Red Faction: Guerrilla Xbox 360

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 241 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 241
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2017
    8
    This game is almost 10 years old now, pretty much old enough for a quick, touched up nostalgic review.

    Red Faction: Guerrilla is as original as it gets for an open-world action game. It puts you in control of a character called mason as he arrives on mars to meet his brother and join a mining workforce. Quickly you discover that the military present on the planet for the "protection"
    This game is almost 10 years old now, pretty much old enough for a quick, touched up nostalgic review.

    Red Faction: Guerrilla is as original as it gets for an open-world action game. It puts you in control of a character called mason as he arrives on mars to meet his brother and join a mining workforce. Quickly you discover that the military present on the planet for the "protection" of the civilians is in fact treating them like expendable garbage, so you are dragged into a rebel group called the "Red Faction", who have tasked themselves with removing the military presence from the planet, thus freeing its people.

    The Gameplay for this game includes your basic third-person shooter stuff as well as a mission system based around exploration and destruction. The destruction engine is unlike anything ive seen before or since, with every single building structure in the game fully-destructible with the wide variety of tools at your disposal. Speaking of which, the many unlockable weapons of this game are spectacular, giving you various ways of attacking your enemies, taking down buildings and even just getting around. It's just plain fun.

    Their are several areas in the game all with generally different looking environments. The first area that you start in is Parker, which has not been altered by any sort of machines like other sectors and so looks much like the rest of mars, except very lived-in. Other areas include Oasis (An area of mars altered so plants could grow, meaning its covered in grass), Dust (The mining centre on mars where all ore comes from) and Mount Vogel (A very cold place covered with snow). So as you can tell, the game has varying environments that are all extremely fun to screw around in and explore.

    Having finished this game again recently, I can happily say it holds up just as well today as it did when it released in 2009.
    Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2016
    4
    the game is very red and no have radio in the cars and no have much cars is strange for me i recommend view videos before buy, but is my opinion, i only left my experience
  3. May 18, 2015
    4
    Red Faction: Guerrilla, just Isn't really that good of a game. It's not a terrible game, but it's a bellow average game with not a whole lot of things to see, and do compared to most open world sandbox games. The story is forgettable in my eyes, with very few interesting characters. The graphics for a 2009 game are really good, and when you're destroying stuff it looks really cool, but theRed Faction: Guerrilla, just Isn't really that good of a game. It's not a terrible game, but it's a bellow average game with not a whole lot of things to see, and do compared to most open world sandbox games. The story is forgettable in my eyes, with very few interesting characters. The graphics for a 2009 game are really good, and when you're destroying stuff it looks really cool, but the occasional pop in is annoying. The gameplay is a mix between a third person shooter, and break **** with my huge hammer (I don't know what to call the gameplay so I'm calling it break **** with my huge hammer gameplay). There's a lot to do, but not enough for a second playthrough. I'd say if you can find it for like $15 dollars pick it up. If you can't don't bother. This is one of the few open world game where I don't know why it's so popular. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2015
    8
    This game is excellent it has the spectacular GeoMod 2.0,which leads to epic destruction of buildings It's open-world of Mars is cool and unique.

    Some weaknesses include rarely having allies help you in a skirmish and it has a poor story.
  5. Nov 29, 2014
    9
    The destruction makes this an open-world game like no other. It's up to you to liberate mars and tearing down enemy bases plays a key role. The destruction physics are amazing. No matter how you choose to destroy buildings it is a real treat.

    The story behind it all is a tad weak. That's because the real thrill the game offers isn't in story-driven set-pieces. It's in the moments you
    The destruction makes this an open-world game like no other. It's up to you to liberate mars and tearing down enemy bases plays a key role. The destruction physics are amazing. No matter how you choose to destroy buildings it is a real treat.

    The story behind it all is a tad weak. That's because the real thrill the game offers isn't in story-driven set-pieces. It's in the moments you create for yourself. How you choose to tear down a building and what it looks like when it hits the ground will stick with you long after playing. The single thought bringing a smile. Combat, side-quests, and exploration are also a blast. Even if the side-quests do lack variety after a while.

    Multiplayer is actually still going. Never had an issue finding a match which is shocking given it's age. There's also the "Wrecking Crew" mode. It's a local competitive mode that has you passing the controller. Both modes are great thanks to the awesome destruction this game allows for.

    Glorious, glorious destruction are what makes this game so darn fantastic. Even years later it is still an excellent stand out among open-world games. If you haven't played it yet you really should. You don't know what you are missing.
    Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2014
    8
    Red Faction steps up from a FPS, to a sandbox game that contains some of the best destruction seen in a video game. The storyline is weak, the missions aren't special and the land is barren. But it comes down to the gameplay in how you tackle each mission that sets Guerrilla apart from anything else on the market.

    From using a sledgehammer to destroy enemies, or sticky bombs to detonate
    Red Faction steps up from a FPS, to a sandbox game that contains some of the best destruction seen in a video game. The storyline is weak, the missions aren't special and the land is barren. But it comes down to the gameplay in how you tackle each mission that sets Guerrilla apart from anything else on the market.

