Resident Evil 4 HD Xbox 360

Resident Evil 4 HD Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, youResident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, you must make your way to a mysterious location in Europe, where new enemies await. Take them down by using enhanced aim-and-shoot features and a new action button. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    With an adventure so far unmatched for memorable moments and constant thrills, the game is truly one of a kind.
  2. Games Master UK
    Oct 23, 2011
    94
    Not the glorious HD we'd hoped for, but we're always up for another play of this. [Dec 2011, p.96]
  3. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Oct 31, 2011
    90
    Essential for nubies - not for historical purposes, but because it's still an exemplary shooter, even now. [Christmas 2011, p.109]
  4. Sep 22, 2011
    85
    Even after six years, this is still one of the best games out there, and it has aged ridiculously well.
  5. Oct 2, 2011
    80
    This is still Resident Evil 4. The mechanics are still great, the art and score are still mesmerizing. If you have the $20 to spare and want the convenience of a digital download, it's worth grabbing.
  6. Sep 21, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Sep 19, 2011
    70
    Resident Evil 4 is still a brilliant game, but this HD version is not what we were dreaming of: it's just an upscaled version of the GameCube edition of "Resi 4". After 6 years of loyalty, we deserved something better from Capcom.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Remains the same to the original but is still a blast to play and one of my favourites. Downfall is the hefty price tag coming at 1800 MP butRemains the same to the original but is still a blast to play and one of my favourites. Downfall is the hefty price tag coming at 1800 MP but gives you 1000g to put towards your score Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2016
    10
    The game that changed it all. Got a lot of slack for not being completely graphically remade for the last generation but I don't think itThe game that changed it all. Got a lot of slack for not being completely graphically remade for the last generation but I don't think it needs it, it still looks great with the upres on 360/PS3.

    Excited to play it all over again later this year on PS4.
    Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    One of the greatest survival horror titles, RE4 offers great gameplay, a decent story and plenty of thrilling moments. Everything from theOne of the greatest survival horror titles, RE4 offers great gameplay, a decent story and plenty of thrilling moments. Everything from the level design to the variety of enemy types to the intense boss fights tells of how much thought and attention went into this game's creation. Where RE4 succeeds where others fail is in its pacing, with the action, story and bosses steadily growing towards the finale. The extra content available after the game's completion adds to its replay value. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Alright, lets get the negatives out of the way first. Capcom failed at pricing this game. $20 is too much for a download only Remake of a gameAlright, lets get the negatives out of the way first. Capcom failed at pricing this game. $20 is too much for a download only Remake of a game that's been on every platform under the sun. If they had released it on a disk for the PS3 and 360, I could see people buying it no problem. Also, Capcom is port happy as it is, and this reeks of "easy port, easy money" that Capcom is unfortunately well known for. Alright, now that those bits are out of the way, lets discuss the goods, and thankfully there are quite a few. The game feels good using the 360 controller (mind you, not as good as the Wii version and the great aiming that had). The game does look good considering it's just a slightly touched up version of the old GameCube title. And finally, it's Resident Evil 4. It get's high marks for being that alone. Resident Evil 4 is without a doubt one of the best titles in the series (and this is from someone who preferred the old-school RE2 style games). The story works fantastically with the setting, and the characters fit perfectly in the surroundings (although the voice acting is still somewhat laughable). Look, here's the bottom-line: Played RE4 before? Own it for the Wii or GameCube already? Don't buy this. Never played RE4 before and only have a 360 or PS3? Worth every cent. Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2015
    7
    The first time i played resident evil 4 i absolutely loved it and of course i was really excited for the HD version . After playing it i haveThe first time i played resident evil 4 i absolutely loved it and of course i was really excited for the HD version . After playing it i have to say that i'm kind of disappointed . It's like they didn't even try to change the game . Plus that i spotted numerous bugs that i had never seen on the ps version or the original pc version , items floating and textures flickering . Anyway i don't want to go too hard on it because it's one of my favorite games of all time . just a tip : don't get the HD version Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    6
    I have to be honest, RE4 HD is a big let down. I wanted better graphics, but all I got was the game looking less murky. The controls areI have to be honest, RE4 HD is a big let down. I wanted better graphics, but all I got was the game looking less murky. The controls are disgusting. I wanted to use the RE5 control scheme but sadly it wouldn't let me customise the controls to my own liking. In my opinion I think the Wii version of RE4 is the best because of it's controls. But with the Xbox and PS3 versions Capcom got lazy. Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    I loved this game on my Wii console. It was challenging, easy to navigate, and I spent hours playing the game. So, when I bought a used XboxI loved this game on my Wii console. It was challenging, easy to navigate, and I spent hours playing the game. So, when I bought a used Xbox 360E, I thought that the newer version of RE4 would be just the same with the exception of better graphics.
    I should have read the reviews first! I am appalled at Capcom for releasing the most clunky and difficult to manage game! First of all, you have no choice in the beginning to play in easy mode - the game automatically starts in normal mode.
    Then, the tweaks that you can do are very limited. You can't change the sensitivity of the joystick, so moving Leon around is extremely difficult, especially if he has to run from enemies. I've gotten killed so many times.
    In the Wii version, the reticle for all of the guns allows you great ability to aim. This one had me wasting tons of ammo just to hit a target. It's not smooth, and the laser dot is so small, that to hit an enemy in the head is next to impossible (at least for me).
    I'm sorry that I wasted $19.99 on Xbox Live for this version as it's totally useless and frustrating to play. In addition, I have the PC version from Steam, and the problems are the same. Capcom really dropped the ball on this one. It was one of the most popular versions of Resident Evil and if they wanted to re-release it, they should have taken more time to bring it up to par with the other versions which are much more flexible and easier to navigate through all levels. My opinion is that it's a waste of money.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews