User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 549 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 549
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 27, 2015
    8
    The game is made to be a cooperative experience. Each character complement the other, and synchronization is required to succeed.
    Playing alone transforms the game in a repetitive game with a very messy story, but ultimately enjoyable. Great voice acting and the always present cheesyness of this games makes this a must play for last-gen owners.
    Hardcore RE fans will be extremely angry
    The game is made to be a cooperative experience. Each character complement the other, and synchronization is required to succeed.
    Playing alone transforms the game in a repetitive game with a very messy story, but ultimately enjoyable. Great voice acting and the always present cheesyness of this games makes this a must play for last-gen owners.

    Hardcore RE fans will be extremely angry about this game reducing the horror factor of the franchise. However, the game is a worthy successor of RE4 even if it will always crumble when compared to it.
    Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Most fun I've had on this Generation of consoles - Have played it through multiple times and still keep returning for more. Beautiful Graphics, Nice story with some fantastic cinematography on the cutscenes. Loads to collect and achievemnets that you actually want to strive for. Once the main game has been completed there is Mercenaries mode which is challenging and in a similar vein to 'The Club' keeps you going back for more - even if just to better your own scores. Fantastic Game. As some people have mentioned you are stationary when aiming weapons or using the knife - after half an hour of playing this will become second nature and it suits the game perfectly - remember this isn't another Gears of War clone - and if you are running out of ammo and having to use the knife to survive you are not playing the game properly! LOL! Expand
  3. AARONG
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    I would have to agree with matt on this one. i love gears of war the best thing is the regular campaign its got a good story but the online multiplayer sucks ass hordes tight all people. but halo sucks . but this RE5 is pretty sick especially after u get the infinite ammo its jsut lots of fun going around and killinG everything in seconds but its still tricky with that on.. If u have aI would have to agree with matt on this one. i love gears of war the best thing is the regular campaign its got a good story but the online multiplayer sucks ass hordes tight all people. but halo sucks . but this RE5 is pretty sick especially after u get the infinite ammo its jsut lots of fun going around and killinG everything in seconds but its still tricky with that on.. If u have a high resolution tv (Plasma or lcd) u will love the graphics. the story has been better but its still awesome no video game is perfect but i would recommend it if u are a resident evil fan. Expand
  4. GuyT
    Apr 3, 2009
    10
    Most fun I've had on this Generation of consoles - Have played it through multiple times and still keep returning for more. Beautiful Graphics, Nice story with some fantastic cinematography on the cutscenes. Loads to collect and achievemnets that you actually want to strive for. Once the main game has been completed there is Mercenaries mode which is challenging and in a similar vein Most fun I've had on this Generation of consoles - Have played it through multiple times and still keep returning for more. Beautiful Graphics, Nice story with some fantastic cinematography on the cutscenes. Loads to collect and achievemnets that you actually want to strive for. Once the main game has been completed there is Mercenaries mode which is challenging and in a similar vein to 'The Club' keeps you going back for more - even if just to better your own scores. Fantastic Game. As some people have mentioned you are stationary when aiming weapons or using the knife - after half an hour of playing this will become second nature and it suits the game perfectly - remember this isn't another Gears of War clone - and if you are running out of ammo and having to use the knife to survive you are not playing the game properly! LOL! Expand
  5. BlingC
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    People are too stuck on the control problems and fail to recognize that this is NOT Gears of War 3. For what the game does the controls work very well. It's not a perfect game but it was a wonderfuly fun experience nonetheless.
  6. TomR
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    There's a short line-up of local co-op games for the Xbox 360: Rainbow 6 Vegas, Halo 3, Gears of War... What game producers just don't understand is that some gamers have friends. Some gamers have an active social life and like to have friends over. Not everyone plays by themselves and waits for strangers to join their online game. In this world of crazed online-only gaming, There's a short line-up of local co-op games for the Xbox 360: Rainbow 6 Vegas, Halo 3, Gears of War... What game producers just don't understand is that some gamers have friends. Some gamers have an active social life and like to have friends over. Not everyone plays by themselves and waits for strangers to join their online game. In this world of crazed online-only gaming, it's refreshing to be able to sit down in a room with a friend, crack open some energy drinks, have a sandwich or two handy, and play 8 straight mind-numbing hours of co-op. That's why I give this game a ten; it's probably the best co-op experience I've ever had in my life, barring Sega Genesis "Streets of Rage." Expand
  7. Adriana
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This game is super. It has the same look and feel that the calssic RE4. The co-op gameplay is a little complicated and frustrating at the begging. Once you get the hang of it, it's actually a lot of fun. This is the type of game that will grow on folks over time, and in my view, be a classic in its own righ. Play on!
