User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 105
  2. Negative: 17 out of 105

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    4
    Should give it a lot better score but I guess Capcom does not understand what High Definition remake means besides putting it in title. This game is a simple Gamecube port that uses up-scaling which makes it look a lot worse in many areas than predecessor, there is completely nothing done to the title to make it visually appealing or feel fresh. People who have RE4 on other systems stick 2 it because you're not getting anything new or better here and those who think about getting it... well I rather wait for some kinda sale considering you can get this title way below $20 Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Remains the same to the original but is still a blast to play and one of my favourites. Downfall is the hefty price tag coming at 1800 MP but gives you 1000g to put towards your score
  3. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    First things first; Resident Evil 4 is one of the best games ever made. It redefined an entire genre and paved the way for its modern contemporaries, a la Gears of War. It's good.

    Now that's out of the way, this port is absolutely shocking. I, like a lot of die-hard Resi fans - though RE4 is probably one of our least favourites because we really quite like the horrendous voice acting and
    treacle-control of the original PSone classics - have been eagerly anticipating RE4HD.

    Disappointed doesn't begin to cut it. First of all, this isn't, contrary to popular belief, an upscaled version of the Gamecube original. If it were, it might not look so awful. No, even worse, it's an upscaled version of the vastly inferior PlayStation 2 port. That would be the version that was heavily compressed, both in its visuals and its audio, to fit on to one DVD. As if that ever mattered to anyone.

