User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1820 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    In 2010 this was the best game you could play Today RDR still stands as the best western gamer ever. The guns are REALLY life like and amazingly historically accurate.
  2. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    First thing is first: the story. It is great. My problem with it is that it is really slow and is not helped out by repetitive missions. I had this on PS3 and never beat it because I got bored at the half way point. The Multi-player is very original. I've never played anything like it, but it gets boring fast. I did finish every last percentage point of the story and I have to say I enjoyed the random side quests and hunting more then the central story missions. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2012
    8
    I love Red Dead Revolver, I love the GTA series, and this is most definitely a mediocre game by comparison. Why rate this so highly? Is everything that has Rockstar's name on it untouchable? Does a sad ending automatically make a master piece? We're talking about the lamest Rockstar cast I've ever seen, combined with a story struggling to keep a point, and somehow worse gunplay than either GTA or the original Red Dead had to offer. The only thing impressive about this game is the damn lasso and it's a gimmick! I'm just speechless that a game that is merely good is being considered the best game of this generation. Makes we wonder what the hell we're doing as gamers. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    I know giving things a 10 is a little ridiculous. No game can be perfect, right? Well the only negative I can conceive of with Red Dead Redemption is that there isn't more of it, and that's hardly a fair complaint. Considering that this is Rockstar's most driven, focused, epic storyline coupled with an immensely entertaining multiplayer component, one can conceivably play this game for years without feeling bored (unless you're one of the morons below that finds it boring... inexplicably...). Every production value piece is spotless, from the glare on the sunrises to the tone in every voice. People who complain that the voice acting is stereotypical and contrived... its supposed to be... RDR is a take on the classic spaghetti western ethos... characters named Frenchy, Irish, jaded snake oil salesmen, stoic natives... all this stuff is canon to the genre. There will be moments in the game where unexpected musical compositions fade out the background noise and the result is truly amazing and feels unique in this category of games. Like I said before, the only negative I can think of is that there aren't more stores for me to rob, more people for me to scam and rob, a native economy in the multiplayer.... but all these ideas are superfluous and only resultant of my own imaginative love of this game. Collapse
  5. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Wow. Very in depth story, loved all the characters, and allows an amazing amount of freedom. I get the GTA comparisons, but unlike GTA this game doesn't leave you bored after a few hours.
  6. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    campaign is the best story i have ever played for any game, gripping, thrilling and full of plot twists 10/10 must play games.
    multiplayer is very unique and very impressive only down side is online players killing on sight whilst riding around
  7. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    If you are a GTA fan or an open world game fan in general this is a must buy. Red Dead Redemption is one of the best games i have ever played. Not many games can nail the wild west setting but this game ticks all the boxes, you feel like a bad ass cowboy when you are riding your horse, killing bandits and tieing people up with your lasso. The story is excellent, you play as John Marston an ex outlaw but after federal agents threaten his family he is forced to return to his old ways. The visuals are stunningly beautiful and the gameplay is tight....... in short BUY THIS GAME !!! Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    The Great Game, The great gameplay, good graphics, great story. I like this game. I play 5 times. The best console game and one of the best games i ever played.
  9. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    A Rockstar novamente nunca decepciona, e com certeza Red Dead Redemption um dos seus melhores jogos. A História, personagens e gráficos e sem contar a imensidão de seu mundo aberto fabuloso.
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    I just bought and played this game for the first time. Yes, even two years after its release, the game is a masterpiece, for all the reasons reviewers before me have cited. I'm just writing this to add my review score. Unbelievable world, truly fun missions, good voice acting, good storyline, smooth gameplay.
  11. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    An atmospheric and engaging masterpiece, set in a beautifully realised image of the old west with an ensemble of unforgettable characters. I love this game, with Mass Effect 2 and just a few others it ranks as an all time great in my eyes, possibly my all time number 1. Just making John Marston walk causally along the main street of Armadillo and watching as the heat shimmers and dust kicks up from his boots as he steps is a sight to behold. Intuitive controls, satisfying combat and 'dead eye' along with the brilliant inertia reactions to being shot; there's so much to set this game apart as a joy to play. Its like having the leading role in an ultimately heart wrenching yet epic tale of life and loss in the dying days of the old west. Masterpiece. Expand
