User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 469 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 469

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AARONG
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    I would have to agree with matt on this one. i love gears of war the best thing is the regular campaign its got a good story but the online multiplayer sucks ass hordes tight all people. but halo sucks . but this RE5 is pretty sick especially after u get the infinite ammo its jsut lots of fun going around and killinG everything in seconds but its still tricky with that on.. If u have aI would have to agree with matt on this one. i love gears of war the best thing is the regular campaign its got a good story but the online multiplayer sucks ass hordes tight all people. but halo sucks . but this RE5 is pretty sick especially after u get the infinite ammo its jsut lots of fun going around and killinG everything in seconds but its still tricky with that on.. If u have a high resolution tv (Plasma or lcd) u will love the graphics. the story has been better but its still awesome no video game is perfect but i would recommend it if u are a resident evil fan. Expand
  2. GuyT
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    Most fun I've had on this Generation of consoles - Have played it through multiple times and still keep returning for more. Beautiful Graphics, Nice story with some fantastic cinematography on the cutscenes. Loads to collect and achievemnets that you actually want to strive for. Once the main game has been completed there is Mercenaries mode which is challenging and in a similar vein Most fun I've had on this Generation of consoles - Have played it through multiple times and still keep returning for more. Beautiful Graphics, Nice story with some fantastic cinematography on the cutscenes. Loads to collect and achievemnets that you actually want to strive for. Once the main game has been completed there is Mercenaries mode which is challenging and in a similar vein to 'The Club' keeps you going back for more - even if just to better your own scores. Fantastic Game. As some people have mentioned you are stationary when aiming weapons or using the knife - after half an hour of playing this will become second nature and it suits the game perfectly - remember this isn't another Gears of War clone - and if you are running out of ammo and having to use the knife to survive you are not playing the game properly! LOL! Expand
  3. BlingC
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    People are too stuck on the control problems and fail to recognize that this is NOT Gears of War 3. For what the game does the controls work very well. It's not a perfect game but it was a wonderfuly fun experience nonetheless.
  4. TomR
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    There's a short line-up of local co-op games for the Xbox 360: Rainbow 6 Vegas, Halo 3, Gears of War... What game producers just don't understand is that some gamers have friends. Some gamers have an active social life and like to have friends over. Not everyone plays by themselves and waits for strangers to join their online game. In this world of crazed online-only gaming, There's a short line-up of local co-op games for the Xbox 360: Rainbow 6 Vegas, Halo 3, Gears of War... What game producers just don't understand is that some gamers have friends. Some gamers have an active social life and like to have friends over. Not everyone plays by themselves and waits for strangers to join their online game. In this world of crazed online-only gaming, it's refreshing to be able to sit down in a room with a friend, crack open some energy drinks, have a sandwich or two handy, and play 8 straight mind-numbing hours of co-op. That's why I give this game a ten; it's probably the best co-op experience I've ever had in my life, barring Sega Genesis "Streets of Rage." Expand
  5. Adriana
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This game is super. It has the same look and feel that the calssic RE4. The co-op gameplay is a little complicated and frustrating at the begging. Once you get the hang of it, it's actually a lot of fun. This is the type of game that will grow on folks over time, and in my view, be a classic in its own righ. Play on!
  6. DuxaC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most polished and detailed games I have ever played. The CO-OP experience is amazing, and there is a lot of innovation in terms of level design. I have not touched RE series since playing RE2 in 1998. Jumping back into the series RE5 delivered everything i wanted from an RE game. Controls are just what is expected from an RE game, and personally I am glad they are set This is one of the most polished and detailed games I have ever played. The CO-OP experience is amazing, and there is a lot of innovation in terms of level design. I have not touched RE series since playing RE2 in 1998. Jumping back into the series RE5 delivered everything i wanted from an RE game. Controls are just what is expected from an RE game, and personally I am glad they are set up the way they are. If I could run and gun, my experience would have not been nearly as good while playing this game. At first it could seem awkward, but 10-20 minutes in, you completely forget that you felt that the controls were awkward. Perfect game, I definitely recommend to anyone who likes action games. Expand
  7. AdamB
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is Resident Evil 4 with the inclusion of HD graphics and cooperative play. There; I said it. Is that a bad thing? Well, if you liked RE4 (presumably the majority of those who played it did) then I shall declare to you, with a resounding boom, NO. RE5 is incredible, in every sense of the word. The controls are not broken. Outdated, maybe, but certainly playable, and then Resident Evil 5 is Resident Evil 4 with the inclusion of HD graphics and cooperative play. There; I said it. Is that a bad thing? Well, if you liked RE4 (presumably the majority of those who played it did) then I shall declare to you, with a resounding boom, NO. RE5 is incredible, in every sense of the word. The controls are not broken. Outdated, maybe, but certainly playable, and then some. At first, they will feel slightly foreign to you after several years of becoming comfortable to the Gears control type, but you will quickly adjust to them. The graphics, as we all know, are a magnificent sight to behold. The cinematography rivals that of many high budget Hollywood releases. The inclusion of Co-op was a brilliant decision on the part of Capcom, and playing with a friend is incredibly satisfying and enjoyable. Not one moment throughout the 12 hour campaign was I bored. Simply put, I loved RE5. Now, if you did not enjoy RE4, then by all means, DO NOT BUY RE5. Don't say we didn't warn you. Expand
  8. RayC
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    This game is a graphical wet-dream. From the narrow shanty town alleyways to the open African savahnna, you will never want to look away. The control scheme is very inhibiting, but is a very nice change of pace from all of the other third person shooters. You actually have to aim instead of pouring hot lead into enemies, and to do that, one has to take their status into account while This game is a graphical wet-dream. From the narrow shanty town alleyways to the open African savahnna, you will never want to look away. The control scheme is very inhibiting, but is a very nice change of pace from all of the other third person shooters. You actually have to aim instead of pouring hot lead into enemies, and to do that, one has to take their status into account while considering retreating or pressing forward. This is a beautiful game and if one can look past the blatant copies of RE4, then you will not be dissapointed. Expand
  9. RobM
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    Resident Evil 5 does alot of things right and some things wrong. Lets start with the graphics... their absolutely incredible. The only game that I can think that even comes close is Gears of War 2. The boss design is top notch, espescially at the end of chapter 5.1. The enemies all look great, although there isn't much variety in the infected locals. The gameplay is tight, solid and Resident Evil 5 does alot of things right and some things wrong. Lets start with the graphics... their absolutely incredible. The only game that I can think that even comes close is Gears of War 2. The boss design is top notch, espescially at the end of chapter 5.1. The enemies all look great, although there isn't much variety in the infected locals. The gameplay is tight, solid and enjoyable... just like Resi 4's was. The storyline is addictive and you just HAVE to know what is coming up next as you progress through the game. The co-op play is awesome, espesically if your playing with a RE veteren. Now to the bad stuff. When playing offline, Sheva is an absolute pain the backside. She turns simple boss battles into repetitive and frustrating slogs to play sometimes, because instead of being tactical, she just follows you, much like Ashley did in RE4. She CAN be dependable at times and when you split temporarly, she can kick some serious butt. But otherwise shes just a nousense. The other bad thing out RE5 is the inventory system. It's a cheap way to build up the tention and with limited slots to use and Sheva's lack of common sense to combine things that NEED to be combined, you find yourself doing it all for her... and when you have a dozen of the infected trying to eat your brains, that can be incredible frustrating. These niggles can be hard to ignore. Though they shouldn't stop you from buying RE5. It's still one of the best games on the 360 and its a very close second behind Gears 2 for best Third person shooter. I personally LOVE this game and I will be replaying it for years to come. Is it as good as RE4? No. But did we honestly expected it to be? Probably not. So there we are. Expand
  10. JohnL
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    DeJuan B - YOU ARE A COMPLETE IDIOT, THIS GAME IS NOT RACIST. Just b/c they have taken a different direction with the enemy? Come on, if you honestly think that this game is racist, you are a complete waste of intelligence, its a game, not a racial/ethnic statement, and that goes for anyone else that agrees with DeJuan the tard. Quit looking for something that isn't there. Anyway, DeJuan B - YOU ARE A COMPLETE IDIOT, THIS GAME IS NOT RACIST. Just b/c they have taken a different direction with the enemy? Come on, if you honestly think that this game is racist, you are a complete waste of intelligence, its a game, not a racial/ethnic statement, and that goes for anyone else that agrees with DeJuan the tard. Quit looking for something that isn't there. Anyway, now that that is done: This game is nothing short of addictive, accentuated with a friend in co-op. Its a good quality that when you pick up a sell item such as a gem or what not, despite which player picks it up, you both still get to sell it. I haven't beaten the entire game (playing on veteran, need to turn down the suck) so I don't know if the case increases size, but right now those nine slots are killer. Would like a larger case as in RE4 but what can you do, still an awesome game. Expand
  11. SarahS
    Mar 22, 2009
    9
    Slow to 'get good', whereas RE4 started strong, but overall a very fun game to play with a friend. The dialogue is so bad that you and your friend will be rolling with laugher. Probably an 8 or 8.5 solo, I would guess, but a 9 or 9.5 with a friend. A couple really cool fights later on in the game.
  12. mike
    Apr 4, 2009
    9
    Game is MORE realistic than GoW and half of all shooters out there. Should you be able to shoot an enemy in the head 50yards away while walking? NO! and any former soldier will tell you not to waste ammo by shooting while running. RE4 wasn't as good as this game, for only in your mind.do you get scared while playing videogames?So many nonsensical arguments about this game.so many Game is MORE realistic than GoW and half of all shooters out there. Should you be able to shoot an enemy in the head 50yards away while walking? NO! and any former soldier will tell you not to waste ammo by shooting while running. RE4 wasn't as good as this game, for only in your mind.do you get scared while playing videogames?So many nonsensical arguments about this game.so many negative reviewers with no real complaint. how about the game takes less than 6 hours to beat? that's a real complaint, but negative reviewers didn't make it that far....much more improved online than outbreak was, a must play. Expand
  13. TerrenceK
    May 20, 2009
    10
    The deal with legacy games like this is that many people will review it with certain expectations that have nothing to do with how good the game is. Resident evil is a good game, it's just not much like the older games in the series. (kind of like 4) It's not dark or scary, and yes Chris actually looks like a military dude instead of some scrawny actor in a fake uniform. But the The deal with legacy games like this is that many people will review it with certain expectations that have nothing to do with how good the game is. Resident evil is a good game, it's just not much like the older games in the series. (kind of like 4) It's not dark or scary, and yes Chris actually looks like a military dude instead of some scrawny actor in a fake uniform. But the game is action packed, and unlocking the goodies and weapon upgrades is fun. The controls are easier to get used to than what you might think, due to the laser sights on all the weapons. It doesn't work like COD games, yet you will find yourself getting good at aiming over time and sniping zombies from odd angles with pistols. The weapons are all different enough to each be useful in different situations, which means you actually want to unlock all the games content. RE was always between the survival games that made you feel totally helpless (like the old Alone in the dark games making you fight zombies with candle sticks) and outright action games. The recent ones have tipped it in favor of action simply by upping the ammo count, lighting things up, and letting you look different directions instead of giving you awkward angles. The apocalyptic settings will still intimidate teens if not grown up fans of earlier RE games. Expand
  14. GeorgeJ
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    The controls of the game seems to be bothering everyone but personally the controls just grew into me, it was'nt a big problem(although there was some funny moments while reloading)It's not like the game is unplayable it just has a unique control choice. This stop and shoot mechanic has been there since the first RE although I'm new to the series. The only thing to complain The controls of the game seems to be bothering everyone but personally the controls just grew into me, it was'nt a big problem(although there was some funny moments while reloading)It's not like the game is unplayable it just has a unique control choice. This stop and shoot mechanic has been there since the first RE although I'm new to the series. The only thing to complain about is the fact that its not all that scary and is about action,action,action. The graphics for me was stunning, and playing co-op with friends on story and mercenary modes extends the game well beyond its purpose.(also lots of unlockables) Overall this game at least deserves a rent from you so you can decide the fate of owning it. Collapse
  15. DavidD
    Jun 21, 2009
    9
    Just finished RE5. I played it solo on the medium setting and not co-op. There were so many good things about this game! I have played RE1, 2 and 3 and Code Veronica X. Did not play 4 because it was on gamecube. First off, I have no earthly clue why people keep whining about the computer AI with Sheva!!! I went in expecting a total hack job with her and got the opposite. She was so Just finished RE5. I played it solo on the medium setting and not co-op. There were so many good things about this game! I have played RE1, 2 and 3 and Code Veronica X. Did not play 4 because it was on gamecube. First off, I have no earthly clue why people keep whining about the computer AI with Sheva!!! I went in expecting a total hack job with her and got the opposite. She was so incredibly helpful!! The only weak point I saw was that a few times she would shoot while I was in the line of fire. But since you can't get hurt by your partner, it is no big deal. Other then that, Sheva was Awesome! She helped me out with so many things. Giving hints of what to do. Being very competent when it came to pathing. She was a very good shot also. Being very good at conserving ammunition and knowing not to use the heavy stuff all the time. Most of the time, she knew what to pick up and what to give to me. She also was much better then I when it came to giving out the health. I usually gave her all the health because I knew she would be there if I needed it. This was one of the best AI I have ever seen in a game! The graphics were some of the best I have seen also. The character models and the face movement and lip movement while speaking was 1st rate! The settings were also diverse. You were outside, inside and even a tomb raider like ruins setting which was pretty cool. The story is kept going very well from the past. You have plenty of files you can read while you play the game and unlock the info. For people who forgot the story line from the past, they have the history of not only RE but all the characters. This game had a lot of bosses and mini bosses. I am not a big fan of bosses but it made the game very challenging. Since I am used the the RE way of movement, I didn't have too much of a problem with it until the end boss. Also, the run and gun people are talking about is a valid point. It would be very nice to have that in the game. It has loads of replay value because you can go back and play co-op or do the timed challenge levels where you see how many you can kill in a certain amount of time. All in all, this was the best RE I have seen! Expand
  16. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game..Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  17. ShaneC
    Apr 18, 2009
    9
    Firstly, i have t say the graphics and the sound are simply unbelievable, and thats coming from a guy that played the game on a standard LCD TV, i can't imagine what it would be like on a HDTV. There have been many comments about the game being good, but racist, seriously, you go to America and shoot them in the games, its no different! Also many people have questioned Capcom about Firstly, i have t say the graphics and the sound are simply unbelievable, and thats coming from a guy that played the game on a standard LCD TV, i can't imagine what it would be like on a HDTV. There have been many comments about the game being good, but racist, seriously, you go to America and shoot them in the games, its no different! Also many people have questioned Capcom about taking the survival horror away from Resident Evil 5 by adding a CO-OP coption, which i personally believe makes the game what it is, because Sheva Alomar has to be the worst AI partner in history, so thats why i gave it 9/10 instead of 10/10. Now we come to the control layout, its simple, and very affective, but many people have hated it, but once you get used to it, the majority of people can then sit back, and enjoy a very exiting game. Expand
  18. RE5-is-kick-ass
    Apr 22, 2009
    10
    I don't get why people are bashing it. Okay, in the core RE4 is better, but there is just one thing... THIS HAS CO-OP!!!!! Co-Op makes this game so so so so fun.. Me and a friend have completed it 4 times now and I still want to play it again...
  19. [Anonymous]
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is not a racist game. There has been white people, black people, dogs, birds, etc... People always want to scream racist when they don't even know the half of it. If people would do some research on the other resident evils they would see there is all kinds of zombies with torn clothes. Movies do the same exact thing in a base setting in Africa or any other "not so Resident Evil 5 is not a racist game. There has been white people, black people, dogs, birds, etc... People always want to scream racist when they don't even know the half of it. If people would do some research on the other resident evils they would see there is all kinds of zombies with torn clothes. Movies do the same exact thing in a base setting in Africa or any other "not so wealthy" of a nation with a poor setting of Africans living in poverty, but people only want to point fingers at a video game. Expand
  20. EricL
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    Amazing game!! This is more of a survival-action game than a survival horror game, but the campeign is fun from start to finish! It's not as lengthy as Resident Evil 4. The AI on Sheva is suprisingly good, even though antisocial gamers would be miffed because there is no option to play without her. The problem is that she always uses her pistol, so don't give that to her. Amazing game!! This is more of a survival-action game than a survival horror game, but the campeign is fun from start to finish! It's not as lengthy as Resident Evil 4. The AI on Sheva is suprisingly good, even though antisocial gamers would be miffed because there is no option to play without her. The problem is that she always uses her pistol, so don't give that to her. Speaking of equiptment, the one downside to this game is that you have to fumble with your inventory in real time, which is pretty frustrating. Fortunatly you could set some items to the d-pad, so it lightens things up a little. Mercinaries mode is fun and addicting, and the game has a Devil May Cry-ish replay value, where you try to get better ranks, and there are also a ton of extras. One more complaint is that the collector's eddition doesn't come with too many interesting things, and it's almost impossible to take the disk out of the case. The graphics, music, and voice acting are phenominal. The story really isn't too good, but expecting a good story out of this is like expecting one from a Mario or Zelda game; don't do it. The controles and sensitive aiming would take some time to get used to, but those of us who've played resident evil 4 have the option to swich to a simmilar controle scheme to that one, although you can't straife, which isn't as big of a problem as it sounds. One of the best action game ever. If you still know what "fun" feels like, check this out. Expand
  21. Chris
    Apr 3, 2009
    9
    As a fan of the Resident Evil series, I thought that this game was well done. This game is best played co-op rather than single player as AI decision making isn't flawless. If you are looking for an action packed game with a great storyline, this game is for you. I cannot wait until versus mode downloadable content is available.
  22. JohnM
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    I marked this game down to a nine due to Sheva's inability to not be a total jack*** when it comes to picking up loot. Also for an archaic inventory system without the ability to hold on to things. If you want to pick something up, you have to drop something else, if your inventory is full. Gone are the days of an endless box, to put your goodies in. Other than that, the control I marked this game down to a nine due to Sheva's inability to not be a total jack*** when it comes to picking up loot. Also for an archaic inventory system without the ability to hold on to things. If you want to pick something up, you have to drop something else, if your inventory is full. Gone are the days of an endless box, to put your goodies in. Other than that, the control system is fine, sure i would have liked to run and gun these zombie Bi****s but it doesn't bother me that you have to stop aim and shoot. The graphics are amazing, the action is intense and the story is fun, albeit, the voice acting could use some more work. Then again, its a zombie game, you wouldn't be bothered with B actors in a great zombie movie, so honestly that just adds flavor to the mix. Also, for those who are insisting racism is the focus of this game, within the first couple levels you kill a white chick...maybe its sexist as well?? The fact is, you're in Africa...what would you have them do, replace blacks with whites in a predominately black country?? Anyway, I regress, the games fun, its addictive...and as long as you enjoyed the demo, you'll love this game. Tons of collectibles, reported dlc with great content for co-op expeditions...this is a game to own. Expand
  23. LouisH
    Mar 21, 2009
    9
    "Kevin streetfighter" ever heard of a game called "Resident Evil 4"? It came out about a year and a half before Gears did, and features the same control scheme as Resi 5. So then how can this game be copying Gears you idiot? If anything Gears copied Resi 4 and then added a cover system. Anyway this game is great, although it is lacking a bit compared to 4.
  24. JustinS
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Simply one of the best Resident Evil games ever made, and combines features of other well known current games for a great combination of gameplay, atmosphere, and visual effects. Extremely well balanced and will not disappoint in both single player and coop.
  25. JayG
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    RE5 is such an amazing game to play. The graphics are great, and the story is awesome. People see past the greatness of this title by not looking at the replayabilityof this game. Unlocking weapons, levels, and achievements are blast to go for and will keep you hooked for days. Recommended for all action/horror fans definite Buy for fans of RE4, rent if you have never played RE.
