Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    81
    Remember me is a competent game, but one can't shake the feeling it could be even more. The story is interesting, the soundtrack is wonderful and the vision is thought-provoking.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    80
    Remember Me has an interesting concept and single-player-only storyline, albeit somewhat confusing and vaguely familiar (it has some similarities to Total Recall in many respects). It's a good action-adventure gamers won't forget too quickly (although a lack of multiplayer makes it fade from memory sooner rather than later), despite some of the core elements being not as innovative or unique as they might seem, or as in the case of the memory remixes, not quite as unforgettable as they should be.
  3. 60
    It's never bland, but it is so bland it's impossible to recommend. [Issue#99, p.74]
  4. Jul 1, 2013
    60
    Remember Me has failed to make us experience a game that we will remember for a long time. It had that potential, but it was lost due to some of DontNod Entertainment's design choices.
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    50
    Remember Me gets off on the right foot with an impressive opening and a rare female protagonist, but the overall experience of both gameplay and storytelling is too heavily guided and lacking in depth.
  6. Jun 21, 2013
    75
    Remember Me is a game that tries to be a lot of things, but fails in its execution, the only noteworthy thing is its story, and even that really captivates you until the end, due to an unpredictable twist.
  7. Jun 19, 2013
    60
    Remember Me is a game filled with ambition it doesn’t quite reach. Protagonist Nilin is a strong, interesting female lead carrying a good story through the entire game.
  8. 70
    Remember Me offers nothing new as far as gameplay goes but it has an interesting concept that parallels many of the things happening now in our technologically obsessed social media culture.
  9. Jun 13, 2013
    90
    Remember Me is a technically accomplished and very stylish action adventure. The sci fi story about meaning of memories is interesting. [June 2013]
  10. Jun 10, 2013
    75
    Remember Me isn’t a bad long weekend’s entertainment if you’re willing to give its world a chance to draw you in, but it really just isn’t enough of a game for me to give it an unqualified recommendation.
  11. Jun 10, 2013
    70
    There are parts of Remember Me that are likeable – smart, even – and sit teetering on the brink of potential greatness. It helps that it’s backed up with an attractive location and strong atmosphere, which saddens me more that one of its core features – the combat – is not engaging enough to transfer the game into greatness. Mix that up with linearity and its simple climbing sections, and Remember Me is prevented from being anything more than a decent title that will most likely be forgotten by most and remembered by so few.
  12. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a linear action adventure and that works pretty good. The game has a well told story, a great main character and the developers have used colors, lighting and soundtrack in an impressive way to enhance the visuals of the game. However, the game mechanics themselves are decent at best. There are many other developers who do fighting, climbing and running much better.
  13. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a great start for the young developer Dontnod Studios. The fact that this developer dares to take the risk to produce a new IP with a tough heroin as the main character, makes this game worth mentioning. It also plays well, has an interesting, philosophic story and has a cool world to be in. As a game, Remember Me isn’t perfect though. But for those who enjoy good science fiction stories in which dystopian societies are ruled over by powerful corporations, it shouldn’t be missed.
  14. Jun 5, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a great action game, with a lot of smart ideas and an extremely inspired art direction. A clunky combat system keeps it from excellence though.
  15. Jun 5, 2013
    65
    Instead, I am left with the anticipation of a possible sequel, hoping that much of its ideas are left intact and that what needs to be fixed gets fixed. If that were to happen, then perhaps I'd look at this first chapter and, well, remember it differently.
  16. 78
    If nothing else, Remember Me serves as a warning to the social-media-addicted masses. If you continue down your current path, one day you will turn into a memory addicted monstrosity–or an ass-kicking memory hunter–well, it’s a 50/50 shot I guess. Good luck with that.
  17. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    Cyberpunk lovers that impatiently wait for Shadowrun Returns or Cyberpunk 2077 can forget about Remember Me and wait for their dream games while playing checkers. But if what you want is some simple beat'em up with many cut scenes and you're not expecting a big hit, you can consider buying this game. A few hours needed to finish this adventure should be enjoyable, but the game quickly becomes repetitive.
