Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 238 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The place is Neo-Paris. The year is 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded. The last vestiges of privacy and intimacy have been swept away in what appears to be a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the start of the 21st century. The citizens themselves have acquiesced to this surveillance society in exchange for the comfort only smart technology can provide. This memory economy transfers immense power over society to just a handful of people. Remember Me is a third-person action adventure in which players assume the role of Nilin, a former elite memory hunter with the ability to penetrate people’s minds and steal or even alter their memories. The authorities, fearful of her knowledge and powers arrested Nilin and wiped her memory clean. After her escape from prison, Nilin embarks on a mission to recover her identity, helped by her last and only friend. This search for her past leads to her being hunted by the very people that created this surveillance society. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    90
    Remember Me is a technically accomplished and very stylish action adventure. The sci fi story about meaning of memories is interesting. [June 2013]
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    A great game that is persistently close to being a spectacular one. It has a bigger story to tell than a 10-15 hour third-person action title can accommodate, but still manages to be surprisingly emotional and touching by the time the credits roll.
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a linear action adventure and that works pretty good. The game has a well told story, a great main character and the developers have used colors, lighting and soundtrack in an impressive way to enhance the visuals of the game. However, the game mechanics themselves are decent at best. There are many other developers who do fighting, climbing and running much better.
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    It’s sometimes frustrating and sometimes monotonous, but it also transports you to an amazing world with striking designs, a deep culture, and interesting characters.
  5. Because Remember Me has moments of novel brilliance. The Memory Remix segments aren't particularly challenging, or even puzzles in the real sense. They're more a fun way of tinkering with things, and seeing what happens. They do work perfectly well as a narrative device, and a change in pace. The combat system, which might appear strategically moribund to anyone with long experience of gaming, develops constantly throughout the game, which helps prevent you from becoming bored.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    Cyberpunk lovers that impatiently wait for Shadowrun Returns or Cyberpunk 2077 can forget about Remember Me and wait for their dream games while playing checkers. But if what you want is some simple beat'em up with many cut scenes and you're not expecting a big hit, you can consider buying this game. A few hours needed to finish this adventure should be enjoyable, but the game quickly becomes repetitive.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    40
    Remember Me is nothing more than an entirely forgettable tour de farce of archaic game design. Its horrific dialogue, sickening camera and regressive combat are major blips in a title that poses one major question: was this game worth releasing? ‘Dontnod’ is arguably the right answer.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 3 out of 63
  1. May 30, 2014
    10
    Make yourself a favour and play this beautiful game. Take the visual style of Blade Runner and Ghost In The Shell, the fight system of Batman AA and God Hand, the interactive rythm of REZ and Child of Eden during the flow of the fight; some Uncharted and Enslaved, for exploration and put it all together with a fresh and interesting storyline.

    Here you have it, a game you can't miss.
    Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    WOW. Most amazing game. So deep and emotional. Big Kudos to the developers. This game is a real piece of art and will be remembered forever.

    The mechanics could need some work, that is true. But if the outcome is this impressive I don't care for a little clumsiness.

    It's such a shame that the usual reviewer seems to be to stupid to 'get' this game. This is an instant classic.
    Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    A great game that will suck you into it's world in the same way as mirrors edge did a few years ago. A fantastic protagonist, interesting combat and great new ideas make this a must buy for anyone who loves science fiction Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    A great game with a great storyline. Some plot twists, great storytelling and character building. Some might say it's a bit cliché here or there and I agree. But overall it's an awesome world being built through immersing story telling and great atmosphere.

    I like the main character in the game, a woman that is good at what she does and isn't being sexualized too much like in a LOT of other games with female protagonists.

    The gameplay is pretty good, it can be hard to master and sometimes gets repetitive. But overall it holds up fairely well.
    Though I would have hoped for the game to be a bit longer than the ~10 hours I got out of it. That is the first playthrough though. There are many more things to be unlocked in following playthroughs.

    All in all a great game.
    Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    A daring move for Capcom, Remember Me is a varied mix of gameplay styles, gelled with a gorgeous feel and strong plot that pulls you away from the alarming linear nature of the game itself, and somewhat amazingly, it works. Of the gameplay styles (platforming, beat'em up and puzzle), all of them have been done before (and better as well), but propelled by the compelling story, make you want to continue, and move through the story. Add the rather beautiful presentation as well, and this is a package for those who long to be entertained by more than just gameplay. Arguably more than the sum of its parts, you could cynically look upon Remember Me as all flash and no substance but if you did, you would be missing out on something that is spectacular to experience, even if it is short. Expand
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    8
    Remember me is a beautifully crafted world with stunning visuals, a sleek and engaging soundtrack and finely placed dialogue and voice acting. The criticisms dealt to this game largely revolve around game-play so I will make the statement first this game is far more about the ideas and the story than it is about the game mechanics. Certain aspects of the gameplay are just outright tools for engaging you in the process of storytelling rather than what would be in other games just another lengthy cutscene and whilst this does make for a bit of lack of depth in certain respects it drags you right into the overarching story.

    The combat mechanics which are a little old-school are very fluid and simply require planning patience to easily take care of each new challenge if you are a button masher you will complain to no end about how bad the control is, but I played this game on errorist without dying in combat once so trust me the controls work.

    I feel like the games negative feedback is mostly the result of it's release, being a late game to this generation of console there is a lot of expectations heaped on, so this game which exceeds so many of our early examples of xbox games in so many ways suffers because we simply expect more.

    I personally feel the biggest downfall of the game is that the story and scope outreach the game itself you feel like it could have been something utterly amazing, but what you do have is a beautiful engaging story which leaves you with questions, ideas, lingering images and emotions. In short you feel that the makers of remember me treated it as a piece of art and never just a game.
    Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    3
    The gameplay mechanics are pretty good, however the problem is that they rarely utilized. There is no excuse for how little gaming the player actually takes part in. AVOID THIS GAME! Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers