User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 295 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    Very disappointing instalment in the resident evil franchise.This game could have worked but in the end it just feels broken. Clumsy A.I , predictable gameplay and dull combat makes this a below average game. This could have been a fantastic game but it just falls flat . For starters: It would have been cool to shoot a enemy that's running towards you in full speed in the leg and watch them fall over and crawl to still try and attack you. The bullet hit detection is horrible... It almost feels as if your shooting a wall most of time because bodyparts hardly react when a bullet hits them and unless you get a headshot most enemies require almost a whole clip to kill which is sad because this is 2012 .. this game feels like it was made for the original xbox. This by all mean does not mean that i think this is a bad game... just a broken one. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I'm afraid to say that the critics are on the money with this one with their reviews. If this game didn't have the Resident Evil brand slapped on the box, no one would care for it and it would've quickly become just another forgettable low grade shooter. Technically, the game is too buggy and glitchy. It recycles a lot of stuff throughout the game. You'll notice it on your first day with it. The partner/enemy AI is broken and lousy. The use of Resident Evil characters and iconic settings is totally wasted. There really is no real story in this game and you don't really care for the new characters introduced here. I feel sorry for those apologists that will try to paint this game as being anything but bad. Capcom needs to learn that they cannot continue to sell crap to consumers. But they won't get the message when there are so many sheeple around supporting their lackluster efforts at every turn. If you're a fan of shooters, this game will not satisfy you in any possible way. If you're a fan of Resident Evil, this game will potentially make you consider becoming a Silent Hill fan instead. Yes, it's THAT bad. The score I gave it it's appropriate. I thought some character models were nice. And that was it. The rest of the game, 99.9% of it, is pure unadulterated garbage. If you really want to spend a dime on this, wait until it hits the bargain bin in a few months. Or just spend your money on a much, much better Resident Evil game that is new and out for sale now - Resident Evil Revelations. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    I was very excited about a third person shooter set in the RE world of RE 2-3,that was until i started playing.The story mode is very short and with very little story.What story does present itself is just a wasted opportunity to tie in in a decent or compelling way with the main series games that the timeline and location is set.Extremely disappointing story mode that is somewhat bareable with friends.

    To make matters worse the meat and potatoes of the RE franchise that come in the form of zombies and BOWs arre mainly only used for backdrop.Zombies pose little threat and only present themselves seldomly to annoy the player while he fighs humans with guns.Which for me was the most disappointing aspect of the game,you will mainly be shooting at military people that shoot at you which would not be bad for certain sections of teh game but in the end human opposition ends up making up the majority of the action.This gives the game an overall feeling of being a generic miltary shooter rather than anything set in a Resident Evil game.

    Competetive multiplayer though is mainly what drew me to make the purchase and after a mediocre at best story mode i was hoping i could find some saving grace in that,sadly i was just as underwhelmed at that as well.First thing you will notice is the amount of glitches the mode has like being attacked by invisible zombies while you are planning a strategy against the opposing team.As cool as invisible zombies sound you can trust me that its horribly frustrating.Slant 6 the developer that Capcom hired to make this game also made Socom Confrontation and if you ever played that you will know what to expect in the form of glitches/bugs and general online connectivity issues.Even when up and running as intended the multiplayer is just plain boring.Only interesting for the first couple of hours and after that it just becomes outright boring and repetitive with very little excitement to be found.

    Story mode should last a little over 4 hours and can be somewhat fun with a group of friends even though you feel like you are playing a generic military shooter rather than a third person shooter set in the RE universe and expect at least several hours of fun in competitive multiplayer before the repetitive nature starts to bore you.

    I would recommend renting/borrowing before making a full purchase,as cool as the game sounds in theory the exocution just doesnt hold up to a 60 dollar price tag.
    Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    A clone of SOCOM with the ambience of Resident Evil. A short campaign and repetitive .. Capcom just think out and withdraw money from their big franchises .. and without the DLC yet to come ...
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This is not a survival horror, its a 3rd person squad based RE universe game. That being said its fun, the problems some sites are saying (IGN) or not as bad as they make them. Its a nice step in another direction and I plan to enjoy for a while.
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    People looking for a Resident Evil game play experience will not get it from this game. Its a straight up squad based shooter. Its feels like a Resident Evil game but doesn't play like one. Raccoon City is rendered very nicely and as you play you will be reminded of RE2 and RE3. Fighting zombies in the streets is great but most of the combat is against other military groups. Its not a bad game. I'm sure the ''critics' reviews will be lousy, but i am having fun. Be even better with some online co-op. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Don't believe the anti-hype. if you're the type that buys and plays all of the various RE games across multiple platforms- Revelations, Umbrella Chronicles, Outbreak, the numbered sequels, and so on, you'll fit right in here. I'm amazed at how many people are bashing the "single player" portion of this game. I can't imagine anyone buying a L4D game and complaining that the AI teammates are no fun to play with, or that the story wasn't great. ORC mostly does what it sets out to do, even if it could use a little tlc in places. Great variety, the modes are fun with other players, and it explores different aspects of the RE universe than what we've seen before. At the end of the day, its a shooter, so don't penalize it for not being something else. Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    How many more franchises will Capcom ruin, I wonder. How long will Gamers continue to support such blatant disrespect for the game industry. This company has lost touch, just like many of their competitors.

