User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1980 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2010
    9
    This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shootThis game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    It was good, Not as great as everyone made it out to be but it was well worth playing. Had a fair share of annoying bugs and glitches and a campaign filled with repetitive objectives though. Other then that it was fine.
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has a very strong storyline and gameplay. The games has plenty to do but after a while it gets quite boring. Amazing graphics but poor multiplayer Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    nearly perfect graphics, gameplay is very reliable and and you spend most of the time having a lot of fun just by riding around with your horse, the plot is good, but gets very tense at some parts, and I often felt sad about the end of a side mission
  5. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the transport system, the justice system or pretty much everything has a brilliant feel to it and it really is a joy to play! For example, whilst riding your noble steed, you can keep him travelling at the same speed as the AI you are escorting or following - Yes, stallions do indeed have cruise control it would seem! Superb small features like this really add to the experience.

    This is the sort of game which is not at all predictable though, you find yourself travelling at your own pace only to be savaged by a bear or cougar - so keep your gun at the ready and your eyes peeled as you are bound to gape onscreen if you lose 10 minutes worth of hunting goods in a split second...

    Despite its minor niggles, this game would have been harder to make better than it was before its actual release...So close to perfect it is!
    Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2010
    7
    I'm an archetypal GTA fan so the experience was spoiled for me only by the unnecessary shaking up of the GTA 4 auto-aim. It makes the shoot outs slow and much less fluid than GTA 4, and feels almost glitchy. Everything else matches Rockstar standards (and general habits).
  7. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask. Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask.
    Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game feel more real as you will find out if you've played the game. The missions are varied and are superb fun. I have completed the game three times now and still enjoy getting back on my horse and ride across the beautiful landscape. There has been plenty of times when I've been riding my horse when I have just stopped to look at the beautiful scenery. The games graphics are slightly improved upon from Grand Theft Auto and the facial details are brilliant, you really get a sense of how the character is feeling. This is another high point as you become attached to certain characters throughout the game and grow to care about how the story pans out. Take on grizzly bears, climb mountains, become a train robber. There are cool side missions that you can complete as well. There is 30-40 hours of game play here for you to spend your time with and it is well and truly time well spent. Epic gaming, Masterpiece of a story. Buy now for some awesome gaming!
    Expand
  8. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Red Dead Redemption can not help but be compared to Grand Theft Auto IV. The story is interactive, addicting, and overall, fun. The graphics are absolutely phenomenal and look very close to real life. Completing the game 100% takes about 40 hours because of the engaging side quests and long story (57 missions). The story alone without considering optional side missions, challenges, andRed Dead Redemption can not help but be compared to Grand Theft Auto IV. The story is interactive, addicting, and overall, fun. The graphics are absolutely phenomenal and look very close to real life. Completing the game 100% takes about 40 hours because of the engaging side quests and long story (57 missions). The story alone without considering optional side missions, challenges, and strangers would probably take about 20 hours. I found myself doing the side missions first, and then doing some of the story, and then more side missions. Rockstar Games really showed improvement from Grand Theft Auto IV in terms of keeping interest of players, better story and graphics, and filling an open world with various things to do. You could even start up a game of Texas Hold 'Em or Five Finger Fillet. I really enjoyed Dead-Eye and it is really what polishes the game. Red Dead Redemption really shows the open world genre what it is all about and really immerses you in the Western culture of 1911, even if you are not into cowboys and the wild west (which I sure was not). I could not bring myself to rate it a 10 out of 10 for the following reasons. I am not going to spoil it, but the ending to the story was very disappointing, not because it was underwhelming or anticlimactic, but because it ended abruptly and was unnecessary. Furthermore, the save system and computer AI are both awkward. Many times my horse would commit suicide and would require me to get a new one. I found it kind of odd that my horse has no problem jumping off a 300 foot cliff, but there is an invisible wall every time I tell it to go down a 5 foot incline. The glitches are very numerous and you will undoubtedly run into some; such as, sinking underneath the solid ground and going under the map with long motion blurs, dueling someone as they are facing the wrong way, your horse randomly dying for absolutely no reason, objects rendering right in front of your eyes; that kind of stuff. I really hate that the majority of the missions told you to go really far away to actually start doing stuff. All that accomplished was tiring me and wasting my time. One last negative thing, the online multiplayer, in my opinion, is worse than Grand Theft Auto IV's. It works on a experience point system where you work your way up the ranks, but it is irritating because everyone else is already there and you will just get wasted away. You have no chance if you are new so get ready to do a lot of boring missions just for XP. In Grand Theft Auto IV, everyone had a chance; not so much here. Overall, great open world game that really should be picked up for its amazing single player mode and addicting, non-stop, can-not-put-it-down-until-it-is-one-hundred-percent-completed gameplay, with few problems and annoyances. Expand
  9. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite 2010 game. I've just completed the main adventure, if I can say there is a main adventure. Plenty to do, the sense of freedom is un matched...... just waiting assassin's III to see if there is a game that can match rockstar masterpiece. Definitely buy it, got to the nearest store and tell all your friends you are busy for the entire month........!!!!!!
  10. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    Simply put, this is one of the greatest games ever made. It is a true masterpiece. The world is dense and gorgeous, and playing through the game feels like you're playing through a classic western film. Even without the DLC (which are very reasonably priced - especially the 6+ hour single-player 'Undead Nightmare') the game offers hours and hours of single player and multiplayer fun.Simply put, this is one of the greatest games ever made. It is a true masterpiece. The world is dense and gorgeous, and playing through the game feels like you're playing through a classic western film. Even without the DLC (which are very reasonably priced - especially the 6+ hour single-player 'Undead Nightmare') the game offers hours and hours of single player and multiplayer fun. Well done, Rockstar! Expand
  11. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption is the newest game from rockstar, it follows on from its cousin Red Dead Revolver which was released in May 2004.
    Red Dead in general has "Grown up" since then, and has a complete make over with graphics, sounds, and the sand box effect gameplay. The sand box effect gives you an amazing feel for reality and continuous adventure, you will be able to tame and break your own wild horses, drink, steal money, objects, ammo, and carts etc. you will also meet alot of new friends that may be able to help you finish your quest.
    After being left for dead by your band of brothers you seek revenge and the return of your family from the grips of the government, to do this you must find and kill all of your brothers and take down Bill Williamson, and Dutch to get your family back
    You begin your journey in The Old West, from there you meet people, make friends, and make enemys, after a certain time and certain missions you "Unlock" the bridge to Mexico (This is a typical thing for rockstar to do since they've been doing it since GTA III). As you go through Mexico you help friends escape the country and help feed the revolotion to make a better Mexico for all. After been sent to Mexico and picked up by the Amercian Government, you travel to Blackwater where you will settle this once and for all, after doing just a few missions for people you are led into Tall Trees and into a camp, this is where you will find Dutch and Kill him.
    Above all i think Red Dead Redemption is a beautiful game, very clear and extremely addictive, being able to hunt and kill animals for money is a bonus. To conclude i think Red Dead Redemption and Rockstar deserves an award, this is truely a masterpierce of gaming technology, anyway one who loves Western games or Loved the old Red Dead Revolver will love this one, It has plenty of things to do with Side missions, including Wanted Posters, Deliveries, Horse Breaking, and General Random tasks set by AI Strangers.
    This Game Is Perfect.
    Expand
  12. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Seriously, If you dont have anything positive to say about this game its most definately because you have no idea what your talking about.. This game is definitely a Masterpiece... The only thing I would change is having the ability to change views...but thats just me being picky. Rockstar...Keep making games like this. Controls are fluid, Game is lengthy, story is impecible. You know whenSeriously, If you dont have anything positive to say about this game its most definately because you have no idea what your talking about.. This game is definitely a Masterpiece... The only thing I would change is having the ability to change views...but thats just me being picky. Rockstar...Keep making games like this. Controls are fluid, Game is lengthy, story is impecible. You know when a game is good when A, you dream about it or B you think about it all day long at work or school. I Give this Game the OFFICIAL LUCAS GAME OF THE YEAR AWARD....which is totally Legit since Ive been gaming since I was 5(im 24 now) and every single game Ive ever liked a lot ended up being a high rated game... Expand
  13. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Another great game from Rockstar. Red Dead Redemption is the first Western game to really make it work. The Open world setting is varied and rich and filled with nice little side quests and things to search out. The game has a fairly strong AI and some good set pieces. This review is maybe a little bias as I have now played Far Cry and the Animals in Far Cry are better and there are moreAnother great game from Rockstar. Red Dead Redemption is the first Western game to really make it work. The Open world setting is varied and rich and filled with nice little side quests and things to search out. The game has a fairly strong AI and some good set pieces. This review is maybe a little bias as I have now played Far Cry and the Animals in Far Cry are better and there are more of them but this does not mark down the skill of the game.
    The Characters are well voiced and the game has a good strong plot that does move along nicely. The horse annimation was very good and it did upset me loosing a horse I had for a long time.
    The ending seemed a little rushed for me as you have a lot of missions between major plot moments early on, these seem to reduce as the game went on until it was almost only major plot driven missions towards the end. I did not venture much online with this title as with Rockstar they mainly focus on the campaign which is good.
    If you are a GTA fan and also like Clint Eastwood westerns give this a look
    Expand
  14. Nov 19, 2010
    8
    Red Dead Redemption is a very fun and excellent game. The story line is very long and suspenseful and the mini games are always enjoyable. Though at some points you feel a little disapointed, overall this game is one you should have on your wish list.
  15. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    First off, I didn't like GTA IV, not at all. So when I picked up Red Dead Redemption, I was hesitant. This ended up being the best open world game I've ever played. The world of Red Dead was beautiful, deep, and everything good, just wow. The story was long, the side quests were never ending, and the replay value was unbelievably high.
  16. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    Definitely one of the best games ever made. I love the concept of a western shooter and it's surprisingly how seldom this genre has been tried even though it's one of the most iconic American adventure stories. A few games have tried and they failed miserably. This one succeeds in all ways, which is impressive to say the least. It's engaging in that the story is actually fun to follow andDefinitely one of the best games ever made. I love the concept of a western shooter and it's surprisingly how seldom this genre has been tried even though it's one of the most iconic American adventure stories. A few games have tried and they failed miserably. This one succeeds in all ways, which is impressive to say the least. It's engaging in that the story is actually fun to follow and there's so much to see and do that it never gets boring. Get this game. Expand
  17. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    This game is not Grand Theft Auto 4! Calling this game GTA 4 is like saying Modern Warfare 2 is Black Ops, not even close. This isn't GTA in the wild west, this game is graphically superior and more engrossing. Plus it is one of the longest games I have ever played. The map is massive and there are tons of DLC. Don't even get me started on Undead Nightmare. I enjoyed this game a hell of aThis game is not Grand Theft Auto 4! Calling this game GTA 4 is like saying Modern Warfare 2 is Black Ops, not even close. This isn't GTA in the wild west, this game is graphically superior and more engrossing. Plus it is one of the longest games I have ever played. The map is massive and there are tons of DLC. Don't even get me started on Undead Nightmare. I enjoyed this game a hell of a lot more than GTA because I actually felt like the good guy. I just wish the controls were better. 10/10 Expand
  18. Dec 6, 2010
    6
    Definitely has its moments. Its a grand theft auto game set in the old west without the opportunity to run a muck and cause some serious trouble. The gun shootouts were great, the ending was one of the best I've ever seen, but thats only half the game. Im not interested in wrangling cattle or riding my horse for 15 minutes in order to get to an interesting part of the game, I just want toDefinitely has its moments. Its a grand theft auto game set in the old west without the opportunity to run a muck and cause some serious trouble. The gun shootouts were great, the ending was one of the best I've ever seen, but thats only half the game. Im not interested in wrangling cattle or riding my horse for 15 minutes in order to get to an interesting part of the game, I just want to get to the good stuff. The game was way to easy also, being able to auto lock on anyone and take them out with a shot or two. The "boss battles" were good but to short and easy as well. Id definitely play certain levels again but i would never want to go through the entire game start to finish ever again. Expand
  19. May 26, 2011
    9
    Truely brilliant game. If you liked GTA IV and like western movies this is a must have. Great gameplay, story telling, graphics and voice acting. So much to do, side missions, mini games and even hunting. I love the "Dead Eye" shooting mechanic. To even mention how good the ending is does not do it justice, I stood up and cheered! As close to a 10 without being a 10 that I can give.
  20. Jan 7, 2011
    5
    Let's start with the good. It's one of the visually most appealing games ever. The game world is huge incredibly rich and dynamic. It's a pure joy to walk/ride around the country and look at its fine details. The sound effects are also superb. Unfortunately, Red Dead Redemption as a game is only mediocre. The first couple of hours are fun but then it becomes quite boring. You ride and rideLet's start with the good. It's one of the visually most appealing games ever. The game world is huge incredibly rich and dynamic. It's a pure joy to walk/ride around the country and look at its fine details. The sound effects are also superb. Unfortunately, Red Dead Redemption as a game is only mediocre. The first couple of hours are fun but then it becomes quite boring. You ride and ride and ride, sometimes shoot then ride again for half an hour and nothing happens. Missions get repetitive and finally you find yourself aimlessly roaming about in the beautiful wilderness.

