User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2413 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndyZ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  2. Michaels.
    May 20, 2010
    5
    Single play is beautiful. Multilplayer is painful... mutiple disconnects, timeouts while entering free roam, and invisible horses really detract from what could be a very high scoring game. I almost feel it is premature to vote on a game that is only 65% playable.
  3. BrunoG.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Rating this game less than a 9 would be a statement that people around here ahte anything related to the western genre. RDR is easily the best sandbox game I've ever seen, and even more easily the best western game ever produced. Has anyone seen so lifelike faces before, such landscapes. It is bound to become the next San Andreas. The best 70 euros ever spent in game this year! An Rating this game less than a 9 would be a statement that people around here ahte anything related to the western genre. RDR is easily the best sandbox game I've ever seen, and even more easily the best western game ever produced. Has anyone seen so lifelike faces before, such landscapes. It is bound to become the next San Andreas. The best 70 euros ever spent in game this year! An absolute masterpiece! Expand
  4. PhilG
    May 20, 2010
    6
    Like all Rockstar properties, definitely overhyped. Rockstar delivered a good game that lets you do a lot of things you wish you could in a Western game, but left some really key parts of the experience out. Robbing trains? Boring and pointless. Robbing banks? Can't seem to do it in MP (maybe I'm doing something wrong, idk). Want a lasso? Ok, go play the game for about 4 hours Like all Rockstar properties, definitely overhyped. Rockstar delivered a good game that lets you do a lot of things you wish you could in a Western game, but left some really key parts of the experience out. Robbing trains? Boring and pointless. Robbing banks? Can't seem to do it in MP (maybe I'm doing something wrong, idk). Want a lasso? Ok, go play the game for about 4 hours first (why it's not the first thing you get I have no idea...also, still haven't unlocked it in MP after another 4 hours spent there). Really the multiplayer is one of the problems because they could have done so much more with it. Why can't I play the poker/blackjack mini-games against my friends? Why do they remove most of the civilians and such from the cities? Why does my money disappear every time I leave someplace instead of being used like XP for upgrades? If I break the law, why do the sheriffs only come after me instead of the posse? Just a few of the problems with what realistically was the main selling point of the game. It suffers from "Elder Scrolls syndrome" where you have a wide open world to explore and ransack, but you end up sitting there not sure what to do or where to go. And finally, the cutscenes and side conversations are too long and do little to build any kind of story or interest. 3/5 SP, 3/5 MP. Expand
  5. CoreyC.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Surpasses GTA IV in scope, depth and just overall fun. I wasn't sure what to expect going into this game but it has been nothing short of epic from the start. The controls are much refined over GTA IV. Yes, it feels similar and fans of Rockstar will sense that from the start. With the addition of many mini-games, TONS of random events and even hunting you'll have SO much to do Surpasses GTA IV in scope, depth and just overall fun. I wasn't sure what to expect going into this game but it has been nothing short of epic from the start. The controls are much refined over GTA IV. Yes, it feels similar and fans of Rockstar will sense that from the start. With the addition of many mini-games, TONS of random events and even hunting you'll have SO much to do outside of the main storyline... which by the way,is phenomenal. Rockstar San Diego hit this one out of the ball park. I couldn't recommencement this game more. Expand
  6. JesseJ.
    May 18, 2010
    6
    You know, to date, I have thought that sure, sure critics make mistakes, but not I realized, they don't just make mistakes, they are all a bunch of idiots. I quote "As good as if not better than Grand Theft Auto IV" -Boomtown Okay, so wait, let me get this right, you are comparing RDR with a 3 year old game and saying it deserves a 10 because it is better than that game? It is like You know, to date, I have thought that sure, sure critics make mistakes, but not I realized, they don't just make mistakes, they are all a bunch of idiots. I quote "As good as if not better than Grand Theft Auto IV" -Boomtown Okay, so wait, let me get this right, you are comparing RDR with a 3 year old game and saying it deserves a 10 because it is better than that game? It is like me saying Forza 3 is 10/10 because it is the same game as Forza 2 (an example, not true). Its just plain stupid. What happened to all you idiotic critics going on about originality? After giving me all that crap, then you come and tell me that a game deserves 10/10 because it is identical to its predecessor with a new skin? Didn't the same thing happen to MW2? How long are you critics going to give us this bullshit? I quote myself from another website: "I know how this will turn out, critics will give it 10/10s around the world (because they get carried away with hype, not what you expect from so called "professionals"), millions of people will buy it because of the bullshit they just bought, and 2 weeks in the bitching will start and it wont stop until 2015. Then later on critics will be too scared to hate on the game or not give it GOTY because they will be ruining their own reputation by denying what they themselves had previously said. Then we will have to wait for websites like VG charts to give it biggest disappointment because they don't do reviews. You can quote me on this." And everything seems to be going as planned so far. Ladies and gentlemen, let me tell you about this game. And what it actually is. Just GTA IV, with a new skin. GTA IV had some of the biggest flaws in gaming, like lock on shooting (even though other developers stopped using that design a long long time ago.). That is not the only problem as GTA IV had some of the most repetitive missions. I could go on for hours about GTA IV but I wont, even I was stuck under the hype, first week or so I played it and I thought it was the most amazing game ever, then I realized what a piece of shit it was. Dont buy this game, don't support idiots like Activision and Rockstar, they are practically ruining the industry, they are sending out a bad message to other developers "make the same identical shitty game as the old one and give a new number next to the name and every body will buy it LOLOLOLOL". Expand
  7. DC
    May 18, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best multiplayer video game I have ever played. I have never played a game with so much to it, never a game the actually puts you in the time and setting and gives you the feel of really being a part of the environment. Blows any Rockstar game out of the water put it up to any GTA and this blows it away. If you don
  8. BrendonN
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Ahh Jesse, you are a fool. While I would agree with some of that, in this game. That context is ridiculous. This is the game I was hoping it would be, a sandbox game made by the king of sandbox games that gives you the feeling of being in a western. From the incredible voice acting, to the story, to the massively enjoyable multiplayer system. This game is amazing. Yes, it uses a system Ahh Jesse, you are a fool. While I would agree with some of that, in this game. That context is ridiculous. This is the game I was hoping it would be, a sandbox game made by the king of sandbox games that gives you the feeling of being in a western. From the incredible voice acting, to the story, to the massively enjoyable multiplayer system. This game is amazing. Yes, it uses a system that has been used to GTA IV, but that's because that system worked and is still the best open world game out. Rockstar knows what they are doing and since the scope of this project is absolutely breath-taking, I'll give the bugs a big fat pass. Seriously, this game is amazing. I hope it does well so Rockstar can free themselves from GTA IV and bring out projects that make you feel a part of a breathing world with incredible story and dialog. This game is awesome, and if you are tired of game engines being re-used, then you should just stop playing games. Of course a pre-exsisting system is going to be used in a game. It makes sense financially, and the good engines gives the designers a good place to start to build the world you want. The business has worked this way for damn near ever, and it wont change. I personally don't want it to. An awesome game is an awesome game. Read Dead Redemption is an awesome game. 10/10 Expand