  26. GreggK
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    Havent played it yet but when I do Im sure I will enjoy it!! DeJuan B....Let me ask you a question or two......would it be racist if you shot white people for 10 hrs?? Is the game not more realistic (regarding race)considering the geographical positioning of the game's story line!!?! I find it strange that when black people are involved it becomes a racist issue however if you were Havent played it yet but when I do Im sure I will enjoy it!! DeJuan B....Let me ask you a question or two......would it be racist if you shot white people for 10 hrs?? Is the game not more realistic (regarding race)considering the geographical positioning of the game's story line!!?! I find it strange that when black people are involved it becomes a racist issue however if you were to just shoot whites only, throughout the entire game that would be fine! It would be just a game!! Now pls, for all those that love to pull the race card at any given time, just think before doing so....its just a game!!!!! Im sure the guys at capcom didnt sit there thinking on how they coud make the game as racist as possible, they just made the game as realistic as possible...... dnt u think that with the game being based in Africa,....it would have been unrealistic to shoot whites for 10 hrs; In fact..I think that might have been racist!! Expand
  27. ES
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    It doesn't get much better then this, outlandish story aside the game play is perfect Co-Op is the best Co-Op in a a me so far. Too many games make the exact same "flaw" people accuse RE5 of playing it safe. The PoP-n-Shoot has been done to death so that's just as "safe" as RE5s copy of RE4s controls. If you enjoy action games look no further, just don't expect any scares.
  28. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, the best Resident Evil ever, the best action game, horror game, the final is amazing with Wesker, I love Jill and Chris again, the so emotional scene. I really hope that RE6 be better and GOTY 2012.
  29. JoeMamma
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Incredible and amazing, particularly in co-op. The controls service the atmosphere wonderfully, and the setting is unique and beautiful. Don't believe the naysayers, this is the best action game to date in 2009.
  30. AnonymousMC
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    You've got your action/shooter 4 hour length campaign and limited multiplay options in GoW (with it's 'updated' and 'modern' controls--because we know that REAL people shoot soooo accurately while running--rite?), RE requires far more cognition and in doing so limits itself to a smaller audience . Casuals have moved on to games more suited to their pea-sizedYou've got your action/shooter 4 hour length campaign and limited multiplay options in GoW (with it's 'updated' and 'modern' controls--because we know that REAL people shoot soooo accurately while running--rite?), RE requires far more cognition and in doing so limits itself to a smaller audience . Casuals have moved on to games more suited to their pea-sized brains and RE5 sales will suffer because of it. Capcom isn't to blame, it's Epic. Way to go, Epic, you've made the dumb even DUMBER. Expand
  31. AnonymousMC
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    critics and everybody else needs to get it through their thick skulls that just because a game doesnt completely reinvent the whole gaming world doesnt mean its bad, RE4 contols were great i loved them and the controls on this one are good too. why criticize a good thing just because its not up to date with the rest of the world? its stupid i mean this site gave Streetfighter 4 a reallycritics and everybody else needs to get it through their thick skulls that just because a game doesnt completely reinvent the whole gaming world doesnt mean its bad, RE4 contols were great i loved them and the controls on this one are good too. why criticize a good thing just because its not up to date with the rest of the world? its stupid i mean this site gave Streetfighter 4 a really high score and game hardly reinvented anything. Expand
  32. cooneysauce
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    I'm about half way though, and absolutely loving it. It reeks of atmosphere and the quality is top notch. It is like playing out a blockbuster movie, few games ever achieve this trait. If you enjoyed RE4, you'll love this!!! The A.I partner is great too. Not once have I had any frustrating instances involving Sheva. They must have tweaked the retail one a touch more than the I'm about half way though, and absolutely loving it. It reeks of atmosphere and the quality is top notch. It is like playing out a blockbuster movie, few games ever achieve this trait. If you enjoyed RE4, you'll love this!!! The A.I partner is great too. Not once have I had any frustrating instances involving Sheva. They must have tweaked the retail one a touch more than the "review" versions the gaming magazines received. This is easily one of the most polished games out there. Fans and action gamers alike, this is a must own. Expand
  33. BigB
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    would of given a solid 10 but i hate that little red dot aiming. I've played RE4 for the Wii and i loved the site on that. The gameplay is great like all RE. I still don't understand why people called this game racist. In RE4 all you were shooting were spanish people yet no complaint from that???
  34. JoshQ
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    Firstly, the technical stuff, the graphics and effects are stunning for a console game. Gameplay wise, you might be a little bored in the first chapter, but towards the end of the first chapter and so on it becomes a lot of fun and funny at times. If you have no friends that can play this with you on live or on your console then you're missing out on some good laughs and not having Firstly, the technical stuff, the graphics and effects are stunning for a console game. Gameplay wise, you might be a little bored in the first chapter, but towards the end of the first chapter and so on it becomes a lot of fun and funny at times. If you have no friends that can play this with you on live or on your console then you're missing out on some good laughs and not having an AI partner. The "gunplay" itself, though a little poor on immersion do to slow turning and standstill shooting, the satisfaction when blasting enemies is enough to make it pretty good. Gears of War style body/head blasting with some freaky zombie effects. The story also adds a lot to the game. Though personally, I'd rather tactically gunning these zombies in first person (and probably on a PC), it's just my preference and shouldn't be accounted for in my rating. Expand
  35. matt
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    Wow josh B and all those other idiots out there news flash this is not supposed to be like gears of war or pretty much all the other 1st person shooters out there. The games controls are fine!!!!!! Its supposed to be slow moving of the laser and its much more exiting when you cant move while aiming!!!! so stop your complaining and go fuck your little gears of war 2 because your all so Wow josh B and all those other idiots out there news flash this is not supposed to be like gears of war or pretty much all the other 1st person shooters out there. The games controls are fine!!!!!! Its supposed to be slow moving of the laser and its much more exiting when you cant move while aiming!!!! so stop your complaining and go fuck your little gears of war 2 because your all so obsessd with it!!! BTW it sucked the only good part was horde and that was not even that good. When I got RE5 i had to trade in 2 games i traded in halo 3 (suckish) and gears of war 2 ( piece of shit) and then got RE5 for the PS3!!! AHHHHHH dont start crying cause those are your two best games. BTW im not saying 360 is bad but saying most of the really big popular games suck... so get R5 and love it its really fun!!! Expand
  36. LukaszC
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    The game is great , i care not about the bad reviews from something like "xplay" . Point 1 why the game is awesome the bosses . There alot of bosses and theyre great . Point 2 loose ends are tied . Point 3 alltough the controlls dont allow run and shoot , it still is intuitive . Point 4 Shevas A.I. is preety decent , its not bad ... it saved my ass literally sometimes . Point 5 the The game is great , i care not about the bad reviews from something like "xplay" . Point 1 why the game is awesome the bosses . There alot of bosses and theyre great . Point 2 loose ends are tied . Point 3 alltough the controlls dont allow run and shoot , it still is intuitive . Point 4 Shevas A.I. is preety decent , its not bad ... it saved my ass literally sometimes . Point 5 the mercenaries mode , its very addictive to play it . Point 6 the game is 3-4 times better with coop . I think the game is great and its really a worthy continuation of the series , allthough there is no horror (btw : RE 4 wasnt better at this point) the game is really really good . The best game that came out in the last few months , 9/10 . Expand
  37. RowanF
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    This game is a real innovation for resident evil, capcom has finaly seen fit to pull the series out of the arcade-ish shooter genre where it feels like the game is deliberately working against you the entire way, and plonk it down into a more user freindly genre. Whilst it keeps all of the good features of the series: zombie killing, weapon upgrading ect, the game now has less ludicrous This game is a real innovation for resident evil, capcom has finaly seen fit to pull the series out of the arcade-ish shooter genre where it feels like the game is deliberately working against you the entire way, and plonk it down into a more user freindly genre. Whilst it keeps all of the good features of the series: zombie killing, weapon upgrading ect, the game now has less ludicrous difficulties, multiplayer, and is generaly more modernised, which makes it one of the best games you can get nowadays, especialy with its long playtime and awsome graphics. While the modernisation is a really good thing in the first half of the game, it becomes painfully clear in the second half that they've gone too far the other way. Not only did they add zombies with machine guns, they added a cover mechanic. A freakin' cover mechanic! This is Resident evil not Gears of War! With this addition, the latter half of the game becomes simply another bog-standard shooter, and a crap one at that. Plus, all of these features COMPLETELY eliminate the scare factor from it. Thats is the only real problem this game has: It's tried so hard to be a mainstream shooter that it's lost part of it's soul. And oh yes, I could rant and rave all day about the AI, but i'm just going to say that it's crap, if you don't have a freind who's willing to complete the ENTIRE game with you then dont get it. Expand
  38. yousell
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    The game is really good on it's own way. Those idiots that are rating this game 7 or below are just dumb. It's impossible to give a '0' to a game like this. "Jay J" you're just an idiot.