    I hope its future sequel will be tighter and more challenging.
    Expand
  21. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    I was never a fan of Grand Theft Auto, and when I heard that Red Dead Redemption was like a clone of GTA, I didn't know if I'd like it. But I decided to check it out cause it did look interesting, and plus being a criminal was optional this time around, which is great cause I don't like being the bad guy in video games. Plus I grew up in Texas, so playing a western style game wouldI was never a fan of Grand Theft Auto, and when I heard that Red Dead Redemption was like a clone of GTA, I didn't know if I'd like it. But I decided to check it out cause it did look interesting, and plus being a criminal was optional this time around, which is great cause I don't like being the bad guy in video games. Plus I grew up in Texas, so playing a western style game would probably remind me a bit of home. The result? Fantastic! The game definately went beyond my expectations. It had a very good story. It was funny, dramatic at times, and of course it was action packed. The game stars John Marston, a man who once walked the path of an outlaw, but decided to walk away from that life to start a family, and go straight. But Govenment officials decide to kidnap his family, in order to blackmail John into hunting down his old gang members. John agrees to do it for the sake of his family, and so you must now travel around, looking for these outlaws. Throughout the game, you have to travel between towns and countries to complete quests for people in need, so you can earn the trust of the people who can help John find his old friends and kill them. On top of the things you must do to progress, the game has a huge amount of sidequests that will earn you honor and fame, which will help unlock more side-quests, so you can get more done, and get more found. The world in this game is big, and I mean really big. It's almost as huge as the world in Elder Scrolls IV, if not bigger. So you'll never get bored of exploring the beautiful landscapes of New Austin Texas. The combat system is pretty much flawless, it's just like many other 3rd person shooter systems, you hold a button to aim over Johns shoulder, and press another to shoot. The crosshair is pretty small, it's basically a tiny white dot, but believe it or not, it's not hard to get used to at all, cause once you learn the dead-eye targeting system, you won't care how big the crosshair is. With the dead-eye system, you can freeze time, and place you crosshair on the enemy, and set your spots where you want to shoot your enemy, then once you release the time freeze, John will automatically shoot in those exact spots. Of course this has limitations, you have a dead-eye meter, and once it runs out, no dead-eye for a while. Don't like it? Tough luck cowboy. The game has all the freedom of a GTA game, you can go around and rec havoc, or you can help the good towns people. Wanna get drunk? Go to the bar and have a few drinks why don't ya? Wanna do a little gamblin? Stop by town and play some poker, some blackjack, or heck maybe even some liars dice if ur in the mood. But how bout some bounty huntin? You can do that too sonny boy. When you see a wanted poster, take it, and get yourself a nice bounty by hunting down the bastard who broke the law. It's all a great time, and why not even go into the wild, and do some hunting? Or maybe you wanna go wrangle some horses. How bout racing? Or maybe you just wanna get into some trouble with the law like you did in GTA. It's all there, all the freedom of GTA and more. Of course the game isn't perfect. As many people will tell you, Red Dead Redemption is a very glitchy game. I was once playing the game, and when I stopped in the wild to inspect something I found, I saw as my horse took off flying like it had wings. It went so high up, that it fell to the ground and died, luckily I had a horse certificate with me so I could call another one, but that was funny. It was like my horse was abducted by aliens. lol So yeah, you will expirience glitches, and probably alot of them, but they usually won't interfere with the overall progression of the game. Bottom line, this game is great, and it's a must by if you own a 360 or PS3, especially if you're a big fan of Grand Theft Auto. If you havn't already, get this game as soon as you can. I give Red Dead Redemption a 9/10. Expand
  22. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game to release in 2010 and is easily one of the best games this console generation. Rockstar does it again and creates yet another masterpiece. The insane attention to detail that Rockstar is known for returns. GTA IV featured by far the most realistic and authentic urban landscape ever seen in a sandbox game, and now RDR has the rural landscape coveredRed Dead Redemption is the best game to release in 2010 and is easily one of the best games this console generation. Rockstar does it again and creates yet another masterpiece. The insane attention to detail that Rockstar is known for returns. GTA IV featured by far the most realistic and authentic urban landscape ever seen in a sandbox game, and now RDR has the rural landscape covered too. RDR runs on the same engine as GTA IV, but it has since been overhauled. The scenery is breathtaking, with huge expanses of desert and forest (but mostly desert). And this isn't some copy/paste job like in Just Cause 2; every area has its own unique look and feel, just like Liberty City in GTA IV. The day and night cycle is wonderful, with the most beautiful sunsets and sunrises you've ever seen in a video game. The weather effects are also brilliant. Just wait until you see those storm clouds rolling in from the distance and experience your first RDR thunderstorm. You'll get goose bumps from how realistic this game is.

    RDR has a nice, long storyline and a mission structure just like GTA. The motion capture and voice acting in the cutscenes is phenomenal. No one does it like Rockstar. This is one game where you will never want to skip the cutscenes. Espceially with the sudden and shocking ending., one of the best ever seen in a video game. The gameplay mechanics are fantastic. The shooting and aiming are much improved from GTA IV, and the Dead Eye mechanic , which allows you to slow down time, is perfectly implemented. When you're not engaging in the main plot, you have a plethora of side missions to take part in. You have the persistent challenges that you can complete at any time (Treasure Hunting, Sharpshooting, etc) and you will face many random encounters out there in the wilderness. There's also poker and a few other activities if you want to take a break from the action.

    The Euphoria physics engine is back from GTA IV and it is better than ever. These are the most realistic physics you will ever see in a video game, simply put. The horse animations are something to behold as well. Rockstar pays attention to even the tiniest details and you will be truly impressed by all the game's little nuances.

    Now the single player alone gives you far more value than you would get from almost any other game, but then you have the multiplayer on top of it. There are many different modes, but Free Roam is really all you need to roam the entire game world with your friends and do whatever you want. You also have persistant challenges in multiplayer, just like the single player, so there's always something to do. You also level up by gaining experience from various activities throughout the world. Then there's the fantastic (free) co-op DLC pack that adds a bunch of cooperative missions to the multiplayer. this is some of the most fun you'll have when you're not competing against your friends but actually working with them to complete your goals.

    Overall, RDR is one incredible package and this game is not to be missed. It is the greatest game since Grand Theft Auto IV and I can't wait to see what Rockstar has in store for us next...
    Expand
  23. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    All i remember was hog-tying people to railroads and watch them explode really ;D But to be honest, i felt the game was pretty solid if you don't mind some of the bugs along the way. I didn't like the fact that i could drown and the fact when you targeted you could hit the head every time with a little move with your finger. But generally a very enjoyable game.
  24. May 16, 2011
    10
    This is simply one of the best games i have ever played, with a amazing story, great weapons and game play, lots of interesting people to meet, great side quests and its online multi player is great. If I had one thing to say was not amazing it would be the fact that it has alot of glitches but we can forgive it for this as downlodable content is great.
  25. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Is this GTA set in the old west?Yes,yes it is.
    An amazing game in a great setting.With great visuals,story,sound and gameplay this is one of the years best games.If you love westerns with Deadwood,Unforgiven and Clint Eastwood amongst many others,you will adore RDR.However,I found that after 20 or 30 hours the game became a bit of a chore.
    The story seems to drop off and the usual
    Is this GTA set in the old west?Yes,yes it is.
    An amazing game in a great setting.With great visuals,story,sound and gameplay this is one of the years best games.If you love westerns with Deadwood,Unforgiven and Clint Eastwood amongst many others,you will adore RDR.However,I found that after 20 or 30 hours the game became a bit of a chore.
    The story seems to drop off and the usual Rockstar mission structure started to bore me and getting to the end was a relief really.
    That being said,hire or buy?I don't care,just play it!
    Expand
  26. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    If you played GTA games before and liked any one of them. You will like this game. This game feels like a GTA game, BUT imagine GTA with more freedom and less Sandbox feel and GREAT story. I LIKE this game. Also, if you have to chose between PS3 or XBOX 360 for this game, get this one. XBOX 360 version looks way better.
  27. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    1. This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot1. This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  28. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    I never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never feltI never played a western shooter before, but rockstar nails the western genre perfectly. I loved how different areas reflected different topography of the western states. The visual graphics are stunning. I never got tired of seeing the sunset. The only problems I had with the game was that most of the characters gave me the creeps and that the plot line was so ambiguous that I never felt like I had a family that I was trying to save. Not much replay value for me though. Expand
  29. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    A bold and confident game that perfectly recreates its setting. RDR doesn't feel like it has to keep players in a constant adrenaline rush, instead focusing on realism and authenticity. The story is interesting even if takes a while to truly take off. It looks amazing and the soundtrack is fantastic. The voice acting and writing are some of the best you'll see in a video game. MultiplayerA bold and confident game that perfectly recreates its setting. RDR doesn't feel like it has to keep players in a constant adrenaline rush, instead focusing on realism and authenticity. The story is interesting even if takes a while to truly take off. It looks amazing and the soundtrack is fantastic. The voice acting and writing are some of the best you'll see in a video game. Multiplayer doesn't feel tacked on and gives players a nice change of pace. It also has a nice balance of co-operative and competitive game modes. RDR has a huge amount of excellent content and is genuinely a must-buy. Expand
  30. CPB
    Apr 6, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games of all time, and with good reason. Great storyline (for some reason I thought I was playing 'the man with no name' trilogy), the shooting mechanic feels 10x better then GTA 4's, damage is shown when shooting a enemy (when you shoot someone in the head you actually see a disgusting mess of a exit wound which is a good thing), so many weapons it's ridiculous,This is one of my favorite games of all time, and with good reason. Great storyline (for some reason I thought I was playing 'the man with no name' trilogy), the shooting mechanic feels 10x better then GTA 4's, damage is shown when shooting a enemy (when you shoot someone in the head you actually see a disgusting mess of a exit wound which is a good thing), so many weapons it's ridiculous, and a more like able character (John Marston doesn't complain like a frenchman like Niko Bellic). The only bad thing is if you play as a bad guy it doesn't really go well with the story (since they portray you as a good guy in the story). But besides that it is perfect- 9.9 Expand
  31. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutley brilliant,vision>budget>execution.Red Dead is the way it should be,amazing visuals,soundtrack,voice acting and some good story telling coulped with fantastic gameplay and brilliant multiplayer.Gett it ,buy it,steall it ,borrow it whatever just make sure you play this bad boy.
  32. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    The only criticism I can think of is the plethora of bugs, some of which are hilarious, like the bird people, donkey woman, etc. Others however, force you to restart the game.
  33. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a very good game and John Marston is one of my favorite Video game characters of all time. This game was amazing and deserves to be the game of the year, absolutely loved it.
  34. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game. heavily engaging. one of those rare experiences where you procrastinate in the game so it won't end. literally the only thing in this game that i wouldn't say was well done is the controls but a series of bullet time and auto aim features really help to smooth it out. Amazing graphics and spectacular SFX, great voice acting and even better story line. would heavilyBrilliant game. heavily engaging. one of those rare experiences where you procrastinate in the game so it won't end. literally the only thing in this game that i wouldn't say was well done is the controls but a series of bullet time and auto aim features really help to smooth it out. Amazing graphics and spectacular SFX, great voice acting and even better story line. would heavily recommend this to anyone thinking about it. Expand
  35. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    This game more accurately captures Western movies than any other one out there. To start, it has an incredibly intense, moving, and addicting storyline. The characters are believable. You really grow close to them, especially the protagonist. The voice-acting is beyond superb. The graphics are incredible. The game boasts multiple hours of playtime, and you will love almost every second ofThis game more accurately captures Western movies than any other one out there. To start, it has an incredibly intense, moving, and addicting storyline. The characters are believable. You really grow close to them, especially the protagonist. The voice-acting is beyond superb. The graphics are incredible. The game boasts multiple hours of playtime, and you will love almost every second of the campaign. Once the campaign is done, you can hop into exciting multiplayer game modes and free roam, or you can do some solo free roam - and with so many side quests and possibilities, the solo free roam itself can entertain you for hours. All in all, this game revolutionized Western games and GTA-style free roam games alike. The downsides? You can only throw so much dynamite into a bar before everyone is dead. Expand
  36. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of
    One word..wow

    This game is a brilliant master piece, beautiful stunning graphics and sound to go with it. The story is well thought out, although fun to play online to me its more of a single player game but still being able to take that online is great. I have never been so into a game like this one, so many different species of wildlife to hunt and skin. One of the best features of this game I like is the horses, the way they look and handle are perfect. I fell in love with this game the moment I started playing, the jobs you can take on are fun and playing poker and horse shoes etc. Its a very captivating experience it makes you feel like your a part of the old west, I never was a fan of and old west theme until I played this game. You can spend countless hours on this game and not cover all of the land, you can almost live inside this game.
    Expand
  37. Apr 11, 2011
    7
    I really wanted to love this game. I'm a huge fan of most all Rockstar games, but Red Dead Redemption simply lacks any real soul. Yes - it is a perfectly playable game, and has few true flaws, hence the 7 rating, but I cant help but feel it really couldn't match up to GTA IV, Just Cause 2, or most other sandbox games. It does provide a unique experience, but a few hours in, it becomes aI really wanted to love this game. I'm a huge fan of most all Rockstar games, but Red Dead Redemption simply lacks any real soul. Yes - it is a perfectly playable game, and has few true flaws, hence the 7 rating, but I cant help but feel it really couldn't match up to GTA IV, Just Cause 2, or most other sandbox games. It does provide a unique experience, but a few hours in, it becomes a repetitive slog for the most part. Great acting, great animation and graphics... but a storyline that really drags on predictably. And I'd swear the cast lines and actors were ripped from GTA IV with a western twist. The online shines above that of most sandboxers however - taking a group of friends to raid a hideout is great fun, not so much as a lone wolf, although the posse system works well in public lobbies. Overall, Red Dead is a very good game, for an hour or so, then that first hour gets repeated in various form until the end. Expand
  38. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is like the GTA games but better.Its just like GTA but western.If you like GTA games you will love this game.The graphics, the action, and the adventure are really good.
  39. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Absolutely spectacular. Rockstar have really out done themselves with this beauty of a game. The wild west theme does not usually appeal to me, but a western sandbox game? Sign me up. The graphics are spectacular and there is not a moment of boredom. If you don't fancy doing the missions, pass the time with such fun things like putting people in hogties and drag them round the cities or goAbsolutely spectacular. Rockstar have really out done themselves with this beauty of a game. The wild west theme does not usually appeal to me, but a western sandbox game? Sign me up. The graphics are spectacular and there is not a moment of boredom. If you don't fancy doing the missions, pass the time with such fun things like putting people in hogties and drag them round the cities or go on bounty hunter missions or play poker or just go hunting. The story connects well with the gameplay and leaves the player in awe at the magnificence of this game. The only thing that lets it down is a slight problem with the gameplay. After a few hours of playing, my head was pounding and my eyes were red raw. I began to feel sleepy, but the kind where you don't want to because the game was so awesome. This still didn't stop me playing it. Definitely worth the money. Expand
  40. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    I'm a bit late for this awesome wild-west adventure. Everything is near perfect and almost have nothing to complain about. Easily falling in love with and feeling the atmosphere of the wild west is not the only things you got from the game. More to be explored
  41. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. The storyline is the best I ever saw in a game, the multiplayer is awesome. There's so much to do in this game. Also the characters and their animations are well designed and it's easy to feel with Marston. The graphics are quite good, nothing special though.
    Just buy it, you'll be happy you bought it.
  42. May 1, 2011
    9
    An engaging game with a great storyline, Red Dead only suffers from seeming slightly familiar. There have been so many sandbox games released since GTA3 that the genre is becoming a tad tired. However, Red Dead has a unique setting which creates unique gameplay mechanics. The story itself is also one of gamings finest, with an ending that ranks as one of the best ever featured in a game.An engaging game with a great storyline, Red Dead only suffers from seeming slightly familiar. There have been so many sandbox games released since GTA3 that the genre is becoming a tad tired. However, Red Dead has a unique setting which creates unique gameplay mechanics. The story itself is also one of gamings finest, with an ending that ranks as one of the best ever featured in a game. There are a couple of characters who are minorly irritating along the way, but there are also some great characters to balance them out. The game itself is also very long and has a number of great missions. Red Dead Redemption has fantastic entertainment value, great graphics and sound and a brilliant story meaning that this is one of the best games of 2010. Expand
  43. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    As civilization begins to encroach on the Wild West reformed outlaw John Martson is threatened by federal Marshalls and forced to pick up his guns in order hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends.
    In terms of open world settings Rockstar have outdone even GTA IV for epic scale with the breathtaking, expansive and diverse landscape providing the perfect background for the
    As civilization begins to encroach on the Wild West reformed outlaw John Martson is threatened by federal Marshalls and forced to pick up his guns in order hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends.
    In terms of open world settings Rockstar have outdone even GTA IV for epic scale with the breathtaking, expansive and diverse landscape providing the perfect background for the games story to take place. Despite some slightly overly long journeys between destinations the player’s interest in the games narrative is easily maintained thanks to a set of characters that are also amongst Rockstars best.

    In terms of gameplay Red Dead Redemption sticks pretty close to the now familiar template. Characters with missions that need completing can be seen on the in game map and once accessed further instructions are provided. While the primary focus is obviously on shooting there is a far greater variety in these missions than in the latest in the GTA series. The run, gun and cover system is virtually lifted straight from GTA IV including an auto-aim that can be switched off for those after a real challenge. This, along with a limited bullet time mechanic, is largely successful at allowing the player to feel like a hot shot gunslinger without making the game too easy.

