Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2067 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the IndustrialDeveloped by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the Industrial Age. The story of former outlaw, John Marston, Red Dead Redemption takes players on a great adventure across the American frontier. Utilizing Rockstar's proprietary Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE), Red Dead Redemption features an open-world environment for players to explore, including frontier towns, rolling prairies teeming with wildlife, and perilous mountain passes - each packed with an endless flow of varied distractions. Along the way, players experience the heat of gunfights and battles, meet a host of unique characters, struggle against the harshness of one of the world’s last remaining wildernesses, and ultimately pick their own precarious path through an epic story about the death of the Wild West and the gunslingers that inhabited it. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.
  2. Red Dead Redemption is more than a great western, it's the first time this type of game has been successfully recreated for a home game console.
  3. 100
    With Red Dead Redemption, Rockstar succeeds in creating one of the most impressive open worlds I've ever seen in a game, and it's telling that -- even after playing for over 30 hours -- all I want to do is get back on my horse and gallop back into the wilderness.
  4. 95
    Red Dead Redemption performs very well on all fronts and has little to no mistakes. This game is a must have for fans of the sandbox genre.
  5. Red Dead takes a familiar recipe, adds a skilful blend of western elements, and the result is something really rather special. Easily the best Wild West game to date.
  6. While Rockstar San Diego may find some difficulty in filling its open expanses with interesting and emergent play, it does imbue it with a stark beauty and compelling narrative that makes Redemption more than just an allusion to cinema, but a piece of work that can confidently stand next to it. [Issue#96, p.94]
  7. In the end, Red Dead Redemption is going to please a lot of gamers who are simply starved for a new world to explore and the Wild West, even though the game takes place at the end of that era, is ripe for the taking.

See all 96 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 330
  1. AndyZ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Of all the years of my gaming life, Red Dead Redemption is the greatest game I have ever played bar the Last Of Us. As entertainment, I amOf all the years of my gaming life, Red Dead Redemption is the greatest game I have ever played bar the Last Of Us. As entertainment, I am not a fan of Western Films or Games so for me to be absolutely blown away by the game is a testament to Red Dead Redemption.

    If you are a fan of the Grand Theft Auto games for their story and entertaining action, than you will love RDR. However, if you only play GTA to mess around then RDR may not be for you because there is not as much to do in the sense of vehicles and buildings.

    The story of RDR is absolutely fantastic, the characters have so much depth into them which makes them all individually unique. Of all the games I have played, RDR has the best characters hands down. As for the gameplay, it will be one of your best gaming experiences. For example, on GTA IV I would mostly fast travel (Taxi) from A to B if the distance was far but in RDR it doesn't matter the distance, riding a horse is the best option because you are allowed to look at the beautiful landscapes of southern USA and northern Mexico.

    The action is also outstanding, there is a feature in the game called Dead Eye which allows the gamer to slow time down, assign there bullets onto a target(s) and then release to unload the chosen bullets onto the enemy. Some say this makes the game to easy, but ultimately it is the gamers choice. Finally, I cannot stress how amazing it is to ride a horse in RDR. It is something you have to experience yourself because it makes the gamer feel on cloud nine.

    Red Dead Redemption is a masterpiece, simple as that. The story, action, gameplay, characters and in game map makes it one of the greatest games ever made and makes it arguably the best game I have ever played.