  12. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    Graphics:9.5 Gameplay:6/ Story:4/ soundtracks:6
    -----good,but needs improvements------
    the only good thing in this is its amazing landscapes and big maps from mid usa ages,even my mother said:wow ,is this a game or real?...very beautiful deserts and nature animals .....sadly this is the only thing good in this game.other things like the gameplay and story plot is boring...just
    riding your horse for long distances
    technical negatives: bad tutorials,it comes out suddenly while killing enemies and disappear quickly.boring weapones.long horse traveling.hard to understand minigames. riding horse and shooting at the same time only for ppl with tow brains i think O_o.
    looking up for a better RDR2.
    Expand
  13. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Clearly this is a game that was meant to be the wet dream of every gamer that is a huge fan of westerns and the GTA series. Judging from public opinion, that's exactly what it is. As to myself. I HATE westerns! To be honest, the only westerns that I remotely like are usually comedies. As to the GTA part: I'm not a huge fan of that franchise but I do like the series and I've enjoyed everyone so far to some extent. So, even with my hatred towards westerns *pauses* I actually liked this game. It's by far one of the best games Rockstar has released to date. Great characters, Great story, great gameplay, and such a huge variety of things to do and places to explore. The only reasons I don't score this any higher are primarily because of mty detestment towards westerns, and also because as great as this game is, it also doesn't do too much that we haven't seen before somewhere else, this includes the story (I may hate westerns, but that doesn't mean I haven't seen any.) Overall: My personal grievances aside, this is a great game and deserves to be in everyone's collection. If I can like it, anyone can. Expand
  14. Jan 7, 2013
    3
    I was so excited for this game after having read the universal praise it received as well as being in the process of watching the western Deadwood on HBO, which is amazing. Unfortunately, this game is an epic bore. It is (mostly) well done technically, just totally uninteresting in its story and gameplay and offers no continuous fun or genuine excitement. I really was hoping for a video game version of Deadwood - lawlessness vs the establishment, debauchery, violence, drunkenness, whoring, double crossing, etc - but this ended up being what I imagine the PBS version of the Wild West must be like: very tame and dull. I got about 4-5 hours into the campaign before I decided it was just never going to get any better and sold it. In the 5 hours I played it I picked flowers, herded cattle, lassoed horses, and had some shootouts that were less interesting and challenging than Whack-A-Mole. The protagonist is wooden and dull (although he is supposed to be some bad-ass ex-gang mofo). The story did have some thematic promise but was ultimately just very unengaging, and the characters that aren't dead weight are overwrought caricatures that just added a silly cartoon-like quality to an otherwise serious endeavor. The actual in-game graphics are beautiful and the terrain is incredibly well done. However, the cutscenes are pretty terrible with awful renderings of the faces (but honestly, that's the case for most games) and go on way too long. After 5 hours the story and gameplay never developed to the point to get me genuinely engaged about any of the characters or their circumstances, and the actual playing of the game was too slow and dull to bother continuing. I am genuinely confused why this received nearly universal acclaim - although beautiful, it is incredibly tedious and one-dimensional. Expand
  15. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    This game is a trip back in time, when horses and stagecoaches were the most popular means of transport and when wild buffalo roamed the prairies of Th Wild West. This game looks simply stunning and the storyline is well-balanced. This game takes you from the Mexican Desert to the the slops of the Rocky Mountains and constantly throws new environments and side quest at you. You will never get bored here. With the familiar grand theft auto controls and fluent movement Rock Star keeps up with it's impressive list of productions over the years. A world full of nasty characters and here and there someone to help you, but it's clear that in The Wild West.. The only one you can trust, is yourself.. Expand
  16. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Ok for the people who have not played this game.PLAY IT!!!!!! Why are you still reading go out and buy this. This is my original favorite game it is so amazing people argue saying its boring its to much horse riding. That was what happened in the west their were no cars basically horses and trains just go buy this game this is one of the best games of the generation if not the best. Go play it!!!!!!! Expand
  17. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    A well writed game, incredible voice acting, beautiful graphics and a lot of stuff to do. Nothing more to say.
  18. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Although it doesn't offer the multiplayer experience that GTA IV presented, it is by far Rockstar's best game, and one of my favorites as well. Rockstar takes all of the defining elements of their previous games and makes one incredible experience.
  19. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Holy Beautiful, lush, large game Batman!