    If you must play it, do as I did and rent it. Or better yet, buy it used. At least that way Capcom does not receive a dime for the **** they keep trying to sell consumers. The game had
    a dozen pieces of DLC land on the Marketplace three full days before the title released. That tells you where their head is, and what they truly care about. Hint: It's not the customer. Expand
  9. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    What happen Crapcom?, half of the disc are just DLC waiting to be released and people buy this to activate the locked content, the game size is 7,3gb and 3,3gb are only DLCs the rest is the game and filler data, i remember the old days of Crapcom when they released full games like, RE1 to RE3 (4 and 5 are the beginning of the death of the series), and some others games, that is the reason of my score of 4 half of the disc only DLCs and of course the crap gameplay of this, a L4D with a Gears of Wars Game? LOLOLOLOL, I hope with this game Crapcom only leave RE stay on his grave Expand
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    At it's best, this is an extremely fun zombie survival game. The undead here are more fun to fight than in almost any other game I've played aside from Killing Floor. Playing as Four Eyes and making your own Crimson Heads or throwing a zombie-attracting pheromone grenade to agitate enemies is awesome. As is using a zombie as a shield. And keep in mind - these zombies are FAR from harmless (as they would be in any other game) . They come in large quantities and every blow has a chance of infecting you, making zombie encounters always tense and of course always fun.
    That's why it's a shame that the game is RARELY at its best, though. Most of the game is spent fighting just human soldiers. I can get that you're here to wipe out survivors and any traces of Umbrella, but why are there so many generic militia men? I would much rather have been killing defenseless civilians, seeing as the cover based shooting in this is pretty bad. Not to mention that all these random militia men are bullet sponges that barely take damage from the best of weapons. They're just about as tough as the soldiers from BLACK. It's ridiculous. And let's not get started on the EXTREMELY frustrating BOWs. They are just a complete pain in the ass to fight. Team AI is awful, but let's be honest here, this is a multiplayer campaign.
    The character balance is a joke, you'd best have a team of Four Eyes, Bertha, Lupa, and Vector or just not have a team at all.
    The visuals are pretty nice, there's a lot of detail in everything, the lighting effects are good (even though you suffer from DOOM 3 sydrome - no flashlights in this game folks), and most character models aside from the generic zombies look nice. The game has nice music as well, sort of reminds me of the better tracks from the movies.
    And of course, what kind of frenetic cover based shooter would be complete without multiplayer? Now this is where the game REALLY shines, there's no hordes of generic bullet sponges to fight - just your team, their team, and a ton of zombies and BOWs in between. And this is great, it skips every problem that plagues the main story mode and gets right down to crazy zombie survival amid an ongoing deathmatch. Only real problem is that melee is ridiculously overpowered, all the matches devolve into who can mash the B button first. And most of the guns are worthless against other players, the weapons are really there to kill the zombies and BOWs while you're on your way to knife another player.
    All in all I enjoy playing this game, it's a blast with friends, but so was Borderlands and Left 4 Dead and even Duke Nukem Forever. On it's own merits I give this one a 6/10. The potential was there but it's marred by problems everywhere.
    Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2012
    6
    I was slightly disappointed by the game I expected much better from Capcam and Slant Six, the game is enjoyable but the story is too short, and the character development leaves something to be desired, the game was also extremely glitchy, which is something that they will be able to fix through updates, many times when fighting BOWs if you get caught in a corner, the computer spams an attack and keeps you on the ground unable to move or attack eventually killing you. Expand
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    this game is very bad story is bad desighn is bad sound and music is very bad and etc Familiar RE sound effects are cool, naturally, but almost seem out of place in this spinoff gone wrong.spotty aiming and a terrible sticking mechanic destroy ORCâ
  13. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    honestly enjoying this game. its not supposed to be like the other resident evils. If you look at it for what it is, ie: a 3rd person action game with zombies and some great multi player/co-op ideas its great. a lot of the negative reviews are people crying its not resident evil 4-2
  14. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    If you're looking for survival horror, you came to the wrong place. If you wanted a fun squad shooter, you're in the right place. Some game play mechanics can hinder you such as the ally AI and Spec. Ops take a few more bullets then they should. Other than that i found it as a solid game.
  15. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Don't Believe what the critics say, its a good game all in all. there are a few bugs here and there, but nothing that can't be a fixed with a quick patch. the game play is steady and sometimes challenging on the higher difficulties. its a good squad shooter to play with some friends. honestly i like the game because of the bigger arsenal and the ability's you can pick up through the game.
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    OMG! What a complete waste of time! Capcom, what are you thinking? I was really looking forward to a mid-term milestone in the Resident Evil world as we all await Resident Evil 6 . . . but all I got was stunned by a disappointing clunker of a game. Dull, boring, and just moving around and trying to maneuver and shoot is an exercise in frustration. Did I say I was stunned by how bad this game is?Gamer beware! Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Having followed the Resident Evil franchise since it's inception, I for one have been less and less excited with each new release since RE4. The break into a more action styled gameplay and "hulked-out" protagonists have taken the fear factor from this once groundbreaking series and half heartedly turned it into a mash up of B-Movie tropes supported by lackluster storytelling. Operation Raccoon City on the other hand has been quite enjoyable as it does not attempt to disguise itself as a survival horror game. What you see is exactly what you get, a 3rd person shooter set in a familiar universe that provides a vehicle for exciting combat and interesting opportunities for the multi-player experience. However sub-par AI does hamper the threat factor of some opponents and overall storytelling in the game's campaign mode could have used more attention. I for one found the game to be a solid addition to my game collection and well worth the $60 price tag. Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    3
    Expected much more from this game. Story can be completed in 2-3 hours. Many problems concerning the gameplay as well. Save your money and buy the Silent Hill HD collection.
  19. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I debated between giving this game a 7 or 8 and landed on an 8 just to spite all the incredibly negative reviews of this game! First off, let me say, this game is not even close to as bad as what all these so called critics are saying... you know the critics who said massive pieces of garbage like "Dead Island" were fantastic. It is flawed, but all in all its a pretty enjoyable game. At first playing I would have said no to buying it, but I did rent it, and I've actually been keeping it late and I've enjoyed it so much that if it drops below the initial price point just a bit I would buy it.