  8. DuxaC
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This is one of the most polished and detailed games I have ever played. The CO-OP experience is amazing, and there is a lot of innovation in terms of level design. I have not touched RE series since playing RE2 in 1998. Jumping back into the series RE5 delivered everything i wanted from an RE game. Controls are just what is expected from an RE game, and personally I am glad they are set This is one of the most polished and detailed games I have ever played. The CO-OP experience is amazing, and there is a lot of innovation in terms of level design. I have not touched RE series since playing RE2 in 1998. Jumping back into the series RE5 delivered everything i wanted from an RE game. Controls are just what is expected from an RE game, and personally I am glad they are set up the way they are. If I could run and gun, my experience would have not been nearly as good while playing this game. At first it could seem awkward, but 10-20 minutes in, you completely forget that you felt that the controls were awkward. Perfect game, I definitely recommend to anyone who likes action games. Expand
  9. AdamB
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is Resident Evil 4 with the inclusion of HD graphics and cooperative play. There; I said it. Is that a bad thing? Well, if you liked RE4 (presumably the majority of those who played it did) then I shall declare to you, with a resounding boom, NO. RE5 is incredible, in every sense of the word. The controls are not broken. Outdated, maybe, but certainly playable, and then Resident Evil 5 is Resident Evil 4 with the inclusion of HD graphics and cooperative play. There; I said it. Is that a bad thing? Well, if you liked RE4 (presumably the majority of those who played it did) then I shall declare to you, with a resounding boom, NO. RE5 is incredible, in every sense of the word. The controls are not broken. Outdated, maybe, but certainly playable, and then some. At first, they will feel slightly foreign to you after several years of becoming comfortable to the Gears control type, but you will quickly adjust to them. The graphics, as we all know, are a magnificent sight to behold. The cinematography rivals that of many high budget Hollywood releases. The inclusion of Co-op was a brilliant decision on the part of Capcom, and playing with a friend is incredibly satisfying and enjoyable. Not one moment throughout the 12 hour campaign was I bored. Simply put, I loved RE5. Now, if you did not enjoy RE4, then by all means, DO NOT BUY RE5. Don't say we didn't warn you. Expand
  10. RayC
    Mar 14, 2009
    9
    This game is a graphical wet-dream. From the narrow shanty town alleyways to the open African savahnna, you will never want to look away. The control scheme is very inhibiting, but is a very nice change of pace from all of the other third person shooters. You actually have to aim instead of pouring hot lead into enemies, and to do that, one has to take their status into account while This game is a graphical wet-dream. From the narrow shanty town alleyways to the open African savahnna, you will never want to look away. The control scheme is very inhibiting, but is a very nice change of pace from all of the other third person shooters. You actually have to aim instead of pouring hot lead into enemies, and to do that, one has to take their status into account while considering retreating or pressing forward. This is a beautiful game and if one can look past the blatant copies of RE4, then you will not be dissapointed. Expand
  11. JustinS
    Mar 15, 2009
    8
    The resident evil series has always been solid, but as this generation moves on, RE5 still hides in it's shell that worked years ago. Also, it's somebody's opinion if they hate that fact that you cant move while shooting, and that the controls are a little clunky. But, if you don't have a problem with those, then your in for a solid, fun, great-looking game.
