boring. Ever so boring. I decided to play through a couple more hours of gameplay to try and make it get good and it did. It was good, for a couple more hours. And then it got boring again. By that time I had played about 11 hours, and I was halfway through the story. I just didn't bother then because it stopped being fun. So I sold it and got $30. Maybe its just me, but I really didn't think this game was good. Expand
  11. Mar 8, 2012
    6
    whilst significantly better and more interesting than rockstars gta iv i still got bored half way through, but i liked being a badass in a trench coat so it gets a six
  12. Nov 7, 2010
    6
    One thing that puzzles me about Red Dead Redemption is how so many people can think that this is an excellent story. Whilst I am a fan of Rockstar games they really need to freshen up their writing as the protagonists are becoming interchangable. John Marston's dialog could have easily come out of Niko Bellic, Johnny Klebitz or Luis Lopez's mouths. I am finding that NPC's are oftenOne thing that puzzles me about Red Dead Redemption is how so many people can think that this is an excellent story. Whilst I am a fan of Rockstar games they really need to freshen up their writing as the protagonists are becoming interchangable. John Marston's dialog could have easily come out of Niko Bellic, Johnny Klebitz or Luis Lopez's mouths. I am finding that NPC's are often portrayed as creepy, desperate leeches or (for the female characters) vulnerable, delicate love interests. Aside from having samey characters the biggest frustration is that the story is thrust upon you. You are often forced to ride long distances listening to dreary, unfunny, chatter whilst doing nothing more difficult than holding the A button (to ride your horse alongside your companion). When you get to a mission the gameplay is dull, simple and repetitive - you will more or less complete the game and die only a handful of times.
    The game looks stunning, helped by excellent lighting and animations and the sound design helps build atmosphere (especially the rain effects!) but Red Dead Redemption is more of a tech. demo than a challenging game. If Rockstar allowed you to tell your own story within their games rather than being fixated on replicating movies then they would make something truly timeless, unfortunately this game is a miss in my book.
    Expand
  13. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    [Pros]: Amazing graphics, music, story, characters, game play. [Cons]: The ending, boring online and little replay value.. The beginning of the game is great first time, but I was pulling my hair out the second time through. I hate that I have to rely on DLC to save this game.
  14. Sep 1, 2010
    6
    Incredible story line but sub par controls...even using the V.A.T.S...oops, I mean Dead Eye controls to help overcome the clumsiness of it all. The GTA style combat was just not fun. If you switched the control settings to casual it actually makes it much harder to use the Dead Eye. In the end itâ
  15. G.S
    May 21, 2010
    7
    Put it this way if you like GTA4 you are gonna love this,if you don't then you probably will not like the game.It's the same f-ing game only in the wild west,and as for the story gess what it's boring as f#@%.I think i have heard the names Miss Macfarlane & John Marston wayyyyyyyyyyyyy to many times,thank you miss macfarlene,why thank mr marston,thank you miss Put it this way if you like GTA4 you are gonna love this,if you don't then you probably will not like the game.It's the same f-ing game only in the wild west,and as for the story gess what it's boring as f#@%.I think i have heard the names Miss Macfarlane & John Marston wayyyyyyyyyyyyy to many times,thank you miss macfarlene,why thank mr marston,thank you miss macfarlene..Look its an ok game but the way ppl r slapping 10's all over the f'n place it is not. Expand
  16. Michaels.
    May 20, 2010
    5
    Single play is beautiful. Multilplayer is painful... mutiple disconnects, timeouts while entering free roam, and invisible horses really detract from what could be a very high scoring game. I almost feel it is premature to vote on a game that is only 65% playable.
