User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1826 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it.
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost
    photorealistic.Its a shame the game doesnt have some contemporary modern/western fusion music like Red-Dead Revolver had,but great game nonleless. Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funny moments but it executes the serious parts of the game wonderfully. This game is great. And SeanW is an idiot. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Best Game of the Year 2010. Unbelievable good looking and large world with plenty of things to discover. It is a pity i just completed the main story and almost every side quest. Definitely the best game i played on the the XBox360 to this date. (Played around 80 Games). Soundtrack is lovely too!
    Go and buy this game.
  5. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    it kind of goes without saying that this is one of the best ideas put to video game in the history of video games, but i thought i'd just put in my two cents because this title most def deserves it.
  6. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Out of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described as "Unforgiven" with a few twists. The main character however is quite distinctive. John Marston is a former outlaw that's settled down with a family. While he is generally a good natured person, John's outlaw roots show through whenever he gets angry or when the situation calls for it. That may not sound all that different from a lot of other characters out there, but the way the voice actor delivers his lines lends an air of authenticity that few game characters ever capture. There is a downside, though. No matter what your actions in the game are, the game always makes you out to be the hero. This isn't a huge issue, but it does seem weird when John acts courteous and considerate right after gunning down a prostitute and looting her corpse.

    The gameplay isn't anything groundbreaking, but it is still remarkably strong. Employing the same cover mechanic seen in countless other games, Red Dead will have you with your back up against something most of the time. That's not really the point, though. The beauty of the gameplay lies in context. Every firefight feels like it could be straight out of a Peckinpah film like The Wild Bunch with bullets whizzing every which way and outlaws running desperately for cover as their buddies try to shoot at you from rooftops, balconies, and windows. There are also several epic set pieces which I won't spoil.
    Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    If you love Grand Theft Auto, you'll love this, game is typical of Rockstar, fantastic story, the way they capture the Wild West is amazing, the game had me daydreaming about being a cowboy. If you haven't, do not hesitate to buy it and enjoy, this is a gameplay game, not about the graphics or the franchise, this is what games should be all about (even though the graphics are polished).
  8. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is possibly one of the best games out there. If Bethesda Softworks made a Western game, it would look like this, except with no multiplayer. Basically what I'm saying is that Red Dead Redemption is a GREAT game. The storyline and characters are amazing. I thought this game would suck because I hate Western games, but this game changed my entire view on Western games. I got so involved in the game and loved the main character, that I CRIED when he died. I know it sounds lame, but that's how much I loved it. The multiplayer was better than I expected. I thought that with such a great singleplayer, it would degrade the multiplayer expierence. But I was wrong! The multiplayer is awesome and probably the best multiplayer there is. I love Call of Duty, but I just love Free Roam multiplayer. Overall, a great game made by a great studio, Rockstar Games, I applaud you. Expand
  9. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group of outlaws attempting to hang someone, I tried (and failed) to shoot the noose and by the time I re-loaded it was too late. I killed all the bandits and was left with a sobbing husband kneeling below his wife. I shot the noose (I actually missed again as I'm a bit special) to get her down and felt guilt, I could of changed the outcome. From that moment I was sucked into a dynamic living breathing world, intent on wiping out all the scum and the main plot has finally got me interested after an initial misfire. Expand
  10. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    This game is amazing. It looks beautiful in every way, and the combat plays out incredibly well, with brilliant set pieces and side missions. There is always something to do in this game, whether it's storming a gang hideout to capture your old friend, or just playing a bit of poker, you'll never get bored. The storyline is great with some very funny characters (and some serious ones), with some well done dialogue (But nowhere near as good as mass effect, nothing will be). The only reason this doesn't get a 10 is because of a few glitches and bugs, especially the 100% glitch (Still got Redeemed though), but rockstar has announced they're addressing the issue. Expand
  11. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off it has amazing multiplayer to boot, this is no doubt one of the best games of 2010, and a must play, right now you're probably asking "if it's so perfect why not a 10?', there is a few flaws holding it back, like a few glitches, long load times, and the fact that riding everywhere takes up a lot of time and can get boring, but those are easily overlooked, this game is just shy of perfection, I can't think of anyone I wouldn't highly recommend this too. Expand
  12. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time. The multiplayer is one of my favourite. There are many game modes available, including free roam. I found that a lot of people play online. I have always found full matches on all game modes. I never have to wait for ages. This game does follow the same structure as GTA, but is completely different. Many new features have been introduced, and there is much more to do. I highly recommend getting this game. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  13. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    To whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit of repetition in some parts of the game, I found that it was a massive and rewarding experience.
    The only thing I didn't really like was the multiplayer. It's not technically bad, it's just that I feel as if there could have been a lot more done with it. But that doesn't overshadow the awesome campaign. 9/10.
    Expand
  14. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  15. May 6, 2011
    10
    Guess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for character animations: they are smooth and for the most part realistic (jumping freakin sucks) The game plays like gta4 but is that really bad? That game is no doubt game of 2008. It is a great game and so is Red Dead. There really isnt a reason to not buy it. Unless you have no money. Expand
  16. May 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! It is virtually a living world where you can do anything. Great story, great characters. This game is limited only by your imagination!
  17. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a number of different game modes with your friends. From open world to shoot outs to horse races, Red Dead Redemption can potentially dwindle hours of your life away. Do yourself a favor and experience this game for yourself. Expand
  18. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, capture criminals, or hold up a train, it gives you so much freedom, and allows for so much. The controls are a little hard to master, but are very unique, and has a lot of things you can do at once, EX: On horse press A rapidly for speed, hold down LT To Aim, While holding B To Look towards important characters/places, etc, while turning the joysticks to steer, while press RT to shoot. But it makes it so unique, and so fun. The game blew me away, I thought it was be similar to GTA4, (Which I hated) But it's nothing like it. It's so much different, and it is spectacular, you won't regret this game, I PROMISE. Expand
  19. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Wow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of an idiot, but very loving, just dies. Honest to god, I think this video game with it's amazing story that fills many people with emotions, will probably even make a psychopath cry. RIP John Marston. Those of you who says it is another GTA game just set in a WESTERN theme, are just naive people that "judge a book by it's cover". Expand
  20. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    You NEED to buy this game, mp is really good, campaign is way cool, this will always be the best western shooter of all time. One of the best open world games in a long time. Makes GTA look like a d*** made it, literally.
  21. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a good example on how to make a fantastic game and Rockstar show's that example once again with their games. The campaign in RDR is amazing and ecery mission means something. And the multiplayer is fantastic and a lot to choose from game modes. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 9/10 Red Dead Redemtion 9.7/10
  22. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of just about anything, no matter how perfect it is. The characters in this game barely ever seem like they blend together like so many others and the storyline is fantastic. Maybe this is my favorite game only because I haven't played GTA IV and don't see the similarity's, but honestly, I could care less. Expand
  23. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    There is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the best video game experiences of your life! Expand
  24. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. A great game i really enjoyed it Expand
  25. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Most definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much more powerful. Amazing. Probably a game I will come back to quite a few times later in life. Expand
  26. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Just shy of a masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is easily the best western video game ever created, and is absolutely stunningly brilliant. Oozing with detail, good writing and varied missions, plus a hefty dose of rpg elements and side quests / games, its easy to see the GTA roots. While some claim foul, I think this great methodology of video game play is perfect for the western setting. The soundtrack is original and unique, and there is lots to explore and check out. Easily a 10 / 10. Expand
  27. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    There is not a better game out right now. After completing the single-player game, I went and tried the multilplayer which I didn't think would be too great. It was absolutely astounding! It opened up a whole new world for me. The only knock is you have to have at least a decent connectivity to fully play the multiplayer without hiccups, which most Xbox live players have access to nowadays anyway
  28. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This is the best game to come out since GTAIV. The gameplay, graphics, and storyline are all top-notch. Expect this to get a **** ton of awards. I love this game.
  29. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Again, Rockstar blows our minds. Grand Theft Auto IV was probably a top 10 game of all time on Xbox 360 and this is just another one. Everything goes right in this game. there were a few avoidable and forgettable problems with Grand theft auto IV and this just threw em out
  30. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    it's a game absolutly great in all, better than GTA 4. The world is huge and very real, it seems to be in a old west film. I have purchased an Xbox 360 only to play with RDR, I love this game! Rockstar Games Rules!!! Now we want Read Dead Redemption 2
  31. May 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption stands on top on many of my games and i appreciate the marvelous work that Rockstar has made. Very similar to GTA in terms, both are sandbox. The dialogue is amazing, very real if i say, incredible graphics are beautiful in all aspects. Wild West never looked so good , so if you want a great story line, great action, exploration all well mixed up this is worth looking out. Oh yeah , and the end will be memorable . Hope so. Expand
  32. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best cowboy game I have ever played with a good story, good aiming and good horse riding. I would like to congratulate rock star on making this game because it is a master piece.
  33. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    buy this game amazing content great multiplayer and doesnt dissapoint in the story. occasional bugs but overall this deserves its game of the year award
  34. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    RED DEAD REDEMPTION is one of the best open world games ever made and defenetly the best Western game, i RDR has Top voice acting especially the Protagonist John Marston and the graphics are amazing, the story too! RDR has emotional moments that are just so powerful between each character, 9/10.
  35. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Rockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, you have games like Call of Juarez, but, Red Dead Redemption is truly the first epic 'wild west' game. The protagonist, John Marston, is similar to other Rockstar protagonists, but I think he's a good character. The storyline is pretty good, but it moves slowly like GTA IV. Technically, the game is good looking but textures on rocks and such are kind of blurry, there are some glitches, the controls are well done. Overall a great game. Expand
  36. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    The best of the best...true that a few glitches will let the game down but it is definitely one for the books!!You can do almost anything from riding horses to having drinks at the bar a getting drunk!!
  37. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. el juego me encanto pero hay partes que me pusieron un poco triste y el red dead redemtion undead nightmare es tambien me gusto, john marston muere y vuelve como zombie Expand
  38. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    An absolute masterpiece. Much better than GTA 5 in my opinion. If you do not buy this, you have no idea what you are missing out on. I have no words how to describe the brilliance this game delivers.
  39. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This game was made by aliens. San Andreas & Canis Canem Edit were open world masterpieces on the PS2, Red Dead Redemption & GTA 5 stand on the shoulders of Giants, but they are Giants themselves. Mindblowing how far games have come. Even if you hate the Western genre with a passion, RDR is an experience you can't miss.
  40. Aug 9, 2010
    9
    It's a wide enough universe in this game to get everything you want out of it. The "Gun" games made me a fan of the genre, but I found that the story was too linear and restricting. A game like "Red Dead Redemption" really allows you to become immersed and to get settled in with missions that you like. The graphics are also quite impressive and really show off what the 30 can do.
  41. Aug 8, 2010
    9
    Yep, it's just as good s everyone says it is. There are a couple of periods where things move a bit slowly, and the aiming assist is probably a little too helpful-- but these are very minor complaints for a great game.
  42. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a stunning game that clips its spurs on the way through to the finishing line. John Marston is one of the year
  43. Sam
    Aug 12, 2010
    9
    A wide variety of places to go and situations you wouldn't find in any other game. I think a bit better than Grand Theft Auto IV. The world around the game looks stunning. A must buy.