  12. RobM
    Mar 17, 2009
    9
    Resident Evil 5 does alot of things right and some things wrong. Lets start with the graphics... their absolutely incredible. The only game that I can think that even comes close is Gears of War 2. The boss design is top notch, espescially at the end of chapter 5.1. The enemies all look great, although there isn't much variety in the infected locals. The gameplay is tight, solid and Resident Evil 5 does alot of things right and some things wrong. Lets start with the graphics... their absolutely incredible. The only game that I can think that even comes close is Gears of War 2. The boss design is top notch, espescially at the end of chapter 5.1. The enemies all look great, although there isn't much variety in the infected locals. The gameplay is tight, solid and enjoyable... just like Resi 4's was. The storyline is addictive and you just HAVE to know what is coming up next as you progress through the game. The co-op play is awesome, espesically if your playing with a RE veteren. Now to the bad stuff. When playing offline, Sheva is an absolute pain the backside. She turns simple boss battles into repetitive and frustrating slogs to play sometimes, because instead of being tactical, she just follows you, much like Ashley did in RE4. She CAN be dependable at times and when you split temporarly, she can kick some serious butt. But otherwise shes just a nousense. The other bad thing out RE5 is the inventory system. It's a cheap way to build up the tention and with limited slots to use and Sheva's lack of common sense to combine things that NEED to be combined, you find yourself doing it all for her... and when you have a dozen of the infected trying to eat your brains, that can be incredible frustrating. These niggles can be hard to ignore. Though they shouldn't stop you from buying RE5. It's still one of the best games on the 360 and its a very close second behind Gears 2 for best Third person shooter. I personally LOVE this game and I will be replaying it for years to come. Is it as good as RE4? No. But did we honestly expected it to be? Probably not. So there we are. Expand
  13. JohnL
    Mar 18, 2009
    10
    DeJuan B - YOU ARE A COMPLETE IDIOT, THIS GAME IS NOT RACIST. Just b/c they have taken a different direction with the enemy? Come on, if you honestly think that this game is racist, you are a complete waste of intelligence, its a game, not a racial/ethnic statement, and that goes for anyone else that agrees with DeJuan the tard. Quit looking for something that isn't there. Anyway, DeJuan B - YOU ARE A COMPLETE IDIOT, THIS GAME IS NOT RACIST. Just b/c they have taken a different direction with the enemy? Come on, if you honestly think that this game is racist, you are a complete waste of intelligence, its a game, not a racial/ethnic statement, and that goes for anyone else that agrees with DeJuan the tard. Quit looking for something that isn't there. Anyway, now that that is done: This game is nothing short of addictive, accentuated with a friend in co-op. Its a good quality that when you pick up a sell item such as a gem or what not, despite which player picks it up, you both still get to sell it. I haven't beaten the entire game (playing on veteran, need to turn down the suck) so I don't know if the case increases size, but right now those nine slots are killer. Would like a larger case as in RE4 but what can you do, still an awesome game. Expand
  14. SarahS
    Mar 22, 2009
    9
    Slow to 'get good', whereas RE4 started strong, but overall a very fun game to play with a friend. The dialogue is so bad that you and your friend will be rolling with laugher. Probably an 8 or 8.5 solo, I would guess, but a 9 or 9.5 with a friend. A couple really cool fights later on in the game.
  15. mike
    Apr 4, 2009
    9
    Game is MORE realistic than GoW and half of all shooters out there. Should you be able to shoot an enemy in the head 50yards away while walking? NO! and any former soldier will tell you not to waste ammo by shooting while running. RE4 wasn't as good as this game, for only in your mind.do you get scared while playing videogames?So many nonsensical arguments about this game.so many Game is MORE realistic than GoW and half of all shooters out there. Should you be able to shoot an enemy in the head 50yards away while walking? NO! and any former soldier will tell you not to waste ammo by shooting while running. RE4 wasn't as good as this game, for only in your mind.do you get scared while playing videogames?So many nonsensical arguments about this game.so many negative reviewers with no real complaint. how about the game takes less than 6 hours to beat? that's a real complaint, but negative reviewers didn't make it that far....much more improved online than outbreak was, a must play. Expand
  16. TerrenceK
    May 20, 2009
    10