  17. PhilG
    May 20, 2010
    6
    Like all Rockstar properties, definitely overhyped. Rockstar delivered a good game that lets you do a lot of things you wish you could in a Western game, but left some really key parts of the experience out. Robbing trains? Boring and pointless. Robbing banks? Can't seem to do it in MP (maybe I'm doing something wrong, idk). Want a lasso? Ok, go play the game for about 4 hours Like all Rockstar properties, definitely overhyped. Rockstar delivered a good game that lets you do a lot of things you wish you could in a Western game, but left some really key parts of the experience out. Robbing trains? Boring and pointless. Robbing banks? Can't seem to do it in MP (maybe I'm doing something wrong, idk). Want a lasso? Ok, go play the game for about 4 hours first (why it's not the first thing you get I have no idea...also, still haven't unlocked it in MP after another 4 hours spent there). Really the multiplayer is one of the problems because they could have done so much more with it. Why can't I play the poker/blackjack mini-games against my friends? Why do they remove most of the civilians and such from the cities? Why does my money disappear every time I leave someplace instead of being used like XP for upgrades? If I break the law, why do the sheriffs only come after me instead of the posse? Just a few of the problems with what realistically was the main selling point of the game. It suffers from "Elder Scrolls syndrome" where you have a wide open world to explore and ransack, but you end up sitting there not sure what to do or where to go. And finally, the cutscenes and side conversations are too long and do little to build any kind of story or interest. 3/5 SP, 3/5 MP. Expand
  18. JesseJ.
    May 18, 2010
    6
    You know, to date, I have thought that sure, sure critics make mistakes, but not I realized, they don't just make mistakes, they are all a bunch of idiots. I quote "As good as if not better than Grand Theft Auto IV" -Boomtown Okay, so wait, let me get this right, you are comparing RDR with a 3 year old game and saying it deserves a 10 because it is better than that game? It is like You know, to date, I have thought that sure, sure critics make mistakes, but not I realized, they don't just make mistakes, they are all a bunch of idiots. I quote "As good as if not better than Grand Theft Auto IV" -Boomtown Okay, so wait, let me get this right, you are comparing RDR with a 3 year old game and saying it deserves a 10 because it is better than that game? It is like me saying Forza 3 is 10/10 because it is the same game as Forza 2 (an example, not true). Its just plain stupid. What happened to all you idiotic critics going on about originality? After giving me all that crap, then you come and tell me that a game deserves 10/10 because it is identical to its predecessor with a new skin? Didn't the same thing happen to MW2? How long are you critics going to give us this bullshit? I quote myself from another website: "I know how this will turn out, critics will give it 10/10s around the world (because they get carried away with hype, not what you expect from so called "professionals"), millions of people will buy it because of the bullshit they just bought, and 2 weeks in the bitching will start and it wont stop until 2015. Then later on critics will be too scared to hate on the game or not give it GOTY because they will be ruining their own reputation by denying what they themselves had previously said. Then we will have to wait for websites like VG charts to give it biggest disappointment because they don't do reviews. You can quote me on this." And everything seems to be going as planned so far. Ladies and gentlemen, let me tell you about this game. And what it actually is. Just GTA IV, with a new skin. GTA IV had some of the biggest flaws in gaming, like lock on shooting (even though other developers stopped using that design a long long time ago.). That is not the only problem as GTA IV had some of the most repetitive missions. I could go on for hours about GTA IV but I wont, even I was stuck under the hype, first week or so I played it and I thought it was the most amazing game ever, then I realized what a piece of shit it was. Dont buy this game, don't support idiots like Activision and Rockstar, they are practically ruining the industry, they are sending out a bad message to other developers "make the same identical shitty game as the old one and give a new number next to the name and every body will buy it LOLOLOLOL". Expand
