Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1886 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the Industrial Age. The story of former outlaw, John Marston, Red Dead Redemption takes players on a great adventure across the American frontier. Utilizing Rockstar's proprietary Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE), Red Dead Redemption features an open-world environment for players to explore, including frontier towns, rolling prairies teeming with wildlife, and perilous mountain passes - each packed with an endless flow of varied distractions. Along the way, players experience the heat of gunfights and battles, meet a host of unique characters, struggle against the harshness of one of the world’s last remaining wildernesses, and ultimately pick their own precarious path through an epic story about the death of the Wild West and the gunslingers that inhabited it. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 100
    As good as if not better than Grand Theft Auto IV and is as beautiful as a Hollywood epic.
  2. 100
    Although this is said of almost every single new Rockstar product, Red Dead Redemption is arguably their best effort to date, if only because it distills all of the lessons they've learned from their previous titles into an engaging, expansive, and enthralling world. But the best part of Rockstar's open-world oater is its honest and open appreciation for the iconic Western genre.
  3. Thoroughly enjoyable, superbly atmospheric and deliciously detailed, it performs the enviable task of giving Rockstar yet another solid IP to produce a series of games from.
  4. Red Dead Redemption is one of those one-in-a-generation games capable of setting a new bar in its genre. Absolutely unmissable by anyone.
  5. With tons of content both online and off, stellar production values, and solid gameplay, Red Dead Redemption is an absolute blast to play, and a time-consuming one at that.
  6. Red Dead Redemption is a truly epic resuscitation of the Western theme in games. It's also easily the best gunslinging game we've ever played.
  7. In the end, Red Dead Redemption is going to please a lot of gamers who are simply starved for a new world to explore and the Wild West, even though the game takes place at the end of that era, is ripe for the taking.

See all 96 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 309
  1. SFN
    Jan 4, 2011
    10
    the game is absolutly amazing, i mean the stroy line behind it is really really good, the graphics are amazing!!! Rockstar really out did themselfves yet again with this game, this is definitly worth every single pit of your money and trust me you"ll be glad you bought it. Expand
  2. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the first games I played and it left some very big shoes to fill for all other games afterwards. As a brand new gamer it challenged me but didn't overwhelm me. The story and the acting are superlative and John Marston is one of the best characters I have ever experienced in any medium, movies, books, and gaming. I have played almost all of Rockstar's games and this if by far the best. It owes a lot I must say to an old game called Gun which I played after Red Dead and I highly recommend it but it is still a very special and unique gaming experience. I am just one voice in the Red Dead army but as a burgeoning gamer this game got me hooked on gaming for life. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Red Dead Redemption is THE most stunning free roam experience ever to date in a video game. From the Mexican fortress to the Pine Forests in the North, you simply cannot be unimpressed with such excellence.
    Some superb attention to detail is also present as the sort of things you would say "wouldn't it be good if...." are actually present whether it be in the controls, the navigation, the transport system, the justice system or pretty much everything has a brilliant feel to it and it really is a joy to play! For example, whilst riding your noble steed, you can keep him travelling at the same speed as the AI you are escorting or following - Yes, stallions do indeed have cruise control it would seem! Superb small features like this really add to the experience.

    This is the sort of game which is not at all predictable though, you find yourself travelling at your own pace only to be savaged by a bear or cougar - so keep your gun at the ready and your eyes peeled as you are bound to gape onscreen if you lose 10 minutes worth of hunting goods in a split second...

    Despite its minor niggles, this game would have been harder to make better than it was before its actual release...So close to perfect it is!
    Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    this game is absolutely amazing in lots of ways..there are 3 or 4 games that i rate them perfect 10, and this is one of them .. character and story is perfect graphics are great even today..gameplay has its own innovations..there are glitches in every game and in this one it holds to minimum ..overall immersion is one those you can never forget..a must have classic Expand
  5. Aug 20, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I have had some problems putting it down because there is always something else to do or to discover. The main character is great. I really enjoy all of his dialogues and the voice actor they took is super. I am really hooked on hunting and riding a horse while the moon is full to the beautiful soundtrack will NEVER get old. Thank you for this game. Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    Red Dead Redemption can not help but be compared to Grand Theft Auto IV. The story is interactive, addicting, and overall, fun. The graphics are absolutely phenomenal and look very close to real life. Completing the game 100% takes about 40 hours because of the engaging side quests and long story (57 missions). The story alone without considering optional side missions, challenges, and strangers would probably take about 20 hours. I found myself doing the side missions first, and then doing some of the story, and then more side missions. Rockstar Games really showed improvement from Grand Theft Auto IV in terms of keeping interest of players, better story and graphics, and filling an open world with various things to do. You could even start up a game of Texas Hold 'Em or Five Finger Fillet. I really enjoyed Dead-Eye and it is really what polishes the game. Red Dead Redemption really shows the open world genre what it is all about and really immerses you in the Western culture of 1911, even if you are not into cowboys and the wild west (which I sure was not). I could not bring myself to rate it a 10 out of 10 for the following reasons. I am not going to spoil it, but the ending to the story was very disappointing, not because it was underwhelming or anticlimactic, but because it ended abruptly and was unnecessary. Furthermore, the save system and computer AI are both awkward. Many times my horse would commit suicide and would require me to get a new one. I found it kind of odd that my horse has no problem jumping off a 300 foot cliff, but there is an invisible wall every time I tell it to go down a 5 foot incline. The glitches are very numerous and you will undoubtedly run into some; such as, sinking underneath the solid ground and going under the map with long motion blurs, dueling someone as they are facing the wrong way, your horse randomly dying for absolutely no reason, objects rendering right in front of your eyes; that kind of stuff. I really hate that the majority of the missions told you to go really far away to actually start doing stuff. All that accomplished was tiring me and wasting my time. One last negative thing, the online multiplayer, in my opinion, is worse than Grand Theft Auto IV's. It works on a experience point system where you work your way up the ranks, but it is irritating because everyone else is already there and you will just get wasted away. You have no chance if you are new so get ready to do a lot of boring missions just for XP. In Grand Theft Auto IV, everyone had a chance; not so much here. Overall, great open world game that really should be picked up for its amazing single player mode and addicting, non-stop, can-not-put-it-down-until-it-is-one-hundred-percent-completed gameplay, with few problems and annoyances. Expand
  7. May 16, 2012
    1
    And still no PC version for a game with plenty of shooting, with character controlling, with a great possibilities of modding and graphical enhancements. Expand

See all 309 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews

    Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 18, 2010
    You might be hearing the phrase "Game of the Year candidate" a lot this week, and this new Wild West adventure from the creators of Grand Theft Auto is a major reason why. Find out exactly what the critics are saying about this new PS3/360 title.