  44. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Red Dead has everything you could want in a game it really captures the old Western days. I like it more than other Rockstar games such as GTA IV because it has a sense of being unique.
  45. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    If your a fan of western films like me you'll really love "Red Dead Redemption" because it truly captures the feel and look of those films perfectly.
  46. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play as John Marston, who once rode in a gang. Now, blackmailed by federal agents he must hunt down his former friends and bring them in, or great harm will come to his family. That's the basis, and like all great western films it encompasses justice, betrayal and visceral violence. You'll become absorbed in the plot, and actually feel for the characters, like you would in any great TV show or film. The voice acting is incredible, every lone wandering cowboy sound's different, each region reflects part of the west today, with different accents and morals. You'll travel throughout the desolate plains, and through the beautiful red rock expanses of land in Mexico. The landscape though, acts as another character. Everything from the heat shimmers on the horizon, to the sunset's, are incredible. You'll become engrossed in the world, and it is very, very easy to spend alot of time just wondering and admiring the terrain of which this epic tale is set in. Wandering round ranches at night, you'll see groups huddled round camp fires playing instruments, and informing others of local news. You may them talking about your character, or a certain event that you have been involved in. This adds to your ego, but more importantly the atmosphere. One word to describe the size of the playable area is; scope. It'll take you a good half an hour to cross on horseback, even longer on foot. There are random events that occur as you are travelling, a women asks for your help while she stands next to a battered stagecoach, do you help or leave? It's up to you, whatever the outcome, it will help shape your characters 'honour' and 'fame' stats, a representation of what local townsfolk think of you. You can be an outlaw or a good guy, these choices are all yours. The combat is also solid, you'll recognise things like the cover system from GTA IV, but there are legitimate weapons, and gunshot wounds, which all add to the experience and authenticity. 'Dead-eye' enables the player to slow down time and place several shots on enemies, letting go of the activation button see's Marston fire off at all the targets in rapid succession, particularly useful if you are low on health and outnumbered. There isn't much of a learning curve with the controls, and although the game may seem challenging at times, it never becomes frustrating. Riding a horse, although not as exciting as driving a car, is also fun. You become attached to your mount, and it can be difficult to leave it it dies and collapses during a fight. The music is also very atmospheric. The OST gives a western vibe, and other songs like Jose Gonzalez's 'Far Away' feel right when played. There are alot of memorable moments in this game, ones that will stay with you forever and never fail to amaze or shock time and time again. Watching a sunset whilst standing on top of a huge cliff, admiring the landscape laid out in front of you can be extremely relaxing, it looks real thanks to the wonderful art direction and graphics behind the game. I could go on and on about Red Dead Redemption but I fear that I would ruin the experience. This is simply a must play game, and will prove to anyone that games can provide interesting story lines and contain atmospheres on par with blockbuster films. As Clint Eastwood once famously said in A Fistful Of Dollars; "You will never see another one like it." Red Dead Redemption will go down in history. Expand
  47. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Quite immersive setup with a very impressive range of things to do and environments. Free-roam multilayer is a MASSIVE step in the right direction that other companies should look into. The repetitiveness of the single player kicks this otherwise great game down a few notches, but the multilayer can easily make up for it. The only issue I have so far is that ITS NOT ON PC!
  48. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I have had some problems putting it down because there is always something else to do or to discover. The main character is great. I really enjoy all of his dialogues and the voice actor they took is super. I am really hooked on hunting and riding a horse while the moon is full to the beautiful soundtrack will NEVER get old. Thank you for this game.
  49. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Oh my god .. Wooow . I can't believe that games has reached this level of gaming experience , in this game we - gamers . we're proud of what videogames finally has reached .. and This game ( Red Dead Redemption ) it's 4 me the best game ever made . i played a lot and a lot of games but this one is really really special , the graphics are immersive .. imagine that u have a map of a hundreds of Km2 full with a wonderfull lightning . and a beautifully reflexes and all sorts of weather .. The horses are perfectly made ... the story is perfect .... and a hooole of new ideas u can find .. and the best thing that i loved in this game is that u can spend hours and hours of gaming to reach the 100% of the game .. an infinite secondary missions ... in each place u go u'll find something to do .. just like the real life ... and summered this game i can say ... Red Dead redemption is the mirror of the real life back in 19's .. i realy injoyed this game i realy lived the western experience thanx to rockstar games .. if you don't buy this game you will miss a lot and a lot .. Expand
  50. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is yet another fantastic game by Rockstar!! Its amazing from the moment you pop the disk in, all the way up to the stunningly brilliant conclusion. It can be looked at as a close cousin to Grand Theft Auto IV. It has many similar traits like aiming, running and mission structure. While, using this tried and true backbone for a new game is great and works, at times it feels almost too similar to GTA. That and the lack of difficulty have to be my only two complaints, but they don't take enough away from the game to even damage the experience a bit. The landscape, setting, graphics, characters and story are all great. Some very interesting characters have too small of a part or just don't come back again after they exit the storyline the first time but some do and you become attached them. All in all Red Dead is a must play for any gamer. Its enjoyable through multiple playthroughs and has a fair amount of extras to keep you busy. Go out and buy I now!!!!! Expand
