Resident Evil 5 Xbox 360

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 474 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 474

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisG
    Mar 13, 2009
    5
    If, like me, you believe that the control system is the single most important "make or break" element of a video game, then you'll understand why Resident Evil 5 is a failure. Capcom insists on sticking to the formula that has served them well in RE games over the years, despite the fact that evolutions in gaming make their formula seem even more outdated. There are plenty of If, like me, you believe that the control system is the single most important "make or break" element of a video game, then you'll understand why Resident Evil 5 is a failure. Capcom insists on sticking to the formula that has served them well in RE games over the years, despite the fact that evolutions in gaming make their formula seem even more outdated. There are plenty of positives about this game, but ultimately it becomes one huge exercise in frustration the longer you play it. If the controls sap the fun from the game, then to me, it isn't worth the money. Just rent it, blow through it with a friend, then forget about it. Ask yourself this, if a salesman offered you a Ferrari that had the steering of a Yaris, would you still be buy it? That's what RE5 is - an awesome looking game that handles like a junker. Pass. Expand
  2. JoshB
    Mar 13, 2009
    6
    This game does everything right except for the controls. I think the only reason it's getting good reviews is because it's a RE game. If the title was anything else it would be torn apart for having outdated and broken controls.
  3. DennisT
    Mar 14, 2009
    6
    As a loyal RE player I can't help but feel as if I am at the wrong end of a cruel joke. While the player can't walk and aim at the same time, the cinematics of the game are in no short supply of people running, gunning and doing all sorts of things Capcom was adamant about restricting from the player. The bad controls might be on purpose so the player feels more pressured, but As a loyal RE player I can't help but feel as if I am at the wrong end of a cruel joke. While the player can't walk and aim at the same time, the cinematics of the game are in no short supply of people running, gunning and doing all sorts of things Capcom was adamant about restricting from the player. The bad controls might be on purpose so the player feels more pressured, but in the end they will break the illusion of the game. One does not feel overwhelmed by zombies in Africa, one feels that the controls were simply stacked against the player. Sometimes the player has to think more about how he is going to wrestle the controls, than how he is going to tactically approach the situation itself. Choices in combat are often driven by what the controls can do and not by what would be the most prudent course of action. RE5 is great in almost every aspect, but that final piece of immersion is not only missing, it will make you rage. Not something I seek in console entertainment. Just read the description of easy mode and what it is supposed to be and one can only ask the question why Capcom did not want to give the player full control then. I have the sneaking suspicion, they did not want to touch the core engine of RE4, so they did not have to make more than a graphical update. For that, 6/10 is still too good. Expand
  4. kevinstreetfighter
    Mar 14, 2009
    5
    The game is essentially the result of taking the resident evil theme and forcing it into the confines of an "over the shoulder" third-person, Gears-of-War-style shoot 'em up. Gone is the primary focus on puzzle-solving and the unnerving, patience-based gameplay the originals are known for. This is not resident evil. Let me give you an outline of the gameplay: 1) Enter arena 2) The game is essentially the result of taking the resident evil theme and forcing it into the confines of an "over the shoulder" third-person, Gears-of-War-style shoot 'em up. Gone is the primary focus on puzzle-solving and the unnerving, patience-based gameplay the originals are known for. This is not resident evil. Let me give you an outline of the gameplay: 1) Enter arena 2) Zombies appear and music kicks in 3) Kill zombies, music stops (just so you know they're all gone and there's nothing to fear any longer...is this really resident evil?) 4) loot the area 5) Repeat in next area. That's all there is to it, aside from infantile puzzles like "shoot this lock," and a boss here and there. The game is even worse if you're left to play it on your own. The AI of your teammate is retarded at best, and there's no depth to either of the characters--just your run-of-mill, impossibly attractive, impossibly brollick pretty-faces that just happen to be fighting zombies. You're literally in the game less than 5 minutes before you're stuck in an arena fighting zombies. Action first. Storyline second. It's extremely anticlimactic. The only thing I can give the game is that they've preserved some difficulties common to RE, such as the absolutely essential need to conserve ammo, and the graphics are also pretty. Other than that, it's just a Gears of War clone and it is sad. Expand
  5. TheTruth
    Mar 19, 2009
    6
    This game is a disappointment to the Resident Evil series. Survival horror, the genre that this game was built on; now is in the distant past. Capcom delivered a clunky action game that does not have the decency to even scare you anymore. Single-player is a drag but, co-op is down right fun. RE5 set high-expectations and in the end just put together a circus show with a few cheap thrillsThis game is a disappointment to the Resident Evil series. Survival horror, the genre that this game was built on; now is in the distant past. Capcom delivered a clunky action game that does not have the decency to even scare you anymore. Single-player is a drag but, co-op is down right fun. RE5 set high-expectations and in the end just put together a circus show with a few cheap thrills and gimmicks. Expand
  6. Aramis
    Mar 31, 2009
    5
    Remove the graphics from RE5 and what you get is considerably less than RE4 in every respect. Less interesting bosses, less headshots, less length, less inventiveness, less atmosphere, less creepiness, less humor, less enemy variation, less entertainment, and much less fun. A real disappointment after Capcom demoed RE5 back in 07.
  7. JBell
    Dec 29, 2009
    6
    Resident Evil 5 feels uninspired and dull, when compared to earlier entries in this blockbuster series. The control scheme and gameplay vitae let this game down in a big way. The game is overly a clunky, slow-paced experience. There is no cover system, aiming is painfully difficult and you have to stand completely still while shooting. On top of that, you have the fact that the game Resident Evil 5 feels uninspired and dull, when compared to earlier entries in this blockbuster series. The control scheme and gameplay vitae let this game down in a big way. The game is overly a clunky, slow-paced experience. There is no cover system, aiming is painfully difficult and you have to stand completely still while shooting. On top of that, you have the fact that the game disgraces the "survival horror" genre. Vampire Rain scared me more than this game - probably because of VR was so terrible, that it's scary. The level design is entry-level and there are no real survival horror elements as a lot of the game takes place in brightly lit surroundings. Additionally, the artificial intelligence is very weak, detracting severely from the quality of this game. Praise must be given to the excellent presentation and the overall polish, but Resident Evil 5 emplores entry-level game mechanics, resulting in it being a dull, tired experience. Expand
  8. Thomas
    Jun 19, 2009
    6
    I disliked this game, it was not terrible, but it did not at all live up to RE4. 4 was open world, had some puzzles and navigation involed. But this game, it felt so linear, like the game was pushing you along through the set course of the world. It didn't give you a choice, in 4 sevral times you hit a fork in the road but hear, i cant recall one time outsied of the water level i got I disliked this game, it was not terrible, but it did not at all live up to RE4. 4 was open world, had some puzzles and navigation involed. But this game, it felt so linear, like the game was pushing you along through the set course of the world. It didn't give you a choice, in 4 sevral times you hit a fork in the road but hear, i cant recall one time outsied of the water level i got a choice of where to go. The fact that this is more action based is not inhearietly bad, but it feels so without character compared to the open world of its predisesor. Expand
  9. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    This time, you are the zombie. I am kidding. You are not a zombie; you just move like one. Never has moving about a virtual world felt so cumbersome. For starters, you have to stop to shoot. Even waving a baton requires stopping first. Then there is the interminable quest for items. Before after and sometimes during encounters with zombies you will scour each area for pots and crates toThis time, you are the zombie. I am kidding. You are not a zombie; you just move like one. Never has moving about a virtual world felt so cumbersome. For starters, you have to stop to shoot. Even waving a baton requires stopping first. Then there is the interminable quest for items. Before after and sometimes during encounters with zombies you will scour each area for pots and crates to bust open in hopes of finding more ammunition and healing herbs. Are the herbs a pot reference? All these and the "Tomb Raider" style puzzles make for some slow game play. As an example, I spent perhaps 10 minutes running back and forth one short hallway trying to kill one heavily armored mutated zombie. Replay value is minimal. You can keep all your weapons from the prior play through, which makes the second time around so much EASIER, but after an hour of that I came to my senses. Why would I want to go through all those repetitive puzzles one more time? I would not. For the record, being apple to move while shooting would make this game more fun. Expand
  10. Dec 22, 2010
    7
    I've always been a big fan of the Resi series so it's goes without saying that I bought this game out of brand appeal...at first.

    The plot is the usual Resi affair in that you are a previously established character who finds themself in the middle of a zombie panic and must survive long enough to escape and discover the truth behind what happened and usually blowing up one or more labs
    I've always been a big fan of the Resi series so it's goes without saying that I bought this game out of brand appeal...at first.

    The plot is the usual Resi affair in that you are a previously established character who finds themself in the middle of a zombie panic and must survive long enough to escape and discover the truth behind what happened and usually blowing up one or more labs along the way (that's not a spoiler, it's just what happens in EVERY RESIDENT EVIL GAME EVER MADE!). The main differences here are that you are part of an international anti-bioterrorism agency (rather than the local police's S.W.A.T team), Chris has apparantly become a religious fan of the film 'Pumping Iron' and is now accompanied by a token black chick...I mean 'partner from within the agency'.

    While on the topic of Sheva, her AI is...'compotent', not great but not 'Dead rising' either. It's that awkward middle space where she can act well enough on her own but there are times where she should just know better ('no Sheva, you do not need to use a first aid spray on me every time I get a splinter'). Most of the time I only found use for her as a pack mule and meat shield (the exception to this being if there is another player present, in which case she is as good as the person controlling her).

    She's not even characterised that well, I would have forgiven her next to pointlessness if she hadn't been as likeable as a bottle of gone off, sludgey milk. She feels like she's been shoehorned in, namely because she has little, if anything, to do with the plot of the game (besides an equally cheesey story about how her parents were killed...BY UMBRELLA! Dun dun dun!). Her only excuse for being there is seemingly a) so they could have co-op play (Outbreak had co-op but every character had a legitimate excuse for being in the game, even the token black guys and women) and b) so they didn't get accused of being racist (and Resi 5 isn't even racist anyway, are we seriously trying to suggest that the reason Chris goes to Africa and kills lots of zombies is simply because he just doesn't like black people?).

    The gameplay is almost directly copy-paste from Resi 4 (which was a good game) and while some may complain that the inventory system sucks, it does help speed the game up (especially when it comes to co-op) and gets rid of that annoying need to rearrange everything every time you want to buy a new gun. Most the new guns look and feel a little 'meh', granted, now every weapon (more or less) can be obtained for free but a lot of them have little that makes them special or they're just direct copies from Resi 4 (except slightly more 'military' looking) and now there are no exclusive upgrades (no more badass long range shotgun or pistol that pierces through five guys at once,this saddens me greatly).

    There are plenty of unlockables (but obtaining the money to buy them is a huge time sink) and the ability to choose levels does help add to replay value by allowing you to pick your favourite areas or help friends in areas where they are stuck (or get items and collectables that you missed).

    Overall, Resi 5 is good if you're a fan of the series and you have a friend to play with, non-fansmay find themselves in over their heads and without a co-op partner you'll find yourself occasionally cursing the AI for it's moments of sheer stupidity.
    Expand
  11. ScottM
    Mar 20, 2009
    6
    I just have one question for the developers of RE5
  12. Nov 2, 2010
    6
    I am sad to say Resident Evil may be losing it's touch but in all honesty I must say it and state why.. Resident Evil is a big name in gaming. Capcoms biggest series has or may be soon losing it's touch and grace with gamers. Resident Evil 4 redefined the game and made it stay relevant. Then many other copied it and they way it was played was dull again. The game is uninspired with a storyI am sad to say Resident Evil may be losing it's touch but in all honesty I must say it and state why.. Resident Evil is a big name in gaming. Capcoms biggest series has or may be soon losing it's touch and grace with gamers. Resident Evil 4 redefined the game and made it stay relevant. Then many other copied it and they way it was played was dull again. The game is uninspired with a story that can make sense but refuses too in a way that makes you want earn that magnum infinite ammo just to get the game done faster. Chris Redfield has been taking steroids since Code Veronica and is showing it. The weapons are fairly decent. The game play is fun for quite a long time and the graphics are top notch quality. Good game for action fans, bad game for RE fan boys/girls. Expand
  13. JamesR.
    Mar 18, 2009
    7
    Re5 takes the series into a genre that is no longer survival horror and while it feels as though it's lost touch with the previous games scary atmostsphere, still It makes great action game. Good: Graphics look wonderful, the controls have improved from 4's scheme, weapon variety and upgrade system improved and the co-op is really good. Bad: Doesn't feel like an Re or Re5 takes the series into a genre that is no longer survival horror and while it feels as though it's lost touch with the previous games scary atmostsphere, still It makes great action game. Good: Graphics look wonderful, the controls have improved from 4's scheme, weapon variety and upgrade system improved and the co-op is really good. Bad: Doesn't feel like an Re or survival Horror game. Sheva's ai flickers from horrible when near chris to good during the moment's when your seperated from her. The item management can also get a little frustaing at times. So over all, great action game, Not so great if you were expecting a survival horror game. Expand
  14. CarloT
    Apr 28, 2009
    5
    I'm not a huge RE series fan, but I've played my share of RE games too (1, 2, 3 and code veronica for the dreamcast). And when i finished the game I was terribly disappointed. One of the things that dragged me into playing RE, was the puzzles, the closest thing to a puzzle in RE5 is when you have to collect all the 4 parts of a plate scattered around villages to open a door, and I'm not a huge RE series fan, but I've played my share of RE games too (1, 2, 3 and code veronica for the dreamcast). And when i finished the game I was terribly disappointed. One of the things that dragged me into playing RE, was the puzzles, the closest thing to a puzzle in RE5 is when you have to collect all the 4 parts of a plate scattered around villages to open a door, and that's pretty much it. Having it be 2 players I though the puzzles would get more interesting, but instead, they decided to take them out. Another thing that dragged me into the series was the scare factor, again, completely obliterated from RE5, I mean, they didn't even try to scare you at all. One of the most scary / interesting characters is the executioner guy, and YOU DON'T EVEN HAVE TO FIGHT HIM!, needless to mention, he only appears once in the game (he kind of reminded me of Nemesis from RE3). The controls suck too, it so stupid that you're shooting a boss, you blow all your bullets, and while you reload your weapon, YOU CAN'T MOVE AT ALL! It happened to me a lot of time that, while reloading, the boss characters would either kill me or give me a major hit. Major disappointment, the characters don't look like themselves, boss battles are dull button smashers, enemies are repetitive, and Chris gets annoying talking about Jill so much. At some point I felt like I was playing Army of 2, when zombies started using turrets and machine guns, at this point it just got ridiculous. Expand
  15. AnonymousMC
    Apr 27, 2009
    7
    It's Well polished and has good graphics but like most have been saying it's not nearly as good as four.
    It lost the shock and fear factor completely plus the time you spend playing campaign of the game is practically non existent. Not to mention how easy the game becomes with two players, you completely lose the difficulty with two players which furthers to shorten the game. I
    It's Well polished and has good graphics but like most have been saying it's not nearly as good as four.
    It lost the shock and fear factor completely plus the time you spend playing campaign of the game is practically non existent. Not to mention how easy the game becomes with two players, you completely lose the difficulty with two players which furthers to shorten the game. I would personally like to see a run and gun mechanic added as it might help to keep you out of jams. And as someone said before the upgrade system is pretty much unimaginative I would have liked to make decisions as to weather or not my gun needed speed or power, accuracy or ammo, and such.
    The game play gets rather predictable after only a few playthroughs after playing Left4Dead you'll realize most if not all games have this problem. The environment gets really boring after you get to the marshlands and a tad strange as well. The only way to find out certain pieces of the story is by reading documents you find throughout the game. It's unfortunate that you can't read them in the database outside of gameplay because trying to read it in game will most likely frustrate your partner and cause them to leave. I say partner because the game is practically impossible to play with a cpu.
    It's a good game but only fans of resident evil and third person shooters should even think about picking this one up. It's sad to see this game so unfinished.....I hope they can do better on the next one they produce.
    Mercenaries mode has to be the only reason why this game kicks ass, and the only reason I still play it, but you'll have to beat the game once to get it. Getting the characters in this mode is pretty damned entertaining too. I'd tell you how versus was but you have to buy that mode SEPARATELY, a mode that should be included in all online games no matter how bad, was not included initially with resident evil.
    I'm not sure if they wanted to sell it separatly or simply put it as a free download but either way microsoft charges you 400 points to buy it.
    Expand
  16. Chris
    Jul 27, 2009
    7
    First of all, this is not the worst AI ever. That's totally ridiculous. The partner is great at healing you, so much so that I give her all the meds.....BECAUSE the inventory system BLOWS. Using it is a great way to die. Because an army ranger would stop to shoot to be accurate, doesn't make it fun to do in a video game. I simply could not get over that. Replaying an entire seenFirst of all, this is not the worst AI ever. That's totally ridiculous. The partner is great at healing you, so much so that I give her all the meds.....BECAUSE the inventory system BLOWS. Using it is a great way to die. Because an army ranger would stop to shoot to be accurate, doesn't make it fun to do in a video game. I simply could not get over that. Replaying an entire seen because you can't move when you shoot and a chainsaw MF kills you in one blow, yet it takes 10 machete slashes to kill a base enemy? This game is gorgeous graphically, gun sounds are weak (which I'm noticing more since playing Valve's games and the RSV/Ghost series).

    Racist?? How many of you morons happily shot white corporate soldiers executing orders from a white haired angry white CEO or power hungry general in 45 different games? It's in Africa.... and until one of you calls any of the WWII games racist (either for killing all germans or all japanese) you're all lacking in credibility.
    Expand
  17. StevenH
    Nov 23, 2009
    7
    A great game unfortunately and fatally flawed by the worst and most inappropriate controls ever. The gameplay progression also highly resembles Resident Evil 4, exposing Capcom's reluctance to change a (mostly) working formula. For those who doubt my depth of knowledge about the game - I have beaten it on professional mode in under 5 hours. This title could have been much more, had A great game unfortunately and fatally flawed by the worst and most inappropriate controls ever. The gameplay progression also highly resembles Resident Evil 4, exposing Capcom's reluctance to change a (mostly) working formula. For those who doubt my depth of knowledge about the game - I have beaten it on professional mode in under 5 hours. This title could have been much more, had the movement just been more agile and had the writing been a bit better. Expand
  18. Oct 22, 2010
    7
    Polished to hell. I found the story weak and the game simply isn't as fun to play as the others before it. Still, there's enough here to love (loads of weapons, Mercs mode, co-op, Jill's ass...) and I still play it a year on. Must mean something.
  19. Jan 20, 2011
    7
    Even though I am playing this game over a year after release, Had I played it on release i would have walked away with the same feelings I have today, RE5 just feels dated. It is fun on coop (clearly not developed with single player in mind), has very nice visuals, mediocre story, offers enough challenge to be satsifying and is not a bad game by any means, but it really doesn't stand outEven though I am playing this game over a year after release, Had I played it on release i would have walked away with the same feelings I have today, RE5 just feels dated. It is fun on coop (clearly not developed with single player in mind), has very nice visuals, mediocre story, offers enough challenge to be satsifying and is not a bad game by any means, but it really doesn't stand out from the pack. I am not even cmparing this game to RE4, I have never played RE4, but the formula from that game has been used many times over and expanded upon in much better games than RE5. Get it cheap, play it through with a friend, but don't expect to be blown away. Don't expect any horror either, this game is more like a Mad Max action flick than Zombie survival horror. Expand
  20. Feb 17, 2012
    6
    The biggest problem that RE5 has is its general lack of imagination and blandness. These traits could also be applied to its story which doesn't really engage or involve the player. The AI is flawed so playing with another person is essential. The inventory system can be a pain and swapping items with your partner is harder than it should be. On the positive side, the game looks amazingThe biggest problem that RE5 has is its general lack of imagination and blandness. These traits could also be applied to its story which doesn't really engage or involve the player. The AI is flawed so playing with another person is essential. The inventory system can be a pain and swapping items with your partner is harder than it should be. On the positive side, the game looks amazing and mercenaries mode gives it plenty of replay value. Expand
  21. Mar 16, 2011
    7
    Resident Lost,thats how this game feels its not scary,jumpy,creepy in any way.Time for a rethink,although mercenaries is good though.I had high hopes for this installment and while there are some cool and fun moments its feels very bleh,shame really.
  22. Jul 20, 2011
    6
    Zombies with guns, really? I meen i get they arnt really zombies anymore but guns? Really? Well to sart this off Its prob one of the worst RES games to date i never really like chris even in the earlier games and i still dont but how could they make a skinny guy into a bulking body builder idk. Sheva isnt a very likable eather. The levals can be fun and the boss fights are fun andZombies with guns, really? I meen i get they arnt really zombies anymore but guns? Really? Well to sart this off Its prob one of the worst RES games to date i never really like chris even in the earlier games and i still dont but how could they make a skinny guy into a bulking body builder idk. Sheva isnt a very likable eather. The levals can be fun and the boss fights are fun and challenging but theres just something about it and in my oppinion Resident evils 4 is a better game i meen Leon is much more likeable than chris and many people would agree with me. To close my review this was an average game. Expand
  23. Jun 28, 2011
    7
    Graphics are pretty good, the story is cool but the gameplay is not enought fun, zombie with guns, not enought guns, the chekpoint take you out of your bubble and where is the market of resident evil 4, why they changed that?
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    Resident Evil 5 is a good game, but the controls just make it hard to play the game. If the controls were easier, it would have been much, much better.
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    When a sequel to a previous game comes around, one expects it to improve, expand, and be more fun. Resident Evil 5 refines some aspects from Resident Evil 4, but also takes a few steps backwards. The scale of the game is significantly bigger but less focused, the story is shorter and cliche. There is less freedom, which means the game is strictly more linear and for better or worse moreWhen a sequel to a previous game comes around, one expects it to improve, expand, and be more fun. Resident Evil 5 refines some aspects from Resident Evil 4, but also takes a few steps backwards. The scale of the game is significantly bigger but less focused, the story is shorter and cliche. There is less freedom, which means the game is strictly more linear and for better or worse more action oriented. The price for being more action oriented in resident evil 5 is a dramatic drop in the horror, pacing, and ambiental aspects found in resident evil 4. You still get some minigames like the mercenaries mode in which you shoot hordes of enemies, and some downloadable side stories, but in the end resident evil 5 fails to surpass resident evil 4. nicer graphics, better dialogue, and a bigger scale in resident evil 5 doesn't makes it a better game. to top it off, the acceptable control scheme used in the previous game, returns untouched and it feels far more dated than last time mostly because the pacing of the game is faster. Expand
  26. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    This is a very good game if you haven`t played RE4. If you do have played RE4 then this is just an OK game. (I would score it 6.7 but there`s no decimal scores on metacritic)

    *The good: Great graphics/Smooth gameplay/ *The not so good: Very generic cliche characters/ Not very compelling story (find bad guy-bad guy escapes-find bad guy again-bad guy scapes again....)/ After a while things
    This is a very good game if you haven`t played RE4. If you do have played RE4 then this is just an OK game. (I would score it 6.7 but there`s no decimal scores on metacritic)

    *The good: Great graphics/Smooth gameplay/ *The not so good: Very generic cliche characters/ Not very compelling story (find bad guy-bad guy escapes-find bad guy again-bad guy scapes again....)/ After a while things get very repetitive(boring)/ A bit too easy. /No blobby or real-zombie enemies.
    *The worst: It doesn`t feel like a RE game. (It feels more like a Tomb Raider one) This game is not scary at all /Nothing new since RE4.

    Overall, this is a good action-3rd person shooter, but that is it. RE5 doesn`t add anything fresh or interesting since RE4. if you want a real scary game get Dead Space
    Expand
  27. Mar 14, 2012
    6
    It is the game with fewer personality of the saga. It copies to RE4 constant, your history is weak and absurd, there is no terror and the worst thing of everything, you cannot advance while you appear.
  28. Sep 2, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is such a great game fighting through all the wierd zombies and killing all the strange monsters, throwing eggs, shooting barrels, running from chainsaw guys and scream when your ammo is gone! playing in coop is also a great way to kill wesker especially when your going up against him when mutated Expand
  29. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    It's difficult to discuss this game without mentioning Resident Evil 4, since it borrows so much from that game and manages to do most of it wrong. It could've been a lot worse, and has its exciting stretches of gameplay, especially in the earlier chapters, but on the whole is a disappointment. Obviously the biggest problem is the non-optional co-op, awkwardly implemented with one ofIt's difficult to discuss this game without mentioning Resident Evil 4, since it borrows so much from that game and manages to do most of it wrong. It could've been a lot worse, and has its exciting stretches of gameplay, especially in the earlier chapters, but on the whole is a disappointment. Obviously the biggest problem is the non-optional co-op, awkwardly implemented with one of the stupidest computer AIs I've ever seen; why they thought that would be a good idea astounds me. Second biggest problem is the inventory system, definitely a downgrade despite trying to be "modern". There is also a general blandness to the feel of the game; after the novelty of the first playthrough, replaying it for too long left me depressed and listless. Expand
  30. PuckW
    Apr 13, 2009
    5
    Dead Space did this formula about 5x better. Pick that one up instead. RE5 has great graphics but the gameplay is pretty poor. The AI co-op gets frustrating. The inability to run-and-gun is ridiculous. I know the other games in the series did it this way but the enemies are so mobile now you end up swarmed in a clusterf**k. The field of vision is incredibly narrow; it's often Dead Space did this formula about 5x better. Pick that one up instead. RE5 has great graphics but the gameplay is pretty poor. The AI co-op gets frustrating. The inability to run-and-gun is ridiculous. I know the other games in the series did it this way but the enemies are so mobile now you end up swarmed in a clusterf**k. The field of vision is incredibly narrow; it's often disorienting and not at all realistic. The fear factor is low. The weapons are boring and uninspired. The upgrade system is bland. Boss battles fail to involve much strategy. The quick-time scenes and finishes are bothersome for various reasons (poor controls for one). This game just never feels fluid in my hands and has failed in the fun factor department. Expand
  31. Jul 21, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lavish graphics? No doubt! New characters and enemies? Yes. Good Game? Not really. It was the first Resident Evil I played and I have to say, while I had fun tearing through the zombies, I felt the game was too easy, especially having only played the series for the first time. The worst thing was the amount of ammo. Soon after discovering the other Resident' evils, I learned that conservation was the key. Re5 was like playing Call of Duty. What was particularly bizarre, was the fact that some of the Zombies had guns. The melee weapons not so as much, because zombies(sorry for being Politically incorrect) have could easily pick up weapons and swing. Now there are lickers, the only creatures that actually fit the bill of Resident Evil. We also have Jill Valentine, Wesker and Chris Redfield. Now the buddy system is alright, providing you are a new-gamer, with no sense of skill, and enjoys the overkill of COD. Makes for good multi -player, but since when was Re a multiplayer game. It was always about surviving on your own. Expand
  32. Jan 31, 2013
    5
    The first thing to say about Resident Evil 5 is that its not really a Resident Evil game. The series trademarks of dark, narrow environments and limited amounts of ammo are gone and this time around you even have a co-op partner in tow throughout the entire game further removing any sense of tension or fear. Played without another human controlling said partner it is very difficult toThe first thing to say about Resident Evil 5 is that its not really a Resident Evil game. The series trademarks of dark, narrow environments and limited amounts of ammo are gone and this time around you even have a co-op partner in tow throughout the entire game further removing any sense of tension or fear. Played without another human controlling said partner it is very difficult to recommend Resident Evil 5 to anyone thanks on large part to the complete incompetence of the AI to assist you at any point. With a human partner the game makes for a passable co-op experience despite the games clunky controls and poor pacing. Expand
  33. Nov 16, 2012
    5
    I wish I had more to sat for why I gave this game a 5, but in short nothing this game did took me in. The controls felt clunky, the characters were shaped ridiculously, and the game just never made me care to continue.
  34. May 27, 2013
    7
    While it lacks horror and there is only 1 puzzle, Resident Evil 5 is a great game with really good levels, a superb story, set in Africa and the return of Chris Redfield is the perfect direction for a 5th Resident Evil game, and collecting treasure and money on the way is great fun. The game is also enjoyable in co-op. As for the content, I hate Mercenaries though, they should've done aWhile it lacks horror and there is only 1 puzzle, Resident Evil 5 is a great game with really good levels, a superb story, set in Africa and the return of Chris Redfield is the perfect direction for a 5th Resident Evil game, and collecting treasure and money on the way is great fun. The game is also enjoyable in co-op. As for the content, I hate Mercenaries though, they should've done a survival game where there no time limit or wave limit, but where you have to last as long as you can and more and more zombies come in at a time, and you should be able to take in weapons and ammo from the campaign. As a long time Resident Evil fan, you probably won't like this game. Helpful NOTE: hold B, press UP on the D-pad, highlight attack and let go, and your "partner" won't be such a blind, useless moron. Expand
  35. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    By no means does this game deserve the criticism that it gets. It isn't the best by a long shot but that doesn't make it bad. What really breaks this game for most people is that it has almost completely moved away from it's survival horror roots. But, to be honest, I'm not surprised. I commend Capcom for taking such a bold move with one of its most recognizable franchises. There wasBy no means does this game deserve the criticism that it gets. It isn't the best by a long shot but that doesn't make it bad. What really breaks this game for most people is that it has almost completely moved away from it's survival horror roots. But, to be honest, I'm not surprised. I commend Capcom for taking such a bold move with one of its most recognizable franchises. There was never a law that RE was always supposed to be a survival horror franchise. This game is a third person action horror and does a very good job at being just that. The action is fun, the atmosphere is tense when needed to be and the story more or less what you would expect. My only real qualms with the game are big ones. 1) The AI partner, she is unnecessary and gets more in your way than anything else. They shouldn't of bothered including her for the single player campaign. 2) The chapter/section setup doesn't always feel natural when transitioning from one to another and it does break the overall atmosphere. They feel more like levels than section of one game. Overall: RE 5: Is flawed and made some unpopular choices regarding the direction of the series, but I though this game was a sold (but flawed) attempt to do something new. Get rid of the AI partner and I would score this slightly higher. Expand
  36. May 10, 2013
    6
    I gave this game a 6 based on coop with my friend. RE 2 and 3 are my childhood favorite horror games, SO I always have special feelings for this franchise. I found this game is awkward, it was half-horror and half-action and failed at both aspects. I am a little bit of mad at how Ca(sh)com handled and ruined this gold title.
  37. May 4, 2013
    7
    Too much like re4 even the first part looks the same where the guy attacks Chris and he says freeze!
    The same lines as Leon says in re4 and most things here are a copy over from 4 just black people now.
    The Wesker boss was kind of silly where he can't see you in DARKNESS come on that was so silly I thought he was more powerful than what he was with the T-Virus he injected with but now
    Too much like re4 even the first part looks the same where the guy attacks Chris and he says freeze!
    The same lines as Leon says in re4 and most things here are a copy over from 4 just black people now.