  9. SamB.
    May 19, 2010
    9
    I gave this game a nine because there are always things that need to be improved. I encountered some minor bugs (character being stuck in ground, etc.) but really did not have any other technical problems with the game. The game is also very dark. I had to turn up the gamma on everything I could just to see silhouettes! I have to say it is probably one of the best games overall to date. I gave this game a nine because there are always things that need to be improved. I encountered some minor bugs (character being stuck in ground, etc.) but really did not have any other technical problems with the game. The game is also very dark. I had to turn up the gamma on everything I could just to see silhouettes! I have to say it is probably one of the best games overall to date. Improves on the tried and true Rockstar formula in every way and then delivers more. The random encounters are hilarious and well developed. This game makes you want to do all the side missions because they are so well written. Just give this game a try and you will see how awesome it is. I really like how Jessie said absolutely nothing about Red Dead Redemption. The guy seems stuck on GTAIV. This is a totally different game though that is only comparable because its made by the same developer and uses the same engine. The similarities end there. Expand
  10. SeanW
    May 20, 2010
    3
    Really...10/10? What are you critics smoking? The game is simply GTAIV with an overhaul of the game assets to a Western theme. The gameplay is almost identical to anything you've seen in the GTA franchise, the voice acting is terrible and some of the elements of gameplay are tedious and long winded. This is about the most unoriginal thing I've played all year and I cannot Really...10/10? What are you critics smoking? The game is simply GTAIV with an overhaul of the game assets to a Western theme. The gameplay is almost identical to anything you've seen in the GTA franchise, the voice acting is terrible and some of the elements of gameplay are tedious and long winded. This is about the most unoriginal thing I've played all year and I cannot understand how people can rate this anything over a 6 or 7 at best. Expand
  11. G.S
    May 21, 2010
    7
    Put it this way if you like GTA4 you are gonna love this,if you don't then you probably will not like the game.It's the same f-ing game only in the wild west,and as for the story gess what it's boring as f#@%.I think i have heard the names Miss Macfarlane & John Marston wayyyyyyyyyyyyy to many times,thank you miss macfarlene,why thank mr marston,thank you miss Put it this way if you like GTA4 you are gonna love this,if you don't then you probably will not like the game.It's the same f-ing game only in the wild west,and as for the story gess what it's boring as f#@%.I think i have heard the names Miss Macfarlane & John Marston wayyyyyyyyyyyyy to many times,thank you miss macfarlene,why thank mr marston,thank you miss macfarlene..Look its an ok game but the way ppl r slapping 10's all over the f'n place it is not. Expand
  12. BigJohnson
    May 20, 2010
    9
    Great game, good multiplayer. The free roam is nice, but lacking some elements that maybe rockstar will add in as dlc at a later date...maybe. There is no poker in free roam, or random events, I think they should have added random events like in single player where players can save a stage coach from bandits or some one being attacked by wolves and get little bits of bonus xp for doing Great game, good multiplayer. The free roam is nice, but lacking some elements that maybe rockstar will add in as dlc at a later date...maybe. There is no poker in free roam, or random events, I think they should have added random events like in single player where players can save a stage coach from bandits or some one being attacked by wolves and get little bits of bonus xp for doing so, but thats me. You can play private free roam and get xp, which I think is HUGE mostly because the first time I got on public free roam I pretty much was in a gun fight with anyone I came across even though I didn't want that. All in all the single player is great and the multiplayer is a lot of fun with friends. A game well worth checking out. Expand
  13. QuentinK.
    May 20, 2010
    3
    This game is a completely mistake. It has bad graphics (Uncharted 2 or Killzone 2 are 100x better), and poor story. There are bad animations - horse is rather teleporting than running. Bunch of glitches and bugs - carriages are disappearing in terrain. Textures are blurry and not very sharp. Game of the year? NOPE. We have to wait for Mafia II or some real, good games only for This game is a completely mistake. It has bad graphics (Uncharted 2 or Killzone 2 are 100x better), and poor story. There are bad animations - horse is rather teleporting than running. Bunch of glitches and bugs - carriages are disappearing in terrain. Textures are blurry and not very sharp. Game of the year? NOPE. We have to wait for Mafia II or some real, good games only for Playstation3. Xbox360 version is technically crap - 640p, QAA and bad framerate. Expand
  14. RyanJ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    An utterly beautiful game. The comparisons to Grand Theft Auto are fair only in the vein that the open-world genre has never looked more beautiful or contained more things to do. Other than that, I think reviewers are just comparing their level of awe to when they first played GTA IV. Yes, it's that good.
  15. ChristianC.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the finest by Rockstar to date. It uses the GTA IV architecture, but then with way better controls and updated graphics en physics. The setting is perfect and the Rockstar formula fits better to the open setting of the West then to the big city. There are a ton, and i do mean a ton, of things to do. Random events, heaps of challenges, loads of mini-games, outfits to Red Dead Redemption is the finest by Rockstar to date. It uses the GTA IV architecture, but then with way better controls and updated graphics en physics. The setting is perfect and the Rockstar formula fits better to the open setting of the West then to the big city. There are a ton, and i do mean a ton, of things to do. Random events, heaps of challenges, loads of mini-games, outfits to unlock and find, treasure maps, bounties etc etc etc. And what's more, all these these activities are really a lot of fun. Unlike GTA IV where they where kind of ok, but still more a gimmick then real fun. In RDR the side activities are tuly amazing and some of the activities could perhaps justify a new game by itself. Then there's the ecosystem wherin many different animals live and interact naturaly. It's amazing just to watch a bird of prey snatch a rabbit just when you wanted to shoot it. And the Dead Eye aming system makes the shooting a lot of fun, more so then in GTA IV. Trust me. Drop what you are doing. Buy this game of you haven;t done so already. Now. Expand
  16. AndP.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    If you don't really enjoy this game, you might be a "ri-tard" like a certain user reviewer on this page. What you need to know is that this is a landmark game. There will be other game made to try to emulate it, that's for sure. It's completely addicting, and there is so much to do. You will get sidetracked constantly with the immense amount there is in this game. It's If you don't really enjoy this game, you might be a "ri-tard" like a certain user reviewer on this page. What you need to know is that this is a landmark game. There will be other game made to try to emulate it, that's for sure. It's completely addicting, and there is so much to do. You will get sidetracked constantly with the immense amount there is in this game. It's worth buying right now! There are wo things that are wrong with this game, basically:::you cannot swim at all, and there are random graphical bugs. The lack of swimming leads to anninstant death and can be frustrating. Yet, you'll get over it quickly. The bugs don't really take away from anything. They are just funny if you run across them, that's all. For your own sake, go and play this game. You'll be playing it for months and months to come! Expand
  17. GiovanniC
    May 18, 2010
    10
    first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the first to just clear the air, Jesse J. what kind of asshole quotes himself from another website. Why not come up with a constructive criticism? I'm looking at the entire (probably really time consuming) paragraph and noticing you never brought up a valid point to why you hate the game, you only just bash GTA IV. I'll give you that GTA IV is not a good game, I fail to see the similarities that you see between this and GTA. How pathetic are you that you have to come to review site and spend an hour not listing anything constructive. Please go to another website and hurt somebody else's eyes with your terrible grammer. On to other things, this game is great. For anybody who is a fan old spaghetti westerns and sandbox shooters, this is a must play. The story shows the struggle of changing times better than any other game I've ever played. It perfectly reflects the old times of the wild west: the barren wasteland, the gentlemen and vagabonds, the fighting. The gunplay added with the new physics engine, makes for some of the best shooting in gaming. No lie, I'd play this game a million times! Expand
  18. BomB.
    May 18, 2010
    10
    I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are I nailed this game, JUST done 100%, pretty easy but I reckon that it will take most people more than 18 hours (like i did). The story of this game reminds me of stories my Grandad told me when I was younger. I especially like the mexican poncho's, (Clint Eastwood FTW) This game has some strong sexual themes which I like and that add to the games story. The grahics in this game are especially good, but the character animations generally dont support the voice acting. I suggest this game to anyone who liked GTA 4 or/ and Clint Eastwood. Expand
  19. PaRaDoXD.
    May 19, 2010
    8
    There is much sence in Jesse J words. Game has solid story polished gameplay, but its brings nothing new. Really pity that for most game journalist GTA4 - is colosus and best of the best games 4 ever. Seems thats same mechanic and gameplay doesn't confuse game reviewers even if its not changing for years. Respect 2 Eourogamer thats gives fair score to last "mega hits" thats brings There is much sence in Jesse J words. Game has solid story polished gameplay, but its brings nothing new. Really pity that for most game journalist GTA4 - is colosus and best of the best games 4 ever. Seems thats same mechanic and gameplay doesn't confuse game reviewers even if its not changing for years. Respect 2 Eourogamer thats gives fair score to last "mega hits" thats brings nothing new 2 gameplay and in game industry also (I mean Alan Wake and RDR). Its really rare to find honest reviews with fair score from experienced gamers, not from journalists thats like to go to conferences, whatch there booty girls go to afterpartys, and thats never would wright not popular opinion about higly PR'd game or from eminent game designer. For all who read reviews and looking on score to make desicion to buy or not to - the answer with RDR - its must buy and play. But its the same candy in different cover selling over and over again. Ps. Why thats stupid comparison with GTA? This game more looks like a Gun. Expand
  20. TimothyH
    May 19, 2010
    9
    Very great game. The graphics are beautiful and gritty at the same time. The gameplay is like a throughly refined GTA4 - except the shooting system is now actually pretty great. I deduct a point from what will be game of the year for me because the game can be very unforgiving towards mistakes. If you ACCIDENTALLY aim at a sheriff, for example, you will instantly earn a bounty. By killing Very great game. The graphics are beautiful and gritty at the same time. The gameplay is like a throughly refined GTA4 - except the shooting system is now actually pretty great. I deduct a point from what will be game of the year for me because the game can be very unforgiving towards mistakes. If you ACCIDENTALLY aim at a sheriff, for example, you will instantly earn a bounty. By killing the sheriff in self-defense, you earn another 40 dollar bounty. Considering that money has actual worth in this game, as opposed to GTA games in which you can only buy guns or lame safehouses, this is hugely annoying. Also, water instantly kills you like lava. WTF? But still, game of the year. DO NOT miss this game. P.S. to Jessie J. : You are a ranting lunatic. Expand
  21. SysR
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about Dear Jesse J. are you sure you're not just a spoiled bitch when it comes to video games? If you hold GTA: IV or RDR up to a lot of the other games that are released they pale in comparison to what Rockstar has done. You don't like lock-on shooting? Turn it off or join games without lock-on shooting. I've played through GTA: IV 4 times now. I have yet to find anything about the game repetitive except when someone blows up my getaway vehicle in Cops N Crooks. Now I'm wondering, what kinda game or what game in particular would you give a 10/10? Because Rockstar's GTA: IV and RDR are A-list games that deliver the goods on so many levels I could go on for hours and hours about how Rockstar has changed video games and brought something (almost) real to video gaming. I'd rather not go on for hours about how wrong you are. What the hell is wrong though, seriously? Expand
  22. ToJesseJ.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and This isn't GTA4 with a new skin. It's like saying that every cover shooter is like Gears of War. Red Dead Redemption has it's own feel and its own mehanics and It makes you belive like youre actually in Wild West like Arkham Asylum sell you on ilusion that you are Batman. And of course critics are comparing it to GTA4, like critics compared Half Life 1 to Half Life2 and some still thinks that HL1 is better allthough HL2 is a magnificent game and compering Devil May Cry to Bayonetta, because they are in the same genre and are directed by the same people. And Jesse J., stop bullshiting around lock on shooting, a mehanic that you can TURN OFF in both GTA4 and RDR. Red Dead Redemption is a magnificent game, with a great art style, many different mehanics, great story (for a game) and characters, and a most believing world that I've seen in a videogame. Expand
  23. MarkW
    May 19, 2010
    8
    I somewhat agree with Jesse. The game is fun in my opinion. It's a change of scenery from the GTA's. I do believe it was just re-skinned to look like a western. I also believe that it is getting higher than usual scores because it's a western-themed game. I also think there are way too many perfect scores for this game, someone's getting their palms greased to make it I somewhat agree with Jesse. The game is fun in my opinion. It's a change of scenery from the GTA's. I do believe it was just re-skinned to look like a western. I also believe that it is getting higher than usual scores because it's a western-themed game. I also think there are way too many perfect scores for this game, someone's getting their palms greased to make it saound good. I think it's happening more often than the past. I played GTA IV for like a week, hopefully Red Dead will leave a better impression. So far it has? Expand
  24. AllistairP.
    May 21, 2010
    6
    Do you like video games not for the challenge but for the opportunity for an "interactive cinematic experience?" Boy, are you in luck then! Rockstar's San Diego studio has been slaving away for the past 6 years to cook up Red Dead Redemption, game that that was admitted to be a "huge disaster" 6 months ago by one of the key developers--who went on to claim that it existed only to Do you like video games not for the challenge but for the opportunity for an "interactive cinematic experience?" Boy, are you in luck then! Rockstar's San Diego studio has been slaving away for the past 6 years to cook up Red Dead Redemption, game that that was admitted to be a "huge disaster" 6 months ago by one of the key developers--who went on to claim that it existed only to prove that the San Diego studio can make a game that compares to GTA IV--not hard when you are relying mainly on resources. None of this matters to the player however. What matters to the player is that the game offers NONE TO LITTLE CHALLENGE and looks to film history more than it does to game history. This is a game for idiots, to be frank. A game where you hide behind rocks and press the right trigger to win. Move cattle by pressing foward long enough. Etc, etc. It's a boring game. The little movie clips in between the missions, especially the ones where you can move about on horseback (oooh, interactive storytelling!) are excellent when compared to its predecessor. In every other respect, it's a failure of a game. You press buttons, you win. It's a child's toy for children--thus, the man-baby journ-lol-ists celebrate it. ITS LIKE I'm WATCHING A MOVIE!!! Great, but how about us mature gamers who want to, you know, play a GAME? Expand
  25. SteveS
    May 20, 2010
    10
    First off I would like to say that "Jesie J" is in fact a complete and utter asshole! This is not GTA in the old west. This is an "old west style game" that's made by the same company that made "GTA" I have no idea why Jesie J. does not like this game but it is obviuos he doesn't. Maybe "Hello Kitty" would be more to your liking! Don't listen to Jesie J. this game is awesome!!!
  26. KayayE.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Rockstar is undoubtedly my favorite game developer. There is no other company that even comes close to recreating worlds the way that Rockstar does time and time again. Red Dead Redemption is nothing short of absolute brilliance. The vast open world, top-notch voice acting and cinema worthy script (plus many other features) immerse the player into the classic Western setting in a way that Rockstar is undoubtedly my favorite game developer. There is no other company that even comes close to recreating worlds the way that Rockstar does time and time again. Red Dead Redemption is nothing short of absolute brilliance. The vast open world, top-notch voice acting and cinema worthy script (plus many other features) immerse the player into the classic Western setting in a way that makes you feel like you've lived through that time period. On top of a great single player experience, Rockstar's 2nd real crack at an open world multiplayer experience (the first being GTA IV) sets the bar even higher for what multiplayer games should be. I'm drawn to games that really demonstrate the skill and artistry of the people who put it all together. I appreciate the "Art" of game making. Red Dead Redemption is a Masterpiece! Expand
  27. VirtualS.
    May 20, 2010
    10
    This game is more than a GTA IV game with a western skin. It is a tour de force by giving tribute to the great spaghetti westerns with sold storyline, improved game play structure, and a refreshing setting that only few game developers have dared attempted to try, but only this game has delivered on.
  28. BobC
    May 20, 2010
    9
    I don't have much to say other than comparing the differences between GTA IV and RDR to MW and MW2 is fucking LAUGHABLE Jesse J. If you think this feels "exactly like" GTA IV, you're a moron. As far as single player story dialogue voice acting aesthetics etc go, RDR is on the bleeding edge of the medium's potential. Is it a perfect game? No. But it's not the same thing I don't have much to say other than comparing the differences between GTA IV and RDR to MW and MW2 is fucking LAUGHABLE Jesse J. If you think this feels "exactly like" GTA IV, you're a moron. As far as single player story dialogue voice acting aesthetics etc go, RDR is on the bleeding edge of the medium's potential. Is it a perfect game? No. But it's not the same thing as GTA IV. People like Jesse J are right to critique Publishers like Activision for encouraging the stagnation of the industry, but RDR is not even close to a product of this syndrome. Expand
  29. mrptri
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Don't believe that Jesse J kid. Ill agree with him that critics can be full of it and can get caught in the hype, and ill even give him the fact that gta 4 got repidative but this is not gta with a new skin. By his logic the same could be said about any open world game. This is by far the most immersive console game I've ever played. Did gta have random events like saving Don't believe that Jesse J kid. Ill agree with him that critics can be full of it and can get caught in the hype, and ill even give him the fact that gta 4 got repidative but this is not gta with a new skin. By his logic the same could be said about any open world game. This is by far the most immersive console game I've ever played. Did gta have random events like saving someone from being hanged or a woman from being raped? Did gta have the option to hunt and skin an absurd variaty of animals directly in the game world? I haven't even scratched the surface here. This game is amazing from presentation to voice acting to variation in both missions and ambient gameplay. Truely an amazing achievement. Expand
  30. BrandonA.
    May 20, 2010
    9
    Is it perfect? No. But is it outstanding? Without a doubt. Red Dead Redemption effectively captures the feel and atmosphere of the Wild West (at least as Hollywood and Clint Eastwood have portrayed her). Throw in a refined formula based off of Rockstar's other sandbox games (GTA, namely) and you have what is nothing less than an evolution on the genre, as well as what can finally be Is it perfect? No. But is it outstanding? Without a doubt. Red Dead Redemption effectively captures the feel and atmosphere of the Wild West (at least as Hollywood and Clint Eastwood have portrayed her). Throw in a refined formula based off of Rockstar's other sandbox games (GTA, namely) and you have what is nothing less than an evolution on the genre, as well as what can finally be considered the great western game. Expand
  31. JoeM
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Yes, I did in fact give this game a 10 out of 10 rating. A select few have had quite a lot of negative things to say about this game, but you shouldn't read their reviews at all. If you want a nit-picky review, goto IGN.com. This game includes a fabulous storyline (waaaay more deep than GTA IV), greatly defined characters, beautiful open world design, dangerous out-laws, and mountain Yes, I did in fact give this game a 10 out of 10 rating. A select few have had quite a lot of negative things to say about this game, but you shouldn't read their reviews at all. If you want a nit-picky review, goto IGN.com. This game includes a fabulous storyline (waaaay more deep than GTA IV), greatly defined characters, beautiful open world design, dangerous out-laws, and mountain lions. All of this put together using Rockstar's RAGE system which may feel like GTA, but I think this game refines any and all aspects from the former. If the same system worked before, why change it? A multimillion dollar game engine finally put to the test and comes out on top with Red Dead Redemption. This game will keep you busy for hours and is worth every buck. Expand
  32. stephens
    May 18, 2010
    10
    This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love This is a review from a day and a half of play in multiplayer. Don't let that dissuade you from what I'm gonna tell you. YES its alot like GTAIV. But to me its so much better. To be honest I wasn't a fan of GTA's multiplayer. But this game has made me a believer of Rockstar's multiplayer ability. Its madcapped crazy autoaiming nonsense but for some reason I love it. The people playing online (from the genuine laughs and screams) are having a great time with this game and so you should as well! If you had a slight fancy for GTAIV's decent multiplayer your gonna LOVE RDR's craziness! Expand
  33. AaronS.
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Jesse, I just wanted to tell you that you're an idiot. You haven't played the game, I can tell by your review. You just want to bitch and moan about anything that's popular to try to be cool. People like you are ruining the internet, shut the fuck up. anyway, the game strikes the tones of all great westerns. It's not perfect, but it's close enough for me to give it a 10.
  34. KevinS
    May 19, 2010
    10
    Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more detail than has been seem to date - the attention paid to color, lighting, texture, and mood are simply jaw dropping. Getting the ambiance of this gritty and beautiful place so perfectly sets this game apart from most. On top of the striking Finally, a western themed gamed that hits all of the notes and strikes a perfect harmony. Graphically, the world of RDR is designed with more detail than has been seem to date - the attention paid to color, lighting, texture, and mood are simply jaw dropping. Getting the ambiance of this gritty and beautiful place so perfectly sets this game apart from most. On top of the striking artistic value, the game itself is damn fun. The core missions are varied and entertaining while serving to move the main plot along. At the same time, the many side missions help to fully enrich the RDR world as a whole. Besides being prettier than previous GTA style games, gone are the difficulty spikes that plagued previous games. I also felt that the save points were managed better than previous games. GTA IV raised the bar for open-world, sandbox style games with interesting characters and story. Red Dead Redemption has push that bar even further. This game is a MUST own. Expand
  35. PlasmaV
    May 19, 2010
    6
    After about 4hours of in-game play this is my take: Lots of waiting around for cinematics. Lots of holding down one button for several minutes as you travel from point a to point b listening to people talk. The game is slightly more action packed than Viva Pinata... meaning that if you're not in a fight it feels a lot like waiting for a bus in Wyoming. The Graphics feel dated, and no After about 4hours of in-game play this is my take: Lots of waiting around for cinematics. Lots of holding down one button for several minutes as you travel from point a to point b listening to people talk. The game is slightly more action packed than Viva Pinata... meaning that if you're not in a fight it feels a lot like waiting for a bus in Wyoming. The Graphics feel dated, and no that's not a pun. The animation and movements are fluid and well done. It's not a very fun or addictive game, plays more like a sim with a decent script. The developers added several mini-games like Poker, horseshoes, etc to I assume help fight off the boring. If you've got $60 and 4 hours to kill you'd get more entertainment from a couple of old westerns on Blu-ray with your favorite snacks and drinks, or some other game. Expand
  36. AY
    May 19, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption has something for everyone, but it excels at creating a living, breathing world from another time & place while making you feel very much a part of it. If you crave non-linearity and the freedom to choose how and where to do things across a giant landscape, this is for you. If you don't like choice and like to stay on task and enjoy games more when you're Red Dead Redemption has something for everyone, but it excels at creating a living, breathing world from another time & place while making you feel very much a part of it. If you crave non-linearity and the freedom to choose how and where to do things across a giant landscape, this is for you. If you don't like choice and like to stay on task and enjoy games more when you're being guided rapidly from one piece of action to the next, the game's story and primary missions will keep you more than satisfied as well. My only complaint is that despite the multiplayer being fantastic, is that it doesn't quite deliver what was implied in all the pre-release marketing videos and such. I thought i'd be robbing banks and owning land with friends. I was disappointed to run into a bank and find no way to interact with anything apart from simply entering the building. The single player is worth the fullprice of the game though so I'll take the really good multiplayer as a bonus. Expand
  37. CodyB.
    May 21, 2010
    10
    Let me start off by saying that I was not a fan of the Grand Theft Auto series, so I was very hesitant to pick this up. This game has everything I imagined a game could be. I'm not going to write a huge review and pick it apart, but I will say this, the gunplay, the voice acting, the story are all top notch. It's been a long time since I have invested in a game for this long. Let me start off by saying that I was not a fan of the Grand Theft Auto series, so I was very hesitant to pick this up. This game has everything I imagined a game could be. I'm not going to write a huge review and pick it apart, but I will say this, the gunplay, the voice acting, the story are all top notch. It's been a long time since I have invested in a game for this long. I'm just glad I am not completely finished with it. Bring on the DLC! Expand
  38. NateB
    May 21, 2010
    7
    If you're looking for a visually impressive and rich single player game this is it. If, however, you're looking for a great co-op or multiplayer game I'm afraid to say that the free play posse mode has almost no depth and is buggy beyond belief. Players get booted constantly in private matches, sometimes you can't see your friend, animals disappear, horses fly around If you're looking for a visually impressive and rich single player game this is it. If, however, you're looking for a great co-op or multiplayer game I'm afraid to say that the free play posse mode has almost no depth and is buggy beyond belief. Players get booted constantly in private matches, sometimes you can't see your friend, animals disappear, horses fly around and worst of all the world is a horrible shell of its single player richness. Gone are the mini games, most of the population and any random missions, the train is absent, there aren't interesting adversarial free play (like kidnap missions then again there isn't even the lasso for that matter) and outside of a few gang hideouts there's nothing that requires a collaborate effort. Furthermore, while there are a set of challenges you can only accomplish these individually, which takes the fun out of hunting or doing survival challenges as a team or group. I love the single player campaign, but am really let down by the untapped potentially of a fully fleshed out free play multiplayer mode. Expand
  39. Aug 9, 2010
    9
    It's a wide enough universe in this game to get everything you want out of it. The "Gun" games made me a fan of the genre, but I found that the story was too linear and restricting. A game like "Red Dead Redemption" really allows you to become immersed and to get settled in with missions that you like. The graphics are also quite impressive and really show off what the 30 can do.
  40. Aug 8, 2010
    9
    Yep, it's just as good s everyone says it is. There are a couple of periods where things move a bit slowly, and the aiming assist is probably a little too helpful-- but these are very minor complaints for a great game.
  41. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    To whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit ofTo whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit of repetition in some parts of the game, I found that it was a massive and rewarding experience.
    The only thing I didn't really like was the multiplayer. It's not technically bad, it's just that I feel as if there could have been a lot more done with it. But that doesn't overshadow the awesome campaign. 9/10.
    Expand
  42. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is a stunning game that clips its spurs on the way through to the finishing line. John Marston is one of the year
  43. Sam
    Aug 12, 2010
    9
    A wide variety of places to go and situations you wouldn't find in any other game. I think a bit better than Grand Theft Auto IV. The world around the game looks stunning. A must buy.
  44. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Red Dead has everything you could want in a game it really captures the old Western days. I like it more than other Rockstar games such as GTA IV because it has a sense of being unique.