    From using a sledgehammer to destroy enemies, or sticky bombs to detonate tall structures, there is so much variety and fun to be had in the mission objectives, that it us a must play for those who need a few different ways to take out an objective rather than only one option. There are still fetch quest missions and escort missions that aren't very imaginative at first, but when you realize that instead of shooting a guy in the head you can sledge him 10 feet into the air, or instead of using a sniper to pick off a tower guard, you can destroy the whole tower beneath him from the ground in seconds, you will start to feel the true wealth of options you have at your disposal.
    Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    I've played all RF games, and enjoyed the destruction in this game alot.
    Pros:
    Fun.
    Good upgrades.
    Good assortment of weapons.
    Geo Mod 2 is fantastic.
    Visually good.
    A good number of activities.
    Good length. About 25hrs.

    Cons:
    Bad story.
    Voice acting.
  8. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    This is one of my favourite games on Xbox, with everything being destructible it makes this game awesome just for that fact. I have played through this game 3 times and never lost interest. The story is quite bland but the Gameplay fixes this. This game has always been really cheap and never understood why because of the amount of enjoyment and time that you can get out of it. I highlyThis is one of my favourite games on Xbox, with everything being destructible it makes this game awesome just for that fact. I have played through this game 3 times and never lost interest. The story is quite bland but the Gameplay fixes this. This game has always been really cheap and never understood why because of the amount of enjoyment and time that you can get out of it. I highly recommend this game.

    I wish the sequel was as good as this game and hope they go back and make their next game like this. Armageddon was such a FAIL.
    Expand
  9. Apr 13, 2013
    8
    As a fan of the original Red Faction games, this game was honestly a pleasant surprise! With an open environment, optional missions, and a massive map, this game is definitively worth the price. Kept elements of the previous Red Factions, and is overall just an awesome game to blow crap up! :P
  10. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    I felt compelled to write a review for this game after reading so many negative reviews about the multiplayer of RFG. It plays very differently then the original Red Faction but even so it does so many things fantastically right. The variety of weapons, the custom settings, the playlists, level progression, emblem editor, destructible cover in a multiplayer scenario, the backpacks(whichI felt compelled to write a review for this game after reading so many negative reviews about the multiplayer of RFG. It plays very differently then the original Red Faction but even so it does so many things fantastically right. The variety of weapons, the custom settings, the playlists, level progression, emblem editor, destructible cover in a multiplayer scenario, the backpacks(which give you various abilities) and the large skill gap make this one of the most original and fun shooters I've ever had the opportunity to play. The controls are smooth, the movement may seem slow at first but coupled with various backpacks that give you more movement options and the customization option to increase the base movement speed make adjusting the game to your personal preference a breeze. The gametypes are varied for different map sizes, there's goofy ones like demolition where one person is assigned to destroy things while his team protects him to mores serious and tactical game types like Damage control where you have to control up to 3 points that have to be built and can be torn down. There's some very deep strategy that comes into play in this with all the various weapons that can destroy cover while mixing them with all the backpacks which can enhance how you go about destroying, controlling and capturing these points. The mutiplayer is incredibly deep without being unforgiving. The pistol is incredibly accurate and rivals that of the Halo CE pistol. Plenty of guns in this game are skillful to use while there are also power weapons that are easier such as the rockets, mines, singularity bombs(creates a giant black hole and sucks people in), shotgun, etc. Just thinking about these weapons make me smile because of all the glorious and hilarious moments I've had in this game using the weapons coupled with the backpacks, the destructible environments, the maps and the gametypes. If you can't tell by all my praise it's one of my favorite multiplayer shooters, not because of some fanboyism or nostalgia but because out of the mediocre console shooters games like this and Shadowrun stand out. To show you I'm not all praise and that I can look at it's flaws in a balanced way lets get to the negatives of the multiplayer. My complaints are few but they can be very significant. First, the maps are poorly designed for what this game excels in(imo), 4v4-6v6 gameplay. There's maybe 4 good maps. The best being Crash Site. For the most part they're just not very balanced maps, some give clear advantages either in weapon spawns, backpack spawns, height advantages, better angles, etc. Some of this can be corrected through customizing where things spawn and using the best gametypes for certain maps but even so some maps just aren't all that great. For the larger scale matches(which I don't think this game excels in) I've never really analyzed them, they're not meant to be taken incredibly seriously. I honestly think there are maybe 4 good maps. All of which have distinct advantages in default settings. Thankfully the gameplay and the level of skill shine through and make this only a minor complaint rather than a larger issue. Now for my second complaint which is more of a flaw of third person shooters, cornering. For those who don't know what cornering is I'll explain. Cornering is when you can shoot some around a corner while you remain behind cover still. Basically you're abusing the camera and the reticule doesn't take into account that your hitbox is behind the object while your reticule is aiming around it. This can be done in plenty of TPS. It's also known as right hand advantage, due to most games giving you a default right hand point of view. Why is this such a big issue? Well let me explain, imagine someone with a sniper who can not only see around the corner while remaining hidden but also can shoot you while staying completely safe. Now imagine that person has rockets and a pistol that kills in 3 shots and also has a heal pack that keeps him invulnerable from anything other than one shot kills or explosions. Now you should see how it can be abused. Luckily for Red Faction: Guerilla cover can be destroyed making this tactic less useful, you also have things like the Vision backpack and the Rail gun which shoots through walls that can help with this. Still though in any fire fight between two good people cornering will always be used if possible. You can't always have a counter for it on you and you'll feel robbed of a fair fight every time it occurs. It also hinders objective based gametypes and any moment where map control is a factor. Imagine a choke point where you need to get somewhere but your opponent is on the other side of a wall just cornering and dealing damage to you while remaining safe, making your only option to ambush him, or go and get something that beats the setup. RFG is one of the overlooked greats, worthy of your time. Try it out. Expand
  11. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    What a great game.. Its awesome. To me its one of the best sandbox games i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  12. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    What a great game.. Its awesome. To me its one of the best sandbox games i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  13. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I dont care what people say this game is awesome. Period , one of the best sandbox gamea i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  14. Mar 3, 2012
    7
    RF:G has flashes of a good game buried under tedium. The destruction gimmick is technically and visually impressive but it doesn't make up for the game's basic design flaws. Such flaws include mandatory repeated traversal of a barren "open world", no fun way to get rid of your 'red alert' status (i.e. endless enemy harassment), new weapons are dribbled out way too slowly, you eventuallyRF:G has flashes of a good game buried under tedium. The destruction gimmick is technically and visually impressive but it doesn't make up for the game's basic design flaws. Such flaws include mandatory repeated traversal of a barren "open world", no fun way to get rid of your 'red alert' status (i.e. endless enemy harassment), new weapons are dribbled out way too slowly, you eventually have many destructive weapons but only 3 slots to carry them in (and limited ammo as well), and forcing the player to pick up little bits of the game's currency (salvage) (they should instead just be automatically added to your currency balance upon destruction of the object), etc.