  19. AllistairP.
    May 21, 2010
    6
    Do you like video games not for the challenge but for the opportunity for an "interactive cinematic experience?" Boy, are you in luck then! Rockstar's San Diego studio has been slaving away for the past 6 years to cook up Red Dead Redemption, game that that was admitted to be a "huge disaster" 6 months ago by one of the key developers--who went on to claim that it existed only to Do you like video games not for the challenge but for the opportunity for an "interactive cinematic experience?" Boy, are you in luck then! Rockstar's San Diego studio has been slaving away for the past 6 years to cook up Red Dead Redemption, game that that was admitted to be a "huge disaster" 6 months ago by one of the key developers--who went on to claim that it existed only to prove that the San Diego studio can make a game that compares to GTA IV--not hard when you are relying mainly on resources. None of this matters to the player however. What matters to the player is that the game offers NONE TO LITTLE CHALLENGE and looks to film history more than it does to game history. This is a game for idiots, to be frank. A game where you hide behind rocks and press the right trigger to win. Move cattle by pressing foward long enough. Etc, etc. It's a boring game. The little movie clips in between the missions, especially the ones where you can move about on horseback (oooh, interactive storytelling!) are excellent when compared to its predecessor. In every other respect, it's a failure of a game. You press buttons, you win. It's a child's toy for children--thus, the man-baby journ-lol-ists celebrate it. ITS LIKE I'm WATCHING A MOVIE!!! Great, but how about us mature gamers who want to, you know, play a GAME? Expand
  20. PlasmaV
    May 19, 2010
    6
    After about 4hours of in-game play this is my take: Lots of waiting around for cinematics. Lots of holding down one button for several minutes as you travel from point a to point b listening to people talk. The game is slightly more action packed than Viva Pinata... meaning that if you're not in a fight it feels a lot like waiting for a bus in Wyoming. The Graphics feel dated, and no After about 4hours of in-game play this is my take: Lots of waiting around for cinematics. Lots of holding down one button for several minutes as you travel from point a to point b listening to people talk. The game is slightly more action packed than Viva Pinata... meaning that if you're not in a fight it feels a lot like waiting for a bus in Wyoming. The Graphics feel dated, and no that's not a pun. The animation and movements are fluid and well done. It's not a very fun or addictive game, plays more like a sim with a decent script. The developers added several mini-games like Poker, horseshoes, etc to I assume help fight off the boring. If you've got $60 and 4 hours to kill you'd get more entertainment from a couple of old westerns on Blu-ray with your favorite snacks and drinks, or some other game. Expand
  21. Sep 17, 2010
    6
    Detailed story with Plenty of characters the majority being very real and with the strong western theme carried out perfectly, stacked along side strong, varied game-play this is a very enthralling game. However as the cowboy novelty wears off, and you get used to the quite repetitive game-play and plot you might find you never pick this game up off the shelf after the first few weeks
  22. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    Alas I found this a clumsy and confusing game. When you're lost and don't know what to do it becomes dull. I'm sure there's a great game in here, but if it doesn't hook you, it'll be a disappointing experience.
  23. Oct 13, 2010
    6
    Another "fun for 8 hours" sandbox game from Rockstar. The story is quite nice, however, combat can be quite boring, especially if you use a lot of "Red Dead Eye" and the in game auto-aim. Oh, and multi-player is complete and utter rubbish.
  24. Dec 6, 2010
    6
    Definitely has its moments. Its a grand theft auto game set in the old west without the opportunity to run a muck and cause some serious trouble. The gun shootouts were great, the ending was one of the best I've ever seen, but thats only half the game. Im not interested in wrangling cattle or riding my horse for 15 minutes in order to get to an interesting part of the game, I just want toDefinitely has its moments. Its a grand theft auto game set in the old west without the opportunity to run a muck and cause some serious trouble. The gun shootouts were great, the ending was one of the best I've ever seen, but thats only half the game. Im not interested in wrangling cattle or riding my horse for 15 minutes in order to get to an interesting part of the game, I just want to get to the good stuff. The game was way to easy also, being able to auto lock on anyone and take them out with a shot or two. The "boss battles" were good but to short and easy as well. Id definitely play certain levels again but i would never want to go through the entire game start to finish ever again. Expand
  25. Jan 7, 2011
    5
    Let's start with the good. It's one of the visually most appealing games ever. The game world is huge incredibly rich and dynamic. It's a pure joy to walk/ride around the country and look at its fine details. The sound effects are also superb. Unfortunately, Red Dead Redemption as a game is only mediocre. The first couple of hours are fun but then it becomes quite boring. You ride and rideLet's start with the good. It's one of the visually most appealing games ever. The game world is huge incredibly rich and dynamic. It's a pure joy to walk/ride around the country and look at its fine details. The sound effects are also superb. Unfortunately, Red Dead Redemption as a game is only mediocre. The first couple of hours are fun but then it becomes quite boring. You ride and ride and ride, sometimes shoot then ride again for half an hour and nothing happens. Missions get repetitive and finally you find yourself aimlessly roaming about in the beautiful wilderness.

    I hope its future sequel will be tighter and more challenging.