  51. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    This game can be described in one word - EPIC !!!! Rockstar has done it again proving yet another time that it is the master of open world gameplay.The storyline , gameplay and overall mechanics of the game well managed and were very well complimented by the music and sound effects. With this game you will feel as if you are playing GTA just that this time around its with horses and revolvers instead of Ferrari's and fully automatics. I actually ended up enjoying this game more than the GTA editions put out by rockstar.The graphics were very well done with one or two minor hiccups here and there. The shooting game mechanic was a great leap forward from the GTA versions of the game making the game much more engaging. The game plays very smoothly whether it's dueling with some stranger for respect and fame, playing a game of poker or just taking a ride across the countryside on your horse this game will keep you engaged and provide enjoyment at every turn. Expand
  52. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another Grand Theft Auto game. Expand
  53. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I've never been a fan of Western-type games. I've never thought that anyone could really develop a Western title that would have any relevance to the standard gamer. I didn't even enjoy GTA IV, despite the two game being very similar in comparison. After playing through Red Dead Redemption, it's safe to say that this game has changed my mind on the whole genre. I'm only here to write my review on the single player aspect of this game, since I had to return the game back to my friend, leaving me with little time to enjoy the multiplayer aspects. To start, Red Dead Redemption does not have what I would call the most original storyline, but it still works. You're John Marston, an extremely polite former outlaw whose family is being threatened by the government if he does not assist them in hunting down several of his former gang members. The story is honestly not much more deeper than that, but it does contain plenty of interesting plot twists and arcs. Some reviewers complained about this game being more akin to a movie rather than a video game, which is true to a certain extent in a good way. Certain action sequences such as duels and Dead Eye (which is essentially slow-mo) make this statement true. But the sheer amount of intense shootouts and other Western set-pieces (such as stopping another gang of outlaws from robbing a train) solidify this title as a truly triple A game. The game displays some of the best voice-acting I've ever heard in a game before, creating a realistic feel to the whole experience. The dialogue is superbly written and contains some absolutely hilarious moments. The characters in the game are expertly done, each with their own unique personalities and backgrounds. The game is entirely open-world, allowing you to literally cross the border between Mexico and Texas freely later in the game. One of the things that amazed me was the vast amount of things to do. Whether it was saving a damsel in distress from a group of highway robbers or getting caught while cheating during a game of Texas-Hold-Em, I never ran out of things to do, even after the game's completion. The missions that advance the storyline forward never stale, despite some of them essentially being the same thing. As you progress through each Act, you'll eventually build up to a climax mission for each one. These missions really allow the game to shine, forcing you through intense shootouts that really get your adrenaline pumping. Graphically, the game is impressive for the time that it was released. The character models look fantastic and the animations are all extremely fluid. Environments look good, but do tend to stale halfway through the game. There's tons of variation in the game, so you will never have to worry about getting bored. I have played a little bit of the online, and I will say that from what I experienced, I would gladly sink in many more hours to rank up. As with every game, there's always flaws, and this one's no exception. I think that the biggest flaw for me was the controls. Speaking for myself, the controls never felt comfortable. I never enjoyed mashing the A button over and over to sprint, nor did I find the game's cover system very well-implemented. I have died multiple times throughout the game due to the poor cover system. Several times, I would slide into cover and try and maneuver my way around where I was more protected from enemy fire. Instead of maneuvering to the side, my character would simply stand back up and be brutally mowed down instantly by the deadly accurate sharpshooting AI. Riding horses is smooth enough, but carriages and carts need to be worked on. I also had a minor problem with capturing bounties in the North. I would capture a bounty and wave after wave of his friends would come, which is fine by me. But then a random wild grizzly bear would maul my horse to death, while the captured bounty falls onto the ground. As I'm desperately trying to find the nearest mount so that I don't have to hoof it halfway across the map, the continuous onslaught of enemies never ceases. I'll kill one outlaw, attempt to put the captured bounty on top of his now vacant horse, which seems to run away immediately after I kill the rider, and then find myself face-to-face with another grizzly bear, forcing me to once again place the bounty back onto the ground while I exterminate the bear. Keep in mind that the animations for placing the captured bounty anywhere take about 2 seconds each, so it really grinds my nerves when it shows my character slowly place him on the ground when in reality I need to quickly throw him away to react fast enough. Of course, I've never made it out of one of these situations in time and always end up dying, forcing me to restart the entire mission. Despite all of these complaints, which are minor to be honest, the game is still a truly elite title. Rockstar has made the Western genre relevant again and here's hoping for a sequel. Expand
  54. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    My review of Red Dead Redemption is basically this i think this is probably the greatest game of all time second only to Halo and Grand theft auto 4. I really liked the story to this game,the action is incredible,and the multiplayer is topnotch.The horseriding in Red dead is better than any Old west game that came before. A definite must buy
  55. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I don't understand some people, "crappy story"!? What makes this game an ABSOLUTE winner is it's characters and Rockstars attention to detail. Reading Cormac McCarthy's novels alongside playing RDR is an absolute joy, my imagination is running amuck with mexican horse thieves and lonely harmonicas.
  56. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    This an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep you on your toes, and as I said before the story is fantastic. It's pretty close to a perfect game. Expand
  57. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Great voice acting, engaging story, beautiful cinematics and very well paced. I thoroughly enjoyed this game, despite the aiming system being a little too easy. This is Rockstar grown up.
  58. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    pros - Awesome story, great gameplay, beautiful graphics, western setting, multiplayer has a boat load of variety, you can work together to hunt animals, or just go all out killing each other.
    cons - shorter single player then previous rockstar games. This game is worth the $60 price tag.
  59. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    wow i can't believe how awesome that was, don't miss out on this game. i see 50 or so people didn't like this game and i feel bad for you few that have no taste in games.