    The Pros:
    Great Action
    - Zombie fun and gore
    - Immersive set pieces, particularly when an environment is overrun with the undead. You find yourself truly relying on your team and needing eyes in the back of your head. No space is safe in an overrun area which adds to the tension and fun.
    - Plenty of ammo
    - Great call backs and tie ins to the original series
    - Fast paced fun gameplay
    The Cons:
    - AI can be a little sketchy, not to the level you've heard by any stretch, but it leaves something to be desired at times
    - Guns need a bit more variety in terms of impact and stopping power
    - Play through length... could easily go double
    - Loss of items and guns after dying, seriously the biggest flaw.

    Again, I stress, don't be fooled by all the negative hype... While it is flawed, if you're a fan of the series at all it is pretty enjoyable. Definitely flawed, but maybe something they can address w/ updates, but not flawed enough to stop you from enjoying it at all. I sincerely hope for more DLC missions within Raccoon City or other RE locales!
    Expand
  20. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This game is great. not a reg res evil . But the studio gave great game play through the action shooting.. the game is played best with friends. The AI is not great if you play alone.
  21. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    a very bad game...single player is boring, the graphics are bad, why not mt framework???....multiplayer is not bad...but is not resident evil game..capcom is death whit resident evil
  22. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    to the critics bashing this game I take their opinion with a grain of salt i mean come on ign gave this game a 4 and yet they give MW3 a 9 which clearly the worst game released so far I mean i hate and I do mean the word HATE Mw3 so much that I don't play with friends that Iv'e known for 7 years or even family members because that game is just simply that bad. so In my opinion Res Evil ORC is a far better game than mw3 yet it got a 9 so go figure. Expand
  23. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Resident evil is a series that just needs to stay dead. The series has been dead a long time in that it conformed to what all the ADD and type-A gamers wanted: shooting, cheap action, etc. that it lost it's identity in the process. Operation raccoon city is just a disappointment in so many ways. The enemies are overly powerful in which shooting them will either miss most of the time or the monster is unaffected by bullets which is kind of strange considering I've loaded a lot of bullets onto this particular monster. The AI is just a disaster, they don't cooperate at all and have a mind of their own. The environments are some of the most bland I've seen in a game which is quite sad. Your in industrial settings throughout the entire game. Also the story is just laugh out loud bad with cheesy characters (with terrible lines) that aren't memorable. All in all this is just a disappointment for the resident evil franchise which I thought couldn't possibly get more worse. I'm sure this game will ONLY please the ADD gamers who like mindless shooting over story and creativeness. Expand
  24. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    this game is going back to its original self with the characters and the original zombies its a must buy game so zombie fans go get it. it has the experience of the 1st couple of games with the nemisis and a reunion with some of the old character
  25. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    While the graphics are the biggest let down, and it has glitches (not unlike a certain game of the year), a few things I have found are intended, like the BOWs breaking off of fighting you (because according to loading screens they supposed to pursue the biggest threat), I thinking it's decent. I understand that it isn't a traditional resident evil shooter, but my friends and I have had a blast. As for a crappy AI I haven't noticed anything as bad as the highly praised Battlefield 3 (on Mission 4), and spend plenty of time getting my trash kicked. The game does feel barely "this gen", but if you have the money and would like to play a more tactical L4D Clone with a Resident Evil theme, otherwise wait until April 10th for the Spec Ops singleplayer free addon, or bargain bin. I like the game, but not everyone will. Expand