    This game reminds me of Just Cause 2. It shares many of the same gameplay schemes as well as its flaws.

    But at today's prices you will get your money's worth. Just don't expect to finish it, unless you like tedium.
    Expand
  15. Feb 25, 2012
    7
    Red Faction:Geurilla is one of those games that you shouldn't judge by it's cover. The boxart may look a little bland but the game itself is so much more than that. You play as Alec Mason, An ex-con sent to Mars for mining. when the communist EDF kill his brother,it's up to him with the help of Red Faction to kick the EDF's asses out of Mars. The voice acting is slightly plain and theRed Faction:Geurilla is one of those games that you shouldn't judge by it's cover. The boxart may look a little bland but the game itself is so much more than that. You play as Alec Mason, An ex-con sent to Mars for mining. when the communist EDF kill his brother,it's up to him with the help of Red Faction to kick the EDF's asses out of Mars. The voice acting is slightly plain and the aiming is terrible. Also it gets tiring to look at the same colour scheme for 8-10 hours. Don't let that stop from playing this though. the Destructible environmnents are insane and the weapons are excellent. The physics in this game are the selling point. If you are looking for a cheap but fun game to play while you wait for Mass Effect 3. Then you should check out this game. Expand
  16. Sep 28, 2011
    7
    With 20 story missions and 104 side missions, the single player is far from average. It's rubbish, infact. The demolition master and races are the only aspect of the campaign that are of any originality. The rest of the single player is boring and the story is terrible. Don't be fooled by the wrecking crew game mode. Even played with friends this is very boring, repetitive and not evenWith 20 story missions and 104 side missions, the single player is far from average. It's rubbish, infact. The demolition master and races are the only aspect of the campaign that are of any originality. The rest of the single player is boring and the story is terrible. Don't be fooled by the wrecking crew game mode. Even played with friends this is very boring, repetitive and not even good. Where this game gets interesting is the multiplayer. It is balanced, dynamic starting weapons, bakc packs work as 'perks' in CoD. It's an even playing field, so guns and packs are picked up from around the map. By far the most impressive features of this game are the lag-free multiplayer (coming from ~60 hours multiplayer experience) and the control scheme. This is definitely the best third person shooter multiplayer I have played. Expand
  17. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    Red Faction is a double-edge sword, instead o a linear adventure or strict direction gives you the freedom to do whatever you please, is enough to guarantee you a lot of ideas with the destruction, is a high appealing game. I'm amazed by everything it offers, to the versatility of destruction, graphics, sleek control etc. Blown away
  18. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    Melhor visualizado em: criticalplayer.com.br Produzido pela Volition e distribuído pela THQ, Red Faction: Guerrilla pode ser definido como um â
  19. Jun 23, 2011
    9
    Story is not the best, but this game does not suffer too much for it. The game is a sandbox in essence, you can run or drive around pretty much at your leasure and decide yourself what you want to do to liberate towns from the EDF. It does get somewhat repeatative after a while and not all miniquests are as fun as others. The driving can get frustrating at times but its fun to driveStory is not the best, but this game does not suffer too much for it. The game is a sandbox in essence, you can run or drive around pretty much at your leasure and decide yourself what you want to do to liberate towns from the EDF. It does get somewhat repeatative after a while and not all miniquests are as fun as others. The driving can get frustrating at times but its fun to drive through buildings.

    Overall a fun experience and different form of third person shooter, very refreshing and does not get boring, since you can pretty much decide the pacing yourself, you're free to keep doing smaller quests and missions or if you get bored go for the next storydriven mission to go forward.
    Expand
  20. Oct 15, 2010
    7
    Single player review only - An amazing premise and fun combat that's only hampered by a lack of polish and mission diversity. The weapons and geo-mod physics are pretty amazing and combine to form some great thrills, such as crashing your dump truck into a jail in order to free a couple of bound prisoners. Plus, this game is a collector's dream with tons of signs to destroy and items toSingle player review only - An amazing premise and fun combat that's only hampered by a lack of polish and mission diversity. The weapons and geo-mod physics are pretty amazing and combine to form some great thrills, such as crashing your dump truck into a jail in order to free a couple of bound prisoners. Plus, this game is a collector's dream with tons of signs to destroy and items to seek out and collect. On the downside, the driving mechanics are maddeningly unresponsive, the world is a bit too spread out and the game's sandbox-style missions can get repetitive as there's only a handful of different types of missions across a largely monochromatic setting. Though, if you enjoy mayhem, destruction and improvisation its easy to overlook these shortcomings and you'll find your $20 or so well spent. On a side note, I really hope they add co-op to the next one as this game begs for it. Expand
  21. TechDemo
    Sep 12, 2009
    7
    Simply put the single player is rubbish, after two hours your bored to tears. Multiplayer (with adults not those dumb ass knuckle head kids) is great, weaponry and clans games are nuts. But paying full price for it, nah I say go and get this at a reduced rate. Trust me you won't care about the single player, only the multi.
  22. JoshN
    Aug 20, 2009
    9
    In a word, BRILLIANT. I've never played the first two Red Factions, but I'm enjoying this. The open world makes it amazing to explore the wonder that is Mars. It also makes you think logically, where are you going to place charges or smash to bring down a building. When i played Fallout 3, I found the combat slow and boring having to go into V.A.T.S every time, but the combat in In a word, BRILLIANT. I've never played the first two Red Factions, but I'm enjoying this. The open world makes it amazing to explore the wonder that is Mars. It also makes you think logically, where are you going to place charges or smash to bring down a building. When i played Fallout 3, I found the combat slow and boring having to go into V.A.T.S every time, but the combat in this is phenomenal. People may say it's like GTA 4 or Mercs 2 because you can rob vehicles of A.I, but would you rather rob vehicles or run all the way across the surface of Mars??. The achievements are fairly balanced, and the fun of the game is amazing, especially seeing a smashed up tower collapsing on many men below. If you've never played the first two, and enjoy smashing stuff up for some achievements, this is the game for you! Expand
  23. BrandonH
    Aug 17, 2009
    9
    This is a great game! The building destruction is fun, the single player is fun, though repetitive at points, but the multiplayer is where this game really shines, the integration of backpacks to the mix really adds originality and hilarity to the game.
  24. DrewM
    Aug 16, 2009
    4
    I don't understand how so many people give this game a high rating unless they're paid by the developer to do so. I loved the first two red factions and played countless hours on them with my friends. I've logged about 24 hours in the third red faction installment so far and I don't think I'm going to play anymore. While the game has a good weapons and upgrade I don't understand how so many people give this game a high rating unless they're paid by the developer to do so. I loved the first two red factions and played countless hours on them with my friends. I've logged about 24 hours in the third red faction installment so far and I don't think I'm going to play anymore. While the game has a good weapons and upgrade variety, the game is slow paced filled with long drives to dull and repetitive missions. The world design is blocky and uninteresting (one thing that would have made the travel from one mission to the next bearable). So far I've found the storyline something to be drudged through rather than enjoyed. I was looking foward to the game moving out of the fps realm and into a sandbox world with totally destructibility, but guerilla really let me down. I wouldn't even advise renting the game at this point. I feel like I wasted my money on the purchase of this game. Expand
  25. RickS.
    Jul 30, 2009
    4
    Have you people even played the first 2 games, Red Faction 1 and 2 was all about pacing, you would run through stage after stage, with amazing guns, just blazing, think Gears of War but only first person. THIS GAME HOWEVER, is GTA 4/ and Mercenaries with nothing to do but fight wave after wave of dump insanely hard enemies. Oh god the multiplayer looks as if it was made for the N64, Have you people even played the first 2 games, Red Faction 1 and 2 was all about pacing, you would run through stage after stage, with amazing guns, just blazing, think Gears of War but only first person. THIS GAME HOWEVER, is GTA 4/ and Mercenaries with nothing to do but fight wave after wave of dump insanely hard enemies. Oh god the multiplayer looks as if it was made for the N64, basically run,throw or plant grenade,run,shoot, even describing it is boring, let alone playing this mess. What the hell did they turn this game into?. I don't think i ever played a longer game than Red Faction 1, and the best multiplayer of all time i would say is Red Faction 2, the guns were balanced, fast paced, spawning and fighting was incredible. Please people if you want a game with atleast story, pick up GTA 4, if you want a game with cool explosions and driving, pick up Mercenaries. Red Faction Guerrilla, looked at what was selling and just went with it. Shame on you Volition for destroying one of the greatest games a console had(PS2), now I know how Spyro feels: ( If anyone played the first 2 games they would know what im talking about, i still play them even today, It's simply amazing to see how much more better the PS2 is then every next gen console so far. Expand
