User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2069 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    With GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hitsWith GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hits the ground was all kinds of fun. The ending to this game be beautiful, heart warming and really enjoyable to play. The biggest issue I have with the game though is that after i beat it I lost all interest in playing it. They do allow you to keep going of course, but only the side quests remain and i beat the bulk of those as i went. Expand
  2. AndyZ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  3. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it.
  4. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost photorealistic.Its a shame the game doesnt have some contemporary modern/western fusion music like Red-Dead Revolver had,but great game nonleless.
    Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    If you love Grand Theft Auto, you'll love this, game is typical of Rockstar, fantastic story, the way they capture the Wild West is amazing, the game had me daydreaming about being a cowboy. If you haven't, do not hesitate to buy it and enjoy, this is a gameplay game, not about the graphics or the franchise, this is what games should be all about (even though the graphics are polished).
  6. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off itThis game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off it has amazing multiplayer to boot, this is no doubt one of the best games of 2010, and a must play, right now you're probably asking "if it's so perfect why not a 10?', there is a few flaws holding it back, like a few glitches, long load times, and the fact that riding everywhere takes up a lot of time and can get boring, but those are easily overlooked, this game is just shy of perfection, I can't think of anyone I wouldn't highly recommend this too. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time.Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time. The multiplayer is one of my favourite. There are many game modes available, including free roam. I found that a lot of people play online. I have always found full matches on all game modes. I never have to wait for ages. This game does follow the same structure as GTA, but is completely different. Many new features have been introduced, and there is much more to do. I highly recommend getting this game. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  8. RyanJ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    An utterly beautiful game. The comparisons to Grand Theft Auto are fair only in the vein that the open-world genre has never looked more beautiful or contained more things to do. Other than that, I think reviewers are just comparing their level of awe to when they first played GTA IV. Yes, it's that good.
  9. GiovanniC
    May 18, 2010
    10
    first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the similarities that you see between this and GTA. How pathetic are you that you have to come to review site and spend an hour not listing anything constructive. Please go to another website and hurt somebody else's eyes with your terrible grammer. On to other things, this game is great. For anybody who is a fan old spaghetti westerns and sandbox shooters, this is a must play. The story shows the struggle of changing times better than any other game I've ever played. It perfectly reflects the old times of the wild west: the barren wasteland, the gentlemen and vagabonds, the fighting. The gunplay added with the new physics engine, makes for some of the best shooting in gaming. No lie, I'd play this game a million times! Expand
  10. BomB.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are especially good, but the character animations generally dont support the voice acting. I suggest this game to anyone who liked GTA 4 or/ and Clint Eastwood. Expand
  11. SysR
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about the game repetitive except when someone blows up my getaway vehicle in Cops N Crooks. Now I'm wondering, what kinda game or what game in particular would you give a 10/10? Because Rockstar's GTA: IV and RDR are A-list games that deliver the goods on so many levels I could go on for hours and hours about how Rockstar has changed video games and brought something (almost) real to video gaming. I'd rather not go on for hours about how wrong you are. What the hell is wrong though, seriously? Expand
  12. ToJesseJ.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and some still thinks that HL1 is better allthough HL2 is a magnificent game and compering Devil May Cry to Bayonetta, because they are in the same genre and are directed by the same people. And Jesse J., stop bullshiting around lock on shooting, a mehanic that you can TURN OFF in both GTA4 and RDR. Red Dead Redemption is a magnificent game, with a great art style, many different mehanics, great story (for a game) and characters, and a most believing world that I've seen in a videogame. Expand
  13. stephens
    May 18, 2010
    10
    This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love it. The people playing online (from the genuine laughs and screams) are having a great time with this game and so you should as well! If you had a slight fancy for GTAIV's decent multiplayer your gonna LOVE RDR's craziness! Expand
  14. AaronS.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Jesse, I just wanted to tell you that you're an idiot. You haven't played the game, I can tell by your review. You just want to bitch and moan about anything that's popular to try to be cool. People like you are ruining the internet, shut the fuck up. anyway, the game strikes the tones of all great westerns. It's not perfect, but it's close enough for me to give it a 10.
  15. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    To whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit ofTo whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit of repetition in some parts of the game, I found that it was a massive and rewarding experience.
    The only thing I didn't really like was the multiplayer. It's not technically bad, it's just that I feel as if there could have been a lot more done with it. But that doesn't overshadow the awesome campaign. 9/10.
    Expand
  16. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  17. May 6, 2011
    10
    Guess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for characterGuess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for character animations: they are smooth and for the most part realistic (jumping freakin sucks) The game plays like gta4 but is that really bad? That game is no doubt game of 2008. It is a great game and so is Red Dead. There really isnt a reason to not buy it. Unless you have no money. Expand
  18. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a numberGrand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a number of different game modes with your friends. From open world to shoot outs to horse races, Red Dead Redemption can potentially dwindle hours of your life away. Do yourself a favor and experience this game for yourself. Expand
  19. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, captureFantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, capture criminals, or hold up a train, it gives you so much freedom, and allows for so much. The controls are a little hard to master, but are very unique, and has a lot of things you can do at once, EX: On horse press A rapidly for speed, hold down LT To Aim, While holding B To Look towards important characters/places, etc, while turning the joysticks to steer, while press RT to shoot. But it makes it so unique, and so fun. The game blew me away, I thought it was be similar to GTA4, (Which I hated) But it's nothing like it. It's so much different, and it is spectacular, you won't regret this game, I PROMISE. Expand
  20. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Wow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of anWow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of an idiot, but very loving, just dies. Honest to god, I think this video game with it's amazing story that fills many people with emotions, will probably even make a psychopath cry. RIP John Marston. Those of you who says it is another GTA game just set in a WESTERN theme, are just naive people that "judge a book by it's cover". Expand
  21. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    You NEED to buy this game, mp is really good, campaign is way cool, this will always be the best western shooter of all time. One of the best open world games in a long time. Makes GTA look like a d*** made it, literally.
  22. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best cowboy game I have ever played with a good story, good aiming and good horse riding. I would like to congratulate rock star on making this game because it is a master piece.