    This is a great alternative to GTA even if it has the same feel in terms of maps, movement, and battles

    There is so much to do and this is how downloadable content was MEANT TO BE. The game by itself feels like a full game and them some, and the zombie add-on is great welcome addition albeit not absolutely necessary to have a great gaming
    experience.

    Whaddya wanna do? Hunt? Go For it. Buy some houses? Go for it. Explore for treasure? go for it. Help eccentric and likeable civilians? Go for it. Become the right hand of the law and find outlaws? Go for it. Find collectibles and acquire cool looking gear and suits? Go for it. Sit and make some extra cash playing poker or dice? Go for it. Have a duel with a loud mouth drunkard and increase your reputation? Go for it. Wanna break in a rare extra speedy horse to make your own that you found in the wilderness? Go for it.

    And NONE of this has to do with the main story which is varied and has great dialogue. The 3 large maps you explore are unique and available as the story progresses in a great way. Just as you feel you have exhausted one area of exploration, another area is opened up to you.

    The ONLY quips I have are that there is no way one man can do that much killing. Also, the getting to cover and movement can be clunky. The automatic targeting system makes it a tad easy although that may be the point in surviving with quick draws in the Wild West realistically). The graphics can get buggy and the game did freeze randomly here and there

    But that is small potatoes compared to everything it offers. This is one of the greats.
    Expand
  20. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    We all know that Rockstar can make some awesome open world games, however Red Dead Redemption might just be their best work.
    There are many reasons why this game is fantastic. The story perfectly meshes with the whole wild west theme of the game, as does the music. All the characters you meet are unique, very well acted, and memorable. The gameplay is terrific and never gets stale, not
    even 30 hours into the game. Really, the best part of this game is just riding your horse through Mexico without any destination in mind just to take in the scenery.

    An awesome game all around

    9.4/10
    Expand
  21. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    More mature, deeply developed and cinematic than anything else Rockstar had done before, Red Dead Redemption really outdid my expectations. The story is gripping and well-paced, leading you across a huge and varied map. The combat is tight and stylish, though unfortunately the movement controls aren't as precise. Firing while on horseback takes a lot of getting used to, as does navigation in general. These slight imperfections do nothing to tarnish the masterpiece that is RDR, and it holds its place as one of the best console exclusives of this generation. Expand
  22. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    The best game that Rockstar games has produced by far! Possibly one of the best Xbox 360 games of all time! I thoroughly enjoyed my entire experience playing this game. The narrative was truly engrossing until the end. The end tends to drag on just a tad too long. It is hard to go into detail about that without dropping spoilers so that is as much as I will say. All in all, this was one of the best games I have played on my Xbox 360 and will certainly hold on to it for a long time to come. Expand
  23. Sep 27, 2013
    1
    This game is GTH. What a lame way to travel. Why do western movies stink. The same thing here. It's boring and time consuming and not fun. Play GTA 3 or Vice city instead. Its less money and way more fun.
  24. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is so good that I bought the zombie version knowing very well that I would be disapointed. I was even pleasantly surprised by how good the zombie game was. Anyway, imagine Grand Theft Auto in the wild wild west. There are even hookers, lol.
  25. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    This game is amazing. The world is very believable and looks great. The frontier is very large and is split up into three distinct areas. The characters are not very believable, but this is the style that Rockstar Games wanted to make them.

    The storyline is probably the best one you will ever encounter in video games. You may find John Marston a little unlikeable at first, but if you
    give him a little time you will fall in love with him. The game is about John Marston trying to get his family back from the government by hunting down people from his old gang. The story is about 20 hours long if you just do the main missions, to 40 hours if you are going for the 100%.

    The world is truly stunning, and there are a lot of great places to visit. It surprises me when people say there is nothing to do, because the game does hold quite a lot of things to do. You can play poker or blackjack against computers, do some jobs for the local towns, go bounty hunting for a bit of change, and much more. Besides, if you can imagine something to do within the world, you probably can do it.