  26. Anonymous
    Jul 17, 2009
    3
    Really disappointed with this game. Iv never bothered to write comments about a game before but this was so poor that i feel compelled to warn people. Once the fun from trashing buildings wares off all you are left with is a very boring third person shooter with tonnes of boring, repetitive side missions. The game tries to have you addopting guerrilla tactics but ultimately that boils Really disappointed with this game. Iv never bothered to write comments about a game before but this was so poor that i feel compelled to warn people. Once the fun from trashing buildings wares off all you are left with is a very boring third person shooter with tonnes of boring, repetitive side missions. The game tries to have you addopting guerrilla tactics but ultimately that boils down to throwing some charges at a building and legging it back to a safehouse to avoid the limitless supply of EDF who will turn up. Despite this the single player did hold my interest just long enough for me to finish it through once before trying the multiplayer. Now this is why this game gets a 3 from me not a 6 because the multiplayer is pathetic. This simply wasnt worth the money and is best enjoyed as weekend rental. Expand
  27. WillC
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Awesome singleplay with varying missions and side quests. Tons of weapons and vehicles. Tons of cheats. Big landscape. And for the first time in a sandbox game: a challenge. The multiplayer is amazing as well. There are many more tactics than other games thanks to the destruction. There are alot of unlocks (Which are just for looks), more weapons, backpacks that give you powerups Awesome singleplay with varying missions and side quests. Tons of weapons and vehicles. Tons of cheats. Big landscape. And for the first time in a sandbox game: a challenge. The multiplayer is amazing as well. There are many more tactics than other games thanks to the destruction. There are alot of unlocks (Which are just for looks), more weapons, backpacks that give you powerups (including a jetpack), and gamemodes. If you liked shadowrun, this multiplayer is a must. Geo Mod is not a gimmick, it's a way to play. Expand
  28. VincenzoP.
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    Some glitchy controls can make achieving some pro times a real burden and the story is missing some flavor. However, games are about fun. The over the top destruction is so rediculously fun and fresh that it outweighs any flaws this game has, and yes EVERY game has flaws, and if we rated games based on flaws, no game would ever get a perfect score. A ten all the way, baby!
  29. PabloR
    Jun 22, 2009
    10
    The game is absolutely fenominal, I don't know where to begin, but the level of destruction and absolute fun of the missions in the game makes it stand out. It's like Mercenaries 2 and Farcry 2 but the character isn't a mercenary and they fight for a cause, in this game, to liberate Mars. To me, the only thing that brings this game down is the how sometimes it's hard The game is absolutely fenominal, I don't know where to begin, but the level of destruction and absolute fun of the missions in the game makes it stand out. It's like Mercenaries 2 and Farcry 2 but the character isn't a mercenary and they fight for a cause, in this game, to liberate Mars. To me, the only thing that brings this game down is the how sometimes it's hard with the constant waves of reinforcements from the enemy EDF. If I could, I'd rather give it a 9.5 than a 10, but I can only give it a 10. Collapse
  30. JohnnyT
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    Awesome game with endless ways to go through missions and a MP that offers great customization. Definitely a game that has flown under most gamers radar. " Better Red, then Dead"
  31. GeorgeJ.
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    This game is simply superb. The only thing keeping it from a ten is a couple of bland textures and bland environments, (then again it is Mars not Vegas)also the vehicle is a little bit lofty(then again Mars gravity)and finally some buildings do not accurately or perfectly fall the way it should(then again Mars........wait a minute that's the developers fault!)but don't let these This game is simply superb. The only thing keeping it from a ten is a couple of bland textures and bland environments, (then again it is Mars not Vegas)also the vehicle is a little bit lofty(then again Mars gravity)and finally some buildings do not accurately or perfectly fall the way it should(then again Mars........wait a minute that's the developers fault!)but don't let these little things sway you from buying the game as it is wonderful in all aspects; the awesome destructiveness, the many different creative options in multiplayer, the lengthy but fun campaign, and even a mode called wrecking crew which is local multiplayer dedicated to blowing up literally everything! This game is simply a must-get for all those shooter fans who are stopped in their tracks by some stupid wooden door now matter how many times you shoot the rpg at it. Expand
  32. MichaelP
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    I've played this game online and single player, and it's fun as hell. The destructible environments with the GeoMod engine are amazing. It adds to the whole gameplay...nowhere is safe anymore. People are missing out on tons of fun if they pass up this title.