  39. MattA
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    A very fun game once you get the hang of it! The co-op aspect of the game is stellar! It's fun playing with a friend who has your back the entire game. It also has a lot of replay value with unlockables, mercenaries mode, and extra costumes and difficulties. I got it for about 35 bucks and it was totally worth every penny.
  40. AnonymousMC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This game was the best co-operative experience I have ever had. You are able to use the stop and shoot mechanic to a point where it feels highly realistic. You are able to cover someone whilst they move back and doing it in a cycle until you defeat your enemies or find a suitable vantage point thus using very real tactics that are actually employed in real life, none of this running andThis game was the best co-operative experience I have ever had. You are able to use the stop and shoot mechanic to a point where it feels highly realistic. You are able to cover someone whilst they move back and doing it in a cycle until you defeat your enemies or find a suitable vantage point thus using very real tactics that are actually employed in real life, none of this running and gunning. Single Player plays just as well but lacks the interactivity you gain from another human player, which is the case with any game. The story was excellent, it tied up some of the things we have wondered about since the series started. The environments are lush and the graphics are superb. The laboratories bring back fond memories of the ones that have appeared in previous games. Personally I can see myself playing this more than similar games like GOW. The replayablity is phenominal there are an extensive number of secrets and numerous strategies to employ. The bossbattles in this game are my favourite part of this game, they are imaginative and look great too. The sub bosses in this game are superb too, you can stay and fight or shoot your way through and attempt to escape, which I sometimes found to be a more viable option when being chased by umpteen lickers on hard with no ammo. Unbelievable game, it deserves a better score! This game offers a lot of new ideas and though it may borrow heavily from RE4 in some aspects it would be silly to say that this game is more of the same. WELL WORTH THE BUY! Expand
  41. AnonymousMC
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    RE5 is a fantastic game from top to bottom, and I'm by no means a RE fanboy. I've played RE4 and liked it quite a bit, but that's about it. Here, I've been sucked up playing constantly and yes, it is not scary in the slightest (except maybe the mines in the beginning), but the game is gorgeous to look at, fun to play, and not the tad bit racist. I think people complainRE5 is a fantastic game from top to bottom, and I'm by no means a RE fanboy. I've played RE4 and liked it quite a bit, but that's about it. Here, I've been sucked up playing constantly and yes, it is not scary in the slightest (except maybe the mines in the beginning), but the game is gorgeous to look at, fun to play, and not the tad bit racist. I think people complain about the controls because so many games nowaday take the controls off of Gears of War and now everyone thinks it should be the standard. There is no problem in the way RE5 controls, its just that it is different then your Fiddy Cent game or any other Gears of War clone. It is not broken, except maybe the knife fighting, and by all means is a badass game. The story could use some work, but I was still immersed throughout so I'm not complaining too much. Don't listen to some foolish people out there; go out and support the glorious game called RE5. Expand
  42. SpiritC
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    This game is fantastic. Great visuals, solid controls, (if you can't control this game, you should give up gaming all together) and lots of shooting. I like this one a little bit better than RES4, with easy weapon changing, more accessible inventory system and did I mention lots of shooting. Buy it!
  43. MateusPradobrazilian
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    THIS IS NOT GEARS OF WAR 3!! THIS IS A RESIDENT EVIL GAME, the critics lost the passion about games. CONGRATULATIONS CAPCOM!! THE SYSTEM CONTROL are perfect like on RE4. The RE5 is a blockbuster and all the people played and experimented the system controls and love it, BUY IT
  44. Kip
    Mar 23, 2009
    9
    I remember when the first Resident Evil came out. That got me back into gaming after a long hiatus. RE5, I thoroughly enjoy. Great graphics. Solid game play. Cool weapons. Although Sheva can be quite dumb sometimes. I've only played solo, but it would be great with a friend I'm sure. If I had a beef with the game, it's that I miss the suspense/scary element. RE1 would I remember when the first Resident Evil came out. That got me back into gaming after a long hiatus. RE5, I thoroughly enjoy. Great graphics. Solid game play. Cool weapons. Although Sheva can be quite dumb sometimes. I've only played solo, but it would be great with a friend I'm sure. If I had a beef with the game, it's that I miss the suspense/scary element. RE1 would sometimes make me jump out of my seat. Still, in my book, RE5 deserves to be in the top 25 xbox 360 games. Quality game all across the board, for sure. Expand
  45. CamT
    Mar 25, 2009
    9
    I was a little iffy about this game when I first played the demo. I wasnt super excited to have to play with an AI partner, I wasnt a big fan of the stop and shoot control system and I was afraid the game had strayed to far from its roots to be any good. First off having an AI partner wasnt nearly as bad as I thought it was going to be. She seems to be a decent shot and is great for I was a little iffy about this game when I first played the demo. I wasnt super excited to have to play with an AI partner, I wasnt a big fan of the stop and shoot control system and I was afraid the game had strayed to far from its roots to be any good. First off having an AI partner wasnt nearly as bad as I thought it was going to be. She seems to be a decent shot and is great for carrying around a couple extra weapons as well as saving your ass if you start dying in some of the tougher spots. Also have the ability to play co-op with a friend makes it even better. However there were a couple of times when I failed because my partner (AI) died which I hated. I feel if I fail a game it should be due to my mistakes not the mistakes of the game. All in all though AI wasnt bad. Im still not completely convinced the inablility to move and shoot really added anything to the game. Capcom has claimed that the choice was made to make the game more suspenseful. This may have worked extremely well in the world of survival horror but RE5 seems designed to be a third person action game. All in all I probably would have prefered to move while shooting (it probably would have made the game more accessable) but gameplay really doesnt suffer because of it. Its true Resident Evil has travelled along way from the old PS1 days and if your expecting a superb survival horror game here your probably going to be extremely dissapointed. However if you enter with an open mind you will find an amazing third person action game with loads of retail value. This has satisfied me for now but I am begging Capcom to please make a real Resident Evil game. That will scare the shit out of me. Expand
  46. JH
    Mar 28, 2009
    9
    Ultimately RE5 is a much more enjoyable experience than both GoW games combined (and then some). I really don't understand why the critics cannot take a game on its merits. Read any review, and you'll only find comments such as 'not the evolution we had hoped for', yet, unfortunately, those same standards are not applied to games like Gears of War. For some reason, Ultimately RE5 is a much more enjoyable experience than both GoW games combined (and then some). I really don't understand why the critics cannot take a game on its merits. Read any review, and you'll only find comments such as 'not the evolution we had hoped for', yet, unfortunately, those same standards are not applied to games like Gears of War. For some reason, critics are tolerant of new series' been-there-done-that-before formula but utterly intolerant of an established series' inability to revolutionize the entire genre! Critics are horridly moronic and hypocritical sometimes. F******* morons. Expand
  47. CR
    Apr 27, 2009
    9
    No game deserves 10...except Resident Evil 4. This game is an absolute commendable addition to the franchise no doubt. Graphically great, Gameplay top of the range, Story and writing...laughable. Dont go into this game taking it seriously on any level or you might get dissapointed. The only REAL complaint I have about the game is the friendly AI, on Professional you cant rely on the AI at No game deserves 10...except Resident Evil 4. This game is an absolute commendable addition to the franchise no doubt. Graphically great, Gameplay top of the range, Story and writing...laughable. Dont go into this game taking it seriously on any level or you might get dissapointed. The only REAL complaint I have about the game is the friendly AI, on Professional you cant rely on the AI at all, which makes the game almost impossible in my eyes. Overall though it deserves praise for what its achieved and following a successful formula and not mucking it up. Expand
  48. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Resident Evil 5 will capture your hearts as it leads off from the previous chapter Resident Evil 4. Basically, Capcom took everything that was good in Resident Evil 4 and took Resident Evil 5 to the next level. Besides the improved Inventory system and introduction into the new "Co-op" in the Resident Evil Series, the boost in graphics and sound will definitely make the hairs on the back of your neck rise as it delivers the ultimate experience while playing Resident Evil 5. To get started on the basic plot of Resident Evil 5. Resident Evil 5 starts 6 years after the destruction of Umbrella and your still playing as Chris Redfield but this time he has become an agent of BSAA to help fight biological terrorism. To top it off, you even have a new partner "Sheva Alomar". Your probably wondering where Chris Redfield old partner, Jill Valentine is? You will have to find out yourself when you start playing the game.

    As you and your new partner (Sheva) continue to fight the ongoing infection that has infected the people of Kijuju. This time, they aren't just zombies and it wasn't an accident. A power-hungry corporation modified and created a new virus that controls the mindless host. You will find them more challenging and dangerous than before.

    One of the great perks of Resident Evil 5 is the Cooperative play of the game. You can go it alone or invite a friend to play with you through Xbox live. Another thing I find great about Resident Evil 5 is the in between screens. It is almost like watching a movie with a great story line. A downfall, is the shortness in ammo. I find it hard to collect ammo for more powerful weapons, so to keep in mind. Use your bullets carefully.

    In conclusion, Resident Evil 5 is definitely worth buying. Definitely worth playing. If you enjoy previous Resident Evil games. You will enjoy Resident Evil 5, but I wouldn't give my hopes up as Resident Evil 5 brings an exciting experience to the table that is different then previous versions. If I were to rate Resident Evil 5, I would definitely rate it 4 out of 5 stars. I look forward to replay Resident Evil a few more times on a more difficult setting to truly test my ability to stay alive!
    Expand
  49. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    Resident Evil, is a fun game, but it's just not that scary. The game play and campaign overall is very fun and entertaining, but it's not that SCARY! But i had a fun time unlocking all the weapons without glitching, but Resident Evil 5 is just not that scary! Overall, it is a fun game that will keep you entertained for a long while, but It's just not that scary! Thank you.
  50. Aug 18, 2011
    9
    Was nice, had nice action and overall is just not creepy. RE5 failed to deliver creepy awesome moments compared to the successful predecessor , to long years since the announcement and failed in this side. Even with that annoying failure, Is very good . The graphics looks nice enough, the gameplay is solid, the co op was cool and the story is just what I don't care. Buy it if you're aWas nice, had nice action and overall is just not creepy. RE5 failed to deliver creepy awesome moments compared to the successful predecessor , to long years since the announcement and failed in this side. Even with that annoying failure, Is very good . The graphics looks nice enough, the gameplay is solid, the co op was cool and the story is just what I don't care. Buy it if you're a hardcore RE fan, If you haven't played ever the series, obligatory play It. Expand
  51. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    They vastly improved the graphics, they amped up the action, they have a great story, but sadly they forgot to put in the horror. This game is an action game with parasite-possessed folk (just like in RE4) with a new mystery behind it all. The plot isn't truly that intriguing, but the gameplay is loads of fun and it has a really well worked out online play. The brutality is taken down fromThey vastly improved the graphics, they amped up the action, they have a great story, but sadly they forgot to put in the horror. This game is an action game with parasite-possessed folk (just like in RE4) with a new mystery behind it all. The plot isn't truly that intriguing, but the gameplay is loads of fun and it has a really well worked out online play. The brutality is taken down from previous Resident Evil games - and whenever you blow off a Uroboros head you see four parasitic tentacles open out of the neck (or you see a gigantic parasitic monster come out, and the fight goes on). Having Sheva around - when playing single player - can be as annoying as having Ashley following you around because she's always dying on you and she's the only thing that makes the professional modes hard. This game is extremely easy, and though Sheva is there to help, she's the only thing making it difficult (unless you play with somebody online). So basically you can play with online friends on both the storymode and on mercenaries - and Mercenaries mode has been improved much more than it was in RE4 and has a vaster amount of playable characters. One complaint of mine on character design is that they made the monsters very comic-book like in their huge size (though the details are amazing) and they made Wesker's appearance slightly less badass and professional than he as in RE4. Also in RE4 Wesker had stronger abilities in Mercenaries. Really RE4's a better game, but this is still very fun. Expand
  52. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    this is a good game. yes, of all the things that i've said in my other more brutal burns of other things. i think that this game is amazing. and i am a die hard fan of the resident evil saga. and this by far is one of the best, and is up there next to the REmake and res. evil 4. this game revolves around chris Redfield, and a new character named Sheva. this game actually ties the seriesthis is a good game. yes, of all the things that i've said in my other more brutal burns of other things. i think that this game is amazing. and i am a die hard fan of the resident evil saga. and this by far is one of the best, and is up there next to the REmake and res. evil 4. this game revolves around chris Redfield, and a new character named Sheva. this game actually ties the series together and ends it because it involves Chris, and Sheva, and a little help from the familier stars member herself, Jill Valentine.
