Resident Evil 4 HD Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, youResident Evil 4 marks a new chapter in the Resident Evil series. You'll rejoin Leon S. Kennedy six years after his first mission as a rookie cop from Resident Evil 2. Now a US agent, Leon is on a top secret mission to investigate the disappearance of the president's daughter. As Leon, you must make your way to a mysterious location in Europe, where new enemies await. Take them down by using enhanced aim-and-shoot features and a new action button. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    100
    With an adventure so far unmatched for memorable moments and constant thrills, the game is truly one of a kind.
  2. Games Master UK
    Oct 23, 2011
    94
    Not the glorious HD we'd hoped for, but we're always up for another play of this. [Dec 2011, p.96]
  3. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Oct 31, 2011
    90
    Essential for nubies - not for historical purposes, but because it's still an exemplary shooter, even now. [Christmas 2011, p.109]
  4. Sep 22, 2011
    85
    Even after six years, this is still one of the best games out there, and it has aged ridiculously well.
  5. Oct 2, 2011
    80
    This is still Resident Evil 4. The mechanics are still great, the art and score are still mesmerizing. If you have the $20 to spare and want the convenience of a digital download, it's worth grabbing.
  6. Sep 21, 2011
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Sep 19, 2011
    70
    Resident Evil 4 is still a brilliant game, but this HD version is not what we were dreaming of: it's just an upscaled version of the GameCube edition of "Resi 4". After 6 years of loyalty, we deserved something better from Capcom.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Remains the same to the original but is still a blast to play and one of my favourites. Downfall is the hefty price tag coming at 1800 MP butRemains the same to the original but is still a blast to play and one of my favourites. Downfall is the hefty price tag coming at 1800 MP but gives you 1000g to put towards your score Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2016
    10
    Bueno, después de jugar la versión de PS2 y nunca haber jugado la de Gamecube fue un salto generacional disfrutar este juego con mejoresBueno, después de jugar la versión de PS2 y nunca haber jugado la de Gamecube fue un salto generacional disfrutar este juego con mejores gráficos y conservando el contenido de su versión de PS2, si al igual que yo lo jugaron en esta consola recomiendo su compra Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    One of the greatest survival horror titles, RE4 offers great gameplay, a decent story and plenty of thrilling moments. Everything from theOne of the greatest survival horror titles, RE4 offers great gameplay, a decent story and plenty of thrilling moments. Everything from the level design to the variety of enemy types to the intense boss fights tells of how much thought and attention went into this game's creation. Where RE4 succeeds where others fail is in its pacing, with the action, story and bosses steadily growing towards the finale. The extra content available after the game's completion adds to its replay value. Collapse
  4. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    Okay this game at it's core is still the same great game it was in 2005. There is no doubt about it. But, don't let the HD in the title foolOkay this game at it's core is still the same great game it was in 2005. There is no doubt about it. But, don't let the HD in the title fool you it isn't HD, It only supports 480p witch is not HD. The only improvements they made to this version was up the textures a bit, smooth out some rough edges, and improve some lighting effects. The changes aren't even noticeable unless you compare it the older version side by side. In some cases it looks even worse do to some graphical glitches. All in all this a pathetic attempt at making an older game look new. It's obvious that it was quickly and halfheartedly done with no time spent to even polish the graphics to rid it of glitches. But like I sad before it's still the same great game it was in 2005. If you missed out on it on it's first time around or you simply want to revisit it I'd recommend you get it on the condition you don't own a Wii or can't find a copy of the Wii version because the Wii version is by far the best version of the game. Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2015
    7
    The first time i played resident evil 4 i absolutely loved it and of course i was really excited for the HD version . After playing it i haveThe first time i played resident evil 4 i absolutely loved it and of course i was really excited for the HD version . After playing it i have to say that i'm kind of disappointed . It's like they didn't even try to change the game . Plus that i spotted numerous bugs that i had never seen on the ps version or the original pc version , items floating and textures flickering . Anyway i don't want to go too hard on it because it's one of my favorite games of all time . just a tip : don't get the HD version Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    First things first; Resident Evil 4 is one of the best games ever made. It redefined an entire genre and paved the way for its modernFirst things first; Resident Evil 4 is one of the best games ever made. It redefined an entire genre and paved the way for its modern contemporaries, a la Gears of War. It's good.

    Now that's out of the way, this port is absolutely shocking. I, like a lot of die-hard Resi fans - though RE4 is probably one of our least favourites because we really quite like the horrendous voice acting and treacle-control of the original PSone classics - have been eagerly anticipating RE4HD.

    Disappointed doesn't begin to cut it. First of all, this isn't, contrary to popular belief, an upscaled version of the Gamecube original. If it were, it might not look so awful. No, even worse, it's an upscaled version of the vastly inferior PlayStation 2 port. That would be the version that was heavily compressed, both in its visuals and its audio, to fit on to one DVD. As if that ever mattered to anyone.

    Not only does the increased resolution make already below-par textures look a hundred times worse, cut scenes are pre-rendered, making them look like grainy low-quality MPEGs (which is basically what they are) and don't represent any character costume changes. Not a big deal you may say but let's be honest; 7 years on, with the advances in gaming technology, this should be an already impressive title refined to perfection with no flaws, nothing missing, no bits hanging off if you will. If you've only ever played the PS2 version this will blow your mind. Those with the Gamecube, or better yet the Wii version, stick to what you know.
    Expand
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    0
    I loved this game on my Wii console. It was challenging, easy to navigate, and I spent hours playing the game. So, when I bought a used XboxI loved this game on my Wii console. It was challenging, easy to navigate, and I spent hours playing the game. So, when I bought a used Xbox 360E, I thought that the newer version of RE4 would be just the same with the exception of better graphics.
    I should have read the reviews first! I am appalled at Capcom for releasing the most clunky and difficult to manage game! First of all, you have no choice in the beginning to play in easy mode - the game automatically starts in normal mode.
    Then, the tweaks that you can do are very limited. You can't change the sensitivity of the joystick, so moving Leon around is extremely difficult, especially if he has to run from enemies. I've gotten killed so many times.
    In the Wii version, the reticle for all of the guns allows you great ability to aim. This one had me wasting tons of ammo just to hit a target. It's not smooth, and the laser dot is so small, that to hit an enemy in the head is next to impossible (at least for me).
    I'm sorry that I wasted $19.99 on Xbox Live for this version as it's totally useless and frustrating to play. In addition, I have the PC version from Steam, and the problems are the same. Capcom really dropped the ball on this one. It was one of the most popular versions of Resident Evil and if they wanted to re-release it, they should have taken more time to bring it up to par with the other versions which are much more flexible and easier to navigate through all levels. My opinion is that it's a waste of money.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews