User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2039 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2011
    8
    With GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hitsWith GTA i generally just screwed around, ran people over and really didn't play the game's storyline at all and thus got bored very fast. With RDR however the storyline enticed me time and time again to stop exploring and pushing hookers down stairs to continue the storyline. The ability to slow down time and blow our a man's knee-caps or shoot a man in 10 different places before he hits the ground was all kinds of fun. The ending to this game be beautiful, heart warming and really enjoyable to play. The biggest issue I have with the game though is that after i beat it I lost all interest in playing it. They do allow you to keep going of course, but only the side quests remain and i beat the bulk of those as i went. Expand
  2. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it.
  3. Sep 10, 2010
    4
    Just like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to theJust like all other sandbox games, it's fun for a few hours, but then the novelty wears off and all you're left with is a crappy story. There is no challenge here, because this isn't a game. It's a movie shoehorned into a cowboy simulator. Trust me it's not as fun as it sounds. Unless you think watching a man bouncing up and down on a horse, as he rides from one end of the map to the other, exciting. Much of the gameplay consists of what feels more like chores than fun. Activities like hunting for rabbits, plucking flowers, training horses, and herding cattle. None of it is challenging. It's all just designed to waste your time. And after a few hours you'll realize that it's just exactly that: A waste of time. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost
    This is a really good game.Alot of attention & love has obviously gone into it.I am so close to giving this a ten.even though i cant reall
    y fault this game,I dont think its 'quite' a ten.Though i can understand people that did give it a top score.Everything plays & handles well.The horesriding,gunplay,movement,cover system,its all good.The graphics are truely outstanding,& look almost photorealistic.Its a shame the game doesnt have some contemporary modern/western fusion music like Red-Dead Revolver had,but great game nonleless.
    Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    If you love Grand Theft Auto, you'll love this, game is typical of Rockstar, fantastic story, the way they capture the Wild West is amazing, the game had me daydreaming about being a cowboy. If you haven't, do not hesitate to buy it and enjoy, this is a gameplay game, not about the graphics or the franchise, this is what games should be all about (even though the graphics are polished).
  6. May 5, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off itThis game is one of the best I've ever played, the story and characters are fantastic, the graphics are some of the best I've ever seen in a game, the voice acting, soundtrack, and sound effects are FANTASTIC!!!! and it's just so much fun to play, it takes things that you wouldn't think that are fun like horse breaking and cattle herding and makes them so much fun, and to top things off it has amazing multiplayer to boot, this is no doubt one of the best games of 2010, and a must play, right now you're probably asking "if it's so perfect why not a 10?', there is a few flaws holding it back, like a few glitches, long load times, and the fact that riding everywhere takes up a lot of time and can get boring, but those are easily overlooked, this game is just shy of perfection, I can't think of anyone I wouldn't highly recommend this too. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time.Red dead redemption is definitely one of the best games of the year. It is an impressive game. The western landscapes are fantastic, the graphics are way above average, and there are plenty of missions to get on with. The story missions and side missions add up to more than 40 hours of playing. A lot of DLC content is available as well, which adds on about 6 hours of additional game time. The multiplayer is one of my favourite. There are many game modes available, including free roam. I found that a lot of people play online. I have always found full matches on all game modes. I never have to wait for ages. This game does follow the same structure as GTA, but is completely different. Many new features have been introduced, and there is much more to do. I highly recommend getting this game. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  8. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    To whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit ofTo whoever gave this game a negative review: what have you been smoking? Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece of entertainment. Maybe it won't cater so much to the hardcore shooter crowd as it does to fans of exploration games, but that's not a flaw. It's a matter of taste if you don't like it. I personally enjoyed the majority of the missions, and although I will admit there was a bit of repetition in some parts of the game, I found that it was a massive and rewarding experience.
    The only thing I didn't really like was the multiplayer. It's not technically bad, it's just that I feel as if there could have been a lot more done with it. But that doesn't overshadow the awesome campaign. 9/10.
    Expand
  9. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    Rockstar at its best! what makes this games so excellent is the heart pounding gameplay and the always good open world freedom. finally a old west game thats actually good and fun.
