Red Dead Redemption Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2339 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the IndustrialDeveloped by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the Industrial Age. The story of former outlaw, John Marston, Red Dead Redemption takes players on a great adventure across the American frontier. Utilizing Rockstar's proprietary Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE), Red Dead Redemption features an open-world environment for players to explore, including frontier towns, rolling prairies teeming with wildlife, and perilous mountain passes - each packed with an endless flow of varied distractions. Along the way, players experience the heat of gunfights and battles, meet a host of unique characters, struggle against the harshness of one of the world’s last remaining wildernesses, and ultimately pick their own precarious path through an epic story about the death of the Wild West and the gunslingers that inhabited it. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.
  2. Red Dead Redemption is more than a great western, it's the first time this type of game has been successfully recreated for a home game console.
  3. 100
    With Red Dead Redemption, Rockstar succeeds in creating one of the most impressive open worlds I've ever seen in a game, and it's telling that -- even after playing for over 30 hours -- all I want to do is get back on my horse and gallop back into the wilderness.
  4. 95
    Red Dead Redemption performs very well on all fronts and has little to no mistakes. This game is a must have for fans of the sandbox genre.
  5. Red Dead takes a familiar recipe, adds a skilful blend of western elements, and the result is something really rather special. Easily the best Wild West game to date.
  6. While Rockstar San Diego may find some difficulty in filling its open expanses with interesting and emergent play, it does imbue it with a stark beauty and compelling narrative that makes Redemption more than just an allusion to cinema, but a piece of work that can confidently stand next to it. [Issue#96, p.94]
  7. In the end, Red Dead Redemption is going to please a lot of gamers who are simply starved for a new world to explore and the Wild West, even though the game takes place at the end of that era, is ripe for the taking.

See all 96 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 355
  1. AndyZ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is undisputedly the greatest game ever made. GTA is good, but Rockstar really shines with RDR.

    Usually with every great
    Red Dead Redemption is undisputedly the greatest game ever made. GTA is good, but Rockstar really shines with RDR.

    Usually with every great game i get my hands on, I can usually find at least 1 flaw, even a tiny one. This is not the case with RDR. The character development, storyline, gameplay, open world design, shooting/moving/horse riding mechanics, and missions are flawless in every sense of the word.

    I probably played over 500 video games in my life time so I'm not novice. I always pay attention to every little detail to each game i play. This is gamings Da Vinci moment and it makes me forget that GTA even exists!
    Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    A truly amazing game, one of my favorite of all time. Their is just so much to do, the story is compelling and when this is matched with aA truly amazing game, one of my favorite of all time. Their is just so much to do, the story is compelling and when this is matched with a superb sandbox experience it make a true masterpiece of gaming delight. Have purchased all the DLC and still loving it. Now I just want to get every last achievement, but ill still be playing it after that. Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Of all the years of my gaming life, Red Dead Redemption is the greatest game I have ever played bar the Last Of Us. As entertainment, I amOf all the years of my gaming life, Red Dead Redemption is the greatest game I have ever played bar the Last Of Us. As entertainment, I am not a fan of Western Films or Games so for me to be absolutely blown away by the game is a testament to Red Dead Redemption.

    If you are a fan of the Grand Theft Auto games for their story and entertaining action, than you will love RDR. However, if you only play GTA to mess around then RDR may not be for you because there is not as much to do in the sense of vehicles and buildings.

    The story of RDR is absolutely fantastic, the characters have so much depth into them which makes them all individually unique. Of all the games I have played, RDR has the best characters hands down. As for the gameplay, it will be one of your best gaming experiences. For example, on GTA IV I would mostly fast travel (Taxi) from A to B if the distance was far but in RDR it doesn't matter the distance, riding a horse is the best option because you are allowed to look at the beautiful landscapes of southern USA and northern Mexico.