  60. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more being chased by the cops for minor traffic infringements. No more shocking auto aim. NO MORE MOBILE PHONE. Simply put, RDR is a masterpiece of gaming, most notably the storytelling, the realisation of the game world, and the characterisation. The missions are varied, the voice acting top notch, the world is believable, and it never overstays its welcome. If it weren't for Mass Effect 2, this would be my Game of the Year 2010. And with Undead Nightmare, it's even better. Expand
  61. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    A fair warning to kids, "Red Dead Redemption" is not some twitchy fantasy western shooter shooter, it is a game that actually plays in the old west. Well, actually plays in a virtual old west anyway. The game has you rope, ride, drive cattle, throw horse shoes, fire one bullet at a time, and fight off the occasional cougar (not a 30 something woman with an eye for you, a real virtual cougar). And you will experience the story whether you like it or not. For a sand box game, this is no choose your own adventure. The only recourse you have is to stop playing the game when you are satisfied with the ending, because like any good piece of art, the actual ending will leave you with mixed feelings. The ending here surpasses the Lone Wolf level of "Halo: Reach" as the most iconic ending of all time. 2010 was a banner year for video game endings in that respect.

    Speaking of respect, this game has it. Each character looks lovingly made and easily distinguished. Funny how video game characters now look more real than the made-up actors and actresses we see on TV and in movies. The whole world here seems handcrafted. Sparse but not lifeless. Earth toned but not dull. This is what the actual earth looks like, after-all. "Red Dead Redemption" sets a new standard for games. Sure it has funny glitches and I never did figure out how the gunfight mechanic was supposed to work. No game of this scope has been or ever will be perfect. By going somewhere few games have ever gone, into the realm of dare I say it, art, "Red Dead Redemption" has achieved the status of legend.
    Expand
  62. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A truly amazing game, one of my favorite of all time. Their is just so much to do, the story is compelling and when this is matched with a superb sandbox experience it make a true masterpiece of gaming delight. Have purchased all the DLC and still loving it. Now I just want to get every last achievement, but ill still be playing it after that.
  63. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This Game es PERFECT and much better than any Grand Theft Auto may have existed, but I can not wait to see what they have prepared for the sequel. Rockstar is undoubtedly the king of the sandbox!
  64. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redepmtion is an incredible game, for me it beats GTA. This game definetly deserves its pace as one of the greatest games of all time. The graphics, characters and story all add up to this rockstar masterpiece. It's a must have if you don't already have this you should purchase it right away. Quality Game!
  65. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. In fact, it's a game that just evolves with the use of the online free roam and all the challenges packed into it as well as the other online game modes. Graphically it is jaw droppingly good.

    Anyone giving this game less than 8 confuses me. It is a masterpiece both on and offline and there really can be no disputing that. Even if it isn't your
    type of game, it's qualities cannot be ignored. Expand
  66. Nov 8, 2010
    9
    This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  67. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    It was good, Not as great as everyone made it out to be but it was well worth playing. Had a fair share of annoying bugs and glitches and a campaign filled with repetitive objectives though. Other then that it was fine.
  68. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    nearly perfect graphics, gameplay is very reliable and and you spend most of the time having a lot of fun just by riding around with your horse, the plot is good, but gets very tense at some parts, and I often felt sad about the end of a side mission
  69. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the
    transport system, the justice system or pretty much everything has a brilliant feel to it and it really is a joy to play! For example, whilst riding your noble steed, you can keep him travelling at the same speed as the AI you are escorting or following - Yes, stallions do indeed have cruise control it would seem! Superb small features like this really add to the experience.

    This is the sort of game which is not at all predictable though, you find yourself travelling at your own pace only to be savaged by a bear or cougar - so keep your gun at the ready and your eyes peeled as you are bound to gape onscreen if you lose 10 minutes worth of hunting goods in a split second...

    Despite its minor niggles, this game would have been harder to make better than it was before its actual release...So close to perfect it is!
    Expand
  70. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask.
    Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game
    feel more real as you will find out if you've played the game. The missions are varied and are superb fun. I have completed the game three times now and still enjoy getting back on my horse and ride across the beautiful landscape. There has been plenty of times when I've been riding my horse when I have just stopped to look at the beautiful scenery. The games graphics are slightly improved upon from Grand Theft Auto and the facial details are brilliant, you really get a sense of how the character is feeling. This is another high point as you become attached to certain characters throughout the game and grow to care about how the story pans out. Take on grizzly bears, climb mountains, become a train robber. There are cool side missions that you can complete as well. There is 30-40 hours of game play here for you to spend your time with and it is well and truly time well spent. Epic gaming, Masterpiece of a story. Buy now for some awesome gaming! Expand
  71. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Red Dead Redemption can not help but be compared to Grand Theft Auto IV. The story is interactive, addicting, and overall, fun. The graphics are absolutely phenomenal and look very close to real life. Completing the game 100% takes about 40 hours because of the engaging side quests and long story (57 missions). The story alone without considering optional side missions, challenges, and strangers would probably take about 20 hours. I found myself doing the side missions first, and then doing some of the story, and then more side missions. Rockstar Games really showed improvement from Grand Theft Auto IV in terms of keeping interest of players, better story and graphics, and filling an open world with various things to do. You could even start up a game of Texas Hold 'Em or Five Finger Fillet. I really enjoyed Dead-Eye and it is really what polishes the game. Red Dead Redemption really shows the open world genre what it is all about and really immerses you in the Western culture of 1911, even if you are not into cowboys and the wild west (which I sure was not). I could not bring myself to rate it a 10 out of 10 for the following reasons. I am not going to spoil it, but the ending to the story was very disappointing, not because it was underwhelming or anticlimactic, but because it ended abruptly and was unnecessary. Furthermore, the save system and computer AI are both awkward. Many times my horse would commit suicide and would require me to get a new one. I found it kind of odd that my horse has no problem jumping off a 300 foot cliff, but there is an invisible wall every time I tell it to go down a 5 foot incline. The glitches are very numerous and you will undoubtedly run into some; such as, sinking underneath the solid ground and going under the map with long motion blurs, dueling someone as they are facing the wrong way, your horse randomly dying for absolutely no reason, objects rendering right in front of your eyes; that kind of stuff. I really hate that the majority of the missions told you to go really far away to actually start doing stuff. All that accomplished was tiring me and wasting my time. One last negative thing, the online multiplayer, in my opinion, is worse than Grand Theft Auto IV's. It works on a experience point system where you work your way up the ranks, but it is irritating because everyone else is already there and you will just get wasted away. You have no chance if you are new so get ready to do a lot of boring missions just for XP. In Grand Theft Auto IV, everyone had a chance; not so much here. Overall, great open world game that really should be picked up for its amazing single player mode and addicting, non-stop, can-not-put-it-down-until-it-is-one-hundred-percent-completed gameplay, with few problems and annoyances. Expand
  72. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite 2010 game. I've just completed the main adventure, if I can say there is a main adventure. Plenty to do, the sense of freedom is un matched...... just waiting assassin's III to see if there is a game that can match rockstar masterpiece. Definitely buy it, got to the nearest store and tell all your friends you are busy for the entire month........!!!!!!
