Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
  1. Oct 1, 2012
    60
    When you get down to it, Resident Evil 6 isn't a horrible game, but it certainly isn't a great game, either. The action sequences and boss fights can be fun, and even challenging on rare occasion, but the whole experience blends together far too easily, feeling more like a generic action shooter than a classic Resident Evil game.
  2. Resident Evil 6 is one of those rare, almost unplayable games, with a control system that makes you want to beat your head against the wall. That's actually what you're supposed to do to the zombies, but good luck figuring out how.
  3. Oct 8, 2012
    50
    Inconsistency is the name of the game. Resident Evil 6 tries so much to be all things to all people, and it ends up just being bloated, unwieldy, and frustrating.
  4. Oct 1, 2012
    90
    Resident Evil 6 offers a huge variety of situations, full of surprises and unforgettable moments, but there's only a tiny bit of the survival horror it once was. However, no matter the relationship between you and Resident Evil, we believe you should try RE6. As imperfect as ambitious, as frenetic as fun, it's a solid proof that Japan still knows how to make games.
  5. Oct 1, 2012
    60
    Resident Evil 6 is not one but four games, and Capcom has done a beautiful and stupid thing in its attempt to recreate a rich, diverse and storied series into one single title.
  6. 87
    Resident Evil 6 is more than the sum of its not so perfect parts: Capcom delivers the biggest and boldest episode in the long running horror franchise.
  7. Oct 1, 2012
    80
    The plot's probably one of the best written in the series to date, although even as a fan of RE, I have to admit that's not saying a hell of a lot.
  8. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    RE6 has something for pretty much everyone. [Issue#90, p.66]
  9. 85
    Worth your time, although your mileage may vary.
  10. 77
    A truly immense RE title that succeeds as a third-person action shooter, but falls flat on its face as a survival horror game. Yes, times have changed, but if Dead Space can still provide a good balance of scares and set-pieces, then why can't Resi?
  11. Oct 1, 2012
    92
    Resident Evil 6 is truly one of the best experiences I have had with a game this year. It is just loaded with content, and playing co-op with a friend is definitely a blast.
User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    4
    I am gonna get right to the point and not waste your time. If you are looking for an outstanding survival horror game, leave this page and go play Amnesia: The Dark Descent. If you are looking for a game that successfully blends action and horror, again get off this page and go play Dead Space 2. Now, you are probably wondering if this is at least a solid action game. After spending 33 hours with this gigantic mess of a game, I can tell you with no exaggeration that this is a poor action game. As a die-hard RE fan, I really want to be somewhat generous, so let's start with the positives. The cutscenes and story are fabulous and mesmerizing. The enemy design is easily superior to most games out there. Furthermore, the graphics and shadow effects are truly well done and slightly better than its predecessor. Annnnnd that's it. Those are the positives. Now I really want to sum up the negatives with just one sentence if you don't mind: Ahem...The camera is poorly designed, quick-time events ruin immersion and annoy the living crap out of you, level design is utterly boring and uninspired, AI is mostly pathetic, horribly mediocre setpieces, horrible pacing, very annoying scripted events that screw you over each time, and finally the controls just don't fit a game like this. Overall, it is one massively disappointing entry in the Resident Evil series, a series I have loved for such a long time. It is not a good horror game (not scary in the slightest), it is not a good action game, and it is a very very poor Resident Evil game. Is it fun sometimes? Sure. Is it memorable? Kind of but definitely not in a good way. Not recommended. Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2012
    2
    I cannot believe this game. They did everything we didn't want them to do! They made it more of an action game, they added more co-op and that pointless AI partner, and it isn't even scary! What the hell is wrong with you Capcom? Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    6
    Most disappointing Resident Evil game in the series. Good graphics, enjoyable co op, bad Chris and Jake campaign, lack of horror (game made me laugh when I saw zombies with guns and CoD gameplay mechanics). Average game - definitely worse than Resident Evil 4 and 5. Not worth 59 $ in my opinion. Wait for the price cut!!! Full Review »