    10/10
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Red Dead Redemption is the newest game from rockstar, it follows on from its cousin Red Dead Revolver which was released in May 2004.
    Red Dead in general has "Grown up" since then, and has a complete make over with graphics, sounds, and the sand box effect gameplay. The sand box effect gives you an amazing feel for reality and continuous adventure, you will be able to tame and break your own wild horses, drink, steal money, objects, ammo, and carts etc. you will also meet alot of new friends that may be able to help you finish your quest.
    After being left for dead by your band of brothers you seek revenge and the return of your family from the grips of the government, to do this you must find and kill all of your brothers and take down Bill Williamson, and Dutch to get your family back
    You begin your journey in The Old West, from there you meet people, make friends, and make enemys, after a certain time and certain missions you "Unlock" the bridge to Mexico (This is a typical thing for rockstar to do since they've been doing it since GTA III). As you go through Mexico you help friends escape the country and help feed the revolotion to make a better Mexico for all. After been sent to Mexico and picked up by the Amercian Government, you travel to Blackwater where you will settle this once and for all, after doing just a few missions for people you are led into Tall Trees and into a camp, this is where you will find Dutch and Kill him.
    Above all i think Red Dead Redemption is a beautiful game, very clear and extremely addictive, being able to hunt and kill animals for money is a bonus. To conclude i think Red Dead Redemption and Rockstar deserves an award, this is truely a masterpierce of gaming technology, anyway one who loves Western games or Loved the old Red Dead Revolver will love this one, It has plenty of things to do with Side missions, including Wanted Posters, Deliveries, Horse Breaking, and General Random tasks set by AI Strangers.
    This Game Is Perfect.
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite 2010 game. I've just completed the main adventure, if I can say there is a main adventure. Plenty to do, the sense ofThis is my favourite 2010 game. I've just completed the main adventure, if I can say there is a main adventure. Plenty to do, the sense of freedom is un matched...... just waiting assassin's III to see if there is a game that can match rockstar masterpiece. Definitely buy it, got to the nearest store and tell all your friends you are busy for the entire month........!!!!!! Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2010
    9
    This game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so youThis game is why video games were created. Red Dead is an open world, sand box Western. Sounds orgasmic, and it is. I luv westerns, so you might think im being biased, but i will not for this review. The Pro's- Graphics are gorgeous, detailed and very realistic. Character models are perfect. There is an awesome amount of detail in this world such as weather affects, um, when you shoot somebody blood will come out of that limb and since R* added Euphoria it makes it almost like a movie. You shoot somebody on their left arm their gonna fall to their left and try and crawl away. Sound- guns sound real, horses sound real as they travel over wood bridge, dirt roads, etc. especially if you have surround sound. Story- is about a bounty hunter after his "fallen" comrades. John Marston (main character) used to be in a gang, he changed his ways and now the U.S. government kidnapped his wife and son in exchange for his comrades. The story introduces you to amazing life like characters that, throughout the game you start to feel as if you start to know them, you have feelings for these characters, and its amazing. By the end you feel all these emotions for John. The ending leaves you gasping for breath, and your heart racing, this game is a work of art. Setting- Red Dead takes you into Texas, Mexico, and West elizabeth (which is a north eastern U.S feel to it) The detail from the towns in the middle of nowhere, huge pillars of rock in mexico to the Woods and plains of West Elizabeth is amazing and a grand scale. Another great thing about this game is replay value, im currently playing the story for the 2nd time. And i still love it. There are so many challenges that aren't to hard but not easy, and really serves you a balanced challenges. CONS- there are some frame rate issues where i would be sprinting into a town and it would go slow mo, if u will. adn when skinning or picking a flower in a bush, john will go through the plant or his horse, which dampens the experience for a minute. Other than that its a great game. This is a Grand Masterpiece of gaming. You must play this game, i give it a 9.6 out of 10 Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    9
    buy this game amazing content great multiplayer and doesnt dissapoint in the story. occasional bugs but overall this deserves its game of thebuy this game amazing content great multiplayer and doesnt dissapoint in the story. occasional bugs but overall this deserves its game of the year award Expand
  7. May 17, 2012
    2
    This really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics areThis really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics are the best part, the music is decent, the voice acting and storyline are both mediocre, and the actual game mechanics are terrible.

    Shooting your gun feels awkward, imprecise, clunky, it's not fun.

    Riding your horse is boring too, it's like driving a car in GTA except you press A every couple seconds, and the scenery as you ride is all cactus and grass.

    Herding cattle is probably the most boring thing in the game.

    Racing is all right, but not very satisfying.

    There's no choices in the game, you just watch as the awful story unfolds.

    There's brothels in every town, but you're married so nothing to see here folks.
    Expand

See all 330 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews

    Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 18, 2010
    You might be hearing the phrase "Game of the Year candidate" a lot this week, and this new Wild West adventure from the creators of Grand Theft Auto is a major reason why. Find out exactly what the critics are saying about this new PS3/360 title.