    Expand
  26. Jan 29, 2013
    5
    Typical Rockstar Sandbox game. Some person tells you to go do something halfway across the world. You get there only to be told you need to go to the other side of the world. Riding horses is fun for the first 30 minutes of a pretty long game. It feels like multiplayer was an afterthought in this game. So, definitely don't get it for that. If you like playing the exact same RockstarTypical Rockstar Sandbox game. Some person tells you to go do something halfway across the world. You get there only to be told you need to go to the other side of the world. Riding horses is fun for the first 30 minutes of a pretty long game. It feels like multiplayer was an afterthought in this game. So, definitely don't get it for that. If you like playing the exact same Rockstar game over and over with a different protagonist than this is a good game. Very few racy moments. Story is okay. Overall:
    Pros:
    Good controls
    Story Beautiful graphics

    Cons:
    Very repetitive
    Not inventive
    Side-quests are pointless
    Rewards are so few and far between and not worth the hassle.
    Expand
  27. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    First thing is first: the story. It is great. My problem with it is that it is really slow and is not helped out by repetitive missions. I had this on PS3 and never beat it because I got bored at the half way point. The Multi-player is very original. I've never played anything like it, but it gets boring fast. I did finish every last percentage point of the story and I have to say IFirst thing is first: the story. It is great. My problem with it is that it is really slow and is not helped out by repetitive missions. I had this on PS3 and never beat it because I got bored at the half way point. The Multi-player is very original. I've never played anything like it, but it gets boring fast. I did finish every last percentage point of the story and I have to say I enjoyed the random side quests and hunting more then the central story missions. Expand
  28. Apr 13, 2014
    6
    the challenges in the game are stupid . HELLO ! get on with the western man killing his target people .
    way confusing . this game is a cowboy killing not retarted fun challenges . Grade C- maybe a D
  29. NateB
    May 21, 2010
    7
    If you're looking for a visually impressive and rich single player game this is it. If, however, you're looking for a great co-op or multiplayer game I'm afraid to say that the free play posse mode has almost no depth and is buggy beyond belief. Players get booted constantly in private matches, sometimes you can't see your friend, animals disappear, horses fly around If you're looking for a visually impressive and rich single player game this is it. If, however, you're looking for a great co-op or multiplayer game I'm afraid to say that the free play posse mode has almost no depth and is buggy beyond belief. Players get booted constantly in private matches, sometimes you can't see your friend, animals disappear, horses fly around and worst of all the world is a horrible shell of its single player richness. Gone are the mini games, most of the population and any random missions, the train is absent, there aren't interesting adversarial free play (like kidnap missions then again there isn't even the lasso for that matter) and outside of a few gang hideouts there's nothing that requires a collaborate effort. Furthermore, while there are a set of challenges you can only accomplish these individually, which takes the fun out of hunting or doing survival challenges as a team or group. I love the single player campaign, but am really let down by the untapped potentially of a fully fleshed out free play multiplayer mode. Expand
  30. Dec 3, 2010
    7
    It's obvious Rockstar Games worked hard to create an immersive and highly detailed virtual world with hours upon hours of activities, but they should have put more effort to improve or overhaul the core gameplay experience, rather than merely tweaking the gameplay from their previous titles, particularly from Grand Theft Auto IV. The subpar controls and badly paced storyline is soIt's obvious Rockstar Games worked hard to create an immersive and highly detailed virtual world with hours upon hours of activities, but they should have put more effort to improve or overhaul the core gameplay experience, rather than merely tweaking the gameplay from their previous titles, particularly from Grand Theft Auto IV. The subpar controls and badly paced storyline is so prevalent that it turns a potentially amazing game into merely a decent one. Regardless of all the wonderful details and choices available in Red Dead Redemption, control and pacing issues should not be excused. No game is perfect, but the way the game controls and the way a story driven game is paced, are elements so important that they should have been given top priority. Expand
  31. Oct 30, 2010
    7
    I'm an archetypal GTA fan so the experience was spoiled for me only by the unnecessary shaking up of the GTA 4 auto-aim. It makes the shoot outs slow and much less fluid than GTA 4, and feels almost glitchy. Everything else matches Rockstar standards (and general habits).
