Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1902 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the Industrial Age. The story of former outlaw, John Marston, Red Dead Redemption takes players on a great adventure across the American frontier. Utilizing Rockstar's proprietary Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE), Red Dead Redemption features an open-world environment for players to explore, including frontier towns, rolling prairies teeming with wildlife, and perilous mountain passes - each packed with an endless flow of varied distractions. Along the way, players experience the heat of gunfights and battles, meet a host of unique characters, struggle against the harshness of one of the world’s last remaining wildernesses, and ultimately pick their own precarious path through an epic story about the death of the Wild West and the gunslingers that inhabited it. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 100
    As good as if not better than Grand Theft Auto IV and is as beautiful as a Hollywood epic.
  2. 100
    Although this is said of almost every single new Rockstar product, Red Dead Redemption is arguably their best effort to date, if only because it distills all of the lessons they've learned from their previous titles into an engaging, expansive, and enthralling world. But the best part of Rockstar's open-world oater is its honest and open appreciation for the iconic Western genre.
  3. Thoroughly enjoyable, superbly atmospheric and deliciously detailed, it performs the enviable task of giving Rockstar yet another solid IP to produce a series of games from.
  4. Red Dead Redemption is one of those one-in-a-generation games capable of setting a new bar in its genre. Absolutely unmissable by anyone.
  5. With tons of content both online and off, stellar production values, and solid gameplay, Red Dead Redemption is an absolute blast to play, and a time-consuming one at that.
  6. Red Dead Redemption is a truly epic resuscitation of the Western theme in games. It's also easily the best gunslinging game we've ever played.
  7. In the end, Red Dead Redemption is going to please a lot of gamers who are simply starved for a new world to explore and the Wild West, even though the game takes place at the end of that era, is ripe for the taking.

See all 96 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 313
  1. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    This game is so good that I bought the zombie version knowing very well that I would be disapointed. I was even pleasantly surprised by how good the zombie game was. Anyway, imagine Grand Theft Auto in the wild wild west. There are even hookers, lol. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Is Red Dead Redemption a masterpiece?
    Simple answer: Yes!
    "Why?" you ask.
    Because it takes the already amazing Grand Theft Auto IV formula
    and improves it. The storyline is right up there with any game that I have played and in all fairness would make a brilliant Hollywood Epic western. The game starts off fairly slow, don't worry the game benefits hugely from this. It makes the game feel more real as you will find out if you've played the game. The missions are varied and are superb fun. I have completed the game three times now and still enjoy getting back on my horse and ride across the beautiful landscape. There has been plenty of times when I've been riding my horse when I have just stopped to look at the beautiful scenery. The games graphics are slightly improved upon from Grand Theft Auto and the facial details are brilliant, you really get a sense of how the character is feeling. This is another high point as you become attached to certain characters throughout the game and grow to care about how the story pans out. Take on grizzly bears, climb mountains, become a train robber. There are cool side missions that you can complete as well. There is 30-40 hours of game play here for you to spend your time with and it is well and truly time well spent. Epic gaming, Masterpiece of a story. Buy now for some awesome gaming! Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is undisputedly the greatest game ever made. GTA is good, but Rockstar really shines with RDR.

    Usually with every great
    game i get my hands on, I can usually find at least 1 flaw, even a tiny one. This is not the case with RDR. The character development, storyline, gameplay, open world design, shooting/moving/horse riding mechanics, and missions are flawless in every sense of the word.

    I probably played over 500 video games in my life time so I'm not novice. I always pay attention to every little detail to each game i play. This is gamings Da Vinci moment and it makes me forget that GTA even exists!
    Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I have had some problems putting it down because there is always something else to do or to discover. The main character is great. I really enjoy all of his dialogues and the voice actor they took is super. I am really hooked on hunting and riding a horse while the moon is full to the beautiful soundtrack will NEVER get old. Thank you for this game. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    As civilization begins to encroach on the Wild West reformed outlaw John Martson is threatened by federal Marshalls and forced to pick up his guns in order hunt down the gang of criminals he once called friends.
    In terms of open world settings Rockstar have outdone even GTA IV for epic scale with the breathtaking, expansive and diverse landscape providing the perfect background for the games story to take place. Despite some slightly overly long journeys between destinations the player’s interest in the games narrative is easily maintained thanks to a set of characters that are also amongst Rockstars best.

    In terms of gameplay Red Dead Redemption sticks pretty close to the now familiar template. Characters with missions that need completing can be seen on the in game map and once accessed further instructions are provided. While the primary focus is obviously on shooting there is a far greater variety in these missions than in the latest in the GTA series. The run, gun and cover system is virtually lifted straight from GTA IV including an auto-aim that can be switched off for those after a real challenge. This, along with a limited bullet time mechanic, is largely successful at allowing the player to feel like a hot shot gunslinger without making the game too easy.

    On top of the single-player campaign a generous number of co-op and competitive multi-player modes are also available. After all the pre-launch hype it is disappointing to realise that these don't really compete with the best online shooters but they certainly provide an entertaining distraction from John Marston’s story.
    With a charismatic lead character and hours of gameplay Red Dead Redemption is amongst Rockstars greatest achievements.
    Expand
  7. May 16, 2012
    1
    And still no PC version for a game with plenty of shooting, with character controlling, with a great possibilities of modding and graphical enhancements. Expand

See all 313 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews

    Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 18, 2010
    You might be hearing the phrase "Game of the Year candidate" a lot this week, and this new Wild West adventure from the creators of Grand Theft Auto is a major reason why. Find out exactly what the critics are saying about this new PS3/360 title.