    The action is also outstanding, there is a feature in the game called Dead Eye which allows the gamer to slow time down, assign there bullets onto a target(s) and then release to unload the chosen bullets onto the enemy. Some say this makes the game to easy, but ultimately it is the gamers choice. Finally, I cannot stress how amazing it is to ride a horse in RDR. It is something you have to experience yourself because it makes the gamer feel on cloud nine.

    Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece, simple as that. The story, action, gameplay, characters and in game map makes it one of the greatest games ever made and makes it arguably the best game I have ever played.

    10/10
    Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Absolutely spectacular. Rockstar have really out done themselves with this beauty of a game. The wild west theme does not usually appeal toAbsolutely spectacular. Rockstar have really out done themselves with this beauty of a game. The wild west theme does not usually appeal to me, but a western sandbox game? Sign me up. The graphics are spectacular and there is not a moment of boredom. If you don't fancy doing the missions, pass the time with such fun things like putting people in hogties and drag them round the cities or go on bounty hunter missions or play poker or just go hunting. The story connects well with the gameplay and leaves the player in awe at the magnificence of this game. The only thing that lets it down is a slight problem with the gameplay. After a few hours of playing, my head was pounding and my eyes were red raw. I began to feel sleepy, but the kind where you don't want to because the game was so awesome. This still didn't stop me playing it. Definitely worth the money. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    9
    GOOD: Great Story; Interesting characters; RPGs elements are in the missions (ex. choosing if you kill him or if everyone else gets to killGOOD: Great Story; Interesting characters; RPGs elements are in the missions (ex. choosing if you kill him or if everyone else gets to kill him); Great voice acting; Great graphics; Lengthy campaign that lasted me 40 hours); Side missions are really fun to do; Not one mission felt the same as another one; Cool open world to explore combining America and Mexico in the old west; Cool NPCS who do their own business (drinking, horse racing, murdering, playing games, etc.); Fun and abundant amount of side activities (Blackjack, horse breaking, arm wrestling, bounty hunting, etc.); Fun Dead Eye mechanic where you pick targets in slow motion and shoot them; Awesome and fun weapons (my favorite is the lasso); Sometimes, you can use a gatling gun and got to shoot a cannon on one mission; Various vehicles to drive or ride(horses, mules, carriages, etc.); Best horses in gaming history; Cool outfits to collect; Good map and GPS system; Can purchase property (items, houses, horses, etc.); As you go through the game, you will get famous and hear NPCs talking about you as you walk around; Depending on your actions, you will gain and/or lose honor which will make people act a certain way around you; No bugs or glitches that I went through in the single player; Okay checkpoint system; Great autosave system

    BAD: In the downloadable version that I got, the multiplayer is broken and crashes immediately after I log on, if I log on; Most loading screens are long; After car racing(one-man carriage with a horse) on one mission, I couldn't do it as a side activity(pretty fun doing that); COULD NOT **** ANY OF THE ABUNDANT SUPPLY OF PROSTITUTES; Could not drive an automobile; Wish there was a whip in the game

    FINAL VERDICT: Just alone with the single player, it earns a 9/10! This is my favorite Rockstar game and should be played by everybody. It's an ALL TIME LEGEND!
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2012
    2
    This really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics areThis really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics are the best part, the music is decent, the voice acting and storyline are both mediocre, and the actual game mechanics are terrible.

    Shooting your gun feels awkward, imprecise, clunky, it's not fun.

    Riding your horse is boring too, it's like driving a car in GTA except you press A every couple seconds, and the scenery as you ride is all cactus and grass.

    Herding cattle is probably the most boring thing in the game.

    Racing is all right, but not very satisfying.

    There's no choices in the game, you just watch as the awful story unfolds.

    There's brothels in every town, but you're married so nothing to see here folks.
    Expand

See all 355 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews

    Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 18, 2010
    You might be hearing the phrase "Game of the Year candidate" a lot this week, and this new Wild West adventure from the creators of Grand Theft Auto is a major reason why. Find out exactly what the critics are saying about this new PS3/360 title.