  32. Apr 11, 2011
    7
    I really wanted to love this game. I'm a huge fan of most all Rockstar games, but Red Dead Redemption simply lacks any real soul. Yes - it is a perfectly playable game, and has few true flaws, hence the 7 rating, but I cant help but feel it really couldn't match up to GTA IV, Just Cause 2, or most other sandbox games. It does provide a unique experience, but a few hours in, it becomes aI really wanted to love this game. I'm a huge fan of most all Rockstar games, but Red Dead Redemption simply lacks any real soul. Yes - it is a perfectly playable game, and has few true flaws, hence the 7 rating, but I cant help but feel it really couldn't match up to GTA IV, Just Cause 2, or most other sandbox games. It does provide a unique experience, but a few hours in, it becomes a repetitive slog for the most part. Great acting, great animation and graphics... but a storyline that really drags on predictably. And I'd swear the cast lines and actors were ripped from GTA IV with a western twist. The online shines above that of most sandboxers however - taking a group of friends to raid a hideout is great fun, not so much as a lone wolf, although the posse system works well in public lobbies. Overall, Red Dead is a very good game, for an hour or so, then that first hour gets repeated in various form until the end. Expand
  33. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    Melhor visualizado em: criticalplayer.com.br Exaltado como o jogo do ano de 2010, Red Dead Redemption, não é tudo isso...

    Está longe de ser um jogo ruim, mas creio que há uma devoção excessiva. Ã
  34. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    I'll start with the good, I suppose. The visuals are gorgeous - sweeping landscapes and beautiful effects (especially the weather. The story will last you 20+ hours, and the missions for the story are generally very enjoyable and varied. Now, for the bad. I was unimpressed with the open world, mainly because there was hardly anything worthwhile to do outside the story missions. SidequestsI'll start with the good, I suppose. The visuals are gorgeous - sweeping landscapes and beautiful effects (especially the weather. The story will last you 20+ hours, and the missions for the story are generally very enjoyable and varied. Now, for the bad. I was unimpressed with the open world, mainly because there was hardly anything worthwhile to do outside the story missions. Sidequests were very unrewarding, and collecting bounties and **** jobs get old very, very fast. Some of the game's mechanics feel broken, or just unfair (Such as instantaneously dying when you enter water, or surrendering to the authorities but still end up being gunned down by them.) I did like this game, but once the main story is beaten, there is little to no reason to keep playing in my opinion. It makes for a good 20+ hour single player experience, but that's really the only place it shines. Expand
  35. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    While most of the aspects,ideas or to say a similar platform of game play taken from grand theft auto franchise.The game has also got its own distinction such as portraying old west, horse and carriage ride and of all the cow boy lingo.
  36. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    I have to admit to being prejudiced against sandbox games at times. I think Fallout 3 was done well, but the GTA and Crackdown games don't appeal to me. I doubt I would have even tried this game except for the old West theme. People praise the story and voice work in this game, but I don't see how the story compares to an epic saga like Bioshock, Halo, Uncharted or Mass Effect. If youI have to admit to being prejudiced against sandbox games at times. I think Fallout 3 was done well, but the GTA and Crackdown games don't appeal to me. I doubt I would have even tried this game except for the old West theme. People praise the story and voice work in this game, but I don't see how the story compares to an epic saga like Bioshock, Halo, Uncharted or Mass Effect. If you buy this game, get the Game of the Year edition which has the Zombies DLC and several other bonus features. Expand
  37. Dec 2, 2013
    6
    "The way I see it" this game doesn't live up to the hype. Pick flowers, kill random people, do random "quests" gets old quick especially if you're a completionist like myself. The environment is cool, the concept is great, but most of the characters seemed boring to me. By the end of the game I was just hoping for it all to end. Would love to see more wild west games, but just didn't"The way I see it" this game doesn't live up to the hype. Pick flowers, kill random people, do random "quests" gets old quick especially if you're a completionist like myself. The environment is cool, the concept is great, but most of the characters seemed boring to me. By the end of the game I was just hoping for it all to end. Would love to see more wild west games, but just didn't feel there was enough to this one. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. AceGamez
    97
    At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.