    The Wesker boss was kind of silly where he can't see you in DARKNESS come on that was so silly I thought he was more powerful than what he was with the T-Virus he injected with but now he is completly blind I wanted him to be the next Tyrant.

    If you played re4 then this game will not improve as it is the same feel as that just with a partner who can be helpful at times or not.

    What I like is the weapon slots and you can move them to the left or right or up or down slots so when you push down you have that weapon equip rather than going in the inventory screen and doing it that way the inventory is the worst they done to this game because you can't PAUSE THE GAME at all leaving you able to get attack from all the place by random mobs.

    Yes the aiming is like re4 you can't move when aiming can be bad, overall a very long game.
    Expand
  38. ERB
    Aug 2, 2013
    7
    One of the best game of its series.Game play is good and even story is good.Only problem is where is the merchant?Kinda miss that guy.But It is still a great game.
  39. Jul 11, 2014
    7
    Being the first RE games for the new consoles I was pretty excited for this game, RE4 had perfected the Survival horror style, so the developers should have had all they need to make the next sequel. Unfortunately they took a different path and tried to update the franchise, which took away a lot of the magic in the process. Luckily while there are a lot of annoying changes with adding coBeing the first RE games for the new consoles I was pretty excited for this game, RE4 had perfected the Survival horror style, so the developers should have had all they need to make the next sequel. Unfortunately they took a different path and tried to update the franchise, which took away a lot of the magic in the process. Luckily while there are a lot of annoying changes with adding co op and the inventory system changes, the game just scrapes through as a decent action game with some survival horror elements. They graphics look good but have some terrible tearing issues and the gunplay is solid until you need to use your inventory, which in awkward. The main AI in the game is your partner and its terrible this game would have been so much better without Sheva. All in all in was a decent ride but not really worth of the Resident evil franchise. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 91
  2. Negative: 1 out of 91
  1. While the developers' decision to copy elements from Resident Evil 4 make it feel less original (despite better visuals and a new location), you'll have a blast (especially with a buddy) but after waiting four years for a sequel, we expected better.
  2. 90
    It's hardly the dramatic revamp that RE4 was for the series, but it marks the first time that co-op play has been implemented. As a result, the overhaul makes it a good single-player game, but a great multiplayer one. Thanks to its persistent approach to weapon upgrades, it's well-suited to replay. It's a visually splendid game with gorgeous cinematics that evoke the same awe as previous games did in their time.
  3. You'll get a lot more out of it than you do from typical games with no competitive multiplayer and while played cooperatively it really sings. It's lost a lot of what has made the franchise a pins-and-needles experience, but that sense of dread has been replaced with pure action that's hard to match.