  18. 80
    New IPs at this stage of the console cycle are fairly rare, especially those with ingenuity and creativity in abundance, as well as a little innovation to boot. That right there is Remember Me, a memorable experience with a strong female lead, an epic score, a hugely creative world and some deceptively deep mechanics. Here’s hoping we see Nilin and co. again sometime soon as she’s not someone we’re going to forget in a hurry.
  19. Jun 3, 2013
    60
    Remember Me is a better story than a game, a mixture of Philip K. Dick-style plotting and Luc Besson's sci-fi aesthetics grafted onto an initially nifty, but ultimately repetitive gameplay design.
  20. 70
    Dontnods game is far from perfect, but offers nice action and exciting adventures. The future Paris is also well designed and it's nice to see a good female character for once.
  21. 75
    While we have issues with some of Remember Me’s major features, the overall adventure is well worth experiencing. Even if some fights and branching paths lead you toward frustration, they’re merely parts of a journey that showcase a wildly unique story and the visuals to match.
  22. Jun 3, 2013
    78
    Combat is filled with fresh ideas, but that creativity inhibits your capability in combat. Hopefully Dontnod doesn’t forget any of the lessons it learned this time around, because a sequel could be truly memorable.
  23. Because Remember Me has moments of novel brilliance. The Memory Remix segments aren't particularly challenging, or even puzzles in the real sense. They're more a fun way of tinkering with things, and seeing what happens. They do work perfectly well as a narrative device, and a change in pace. The combat system, which might appear strategically moribund to anyone with long experience of gaming, develops constantly throughout the game, which helps prevent you from becoming bored.
  24. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    While I suspect many will either doggedly reprimand or passively tolerate Remember Me, at least it tries something new.
  25. Jun 3, 2013
    75
    Remember Me’s unique take on user-influenced combat and a scary futuristic dystopia managed to make a lasting impression, one that everyone should consider adding to their memory bank.
  26. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    A game that a small number of people will rightly love and cherish, but overall it's an uneven experience - one that feels like it knows what it wants to be, but has resigned itself to existing in a world where it can't quite get away with it.
  27. Jun 3, 2013
    68
    Remember Me is not a bad game, but it's also far from being as good as we all expected.
  28. 60
    I had really hoped Remember Me would have been a better game. A few tweaks here and there, and it could easily have scored a notch or two higher on a scale. The only thing that's holding it back is the mediocre gameplay, as everything else in the game is in the same league as the best in the genre.
  29. Jun 3, 2013
    90
    The story of Nilin lasts maybe 10 hours, but will endure past the end credits. There are some shortcomings in terms of gameplay, indeed, but its storytelling, brilliant art direction, and impeccable, yet frightening vision of the future will most definitely remain branded in your memory for years to come.
  30. Jun 3, 2013
    69
    Remember Me is a product where the effort made in creating a fascinating and credible world has taken away all the rest. Audio and graphics are stunning, unfortunately the game is not.
  31. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    A game full of interesting ideas, but blandly developed. Its only strengths lie in the brilliant environments and good enemy/boss design, but all of this gets obscured by a tedious combat system and climbing sections, while the Memory Remix and Remembrane parts ended up being overly scripted and not really satisfying. Shortness is also a problem.
  32. Jun 3, 2013
    85
    Remember Me, thanks to a great narrative structure, is one of the biggest surprises of 2013.
  33. Jun 3, 2013
    68
    Remember Me isn’t quite up to par in terms of craft. But whatever you might say about it, this curious and ambitious game certainly isn’t without personality or interest. It’s up to you to decide if your mind has room to hold such a curious oddity.
  34. Jun 3, 2013
    75
    Remember Me has a smart combat system, such as those from games like Batman Arkham or Sleeping Dogs. It has a great plot and protagonist, which add some original mechanics to the gameplay: memory remixes and combo lab. However, platform zones are linear and the controls aren't polished at all.
  35. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    Remember Me eyes trouble the most pointedly when it falls prey to overused video game conventions. But Remember Me's fiction and world-building make it more than just another running, jumping and climbing oriented beat-em-up - they make it a future worth exploring.
  36. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    Nilin is the best reason to make this game a future memory: she's resolute, conflicted, and all too human, making her a terrific escort through this beautiful and underutilized world.
  37. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    It’s sometimes frustrating and sometimes monotonous, but it also transports you to an amazing world with striking designs, a deep culture, and interesting characters.
  38. Jun 3, 2013
    60
    Remember Me is a game that is, to be quite fair, thoroughly up its own arse, a game where simplicity is dressed in shallow complexity, and meaning is an illusion created by carefully constructed gibberish...Strangely, though, it's not bad. It's infuriatingly full of itself, but there's fun to be had through the density of the smugness.
  39. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    A great game that is persistently close to being a spectacular one. It has a bigger story to tell than a 10-15 hour third-person action title can accommodate, but still manages to be surprisingly emotional and touching by the time the credits roll.
  40. Jun 3, 2013
    40
    Remember Me is nothing more than an entirely forgettable tour de farce of archaic game design. Its horrific dialogue, sickening camera and regressive combat are major blips in a title that poses one major question: was this game worth releasing? ‘Dontnod’ is arguably the right answer.
  41. 50
    Plenty of smart ideas and some very attractive presentation, but none of the core gameplay elements work as well as they should and the game ends up sadly forgettable.
  42. Jun 2, 2013
    59
    A likeable, even admirable game that tells a deeply personal story in a thoughtfully-fashioned world populated by richly detailed character models. But ultimately, it failed to challenge or excite me as a game, as all of its best ideas are confined to its overarching fiction rather than its gameplay.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 3 out of 63
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    A great game that will suck you into it's world in the same way as mirrors edge did a few years ago. A fantastic protagonist, interestingA great game that will suck you into it's world in the same way as mirrors edge did a few years ago. A fantastic protagonist, interesting combat and great new ideas make this a must buy for anyone who loves science fiction Full Review »
  2. Jun 6, 2013
    8
    I meat Olga already... ehm... this is the most amazing part of the game for me right now. I see a movie about this game in a near future.I meat Olga already... ehm... this is the most amazing part of the game for me right now. I see a movie about this game in a near future. Excelent history and script, is like a cyberpunk game, alll that what I was looking for. As a Deus Ex Human Revolution Fan and Beta Tester. This cyberpunk visuals "remember me" to DXHR but is better. Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This is a great game. It is innovative, original and daring. Too many games rest on their former success, bringing out sequel after sequelThis is a great game. It is innovative, original and daring. Too many games rest on their former success, bringing out sequel after sequel (here's looking at you Mario, Resident Evil and Metal Gear) rather than creating something new and fresh. Remember Me mixes great story, amazing graphics (probably the best I've seen on the Xbox) and sensational music into a very playable game.

    Many reviews have criticised its combat for being dull, and ill admit that it could do with a counter attack button rather than just using dodge, but the special moves are great, the mix of enemy's keeps it fresh and the crazy REZ style dynamic musical score that crescendos as you make successful combos is a treat. I played it on easy and would recommend people to do the same... I love a challenge, but not at the expense of enjoyment, and Remember Me is a game to experience and enjoy, not just a way of Maxing Out the gamer score.

    The memory remixes are very fun, if anything a couple more would have been nice and the free running aspect is good too. I don't think that the route being projected for you is a downside, but I'd have loved to explore more of Neo Paris.

    The overall concept and story and setting is what makes this game shine. Please please release more content and please please keep adding to this franchise. Remember Me let's us glimpse at the future of gaming and it looks good!!
    Full Review »