    The multiplayer is very innovating. When you enter multiplayer you will be dropped into free roam. This is where you can ride through the world identical to the single player environment. However, you come across other people. If you don't feel up to the free roam, there is a suite of game modes for you to play.

    The unfortunate part of the game is that it still has bugs and glitches. Fortunately most of these bugs don't limit the game, but are very strange. I have come across a particularly nasty bug that rendered my game unplayable. This was terrible because I had to go out and buy another new copy of the game to be able to play it again.

    I give this game an 8. Everything about it is amazing and you can tell Rockstar Games put lots of care into making this game, but the bugs prove to be annoying and can even break the game. If you have any interest in playing a new game, pick this up and you won't regret it.
    Expand
  26. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    I have to admit to being prejudiced against sandbox games at times. I think Fallout 3 was done well, but the GTA and Crackdown games don't appeal to me. I doubt I would have even tried this game except for the old West theme. People praise the story and voice work in this game, but I don't see how the story compares to an epic saga like Bioshock, Halo, Uncharted or Mass Effect. If you buy this game, get the Game of the Year edition which has the Zombies DLC and several other bonus features. Expand
  27. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    It is no question one of the greatest games I have ever played. There is so much to do. The story is the greatest ever in a game. The premise may be overused, but the characters you meet and the way the story is set up is great. Also, the gameplay and graphics are incredible. This is a must play for any gamer.
  28. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    It's amazing how Red Dead Redemption is fun, its minimal details make all the difference, the main character John Marston is one of the best because it set already see on your profile that he is an honorable man trying to rescue his family, the story an optimal history the best style Sergio Leone with moments of humor, violence and somber, even with not very good graphics and lengthy minutes riding the game manages to be catchy. Expand
  29. May 21, 2013
    10
    This game reserves a spot on my all time top 10. I was extremely hesitant in playing this game, I'm not much of a Rockstar game fan, I dislike the entire GTA series and I'm also not a western-theme fan. So I approached the game negatively and was extremely surprised at how much I enjoyed it. The story, though excellent, was overly drawn out on purpose to give more of an engaging and enveloping presence in the game's environment. However in doing so it made the game even more tedious at times than most other sandbox games. One thing that I must point out is that there are moments in this game that will stick with you for the rest of your life. It's incredibly rare to find that in a video game. The entire experience surrounding "far away" is truly unforgettable. Expand
  30. May 5, 2013
    10
    One of greatest game ever made. Really rockstar games never fail in your games, this game really is between the best of this generation. The graphics, the soundrack, the ambientation and mainly the plot, a deep story that holds the attention of the player. The multiplayer mode is somewhat simple, but verry funny, probably you will spend some hours in this mode. My criticisms for this game are the best. But as every game, Red Dead Redemption has its bugs and glitches, but are few of them. Finnaly, Red Dead Redemption is a game that every owner of an Xbox 360 or a PS3 must have. A deserved 10/10. Expand
  31. Aug 27, 2013
    4
    Can't do half the things you can do in a GTA game. Die when entering waist deep water. Retarded fast traveling system. Pointless awards from challenges. Riding a horse isn't nearly as fun as riding a car. Accidentally target someone and you get into a lot of trouble. Controls suck as if you're used to keyboard mouse. Can't tell friends from enemies in a gun fight.
  32. May 14, 2013
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is one of my favorite games of all time. The gameplay are fine tuned to perfection. The graphics are just gorgeous. and its sheer amount of content will make your jaw drop. I would go with the game of the year edition if I were you. Please don't miss out on one of the best video games ever created.
  33. May 30, 2013
    8
    I am not a fan of Grand Theft Auto or Rockstar, but this was a well put together game. I enjoyed running around as a gunslinger and killing people for my noble quest of rescuing my family. John Marston is an awesome character and is well developed. This easily offers 40+ hours of gameplay, but once you finish the campaign and side missions, there isn't a whole lot left to do. However it does have multiplayer so there is some stuff to do. Worth checking out. Expand
  34. Dec 7, 2013
    6
    Being late to begin this game I thought I should of started after hearing the amazing reviews the game got. Needless to say I was disappointed. I hated the shooting mechanics which were similar to Gta's (too easy) the story became boring at about half way making the game feel like a chore. The only interesting thing about this game was the excellent characters and voice acting other then that the game was extremely repetitive. I would not recommend this game to anyone, don't waste your time and money. Expand
  35. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    Absolutely incredible, Red Dead Redemption is the masterpiece of Rockstar's wonderful collection of games. Every piece of the game is simply amazing. Whether its the emotional story-line, (I actually found myself crying at one point), or the just as interesting multiplayer. (Which pleasantly surprised me) After I finished the single-player, I found myself playing countless hours of free-roam with the posse edition being a great aspect of free-roam.