  23. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a good example on how to make a fantastic game and Rockstar show's that example once again with their games. The campaign in RDR is amazing and ecery mission means something. And the multiplayer is fantastic and a lot to choose from game modes. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 9/10 Red Dead Redemtion 9.7/10
  24. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I have had some problems putting it down because there is always something else to do or to discover. The main character is great. I really enjoy all of his dialogues and the voice actor they took is super. I am really hooked on hunting and riding a horse while the moon is full to the beautiful soundtrack will NEVER get old. Thank you for this game.
  25. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of justThis game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of just about anything, no matter how perfect it is. The characters in this game barely ever seem like they blend together like so many others and the storyline is fantastic. Maybe this is my favorite game only because I haven't played GTA IV and don't see the similarity's, but honestly, I could care less. Expand
  26. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    There is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the bestThere is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the best video game experiences of your life! Expand
  27. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. AI LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. A great game i really enjoyed it Expand
  28. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Most definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much moreMost definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much more powerful. Amazing. Probably a game I will come back to quite a few times later in life. Expand
  29. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Just shy of a masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is easily the best western video game ever created, and is absolutely stunningly brilliant. Oozing with detail, good writing and varied missions, plus a hefty dose of rpg elements and side quests / games, its easy to see the GTA roots. While some claim foul, I think this great methodology of video game play is perfect for the western setting.Just shy of a masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is easily the best western video game ever created, and is absolutely stunningly brilliant. Oozing with detail, good writing and varied missions, plus a hefty dose of rpg elements and side quests / games, its easy to see the GTA roots. While some claim foul, I think this great methodology of video game play is perfect for the western setting. The soundtrack is original and unique, and there is lots to explore and check out. Easily a 10 / 10. Expand
  30. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    What an amazing game this was, it was unique in almost every way. I would say this is best for hardcore gamers due to many reasons. It would be nice to see more games like this in the future and with the new grand theft auto i'm sure rockstar company will be making a new game or continue one because the amount of money they made could result in another a++ game.
  31. TimothyH
    May 19, 2010
    9
    Very great game. The graphics are beautiful and gritty at the same time. The gameplay is like a throughly refined GTA4 - except the shooting system is now actually pretty great. I deduct a point from what will be game of the year for me because the game can be very unforgiving towards mistakes. If you ACCIDENTALLY aim at a sheriff, for example, you will instantly earn a bounty. By killing Very great game. The graphics are beautiful and gritty at the same time. The gameplay is like a throughly refined GTA4 - except the shooting system is now actually pretty great. I deduct a point from what will be game of the year for me because the game can be very unforgiving towards mistakes. If you ACCIDENTALLY aim at a sheriff, for example, you will instantly earn a bounty. By killing the sheriff in self-defense, you earn another 40 dollar bounty. Considering that money has actual worth in this game, as opposed to GTA games in which you can only buy guns or lame safehouses, this is hugely annoying. Also, water instantly kills you like lava. WTF? But still, game of the year. DO NOT miss this game. P.S. to Jessie J. : You are a ranting lunatic. Expand
  32. BrandonA.
    May 20, 2010
    9
    Is it perfect? No. But is it outstanding? Without a doubt. Red Dead Redemption effectively captures the feel and atmosphere of the Wild West (at least as Hollywood and Clint Eastwood have portrayed her). Throw in a refined formula based off of Rockstar's other sandbox games (GTA, namely) and you have what is nothing less than an evolution on the genre, as well as what can finally be Is it perfect? No. But is it outstanding? Without a doubt. Red Dead Redemption effectively captures the feel and atmosphere of the Wild West (at least as Hollywood and Clint Eastwood have portrayed her). Throw in a refined formula based off of Rockstar's other sandbox games (GTA, namely) and you have what is nothing less than an evolution on the genre, as well as what can finally be considered the great western game. Expand
  33. KevinS
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more detail than has been seem to date - the attention paid to color, lighting, texture, and mood are simply jaw dropping. Getting the ambiance of this gritty and beautiful place so perfectly sets this game apart from most. On top of the striking Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more detail than has been seem to date - the attention paid to color, lighting, texture, and mood are simply jaw dropping. Getting the ambiance of this gritty and beautiful place so perfectly sets this game apart from most. On top of the striking artistic value, the game itself is damn fun. The core missions are varied and entertaining while serving to move the main plot along. At the same time, the many side missions help to fully enrich the RDR world as a whole. Besides being prettier than previous GTA style games, gone are the difficulty spikes that plagued previous games. I also felt that the save points were managed better than previous games. GTA IV raised the bar for open-world, sandbox style games with interesting characters and story. Red Dead Redemption has push that bar even further. This game is a MUST own. Expand
  34. AY
    May 19, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption has something for everyone, but it excels at creating a living, breathing world from another time & place while making you feel very much a part of it. If you crave non-linearity and the freedom to choose how and where to do things across a giant landscape, this is for you. If you don't like choice and like to stay on task and enjoy games more when you're Red Dead Redemption has something for everyone, but it excels at creating a living, breathing world from another time & place while making you feel very much a part of it. If you crave non-linearity and the freedom to choose how and where to do things across a giant landscape, this is for you. If you don't like choice and like to stay on task and enjoy games more when you're being guided rapidly from one piece of action to the next, the game's story and primary missions will keep you more than satisfied as well. My only complaint is that despite the multiplayer being fantastic, is that it doesn't quite deliver what was implied in all the pre-release marketing videos and such. I thought i'd be robbing banks and owning land with friends. I was disappointed to run into a bank and find no way to interact with anything apart from simply entering the building. The single player is worth the fullprice of the game though so I'll take the really good multiplayer as a bonus. Expand
  35. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    There is not a better game out right now. After completing the single-player game, I went and tried the multilplayer which I didn't think would be too great. It was absolutely astounding! It opened up a whole new world for me. The only knock is you have to have at least a decent connectivity to fully play the multiplayer without hiccups, which most Xbox live players have access to nowadays anyway
  36. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This is the best game to come out since GTAIV. The gameplay, graphics, and storyline are all top-notch. Expect this to get a **** ton of awards. I love this game.
  37. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Again, Rockstar blows our minds. Grand Theft Auto IV was probably a top 10 game of all time on Xbox 360 and this is just another one. Everything goes right in this game. there were a few avoidable and forgettable problems with Grand theft auto IV and this just threw em out
  38. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite 2010 game. I've just completed the main adventure, if I can say there is a main adventure. Plenty to do, the sense of freedom is un matched...... just waiting assassin's III to see if there is a game that can match rockstar masterpiece. Definitely buy it, got to the nearest store and tell all your friends you are busy for the entire month........!!!!!!
  39. May 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption stands on top on many of my games and i appreciate the marvelous work that Rockstar has made. Very similar to GTA in terms, both are sandbox. The dialogue is amazing, very real if i say, incredible graphics are beautiful in all aspects. Wild West never looked so good , so if you want a great story line, great action, exploration all well mixed up this is worth looking out. Oh yeah , and the end will be memorable . Hope so. Expand
  40. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    buy this game amazing content great multiplayer and doesnt dissapoint in the story. occasional bugs but overall this deserves its game of the year award
  41. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    RED DEAD REDEMPTION is one of the best open world games ever made and defenetly the best Western game, i RDR has Top voice acting especially the Protagonist John Marston and the graphics are amazing, the story too! RDR has emotional moments that are just so powerful between each character, 9/10.
  42. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Rockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, you have games like Call of Juarez, but, Red Dead Redemption is truly the first epic 'wild west' game. The protagonist, John Marston, is similar to other Rockstar protagonists, but I think he's a good character. The storyline is pretty good, but it movesRockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, you have games like Call of Juarez, but, Red Dead Redemption is truly the first epic 'wild west' game. The protagonist, John Marston, is similar to other Rockstar protagonists, but I think he's a good character. The storyline is pretty good, but it moves slowly like GTA IV. Technically, the game is good looking but textures on rocks and such are kind of blurry, there are some glitches, the controls are well done. Overall a great game. Expand
  43. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Wow. Very in depth story, loved all the characters, and allows an amazing amount of freedom. I get the GTA comparisons, but unlike GTA this game doesn't leave you bored after a few hours.
  44. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    An atmospheric and engaging masterpiece, set in a beautifully realised image of the old west with an ensemble of unforgettable characters. I love this game, with Mass Effect 2 and just a few others it ranks as an all time great in my eyes, possibly my all time number 1. Just making John Marston walk causally along the main street of Armadillo and watching as the heat shimmers and dustAn atmospheric and engaging masterpiece, set in a beautifully realised image of the old west with an ensemble of unforgettable characters. I love this game, with Mass Effect 2 and just a few others it ranks as an all time great in my eyes, possibly my all time number 1. Just making John Marston walk causally along the main street of Armadillo and watching as the heat shimmers and dust kicks up from his boots as he steps is a sight to behold. Intuitive controls, satisfying combat and 'dead eye' along with the brilliant inertia reactions to being shot; there's so much to set this game apart as a joy to play. Its like having the leading role in an ultimately heart wrenching yet epic tale of life and loss in the dying days of the old west. Masterpiece. Expand
  45. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    The best of the best...true that a few glitches will let the game down but it is definitely one for the books!!You can do almost anything from riding horses to having drinks at the bar a getting drunk!!
  46. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    More mature, deeply developed and cinematic than anything else Rockstar had done before, Red Dead Redemption really outdid my expectations. The story is gripping and well-paced, leading you across a huge and varied map. The combat is tight and stylish, though unfortunately the movement controls aren't as precise. Firing while on horseback takes a lot of getting used to, as does navigationMore mature, deeply developed and cinematic than anything else Rockstar had done before, Red Dead Redemption really outdid my expectations. The story is gripping and well-paced, leading you across a huge and varied map. The combat is tight and stylish, though unfortunately the movement controls aren't as precise. Firing while on horseback takes a lot of getting used to, as does navigation in general. These slight imperfections do nothing to tarnish the masterpiece that is RDR, and it holds its place as one of the best console exclusives of this generation. Expand
  47. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. el juego me encanto pero hay partes que me pusieron un poco triste y el red dead redemtion undead nightmare es tambien me gusto, john marston muere y vuelve como zombie Expand
  48. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. Much better than GTA 5 in my opinion. If you do not buy this, you have no idea what you are missing out on. I have no words how to describe the brilliance this game delivers.
  49. Jul 18, 2014
    9
    GOOD: Great Story; Interesting characters; RPGs elements are in the missions (ex. choosing if you kill him or if everyone else gets to kill him); Great voice acting; Great graphics; Lengthy campaign that lasted me 40 hours); Side missions are really fun to do; Not one mission felt the same as another one; Cool open world to explore combining America and Mexico in the old west; Cool NPCSGOOD: Great Story; Interesting characters; RPGs elements are in the missions (ex. choosing if you kill him or if everyone else gets to kill him); Great voice acting; Great graphics; Lengthy campaign that lasted me 40 hours); Side missions are really fun to do; Not one mission felt the same as another one; Cool open world to explore combining America and Mexico in the old west; Cool NPCS who do their own business (drinking, horse racing, murdering, playing games, etc.); Fun and abundant amount of side activities (Blackjack, horse breaking, arm wrestling, bounty hunting, etc.); Fun Dead Eye mechanic where you pick targets in slow motion and shoot them; Awesome and fun weapons (my favorite is the lasso); Sometimes, you can use a gatling gun and got to shoot a cannon on one mission; Various vehicles to drive or ride(horses, mules, carriages, etc.); Best horses in gaming history; Cool outfits to collect; Good map and GPS system; Can purchase property (items, houses, horses, etc.); As you go through the game, you will get famous and hear NPCs talking about you as you walk around; Depending on your actions, you will gain and/or lose honor which will make people act a certain way around you; No bugs or glitches that I went through in the single player; Okay checkpoint system; Great autosave system

    BAD: In the downloadable version that I got, the multiplayer is broken and crashes immediately after I log on, if I log on; Most loading screens are long; After car racing(one-man carriage with a horse) on one mission, I couldn't do it as a side activity(pretty fun doing that); COULD NOT **** ANY OF THE ABUNDANT SUPPLY OF PROSTITUTES; Could not drive an automobile; Wish there was a whip in the game

    FINAL VERDICT: Just alone with the single player, it earns a 9/10! This is my favorite Rockstar game and should be played by everybody. It's an ALL TIME LEGEND!