    The deal with legacy games like this is that many people will review it with certain expectations that have nothing to do with how good the game is. Resident evil is a good game, it's just not much like the older games in the series. (kind of like 4) It's not dark or scary, and yes Chris actually looks like a military dude instead of some scrawny actor in a fake uniform. But the The deal with legacy games like this is that many people will review it with certain expectations that have nothing to do with how good the game is. Resident evil is a good game, it's just not much like the older games in the series. (kind of like 4) It's not dark or scary, and yes Chris actually looks like a military dude instead of some scrawny actor in a fake uniform. But the game is action packed, and unlocking the goodies and weapon upgrades is fun. The controls are easier to get used to than what you might think, due to the laser sights on all the weapons. It doesn't work like COD games, yet you will find yourself getting good at aiming over time and sniping zombies from odd angles with pistols. The weapons are all different enough to each be useful in different situations, which means you actually want to unlock all the games content. RE was always between the survival games that made you feel totally helpless (like the old Alone in the dark games making you fight zombies with candle sticks) and outright action games. The recent ones have tipped it in favor of action simply by upping the ammo count, lighting things up, and letting you look different directions instead of giving you awkward angles. The apocalyptic settings will still intimidate teens if not grown up fans of earlier RE games. Expand
  17. GeorgeJ
    Jun 17, 2009
    9
    The controls of the game seems to be bothering everyone but personally the controls just grew into me, it was'nt a big problem(although there was some funny moments while reloading)It's not like the game is unplayable it just has a unique control choice. This stop and shoot mechanic has been there since the first RE although I'm new to the series. The only thing to complain The controls of the game seems to be bothering everyone but personally the controls just grew into me, it was'nt a big problem(although there was some funny moments while reloading)It's not like the game is unplayable it just has a unique control choice. This stop and shoot mechanic has been there since the first RE although I'm new to the series. The only thing to complain about is the fact that its not all that scary and is about action,action,action. The graphics for me was stunning, and playing co-op with friends on story and mercenary modes extends the game well beyond its purpose.(also lots of unlockables) Overall this game at least deserves a rent from you so you can decide the fate of owning it. Expand
  18. DavidD
    Jun 21, 2009
    9
    Just finished RE5. I played it solo on the medium setting and not co-op. There were so many good things about this game! I have played RE1, 2 and 3 and Code Veronica X. Did not play 4 because it was on gamecube. First off, I have no earthly clue why people keep whining about the computer AI with Sheva!!! I went in expecting a total hack job with her and got the opposite. She was so Just finished RE5. I played it solo on the medium setting and not co-op. There were so many good things about this game! I have played RE1, 2 and 3 and Code Veronica X. Did not play 4 because it was on gamecube. First off, I have no earthly clue why people keep whining about the computer AI with Sheva!!! I went in expecting a total hack job with her and got the opposite. She was so incredibly helpful!! The only weak point I saw was that a few times she would shoot while I was in the line of fire. But since you can't get hurt by your partner, it is no big deal. Other then that, Sheva was Awesome! She helped me out with so many things. Giving hints of what to do. Being very competent when it came to pathing. She was a very good shot also. Being very good at conserving ammunition and knowing not to use the heavy stuff all the time. Most of the time, she knew what to pick up and what to give to me. She also was much better then I when it came to giving out the health. I usually gave her all the health because I knew she would be there if I needed it. This was one of the best AI I have ever seen in a game! The graphics were some of the best I have seen also. The character models and the face movement and lip movement while speaking was 1st rate! The settings were also diverse. You were outside, inside and even a tomb raider like ruins setting which was pretty cool. The story is kept going very well from the past. You have plenty of files you can read while you play the game and unlock the info. For people who forgot the story line from the past, they have the history of not only RE but all the characters. This game had a lot of bosses and mini bosses. I am not a big fan of bosses but it made the game very challenging. Since I am used the the RE way of movement, I didn't have too much of a problem with it until the end boss. Also, the run and gun people are talking about is a valid point. It would be very nice to have that in the game. It has loads of replay value because you can go back and play co-op or do the timed challenge levels where you see how many you can kill in a certain amount of time. All in all, this was the best RE I have seen! Expand