  10. May 6, 2011
    10
    Guess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for characterGuess what! I actually have reasons to back up the perfect score i gave this game rather than just saying "Sweet buy this now". This game is sweet though. This game is like gta4, you wanna know why? IT'S MADE BY THE SAME PEOPLE! This game really is a masterpiece. The scenery is beautiful and sometimes actually jawdropping. The voice acting is great but far from perfect. As for character animations: they are smooth and for the most part realistic (jumping freakin sucks) The game plays like gta4 but is that really bad? That game is no doubt game of 2008. It is a great game and so is Red Dead. There really isnt a reason to not buy it. Unless you have no money. Expand
  11. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a numberGrand Theft Equine is far from a bad thing. Red Dead Redemption takes what makes GTA great and applies it to a world not often used in video games. When you aren't doing story missions, there are tons of things to do in the game world like gambling, getting into a shoot out or even just watching the sun set. After you finish the 30 hour campaign, you can jump online to experience a number of different game modes with your friends. From open world to shoot outs to horse races, Red Dead Redemption can potentially dwindle hours of your life away. Do yourself a favor and experience this game for yourself. Expand
  12. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    Fantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, captureFantastic Game, Nothing like GTA4, (Which I disliked a lot) This game had a lot to do, Way more than GTA4. Tons of game play, and the voice acting is absolutely incredible. It's the most convincing, best acting I have personally ever heard from a video game. Being able to choose between good and evil, stop bandits, or hold up a bank, help out neighbors, or still a stage coach, capture criminals, or hold up a train, it gives you so much freedom, and allows for so much. The controls are a little hard to master, but are very unique, and has a lot of things you can do at once, EX: On horse press A rapidly for speed, hold down LT To Aim, While holding B To Look towards important characters/places, etc, while turning the joysticks to steer, while press RT to shoot. But it makes it so unique, and so fun. The game blew me away, I thought it was be similar to GTA4, (Which I hated) But it's nothing like it. It's so much different, and it is spectacular, you won't regret this game, I PROMISE. Expand
  13. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    Wow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of anWow... What a masterpiece. The story is amazing, game play, just all out addicting. It has some replay value, for some players. I just started playing this game all over again after a year. Such an adventurous story line with great composed music. The ending of the story made me get goosebumps, I started to feel emotions for this fictional character. A strong hard working man, a bit of an idiot, but very loving, just dies. Honest to god, I think this video game with it's amazing story that fills many people with emotions, will probably even make a psychopath cry. RIP John Marston. Those of you who says it is another GTA game just set in a WESTERN theme, are just naive people that "judge a book by it's cover". Expand
  14. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    You NEED to buy this game, mp is really good, campaign is way cool, this will always be the best western shooter of all time. One of the best open world games in a long time. Makes GTA look like a d*** made it, literally.
  15. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best cowboy game I have ever played with a good story, good aiming and good horse riding. I would like to congratulate rock star on making this game because it is a master piece.
  16. Apr 13, 2012
    9
    Red Dead Redemption is a good example on how to make a fantastic game and Rockstar show's that example once again with their games. The campaign in RDR is amazing and ecery mission means something. And the multiplayer is fantastic and a lot to choose from game modes. Campaign 9/10 Multiplayer 9/10 Red Dead Redemtion 9.7/10
  17. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I have had some problems putting it down because there is always something else to do or to discover. The main character is great. I really enjoy all of his dialogues and the voice actor they took is super. I am really hooked on hunting and riding a horse while the moon is full to the beautiful soundtrack will NEVER get old. Thank you for this game.
  18. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    This game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of justThis game is perfect. The story is great, and you rarely find a game that provides this much freedom, but still keeps you busy and thoroughly entertained. I don't know why people are complaining about the voice acting because I personally think it is absolutely spot on. Yes, you can get tired of the old western setting and music, but that is hardly a gripe. You can get tired of just about anything, no matter how perfect it is. The characters in this game barely ever seem like they blend together like so many others and the storyline is fantastic. Maybe this is my favorite game only because I haven't played GTA IV and don't see the similarity's, but honestly, I could care less. Expand
  19. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    There is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the bestThere is a reason why this game is in the TOP 10 360 games of all time. Rockstar nailed it with this one. From the soundtrack, to the sets, to the voice acting; everything screams cowboy! The story is absolutely amazing and John Marston is one of the best if not THE best characters I've seen in a game. Get out the Jameson and poor yourself a glass while you settle in for one of the best video game experiences of your life! Expand
  20. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. AI LOVED this game. Game play was fantastic, the story was long and was always somthing new. I love the western theme, the AI was perfect. There was always somthing to do. The large map is exactly what draws me into a game and this map was pretty big. Lots thought went into this game, graphics are amazing and the fact John Marston was pretty much the baddest Mofo made him so likable. A great game i really enjoyed it Expand
  21. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    Most definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much moreMost definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I really like the grand theft auto series but I think this is better than gta IV. They're both amazing but personally I just like the feel of red dead more than gta. Maybe because I've played several gta's and only one red dead so it sticks out to me more. I got so involved with the characters which made the ending that much more powerful. Amazing. Probably a game I will come back to quite a few times later in life. Expand
  22. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Just shy of a masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is easily the best western video game ever created, and is absolutely stunningly brilliant. Oozing with detail, good writing and varied missions, plus a hefty dose of rpg elements and side quests / games, its easy to see the GTA roots. While some claim foul, I think this great methodology of video game play is perfect for the western setting.Just shy of a masterpiece, Red Dead Redemption is easily the best western video game ever created, and is absolutely stunningly brilliant. Oozing with detail, good writing and varied missions, plus a hefty dose of rpg elements and side quests / games, its easy to see the GTA roots. While some claim foul, I think this great methodology of video game play is perfect for the western setting. The soundtrack is original and unique, and there is lots to explore and check out. Easily a 10 / 10. Expand
  23. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    What an amazing game this was, it was unique in almost every way. I would say this is best for hardcore gamers due to many reasons. It would be nice to see more games like this in the future and with the new grand theft auto i'm sure rockstar company will be making a new game or continue one because the amount of money they made could result in another a++ game.
  24. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    There is not a better game out right now. After completing the single-player game, I went and tried the multilplayer which I didn't think would be too great. It was absolutely astounding! It opened up a whole new world for me. The only knock is you have to have at least a decent connectivity to fully play the multiplayer without hiccups, which most Xbox live players have access to nowadays anyway
  25. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This is the best game to come out since GTAIV. The gameplay, graphics, and storyline are all top-notch. Expect this to get a **** ton of awards. I love this game.
  26. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    Again, Rockstar blows our minds. Grand Theft Auto IV was probably a top 10 game of all time on Xbox 360 and this is just another one. Everything goes right in this game. there were a few avoidable and forgettable problems with Grand theft auto IV and this just threw em out
  27. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite 2010 game. I've just completed the main adventure, if I can say there is a main adventure. Plenty to do, the sense of freedom is un matched...... just waiting assassin's III to see if there is a game that can match rockstar masterpiece. Definitely buy it, got to the nearest store and tell all your friends you are busy for the entire month........!!!!!!
  28. May 31, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption stands on top on many of my games and i appreciate the marvelous work that Rockstar has made. Very similar to GTA in terms, both are sandbox. The dialogue is amazing, very real if i say, incredible graphics are beautiful in all aspects. Wild West never looked so good , so if you want a great story line, great action, exploration all well mixed up this is worth looking out. Oh yeah , and the end will be memorable . Hope so. Expand
  29. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    buy this game amazing content great multiplayer and doesnt dissapoint in the story. occasional bugs but overall this deserves its game of the year award
  30. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    RED DEAD REDEMPTION is one of the best open world games ever made and defenetly the best Western game, i RDR has Top voice acting especially the Protagonist John Marston and the graphics are amazing, the story too! RDR has emotional moments that are just so powerful between each character, 9/10.
  31. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse,It's a fun ride, till the end. Call me old fashioned, but I still feel duped when I experience the typical Rockstar endings, expecting them to be at least somewhat redeeming. It makes me feel like I wasted the 20 hours I spent on the story. Other Rockstar titles, I have a great time along the way, like stunt driving in GTA, or solving crimes in Noire, but with RDR you're just on a horse, in a desert, with nothing around except for around 10 small villages. The scenery is nice, but that's pretty much all you experience. If you see the the intro video you've pretty much seen it all, cause there's nothing really extra to explore. And this is coming from someone who has 100.0% completion. Collapse
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 'Red Dead Redemption' is a must buy. Every Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 owner should play this game (as long as they're over 18 and not a member of PETA). The only reasons I can't give this game a full 10 are the annoying glitches, connection issues and the lack of difficulty.
  2. At times breathtaking, often awe-inspiring and never, ever dull, Red Dead Redemption is already one of 2010's biggest hitters, and is likely to become one of this generation's greatest achievements. A staggering work of art.
  3. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.