    Expand
  50. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This game was made by aliens. San Andreas & Canis Canem Edit were open world masterpieces on the PS2, Red Dead Redemption & GTA 5 stand on the shoulders of Giants, but they are Giants themselves. Mindblowing how far games have come. Even if you hate the Western genre with a passion, RDR is an experience you can't miss.
  51. Nov 25, 2014
    10
    Easily the best game Rockstar has made and one of the best of all time. Red Dead Redemption has one of the best stories in a video game as it follows the life of John Marston; an outlaw that is trying to run away from his past. Red Dead Redemption is fun to play and makes you feel for John Marston.

    The shooting works very well, it has a lot of side missions, the graphics are gorgeous,
    Easily the best game Rockstar has made and one of the best of all time. Red Dead Redemption has one of the best stories in a video game as it follows the life of John Marston; an outlaw that is trying to run away from his past. Red Dead Redemption is fun to play and makes you feel for John Marston.

    The shooting works very well, it has a lot of side missions, the graphics are gorgeous, it gives you a lot of freedom and the soundtrack and music is amazing (Such as Compass, Far Away and general combat music).

    Everyone, even the people who don't enjoy video games, have to play Red Dead Redemption.
    Expand
  52. BobC
    May 20, 2010
    9
    I don't have much to say other than comparing the differences between GTA IV and RDR to MW and MW2 is fucking LAUGHABLE Jesse J. If you think this feels "exactly like" GTA IV, you're a moron. As far as single player story dialogue voice acting aesthetics etc go, RDR is on the bleeding edge of the medium's potential. Is it a perfect game? No. But it's not the same thing I don't have much to say other than comparing the differences between GTA IV and RDR to MW and MW2 is fucking LAUGHABLE Jesse J. If you think this feels "exactly like" GTA IV, you're a moron. As far as single player story dialogue voice acting aesthetics etc go, RDR is on the bleeding edge of the medium's potential. Is it a perfect game? No. But it's not the same thing as GTA IV. People like Jesse J are right to critique Publishers like Activision for encouraging the stagnation of the industry, but RDR is not even close to a product of this syndrome. Expand
  53. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funnyI originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funny moments but it executes the serious parts of the game wonderfully. This game is great. And SeanW is an idiot. Expand
  54. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is possibly one of the best games out there. If Bethesda Softworks made a Western game, it would look like this, except with no multiplayer. Basically what I'm saying is that Red Dead Redemption is a GREAT game. The storyline and characters are amazing. I thought this game would suck because I hate Western games, but this game changed my entire view on Western games. I got so involved in the game and loved the main character, that I CRIED when he died. I know it sounds lame, but that's how much I loved it. The multiplayer was better than I expected. I thought that with such a great singleplayer, it would degrade the multiplayer expierence. But I was wrong! The multiplayer is awesome and probably the best multiplayer there is. I love Call of Duty, but I just love Free Roam multiplayer. Overall, a great game made by a great studio, Rockstar Games, I applaud you. Expand
  55. SamB.
    May 19, 2010
    9
    I gave this game a nine because there are always things that need to be improved. I encountered some minor bugs (character being stuck in ground, etc.) but really did not have any other technical problems with the game. The game is also very dark. I had to turn up the gamma on everything I could just to see silhouettes! I have to say it is probably one of the best games overall to date. I gave this game a nine because there are always things that need to be improved. I encountered some minor bugs (character being stuck in ground, etc.) but really did not have any other technical problems with the game. The game is also very dark. I had to turn up the gamma on everything I could just to see silhouettes! I have to say it is probably one of the best games overall to date. Improves on the tried and true Rockstar formula in every way and then delivers more. The random encounters are hilarious and well developed. This game makes you want to do all the side missions because they are so well written. Just give this game a try and you will see how awesome it is. I really like how Jessie said absolutely nothing about Red Dead Redemption. The guy seems stuck on GTAIV. This is a totally different game though that is only comparable because its made by the same developer and uses the same engine. The similarities end there. Expand
  56. BigJohnson
    May 20, 2010
    9
    Great game, good multiplayer. The free roam is nice, but lacking some elements that maybe rockstar will add in as dlc at a later date...maybe. There is no poker in free roam, or random events, I think they should have added random events like in single player where players can save a stage coach from bandits or some one being attacked by wolves and get little bits of bonus xp for doing Great game, good multiplayer. The free roam is nice, but lacking some elements that maybe rockstar will add in as dlc at a later date...maybe. There is no poker in free roam, or random events, I think they should have added random events like in single player where players can save a stage coach from bandits or some one being attacked by wolves and get little bits of bonus xp for doing so, but thats me. You can play private free roam and get xp, which I think is HUGE mostly because the first time I got on public free roam I pretty much was in a gun fight with anyone I came across even though I didn't want that. All in all the single player is great and the multiplayer is a lot of fun with friends. A game well worth checking out. Expand
  57. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    it kind of goes without saying that this is one of the best ideas put to video game in the history of video games, but i thought i'd just put in my two cents because this title most def deserves it.
  58. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Out of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described asOut of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described as "Unforgiven" with a few twists. The main character however is quite distinctive. John Marston is a former outlaw that's settled down with a family. While he is generally a good natured person, John's outlaw roots show through whenever he gets angry or when the situation calls for it. That may not sound all that different from a lot of other characters out there, but the way the voice actor delivers his lines lends an air of authenticity that few game characters ever capture. There is a downside, though. No matter what your actions in the game are, the game always makes you out to be the hero. This isn't a huge issue, but it does seem weird when John acts courteous and considerate right after gunning down a prostitute and looting her corpse.

    The gameplay isn't anything groundbreaking, but it is still remarkably strong. Employing the same cover mechanic seen in countless other games, Red Dead will have you with your back up against something most of the time. That's not really the point, though. The beauty of the gameplay lies in context. Every firefight feels like it could be straight out of a Peckinpah film like The Wild Bunch with bullets whizzing every which way and outlaws running desperately for cover as their buddies try to shoot at you from rooftops, balconies, and windows. There are also several epic set pieces which I won't spoil.
    Expand
  59. BrunoG.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Rating this game less than a 9 would be a statement that people around here ahte anything related to the western genre. RDR is easily the best sandbox game I've ever seen, and even more easily the best western game ever produced. Has anyone seen so lifelike faces before, such landscapes. It is bound to become the next San Andreas. The best 70 euros ever spent in game this year! An Rating this game less than a 9 would be a statement that people around here ahte anything related to the western genre. RDR is easily the best sandbox game I've ever seen, and even more easily the best western game ever produced. Has anyone seen so lifelike faces before, such landscapes. It is bound to become the next San Andreas. The best 70 euros ever spent in game this year! An absolute masterpiece! Expand
  60. CoreyC.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Surpasses GTA IV in scope, depth and just overall fun. I wasn't sure what to expect going into this game but it has been nothing short of epic from the start. The controls are much refined over GTA IV. Yes, it feels similar and fans of Rockstar will sense that from the start. With the addition of many mini-games, TONS of random events and even hunting you'll have SO much to do Surpasses GTA IV in scope, depth and just overall fun. I wasn't sure what to expect going into this game but it has been nothing short of epic from the start. The controls are much refined over GTA IV. Yes, it feels similar and fans of Rockstar will sense that from the start. With the addition of many mini-games, TONS of random events and even hunting you'll have SO much to do outside of the main storyline... which by the way,is phenomenal. Rockstar San Diego hit this one out of the ball park. I couldn't recommencement this game more. Expand
  61. May 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! It is virtually a living world where you can do anything. Great story, great characters. This game is limited only by your imagination!
  62. DC
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best multiplayer video game I have ever played. I have never played a game with so much to it, never a game the actually puts you in the time and setting and gives you the feel of really being a part of the environment. Blows any Rockstar game out of the water put it up to any GTA and this blows it away. If you don
  63. BrendonN
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Ahh Jesse, you are a fool. While I would agree with some of that, in this game. That context is ridiculous. This is the game I was hoping it would be, a sandbox game made by the king of sandbox games that gives you the feeling of being in a western. From the incredible voice acting, to the story, to the massively enjoyable multiplayer system. This game is amazing. Yes, it uses a system Ahh Jesse, you are a fool. While I would agree with some of that, in this game. That context is ridiculous. This is the game I was hoping it would be, a sandbox game made by the king of sandbox games that gives you the feeling of being in a western. From the incredible voice acting, to the story, to the massively enjoyable multiplayer system. This game is amazing. Yes, it uses a system that has been used to GTA IV, but that's because that system worked and is still the best open world game out. Rockstar knows what they are doing and since the scope of this project is absolutely breath-taking, I'll give the bugs a big fat pass. Seriously, this game is amazing. I hope it does well so Rockstar can free themselves from GTA IV and bring out projects that make you feel a part of a breathing world with incredible story and dialog. This game is awesome, and if you are tired of game engines being re-used, then you should just stop playing games. Of course a pre-exsisting system is going to be used in a game. It makes sense financially, and the good engines gives the designers a good place to start to build the world you want. The business has worked this way for damn near ever, and it wont change. I personally don't want it to. An awesome game is an awesome game. Read Dead Redemption is an awesome game. 10/10 Expand
  64. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Best Game of the Year 2010. Unbelievable good looking and large world with plenty of things to discover. It is a pity i just completed the main story and almost every side quest. Definitely the best game i played on the the XBox360 to this date. (Played around 80 Games). Soundtrack is lovely too!
    Go and buy this game.
  65. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group ofI quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group of outlaws attempting to hang someone, I tried (and failed) to shoot the noose and by the time I re-loaded it was too late. I killed all the bandits and was left with a sobbing husband kneeling below his wife. I shot the noose (I actually missed again as I'm a bit special) to get her down and felt guilt, I could of changed the outcome. From that moment I was sucked into a dynamic living breathing world, intent on wiping out all the scum and the main plot has finally got me interested after an initial misfire. Expand
  66. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones),This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones), with some well done dialogue (But nowhere near as good as mass effect, nothing will be). The only reason this doesn't get a 10 is because of a few glitches and bugs, especially the 100% glitch (Still got Redeemed though), but rockstar has announced they're addressing the issue. Expand
  67. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    it's a game absolutly great in all, better than GTA 4. The world is huge and very real, it seems to be in a old west film. I have purchased an Xbox 360 only to play with RDR, I love this game! Rockstar Games Rules!!! Now we want Read Dead Redemption 2
  68. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    If you hate this game you're not a gamer, simple as that. No, I'm not a Rockstar fanboy but it's really so goddamn obvious that Red Dead Redemption is the best game this gen, by far and that is a fact.
  69. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Just when I thought that Rockstar Games couldn't create anything other than overhyped crap, I was proven wrong with this game. And I must tell you, it never felt so good to be wrong.
  70. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Quite immersive setup with a very impressive range of things to do and environments. Free-roam multilayer is a MASSIVE step in the right direction that other companies should look into. The repetitiveness of the single player kicks this otherwise great game down a few notches, but the multilayer can easily make up for it. The only issue I have so far is that ITS NOT ON PC!