  45. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Ok, I just have to throw my 2 cents in here. In my opinion, the game was all-around perfect EXCEPT 2 things: First, the game is a bit glitchy, but its not glitchy often enough to ruin the game or anything. But, the biggest reason why I would not recommend this game is because THE GUN TARGETING IS GARBAGE! I set it to auto-targeting mode (called "Casual Targeting") and my friend'sOk, I just have to throw my 2 cents in here. In my opinion, the game was all-around perfect EXCEPT 2 things: First, the game is a bit glitchy, but its not glitchy often enough to ruin the game or anything. But, the biggest reason why I would not recommend this game is because THE GUN TARGETING IS GARBAGE! I set it to auto-targeting mode (called "Casual Targeting") and my friend's 4-year-old son cleared out the Fort Mercer Gang Hideout (unlocked fairly late in the game) in about 4 minutes. He was mainly just pressing L & R-Trigger repeatedly. This game is TOO EASY. Then, if you set it to "Expert Targeting" it thankfully removes the auto-aiming, but the gun aiming is WAAAY TOO SLOW even on the max setting! Yes, the gun targeting is terrible, and ruins an otherwise great game. I am on 360 version btw. However, I did really enjoy the storyline in this game. Expand
  46. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    If your a fan of western films like me you'll really love "Red Dead Redemption" because it truly captures the feel and look of those films perfectly.
  47. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play asRed Dead Redemption is the best game I have played in the last decade. It revamps video game narratives, and defines the western genre. Rockstar are well known for the Grand Theft Auto series, most recently GTA IV, which raised the bar for open world games. RDR builds on the solid foundations of Rockstar North's latest game, but also advances on the already secure underpinning. You play as John Marston, who once rode in a gang. Now, blackmailed by federal agents he must hunt down his former friends and bring them in, or great harm will come to his family. That's the basis, and like all great western films it encompasses justice, betrayal and visceral violence. You'll become absorbed in the plot, and actually feel for the characters, like you would in any great TV show or film. The voice acting is incredible, every lone wandering cowboy sound's different, each region reflects part of the west today, with different accents and morals. You'll travel throughout the desolate plains, and through the beautiful red rock expanses of land in Mexico. The landscape though, acts as another character. Everything from the heat shimmers on the horizon, to the sunset's, are incredible. You'll become engrossed in the world, and it is very, very easy to spend alot of time just wondering and admiring the terrain of which this epic tale is set in. Wandering round ranches at night, you'll see groups huddled round camp fires playing instruments, and informing others of local news. You may them talking about your character, or a certain event that you have been involved in. This adds to your ego, but more importantly the atmosphere. One word to describe the size of the playable area is; scope. It'll take you a good half an hour to cross on horseback, even longer on foot. There are random events that occur as you are travelling, a women asks for your help while she stands next to a battered stagecoach, do you help or leave? It's up to you, whatever the outcome, it will help shape your characters 'honour' and 'fame' stats, a representation of what local townsfolk think of you. You can be an outlaw or a good guy, these choices are all yours. The combat is also solid, you'll recognise things like the cover system from GTA IV, but there are legitimate weapons, and gunshot wounds, which all add to the experience and authenticity. 'Dead-eye' enables the player to slow down time and place several shots on enemies, letting go of the activation button see's Marston fire off at all the targets in rapid succession, particularly useful if you are low on health and outnumbered. There isn't much of a learning curve with the controls, and although the game may seem challenging at times, it never becomes frustrating. Riding a horse, although not as exciting as driving a car, is also fun. You become attached to your mount, and it can be difficult to leave it it dies and collapses during a fight. The music is also very atmospheric. The OST gives a western vibe, and other songs like Jose Gonzalez's 'Far Away' feel right when played. There are alot of memorable moments in this game, ones that will stay with you forever and never fail to amaze or shock time and time again. Watching a sunset whilst standing on top of a huge cliff, admiring the landscape laid out in front of you can be extremely relaxing, it looks real thanks to the wonderful art direction and graphics behind the game. I could go on and on about Red Dead Redemption but I fear that I would ruin the experience. This is simply a must play game, and will prove to anyone that games can provide interesting story lines and contain atmospheres on par with blockbuster films. As Clint Eastwood once famously said in A Fistful Of Dollars; "You will never see another one like it." Red Dead Redemption will go down in history. Expand
  48. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    There is not a better game out right now. After completing the single-player game, I went and tried the multilplayer which I didn't think would be too great. It was absolutely astounding! It opened up a whole new world for me. The only knock is you have to have at least a decent connectivity to fully play the multiplayer without hiccups, which most Xbox live players have access to nowadays anyway
  49. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    Just when I thought that Rockstar Games couldn't create anything other than overhyped crap, I was proven wrong with this game. And I must tell you, it never felt so good to be wrong.
  50. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    Quite immersive setup with a very impressive range of things to do and environments. Free-roam multilayer is a MASSIVE step in the right direction that other companies should look into. The repetitiveness of the single player kicks this otherwise great game down a few notches, but the multilayer can easily make up for it. The only issue I have so far is that ITS NOT ON PC!
  51. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This is the best game to come out since GTAIV. The gameplay, graphics, and storyline are all top-notch. Expect this to get a **** ton of awards. I love this game.
  52. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I have had some problems putting it down because there is always something else to do or to discover. The main character is great. I really enjoy all of his dialogues and the voice actor they took is super. I am really hooked on hunting and riding a horse while the moon is full to the beautiful soundtrack will NEVER get old. Thank you for this game.
  53. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    I originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funnyI originally gave this game a 7/10 but after re-playing it, I started to love this game again. And I loved it more the first time I played it. Rockstar has succeeded at making a memorable game and protagonist. The story is great and the experience playing along with the story is also great. The soundtrack makes the story even better. RDR is kind of like GTA IV. It has a lot of funny moments but it executes the serious parts of the game wonderfully. This game is great. And SeanW is an idiot. Expand
  54. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    Oh my god .. Wooow . I can't believe that games has reached this level of gaming experience , in this game we - gamers . we're proud of what videogames finally has reached .. and This game ( Red Dead Redemption ) it's 4 me the best game ever made . i played a lot and a lot of games but this one is really really special , the graphics are immersive .. imagine that u have a map of a hundredsOh my god .. Wooow . I can't believe that games has reached this level of gaming experience , in this game we - gamers . we're proud of what videogames finally has reached .. and This game ( Red Dead Redemption ) it's 4 me the best game ever made . i played a lot and a lot of games but this one is really really special , the graphics are immersive .. imagine that u have a map of a hundreds of Km2 full with a wonderfull lightning . and a beautifully reflexes and all sorts of weather .. The horses are perfectly made ... the story is perfect .... and a hooole of new ideas u can find .. and the best thing that i loved in this game is that u can spend hours and hours of gaming to reach the 100% of the game .. an infinite secondary missions ... in each place u go u'll find something to do .. just like the real life ... and summered this game i can say ... Red Dead redemption is the mirror of the real life back in 19's .. i realy injoyed this game i realy lived the western experience thanx to rockstar games .. if you don't buy this game you will miss a lot and a lot .. Expand
  55. Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is yet another fantastic game by Rockstar!! Its amazing from the moment you pop the disk in, all the way up to the stunningly brilliant conclusion. It can be looked at as a close cousin to Grand Theft Auto IV. It has many similar traits like aiming, running and mission structure. While, using this tried and true backbone for a new game is great and works, at times itRed Dead Redemption is yet another fantastic game by Rockstar!! Its amazing from the moment you pop the disk in, all the way up to the stunningly brilliant conclusion. It can be looked at as a close cousin to Grand Theft Auto IV. It has many similar traits like aiming, running and mission structure. While, using this tried and true backbone for a new game is great and works, at times it feels almost too similar to GTA. That and the lack of difficulty have to be my only two complaints, but they don't take enough away from the game to even damage the experience a bit. The landscape, setting, graphics, characters and story are all great. Some very interesting characters have too small of a part or just don't come back again after they exit the storyline the first time but some do and you become attached them. All in all Red Dead is a must play for any gamer. Its enjoyable through multiple playthroughs and has a fair amount of extras to keep you busy. Go out and buy I now!!!!! Expand
  56. Oct 2, 2010
    7
    [Pros]: Amazing graphics, music, story, characters, game play. [Cons]: The ending, boring online and little replay value.. The beginning of the game is great first time, but I was pulling my hair out the second time through. I hate that I have to rely on DLC to save this game.
  57. Aug 28, 2010
    5
    I bought this game reading all the great reviews and I thought "OMG THIS GAME WILL BE SO AWESOME I HAVE TO BUY IT!" But when I got home to play it... It was boring. Ever so boring. I decided to play through a couple more hours of gameplay to try and make it get good and it did. It was good, for a couple more hours. And then it got boring again. By that time I had played about 11 hours, andI bought this game reading all the great reviews and I thought "OMG THIS GAME WILL BE SO AWESOME I HAVE TO BUY IT!" But when I got home to play it... It was boring. Ever so boring. I decided to play through a couple more hours of gameplay to try and make it get good and it did. It was good, for a couple more hours. And then it got boring again. By that time I had played about 11 hours, and I was halfway through the story. I just didn't bother then because it stopped being fun. So I sold it and got $30. Maybe its just me, but I really didn't think this game was good. Expand
  58. Aug 30, 2010
    10
    Best Game of the Year 2010. Unbelievable good looking and large world with plenty of things to discover. It is a pity i just completed the main story and almost every side quest. Definitely the best game i played on the the XBox360 to this date. (Played around 80 Games). Soundtrack is lovely too!