  19. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game..Resident Evil 5 is without a doubt one of the best games this gen! The mix between Horror and Action is spot on in this game.. The story is AMAZING! the gameplay mechanics are greatly improved over older RE games, and the replay value is really HIGH! especially the GOLD version (complete edition) which has all the extras (new modes,DLCs). All in all Resident Evil 5 is an AMAZING! game.. You MUST own it if you like action/Horror games Expand
  20. ShaneC
    Apr 18, 2009
    9
    Firstly, i have t say the graphics and the sound are simply unbelievable, and thats coming from a guy that played the game on a standard LCD TV, i can't imagine what it would be like on a HDTV. There have been many comments about the game being good, but racist, seriously, you go to America and shoot them in the games, its no different! Also many people have questioned Capcom about Firstly, i have t say the graphics and the sound are simply unbelievable, and thats coming from a guy that played the game on a standard LCD TV, i can't imagine what it would be like on a HDTV. There have been many comments about the game being good, but racist, seriously, you go to America and shoot them in the games, its no different! Also many people have questioned Capcom about taking the survival horror away from Resident Evil 5 by adding a CO-OP coption, which i personally believe makes the game what it is, because Sheva Alomar has to be the worst AI partner in history, so thats why i gave it 9/10 instead of 10/10. Now we come to the control layout, its simple, and very affective, but many people have hated it, but once you get used to it, the majority of people can then sit back, and enjoy a very exiting game. Expand
  21. RE5-is-kick-ass
    Apr 22, 2009
    10
    I don't get why people are bashing it. Okay, in the core RE4 is better, but there is just one thing... THIS HAS CO-OP!!!!! Co-Op makes this game so so so so fun.. Me and a friend have completed it 4 times now and I still want to play it again...
  22. [Anonymous]
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    Resident Evil 5 is not a racist game. There has been white people, black people, dogs, birds, etc... People always want to scream racist when they don't even know the half of it. If people would do some research on the other resident evils they would see there is all kinds of zombies with torn clothes. Movies do the same exact thing in a base setting in Africa or any other "not so Resident Evil 5 is not a racist game. There has been white people, black people, dogs, birds, etc... People always want to scream racist when they don't even know the half of it. If people would do some research on the other resident evils they would see there is all kinds of zombies with torn clothes. Movies do the same exact thing in a base setting in Africa or any other "not so wealthy" of a nation with a poor setting of Africans living in poverty, but people only want to point fingers at a video game. Expand
  23. EricL
    Oct 10, 2009
    9
    Amazing game!! This is more of a survival-action game than a survival horror game, but the campeign is fun from start to finish! It's not as lengthy as Resident Evil 4. The AI on Sheva is suprisingly good, even though antisocial gamers would be miffed because there is no option to play without her. The problem is that she always uses her pistol, so don't give that to her. Amazing game!! This is more of a survival-action game than a survival horror game, but the campeign is fun from start to finish! It's not as lengthy as Resident Evil 4. The AI on Sheva is suprisingly good, even though antisocial gamers would be miffed because there is no option to play without her. The problem is that she always uses her pistol, so don't give that to her. Speaking of equiptment, the one downside to this game is that you have to fumble with your inventory in real time, which is pretty frustrating. Fortunatly you could set some items to the d-pad, so it lightens things up a little. Mercinaries mode is fun and addicting, and the game has a Devil May Cry-ish replay value, where you try to get better ranks, and there are also a ton of extras. One more complaint is that the collector's eddition doesn't come with too many interesting things, and it's almost impossible to take the disk out of the case. The graphics, music, and voice acting are phenominal. The story really isn't too good, but expecting a good story out of this is like expecting one from a Mario or Zelda game; don't do it. The controles and sensitive aiming would take some time to get used to, but those of us who've played resident evil 4 have the option to swich to a simmilar controle scheme to that one, although you can't straife, which isn't as big of a problem as it sounds. One of the best action game ever. If you still know what "fun" feels like, check this out. Expand
  24. Chris
    Apr 3, 2009
    9
    As a fan of the Resident Evil series, I thought that this game was well done. This game is best played co-op rather than single player as AI decision making isn't flawless. If you are looking for an action packed game with a great storyline, this game is for you. I cannot wait until versus mode downloadable content is available.
