Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 224 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The place is Neo-Paris. The year is 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded. The last vestiges of privacy and intimacy have been swept away in what appears to be a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the start of the 21st century. The citizens themselves have acquiesced to this surveillance society in exchange for the comfort only smart technology can provide. This memory economy transfers immense power over society to just a handful of people. Remember Me is a third-person action adventure in which players assume the role of Nilin, a former elite memory hunter with the ability to penetrate people’s minds and steal or even alter their memories. The authorities, fearful of her knowledge and powers arrested Nilin and wiped her memory clean. After her escape from prison, Nilin embarks on a mission to recover her identity, helped by her last and only friend. This search for her past leads to her being hunted by the very people that created this surveillance society. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    90
    Remember Me is a technically accomplished and very stylish action adventure. The sci fi story about meaning of memories is interesting. [June 2013]
  2. 80
    A great game that is persistently close to being a spectacular one. It has a bigger story to tell than a 10-15 hour third-person action title can accommodate, but still manages to be surprisingly emotional and touching by the time the credits roll.
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a linear action adventure and that works pretty good. The game has a well told story, a great main character and the developers have used colors, lighting and soundtrack in an impressive way to enhance the visuals of the game. However, the game mechanics themselves are decent at best. There are many other developers who do fighting, climbing and running much better.
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    It’s sometimes frustrating and sometimes monotonous, but it also transports you to an amazing world with striking designs, a deep culture, and interesting characters.
  5. Because Remember Me has moments of novel brilliance. The Memory Remix segments aren't particularly challenging, or even puzzles in the real sense. They're more a fun way of tinkering with things, and seeing what happens. They do work perfectly well as a narrative device, and a change in pace. The combat system, which might appear strategically moribund to anyone with long experience of gaming, develops constantly throughout the game, which helps prevent you from becoming bored.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    Cyberpunk lovers that impatiently wait for Shadowrun Returns or Cyberpunk 2077 can forget about Remember Me and wait for their dream games while playing checkers. But if what you want is some simple beat'em up with many cut scenes and you're not expecting a big hit, you can consider buying this game. A few hours needed to finish this adventure should be enjoyable, but the game quickly becomes repetitive.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    40
    Remember Me is nothing more than an entirely forgettable tour de farce of archaic game design. Its horrific dialogue, sickening camera and regressive combat are major blips in a title that poses one major question: was this game worth releasing? ‘Dontnod’ is arguably the right answer.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 61
  2. Negative: 3 out of 61
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Amazing game, compelling and interesting story, maybe a bit too safe on the mechanics like memory remixing, probably because they weren't sure how it would be received but it was incredibly fun. The voices were great, combos could have been better but I am a fan of the whole presens thing. I can't really say it's worth $60 because there's nothing other than the story which seems to be about average length (I didn't time it). I feel it being worth a bit less but would certainly play a sequel and loved the game from start to finish. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Remember me is a game that will most likely be overlooked by the large majority of people playing games this year, and this is very sad. This is a game that actually does something different, and even though it does it very well, it has been underrated by critics for being different.
    This game is a wonderful sci- fi creation set in Neo-Paris. It features an excellent story I will not spoil at all (because like Frank Costanza, I recommend going in entirely fresh). The potential buyer just needs to know that this is a wonderful game, that has been overlooked for being different something that should be applauded in this ever homogenised industry of sexism, mediocrity and first person shooters. A sad world where every developer seems to assume customers want a call of duty rehash.
    It's also good to see an intelligent female lead character.

    Wonderful music
    Interesting story
    Great gameplay
    Something exciting and a bit different.
    Lack of Michael Bay-esque explosions and over the top set pieces aimed at 15 year old boys who can't read well, but enjoy shooting people from outside America in video games.

    10/10
    Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    A great game that will suck you into it's world in the same way as mirrors edge did a few years ago. A fantastic protagonist, interesting combat and great new ideas make this a must buy for anyone who loves science fiction Collapse
  4. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Remember me is a truly impressive novel effort. I enjoyed exploring the gorgeously rendered (very next-gen look for a 360) and extremely detailed levels just because the visuals are so different from what I am used to from other games. I should state up-front that I tend to play explorative/storydriven games, not shooters. For me, this game delivers massively on all of these aspects the graphics are phenomenal, the story is captivating and well written, the score is quite well done. The game also does a great job of following the old trope of unlocking more powers as you proceed through the story. Throughout, a lot of attention is paid to detail (one of the characters actually looks like a mix between her parents who we meet later in game).

    The one issue I ran into is with the new fighting mechanism/style that the authors developed. I salute the idea of creating a new take on how endless buttonmashing works by introducing a configurable combo system. It makes every battle very tactical you have to plan out how to use your "pressens" to take down minor and major enemies and when you can rebuild/refresh. I ultimately found it too difficult for my liking, I prefer straightforward systems like the ones in the Darksiders games.

    I'll be very interested in the next iteration of this phenomenal game.
    Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    8
    A daring move for Capcom, Remember Me is a varied mix of gameplay styles, gelled with a gorgeous feel and strong plot that pulls you away from the alarming linear nature of the game itself, and somewhat amazingly, it works. Of the gameplay styles (platforming, beat'em up and puzzle), all of them have been done before (and better as well), but propelled by the compelling story, make you want to continue, and move through the story. Add the rather beautiful presentation as well, and this is a package for those who long to be entertained by more than just gameplay. Arguably more than the sum of its parts, you could cynically look upon Remember Me as all flash and no substance but if you did, you would be missing out on something that is spectacular to experience, even if it is short. Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2013
    8
    Remember me begins with an awesome premise revolving around the updated version of Paris in 2084. You play is the bad ass Nilin voice by the amazing Kezia Burrows, who is introduced as a so-called memory hunter. Nilin has been captured and imprisoned by the ruling Memorize company because of her fearful abilities. Disappointingly the promise of the kick start game soon gives way to ordinary combat as the game turns into a linear experiences. Although by know means dose this affect the overall value as the game as it is visually astounding and the music is top niche. Remember me is a emotional game as Nilin Fights to discover who she really is and the mystery behind the world and characters. Remember me is refreshing and original, worth a mention for a solid stab in the dark by Donut Entertainment I am looking forward to more of what this game has to offer in the future. Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    3
    The gameplay mechanics are pretty good, however the problem is that they rarely utilized. There is no excuse for how little gaming the player actually takes part in. AVOID THIS GAME! Expand

See all 61 User Reviews