    On top of the single-player campaign a generous number of co-op and competitive multi-player modes are also available. After all the pre-launch hype it is disappointing to realise that these don't really compete with the best online shooters but they certainly provide an entertaining distraction from John Marston’s story.
    With a charismatic lead character and hours of gameplay Red Dead Redemption is amongst Rockstars greatest achievements.
    Expand
  44. May 5, 2011
    9
    Um otimo jogo, traz o melhor do velho oeste e lhe faz viver o final dessa epoca...
    nenhum momento do jogo voce sai da inserçao do velho oeste.
    simplesmente MARAVILHOSO!!!
  45. May 23, 2011
    10
    Despite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play throughDespite Red Dead having a few minor problems as far as replay ability (IMO) online, Red Dead Redemption is the best cowboy game, to date. It was just recently Rockstar released their latest Sandbox game "LA Noire" which had success of it's own, but Red Dead was the start of showing that Sand box games can be fun not because you can murder whoever you want. The game lets you play through a compelling story and along the way do side missions/stories that are overall fun. The engine handles really well to the demanding graphics and the game opened my eyes to the full potential of western games (which originally I thought would be slow paced and they wouldn't be as fun unless they were FPS), not to mention the sand box aspect was a complete surprise to me, and knocked my socks off when I found the amount of interaction in the world. The only people I could find hating this game are people who didn't enjoy the multiplayer, or people who can't stand fun sand box games that AREN'T Grand Theft Auto. Expand
  46. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 2 is not just a game, it's an experience that every gamer needs to go through. It matters not whether you are a huge fan of third person shooters; if you are a fan of a quality product, Uncharted 2 will not disappoint. While not perfect, it's as close to perfection as a game can come.
  47. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Well everyone who says this game is just GTAIV in a western setting is smoking some terrible crap lol actually if anything its better than the GTA series the story is compelling and i actually cared about John Marston. Niko Bellic and that other Italian character i seem to forget about i just dont really care what happens to them now john marston, he has character his background story mayWell everyone who says this game is just GTAIV in a western setting is smoking some terrible crap lol actually if anything its better than the GTA series the story is compelling and i actually cared about John Marston. Niko Bellic and that other Italian character i seem to forget about i just dont really care what happens to them now john marston, he has character his background story may be a little cliche but never the less its solid. The game's setting puts you right in a western movie, Every character is either meaningful or just amusing, Besides riding your horse in chase or running away from bad guys in the open west is much more fun that a city infested with bad AI drivers. Voice acting is solid too a lot of the dialogue and way of talk back then is implemented in the game yeah that might not be a big deal but it was for me. As for the graphics theyre solid not AMAZING but solid. The Gameplay is just about the same as GTAIV of course with a few additions, youre a western gunslinger and this is where the setting makes all the difference, the mutiplayer in my opinion could use some work but it is quite solid and fun!... Over all this game is FREAKIN AWESOME its definitely a keeper and worth paying money for it, Ive never played through a rockstar game twice until Red Dead Redemption was released Expand
  48. May 26, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the greatest game I've ever played. It's a game of firsts.It's the first game to actually make me stop and look at the scenery, the first game that I completed 100%, the first game that I still play a year later, the first game that brought me to tears and I'm not just talking about the end. The pleasence house stranger mission made me feel so bad when I hurt an old man just to save some dollars.End comments: This game is art. Expand
  49. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Rockstar may have taken the action to 1911, but this is BY FAR one of the best open world games out there! Sure you cant drive a car but this game has the best gunplay ive ever seen.
  50. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    This really is a tour de force. The more I play, the better it gets. Keep coming back to this time and time again, which makes it very special. One thing to note, I think it needs an HD setup. I first played before my TV was upgraded, and it needs the detail of HD to be fully appreciated.
  51. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    Pretty good open world game with an underused western theme. The revenge and redemption of John Marston hooks you into the story and game play, which are pretty decent. The story is pretty good for a traditional, "I need to hunt down my old comrades, who are now my enemies, to save someone." Your character John seems bi-polar at seems points and despite your actions in the game (lawful orPretty good open world game with an underused western theme. The revenge and redemption of John Marston hooks you into the story and game play, which are pretty decent. The story is pretty good for a traditional, "I need to hunt down my old comrades, who are now my enemies, to save someone." Your character John seems bi-polar at seems points and despite your actions in the game (lawful or criminal) will completely act neutral though most of the story.

    Game play can get a bit repetitive and you will NEED deadeye in the harder parts of the game if you decide to take off the casual auto-lock aim(lol casuals). Overall a fun game worth your time with a twist ending
    Collapse
  52. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. There has never been a better soundtrack available on any game. The landscape is absolutely gorgeous. The special effects are mind blowing. The weather changes... sunrise, sunset, dusk, midnight, dawn....seriously, they make me gasp...they are so artfully done and really convince you about the passing of time. Yes, this is GTA on a horse. Yes,This is my favorite game of all time. There has never been a better soundtrack available on any game. The landscape is absolutely gorgeous. The special effects are mind blowing. The weather changes... sunrise, sunset, dusk, midnight, dawn....seriously, they make me gasp...they are so artfully done and really convince you about the passing of time. Yes, this is GTA on a horse. Yes, Rockstar has the same formula for all of their releases....but that is why they are the best. They have perfected this genre. So why change something that works. I'm sure they will innovate and grow with future releases...but they pull off the cowboy version and go on to create the best western game of all time. After a year and a half of playing this game, I still love it, and I still enjoy the multiplayer. There are some incredibly skilled players playing Red Dead Redemption and I have met some really great people during my time playing. This is a must have game. As close to perfect as it gets as it offers something for every player. Expand
  53. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a blast!! The storyline is awesome, a huge world to explore, cool gameplay mechanics like Deadeye and the best graphics out there. This is more than Grand Theft Auto 4 with horses. I strongly recommend this game to gamers everywhere. 10/10
  54. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For me the best game of the year 2010, excelent graphics, nice sound and jogability, nice adaptation of wild west, and for bad critics: isn't a GTA, isn't all sandboox are "GTA'S", this game is RED DEAD a great game adapted on wild west with great story to tell about the protagonist.
    This game is for lovers of games adapteds in a antigue epic, isnt for bad players.
    Expand
  55. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    Melhor visualizado em: criticalplayer.com.br Exaltado como o jogo do ano de 2010, Red Dead Redemption, não é tudo isso...

