Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. 78
    If nothing else, Remember Me serves as a warning to the social-media-addicted masses. If you continue down your current path, one day you will turn into a memory addicted monstrosity–or an ass-kicking memory hunter–well, it’s a 50/50 shot I guess. Good luck with that.
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    78
    Combat is filled with fresh ideas, but that creativity inhibits your capability in combat. Hopefully Dontnod doesn’t forget any of the lessons it learned this time around, because a sequel could be truly memorable.
  3. Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Remember Me isn’t a bad long weekend’s entertainment if you’re willing to give its world a chance to draw you in, but it really just isn’t enough of a game for me to give it an unqualified recommendation.
  4. 75
    While we have issues with some of Remember Me’s major features, the overall adventure is well worth experiencing. Even if some fights and branching paths lead you toward frustration, they’re merely parts of a journey that showcase a wildly unique story and the visuals to match.
  5. Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a great action game, with a lot of smart ideas and an extremely inspired art direction. A clunky combat system keeps it from excellence though.
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    85
    Remember Me, thanks to a great narrative structure, is one of the biggest surprises of 2013.
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    Remember Me has an interesting concept and single-player-only storyline, albeit somewhat confusing and vaguely familiar (it has some similarities to Total Recall in many respects). It's a good action-adventure gamers won't forget too quickly (although a lack of multiplayer makes it fade from memory sooner rather than later), despite some of the core elements being not as innovative or unique as they might seem, or as in the case of the memory remixes, not quite as unforgettable as they should be.
  8. Jun 13, 2013
    90
    Remember Me is a technically accomplished and very stylish action adventure. The sci fi story about meaning of memories is interesting. [June 2013]
  9. Sep 16, 2013
    81
    Remember me is a competent game, but one can't shake the feeling it could be even more. The story is interesting, the soundtrack is wonderful and the vision is thought-provoking.
  10. Jun 3, 2013
    75
    Remember Me has a smart combat system, such as those from games like Batman Arkham or Sleeping Dogs. It has a great plot and protagonist, which add some original mechanics to the gameplay: memory remixes and combo lab. However, platform zones are linear and the controls aren't polished at all.
  11. Jun 3, 2013
    90
    The story of Nilin lasts maybe 10 hours, but will endure past the end credits. There are some shortcomings in terms of gameplay, indeed, but its storytelling, brilliant art direction, and impeccable, yet frightening vision of the future will most definitely remain branded in your memory for years to come.
  12. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    A great game that is persistently close to being a spectacular one. It has a bigger story to tell than a 10-15 hour third-person action title can accommodate, but still manages to be surprisingly emotional and touching by the time the credits roll.
  13. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a great start for the young developer Dontnod Studios. The fact that this developer dares to take the risk to produce a new IP with a tough heroin as the main character, makes this game worth mentioning. It also plays well, has an interesting, philosophic story and has a cool world to be in. As a game, Remember Me isn’t perfect though. But for those who enjoy good science fiction stories in which dystopian societies are ruled over by powerful corporations, it shouldn’t be missed.
  14. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a linear action adventure and that works pretty good. The game has a well told story, a great main character and the developers have used colors, lighting and soundtrack in an impressive way to enhance the visuals of the game. However, the game mechanics themselves are decent at best. There are many other developers who do fighting, climbing and running much better.
  15. 80
    New IPs at this stage of the console cycle are fairly rare, especially those with ingenuity and creativity in abundance, as well as a little innovation to boot. That right there is Remember Me, a memorable experience with a strong female lead, an epic score, a hugely creative world and some deceptively deep mechanics. Here’s hoping we see Nilin and co. again sometime soon as she’s not someone we’re going to forget in a hurry.
  16. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    Remember Me eyes trouble the most pointedly when it falls prey to overused video game conventions. But Remember Me's fiction and world-building make it more than just another running, jumping and climbing oriented beat-em-up - they make it a future worth exploring.
  17. Jun 3, 2013
    75
    Remember Me’s unique take on user-influenced combat and a scary futuristic dystopia managed to make a lasting impression, one that everyone should consider adding to their memory bank.
  18. Jun 21, 2013
    75
    Remember Me is a game that tries to be a lot of things, but fails in its execution, the only noteworthy thing is its story, and even that really captivates you until the end, due to an unpredictable twist.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 64
  2. Negative: 3 out of 64
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    A great game that will suck you into it's world in the same way as mirrors edge did a few years ago. A fantastic protagonist, interestingA great game that will suck you into it's world in the same way as mirrors edge did a few years ago. A fantastic protagonist, interesting combat and great new ideas make this a must buy for anyone who loves science fiction Full Review »
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    I meat Olga already... ehm... this is the most amazing part of the game for me right now. I see a movie about this game in a near future.I meat Olga already... ehm... this is the most amazing part of the game for me right now. I see a movie about this game in a near future. Excelent history and script, is like a cyberpunk game, alll that what I was looking for. As a Deus Ex Human Revolution Fan and Beta Tester. This cyberpunk visuals "remember me" to DXHR but is better. Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This is a great game. It is innovative, original and daring. Too many games rest on their former success, bringing out sequel after sequelThis is a great game. It is innovative, original and daring. Too many games rest on their former success, bringing out sequel after sequel (here's looking at you Mario, Resident Evil and Metal Gear) rather than creating something new and fresh. Remember Me mixes great story, amazing graphics (probably the best I've seen on the Xbox) and sensational music into a very playable game.

    Many reviews have criticised its combat for being dull, and ill admit that it could do with a counter attack button rather than just using dodge, but the special moves are great, the mix of enemy's keeps it fresh and the crazy REZ style dynamic musical score that crescendos as you make successful combos is a treat. I played it on easy and would recommend people to do the same... I love a challenge, but not at the expense of enjoyment, and Remember Me is a game to experience and enjoy, not just a way of Maxing Out the gamer score.

    The memory remixes are very fun, if anything a couple more would have been nice and the free running aspect is good too. I don't think that the route being projected for you is a downside, but I'd have loved to explore more of Neo Paris.

    The overall concept and story and setting is what makes this game shine. Please please release more content and please please keep adding to this franchise. Remember Me let's us glimpse at the future of gaming and it looks good!!
    Full Review »