Resident Evil 6 Xbox 360


Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
Buy On
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    If you were left wanting in RE5 there's a good chance RE6 will satisfy you. There's a reason you're being fired at, there are plenty of tense moments and stress, the storytelling is superb, and "zombies" make a return.
  2. 92
    Resident Evil 6 is not a perfect game. It's not even all that scary, but it is immensely entertaining, gorgeous to look at, and it has more content than I've ever seen in a game like this. It might not revolutionize the genre like Resident Evil 4 did, but it does offer something for everyone.
  3. Oct 1, 2012
    Resident Evil 6 is truly one of the best experiences I have had with a game this year. It is just loaded with content, and playing co-op with a friend is definitely a blast.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 13, 2012
    The concept of four separate, intersecting campaigns is difficult to pull off, but Capcom succeeds pretty much perfectly. Also the game is visually stunning and despite not being "survival horror" anymore but rather "action horror", the gameplay is engaging. Still, the familiar Resident Evil problems like the horrible inventory system and awful UI are constant annoyances. [Oct 2012]
  5. Oct 1, 2012
    With a long and complex story bolstered by spectacular, adrenaline-fueled and varied gameplay, Capcom delivers a highly satisfying game. It would have been perfect with a more thrilling mood, but if you're looking for an intense and involving experience you won't be displeased.
  6. Oct 1, 2012
    Resident Evil 6 offers a huge variety of situations, full of surprises and unforgettable moments, but there's only a tiny bit of the survival horror it once was. However, no matter the relationship between you and Resident Evil, we believe you should try RE6. As imperfect as ambitious, as frenetic as fun, it's a solid proof that Japan still knows how to make games.
  7. Oct 1, 2012
    With its old identity stripped away you've left with a massive action game that tends to check all the boxes instead of creating new ones, yet measured against its contemporaries it remains near the top of its class. Big, brash, and full of memorable moments, Resident Evil 6 deserves to be played by any fan of the action genre.
  8. Oct 1, 2012
    The game's minor flaws don't hold back the decadent experience from being an unhinged, flaming rollercoaster ride.
  9. Games Master UK
    Oct 17, 2012
    Monolithic scale and ambition make this a tough but incredibly rewarding epic. [Dec 2012, p.74]
  10. 87
    Resident Evil 6 is more than the sum of its not so perfect parts: Capcom delivers the biggest and boldest episode in the long running horror franchise.
  11. Oct 1, 2012
    Resident Evil is no longer a survival horror saga, but this new iteration is an amazing entertaining action game, with plenty of content.
  12. 85
    Worth your time, although your mileage may vary.
  13. Oct 1, 2012
    A somewhat bumpy, uneven ride perhaps, but one that entertains far more than disappoints.
  14. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2012
    It's not scary, but it has tons of moments that will keep you on the edge of your seat. [11/2012, p.70]
  15. Oct 24, 2012
    Resident Evil 6 is a mix of good and bad, but the good does outweigh the bad and the game brings many welcome changes to the usual action gameplay found in past games.
  16. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Oct 11, 2012
    RE6 has something for pretty much everyone. [Issue#90, p.66]
  17. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 8, 2012
    Excellent, but uneven, and almost certain to be divisive. Come for the bloated story mode, but stay for Mercenaries. [Nov 2012, p.62]
  18. Oct 3, 2012
    Resident Evil 6 is the finished transformation (modernisation) of the previously horror series into the action game series with horror elements in it. It's a great and entertaining adventure. The game is not without flaws, but comparing them to the actual gaming content, they diminish. Not to mention that the old known heroes along with the new ones are going to tell you another piece of the series' complex story. Radical defenders of the very first series' installments will probably refuse the sixth part. However, we all know this is linked to the change of genre, not to the actual game quality.
  19. Oct 1, 2012
    Visually, this is the best Resident Evil to date, but some might agree it's a bit too far over the top.
  20. Oct 1, 2012
    Leon and Jake's campaigns, in particular, are hugely entertaining, showcasing the survival horror genre at its best. While Chris's campaign might well prove that two's company and three's a crowd, the excellent plot, cast of characters and additional content should ensure that Resident Evil 6 is revisited more times than Tall Oaks' pharmacy.
  21. Oct 1, 2012
    This is the most varied and lengthy Resident Evil around, but it's also filled with bad design choices, choices that make it only a "good action game". Not a lot considering the name on the disc.
  22. Oct 1, 2012
    Resident Evil 6 is the disfigured spawn of a generation that is best known for Call of Duty. We've got Resident Evil 4's atmosphere spliced into the body of Operation Racoon City's action. Moments of brilliance clash with sections of irritation.