    Not only does the increased resolution make already below-par textures look a hundred times worse, cut scenes are pre-rendered, making them look like grainy low-quality MPEGs (which is basically what they are) and don't represent any character costume changes. Not a big deal you may say but let's be honest; 7 years on, with the advances in gaming technology, this should be an already impressive title refined to perfection with no flaws, nothing missing, no bits hanging off if you will. If you've only ever played the PS2 version this will blow your mind. Those with the Gamecube, or better yet the Wii version, stick to what you know.
    Collapse
  4. Oct 15, 2011
    8
    Resident Evil 4 is one of the best games to date on the GameCube and PS2. However, since then, all they seemed to do is make ports to other consoles and this game doesn't look as good as it did 7 years ago. However, if you haven't played Resident Evil 4, and you own a PC, PS3, Xbox360, you shouldn't miss out on one of the best experiences ever made but if you already own a version of Resident Evil 4, there's nothing new here but another HD port. Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    Don't get me wrong, this is one of the best and most important games ever to have ever been made thus far! And it's testament to Capcom that six years after its original release it still is highly entertaining, HOWEVER it's a massive stain against Capcom name that this is nothing but an expensive rip off! In these days of shameless cash-ins Capcom have been guilty more often than not of milky it's fanbase to death, please refer to SF4/SSF4/MvC3/SF3/DMC/etc. This port not only is expensive, but actually is just a straight up-scaled port of the Gamecube version. Yeap, no rescaled modelling, nothing new added, mercenary mode has to be unlocked, shameless cash-in! Still a legend in its own right, but I will never pay 1800MSP for this, not even 1200MSP! Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    This is one of the greatest games ever made and it deserves far better than this mediocre, cash grabbing port. On the plus side, the game is still fantastic to play, and it really is as good as you remember!
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Oh no it's back the only reason I couldn't turn off my old Gamecube. The updated HD graphics are just icing on the cake, this is one of last generations greatest games and easily the best Resident Evil has to offer. The sluggish controls and A button firing are the only downside (but this is a 2005 game).
    That being said genuine scares are a rarity and this game is packed full of them,
    later in the game dealing with the bio-dead I had trouble entering rooms once I heard their shuffling feet. Tons of upgrade and a game + mode that lets you replay the game with all your upgraded weapons and equipment make up for the price tag alone. Oh and my favorite part inventory management, trust me it's addictive. Expand
  8. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Notice the HD in the title. Forget it was ever there, and if you actually buy this game, that's quite easy to do. Regardless of the graphics having little to no improvement (It's hard to tell actually) , this port of Resident Evil 4 is just as grand as the original was back in its lifetime. It's the same enjoyable horror game and arguably, "one of the greatest games of all time." Although that statement is subjective, RE4 has shown the quality to make me agree. Expand
  9. Sep 25, 2011
    5
    I have been a resident evil fan since I was a kid watching my brother play it, and when resident evil 2 came out it was my time, the the all impressive nemesis followed. After survivor, and then code Veronica. Then we had code Veronica survivor and dead aim. Then the game cube came out and we had resident evil remade which blew my mind away, and resident evil 0 too. Then one day resident evil changed. It carry's the same characters as before yet the story that made the game was never seen again, (like Barry Burton and you know ermm the t and g virus that we have known about throughout the franchise for over 10 years) yet now zombies don't exist and we have pissed of Spanish people shouting "UN FOR A STERO" and the stronger Spanish guy later on who just points and says "MAT A LOW" so agreed it changed gaming, if we mean how it was great to today. Ok people will not agree with this review, why? Because they want to seem like a fan, yet a real fan can point out flaws to get the great game back how it was. Resident evil is about horror, looking for keys and items, reading though papers you find for clues, being harsh with your ammo to save bullets for what's around the next courneARHHHHH! Get my point. So if anyone ANYONE calls this the best resident evil game then they have never played through the originals FACT! What is so different about it maybe it's because it's more recent then the original 3 so just think how good they would be in HD, and while I'm on that HD means high definition not highly deluded, if anyone complements the graphics on this version don't talk to me about your 1970s wooden wind up tv. Anyway looking forward to code veronica as it's a real resident evil game, the last in all honesty. Like I said before a real fan can point out the flaws not agree with every mistake, and as a diehard resident evil fan I'm going to admit that the story isn't even that great in this, starts off well (although nothing to do with resident evil apart from Leon and Ada are in it) but then it gets boring quite fast, the merchant has 5 sayings unless you buy a rare weapon here goes. Arrhh I'll buy it at a high price, stranger stranger now that's a weapon, a guns not just about shootin it's about reloading you'll know what I'm talkin about, whatta ya buyin and of course whatta ya sellin. And apart from the merchants appeal the jewels are easy to find, and the extra weapons are boring to get, kicking down ladders and jumping through windows is cool yes, get it into your heads I live resident evil probally more then you no doubt (how dare he I'm saying no on his review) but why not have all of these cool things in a resident evil game WITH ZOMBIES AND A STORY THAT CONTINUES WITH THE ORIGIONAL 3! it's like making Metal gear solid 1 2 and 3 and then on 4 you buy it rush home like a geek but a happy geek because your so excited and you put the game in your console and it even has the little picture on the disc saying metal gear solid 4, you quickly get a few cans of drink and a massive bag of monster much because you don't want to move for hours because you are the coolest kid on you street with a new game it loads and says metal gear solid 4 and then all of a sudden you realize your playing splinter cell. WTF! (omg he mentioned a playstation game on an xbox review I'm clicking didn't find this review helpful twice) I hope you have had a laugh reading my review no harm Ment and I hope you have agreed with some of what I have said. If you like resident evil but is not you favorite game then fair do's with this being your best as I can see why the action appeals to so many, but to the people who have loved this game for years the first game you ever played, you have an opinion but I dint see why you would have followed it for all this time and love the 99% change the game has had, that 1% is the characters are the same. It started off with alpha and bravo team in a mansion and you found out that weaker was working for umbrella, now look. Expand
  10. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    One of the greatest survival horror titles, RE4 offers great gameplay, a decent story and plenty of thrilling moments. Everything from the level design to the variety of enemy types to the intense boss fights tells of how much thought and attention went into this game's creation. Where RE4 succeeds where others fail is in its pacing, with the action, story and bosses steadily growing towards the finale. The extra content available after the game's completion adds to its replay value. Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2011
    4
    The worst game in the series gets a HD remake. I dont know where to start with this review.
    As I played this game I had no idea what I was playing. This game just throws you into the woods to rescue the presidents daughter. You play leon kennedy once again and hes some sort of secret agent now.