  25. JohnM
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    I marked this game down to a nine due to Sheva's inability to not be a total jack*** when it comes to picking up loot. Also for an archaic inventory system without the ability to hold on to things. If you want to pick something up, you have to drop something else, if your inventory is full. Gone are the days of an endless box, to put your goodies in. Other than that, the control I marked this game down to a nine due to Sheva's inability to not be a total jack*** when it comes to picking up loot. Also for an archaic inventory system without the ability to hold on to things. If you want to pick something up, you have to drop something else, if your inventory is full. Gone are the days of an endless box, to put your goodies in. Other than that, the control system is fine, sure i would have liked to run and gun these zombie Bi****s but it doesn't bother me that you have to stop aim and shoot. The graphics are amazing, the action is intense and the story is fun, albeit, the voice acting could use some more work. Then again, its a zombie game, you wouldn't be bothered with B actors in a great zombie movie, so honestly that just adds flavor to the mix. Also, for those who are insisting racism is the focus of this game, within the first couple levels you kill a white chick...maybe its sexist as well?? The fact is, you're in Africa...what would you have them do, replace blacks with whites in a predominately black country?? Anyway, I regress, the games fun, its addictive...and as long as you enjoyed the demo, you'll love this game. Tons of collectibles, reported dlc with great content for co-op expeditions...this is a game to own. Expand
  26. LouisH
    Mar 21, 2009
    9
    "Kevin streetfighter" ever heard of a game called "Resident Evil 4"? It came out about a year and a half before Gears did, and features the same control scheme as Resi 5. So then how can this game be copying Gears you idiot? If anything Gears copied Resi 4 and then added a cover system. Anyway this game is great, although it is lacking a bit compared to 4.
  27. JustinS
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    Simply one of the best Resident Evil games ever made, and combines features of other well known current games for a great combination of gameplay, atmosphere, and visual effects. Extremely well balanced and will not disappoint in both single player and coop.
  28. JayG
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    RE5 is such an amazing game to play. The graphics are great, and the story is awesome. People see past the greatness of this title by not looking at the replayabilityof this game. Unlocking weapons, levels, and achievements are blast to go for and will keep you hooked for days. Recommended for all action/horror fans definite Buy for fans of RE4, rent if you have never played RE.
  29. GreggK
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    Havent played it yet but when I do Im sure I will enjoy it!! DeJuan B....Let me ask you a question or two......would it be racist if you shot white people for 10 hrs?? Is the game not more realistic (regarding race)considering the geographical positioning of the game's story line!!?! I find it strange that when black people are involved it becomes a racist issue however if you were Havent played it yet but when I do Im sure I will enjoy it!! DeJuan B....Let me ask you a question or two......would it be racist if you shot white people for 10 hrs?? Is the game not more realistic (regarding race)considering the geographical positioning of the game's story line!!?! I find it strange that when black people are involved it becomes a racist issue however if you were to just shoot whites only, throughout the entire game that would be fine! It would be just a game!! Now pls, for all those that love to pull the race card at any given time, just think before doing so....its just a game!!!!! Im sure the guys at capcom didnt sit there thinking on how they coud make the game as racist as possible, they just made the game as realistic as possible...... dnt u think that with the game being based in Africa,....it would have been unrealistic to shoot whites for 10 hrs; In fact..I think that might have been racist!! Expand
  30. ES
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    It doesn't get much better then this, outlandish story aside the game play is perfect Co-Op is the best Co-Op in a a me so far. Too many games make the exact same "flaw" people accuse RE5 of playing it safe. The PoP-n-Shoot has been done to death so that's just as "safe" as RE5s copy of RE4s controls. If you enjoy action games look no further, just don't expect any scares.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 91
  2. Negative: 1 out of 91
  1. While the developers' decision to copy elements from Resident Evil 4 make it feel less original (despite better visuals and a new location), you'll have a blast (especially with a buddy) but after waiting four years for a sequel, we expected better.
  2. 90
    It's hardly the dramatic revamp that RE4 was for the series, but it marks the first time that co-op play has been implemented. As a result, the overhaul makes it a good single-player game, but a great multiplayer one. Thanks to its persistent approach to weapon upgrades, it's well-suited to replay. It's a visually splendid game with gorgeous cinematics that evoke the same awe as previous games did in their time.
  3. You'll get a lot more out of it than you do from typical games with no competitive multiplayer and while played cooperatively it really sings. It's lost a lot of what has made the franchise a pins-and-needles experience, but that sense of dread has been replaced with pure action that's hard to match.