  71. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Oh my god .. Wooow . I can't believe that games has reached this level of gaming experience , in this game we - gamers . we're proud of what videogames finally has reached .. and This game ( Red Dead Redemption ) it's 4 me the best game ever made . i played a lot and a lot of games but this one is really really special , the graphics are immersive .. imagine that u have a map of a hundredsOh my god .. Wooow . I can't believe that games has reached this level of gaming experience , in this game we - gamers . we're proud of what videogames finally has reached .. and This game ( Red Dead Redemption ) it's 4 me the best game ever made . i played a lot and a lot of games but this one is really really special , the graphics are immersive .. imagine that u have a map of a hundreds of Km2 full with a wonderfull lightning . and a beautifully reflexes and all sorts of weather .. The horses are perfectly made ... the story is perfect .... and a hooole of new ideas u can find .. and the best thing that i loved in this game is that u can spend hours and hours of gaming to reach the 100% of the game .. an infinite secondary missions ... in each place u go u'll find something to do .. just like the real life ... and summered this game i can say ... Red Dead redemption is the mirror of the real life back in 19's .. i realy injoyed this game i realy lived the western experience thanx to rockstar games .. if you don't buy this game you will miss a lot and a lot .. Expand
  72. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is yet another fantastic game by Rockstar!! Its amazing from the moment you pop the disk in, all the way up to the stunningly brilliant conclusion. It can be looked at as a close cousin to Grand Theft Auto IV. It has many similar traits like aiming, running and mission structure. While, using this tried and true backbone for a new game is great and works, at times itRed Dead Redemption is yet another fantastic game by Rockstar!! Its amazing from the moment you pop the disk in, all the way up to the stunningly brilliant conclusion. It can be looked at as a close cousin to Grand Theft Auto IV. It has many similar traits like aiming, running and mission structure. While, using this tried and true backbone for a new game is great and works, at times it feels almost too similar to GTA. That and the lack of difficulty have to be my only two complaints, but they don't take enough away from the game to even damage the experience a bit. The landscape, setting, graphics, characters and story are all great. Some very interesting characters have too small of a part or just don't come back again after they exit the storyline the first time but some do and you become attached them. All in all Red Dead is a must play for any gamer. Its enjoyable through multiple playthroughs and has a fair amount of extras to keep you busy. Go out and buy I now!!!!! Expand
  73. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    This game can be described in one word - EPIC !!!! Rockstar has done it again proving yet another time that it is the master of open world gameplay.The storyline , gameplay and overall mechanics of the game well managed and were very well complimented by the music and sound effects. With this game you will feel as if you are playing GTA just that this time around its with horses andThis game can be described in one word - EPIC !!!! Rockstar has done it again proving yet another time that it is the master of open world gameplay.The storyline , gameplay and overall mechanics of the game well managed and were very well complimented by the music and sound effects. With this game you will feel as if you are playing GTA just that this time around its with horses and revolvers instead of Ferrari's and fully automatics. I actually ended up enjoying this game more than the GTA editions put out by rockstar.The graphics were very well done with one or two minor hiccups here and there. The shooting game mechanic was a great leap forward from the GTA versions of the game making the game much more engaging. The game plays very smoothly whether it's dueling with some stranger for respect and fame, playing a game of poker or just taking a ride across the countryside on your horse this game will keep you engaged and provide enjoyment at every turn. Expand
  74. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This Game es PERFECT and much better than any Grand Theft Auto may have existed, but I can not wait to see what they have prepared for the sequel. Rockstar is undoubtedly the king of the sandbox!
  75. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has a very strong storyline and gameplay. The games has plenty to do but after a while it gets quite boring. Amazing graphics but poor multiplayer Expand
  76. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This game is not Grand Theft Auto 4! Calling this game GTA 4 is like saying Modern Warfare 2 is Black Ops, not even close. This isn't GTA in the wild west, this game is graphically superior and more engrossing. Plus it is one of the longest games I have ever played. The map is massive and there are tons of DLC. Don't even get me started on Undead Nightmare. I enjoyed this game a hell of aThis game is not Grand Theft Auto 4! Calling this game GTA 4 is like saying Modern Warfare 2 is Black Ops, not even close. This isn't GTA in the wild west, this game is graphically superior and more engrossing. Plus it is one of the longest games I have ever played. The map is massive and there are tons of DLC. Don't even get me started on Undead Nightmare. I enjoyed this game a hell of a lot more than GTA because I actually felt like the good guy. I just wish the controls were better. 10/10 Expand
  77. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never feltI never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never felt like I had a family that I was trying to save. Not much replay value for me though. Expand
  78. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 2 is not just a game, it's an experience that every gamer needs to go through. It matters not whether you are a huge fan of third person shooters; if you are a fan of a quality product, Uncharted 2 will not disappoint. While not perfect, it's as close to perfection as a game can come.
  79. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the first games I played and it left some very big shoes to fill for all other games afterwards. As a brand new gamer it challenged me but didn't overwhelm me. The story and the acting are superlative and John Marston is one of the best characters I have ever experienced in any medium, movies, books, and gaming. I have played almost all of Rockstar's games and this if byThis is one of the first games I played and it left some very big shoes to fill for all other games afterwards. As a brand new gamer it challenged me but didn't overwhelm me. The story and the acting are superlative and John Marston is one of the best characters I have ever experienced in any medium, movies, books, and gaming. I have played almost all of Rockstar's games and this if by far the best. It owes a lot I must say to an old game called Gun which I played after Red Dead and I highly recommend it but it is still a very special and unique gaming experience. I am just one voice in the Red Dead army but as a burgeoning gamer this game got me hooked on gaming for life. Expand
  80. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    In 2010 this was the best game you could play Today RDR still stands as the best western gamer ever. The guns are REALLY life like and amazingly historically accurate.
  81. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    An epic western that follows the actions of a husband and father that will do anything for his family from hunting down those he used to consider friends to leading a revolution in mexico John Marston is the living definition of Redemption.