  33. CrabTree
    Jun 11, 2009
    5
    After about 2 hours, the gimmick of the destruction wears off and it becomes extremely boring. Multiplayer... been there done that. Sorry y'all.
  34. RowanF
    Jun 11, 2009
    10
    This has to be one of the best games of this year. Volition's destruction system is truly exceptional, it allows you to engage in one of the best pastimes of the world ever: Blowing shit up. But it's not just the destruction system which is brilliant, the rest of the game is solid aswell: the missions are great, the world is enormous and filled with some awesome shit to blow up, This has to be one of the best games of this year. Volition's destruction system is truly exceptional, it allows you to engage in one of the best pastimes of the world ever: Blowing shit up. But it's not just the destruction system which is brilliant, the rest of the game is solid aswell: the missions are great, the world is enormous and filled with some awesome shit to blow up, and it's all displayed in lucous, perfect, graphics. However, the main reason you'll want to get the game is the fact that it's so fun. It's just so unbelievably heart warming when you see a massive bridge collapse, bringing down six enemy vehicles with it. Plus, by playing on a harder difficulty and really planning your missions, you can really get a sense of the 'Guerilla' warfare, which is tenfold more satisfying than just walking in there and shooting them to crap. The story is nice and epic, with a nice change to the feel of the game depending on which sector you're in, however, whilst the cutscenes which the story is displayed in are very polished, they can be disappointingly uninspiring at times, which is really my only complaint. The multipalyer is also an additively fun outing, and one I'd profusely recommend. Expand
  35. BoH
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    The destructible environments are incredible. While the story line isn't the most engaging and the AI can be suspect at times, overall this is a challenging and very fun experience with great replay value. The graphics rate: 9.5/10, sound 7/10, playability 9/10. Highly recommended for anyone wanting to blow stuff up.
  36. NicholasT
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    The best of the summer's sandbox games (including Prototype and Inamous). I find it sad that most of the reviewers failed to even mention the multiplayer in their reviews considering that I'm enjoying it more than the actual campaign (which is still very well paced and awesome itself). If you enjoy unpretentious, fun to play experiences then give RFG a try. I guarantee you The best of the summer's sandbox games (including Prototype and Inamous). I find it sad that most of the reviewers failed to even mention the multiplayer in their reviews considering that I'm enjoying it more than the actual campaign (which is still very well paced and awesome itself). If you enjoy unpretentious, fun to play experiences then give RFG a try. I guarantee you won't be disappointed. It'll definitely be on my best of 2009 list at the end of the year. Expand
  37. ApocalypseBrown
    Jun 9, 2009
    9
    F*&k me some reviewers really piss me off! Eurogamer in particular have no concept of what games are meant to be - escapism FUN! So EuroG why award this 7, and give Bioshock 9? Well let's look at the two games then: RFG single player is simply standard fair, but that fair is in a massive open world where there is a civil war going on around you and you have some serious WMD's F*&k me some reviewers really piss me off! Eurogamer in particular have no concept of what games are meant to be - escapism FUN! So EuroG why award this 7, and give Bioshock 9? Well let's look at the two games then: RFG single player is simply standard fair, but that fair is in a massive open world where there is a civil war going on around you and you have some serious WMD's waiting to help rip that world apart. Technically, pleasure-wise, entertainment-wise this game rocks! Then there is the multi-player, which is up then with ANY shooter/open world game. It's seriously addictive and FUN! There is no story, there is no ultimate point, yet it feels sooooo right. Mech robots ripping through any city is everybodys dream, yet because it isn't technically appealing some reviewers just don't give it then respect it deserves. Now: Bioshock had a wonderful story, but extremely dark and repetitive scenery, under powdered weaponary, stupid plasmids which mostly doesn't work exactly how the game intended, easy game skill default and lastly totally uninteresting 'Big Daddies' and moral choice issues which isn't really an issue at all! And this shite gets props over RFG? Please Eurogamer, go and get a job which you lot are actually good at! Leave the truth to the public who know our stuff. Expand
  38. CodyBawden
    Jun 8, 2009
    7
    I just couldn't get into the game. The destruction is awesome, but when the driving, story and overall gameplay isn't very good then the destruction becomes a novelty. It's going to be awesome when every game begins to use this physics mechanic though. I'm glad I rented it from Gamefly.
  39. BrettP
    Jun 7, 2009
    9
    It's like if Halo, Ghost Recon and Saints Row had babies. And they turned out to be deformed. But in a good way. This game is great for people who are looking for a free roaming shooter experience, a deep and feature filled multi-player mode, and explosions. As I played through the game something kept nagging me. A feeling in the back of my head I could not shake. When I remembered I It's like if Halo, Ghost Recon and Saints Row had babies. And they turned out to be deformed. But in a good way. This game is great for people who are looking for a free roaming shooter experience, a deep and feature filled multi-player mode, and explosions. As I played through the game something kept nagging me. A feeling in the back of my head I could not shake. When I remembered I was playing a Red Faction game, It all made sense. This game carries on the spirit and soul of its predecessors while adding a new feel at the same time. Not without faults, but still exceptional and addictive. Expand
  40. toneboy
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    It may not be the deepest game as far as story goes but it's a heck of a lot of fun to play. So much so, it's hard to put down. The MP rules too! Some reviewers don't even mention this and it's such a big part of the game.
  41. AndyP
    Jun 7, 2009
    8
    Though the depth of the story (or lack there of) and bland surroundings ultimately drag this game down to an 8 - the sheer pleasure of complete and total destruction will keep you coming back for more! I played the original Red Faction and can remember sinking hours into multiplayer matches... tunneling through to various secret areas. This is even better than the original in that Though the depth of the story (or lack there of) and bland surroundings ultimately drag this game down to an 8 - the sheer pleasure of complete and total destruction will keep you coming back for more! I played the original Red Faction and can remember sinking hours into multiplayer matches... tunneling through to various secret areas. This is even better than the original in that regard... there's no limit to the amount of destruction you can cause. For those who really need a great story to pull them through a game, I'd recommend waiting for something better to come along. If you play a game for the sake of playing a game though, Red Faction FTW! Expand
  42. AndrewL
    Jun 6, 2009
    5
    Visually the game is impeccable, however as much free-roam as you get you can't help but shake that linear feeling. Breaking down buildings foundation by foundation never loses its charm. The main problem with the game is how easy it is, you never run out of charges (there no need to be conservative whatsoever) and every weapon seems to deal several times more damage on enemies than Visually the game is impeccable, however as much free-roam as you get you can't help but shake that linear feeling. Breaking down buildings foundation by foundation never loses its charm. The main problem with the game is how easy it is, you never run out of charges (there no need to be conservative whatsoever) and every weapon seems to deal several times more damage on enemies than it does on you, making it a little too breezy for a challenge-hungry gamer. Online is good but it has no excitement in it, its really just shoot to (a little too easily) kill. Most people can snipe you out from Mars' infinite high mountains and if your (un)lucky you'll be up against a team who jetpack around with projectiles and rain fire on you. Expand
  43. DanB
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    I'm a big first person shooter fan and rarely give any other type of game a chance based on the fact that they just don't feel as submersive. I dowloaded the demo for RFG and became instantly hooked. This is one of the most addictive and thrilling games I've ever played. I actually have a hard time deciding if I'd rather play the campaign or the multiplayer because I'm a big first person shooter fan and rarely give any other type of game a chance based on the fact that they just don't feel as submersive. I dowloaded the demo for RFG and became instantly hooked. This is one of the most addictive and thrilling games I've ever played. I actually have a hard time deciding if I'd rather play the campaign or the multiplayer because they are both so much fun. Don't take anybody's word for it..just give this game a chance and see for yourself. Expand
  44. PhilG
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Ignore those jaded reviewer guttersnipes, and go with the users on this one. The destruction and multiplayer are excellent and the game's combination of Far Cry 2, Mercenaries, and Saints Row creates an irresistible playground of destruction for fans of action games, sandbox games, and fun.
  45. ScottS
    Jun 5, 2009
    10
    Red Faction is what I hoped Mercenaries 2 would be, a destructible-environment sandbox game. And when I say destructible, I don
  46. oobergoober
    Jun 5, 2009
    1
    I have played Redfaction games since the first game came out and I really liked the multiplier game play in both part 1 and 2. In Redfaction Guerrilla the multiplier game play just sucks and I think that the multiplier game play was the missing ingredient to the third game. When you your missing the main ingredient what is the point? I am very disappointed by this game!!! In fact playing I have played Redfaction games since the first game came out and I really liked the multiplier game play in both part 1 and 2. In Redfaction Guerrilla the multiplier game play just sucks and I think that the multiplier game play was the missing ingredient to the third game. When you your missing the main ingredient what is the point? I am very disappointed by this game!!! In fact playing this game for just 5 minutes made me what to play red faction 2. Expand
  47. ChadH
    Jun 4, 2009
    9
    There are so many elements involved with making a "Good" game. I suggest that you decide for yourself, after you buy this game. I guarantee that your mind will race like a hyper kid who forgot to take his A.D.D. medication! Just buy it!!!
  48. SC
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    It's amazing that everything can be destroyed! It gives the player the freedom to do as they wish in order to achieve the goal. With the addition of multi-player you can definitely play this game over and over again! The weapons are pretty awesome too.
  49. FarDeep
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    God damn this game makes my dreams come true again! I even still remebered the how shock I am when playing Red Faction 2, seeing those dynamic geometry generating system.