    Heres my problem the story. They dont explain anything thats going on in this place nor
    explain how leon got to be from rookie cop to freakin oo7. Its really terrible. The enemies don't makes sense either. There are times where I's saying, "What is this?" or "Who the hell is he?"

    I just don't understand why they couldnt do the HD remake of Resident Evil Remake that was on Gamecube. I would have bought that and to me was a phenominal game compared tho this.
    Expand
  12. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    If you haven't played this game yet, you need to get on board fast and there is no better version than this HD upgrade of the game. For the rest of us who have played it in the past, only the hardcore fans or those who haven't touched it in years need apply. The handling is the same as ever (which isn't a plus for anyone but purists) but the graphics do look a lot better. The game is fantastic and it's a must play if you haven't up until this point and at 20 bucks on Games on Demand, you really can't ask for a better way to get access to it. Expand
  13. Oct 8, 2011
    3
    Resident Evil is my favorite game series , I played almost all of them on every platform , and i know how it looks like. For me personally amateur mod for pc is the best , so i`m very disappointed by Capcom which couldn`t surpass non-professionals.And as for gameplay ; why on earth the heads of your enemies don`t blow up like they did before on every platform(or is it only my version for PS3 with parent`s restrictions?)Never the less it`s one of the best games ever made , but it`s not HD(i even see now how Capcom makes real 1080P remake of Resident evil 4 for PS 4 and Xbox 720:)) Expand
  14. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    The series seems a little played out now... but it's worth a try.
    If your unfamilular with the Resident Evil series, this might be a great thing to buy. I'm in love with the theme and the setting, but not so much in the graphics or unoriginality. The graphics don't live up to the promised "HD" standard, and I heard rumours about a Resident Evil 6, so it's not like Call of Duty where a
    solid campaign is perfectly covered, but it's not a bad game overall, if your a fan, buy it, if your unfamilular but seem interested, give it a go. If your neither it's somethin to consider, but don't take my word for it. Expand
  15. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    This game is my favorite ps2 game was made, I don't blame capcom that graphics aren't the most beautiful, but they didn't chance the game-play, that's good! I like the game story line and a gameplay. I hate people who is worries about the graphics more than the plot!
  16. Nov 13, 2011
    6
    I have to be honest, RE4 HD is a big let down. I wanted better graphics, but all I got was the game looking less murky. The controls are disgusting. I wanted to use the RE5 control scheme but sadly it wouldn't let me customise the controls to my own liking. In my opinion I think the Wii version of RE4 is the best because of it's controls. But with the Xbox and PS3 versions Capcom got lazy.
  17. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Alright, lets get the negatives out of the way first. Capcom failed at pricing this game. $20 is too much for a download only Remake of a game that's been on every platform under the sun. If they had released it on a disk for the PS3 and 360, I could see people buying it no problem. Also, Capcom is port happy as it is, and this reeks of "easy port, easy money" that Capcom is unfortunately well known for. Alright, now that those bits are out of the way, lets discuss the goods, and thankfully there are quite a few. The game feels good using the 360 controller (mind you, not as good as the Wii version and the great aiming that had). The game does look good considering it's just a slightly touched up version of the old GameCube title. And finally, it's Resident Evil 4. It get's high marks for being that alone. Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt one of the best titles in the series (and this is from someone who preferred the old-school RE2 style games). The story works fantastically with the setting, and the characters fit perfectly in the surroundings (although the voice acting is still somewhat laughable). Look, here's the bottom-line: Played RE4 before? Own it for the Wii or GameCube already? Don't buy this. Never played RE4 before and only have a 360 or PS3? Worth every cent. Expand
  18. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    Okay this game at it's core is still the same great game it was in 2005. There is no doubt about it. But, don't let the HD in the title fool you it isn't HD, It only supports 480p witch is not HD. The only improvements they made to this version was up the textures a bit, smooth out some rough edges, and improve some lighting effects. The changes aren't even noticeable unless you compare it the older version side by side. In some cases it looks even worse do to some graphical glitches. All in all this a pathetic attempt at making an older game look new. It's obvious that it was quickly and halfheartedly done with no time spent to even polish the graphics to rid it of glitches. But like I sad before it's still the same great game it was in 2005. If you missed out on it on it's first time around or you simply want to revisit it I'd recommend you get it on the condition you don't own a Wii or can't find a copy of the Wii version because the Wii version is by far the best version of the game. Expand
  19. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    re4 still deserves a 10/10. looks great for an 05' game, and its nice to go back and play this definitive title in the 3rd person genre. i played this game on game cube and it scared me real bad, **** hasnt changed. i know whats gonna happen and i still jump when those berserker guys swing their claws recklessly at me. its just as good as i remember, and definetly worth the $20 it costs, rather than buyin another gamecube, but unless you already have a gamecube or ps2 i think its worth it to just buy it for that, it should be really cheap. 10/10 Expand
  20. Mar 14, 2012
    2
    Overrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. Buy Resident Evil Outbreak, Resident Evil Code veronica, or Resident evil Operation Raccoon City INstead! Expand
  21. May 30, 2013
    7
    By no means is Resident Evil 4 a survival horror game. While it does have some horror elements, I wouldn't classify it as that. Maybe survival thriller, but this is an awesome game. I enjoyed the survival element a lot as you constantly had to worry about having enough ammo to get through or medical equipment and having to choose between sacrificing ammo for health was always a tough choice. The obvious downside to this game is having to piggyback Ashley throughout the game and hearing her constantly shout "LEON!" However, you can tell her to hide in a dumpster so it's not too bad. Overall, this was a fun game and very enjoyable, but I did hate that if I wanted to go through and play a certain part of the game, I had to play through the entire damn thing again, but this is still pretty damn fun. Expand
  22. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    First things first; Resident Evil 4 is one of the best games ever made. It redefined an entire genre and paved the way for its modern contemporaries, a la Gears of War. It's good.