    If you find yourself with some time and cash to spare, definitely take your time to pick up Red Dead Redemption. Combined with the great price for the game of the year edition, there is almost no excuse not to play a game as splendid as this.
    Expand
  36. Jun 9, 2013
    6
    Red Dead Redemption is a pretty decent game, but nothing all that spectacular. Anyone who says this is better than Grand Theft Auto, I would have to argue with them.

    John Marston eventually becomes a pretty cool character, during the majority of the start of the game he is just incredibly nice and cheesy. He becomes developed over time, but still the beginning was just not in place with
    the rest of the game. The majority of the other characters aren't all that interesting, (with a few exceptions).

    Missions for the most part are awesome, but once again there are some bad ones. What I am mainly talking about are the herding missions. Those missions are annoying and not fun at all, and they happen entirely too many times. Otherwise, the missions are a blast. I also really liked the dead eye feature, which was fun to use.

    Red Dead Redemption is an alright game, but doesn't live up to the hype.
    Expand
  37. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    This game is AWESOME. I honestly don't know how RockStar could make this games varied locations like a desert, grassy plains or forest fun and interesting but they did it. it has extremely fun gameplay and dead eye is a cool way of killing your enemys. the story is awesome and the characters are fun and interesting (John Marston is one of my favorite video game characters of all time) if you are wondering how the seemingly basic locations can be fun I will tell you, detail and random events. in fact I had more random events in 1 hour of this game then 3 playthroughs of skyrim. they even have multiplayer and it is not just a generic death match you actually free roam the world and you can form a posse with other players where you can all just become one big gang of outlaws. so buy this game because I bought it only this year for only $20 and I now know what I have was missing. trust me you will love this Expand
  38. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    An epic western that follows the actions of a husband and father that will do anything for his family from hunting down those he used to consider friends to leading a revolution in mexico John Marston is the living definition of Redemption.

    10 out of 10
  39. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    This game cant be better, it is perfect as a third person shooter, as a sand box, as an open world game and as a western story. The story is great and it will take a good time to finish it.
  40. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This game, if not my favorite game of all time it is definitely in the top three. This game is the best game Rockstar Games has ever created, which is saying a lot.

    The sheer amount of detail in this game is fantastic, everything about it is near perfect (aside from the occasional bug, but that wasn't even a scratch on the overall experience).

    While of course there is no such thing
    as a perfect game, I believe this game is the closest a game has ever gotten to that point. Expand
  41. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    In my opinion it is in the top 10' games in last decade and the best in rockstar games so for me 10/10.OH i forgot to mention about multuplayer ,i think that is prety awesome beacuse it has both: play alone multyplayer and servers like capture the bag ets. SO FOR ME 10/10 FOR SINGLE AND 9/10 FOR MULTIPLAYER
  42. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is a masterful game with great and exhilarating gameplay and a very in depth and sad ending. It is the best game of all time and I cannot believe rockstar made another game this amazing. There is SO much to do and all of it is as fun as the last. Many cheats can be enabled to help the not so good gamer. This game is so good and then the multiplayer comes in. All of the multiplayer modes are fun from the gold bags, to free roam. I do not care for these minor glitches because there small and the game is to amazing to deny. A 10 out of 10 easily. Expand
  43. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    I tried this open before and didn't play it long enough to get into it but I bought it again and I'm really lucky I did because I would have missed one of the greatest xbox 360 games released to date I am always looking for new dating a very into his as lots of games seem to be the same cookie cutter and not a whole lot of differences but this is a unique experience that filled all of my desires especially the desire to have a game I can invest a lot of time so you actually feel like connect to the people and the open world this game is amazing fun I a lot of different ways you control your game and no one game will be exactly like yours. definitely two thumbs up of a perfect 10 Expand
  44. Aug 10, 2013
    10
    This is just one of the best games of all time, history 10/10, gameplay 10/10, soundtrack 10/10, Rockstar
    redeemed after GTA IV, the games has so much to offer the scenary is beautiful if you haven´t bought this game yet because of the deception of GTA IV, don't be afraid.
  45. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Summary: This game is one of Rockstar's best. -------- This is a video game. It is incredible. It's gameplay is smooth and intrinsically engaging. You should probably already know what you're in for if you're looking at this review, so don't be surprised that it's a third person shooter with emphasis on the western aesthetic. You'll feel like a cowboy in this, and not the good 'ol western kind, either. It's like The Unforgiven meets... well, actually, its mostly like The Unforgiven. You're going to shoot your way through tons of mooks, and probably feel pretty bad ass whilst doing it.