    Está longe de ser um jogo ruim, mas creio que há uma devoção excessiva. Ã
  56. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded theBEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am obsessed with this game and I haven't even played multiplayer yet. The story is fantastic you learn to care for this character and the people around him you also learn to hate certain characters it has a Fallout like karma system. It looks like they have filmed this in 1000000000000000000000p. It sounds like they have recorded the real old west with todays sound technology it is awesome 100000/10 Expand
  57. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    Experience the wild west like never before.In Red Dead Redemption you play with the wild gunslinger John Martson who is trying to revenge against the gangster who left him to die.The game is an open world style like Gta ,La Noire,etc that is the style that Rockstar games uses on their games.You can explore the open wild world of Red DEAD REDEMPTION by hunting animals,taking their skin forExperience the wild west like never before.In Red Dead Redemption you play with the wild gunslinger John Martson who is trying to revenge against the gangster who left him to die.The game is an open world style like Gta ,La Noire,etc that is the style that Rockstar games uses on their games.You can explore the open wild world of Red DEAD REDEMPTION by hunting animals,taking their skin for trading,finishing tasks for strangers,completing missions,purchasing homes to save your game,and travelling from MEXICO to US.The gameplay is so much fun because of the accurate controlling of the gun,the simple,easy covering system,the variety of weapons in the game like a wenchester repeater,the knife,the lasso,the shotgun,etc.Very good graphics,high quality textures,realistic landscapes of the mountains,the rivers,and the desserts.The Rockstar team are very well on representing the wild west by the so many details in the game,the old saloons,the houses,the horses,and the high mountains.Strong story of John Martson who is working with the US government agent Edgar Ross to kill the outlaws,in his journey he went to mexico to revenge from Bill Williamson that was his best friend,he was involved with the Mexican revolution against the president,and with the president of mexico.After finishing his deeds with government,he went to his house to see his wife Abigail,his son Jack,and Uncle.Lefting behind the harsh world that he was living in ,but the surprise is the government after making him to work with them,They decided to kill him like a dog but his wife and his son have escaped from them.Jack Martson has grown up to seek revenge for his father.The possitives are good gameplay,strong story,good graphics,fun missions,long map to explore,good voice acting,fun multiplayer.The negatives are the dead eye feature that lets you to kill multiple enemies fast which makes the enemies week and non competitive,and the sadly ending.I am waiting for the next Red Dead Redemption maybe they will make Jack martson the new character in the game.(Sorry for my bad English). Expand
  58. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well , what can I say about this master piece? This was one hell of a journey and I loved and lived each and every moment of it !!
    Graphics: Beside some minor glitches this is one beautiful game running on a 5 year old machine without any frame rate drop. Just wow! Just gorgeous. 10/10
    Story: This was a wonderful journey.A master piece story...10/10 little sad though.
    gameplay : 10/10.With many side quest and other stuffs to do!!
    Expand
  59. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    Rockstar have done it again... they have made another amazing game proving that Rockstar are the greatest game developers ever. Red Dead is one of the best games ive ever played, it made cowboys cool again. the graphics are pretty nice looking, and the story line is amazing, its not really anything like and GTA games, it still has those GTA qualities. The multiplayer was amazing, if youRockstar have done it again... they have made another amazing game proving that Rockstar are the greatest game developers ever. Red Dead is one of the best games ive ever played, it made cowboys cool again. the graphics are pretty nice looking, and the story line is amazing, its not really anything like and GTA games, it still has those GTA qualities. The multiplayer was amazing, if you ever see this game in a shop surrounded by a million other games, buy this game you will not regret it... the DLC are amazing, and i really cant put into words how good this game is. the map is huge. The game is addicting like hell. Red dead is defently a game i would play to its fullest, because its never boring. I enjoy the freeroam multiplayer because it was a good way to go and do gang hideouts with friends. I love how realistic the multiplayer is. When you are on the mic only people near by can hear you, and this is really fun when its full of 10 year olds that you throw dynamite at and they get all annoyed, and thats what makes this game such a fun game to play. This game is a 10/10 always, i i hope that another game is made, becuase i know it will be even better, because RockStar has never dissapointed gamers. Expand
  60. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This is easily in the top 3 games I've ever played with Skyrim and Fallout 3. First off let's get the bad things out of the way, the story is a bit generic and the horse riding can be a bit tricky. It has great voice acting, gambling and spectaculer multiplayer. As a third person shooter it's the best I've ever seen, there is just so much extra things to do. You can gamble, hunt downThis is easily in the top 3 games I've ever played with Skyrim and Fallout 3. First off let's get the bad things out of the way, the story is a bit generic and the horse riding can be a bit tricky. It has great voice acting, gambling and spectaculer multiplayer. As a third person shooter it's the best I've ever seen, there is just so much extra things to do. You can gamble, hunt down bounties, watch a movie and piss off the local gang, to name a few. But the most impressive thing is the graphics on a big tv it's the best I've ever seen. Rarely do you get a game so flawless you become so immersed that you wish you lived in the old west. Expand
  61. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Maybe not the best from rockstar, but certainly not the worst. It isn't exactly GTA 4 set in the wild wild west,but anyone who has played gta 4 will find similarities with rdr and gta 4 . But perhaps Red Dead Redemption's greatest asset is it's story. It's a story that really makes the gamer feel the pain and agony of the protagonist. The side missions are varied and fun and also have a significant impact on either you fame or honor or maybe even both depending on how you complete the missions. Overall, this game may not satisfy those who anticipate a carbon copy of gta 4 set in the wild west, but it will definitely satisfy or even touch those looking for an engaging story, some fun side missions and an immersive last frontier experience such as myself. Well done Rockstar. Expand
  62. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    Wow this has to be the greatest open world game ever. The characters and story are great. The multiplayer is thoroughly enjoyable. Rockstar have really made an amazing game. I can't wait what they do next
  63. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    I'll start with the good, I suppose. The visuals are gorgeous - sweeping landscapes and beautiful effects (especially the weather. The story will last you 20+ hours, and the missions for the story are generally very enjoyable and varied. Now, for the bad. I was unimpressed with the open world, mainly because there was hardly anything worthwhile to do outside the story missions. SidequestsI'll start with the good, I suppose. The visuals are gorgeous - sweeping landscapes and beautiful effects (especially the weather. The story will last you 20+ hours, and the missions for the story are generally very enjoyable and varied. Now, for the bad. I was unimpressed with the open world, mainly because there was hardly anything worthwhile to do outside the story missions. Sidequests were very unrewarding, and collecting bounties and **** jobs get old very, very fast. Some of the game's mechanics feel broken, or just unfair (Such as instantaneously dying when you enter water, or surrendering to the authorities but still end up being gunned down by them.) I did like this game, but once the main story is beaten, there is little to no reason to keep playing in my opinion. It makes for a good 20+ hour single player experience, but that's really the only place it shines. Expand
  64. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    Red Dead Redemption is a hard game for me to review. On the one hand, I want to approach it fairly and with an open mind, but on the other, I have a passionate hatred for how one big-name reviewer in particular gave it a ridiculous number of Game of the Year awards.

    Trying to start from a fresh, simple gamerâ
  65. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This game is relatively easy to finish, and is basically a re-skin of GTA4. This is exactly what I like about it, because I didn't like GTA4 all that much, the story was lame to me. With a western theme, it seemed to spring to life. It has zero replay value for the story, but you can really be immersed in the environment here. There is a lot to love about the game, with difficultThis game is relatively easy to finish, and is basically a re-skin of GTA4. This is exactly what I like about it, because I didn't like GTA4 all that much, the story was lame to me. With a western theme, it seemed to spring to life. It has zero replay value for the story, but you can really be immersed in the environment here. There is a lot to love about the game, with difficult achievements that will milk you for 100 hours of your time into it. Is anyone that crazy? Yep. The undead nightmare expansion is nice as well. It all plays out like a movie, and not surprisingly that is what the market wanted at the time. This is the only viable western game to date. Now for a romanesque re-skinning of GTA4, please. Expand
  66. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Tis is simply put one of the most wonderful games ive had the pleasure to play. I can spend hours on this game doing every little thing, just riding about and taking in the landscape and the story is grand and bittersweet. Rockstar have provided a great game and then lavised a bunch of extras on top of it and thats even before you get to the multiplayer mode.

    This game will go down as one
    Tis is simply put one of the most wonderful games ive had the pleasure to play. I can spend hours on this game doing every little thing, just riding about and taking in the landscape and the story is grand and bittersweet. Rockstar have provided a great game and then lavised a bunch of extras on top of it and thats even before you get to the multiplayer mode.

    This game will go down as one of the true greats.