    Go and buy this game.
  59. Dec 3, 2010
    7
    It's obvious Rockstar Games worked hard to create an immersive and highly detailed virtual world with hours upon hours of activities, but they should have put more effort to improve or overhaul the core gameplay experience, rather than merely tweaking the gameplay from their previous titles, particularly from Grand Theft Auto IV. The subpar controls and badly paced storyline is soIt's obvious Rockstar Games worked hard to create an immersive and highly detailed virtual world with hours upon hours of activities, but they should have put more effort to improve or overhaul the core gameplay experience, rather than merely tweaking the gameplay from their previous titles, particularly from Grand Theft Auto IV. The subpar controls and badly paced storyline is so prevalent that it turns a potentially amazing game into merely a decent one. Regardless of all the wonderful details and choices available in Red Dead Redemption, control and pacing issues should not be excused. No game is perfect, but the way the game controls and the way a story driven game is paced, are elements so important that they should have been given top priority. Expand
  60. Sep 1, 2010
    6
    Incredible story line but sub par controls...even using the V.A.T.S...oops, I mean Dead Eye controls to help overcome the clumsiness of it all. The GTA style combat was just not fun. If you switched the control settings to casual it actually makes it much harder to use the Dead Eye. In the end itâ
  61. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    it kind of goes without saying that this is one of the best ideas put to video game in the history of video games, but i thought i'd just put in my two cents because this title most def deserves it.
  62. Sep 2, 2010
    3
    This is most likely the most boring game I have ever played. I rented this game because of a recommendation from a friend. When the game started, I realized that the graphics were very good. The game started, and i immediatley noticed the terrible control scheme. If I have to ride a horse for five minutes, why do i have to press A rapidly? Then, you have to slow down, the press fast thenThis is most likely the most boring game I have ever played. I rented this game because of a recommendation from a friend. When the game started, I realized that the graphics were very good. The game started, and i immediatley noticed the terrible control scheme. If I have to ride a horse for five minutes, why do i have to press A rapidly? Then, you have to slow down, the press fast then slow, etc. The story was slow. Repeditive shoot outs, riding your horse for five minutes at a time (thats a long time just to get to a store), and a really uninteresting story. Don't buy this game. Also, video game magazines rate every over hyped game at least a 90. Expand
  63. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  64. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Out of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described asOut of all the games I've played in 2010 so far, none have stuck with me as long as Red Dead Redemption. This game features some of the best writing the medium has ever seen. Every character is given a unique and memorable personality, and the dialogue between them is sharp, ranging from light- hearted banter to displays of authentic drama. The story of Red Dead can best be described as "Unforgiven" with a few twists. The main character however is quite distinctive. John Marston is a former outlaw that's settled down with a family. While he is generally a good natured person, John's outlaw roots show through whenever he gets angry or when the situation calls for it. That may not sound all that different from a lot of other characters out there, but the way the voice actor delivers his lines lends an air of authenticity that few game characters ever capture. There is a downside, though. No matter what your actions in the game are, the game always makes you out to be the hero. This isn't a huge issue, but it does seem weird when John acts courteous and considerate right after gunning down a prostitute and looting her corpse.

    The gameplay isn't anything groundbreaking, but it is still remarkably strong. Employing the same cover mechanic seen in countless other games, Red Dead will have you with your back up against something most of the time. That's not really the point, though. The beauty of the gameplay lies in context. Every firefight feels like it could be straight out of a Peckinpah film like The Wild Bunch with bullets whizzing every which way and outlaws running desperately for cover as their buddies try to shoot at you from rooftops, balconies, and windows. There are also several epic set pieces which I won't spoil.
    Expand
  65. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    This game can be described in one word - EPIC !!!! Rockstar has done it again proving yet another time that it is the master of open world gameplay.The storyline , gameplay and overall mechanics of the game well managed and were very well complimented by the music and sound effects. With this game you will feel as if you are playing GTA just that this time around its with horses andThis game can be described in one word - EPIC !!!! Rockstar has done it again proving yet another time that it is the master of open world gameplay.The storyline , gameplay and overall mechanics of the game well managed and were very well complimented by the music and sound effects. With this game you will feel as if you are playing GTA just that this time around its with horses and revolvers instead of Ferrari's and fully automatics. I actually ended up enjoying this game more than the GTA editions put out by rockstar.The graphics were very well done with one or two minor hiccups here and there. The shooting game mechanic was a great leap forward from the GTA versions of the game making the game much more engaging. The game plays very smoothly whether it's dueling with some stranger for respect and fame, playing a game of poker or just taking a ride across the countryside on your horse this game will keep you engaged and provide enjoyment at every turn. Expand
  66. Sep 10, 2010
    6
    Ok, I know this goes against many people's opinions, but Red Dead Redemption, in my opinion, was an average game. No, I am not saying it is bad, it was good, but not my type of 3rd person open-world shooter. The controls were good, the graphics were great, but the gameplay and story was so-so (For some odd reason, I liked GTA IV's gameplay). I was never a big fan of Western Style games,Ok, I know this goes against many people's opinions, but Red Dead Redemption, in my opinion, was an average game. No, I am not saying it is bad, it was good, but not my type of 3rd person open-world shooter. The controls were good, the graphics were great, but the gameplay and story was so-so (For some odd reason, I liked GTA IV's gameplay). I was never a big fan of Western Style games, and that's probably why I didn't like it much. Anyway, this was my opinion on the game. Expand
  67. Sep 10, 2010
    4
    Just like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to theJust like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to the other, exciting. Much of the gameplay consists of what feels more like chores than fun. Activities like hunting for rabbits, plucking flowers, training horses, and herding cattle. None of it is challenging. It's all just designed to waste your time. And after a few hours you'll realize that it's just exactly that: A waste of time. Expand
  68. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another GrandOne of the best games Rockstar has ever made outside of Grand Theft Auto. Beautifully realised western world (it's huge as well) that completely captures the magic and atmosphere of many great western films, a story that completely rivals or even outmatches what Hollywood can do right now and sublime game play with so many things to do. After this, you won't be desperate for another Grand Theft Auto game. Expand
  69. Sep 20, 2011
    9
    I've never been a fan of Western-type games. I've never thought that anyone could really develop a Western title that would have any relevance to the standard gamer. I didn't even enjoy GTA IV, despite the two game being very similar in comparison. After playing through Red Dead Redemption, it's safe to say that this game has changed my mind on the whole genre. I'm only here to write myI've never been a fan of Western-type games. I've never thought that anyone could really develop a Western title that would have any relevance to the standard gamer. I didn't even enjoy GTA IV, despite the two game being very similar in comparison. After playing through Red Dead Redemption, it's safe to say that this game has changed my mind on the whole genre. I'm only here to write my review on the single player aspect of this game, since I had to return the game back to my friend, leaving me with little time to enjoy the multiplayer aspects. To start, Red Dead Redemption does not have what I would call the most original storyline, but it still works. You're John Marston, an extremely polite former outlaw whose family is being threatened by the government if he does not assist them in hunting down several of his former gang members. The story is honestly not much more deeper than that, but it does contain plenty of interesting plot twists and arcs. Some reviewers complained about this game being more akin to a movie rather than a video game, which is true to a certain extent in a good way. Certain action sequences such as duels and Dead Eye (which is essentially slow-mo) make this statement true. But the sheer amount of intense shootouts and other Western set-pieces (such as stopping another gang of outlaws from robbing a train) solidify this title as a truly triple A game. The game displays some of the best voice-acting I've ever heard in a game before, creating a realistic feel to the whole experience. The dialogue is superbly written and contains some absolutely hilarious moments. The characters in the game are expertly done, each with their own unique personalities and backgrounds. The game is entirely open-world, allowing you to literally cross the border between Mexico and Texas freely later in the game. One of the things that amazed me was the vast amount of things to do. Whether it was saving a damsel in distress from a group of highway robbers or getting caught while cheating during a game of Texas-Hold-Em, I never ran out of things to do, even after the game's completion. The missions that advance the storyline forward never stale, despite some of them essentially being the same thing. As you progress through each Act, you'll eventually build up to a climax mission for each one. These missions really allow the game to shine, forcing you through intense shootouts that really get your adrenaline pumping. Graphically, the game is impressive for the time that it was released. The character models look fantastic and the animations are all extremely fluid. Environments look good, but do tend to stale halfway through the game. There's tons of variation in the game, so you will never have to worry about getting bored. I have played a little bit of the online, and I will say that from what I experienced, I would gladly sink in many more hours to rank up. As with every game, there's always flaws, and this one's no exception. I think that the biggest flaw for me was the controls. Speaking for myself, the controls never felt comfortable. I never enjoyed mashing the A button over and over to sprint, nor did I find the game's cover system very well-implemented. I have died multiple times throughout the game due to the poor cover system. Several times, I would slide into cover and try and maneuver my way around where I was more protected from enemy fire. Instead of maneuvering to the side, my character would simply stand back up and be brutally mowed down instantly by the deadly accurate sharpshooting AI. Riding horses is smooth enough, but carriages and carts need to be worked on. I also had a minor problem with capturing bounties in the North. I would capture a bounty and wave after wave of his friends would come, which is fine by me. But then a random wild grizzly bear would maul my horse to death, while the captured bounty falls onto the ground. As I'm desperately trying to find the nearest mount so that I don't have to hoof it halfway across the map, the continuous onslaught of enemies never ceases. I'll kill one outlaw, attempt to put the captured bounty on top of his now vacant horse, which seems to run away immediately after I kill the rider, and then find myself face-to-face with another grizzly bear, forcing me to once again place the bounty back onto the ground while I exterminate the bear. Keep in mind that the animations for placing the captured bounty anywhere take about 2 seconds each, so it really grinds my nerves when it shows my character slowly place him on the ground when in reality I need to quickly throw him away to react fast enough. Of course, I've never made it out of one of these situations in time and always end up dying, forcing me to restart the entire mission. Despite all of these complaints, which are minor to be honest, the game is still a truly elite title. Rockstar has made the Western genre relevant again and here's hoping for a sequel. Expand
  70. Sep 15, 2010
    2
    I bought this game when it came out kept it for a week and traded it in for in store credit and bought my kids a Wii game with the credit. This game had nothing worth talking about it was GTA in the Wild West. The multi-player piece was lack luster. It made absolutely no sense what so ever. I wasnt sure what i was supposed to do. People were just running around and killing other peopleI bought this game when it came out kept it for a week and traded it in for in store credit and bought my kids a Wii game with the credit. This game had nothing worth talking about it was GTA in the Wild West. The multi-player piece was lack luster. It made absolutely no sense what so ever. I wasnt sure what i was supposed to do. People were just running around and killing other people for no other reason then they didnt even know what else to do. The single player game had no real direction, quests were everywhere and i do mean everywhere. The multi-player campaign relies to much on a gaming community that for the lack of better words just sucks. The game had real potential but it got lost in translation from concept to reality. At least in GTA you didn't need to stop for gas, i hate when games try to put an element of reality in the game by giving vehicles or in this case horses stamina. Really why cant i just ride my dang horse man why do i have to keep randomly hitting the button. Ok so i wanted to join the law, i see a fight break out i stop attempt to stop it the guy shoots at me i shoot back kill him and now the law is after me. OK OK wait wait wait... you say i can break up fights but when i do the law comes after me. Where was the law when these two were fighting ..? I give it a 2 for great concept im even willing to give them another try with RDR2 but and i do mean but it will only be a rental until you prove to me that this will work and for goodness sake put a higher rating on it to keep out the people that don't want to play the game as it was intended. Expand
  71. Sep 15, 2010
    10
    My review of Red Dead Redemption is basically this i think this is probably the greatest game of all time second only to Halo and Grand theft auto 4. I really liked the story to this game,the action is incredible,and the multiplayer is topnotch.The horseriding in Red dead is better than any Old west game that came before. A definite must buy
  72. Sep 22, 2010
    8
    Great game. Beautifully crafted. One negative would be some of the content. i know that is an "adult" game etc etc... I just think they add some aspects just for the shock factor rather than it's actual benefit to the game.
  73. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    I quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group ofI quickly get bored of sandbox games as the novelty wears off and this game was no different. For me the initial excitement of being chucked into a new GTA world with horses wore off quickly (here we go again) and I instantly had no interest in the storyline. Why the good score? Because a random event completely unrelated to the plot sucked me right in. I stumbled across a group of outlaws attempting to hang someone, I tried (and failed) to shoot the noose and by the time I re-loaded it was too late. I killed all the bandits and was left with a sobbing husband kneeling below his wife. I shot the noose (I actually missed again as I'm a bit special) to get her down and felt guilt, I could of changed the outcome. From that moment I was sucked into a dynamic living breathing world, intent on wiping out all the scum and the main plot has finally got me interested after an initial misfire. Expand
  74. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    I don't understand some people, "crappy story"!? What makes this game an ABSOLUTE winner is it's characters and Rockstars attention to detail. Reading Cormac McCarthy's novels alongside playing RDR is an absolute joy, my imagination is running amuck with mexican horse thieves and lonely harmonicas.
  75. Sep 17, 2010
    6
    Detailed story with Plenty of characters the majority being very real and with the strong western theme carried out perfectly, stacked along side strong, varied game-play this is a very enthralling game. However as the cowboy novelty wears off, and you get used to the quite repetitive game-play and plot you might find you never pick this game up off the shelf after the first few weeks
  76. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    This an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep youThis an unbelievably well-made game. The game world is fairly large, the story is one of the best I have ever seen in video games, and there are tons of things to do on the side. It is an incredibly immersive game, one where you just kind of want to hang out in the game world and go exploring just to see what you might find. The stranger encounters are fun, the random encounters keep you on your toes, and as I said before the story is fantastic. It's pretty close to a perfect game. Expand
  77. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Great voice acting, engaging story, beautiful cinematics and very well paced. I thoroughly enjoyed this game, despite the aiming system being a little too easy. This is Rockstar grown up.
  78. Dec 10, 2010
    8
    A massive sandbox game full of beauty and splendour, Red Dead: Redemption proves that RockStar can make a grand and fantastic western game. What I didn't like were the many glitches and a very offensive rape joke that made me lose interest in the main character. Super Mario Galaxy 2 or Bayonetta should be GOTY instead.
  79. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    pros - Awesome story, great gameplay, beautiful graphics, western setting, multiplayer has a boat load of variety, you can work together to hunt animals, or just go all out killing each other.
    cons - shorter single player then previous rockstar games. This game is worth the $60 price tag.
  80. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Again, Rockstar blows our minds. Grand Theft Auto IV was probably a top 10 game of all time on Xbox 360 and this is just another one. Everything goes right in this game. there were a few avoidable and forgettable problems with Grand theft auto IV and this just threw em out
  81. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    wow i can't believe how awesome that was, don't miss out on this game. i see 50 or so people didn't like this game and i feel bad for you few that have no taste in games.
  82. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more being chased by the cops for minor traffic infringements. No more shocking auto aim. NO MORE MOBILE PHONE. Simply put, RDR is a masterpiece of gaming, most notably the storytelling, the realisation of the game world, and the characterisation. The missionsGrand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more being chased by the cops for minor traffic infringements. No more shocking auto aim. NO MORE MOBILE PHONE. Simply put, RDR is a masterpiece of gaming, most notably the storytelling, the realisation of the game world, and the characterisation. The missions are varied, the voice acting top notch, the world is believable, and it never overstays its welcome. If it weren't for Mass Effect 2, this would be my Game of the Year 2010. And with Undead Nightmare, it's even better. Expand
  83. Feb 4, 2011
    10
    A fair warning to kids, "Red Dead Redemption" is not some twitchy fantasy western shooter shooter, it is a game that actually plays in the old west. Well, actually plays in a virtual old west anyway. The game has you rope, ride, drive cattle, throw horse shoes, fire one bullet at a time, and fight off the occasional cougar (not a 30 something woman with an eye for you, a real virtualA fair warning to kids, "Red Dead Redemption" is not some twitchy fantasy western shooter shooter, it is a game that actually plays in the old west. Well, actually plays in a virtual old west anyway. The game has you rope, ride, drive cattle, throw horse shoes, fire one bullet at a time, and fight off the occasional cougar (not a 30 something woman with an eye for you, a real virtual cougar). And you will experience the story whether you like it or not. For a sand box game, this is no choose your own adventure. The only recourse you have is to stop playing the game when you are satisfied with the ending, because like any good piece of art, the actual ending will leave you with mixed feelings. The ending here surpasses the Lone Wolf level of "Halo: Reach" as the most iconic ending of all time. 2010 was a banner year for video game endings in that respect.

    Speaking of respect, this game has it. Each character looks lovingly made and easily distinguished. Funny how video game characters now look more real than the made-up actors and actresses we see on TV and in movies. The whole world here seems handcrafted. Sparse but not lifeless. Earth toned but not dull. This is what the actual earth looks like, after-all. "Red Dead Redemption" sets a new standard for games. Sure it has funny glitches and I never did figure out how the gunfight mechanic was supposed to work. No game of this scope has been or ever will be perfect. By going somewhere few games have ever gone, into the realm of dare I say it, art, "Red Dead Redemption" has achieved the status of legend.
    Expand
  84. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    Alas I found this a clumsy and confusing game. When you're lost and don't know what to do it becomes dull. I'm sure there's a great game in here, but if it doesn't hook you, it'll be a disappointing experience.
  85. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    With GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hitsWith GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hits the ground was all kinds of fun. The ending to this game be beautiful, heart warming and really enjoyable to play. The biggest issue I have with the game though is that after i beat it I lost all interest in playing it. They do allow you to keep going of course, but only the side quests remain and i beat the bulk of those as i went. Expand
  86. Oct 12, 2010
    2
    the game is boring like assassins creed 1 & 2 all you do is run around and shoot/punch people and there isn't a good story to it. Thats what makes it boring
  87. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A truly amazing game, one of my favorite of all time. Their is just so much to do, the story is compelling and when this is matched with a superb sandbox experience it make a true masterpiece of gaming delight. Have purchased all the DLC and still loving it. Now I just want to get every last achievement, but ill still be playing it after that.
  88. Oct 13, 2010
    6
    Another "fun for 8 hours" sandbox game from Rockstar. The story is quite nice, however, combat can be quite boring, especially if you use a lot of "Red Dead Eye" and the in game auto-aim. Oh, and multi-player is complete and utter rubbish.
  89. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This Game es PERFECT and much better than any Grand Theft Auto may have existed, but I can not wait to see what they have prepared for the sequel. Rockstar is undoubtedly the king of the sandbox!
  90. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redepmtion is an incredible game, for me it beats GTA. This game definetly deserves its pace as one of the greatest games of all time. The graphics, characters and story all add up to this rockstar masterpiece. It's a must have if you don't already have this you should purchase it right away. Quality Game!
  91. Nov 7, 2010
    6
    One thing that puzzles me about Red Dead Redemption is how so many people can think that this is an excellent story. Whilst I am a fan of Rockstar games they really need to freshen up their writing as the protagonists are becoming interchangable. John Marston's dialog could have easily come out of Niko Bellic, Johnny Klebitz or Luis Lopez's mouths. I am finding that NPC's are oftenOne thing that puzzles me about Red Dead Redemption is how so many people can think that this is an excellent story. Whilst I am a fan of Rockstar games they really need to freshen up their writing as the protagonists are becoming interchangable. John Marston's dialog could have easily come out of Niko Bellic, Johnny Klebitz or Luis Lopez's mouths. I am finding that NPC's are often portrayed as creepy, desperate leeches or (for the female characters) vulnerable, delicate love interests. Aside from having samey characters the biggest frustration is that the story is thrust upon you. You are often forced to ride long distances listening to dreary, unfunny, chatter whilst doing nothing more difficult than holding the A button (to ride your horse alongside your companion). When you get to a mission the gameplay is dull, simple and repetitive - you will more or less complete the game and die only a handful of times.
    The game looks stunning, helped by excellent lighting and animations and the sound design helps build atmosphere (especially the rain effects!) but Red Dead Redemption is more of a tech. demo than a challenging game. If Rockstar allowed you to tell your own story within their games rather than being fixated on replicating movies then they would make something truly timeless, unfortunately this game is a miss in my book.
    Expand
  92. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time. In fact, it's a game that just evolves with the use of the online free roam and all the challenges packed into it as well as the other online game modes. Graphically it is jaw droppingly good.

    Anyone giving this game less than 8 confuses me. It is a masterpiece both on and offline and there really can be no disputing that. Even if it isn't your
    One of the greatest games of all time. In fact, it's a game that just evolves with the use of the online free roam and all the challenges packed into it as well as the other online game modes. Graphically it is jaw droppingly good.

    Anyone giving this game less than 8 confuses me. It is a masterpiece both on and offline and there really can be no disputing that. Even if it isn't your type of game, it's qualities cannot be ignored.
    Expand
  93. Nov 8, 2010
    9
    This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shootThis game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  94. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    It was good, Not as great as everyone made it out to be but it was well worth playing. Had a fair share of annoying bugs and glitches and a campaign filled with repetitive objectives though. Other then that it was fine.
  95. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has a very strong storyline and gameplay. The games has plenty to do but after a while it gets quite boring. Amazing graphics but poor multiplayer Expand
  96. Oct 27, 2010
    9
    nearly perfect graphics, gameplay is very reliable and and you spend most of the time having a lot of fun just by riding around with your horse, the plot is good, but gets very tense at some parts, and I often felt sad about the end of a side mission
  97. Oct 29, 2010
    6
    Okay. Since I gave this game a six, let me first start by telling you the good parts. Whoever says that Read Dead is GTA in the wild west is absolutely correct. If you enjoy the GTA games then this is right up your alley. Go for it. 1-The world is absolutely beautiful. Hell sometimes I would go on horse rides just to see what I could see. 2-There is so much to do, and much of itOkay. Since I gave this game a six, let me first start by telling you the good parts. Whoever says that Read Dead is GTA in the wild west is absolutely correct. If you enjoy the GTA games then this is right up your alley. Go for it. 1-The world is absolutely beautiful. Hell sometimes I would go on horse rides just to see what I could see. 2-There is so much to do, and much of it isn't scripted. Riding to and from missions I would be distracted by things along the roads. Just dicking around is where I had my most fun! Sadly though, for me at least, those two points summarize the good in RDR. The storyline is little more than annoying. It seems no-one has anything actually interesting to do in the Wild West. Some quest ideas are great, but the implementation of their mechanics is boring at best. Roping a bandit? Awesome! Nope. Lasoing is frustrating at the best of times. Cattle drives? Yessir! Nope. Riding back and forth behind a herd is as boring as it sounds. The characters themselves are just over-the-top stereotypes of classic wild west characters. They're just not likeable. All this to say that the world itself is wonderful, it just is NOT filled with anything as spectacular as it is. But this was the same problem as GTA. Missions are no lasting fun, but making your own fun is too easy for that to be a big deal. For me though story is everything and that is why I gave RDR a 6. Expand
  98. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the transport system, the justice system or pretty much everything has a brilliant feel to it and it really is a joy to play! For example, whilst riding your noble steed, you can keep him travelling at the same speed as the AI you are escorting or following - Yes, stallions do indeed have cruise control it would seem! Superb small features like this really add to the experience.

    This is the sort of game which is not at all predictable though, you find yourself travelling at your own pace only to be savaged by a bear or cougar - so keep your gun at the ready and your eyes peeled as you are bound to gape onscreen if you lose 10 minutes worth of hunting goods in a split second...

    Despite its minor niggles, this game would have been harder to make better than it was before its actual release...So close to perfect it is!
    Expand
  99. Oct 30, 2010
    7
    I'm an archetypal GTA fan so the experience was spoiled for me only by the unnecessary shaking up of the GTA 4 auto-aim. It makes the shoot outs slow and much less fluid than GTA 4, and feels almost glitchy. Everything else matches Rockstar standards (and general habits).
  100. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask. Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask.
    Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game feel more real as you will find out if you've played the game. The missions are varied and are superb fun. I have completed the game three times now and still enjoy getting back on my horse and ride across the beautiful landscape. There has been plenty of times when I've been riding my horse when I have just stopped to look at the beautiful scenery. The games graphics are slightly improved upon from Grand Theft Auto and the facial details are brilliant, you really get a sense of how the character is feeling. This is another high point as you become attached to certain characters throughout the game and grow to care about how the story pans out. Take on grizzly bears, climb mountains, become a train robber. There are cool side missions that you can complete as well. There is 30-40 hours of game play here for you to spend your time with and it is well and truly time well spent. Epic gaming, Masterpiece of a story. Buy now for some awesome gaming!
    Expand
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. AceGamez
    97
    At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.