  23. Oct 1, 2012
    The plot's probably one of the best written in the series to date, although even as a fan of RE, I have to admit that's not saying a hell of a lot.
  24. 80
    Resident Evil 6 is solid, challenging, and at moments outright amazing, but razzle-dazzle Hollywood production never quite masks a subtle, intangible lack of focus and pacing that pervades its formidable spread of content.
  25. An accomplished shooter on the whole, and a fittingly thunderous send-off for current gen Resident Evil. The next instalment needs to tighten the focus, deciding which ideas are worth sticking with, but this could be the definitive videogame blockbuster - huge, colourful and surprising.
  26. Oct 1, 2012
    Evolution and ambition are only natural for a franchise as old as Resident Evil, as is the need to respect a long-lasting legacy and the fans that have come to appreciate it. But in trying to serve all masters, Resident Evil 6 loses focus and fails to accurately assess which of its elements are truly worthy of being included.
  27. Oct 2, 2012
    Throughout my time with it I found a game with uneven design and strange pacing. In trying to be a jack-of-all-trades, it truly left me feeling like it was a master of none.
  28. 77
    A truly immense RE title that succeeds as a third-person action shooter, but falls flat on its face as a survival horror game. Yes, times have changed, but if Dead Space can still provide a good balance of scares and set-pieces, then why can't Resi?
  29. Oct 8, 2012
    After all is said and done, Resident Evil 6 isn't a runaway success, but most of the time, it succeeds at what it sets out to accomplish. Unfortunately, it's such a departure from the rest of the series that those expecting more of the same will find themselves frustrated and foiled-despite the "6" in its title, this is an entirely new animal, and the developers have hamstrung their own work by doing an unforgivably bad job of explaining what the game is, and how they intend it to be played.
  30. Oct 4, 2012
    Resident Evil 6 is a game full of opposites. On one hand there is an interesting story, on the other - it has lots of cringe-worthy moments. There are excellent boss fights and clever puzzles, but there are some really boring and repetitive shooting levels as well. I don't regret over 30 hours (RE6 is long!) spent playing this game, I can't recommend it to everyone. But all in all Resident Evil 6 is a good game and deserves a chance.
  31. Oct 1, 2012
    Even with all its flaws, and it has many, Resident Evil 6 is still an exhilarating action game. It's just not the return to form we were hoping for. It still has control issues, and isn't as scary or as puzzling as the series' high water marks Resident Evil 2 or 4.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1369 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    I am gonna get right to the point and not waste your time. If you are looking for an outstanding survival horror game, leave this page and goI am gonna get right to the point and not waste your time. If you are looking for an outstanding survival horror game, leave this page and go play Amnesia: The Dark Descent. If you are looking for a game that successfully blends action and horror, again get off this page and go play Dead Space 2. Now, you are probably wondering if this is at least a solid action game. After spending 33 hours with this gigantic mess of a game, I can tell you with no exaggeration that this is a poor action game. As a die-hard RE fan, I really want to be somewhat generous, so let's start with the positives. The cutscenes and story are fabulous and mesmerizing. The enemy design is easily superior to most games out there. Furthermore, the graphics and shadow effects are truly well done and slightly better than its predecessor. Annnnnd that's it. Those are the positives. Now I really want to sum up the negatives with just one sentence if you don't mind: Ahem...The camera is poorly designed, quick-time events ruin immersion and annoy the living crap out of you, level design is utterly boring and uninspired, AI is mostly pathetic, horribly mediocre setpieces, horrible pacing, very annoying scripted events that screw you over each time, and finally the controls just don't fit a game like this. Overall, it is one massively disappointing entry in the Resident Evil series, a series I have loved for such a long time. It is not a good horror game (not scary in the slightest), it is not a good action game, and it is a very very poor Resident Evil game. Is it fun sometimes? Sure. Is it memorable? Kind of but definitely not in a good way. Not recommended. Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    I cannot believe this game. They did everything we didn't want them to do! They made it more of an action game, they added more co-op and thatI cannot believe this game. They did everything we didn't want them to do! They made it more of an action game, they added more co-op and that pointless AI partner, and it isn't even scary! What the hell is wrong with you Capcom? Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    Most disappointing Resident Evil game in the series. Good graphics, enjoyable co op, bad Chris and Jake campaign, lack of horror (game made meMost disappointing Resident Evil game in the series. Good graphics, enjoyable co op, bad Chris and Jake campaign, lack of horror (game made me laugh when I saw zombies with guns and CoD gameplay mechanics). Average game - definitely worse than Resident Evil 4 and 5. Not worth 59 $ in my opinion. Wait for the price cut!!! Full Review »