  50. PinkPoodle
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazingly fun! Disappointed that you couldn't deform terrain and blow holds into rock walls like in the first game but destroying buildings more than makes up for it! I even played the Wrecking Crew mode more than the single player just blowing stuff up and watching it collapse into a big ol' heap of rubble! Definitely my new GTA 4 and will be the default occupier of Absolutely amazingly fun! Disappointed that you couldn't deform terrain and blow holds into rock walls like in the first game but destroying buildings more than makes up for it! I even played the Wrecking Crew mode more than the single player just blowing stuff up and watching it collapse into a big ol' heap of rubble! Definitely my new GTA 4 and will be the default occupier of my Xbox for a long time. Expand
  51. JustinH
    Jun 3, 2009
    9
    An all around enjoyable game. Red Faction: Guerrilla combines an impressive campaign, with an offline multiplayer game that packs one hell of a punch. A must have this year, and sure to be one of game of the year nominees. (Online Multiplayer not reviewed.)
  52. j
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Okay maybe it's a 9.9 as nothing can be totally perfect, but it's as good a game as there is in a free form sandbox environment where anything goes. Way underrated by the reviewing community in my opinion.
  53. Jim
    Jun 3, 2009
    10
    Well if GTA deserves a 98 this game deserves a 200. It is the most fun i've had playing a game in a long long time. I have no idea why the reviewers are so hard on it. Perhaps they have forgotten why people play games. Anyhow good job volition, you deserve a lot of credit for this. You can tell a lot of work and effort went into it...and that it was all focused on making it fun.
  54. TomS
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    I guess I am not easily entertained with blowing things up or sitting in a car half the game. Almost every mission starts with blowing something up and then fighting off endless waves of enemies. I am about half way through the game and I don't see myself finishing it because I don't see anything changing except the explosions will likely grow in size. Its basically one gimmick I guess I am not easily entertained with blowing things up or sitting in a car half the game. Almost every mission starts with blowing something up and then fighting off endless waves of enemies. I am about half way through the game and I don't see myself finishing it because I don't see anything changing except the explosions will likely grow in size. Its basically one gimmick (destruction) extended for 15-20 hours without any inspired or unique moments. The EDF AI will kill you with boredom. Multiplayer is far more rewarding because other players bring their own creative approach to the sandbox style destruction so your strategy is always evolving. If you just want to sit back and break stuff then this game is for you since the destruction is well done. Expand
  55. JesseH
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This game is definitely one of the best games I've ever played, and is a MUST PICK UP for fans on Third Person Shooters and/or Sandbox games, since this game delivers fantastically on both. The massive amounts of destruction followed by a solid story and excellent gunplay/chases is unbelievably awesome when thrown into one. On top of the beautiful single player, a truly addicting, This game is definitely one of the best games I've ever played, and is a MUST PICK UP for fans on Third Person Shooters and/or Sandbox games, since this game delivers fantastically on both. The massive amounts of destruction followed by a solid story and excellent gunplay/chases is unbelievably awesome when thrown into one. On top of the beautiful single player, a truly addicting, enjoyable and overall awesome competitive multiplayer is included, with a mass array of maps, modes, weapons and RFG's own backpacks. This game is an absolute must buy. This has got to be one of those rare times where I almost completely disagree with OXM's rating. 7/10 is a massive understatement and this game deserves much more. Expand
  56. CletusV
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    I'm a guy and I like to destroy stuff, hit stuff and blow stuff up. It's in our genes. There's no getting around it. People in town sometimes get a little edged when you go around and blow up their stuff or even hit them. Some even cry. A lot. Now I can reap the fun of carnage right in my own living room and most I have to clean up is some dropped Cheetos!
  57. JW
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Quotes: Undoubtedly this year's most gratifying and original title so far. It
  58. AaronC
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This has teh best destruction EVER! I spent hours just blowing stuff up and driving cars through buildings. Until I got the walker. I've already put over 20 hours into the single player and I'm only 60% way thru. Mutliplayer is pretty fun too, and I normally don't like MP.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 84 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 84
  2. Negative: 0 out of 84
  1. Red Faction: Guerrilla is a fantastic, laudably fun tech demo funneled into a rather awesome game. Undoubtedly this year's most gratifying and original title so far. [Issue#46, p.76]
  2. No matter what mode you enter, Red Faction: Guerrilla delivers on its promise of destruction, and offers an experience unlike anything else out there.
  3. It’s outrageously awesome entertainment that forgoes taking itself too seriously to ensure you’re grinning ear-to-ear throughout, smiles gleefully lit up by the biggest explosion-fest in gaming history. And we have no problem with that, whatsoever.