Remember Me Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 273 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The place is Neo-Paris. The year is 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded. The last vestiges of privacy and intimacy have been swept away in what appears to be a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the start of the 21st century. TheThe place is Neo-Paris. The year is 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded. The last vestiges of privacy and intimacy have been swept away in what appears to be a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the start of the 21st century. The citizens themselves have acquiesced to this surveillance society in exchange for the comfort only smart technology can provide. This memory economy transfers immense power over society to just a handful of people. Remember Me is a third-person action adventure in which players assume the role of Nilin, a former elite memory hunter with the ability to penetrate people’s minds and steal or even alter their memories. The authorities, fearful of her knowledge and powers arrested Nilin and wiped her memory clean. After her escape from prison, Nilin embarks on a mission to recover her identity, helped by her last and only friend. This search for her past leads to her being hunted by the very people that created this surveillance society. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Remember Me - Gameplay
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 13, 2013
    90
    Remember Me is a technically accomplished and very stylish action adventure. The sci fi story about meaning of memories is interesting. [June 2013]
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    80
    A great game that is persistently close to being a spectacular one. It has a bigger story to tell than a 10-15 hour third-person action title can accommodate, but still manages to be surprisingly emotional and touching by the time the credits roll.
  3. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    Remember Me is a linear action adventure and that works pretty good. The game has a well told story, a great main character and the developers have used colors, lighting and soundtrack in an impressive way to enhance the visuals of the game. However, the game mechanics themselves are decent at best. There are many other developers who do fighting, climbing and running much better.
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    70
    Nilin is the best reason to make this game a future memory: she's resolute, conflicted, and all too human, making her a terrific escort through this beautiful and underutilized world.
  5. Because Remember Me has moments of novel brilliance. The Memory Remix segments aren't particularly challenging, or even puzzles in the real sense. They're more a fun way of tinkering with things, and seeing what happens. They do work perfectly well as a narrative device, and a change in pace. The combat system, which might appear strategically moribund to anyone with long experience of gaming, develops constantly throughout the game, which helps prevent you from becoming bored.
  6. Jun 4, 2013
    65
    Cyberpunk lovers that impatiently wait for Shadowrun Returns or Cyberpunk 2077 can forget about Remember Me and wait for their dream games while playing checkers. But if what you want is some simple beat'em up with many cut scenes and you're not expecting a big hit, you can consider buying this game. A few hours needed to finish this adventure should be enjoyable, but the game quickly becomes repetitive.
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    40
    Remember Me is nothing more than an entirely forgettable tour de farce of archaic game design. Its horrific dialogue, sickening camera and regressive combat are major blips in a title that poses one major question: was this game worth releasing? ‘Dontnod’ is arguably the right answer.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 65
  2. Negative: 2 out of 65
  1. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Remember me is a game that will most likely be overlooked by the large majority of people playing games this year, and this is very sad. ThisRemember me is a game that will most likely be overlooked by the large majority of people playing games this year, and this is very sad. This is a game that actually does something different, and even though it does it very well, it has been underrated by critics for being different.
    This game is a wonderful sci- fi creation set in Neo-Paris. It features an excellent story I will not spoil at all (because like Frank Costanza, I recommend going in entirely fresh). The potential buyer just needs to know that this is a wonderful game, that has been overlooked for being different something that should be applauded in this ever homogenised industry of sexism, mediocrity and first person shooters. A sad world where every developer seems to assume customers want a call of duty rehash.
    It's also good to see an intelligent female lead character.

    Wonderful music
    Interesting story
    Great gameplay
    Something exciting and a bit different.
    Lack of Michael Bay-esque explosions and over the top set pieces aimed at 15 year old boys who can't read well, but enjoy shooting people from outside America in video games.

    10/10
    Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    A great game that will suck you into it's world in the same way as mirrors edge did a few years ago. A fantastic protagonist, interestingA great game that will suck you into it's world in the same way as mirrors edge did a few years ago. A fantastic protagonist, interesting combat and great new ideas make this a must buy for anyone who loves science fiction Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Remember me is a truly impressive novel effort. I enjoyed exploring the gorgeously rendered (very next-gen look for a 360) and extremelyRemember me is a truly impressive novel effort. I enjoyed exploring the gorgeously rendered (very next-gen look for a 360) and extremely detailed levels just because the visuals are so different from what I am used to from other games. I should state up-front that I tend to play explorative/storydriven games, not shooters. For me, this game delivers massively on all of these aspects the graphics are phenomenal, the story is captivating and well written, the score is quite well done. The game also does a great job of following the old trope of unlocking more powers as you proceed through the story. Throughout, a lot of attention is paid to detail (one of the characters actually looks like a mix between her parents who we meet later in game).

    The one issue I ran into is with the new fighting mechanism/style that the authors developed. I salute the idea of creating a new take on how endless buttonmashing works by introducing a configurable combo system. It makes every battle very tactical you have to plan out how to use your "pressens" to take down minor and major enemies and when you can rebuild/refresh. I ultimately found it too difficult for my liking, I prefer straightforward systems like the ones in the Darksiders games.

    I'll be very interested in the next iteration of this phenomenal game.
    Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    This game is very interesting, I started to play it and i was suprised! Graphic is totally awesome and I was not sure if I am playing game orThis game is very interesting, I started to play it and i was suprised! Graphic is totally awesome and I was not sure if I am playing game or watching move, thumbs up for this! What is maybe not the best, is story, yeah it is quite good but could be better and same thing for fighting system. Main character is quite impressive yeah it is woman so you can get looking for all part of the body All is about memory, if you like cyber punk or games from future, go for it! I would give to this game something between 9 to 9.4 of 10. Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    A more befitting title could not have been chosen. I almost cried at the ending when I realized this. So touching it was. The cameraA more befitting title could not have been chosen. I almost cried at the ending when I realized this. So touching it was. The camera sucked, or perhaps the hard difficulty was so fast paced I had little to no time for manually re-positioning. Hard difficulty mode makes the recreational Assassin's Creed par-core a good cooldown/warmup between combat areas. The story was tight and gripping. The beautiful trailer graphics were not a lie. The play was challenging and kept me on my toes. BTW, I finished on Memory Hunter mode. Suck it. XD Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2013
    8
    My cons and pros for this game.

    +Atmosphere +Design +Art Direction +Cutscenes +Music +Acting ++++Remixing Memories ++++Puzzles (2 of
    My cons and pros for this game.

    +Atmosphere
    +Design
    +Art Direction
    +Cutscenes
    +Music
    +Acting
    ++++Remixing Memories
    ++++Puzzles (2 of them but worthy)
    ++++++ Story

    +/- Combat

    - Cutscenes unable to skip (i don't mind but some will)
    - Some glitches and bugs
    - Confusing combat combos menu
    - Combos not really usefull except two maybe. I didn't even make a fourth combo
    - Linear level design

    So my final thought is. If DONTNOD get a chance to make a sequel they should make the level design more like Mass Effect with side quests. And they should also iron out the game and fix the combat. BUT, i applaud them for the atmosphere, story, setting, music, acting and allround feeling.
    And also, the remixing memories part and the couple riddles are always a welcome plus.

    For me it deserves 8.5/10
    Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    3
    The gameplay mechanics are pretty good, however the problem is that they rarely utilized. There is no excuse for how little gaming the playerThe gameplay mechanics are pretty good, however the problem is that they rarely utilized. There is no excuse for how little gaming the player actually takes part in. AVOID THIS GAME! Expand

See all 65 User Reviews