    Blessed are the peacemakers
    Expand
  67. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    The story is near perfect with unforgettable moments and characters. It has an emotional and epic plot. The size of the game area is massive and has dozens of different side missions which will keep you occupied for hours! Multiplayer is top- notch and has so many fun and creative playlists! Rockstar has made their best game and best game of 2010! One of my favorite games that offersThe story is near perfect with unforgettable moments and characters. It has an emotional and epic plot. The size of the game area is massive and has dozens of different side missions which will keep you occupied for hours! Multiplayer is top- notch and has so many fun and creative playlists! Rockstar has made their best game and best game of 2010! One of my favorite games that offers hundreds of hours of offline gameplay alone! So ya get my point? BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  68. Oct 12, 2011
    9
    This game is so close to flawless it isn't even funny. I would have rated it a 10 but i thought some tweaks could have been made to some of the stranger missions and to the end part of the game. Otherwise i loved and will never regret buying this stunning and amazing game.
  69. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    The Wild West shouldn't really appeal to me because I'm British, but then again, grew up with cartoons that sometimes had a Wild West theme for an episode; Red Dead Redemption is a pretty unique game; the story mission were great while it lasted, the graphics are brilliant, the gameplay is fantastic, the characters are likeable, and there is definitely lasting appeal in this game, with allThe Wild West shouldn't really appeal to me because I'm British, but then again, grew up with cartoons that sometimes had a Wild West theme for an episode; Red Dead Redemption is a pretty unique game; the story mission were great while it lasted, the graphics are brilliant, the gameplay is fantastic, the characters are likeable, and there is definitely lasting appeal in this game, with all the gambling games available; any GTA lover will adore this game Expand
  70. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    While most of the aspects,ideas or to say a similar platform of game play taken from grand theft auto franchise.The game has also got its own distinction such as portraying old west, horse and carriage ride and of all the cow boy lingo.
  71. neo
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game has been in stores for some time now. When you look at are still blown by how good they are. The characters move very realistic and the shadows fit in perfectly. It really is amazing to see the sun set down when riding on your horse through the sand. The sound is great too because of the great voice actors of the game. The gameplay is almost perfect, the shooting works great andThis game has been in stores for some time now. When you look at are still blown by how good they are. The characters move very realistic and the shadows fit in perfectly. It really is amazing to see the sun set down when riding on your horse through the sand. The sound is great too because of the great voice actors of the game. The gameplay is almost perfect, the shooting works great and the controls are easy to use. The game has so much to offer next to it's great missions. You can do everything a cowboy wants to do. There are tons of random events and side quests. The storyline is great too, overal this game really deserves a 10! Expand
  72. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Feel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can have fun just being a lunatic shooting at strangers ect. Love the fact you can play it outlaw or hero and even intermix the two. It's a must have game just for the fact you don't have to try too hard in order to have fun. Bullet time is a blast as well,Feel almost ashamed to give this game a 9 out of ten but I find myself going back to it so often and it is like San Andreas where you can have fun just being a lunatic shooting at strangers ect. Love the fact you can play it outlaw or hero and even intermix the two. It's a must have game just for the fact you don't have to try too hard in order to have fun. Bullet time is a blast as well, Zombies is even fun.....well it can get old. Still an awesome game and you can pick it up now 4 cheap, happy hunting :) Expand
  73. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the greatest games i have ever played. if not the BEST GAME EVER. i'm not a fan of GTA, I like a game with a bit more depth and story, and a bit more rough. The main character, Marston, is one of the most loveable characters I've come across in media. He's got a lot of history, and is trying to do things to make life better for his family. an x-gunslinger has been doneThis game is one of the greatest games i have ever played. if not the BEST GAME EVER. i'm not a fan of GTA, I like a game with a bit more depth and story, and a bit more rough. The main character, Marston, is one of the most loveable characters I've come across in media. He's got a lot of history, and is trying to do things to make life better for his family. an x-gunslinger has been done many times before in hollywood, but this game sheds another light on the whole cliche. If you like a good story, with an awesome ending (you will cry.) buy this game.

    As for the gameplay, every moment I've spent in this game I have thoroughly enjoyed. The game has an open world, and it's BEAUTIFUL. one of the best looking games around. I was so surprised to see such a big open world with such good graphics this gen. Halfway through the game you cross the border into mexico...and it makes the map even bigger. wow. The horse riding is amazing. sound design and music fit perfectly and make you feel like you're really there. the shooting is perfect, especially dead-eye which slows down time and makes you feel like a bad ass gunslinger. Theres so much to this game i can't really talk about it all. Go watch a video review. Theres side quests and things that are so awesome. so many items to collect, horses to break, bandits to capture, items to loot, animals to kill, places to explore... everything you need in a game, and an AMAZING story. BUY IT.
    Expand
  74. Aug 18, 2012
    9
    Really good and very original. It truly feels like a GTA in the Old west. The lack of use of the hookers is irritating. Graphics, sound and voice acting is kickass.... I played this game for hours and hours to the point Im almost sick of it.
  75. Nov 11, 2011
    8
    A brilliant throwback from the Rockstar franchise. It can be said a lot of the game devices such as the the map in the corner which have been drawn from GTA but the open space environment gives a fresh feel to the game. At times the storyline does drag on with limited side quests for contrast in comparison to its other sandbox rivals. The on-line lacks something, there are times when youA brilliant throwback from the Rockstar franchise. It can be said a lot of the game devices such as the the map in the corner which have been drawn from GTA but the open space environment gives a fresh feel to the game. At times the storyline does drag on with limited side quests for contrast in comparison to its other sandbox rivals. The on-line lacks something, there are times when you find yourself riding across the plains and realise that you'd rather be playing the single player story. Expand
  76. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Fantastic story, gameplay, graphics, sound, voice acting, mechanics, and polish. There is literally nothing I don't like about the single player aspect of this game. I can even forgive a particular side quest that I've never been able to complete. This review is strictly in terms of the single player. I gave multiplayer a shot online, but it's truly not worth playing, especially withFantastic story, gameplay, graphics, sound, voice acting, mechanics, and polish. There is literally nothing I don't like about the single player aspect of this game. I can even forgive a particular side quest that I've never been able to complete. This review is strictly in terms of the single player. I gave multiplayer a shot online, but it's truly not worth playing, especially with titles like Halo, Call of Duty, Gears of War, and Battlefield out there. If you want this game for the multiplayer, save your money. If you want, what is in my mind, the best single player game available on the 360, buy it. Expand
  77. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    un juegazo aunque a veces en numerosos tramos del juego le falta ritmo
    (las misiones de vaquero son un coñazo)
    GRAFICOS: 10 SONIDO: 8 JUGABILIDAD/DIVERSION:8 DURACION:9
  78. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Nothing short of Rockstar's finest work, and an example to all other games out there. This masterpiece took a brave step introducing the west back to a different generation of people, and it succeeded. A gripping storyline, gorgeous graphics, lots of side missions, a vibrant and gritty atmosphere, solid multiplayer, a beautiful score, Red Dead Redemption is gaming at its finest.
  79. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    An absolute Masterpiece. With a Capital M! Truly an open world where you can get lost in. The attention to detail is outstanding! Plus once you finish the excellent story the multiplayer is a lot of fun. At least its a lot of fun for an old fart like myself that can't keep up with the Call of Duties of the world.
  80. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    I loved it ! It was a fun and amazing story. The game play was average and the graphics were soso. What keep me playing was the story. Shocked and AWE when a game makes you drop your jaw you know it was worth the money. A good story can bring a game back from the dead and RED DEAD REDEMPTION is that game. Oh if you don't like westerns then I suggest spending your money elsewhere after allI loved it ! It was a fun and amazing story. The game play was average and the graphics were soso. What keep me playing was the story. Shocked and AWE when a game makes you drop your jaw you know it was worth the money. A good story can bring a game back from the dead and RED DEAD REDEMPTION is that game. Oh if you don't like westerns then I suggest spending your money elsewhere after all its about the west. Expand
  81. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the first games I played and it left some very big shoes to fill for all other games afterwards. As a brand new gamer it challenged me but didn't overwhelm me. The story and the acting are superlative and John Marston is one of the best characters I have ever experienced in any medium, movies, books, and gaming. I have played almost all of Rockstar's games and this if byThis is one of the first games I played and it left some very big shoes to fill for all other games afterwards. As a brand new gamer it challenged me but didn't overwhelm me. The story and the acting are superlative and John Marston is one of the best characters I have ever experienced in any medium, movies, books, and gaming. I have played almost all of Rockstar's games and this if by far the best. It owes a lot I must say to an old game called Gun which I played after Red Dead and I highly recommend it but it is still a very special and unique gaming experience. I am just one voice in the Red Dead army but as a burgeoning gamer this game got me hooked on gaming for life. Expand
  82. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    It was actually pretty good. The gameplay was fun and I enjoyed playing it. The mission objectives are a bit too repetitive, There are quite a few bugs and glitches (some of that freeze the game and force you to shut it down and restart it), and the gameplay doesnt feature much for originality (far too similar to GTA, yes I know its made by the same company). Other then that it was goodIt was actually pretty good. The gameplay was fun and I enjoyed playing it. The mission objectives are a bit too repetitive, There are quite a few bugs and glitches (some of that freeze the game and force you to shut it down and restart it), and the gameplay doesnt feature much for originality (far too similar to GTA, yes I know its made by the same company). Other then that it was good and well worth playing. Expand
  83. Dec 16, 2011
    10
    Upon borrowing this game from a friend, I did not wish to return it. Though I hate western films (spaghetti western), I instantly fell in love with this game. The concept, the gameplay, storyline, characters, jobs, all of it. I was even so tempted to play Undead Redemption, but my fear of screaming my lungs out whilst in the middle of gaming was too large a risk.
  84. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    I really liked this game. I bought it on a whim, not expecting that much, and really liked it. Good story, plus its a nice open world, even if the story line is thrown at you rather forcibly if you stray near the story 'trigger points'. Only two things I didn't like - and both were probably down to my limited button pushing skills, One was, when I was out hunting wildlife like vultures andI really liked this game. I bought it on a whim, not expecting that much, and really liked it. Good story, plus its a nice open world, even if the story line is thrown at you rather forcibly if you stray near the story 'trigger points'. Only two things I didn't like - and both were probably down to my limited button pushing skills, One was, when I was out hunting wildlife like vultures and wolves I often found myself shooting passing cowboys by accident (honest, judge!). Second was the fast draw challenges which I could never get the hang of, so ended up just avoiding. An easier save game option would have solved both these for me. Overall, a great game. One warning though. There are a couple of really nasty bits in the game which justify the 18 rating. If you just skim the start of the game you may be tempted to let your kids play it. Don't, the nasty bits are really nasty. Expand
  85. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    the game was just great, how many things i could do to keep myself entertained was amazing, i dont know if it was the perks for costumes or the cool missions, although it slightly resembles gta 4, id have to say it was pretty cool, the best part was probably the ability to replay missions if you get bored or just going hunting next to a beautiful scenery of a mountain or a lake, mythe game was just great, how many things i could do to keep myself entertained was amazing, i dont know if it was the perks for costumes or the cool missions, although it slightly resembles gta 4, id have to say it was pretty cool, the best part was probably the ability to replay missions if you get bored or just going hunting next to a beautiful scenery of a mountain or a lake, my personal favorite thing is going to the northern part of tall trees and killing bears. the voices were just like a western movie and there is hardly a thing wrong Expand
  86. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I just love this game!
    Well it did take me 10 months from the first time I played it for two hours before I actually got into it, but boy did the time fly then. The story, graphics and everything ells is absolutely top notch and the DLC's for once is also good
  87. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Rockstar has done it again with this fantastic game! This game is like any other rockstar game. A amazing story, and free roam with online activities. What was done in RDR was they added new online features like, having your own posse, and being able to do forts for XP. Red dead Redemption is one of the best games that I have ever played. Get a few friends to play with you or meet peopleRockstar has done it again with this fantastic game! This game is like any other rockstar game. A amazing story, and free roam with online activities. What was done in RDR was they added new online features like, having your own posse, and being able to do forts for XP. Red dead Redemption is one of the best games that I have ever played. Get a few friends to play with you or meet people online. This game is great online with friends. THE VERDICT: Red dead is a successful game that comes from a successful company (rockstar). With a great story and better online you cant go wrong with buying this game! Expand
  88. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I am of the mindset that this ranks among the greatest games ever made. It's games like this that make me sad that there is no 'Academy Award' for video games. This game surely deserves an oscar simply based on it's writing alone. One of the most gripping experiences I have ever had.
  89. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    I really loved this game. I won't say so much, because lot of people already did it. But the only thing I want to say is that I've created a Metacritic account only for reviewing and giving a 10/10 for this game (and look, I use this website since 2008). One of the best game I've played in the last years!
  90. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    Damn this game is fun as hell. The story is suprinsingly interesting and the mission are varied and really fun. There is no excuse to not buy this game. Theres alot of guns in the game but i usually stick to my pistols. Its not as long as the GTA games but so what, this game is amazing.
  91. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    I was wondering if to buy this or not for a full year, then as soon as a school mate said "it is GTA but in the wild west - whats not to like!" So I went and bought it and he was defintely right, brilliant game with all the same controls as GTA. couldn't stop playing it, this game has the story line of that of a movie with a very tense ending.
  92. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    The game freezes alot of the time, plus the horse riding from A to B is a total bore chore. The characters and the story are involving however the gameplay is not due to its repetitive nature.
  93. May 18, 2012
    10
    The best Xbox 360 single player in my opinion. A lot better than GTA IV, mainly because of the improved story. Played it for 90 hours till I got 100% completion. And I've never felt emotional about a video game before, wow, you really get attached to John Marston
  94. May 23, 2012
    10
    Well, Red Dead Redemption is one of my favorite games. The story is absorbing, the gameplay almost perfect and the graphics are really good. The atmosphere and the sound is also very well. I was so addicted at the singleplayer and later on the multiplayer. ROCKSTAR you know it, you ROCK!
  95. Jan 19, 2013
    10
    This game is the best game to come out this gen besides starcraft 2 and im pissed they didnt release this for the pc im really hoping red dead 2 gets a pc release.
    Pls rockstar do a game like this justice and release both red dead 1 and 2 for pc.
    Game is insanly good.
  96. Jul 30, 2012
    9
    I was impressed when I finally completed the game. I was even MORE impressed with the Undead Nightmare campaign. This game itself is already a masterpiece. The world is magnificent and the details are delightful. Overall beautiful game.
  97. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is undisputedly the greatest game ever made. GTA is good, but Rockstar really shines with RDR.

