Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    70
    It is great that Xbox 360 and PS3 owners can now experience Resident Evil 4 but it is a shame that more effort was not put into it to make it stand out. As it is, there is really no reason for this version to exist as it does not bring anything new to the package.
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    70
    It's price is too high and it offers almost anything for those who played it on Gamecube or PS2. If you've never played it, though, maybe you should do so with the Wii version, which added a great use of the Wiimote.
  3. Sep 26, 2011
    70
    Resident Evil 4 HD is not an HD remix, is a simple cut and paste of the PC version. For that price gamers deserve a lot more. Anyhow, the game stil rocks, but it is a little bit aged with some mechanics that, today, can be frustrating.
  4. Sep 20, 2011
    70
    There aren't news or extras in a videogame of 2005 that does not display much better and costs 20 dolars/euros. It is essential for those who did not play at the time, six years ago.
  5. Sep 19, 2011
    70
    Resident Evil 4 is still a brilliant game, but this HD version is not what we were dreaming of: it's just an upscaled version of the GameCube edition of "Resi 4". After 6 years of loyalty, we deserved something better from Capcom.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 167
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    4
    Should give it a lot better score but I guess Capcom does not understand what High Definition remake means besides putting it in title. ThisShould give it a lot better score but I guess Capcom does not understand what High Definition remake means besides putting it in title. This game is a simple Gamecube port that uses up-scaling which makes it look a lot worse in many areas than predecessor, there is completely nothing done to the title to make it visually appealing or feel fresh. People who have RE4 on other systems stick 2 it because you're not getting anything new or better here and those who think about getting it... well I rather wait for some kinda sale considering you can get this title way below $20 Full Review »
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Remains the same to the original but is still a blast to play and one of my favourites. Downfall is the hefty price tag coming at 1800 MP butRemains the same to the original but is still a blast to play and one of my favourites. Downfall is the hefty price tag coming at 1800 MP but gives you 1000g to put towards your score Full Review »
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    First things first; Resident Evil 4 is one of the best games ever made. It redefined an entire genre and paved the way for its modernFirst things first; Resident Evil 4 is one of the best games ever made. It redefined an entire genre and paved the way for its modern contemporaries, a la Gears of War. It's good.

    Now that's out of the way, this port is absolutely shocking. I, like a lot of die-hard Resi fans - though RE4 is probably one of our least favourites because we really quite like the horrendous voice acting and treacle-control of the original PSone classics - have been eagerly anticipating RE4HD.

    Disappointed doesn't begin to cut it. First of all, this isn't, contrary to popular belief, an upscaled version of the Gamecube original. If it were, it might not look so awful. No, even worse, it's an upscaled version of the vastly inferior PlayStation 2 port. That would be the version that was heavily compressed, both in its visuals and its audio, to fit on to one DVD. As if that ever mattered to anyone.

    Not only does the increased resolution make already below-par textures look a hundred times worse, cut scenes are pre-rendered, making them look like grainy low-quality MPEGs (which is basically what they are) and don't represent any character costume changes. Not a big deal you may say but let's be honest; 7 years on, with the advances in gaming technology, this should be an already impressive title refined to perfection with no flaws, nothing missing, no bits hanging off if you will. If you've only ever played the PS2 version this will blow your mind. Those with the Gamecube, or better yet the Wii version, stick to what you know.
    Full Review »