    Now that's out of the way, this port is absolutely shocking. I, like a lot of die-hard Resi fans - though RE4 is probably one of our least favourites because we really quite like the horrendous voice acting and
    treacle-control of the original PSone classics - have been eagerly anticipating RE4HD.

    Disappointed doesn't begin to cut it. First of all, this isn't, contrary to popular belief, an upscaled version of the Gamecube original. If it were, it might not look so awful. No, even worse, it's an upscaled version of the vastly inferior PlayStation 2 port. That would be the version that was heavily compressed, both in its visuals and its audio, to fit on to one DVD. As if that ever mattered to anyone.

    Not only does the increased resolution make already below-par textures look a hundred times worse, cut scenes are pre-rendered, making them look like grainy low-quality MPEGs (which is basically what they are) and don't represent any character costume changes. Not a big deal you may say but let's be honest; 7 years on, with the advances in gaming technology, this should be an already impressive title refined to perfection with no flaws, nothing missing, no bits hanging off if you will. If you've only ever played the PS2 version this will blow your mind. Those with the Gamecube, or better yet the Wii version, stick to what you know.
    Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. 89
    If you think Resident Evil 4 is dated, then you're a heathen. It's still as fresh now as it's ever been, although you may have to adjust to the control system which is showing its age. More bonus content would have been nice, but the chance to revisit a bona-fide modern classic is massively welcome. Welcome to Resident Evil 4 HD, stranger! You're going to love it all over again.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    Not quite as outstanding as it once was, but still a benchmark release. [Issue#77, p.102]
  3. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    With an adventure so far unmatched for memorable moments and constant thrills, the game is truly one of a kind.