    Usually with every great game i get my hands on, I can usually find at least 1 flaw, even a tiny one. This is not the case with RDR. The character development, storyline, gameplay, open world design, shooting/moving/horse riding mechanics, and missions are flawless in every
    Red Dead Redemption is undisputedly the greatest game ever made. GTA is good, but Rockstar really shines with RDR.

    Usually with every great game i get my hands on, I can usually find at least 1 flaw, even a tiny one. This is not the case with RDR. The character development, storyline, gameplay, open world design, shooting/moving/horse riding mechanics, and missions are flawless in every sense of the word.

    I probably played over 500 video games in my life time so I'm not novice. I always pay attention to every little detail to each game i play. This is gamings Da Vinci moment and it makes me forget that GTA even exists!
    Expand
  98. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    A lot of attention to detail plus extra was put into this game, the great story and action makes you come back wanting more. The game has great likeable characters with excellent voice acting and the immersion is just unbelievable. If you're a fan of Rockstar's other games, this title needs to be in your collection.
  99. Jul 6, 2012
    10
    This isn't GTA in Wild West, this is EPIC, it is like watching awesome movie, map is huge, whole bunch of small details that gives you real sense of that time. Horses are spectacular, just as story. Story is one of best in games history.
  100. Jan 29, 2013
    5
    Typical Rockstar Sandbox game. Some person tells you to go do something halfway across the world. You get there only to be told you need to go to the other side of the world. Riding horses is fun for the first 30 minutes of a pretty long game. It feels like multiplayer was an afterthought in this game. So, definitely don't get it for that. If you like playing the exact same RockstarTypical Rockstar Sandbox game. Some person tells you to go do something halfway across the world. You get there only to be told you need to go to the other side of the world. Riding horses is fun for the first 30 minutes of a pretty long game. It feels like multiplayer was an afterthought in this game. So, definitely don't get it for that. If you like playing the exact same Rockstar game over and over with a different protagonist than this is a good game. Very few racy moments. Story is okay. Overall:
    Pros:
    Good controls
    Story Beautiful graphics

    Cons:
    Very repetitive
    Not inventive
    Side-quests are pointless
    Rewards are so few and far between and not worth the hassle.
    Expand
  101. Jun 19, 2011
    0
    Pretty good open world game with an underused western theme. The revenge and redemption of John Marston hooks you into the story and game play, which are pretty decent. The story is pretty good for a traditional, "I need to hunt down my old comrades, who are now my enemies, to save someone." Your character John seems bi-polar at seems points and despite your actions in the game (lawful orPretty good open world game with an underused western theme. The revenge and redemption of John Marston hooks you into the story and game play, which are pretty decent. The story is pretty good for a traditional, "I need to hunt down my old comrades, who are now my enemies, to save someone." Your character John seems bi-polar at seems points and despite your actions in the game (lawful or criminal) will completely act neutral though most of the story.

    Game play can get a bit repetitive and you will NEED deadeye in the harder parts of the game if you decide to take off the casual auto-lock aim(lol casuals). Overall a fun game worth your time with a twist ending
    Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.