Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
  1. 92
    Resident Evil 6 is not a perfect game. It's not even all that scary, but it is immensely entertaining, gorgeous to look at, and it has more content than I've ever seen in a game like this. It might not revolutionize the genre like Resident Evil 4 did, but it does offer something for everyone.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    88
    The game's minor flaws don't hold back the decadent experience from being an unhinged, flaming rollercoaster ride.
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    87
    Monolithic scale and ambition make this a tough but incredibly rewarding epic. [Dec 2012, p.74]
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    88
    With its old identity stripped away you've left with a massive action game that tends to check all the boxes instead of creating new ones, yet measured against its contemporaries it remains near the top of its class. Big, brash, and full of memorable moments, Resident Evil 6 deserves to be played by any fan of the action genre.
  5. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    With a long and complex story bolstered by spectacular, adrenaline-fueled and varied gameplay, Capcom delivers a highly satisfying game. It would have been perfect with a more thrilling mood, but if you're looking for an intense and involving experience you won't be displeased.
  6. Oct 1, 2012
    95
    If you were left wanting in RE5 there's a good chance RE6 will satisfy you. There's a reason you're being fired at, there are plenty of tense moments and stress, the storytelling is superb, and "zombies" make a return.
  7. Oct 13, 2012
    90
    The concept of four separate, intersecting campaigns is difficult to pull off, but Capcom succeeds pretty much perfectly. Also the game is visually stunning and despite not being "survival horror" anymore but rather "action horror", the gameplay is engaging. Still, the familiar Resident Evil problems like the horrible inventory system and awful UI are constant annoyances. [Oct 2012]
  8. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    Resident Evil 6 offers a huge variety of situations, full of surprises and unforgettable moments, but there's only a tiny bit of the survival horror it once was. However, no matter the relationship between you and Resident Evil, we believe you should try RE6. As imperfect as ambitious, as frenetic as fun, it's a solid proof that Japan still knows how to make games.
  9. 87
    Resident Evil 6 is more than the sum of its not so perfect parts: Capcom delivers the biggest and boldest episode in the long running horror franchise.
  10. Oct 1, 2012
    92
    Resident Evil 6 is truly one of the best experiences I have had with a game this year. It is just loaded with content, and playing co-op with a friend is definitely a blast.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    4
    I am gonna get right to the point and not waste your time. If you are looking for an outstanding survival horror game, leave this page and go play Amnesia: The Dark Descent. If you are looking for a game that successfully blends action and horror, again get off this page and go play Dead Space 2. Now, you are probably wondering if this is at least a solid action game. After spending 33 hours with this gigantic mess of a game, I can tell you with no exaggeration that this is a poor action game. As a die-hard RE fan, I really want to be somewhat generous, so let's start with the positives. The cutscenes and story are fabulous and mesmerizing. The enemy design is easily superior to most games out there. Furthermore, the graphics and shadow effects are truly well done and slightly better than its predecessor. Annnnnd that's it. Those are the positives. Now I really want to sum up the negatives with just one sentence if you don't mind: Ahem...The camera is poorly designed, quick-time events ruin immersion and annoy the living crap out of you, level design is utterly boring and uninspired, AI is mostly pathetic, horribly mediocre setpieces, horrible pacing, very annoying scripted events that screw you over each time, and finally the controls just don't fit a game like this. Overall, it is one massively disappointing entry in the Resident Evil series, a series I have loved for such a long time. It is not a good horror game (not scary in the slightest), it is not a good action game, and it is a very very poor Resident Evil game. Is it fun sometimes? Sure. Is it memorable? Kind of but definitely not in a good way. Not recommended. Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    2
    I cannot believe this game. They did everything we didn't want them to do! They made it more of an action game, they added more co-op and that pointless AI partner, and it isn't even scary! What the hell is wrong with you Capcom? Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    6
    Most disappointing Resident Evil game in the series. Good graphics, enjoyable co op, bad Chris and Jake campaign, lack of horror (game made me laugh when I saw zombies with guns and CoD gameplay mechanics). Average game - definitely worse than Resident Evil 4 and 5. Not worth 59 $ in my opinion. Wait for the price cut!!! Full Review »