  73. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Simply put, this is one of the greatest games ever made. It is a true masterpiece. The world is dense and gorgeous, and playing through the game feels like you're playing through a classic western film. Even without the DLC (which are very reasonably priced - especially the 6+ hour single-player 'Undead Nightmare') the game offers hours and hours of single player and multiplayer fun. Well done, Rockstar! Expand
  74. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption is the newest game from rockstar, it follows on from its cousin Red Dead Revolver which was released in May 2004.
    Red Dead in general has "Grown up" since then, and has a complete make over with graphics, sounds, and the sand box effect gameplay. The sand box effect gives you an amazing feel for reality and continuous adventure, you will be able to tame and break your own wild horses, drink, steal money, objects, ammo, and carts etc. you will also meet alot of new friends that may be able to help you finish your quest.
    After being left for dead by your band of brothers you seek revenge and the return of your family from the grips of the government, to do this you must find and kill all of your brothers and take down Bill Williamson, and Dutch to get your family back
    You begin your journey in The Old West, from there you meet people, make friends, and make enemys, after a certain time and certain missions you "Unlock" the bridge to Mexico (This is a typical thing for rockstar to do since they've been doing it since GTA III). As you go through Mexico you help friends escape the country and help feed the revolotion to make a better Mexico for all. After been sent to Mexico and picked up by the Amercian Government, you travel to Blackwater where you will settle this once and for all, after doing just a few missions for people you are led into Tall Trees and into a camp, this is where you will find Dutch and Kill him.
    Above all i think Red Dead Redemption is a beautiful game, very clear and extremely addictive, being able to hunt and kill animals for money is a bonus. To conclude i think Red Dead Redemption and Rockstar deserves an award, this is truely a masterpierce of gaming technology, anyway one who loves Western games or Loved the old Red Dead Revolver will love this one, It has plenty of things to do with Side missions, including Wanted Posters, Deliveries, Horse Breaking, and General Random tasks set by AI Strangers.
    This Game Is Perfect.
    Expand
  75. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Seriously, If you dont have anything positive to say about this game its most definately because you have no idea what your talking about.. This game is definitely a Masterpiece... The only thing I would change is having the ability to change views...but thats just me being picky. Rockstar...Keep making games like this. Controls are fluid, Game is lengthy, story is impecible. You know when a game is good when A, you dream about it or B you think about it all day long at work or school. I Give this Game the OFFICIAL LUCAS GAME OF THE YEAR AWARD....which is totally Legit since Ive been gaming since I was 5(im 24 now) and every single game Ive ever liked a lot ended up being a high rated game... Expand
  76. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    First off, I didn't like GTA IV, not at all. So when I picked up Red Dead Redemption, I was hesitant. This ended up being the best open world game I've ever played. The world of Red Dead was beautiful, deep, and everything good, just wow. The story was long, the side quests were never ending, and the replay value was unbelievably high.
  77. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    Definitely one of the best games ever made. I love the concept of a western shooter and it's surprisingly how seldom this genre has been tried even though it's one of the most iconic American adventure stories. A few games have tried and they failed miserably. This one succeeds in all ways, which is impressive to say the least. It's engaging in that the story is actually fun to follow and there's so much to see and do that it never gets boring. Get this game. Expand
  78. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This game is not Grand Theft Auto 4! Calling this game GTA 4 is like saying Modern Warfare 2 is Black Ops, not even close. This isn't GTA in the wild west, this game is graphically superior and more engrossing. Plus it is one of the longest games I have ever played. The map is massive and there are tons of DLC. Don't even get me started on Undead Nightmare. I enjoyed this game a hell of a lot more than GTA because I actually felt like the good guy. I just wish the controls were better. 10/10 Expand
  79. May 26, 2011
    9
    Truely brilliant game. If you liked GTA IV and like western movies this is a must have. Great gameplay, story telling, graphics and voice acting. So much to do, side missions, mini games and even hunting. I love the "Dead Eye" shooting mechanic. To even mention how good the ending is does not do it justice, I stood up and cheered! As close to a 10 without being a 10 that I can give.
  80. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    I was never a fan of Grand Theft Auto, and when I heard that Red Dead Redemption was like a clone of GTA, I didn't know if I'd like it. But I decided to check it out cause it did look interesting, and plus being a criminal was optional this time around, which is great cause I don't like being the bad guy in video games. Plus I grew up in Texas, so playing a western style game would probably remind me a bit of home. The result? Fantastic! The game definately went beyond my expectations. It had a very good story. It was funny, dramatic at times, and of course it was action packed. The game stars John Marston, a man who once walked the path of an outlaw, but decided to walk away from that life to start a family, and go straight. But Govenment officials decide to kidnap his family, in order to blackmail John into hunting down his old gang members. John agrees to do it for the sake of his family, and so you must now travel around, looking for these outlaws. Throughout the game, you have to travel between towns and countries to complete quests for people in need, so you can earn the trust of the people who can help John find his old friends and kill them. On top of the things you must do to progress, the game has a huge amount of sidequests that will earn you honor and fame, which will help unlock more side-quests, so you can get more done, and get more found. The world in this game is big, and I mean really big. It's almost as huge as the world in Elder Scrolls IV, if not bigger. So you'll never get bored of exploring the beautiful landscapes of New Austin Texas. The combat system is pretty much flawless, it's just like many other 3rd person shooter systems, you hold a button to aim over Johns shoulder, and press another to shoot. The crosshair is pretty small, it's basically a tiny white dot, but believe it or not, it's not hard to get used to at all, cause once you learn the dead-eye targeting system, you won't care how big the crosshair is. With the dead-eye system, you can freeze time, and place you crosshair on the enemy, and set your spots where you want to shoot your enemy, then once you release the time freeze, John will automatically shoot in those exact spots. Of course this has limitations, you have a dead-eye meter, and once it runs out, no dead-eye for a while. Don't like it? Tough luck cowboy. The game has all the freedom of a GTA game, you can go around and rec havoc, or you can help the good towns people. Wanna get drunk? Go to the bar and have a few drinks why don't ya? Wanna do a little gamblin? Stop by town and play some poker, some blackjack, or heck maybe even some liars dice if ur in the mood. But how bout some bounty huntin? You can do that too sonny boy. When you see a wanted poster, take it, and get yourself a nice bounty by hunting down the bastard who broke the law. It's all a great time, and why not even go into the wild, and do some hunting? Or maybe you wanna go wrangle some horses. How bout racing? Or maybe you just wanna get into some trouble with the law like you did in GTA. It's all there, all the freedom of GTA and more. Of course the game isn't perfect. As many people will tell you, Red Dead Redemption is a very glitchy game. I was once playing the game, and when I stopped in the wild to inspect something I found, I saw as my horse took off flying like it had wings. It went so high up, that it fell to the ground and died, luckily I had a horse certificate with me so I could call another one, but that was funny. It was like my horse was abducted by aliens. lol So yeah, you will expirience glitches, and probably alot of them, but they usually won't interfere with the overall progression of the game. Bottom line, this game is great, and it's a must by if you own a 360 or PS3, especially if you're a big fan of Grand Theft Auto. If you havn't already, get this game as soon as you can. I give Red Dead Redemption a 9/10. Expand
  81. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game to release in 2010 and is easily one of the best games this console generation. Rockstar does it again and creates yet another masterpiece. The insane attention to detail that Rockstar is known for returns. GTA IV featured by far the most realistic and authentic urban landscape ever seen in a sandbox game, and now RDR has the rural landscape covered too. RDR runs on the same engine as GTA IV, but it has since been overhauled. The scenery is breathtaking, with huge expanses of desert and forest (but mostly desert). And this isn't some copy/paste job like in Just Cause 2; every area has its own unique look and feel, just like Liberty City in GTA IV. The day and night cycle is wonderful, with the most beautiful sunsets and sunrises you've ever seen in a video game. The weather effects are also brilliant. Just wait until you see those storm clouds rolling in from the distance and experience your first RDR thunderstorm. You'll get goose bumps from how realistic this game is.

    RDR has a nice, long storyline and a mission structure just like GTA. The motion capture and voice acting in the cutscenes is phenomenal. No one does it like Rockstar. This is one game where you will never want to skip the cutscenes. Espceially with the sudden and shocking ending., one of the best ever seen in a video game. The gameplay mechanics are fantastic. The shooting and aiming are much improved from GTA IV, and the Dead Eye mechanic , which allows you to slow down time, is perfectly implemented. When you're not engaging in the main plot, you have a plethora of side missions to take part in. You have the persistent challenges that you can complete at any time (Treasure Hunting, Sharpshooting, etc) and you will face many random encounters out there in the wilderness. There's also poker and a few other activities if you want to take a break from the action.

    The Euphoria physics engine is back from GTA IV and it is better than ever. These are the most realistic physics you will ever see in a video game, simply put. The horse animations are something to behold as well. Rockstar pays attention to even the tiniest details and you will be truly impressed by all the game's little nuances.

    Now the single player alone gives you far more value than you would get from almost any other game, but then you have the multiplayer on top of it. There are many different modes, but Free Roam is really all you need to roam the entire game world with your friends and do whatever you want. You also have persistant challenges in multiplayer, just like the single player, so there's always something to do. You also level up by gaining experience from various activities throughout the world. Then there's the fantastic (free) co-op DLC pack that adds a bunch of cooperative missions to the multiplayer. this is some of the most fun you'll have when you're not competing against your friends but actually working with them to complete your goals.

    Overall, RDR is one incredible package and this game is not to be missed. It is the greatest game since Grand Theft Auto IV and I can't wait to see what Rockstar has in store for us next...
    Expand
  82. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    All i remember was hog-tying people to railroads and watch them explode really ;D But to be honest, i felt the game was pretty solid if you don't mind some of the bugs along the way. I didn't like the fact that i could drown and the fact when you targeted you could hit the head every time with a little move with your finger. But generally a very enjoyable game.
  83. May 16, 2011
    10
    This is simply one of the best games i have ever played, with a amazing story, great weapons and game play, lots of interesting people to meet, great side quests and its online multi player is great. If I had one thing to say was not amazing it would be the fact that it has alot of glitches but we can forgive it for this as downlodable content is great.
  84. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Is this GTA set in the old west?Yes,yes it is.
