Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City Xbox 360


Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 56
  2. Negative: 24 out of 56
Buy On
  1. Mar 27, 2012
    Operation Raccoon City is not the typical Resident Evil Game. It's a fast-paced action game, with many possibilities and great multiplayer options. Its gameplay is not the ideal one for this kind of game, but it delivers good fun.
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    Another unique look at the events of the original Resident Evil combined with a fun and inventive multiplayer should help Resident Evil fans look past the sometimes clunky controls and poor ally A.I.
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    It does a nice job putting you back in the zombie infested streets of Raccoon City, and it offers up some decent co-op action for those with the patience to persevere. It may have it faults, but I still think Resident Evil fans as well as co-op shooter fans will still get some enjoyment out of Operation Raccoon City.
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    If you enjoy easy going zombie fighting with a bunch of friends, Operation Raccoon City is a solid choice. Be warned however, it has little resemblance to other Resident Evil titles and more than one bug managed to crawl its way into the final product.
  5. Mar 30, 2012
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a fun game that is simply buried under too much to be really great.
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    A pedestrian title with the power of the Resident Evil series behind it...However, with a kickass multiplayer, mixed zombie/contemporary warfare, and a high-definition view of Raccoon City's infection, the game holds its own.
  7. 70
    Some diehard Resident Evil fans may be disappointed by Raccoon City for sapping the survival-horror soul out of the series. But the game's satisfying blend of gunplay and teamwork, coupled with its cool references to past Resident Evil games, make revisiting the perilous streets of Raccoon City worth the trip. Even with its failings, Raccoon City keeps the action rolling along; just make sure you bring some buddies to help you slaughter all the undead.
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    Taking the Resident Evil Universe, the game offers something never before seen in the series: pure, intense and frantic action, always accompanied by three partners. The campaign is not that long, but its multiplayer modes are great and very enjoyable.
  9. Apr 4, 2012
    The idea of two teams of humans fighting it out in the middle of a zombie outbreak is pretty solid, and it's worth exploring further in another game. Operation Raccoon City is more frustrating than fun, though, with one class dominating the others and a lot of seriously questionable choices marring the co-op campaign. It's easy to imagine a theoretical ORC2 being a great game, both offline and on, but this isn't it.
  10. Mar 26, 2012
    If you're going into Operation Raccoon City for the campaign, you'll likely be a bit disappointed, as I was, but if you're looking for a multiplayer game that you can jump into with friends, you'll find much to enjoy. The game isn't perfect, but the developers really tried to tweak the multiplayer formula and they succeeded in creating several fun modes that are action-packed and unpredictable.
  11. Apr 21, 2012
    Slant Six had an opportunity to make their mark on the Resident Evil franchise. Unfortunately, the lasting impression they left is a disappointing one. Squad-based shooter mechanics should have translated really well to the Resident Evil formula, and could have expanded the series beyond the lone-wolf style of earlier entries. It's just too bad that the poor AI, lack of a satisfying story mode, and dated graphics got in the way. What we're left with is merely another average shooter in a market populated with games that do what ORC does way better. Resident Evil deserved better, and so did its fans.
  12. Mar 30, 2012
    The game has lots of flaws but it's hard to overlook the fact that during a dozen or so hours I had fun. This imperfect collection of ideas has that elusive element of satisfactory gameplay. I can recommend it to gamers with co-op partners that know that it's just a shooter set in a familiar universe.
  13. Mar 27, 2012
    Operation Raccoon City is not wanting for cool ideas and ambition, but cool ideas don't create a new game experience by themselves. It's a clunky, glitchy third-person shooter that just happens to have zombies in it. You can do better, so you might as well.
  14. Mar 21, 2012
    In spite of its novel class-based combat and varied multiplayer, Operation Raccoon City can't shake its one-note campaign and fundamental mechanical problems.
  15. Mar 29, 2012
    Fans of the Resident Evil franchise may enjoy this next-gen look at an earlier classic, but as a serious shooter and tactical gamer, a spooky atmosphere doesn't make up for shallow and repetitive combat mechanics and glitched controls. Not to mention most of your fun relies on the participation of two or three other people. Give it a rental or wait for the inevitable price drop.
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    Obviously, Raccoon City is not the best Resident Evil game. It's a third person shooter with poor AI, clunky gameplay and standard production values. Its campaign is quite short, but its multiplayer modes provide hours of zombie fun.
  17. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 12, 2012
    As buggy, glitchy and convention-defying as Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is, it's still a buttload of fun. [May 2012, p.68]
  18. Mar 26, 2012
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is one of the worst games I've really liked in a long time.
  19. Mar 23, 2012
    There's some fun to be had with it, but it's few and far between the dissatisfaction that crops in. Ultimately, what we ended up getting is an uninspired campaign with some entertaining multiplayer, though that's not something that I expect from a franchise as big as Resident Evil.
  20. Mar 21, 2012
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City feels like a rushed game, like a quick cash in with no soul. It's still good fun to kill zombies in co-op though, but Capcom should be more keen on not exploiting their biggest franchise with mediocre games like this.
  21. Mar 20, 2012
    ORC is defective in ways I've never seen before. To their credit, Slant 6 has invented new methods to creating a faulty game.
  22. Mar 20, 2012
    Umbrella may have filled Raccoon City with horrific creatures, but SlantSix has tainted the fabled town in its own way. It's difficult recommending a return to Raccoon when you have to endure buggy AI, clunky gameplay, and terrible glitches like disappearing floors. Yes, on more than one occasion my friends and I had to ditch whole missions because we kept falling into an empty void.
  23. Mar 28, 2012
    Right now, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City could have used a few more months to work some issues out in beta testing. I know time is money in business, but Resident Evil fans need a more put together title than what REORC offers. I love the arcade feeling to it, but the execution could have used a bit more work.
  24. Mar 20, 2012
    A limp and generic single-player is aided by a multiplayer offering with a few good ideas, but on the whole Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City doesn't feel like a game that will provide enough entertainment to justify you shelling out.
  25. Apr 22, 2012
    I may not have been the biggest fan of the previous two Resident Evil outings, but I could respect the elements they introduced to the series and understood the reasoning behind them. Not so much with this one. I recommend you pass on Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City altogether and wait for the next "real" entry in the Resident Evil franchise.
  26. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 3, 2012
    None of it feels much like Resident Evil. [Issue#84, p.85]
  27. CD-Action
    Apr 12, 2012
    The game is so devoid of any atmosphere that it just doesn't feel like Resident Evil. In addition, most elements of Operation Raccoon City are flawed in some way. [May 2012, p.75]
  28. Mar 28, 2012
    Operation Raccoon City gets fifty percent of the way there. It has some really cool ideas and core concepts that deserve acknowledgement and recognition counterbalanced by almost half-cocked development choices. I hoped that this would set a new benchmark for the series and usher in a new direction, but this isn't the title to do it.
  29. 50
    It's abysmal in singleplayer, elevating itself to merely dull and forgettable in co-op and multiplayer. Welcome to a zombie game that's as lifeless and ragged as its primary antagonists.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 140
  2. Negative: 58 out of 140
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    I'm afraid to say that the critics are on the money with this one with their reviews. If this game didn't have the Resident Evil brand slappedI'm afraid to say that the critics are on the money with this one with their reviews. If this game didn't have the Resident Evil brand slapped on the box, no one would care for it and it would've quickly become just another forgettable low grade shooter. Technically, the game is too buggy and glitchy. It recycles a lot of stuff throughout the game. You'll notice it on your first day with it. The partner/enemy AI is broken and lousy. The use of Resident Evil characters and iconic settings is totally wasted. There really is no real story in this game and you don't really care for the new characters introduced here. I feel sorry for those apologists that will try to paint this game as being anything but bad. Capcom needs to learn that they cannot continue to sell crap to consumers. But they won't get the message when there are so many sheeple around supporting their lackluster efforts at every turn. If you're a fan of shooters, this game will not satisfy you in any possible way. If you're a fan of Resident Evil, this game will potentially make you consider becoming a Silent Hill fan instead. Yes, it's THAT bad. The score I gave it it's appropriate. I thought some character models were nice. And that was it. The rest of the game, 99.9% of it, is pure unadulterated garbage. If you really want to spend a dime on this, wait until it hits the bargain bin in a few months. Or just spend your money on a much, much better Resident Evil game that is new and out for sale now - Resident Evil Revelations. Full Review »
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    Very disappointing instalment in the resident evil franchise.This game could have worked but in the end it just feels broken. Clumsy A.I ,Very disappointing instalment in the resident evil franchise.This game could have worked but in the end it just feels broken. Clumsy A.I , predictable gameplay and dull combat makes this a below average game. This could have been a fantastic game but it just falls flat . For starters: It would have been cool to shoot a enemy that's running towards you in full speed in the leg and watch them fall over and crawl to still try and attack you. The bullet hit detection is horrible... It almost feels as if your shooting a wall most of time because bodyparts hardly react when a bullet hits them and unless you get a headshot most enemies require almost a whole clip to kill which is sad because this is 2012 .. this game feels like it was made for the original xbox. This by all mean does not mean that i think this is a bad game... just a broken one. Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    I was very excited about a third person shooter set in the RE world of RE 2-3,that was until i started playing.The story mode is very shortI was very excited about a third person shooter set in the RE world of RE 2-3,that was until i started playing.The story mode is very short and with very little story.What story does present itself is just a wasted opportunity to tie in in a decent or compelling way with the main series games that the timeline and location is set.Extremely disappointing story mode that is somewhat bareable with friends.

    To make matters worse the meat and potatoes of the RE franchise that come in the form of zombies and BOWs arre mainly only used for backdrop.Zombies pose little threat and only present themselves seldomly to annoy the player while he fighs humans with guns.Which for me was the most disappointing aspect of the game,you will mainly be shooting at military people that shoot at you which would not be bad for certain sections of teh game but in the end human opposition ends up making up the majority of the action.This gives the game an overall feeling of being a generic miltary shooter rather than anything set in a Resident Evil game.

    Competetive multiplayer though is mainly what drew me to make the purchase and after a mediocre at best story mode i was hoping i could find some saving grace in that,sadly i was just as underwhelmed at that as well.First thing you will notice is the amount of glitches the mode has like being attacked by invisible zombies while you are planning a strategy against the opposing team.As cool as invisible zombies sound you can trust me that its horribly frustrating.Slant 6 the developer that Capcom hired to make this game also made Socom Confrontation and if you ever played that you will know what to expect in the form of glitches/bugs and general online connectivity issues.Even when up and running as intended the multiplayer is just plain boring.Only interesting for the first couple of hours and after that it just becomes outright boring and repetitive with very little excitement to be found.

    Story mode should last a little over 4 hours and can be somewhat fun with a group of friends even though you feel like you are playing a generic military shooter rather than a third person shooter set in the RE universe and expect at least several hours of fun in competitive multiplayer before the repetitive nature starts to bore you.

    I would recommend renting/borrowing before making a full purchase,as cool as the game sounds in theory the exocution just doesnt hold up to a 60 dollar price tag.
    Full Review »