Red Dead Redemption Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 96 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the IndustrialDeveloped by Rockstar San Diego, as a follow up to the 2004 hit game Red Dead Revolver, Red Dead Redemption is a Western epic, set at the turn of the 20th century when the lawless and chaotic badlands began to give way to the expanding reach of government and the spread of the Industrial Age. The story of former outlaw, John Marston, Red Dead Redemption takes players on a great adventure across the American frontier. Utilizing Rockstar's proprietary Rockstar Advanced Game Engine (RAGE), Red Dead Redemption features an open-world environment for players to explore, including frontier towns, rolling prairies teeming with wildlife, and perilous mountain passes - each packed with an endless flow of varied distractions. Along the way, players experience the heat of gunfights and battles, meet a host of unique characters, struggle against the harshness of one of the world’s last remaining wildernesses, and ultimately pick their own precarious path through an epic story about the death of the Wild West and the gunslingers that inhabited it. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 96
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 96
  3. Negative: 0 out of 96
  1. 100
    RDR is a phenomenal game that stands out as one of the year's best. The utmost attention to detail is apparent in every aspect, and is something that no gamer should miss.
  2. Red Dead Redemption is more than a great western, it's the first time this type of game has been successfully recreated for a home game console.
  3. 100
    With Red Dead Redemption, Rockstar succeeds in creating one of the most impressive open worlds I've ever seen in a game, and it's telling that -- even after playing for over 30 hours -- all I want to do is get back on my horse and gallop back into the wilderness.
  4. 95
    Red Dead Redemption performs very well on all fronts and has little to no mistakes. This game is a must have for fans of the sandbox genre.
  5. Red Dead takes a familiar recipe, adds a skilful blend of western elements, and the result is something really rather special. Easily the best Wild West game to date.
  6. While Rockstar San Diego may find some difficulty in filling its open expanses with interesting and emergent play, it does imbue it with a stark beauty and compelling narrative that makes Redemption more than just an allusion to cinema, but a piece of work that can confidently stand next to it. [Issue#96, p.94]
  7. In the end, Red Dead Redemption is going to please a lot of gamers who are simply starved for a new world to explore and the Wild West, even though the game takes place at the end of that era, is ripe for the taking.

See all 96 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 341
  1. AndyZ
    May 20, 2010
    10
    Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I Simply a masterpiece of a game. The world is beautifully crafted and the story is engaging. As a person who though GTAIV was only so-so, I can fully endorse this. There is a wide variety of mission types to do and the minigames are actually fun. The characters are likable and the voice acting and animations are really nice. Graphics are great on the 360, especially for a console game. Anyone complaining about lock on shooting is out of their mind. Half the time in this game you are riding on a horse, shooting people on other horses. Without lock on you'd never hit anything as the action is too fast and people don't just stand there to let you shoot them. That's why you can go manual in Dead Eye mode, because it slows everything down to possible speeds. It is a joy to ride around the countryside and the random events that happen there really break up any monotony you might feel. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This is simply the best game that I have ever played. The most realized virtual world I have ever seen, where just wandering around outside ofThis is simply the best game that I have ever played. The most realized virtual world I have ever seen, where just wandering around outside of the main campaign is a joy. And then after putting hours and hours into the single-player I found that the multiplayer mode was also fantastic. If you haven't played this yet on what is now "last generation" systems, you owe it to yourself to pick this up. Cannot recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Grand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more beingGrand Theft Horse. But so much more. All the irritations of GTA fixed, and a far more appealing setting of the Old West. No more being chased by the cops for minor traffic infringements. No more shocking auto aim. NO MORE MOBILE PHONE. Simply put, RDR is a masterpiece of gaming, most notably the storytelling, the realisation of the game world, and the characterisation. The missions are varied, the voice acting top notch, the world is believable, and it never overstays its welcome. If it weren't for Mass Effect 2, this would be my Game of the Year 2010. And with Undead Nightmare, it's even better. Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    An atmospheric and engaging masterpiece, set in a beautifully realised image of the old west with an ensemble of unforgettable characters. IAn atmospheric and engaging masterpiece, set in a beautifully realised image of the old west with an ensemble of unforgettable characters. I love this game, with Mass Effect 2 and just a few others it ranks as an all time great in my eyes, possibly my all time number 1. Just making John Marston walk causally along the main street of Armadillo and watching as the heat shimmers and dust kicks up from his boots as he steps is a sight to behold. Intuitive controls, satisfying combat and 'dead eye' along with the brilliant inertia reactions to being shot; there's so much to set this game apart as a joy to play. Its like having the leading role in an ultimately heart wrenching yet epic tale of life and loss in the dying days of the old west. Masterpiece. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    I was never a fan of Grand Theft Auto, and when I heard that Red Dead Redemption was like a clone of GTA, I didn't know if I'd like it. But II was never a fan of Grand Theft Auto, and when I heard that Red Dead Redemption was like a clone of GTA, I didn't know if I'd like it. But I decided to check it out cause it did look interesting, and plus being a criminal was optional this time around, which is great cause I don't like being the bad guy in video games. Plus I grew up in Texas, so playing a western style game would probably remind me a bit of home. The result? Fantastic! The game definately went beyond my expectations. It had a very good story. It was funny, dramatic at times, and of course it was action packed. The game stars John Marston, a man who once walked the path of an outlaw, but decided to walk away from that life to start a family, and go straight. But Govenment officials decide to kidnap his family, in order to blackmail John into hunting down his old gang members. John agrees to do it for the sake of his family, and so you must now travel around, looking for these outlaws. Throughout the game, you have to travel between towns and countries to complete quests for people in need, so you can earn the trust of the people who can help John find his old friends and kill them. On top of the things you must do to progress, the game has a huge amount of sidequests that will earn you honor and fame, which will help unlock more side-quests, so you can get more done, and get more found. The world in this game is big, and I mean really big. It's almost as huge as the world in Elder Scrolls IV, if not bigger. So you'll never get bored of exploring the beautiful landscapes of New Austin Texas. The combat system is pretty much flawless, it's just like many other 3rd person shooter systems, you hold a button to aim over Johns shoulder, and press another to shoot. The crosshair is pretty small, it's basically a tiny white dot, but believe it or not, it's not hard to get used to at all, cause once you learn the dead-eye targeting system, you won't care how big the crosshair is. With the dead-eye system, you can freeze time, and place you crosshair on the enemy, and set your spots where you want to shoot your enemy, then once you release the time freeze, John will automatically shoot in those exact spots. Of course this has limitations, you have a dead-eye meter, and once it runs out, no dead-eye for a while. Don't like it? Tough luck cowboy. The game has all the freedom of a GTA game, you can go around and rec havoc, or you can help the good towns people. Wanna get drunk? Go to the bar and have a few drinks why don't ya? Wanna do a little gamblin? Stop by town and play some poker, some blackjack, or heck maybe even some liars dice if ur in the mood. But how bout some bounty huntin? You can do that too sonny boy. When you see a wanted poster, take it, and get yourself a nice bounty by hunting down the bastard who broke the law. It's all a great time, and why not even go into the wild, and do some hunting? Or maybe you wanna go wrangle some horses. How bout racing? Or maybe you just wanna get into some trouble with the law like you did in GTA. It's all there, all the freedom of GTA and more. Of course the game isn't perfect. As many people will tell you, Red Dead Redemption is a very glitchy game. I was once playing the game, and when I stopped in the wild to inspect something I found, I saw as my horse took off flying like it had wings. It went so high up, that it fell to the ground and died, luckily I had a horse certificate with me so I could call another one, but that was funny. It was like my horse was abducted by aliens. lol So yeah, you will expirience glitches, and probably alot of them, but they usually won't interfere with the overall progression of the game. Bottom line, this game is great, and it's a must by if you own a 360 or PS3, especially if you're a big fan of Grand Theft Auto. If you havn't already, get this game as soon as you can. I give Red Dead Redemption a 9/10. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    Rockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, youRockstar has produced another classic, but this time in an era rarely explored. Games that take place on the american frontier are rare, you have games like Call of Juarez, but, Red Dead Redemption is truly the first epic 'wild west' game. The protagonist, John Marston, is similar to other Rockstar protagonists, but I think he's a good character. The storyline is pretty good, but it moves slowly like GTA IV. Technically, the game is good looking but textures on rocks and such are kind of blurry, there are some glitches, the controls are well done. Overall a great game. Expand
  7. May 17, 2012
    2
    This really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics areThis really is an awful game, I wish I played a demo first. I was tricked because it looks good, and it's made by Rockstar. The graphics are the best part, the music is decent, the voice acting and storyline are both mediocre, and the actual game mechanics are terrible.

    Shooting your gun feels awkward, imprecise, clunky, it's not fun.

    Riding your horse is boring too, it's like driving a car in GTA except you press A every couple seconds, and the scenery as you ride is all cactus and grass.

    Herding cattle is probably the most boring thing in the game.

    Racing is all right, but not very satisfying.

    There's no choices in the game, you just watch as the awful story unfolds.

    There's brothels in every town, but you're married so nothing to see here folks.
    Expand

See all 341 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews

    Red Dead Redemption: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 18, 2010
    You might be hearing the phrase "Game of the Year candidate" a lot this week, and this new Wild West adventure from the creators of Grand Theft Auto is a major reason why. Find out exactly what the critics are saying about this new PS3/360 title.