    it also has the badest, of badasses. Albert Wesker. holy mother of god was i psyched when i first saw him. then when i found out what he had done to Jill. i was pissed. the whole idea that he had brain washed Jill after making it seem that Jill had died after a greatly epic battle with wesker. i hated wesker more than i ever had in my career of playing the RE games. the battles with him were well done, and fun. the cutscenes were epic. the fact that there weren't as many interactive cutscenes as 4, but it was still fun.
    now, i hate the fact that people complain about some of the stupid things like the whole zombies driving, and using guns. its a **** video game. its not suposed to be realistic. idiots.
    and there are complaints about how you can't run and gun. of course you can't! if you've played any RE game, then you know that you don't run and gun. same as every freaking re game. and yes, the controls aren't re4, but you can change them! god! i really don't like the fact that people also complain about sheva. all i have to say to that is this. remember re0? and i'll leave it at that.
    Expand
  53. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Resident Evil 5 is one of the better games that I have played. RE5 is a good way to jump into the series if you are not interested in other RE games (like me). The story is pretty good as I kept playing, anxious to see what would happen next. I especially like Wesker as he is an amazing character and his abilities grant him a place on my list of favorite villians. The character depth isResident Evil 5 is one of the better games that I have played. RE5 is a good way to jump into the series if you are not interested in other RE games (like me). The story is pretty good as I kept playing, anxious to see what would happen next. I especially like Wesker as he is an amazing character and his abilities grant him a place on my list of favorite villians. The character depth is all very unique and the graphics are great too. The playability is solid but sometimes it seems to cause some problems as it all feels very limited but still very fun to use. The fact that you have a partner makes it all the more fun except it is wierd that your partner will always use the weakest weapon in their inventory when they have stronger ones. Overall RE5 is a great game that I recomend RE fans and other gamers alike play for the amount of fun it gives out. Expand
  54. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game..Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  55. Jan 31, 2012
    9
    A blast to play in co-op. Paying 60$ for this on launch day was worth it. The graphics are stunning on xbox 360, and one of the only ones I find that actually looks good on this system. The controls are a bit awkward, but it's resident evil! What can you do?! This game was meant to be played in co-op, dont judge it based on resident evil 4. The 2 games are incredibly different in myA blast to play in co-op. Paying 60$ for this on launch day was worth it. The graphics are stunning on xbox 360, and one of the only ones I find that actually looks good on this system. The controls are a bit awkward, but it's resident evil! What can you do?! This game was meant to be played in co-op, dont judge it based on resident evil 4. The 2 games are incredibly different in my opinion. Resi 5 has absolutely zero tense and scary moments, but that doesn't stop it being fun. A game meant to be played with 2 people, 9/10! Expand
  56. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I dont care about what people say resident evil 5 is an awesome game, i know Resident evil 4 was better! But i still think RE5 was a great one of the best this gen, cant wait for Resident Evil 6
  57. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    I've beaten this game so many times. I have every weapon with infinite ammo and im currently ranked 3,000 for fastest time on professional, enough said lol...
  58. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    People need to realize that this game is not meant to be like the older entries, Capcom is trying to take the series into new directions. Just like any band that has a sound that was a hit in the beginning, things get old and they know it's time to take it into another direction. How many times can they create scary moments without going stale? And those of you who complain about notPeople need to realize that this game is not meant to be like the older entries, Capcom is trying to take the series into new directions. Just like any band that has a sound that was a hit in the beginning, things get old and they know it's time to take it into another direction. How many times can they create scary moments without going stale? And those of you who complain about not being able to shoot while moving and not being like the older games are contradicting yourselves, Resident evil ALWAYS made you stop before shooting, obviously you either haven't played the earlier games; or your trying to find reasons to **** Expand
  59. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    The only thing that sucks about this game is the AI is retarded and it's pretty difficult to beat with the AI alone. You need two people to beat this game easily.
  60. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    As much as I would love to give this game a 10, the AI's intelligence is really that bad. The graphics, sound, game play, and everything else is solid. The AI is just really bad some times and before anyone says anything about Resident Evil not having this much action, Resident Evil 3 had a little more, it was just the technology of the time. I have played this game from Amateur toAs much as I would love to give this game a 10, the AI's intelligence is really that bad. The graphics, sound, game play, and everything else is solid. The AI is just really bad some times and before anyone says anything about Resident Evil not having this much action, Resident Evil 3 had a little more, it was just the technology of the time. I have played this game from Amateur to Professional and it runs smoothly on all difficulty, couldn't recommend this game more. Expand
  61. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    Resident Evil 5 gets a lot of undeserved criticism, largely for the fact that it isn't Resident Evil 4. While both games use essentially the same mechanics, and while RE4 is undoubtedly a masterpiece, those that judge RE5 often fail to acknowledge the many ways in which the game matches or even betters its predecessor. Go back to RE4 after playing through RE5 and you will notice,Resident Evil 5 gets a lot of undeserved criticism, largely for the fact that it isn't Resident Evil 4. While both games use essentially the same mechanics, and while RE4 is undoubtedly a masterpiece, those that judge RE5 often fail to acknowledge the many ways in which the game matches or even betters its predecessor. Go back to RE4 after playing through RE5 and you will notice, conspicuous by their absence, a handful of improvements that you mistakenly remembered being in the fourth main-series game.

    Most obviously, RE5 features online co-op. Although the game works well as a singleplayer experience, co-op truly is how it was designed to be played, and it is a superb addition. The co-op dynamic feels so natural when applied to the "second generation" Resident Evil framework. The storyline is broken up into chapters of a suitable size for online sessions, meaning that it's easy to jump in with a friend for anything from 30 minutes to multiple hours. As a result, I'm sure I've spent more time playing RE5 than any of the previous entries in the series, and I am a huge fan of the older games.

    The inventory system had to be reworked since weapons and restoratives needed to be easily-accessible in the heat of the moment. With pausing a thing of the past, so too the attaché case grid had to be ditched - seemingly a major issue for some, but completely necessary. The pacing of the game is spot-on. RE4, while fantastically relentless, was over-long and, at times, a bit of a slog. I felt that certain sections dragged and could have been condensed, resulting in a more impactful game. This game has very few lulls.

    All in all, a wholly worthy successor to one of the landmarks of videogaming, updated for the online age. Seeing how hideously wrong it all went for the sixth game just emphasises even more what a sensational title this is.
    Expand
  62. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    this was awesome resident evil the best part was that you can play with a co-op in a split screen that was very great to me and the best 2-players game I've ever played.
  63. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    I have played through this game twice (on easy and then the 3rd difficulty) and I can honestly say that I will play through it again.
    Initially I found the controls awkward, and as one very decent review on here has already pointed out, the inventory system is cumbersome to say the least. however, these are both things that I have gotten used to and now don't feel hindered by in the
    I have played through this game twice (on easy and then the 3rd difficulty) and I can honestly say that I will play through it again.
    Initially I found the controls awkward, and as one very decent review on here has already pointed out, the inventory system is cumbersome to say the least. however, these are both things that I have gotten used to and now don't feel hindered by in the slightest.
    A lot has been said about how the series is losing it's 'horror' element in the more action-oriented RE4 & 5. Personally I found number 4 horrific at times (the Regenerators, even on their own had me mortified more than any other RE enemy), but number 5 just isn't horror. That's not to say that the game should be criticised. What it is is a compulsive, highly playable action shooter with the most gorgeous graphics on the 360, in my opinion.
    The choice of setting is inspired, but I don't think that the variety of environments in Africa has been exploited on this game. The early chapters, wondering through shanty towns seem authentic, but later levels could be set just about anywhere else with lakes and caves. This is a minor criticism however.
    My major problem with this game is it's simplicity, caused by linear level design, self contained and obvious puzzles and the games extremely short length. RE4 took me about 13hours to finish, this took nothing like as long.
    However these flaws are compensated by the games replay value. For all of us achievement freaks, there are alkinds of weapons, treasures etc to be gathered, plus screen filters that can be used to give the game a different look. Gimmicky, yes, but it all adds.
    I loved resident evil 4 for it's gameplay. The worst we could have expected from RE5 really was an inferior clone of 4, which is what we have sadly, but still a supremely enjoyable game while it lasts.
    A lot of people seem to be critical of Sheva's AI in the single player mode. Whilst i can understand some gripes, I can honestly say that for large portions of the game, I forgot that there was any co-operative element to the game. If you're deciding whether or not to buy this game, I wouldn't be put off by the idea of having a computer controlled partner. One or 2 sections may have you tearing your hair out because of her stupidity, but thankfully even on the harder difficulty (I have unlocked but not tried the 4th hardest difficulty by the way) you'll discover you'll only rely on her to keep herself alive and leave her to it.
    The enemies in the game are as usual ridiculous and over the top (and usually always very impressive). Lickers are particularly gruesome.
    Despite the length of time it took for this game to hit the shelves, it is, as i said, remarkably similar in feel to RE4. If you played and enjoyed the awesome Dead Space, this will really keep you entertained. It's not as good, but certainly worth the admission fee.
    Very decent stuff.
    Expand
  64. Rem
    Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Resident Evil 5 stirs up alot of controversy among fans. It begs the question of where the series is headed. For better or worse, Resident Evil chose the action oriented path. Scares are few and far between, but I didn't mind, I had a blast playing it. Decidedly, the game put co-op as the star of the game. I played with a buddy throughout most of this journey. The customization options inResident Evil 5 stirs up alot of controversy among fans. It begs the question of where the series is headed. For better or worse, Resident Evil chose the action oriented path. Scares are few and far between, but I didn't mind, I had a blast playing it. Decidedly, the game put co-op as the star of the game. I played with a buddy throughout most of this journey. The customization options in this game is incredibly vast. The graphics are among the best I have seen this year, if not all time. The story is more focused this time around, but still remains to be convoluted at times unless you played previous Resident Evil games. All in all I enjoyed Resident Evil 5 and its co-op as it is well implemented, but I am concerned on the direction of the series. Expand
  65. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    Uno de los mejores juegos del mundo. lo amo .graficas hermosas accion historia mercenarios ampaña a pantalla dividida aun lo juego mas que halo 4 y gear of war 3 en fin esta saga es lo mejor
  66. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    This is a really nice adventure that is worth the money and it's almost sure that if you haven't played the previous one you'll want to have a second playthrough in a different difficulty mode. Prepare to face African zombie hordes in a big amount and to use the so interesting arsenal against them. If you are a big fan of the previous Resident Evil games you might feel to say that is notThis is a really nice adventure that is worth the money and it's almost sure that if you haven't played the previous one you'll want to have a second playthrough in a different difficulty mode. Prepare to face African zombie hordes in a big amount and to use the so interesting arsenal against them. If you are a big fan of the previous Resident Evil games you might feel to say that is not what you were waiting for and you're right somehow, because this is not a horror game, but an action one. Anyway, I want to judge it like something new, that's how the 9 out of 10. Capcom, probably, doesn't want to keep a history because of the extremely competition these days and if they had done that, fans would be the small amount of players who preferred that. Nevertheless, Resident Evil 5 is not at all a disappointing game for those who like zombie games, a good story, special moments and a lot of action. Expand
  67. Apr 9, 2015
    10
    Muitas pessoas criticam o jogo fato de falarem que ele mudou muito,mas se ele tivesse ficado a mesma coisa desde o primeiro lançamento um monte de filho da puta iria ficar falando que a série nunca muda e tals,mas bem o jogo é ótimo com uma campanha divertida e que não enjoa com o tempo,ele é um jogo pra se jogar com um amigo pois a IA do seu parceiro é simplesmente um lixo mas com umMuitas pessoas criticam o jogo fato de falarem que ele mudou muito,mas se ele tivesse ficado a mesma coisa desde o primeiro lançamento um monte de filho da puta iria ficar falando que a série nunca muda e tals,mas bem o jogo é ótimo com uma campanha divertida e que não enjoa com o tempo,ele é um jogo pra se jogar com um amigo pois a IA do seu parceiro é simplesmente um lixo mas com um amigo o jogo fica muito legal e as vezes tem uns momentos que você se desespera ao ver um inimigo que pode foder com você,como o cara da serra elétrica e o Indião (assim que eu chamo ele)mas o jogo em si é muito divertido recomendo pra se jogar com um amigo mas você pode tentar jogar sozinho que pode deixar o jogo irritante Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 91
  2. Negative: 1 out of 91
  1. While the developers' decision to copy elements from Resident Evil 4 make it feel less original (despite better visuals and a new location), you'll have a blast (especially with a buddy) but after waiting four years for a sequel, we expected better.
  2. 90
    It's hardly the dramatic revamp that RE4 was for the series, but it marks the first time that co-op play has been implemented. As a result, the overhaul makes it a good single-player game, but a great multiplayer one. Thanks to its persistent approach to weapon upgrades, it's well-suited to replay. It's a visually splendid game with gorgeous cinematics that evoke the same awe as previous games did in their time.
  3. You'll get a lot more out of it than you do from typical games with no competitive multiplayer and while played cooperatively it really sings. It's lost a lot of what has made the franchise a pins-and-needles experience, but that sense of dread has been replaced with pure action that's hard to match.