    However, I mention The Unforgiven because this game has an amazing storyline. I would even go into saying that the story, atmosphere, and characters of the game make it better than the gameplay itself. You can get bored of the gameplay after the solid 40+ hours you'll be asked to play it, but the story will be stuck with you long after the game isn't there. Go into the game because you want to play a game, but for the love of God, beat the game. You'll come away from it with a story.

    I only dock a single point because it has, in the past at least, suffered from the rare glitch or bug. I might even excuse that, because I don't remember actually seeing anything bad during my playthrough.
    Expand
  46. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a masterpiece. It depicts a former outlaw trying to round up his old gang and handing them over to the authorities in order to get his family back. The game takes place at the end of the "Cowboy era" and Rockstar have done magnificently to show this. The graphics and the scenery in the game are nothing short of breath-taking, the storyline is deeply engaging and has you hooked right from the beginning and the characters have been masterfully created and scripted. The AI is also amazing as is the open world gameplay. The main protagonist, John Marston will go down in history as one of the greatest video-game characters ever, and the ending will go down as one of the saddest ever. The multiplayer in the game is also fantastic with many things to do, from horse races to gang hideouts. In short, this is possibly the greatest game ever made (except perhaps GTA IV). Rockstar, you've done it again! Expand
  47. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Beautifull,emotional and mindblowing.One of the best games ever made!!! Rockstar nailed it again(surpise?hahaha,just the expected).Turn off your pc and go buy RDR!!!
  48. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Best gunslinging game Rockstar Games....ever made. Clearly beats out its superhit Grand Theft Auto IV. The gameplay's great. The cutscenes are better than GTA IV in all aspects. The graphics of the game is amazing. The storyline's great. Great game.!!! It worthed every penny i bought. I wasted my money on a great game. So, no worries..
  49. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  50. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    red dead redemption is undoubtedly the best game of 2010, it is a game that unanimous merce any marks to give to him, is like a gta larger, old-west and not thieves, should I say more?
  51. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    i liked the whole western theme and the way they went about features of the wild west and the story is good with a lot of twists so it kept me interested and im glad you weren't doing pointless jobs for people throughout the game.Overall one of my favourite games
  52. Dec 2, 2013
    6
    "The way I see it" this game doesn't live up to the hype. Pick flowers, kill random people, do random "quests" gets old quick especially if you're a completionist like myself. The environment is cool, the concept is great, but most of the characters seemed boring to me. By the end of the game I was just hoping for it all to end. Would love to see more wild west games, but just didn't feel there was enough to this one. Expand
  53. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    This game is near perfect in almost every way. From the great story arcs to the fantastic variety of characters to the INCREDIBLE SCORE that truly brings the old western feel with its classic spaghetti western music used from REAL old westerns. Which to me shows the dedication to really immerse the gamer in this world and make us feel like were cruising the old west on horse back. This remains the only game I have ever gaves a 10of10 5of5 how ever you want to rate it. To me games like this do not come along often so everyone is missing out on a work of art if you don't pick this up

    ***Warning DO NOT JUDGE IT OFF THE FIRST 2-3 MISSIONS. won't spoil any of em but they are kinda mundane things meant more for the character to be introduced to others and get to talk. Give this a good hour of playtime and I promise you will be hunting cougars and wolves for hours...& BUFFALO
    Expand
  54. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    The game starts strong; open world, captivating storyline, superb graphics. The controls are very good as well and it really drew me in for the first several hours of gameplay. About halfway through, the I just got bored with it. Sure it's open world but there just nothing to do aside from the main quest. Searching and looting is a waste of time because there is simply nothing out there to find. The only way to get new weapons is to finish parts of the main quest. Stranger quests are fruitless at best. Most of the time you're awarded a piece of outfit or some money. But money is plentiful and I really couldn't find a reason to wear any outfits besides the Bounty Hunter Outfit. Seriously, you spend hours trying to get all the pieces for one outfit only to realize there's no point in changing because there's no benefit. I found myself rushing through the objectives and skipping the cinema-tics because I just wanted to play. But there is only a short bit of action followed by more and more horse riding to the next destination. However the treasure hunting challenges were fun, but with money as plentiful as it is, there's no benefit. All in all, a gripping (at first) experience but gets old quick. Buy it used. Expand
  55. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This is simply the best game that I have ever played. The most realized virtual world I have ever seen, where just wandering around outside of the main campaign is a joy. And then after putting hours and hours into the single-player I found that the multiplayer mode was also fantastic. If you haven't played this yet on what is now "last generation" systems, you owe it to yourself to pick this up. Cannot recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  56. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I did not play Red Dead Redemption when it was originally released. I regret that, as it is one of the best games I have played in a long time. Unbelievable singleplayer and multiplayer.
  57. Dec 20, 2013
    7
    Overrated a bit. Game play is bland, online was eh, and missions all seemed the same. The only great aspects of this game was the story and graphics. The graphics were amazing and detailed and the story was delicate and immensing.
  58. Mar 12, 2014
    10
    The story is awesome, voice acting,characters,story..EVERYTHING....there is not wrong with this game excepting some few bugs...a game like this you will see once at 5-10 years...a totally Masterpiece
  59. Mar 18, 2014
    9
    Amazing western.
    Pros:
    Lots to do.
    Great graphics.
    Great gameplay.
    Great voice acting, characters, story and main protagonist.
    Great variety in missions.
    Amazing weather effects.
    Addictive side activities, strangers tasks, hunting, challenges to perform.

    Cons:
    In game economy can feel pointless at times.
    Honour and fame doesn't feel too deep and different.
  60. Apr 13, 2014
    6
    the challenges in the game are stupid . HELLO ! get on with the western man killing his target people .
    way confusing . this game is a cowboy killing not retarted fun challenges . Grade C- maybe a D
  61. Mar 5, 2014
    10
    It's even difficult to call this just a game. It's a masterpiece. The story, the graphics, the characters, the way you love John Marston and hate Edgar Ross, and the other antagonists... Besides that, the game world is beautiful, massive and it's the perfect set. I never played a Western game, and I love Western movies. Red Dead Redemption did not disappointed me. It's certainly, with no shadow of doubt, the best game of the generation. Poor PC gamers! Expand
  62. Aug 30, 2012
    0
    I know giving things a 10 is a little ridiculous. No game can be perfect, right? Well the only negative I can conceive of with Red Dead Redemption is that there isn't more of it, and that's hardly a fair complaint. Considering that this is Rockstar's most driven, focused, epic storyline coupled with an immensely entertaining multiplayer component, one can conceivably play this game for years without feeling bored (unless you're one of the morons below that finds it boring... inexplicably...). Every production value piece is spotless, from the glare on the sunrises to the tone in every voice. People who complain that the voice acting is stereotypical and contrived... its supposed to be... RDR is a take on the classic spaghetti western ethos... characters named Frenchy, Irish, jaded snake oil salesmen, stoic natives... all this stuff is canon to the genre. There will be moments in the game where unexpected musical compositions fade out the background noise and the result is truly amazing and feels unique in this category of games. Like I said before, the only negative I can think of is that there aren't more stores for me to rob, more people for me to scam and rob, a native economy in the multiplayer.... but all these ideas are superfluous and only resultant of my own imaginative love of this game. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.