    10 out of 10
  82. ChristianC.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the finest by Rockstar to date. It uses the GTA IV architecture, but then with way better controls and updated graphics en physics. The setting is perfect and the Rockstar formula fits better to the open setting of the West then to the big city. There are a ton, and i do mean a ton, of things to do. Random events, heaps of challenges, loads of mini-games, outfits to Red Dead Redemption is the finest by Rockstar to date. It uses the GTA IV architecture, but then with way better controls and updated graphics en physics. The setting is perfect and the Rockstar formula fits better to the open setting of the West then to the big city. There are a ton, and i do mean a ton, of things to do. Random events, heaps of challenges, loads of mini-games, outfits to unlock and find, treasure maps, bounties etc etc etc. And what's more, all these these activities are really a lot of fun. Unlike GTA IV where they where kind of ok, but still more a gimmick then real fun. In RDR the side activities are tuly amazing and some of the activities could perhaps justify a new game by itself. Then there's the ecosystem wherin many different animals live and interact naturaly. It's amazing just to watch a bird of prey snatch a rabbit just when you wanted to shoot it. And the Dead Eye aming system makes the shooting a lot of fun, more so then in GTA IV. Trust me. Drop what you are doing. Buy this game of you haven;t done so already. Now. Expand
  83. AndP.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    If you don't really enjoy this game, you might be a "ri-tard" like a certain user reviewer on this page. What you need to know is that this is a landmark game. There will be other game made to try to emulate it, that's for sure. It's completely addicting, and there is so much to do. You will get sidetracked constantly with the immense amount there is in this game. It's If you don't really enjoy this game, you might be a "ri-tard" like a certain user reviewer on this page. What you need to know is that this is a landmark game. There will be other game made to try to emulate it, that's for sure. It's completely addicting, and there is so much to do. You will get sidetracked constantly with the immense amount there is in this game. It's worth buying right now! There are wo things that are wrong with this game, basically:::you cannot swim at all, and there are random graphical bugs. The lack of swimming leads to anninstant death and can be frustrating. Yet, you'll get over it quickly. The bugs don't really take away from anything. They are just funny if you run across them, that's all. For your own sake, go and play this game. You'll be playing it for months and months to come! Expand
  84. PaRaDoXD.
    May 19, 2010
    8
    There is much sence in Jesse J words. Game has solid story polished gameplay, but its brings nothing new. Really pity that for most game journalist GTA4 - is colosus and best of the best games 4 ever. Seems thats same mechanic and gameplay doesn't confuse game reviewers even if its not changing for years. Respect 2 Eourogamer thats gives fair score to last "mega hits" thats brings There is much sence in Jesse J words. Game has solid story polished gameplay, but its brings nothing new. Really pity that for most game journalist GTA4 - is colosus and best of the best games 4 ever. Seems thats same mechanic and gameplay doesn't confuse game reviewers even if its not changing for years. Respect 2 Eourogamer thats gives fair score to last "mega hits" thats brings nothing new 2 gameplay and in game industry also (I mean Alan Wake and RDR). Its really rare to find honest reviews with fair score from experienced gamers, not from journalists thats like to go to conferences, whatch there booty girls go to afterpartys, and thats never would wright not popular opinion about higly PR'd game or from eminent game designer. For all who read reviews and looking on score to make desicion to buy or not to - the answer with RDR - its must buy and play. But its the same candy in different cover selling over and over again. Ps. Why thats stupid comparison with GTA? This game more looks like a Gun. Expand
  85. MarkW
    May 19, 2010
    8
    I somewhat agree with Jesse. The game is fun in my opinion. It's a change of scenery from the GTA's. I do believe it was just re-skinned to look like a western. I also believe that it is getting higher than usual scores because it's a western-themed game. I also think there are way too many perfect scores for this game, someone's getting their palms greased to make it I somewhat agree with Jesse. The game is fun in my opinion. It's a change of scenery from the GTA's. I do believe it was just re-skinned to look like a western. I also believe that it is getting higher than usual scores because it's a western-themed game. I also think there are way too many perfect scores for this game, someone's getting their palms greased to make it saound good. I think it's happening more often than the past. I played GTA IV for like a week, hopefully Red Dead will leave a better impression. So far it has? Expand
  86. SteveS
    May 20, 2010
    10
    First off I would like to say that "Jesie J" is in fact a complete and utter asshole! This is not GTA in the old west. This is an "old west style game" that's made by the same company that made "GTA" I have no idea why Jesie J. does not like this game but it is obviuos he doesn't. Maybe "Hello Kitty" would be more to your liking! Don't listen to Jesie J. this game is awesome!!!
  87. KayayE.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Rockstar is undoubtedly my favorite game developer. There is no other company that even comes close to recreating worlds the way that Rockstar does time and time again. Red Dead Redemption is nothing short of absolute brilliance. The vast open world, top-notch voice acting and cinema worthy script (plus many other features) immerse the player into the classic Western setting in a way that Rockstar is undoubtedly my favorite game developer. There is no other company that even comes close to recreating worlds the way that Rockstar does time and time again. Red Dead Redemption is nothing short of absolute brilliance. The vast open world, top-notch voice acting and cinema worthy script (plus many other features) immerse the player into the classic Western setting in a way that makes you feel like you've lived through that time period. On top of a great single player experience, Rockstar's 2nd real crack at an open world multiplayer experience (the first being GTA IV) sets the bar even higher for what multiplayer games should be. I'm drawn to games that really demonstrate the skill and artistry of the people who put it all together. I appreciate the "Art" of game making. Red Dead Redemption is a Masterpiece! Expand
  88. VirtualS.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    This game is more than a GTA IV game with a western skin. It is a tour de force by giving tribute to the great spaghetti westerns with sold storyline, improved game play structure, and a refreshing setting that only few game developers have dared attempted to try, but only this game has delivered on.