    An amazing game in a great setting.With great visuals,story,sound and gameplay this is one of the years best games.If you love westerns with Deadwood,Unforgiven and Clint Eastwood amongst many others,you will adore RDR.However,I found that after 20 or 30 hours the game became a bit of a chore.
    The story seems to drop off and the usual
    Rockstar mission structure started to bore me and getting to the end was a relief really.
    That being said,hire or buy?I don't care,just play it!
    Expand
  85. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    If you played GTA games before and liked any one of them. You will like this game. This game feels like a GTA game, BUT imagine GTA with more freedom and less Sandbox feel and GREAT story. I LIKE this game. Also, if you have to chose between PS3 or XBOX 360 for this game, get this one. XBOX 360 version looks way better.
  86. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    1. This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  87. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    I never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never felt like I had a family that I was trying to save. Not much replay value for me though. Expand
  88. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    A bold and confident game that perfectly recreates its setting. RDR doesn't feel like it has to keep players in a constant adrenaline rush, instead focusing on realism and authenticity. The story is interesting even if takes a while to truly take off. It looks amazing and the soundtrack is fantastic. The voice acting and writing are some of the best you'll see in a video game. Multiplayer doesn't feel tacked on and gives players a nice change of pace. It also has a nice balance of co-operative and competitive game modes. RDR has a huge amount of excellent content and is genuinely a must-buy. Expand
  89. CPB
    Apr 6, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time, and with good reason. Great storyline (for some reason I thought I was playing 'the man with no name' trilogy), the shooting mechanic feels 10x better then GTA 4's, damage is shown when shooting a enemy (when you shoot someone in the head you actually see a disgusting mess of a exit wound which is a good thing), so many weapons it's ridiculous, and a more like able character (John Marston doesn't complain like a frenchman like Niko Bellic). The only bad thing is if you play as a bad guy it doesn't really go well with the story (since they portray you as a good guy in the story). But besides that it is perfect- 9.9 Expand
  90. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutley brilliant,vision>budget>execution.Red Dead is the way it should be,amazing visuals,soundtrack,voice acting and some good story telling coulped with fantastic gameplay and brilliant multiplayer.Gett it ,buy it,steall it ,borrow it whatever just make sure you play this bad boy.
  91. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    The only criticism I can think of is the plethora of bugs, some of which are hilarious, like the bird people, donkey woman, etc. Others however, force you to restart the game.
  92. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a very good game and John Marston is one of my favorite Video game characters of all time. This game was amazing and deserves to be the game of the year, absolutely loved it.
  93. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game. heavily engaging. one of those rare experiences where you procrastinate in the game so it won't end. literally the only thing in this game that i wouldn't say was well done is the controls but a series of bullet time and auto aim features really help to smooth it out. Amazing graphics and spectacular SFX, great voice acting and even better story line. would heavily recommend this to anyone thinking about it. Expand
  94. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    This game more accurately captures Western movies than any other one out there. To start, it has an incredibly intense, moving, and addicting storyline. The characters are believable. You really grow close to them, especially the protagonist. The voice-acting is beyond superb. The graphics are incredible. The game boasts multiple hours of playtime, and you will love almost every second of the campaign. Once the campaign is done, you can hop into exciting multiplayer game modes and free roam, or you can do some solo free roam - and with so many side quests and possibilities, the solo free roam itself can entertain you for hours. All in all, this game revolutionized Western games and GTA-style free roam games alike. The downsides? You can only throw so much dynamite into a bar before everyone is dead. Expand
  95. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of
    this game I like is the horses, the way they look and handle are perfect. I fell in love with this game the moment I started playing, the jobs you can take on are fun and playing poker and horse shoes etc. Its a very captivating experience it makes you feel like your a part of the old west, I never was a fan of and old west theme until I played this game. You can spend countless hours on this game and not cover all of the land, you can almost live inside this game. Expand
  96. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is like the GTA games but better.Its just like GTA but western.If you like GTA games you will love this game.The graphics, the action, and the adventure are really good.
  97. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Absolutely spectacular. Rockstar have really out done themselves with this beauty of a game. The wild west theme does not usually appeal to me, but a western sandbox game? Sign me up. The graphics are spectacular and there is not a moment of boredom. If you don't fancy doing the missions, pass the time with such fun things like putting people in hogties and drag them round the cities or go on bounty hunter missions or play poker or just go hunting. The story connects well with the gameplay and leaves the player in awe at the magnificence of this game. The only thing that lets it down is a slight problem with the gameplay. After a few hours of playing, my head was pounding and my eyes were red raw. I began to feel sleepy, but the kind where you don't want to because the game was so awesome. This still didn't stop me playing it. Definitely worth the money. Expand
  98. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    I'm a bit late for this awesome wild-west adventure. Everything is near perfect and almost have nothing to complain about. Easily falling in love with and feeling the atmosphere of the wild west is not the only things you got from the game. More to be explored
  99. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. The storyline is the best I ever saw in a game, the multiplayer is awesome. There's so much to do in this game. Also the characters and their animations are well designed and it's easy to feel with Marston. The graphics are quite good, nothing special though.
    Just buy it, you'll be happy you bought it.
  100. May 1, 2011
    9
    An engaging game with a great storyline, Red Dead only suffers from seeming slightly familiar. There have been so many sandbox games released since GTA3 that the genre is becoming a tad tired. However, Red Dead has a unique setting which creates unique gameplay mechanics. The story itself is also one of gamings finest, with an ending that ranks as one of the best ever featured in a game. There are a couple of characters who are minorly irritating along the way, but there are also some great characters to balance them out. The game itself is also very long and has a number of great missions. Red Dead Redemption has fantastic entertainment value, great graphics and sound and a brilliant story meaning that this is one of the best games of 2010. Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.