  89. mrptri
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Don't believe that Jesse J kid. Ill agree with him that critics can be full of it and can get caught in the hype, and ill even give him the fact that gta 4 got repidative but this is not gta with a new skin. By his logic the same could be said about any open world game. This is by far the most immersive console game I've ever played. Did gta have random events like saving Don't believe that Jesse J kid. Ill agree with him that critics can be full of it and can get caught in the hype, and ill even give him the fact that gta 4 got repidative but this is not gta with a new skin. By his logic the same could be said about any open world game. This is by far the most immersive console game I've ever played. Did gta have random events like saving someone from being hanged or a woman from being raped? Did gta have the option to hunt and skin an absurd variaty of animals directly in the game world? I haven't even scratched the surface here. This game is amazing from presentation to voice acting to variation in both missions and ambient gameplay. Truely an amazing achievement. Expand
  90. JoeM
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Yes, I did in fact give this game a 10 out of 10 rating. A select few have had quite a lot of negative things to say about this game, but you shouldn't read their reviews at all. If you want a nit-picky review, goto IGN.com. This game includes a fabulous storyline (waaaay more deep than GTA IV), greatly defined characters, beautiful open world design, dangerous out-laws, and mountain Yes, I did in fact give this game a 10 out of 10 rating. A select few have had quite a lot of negative things to say about this game, but you shouldn't read their reviews at all. If you want a nit-picky review, goto IGN.com. This game includes a fabulous storyline (waaaay more deep than GTA IV), greatly defined characters, beautiful open world design, dangerous out-laws, and mountain lions. All of this put together using Rockstar's RAGE system which may feel like GTA, but I think this game refines any and all aspects from the former. If the same system worked before, why change it? A multimillion dollar game engine finally put to the test and comes out on top with Red Dead Redemption. This game will keep you busy for hours and is worth every buck. Expand
  91. CodyB.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Let me start off by saying that I was not a fan of the Grand Theft Auto series, so I was very hesitant to pick this up. This game has everything I imagined a game could be. I'm not going to write a huge review and pick it apart, but I will say this, the gunplay, the voice acting, the story are all top notch. It's been a long time since I have invested in a game for this long. Let me start off by saying that I was not a fan of the Grand Theft Auto series, so I was very hesitant to pick this up. This game has everything I imagined a game could be. I'm not going to write a huge review and pick it apart, but I will say this, the gunplay, the voice acting, the story are all top notch. It's been a long time since I have invested in a game for this long. I'm just glad I am not completely finished with it. Bring on the DLC! Expand
  92. Aug 9, 2010
    9
    It's a wide enough universe in this game to get everything you want out of it. The "Gun" games made me a fan of the genre, but I found that the story was too linear and restricting. A game like "Red Dead Redemption" really allows you to become immersed and to get settled in with missions that you like. The graphics are also quite impressive and really show off what the 30 can do.
  93. Aug 8, 2010
    9
    Yep, it's just as good s everyone says it is. There are a couple of periods where things move a bit slowly, and the aiming assist is probably a little too helpful-- but these are very minor complaints for a great game.
  94. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a stunning game that clips its spurs on the way through to the finishing line. John Marston is one of the year
  95. Sam
    Aug 12, 2010
    9
    A wide variety of places to go and situations you wouldn't find in any other game. I think a bit better than Grand Theft Auto IV. The world around the game looks stunning. A must buy.
  96. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Red Dead has everything you could want in a game it really captures the old Western days. I like it more than other Rockstar games such as GTA IV because it has a sense of being unique.
  97. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Ok, I just have to throw my 2 cents in here. In my opinion, the game was all-around perfect EXCEPT 2 things: First, the game is a bit glitchy, but its not glitchy often enough to ruin the game or anything. But, the biggest reason why I would not recommend this game is because THE GUN TARGETING IS GARBAGE! I set it to auto-targeting mode (called "Casual Targeting") and my friend'sOk, I just have to throw my 2 cents in here. In my opinion, the game was all-around perfect EXCEPT 2 things: First, the game is a bit glitchy, but its not glitchy often enough to ruin the game or anything. But, the biggest reason why I would not recommend this game is because THE GUN TARGETING IS GARBAGE! I set it to auto-targeting mode (called "Casual Targeting") and my friend's 4-year-old son cleared out the Fort Mercer Gang Hideout (unlocked fairly late in the game) in about 4 minutes. He was mainly just pressing L & R-Trigger repeatedly. This game is TOO EASY. Then, if you set it to "Expert Targeting" it thankfully removes the auto-aiming, but the gun aiming is WAAAY TOO SLOW even on the max setting! Yes, the gun targeting is terrible, and ruins an otherwise great game. I am on 360 version btw. However, I did really enjoy the storyline in this game. Expand
  98. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    If your a fan of western films like me you'll really love "Red Dead Redemption" because it truly captures the feel and look of those films perfectly.
  99. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play asRed Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play as John Marston, who once rode in a gang. Now, blackmailed by federal agents he must hunt down his former friends and bring them in, or great harm will come to his family. That's the basis, and like all great western films it encompasses justice, betrayal and visceral violence. You'll become absorbed in the plot, and actually feel for the characters, like you would in any great TV show or film. The voice acting is incredible, every lone wandering cowboy sound's different, each region reflects part of the west today, with different accents and morals. You'll travel throughout the desolate plains, and through the beautiful red rock expanses of land in Mexico. The landscape though, acts as another character. Everything from the heat shimmers on the horizon, to the sunset's, are incredible. You'll become engrossed in the world, and it is very, very easy to spend alot of time just wondering and admiring the terrain of which this epic tale is set in. Wandering round ranches at night, you'll see groups huddled round camp fires playing instruments, and informing others of local news. You may them talking about your character, or a certain event that you have been involved in. This adds to your ego, but more importantly the atmosphere. One word to describe the size of the playable area is; scope. It'll take you a good half an hour to cross on horseback, even longer on foot. There are random events that occur as you are travelling, a women asks for your help while she stands next to a battered stagecoach, do you help or leave? It's up to you, whatever the outcome, it will help shape your characters 'honour' and 'fame' stats, a representation of what local townsfolk think of you. You can be an outlaw or a good guy, these choices are all yours. The combat is also solid, you'll recognise things like the cover system from GTA IV, but there are legitimate weapons, and gunshot wounds, which all add to the experience and authenticity. 'Dead-eye' enables the player to slow down time and place several shots on enemies, letting go of the activation button see's Marston fire off at all the targets in rapid succession, particularly useful if you are low on health and outnumbered. There isn't much of a learning curve with the controls, and although the game may seem challenging at times, it never becomes frustrating. Riding a horse, although not as exciting as driving a car, is also fun. You become attached to your mount, and it can be difficult to leave it it dies and collapses during a fight. The music is also very atmospheric. The OST gives a western vibe, and other songs like Jose Gonzalez's 'Far Away' feel right when played. There are alot of memorable moments in this game, ones that will stay with you forever and never fail to amaze or shock time and time again. Watching a sunset whilst standing on top of a huge cliff, admiring the landscape laid out in front of you can be extremely relaxing, it looks real thanks to the wonderful art direction and graphics behind the game. I could go on and on about Red Dead Redemption but I fear that I would ruin the experience. This is simply a must play game, and will prove to anyone that games can provide interesting story lines and contain atmospheres on par with blockbuster films. As Clint Eastwood once famously said in A Fistful Of Dollars; "You will never see another one like it." Red Dead Redemption will go down in history. Expand
  100. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another GrandOne of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another Grand Theft Auto game. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.