  26. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    ORC is not Resident Evil in the waiting (I mean the survival horror, back to the roots). ORC is a shooter in the Resident Evil universe, which is not supposed to be horror, but shooting a network with friends. Those who like to play Resident Evil and Left 4 Dead should buy the game. RE universe is unique and unrepeatable, and only now have the opportunity to play the bad ones (SAA) which is a big plus.Plot is interesting and do not forget that this is not a fully-fledged part of the series, it's only the spin-off. Expand
  27. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    I completely disagree with critics and everyone else who dis like this game. I think that this game is really good. Everyone is mad because it says resident evil and this is not a resident evil game like the past ones. Being a fan of the other resident evil games, I think that is a great squad based shooter with zombies thrown in. I thought the multiplayer wouldn't be that good, like most other games, but it's actually really good. The modes are all different from each other in good ways but I wish that there was a horde type mode in this game cause it would of fitted well. Overall this is a great game Expand
  28. Mar 22, 2012
    4
    You want to know what this is? It's basically a generic, boring third-person shooter with the Resident Evil name and characters. It's like a terrible fan-fiction. The game plays fine, but it's riddled with bugs, terrible glitches and the pacing of a full grown man with an IQ of 30. If you want to play an average third-person shooter go ahead! But it's a waste of $60. I already traded it in and Gamestop only gave me $27.50. WOW. Expand
  29. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    I never really liked the resident evil story lines they seem a little too ridiculous so for someone who isnt really a big fan of resident evil i rely on gameplay resident evil 5's biggest win for me was the co-op mode a silly rip off of 24 but damn good gameplay, Resident Evil ORC was disappointing but not a complete loss the gameplay can be a bit buggy and your ai teammates can be idiots but the gameplay is smooth as far as movement the days of stop to shoot are finally gone! never the less it still feels a bit Outdated the cover system is clumsy but tolerable, enemies (spec ops) can take quite a bit of punishment (going back to older days of shooters) its updated but still not up to par with greats like Gears of war or Mass Effect gameplays...........if you can get past all that the game is actually really fun, zombies are where its at, parasites that infect your brain dont really matter then again thats just my opinion, but back to ORC the game has quite a bit of potential but if there is to be a sequel or a game of the same idea slat six games should step down and let Capcom handle it SSG had good ideas but Mediocre execution that most people wont find favorable, 5 years ago this game wouldve been one of the greats but i think the magnitude of other third person shooters like GOW and ME, and even ssg's own stupid mistakes will make this game just OK (which now a days "OK" doesnt cut it) Expand
  30. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    Operation Raccoon City is the years first major let down. I was looking forward to the resident evil universe from a different perspective but now i wish they had'nt bothered. Super short single player and broken multi-player. If i want to relive resident evil 2 id rather play the darkside chronicles on the WII. Only redeeming feature was the nemesis mode which pleased for a extra portion of playtime but in the end i gave up playing this mess. I hope Capcom do a better job with resident evil 6. Fingers crossed. Expand
  31. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    Save your money. If you're looking for a good horror game this is not it, is just a full on action game now. If Capcom want to attract COD players to a dying franchise as they have claimed, they will have to do a better job than this.

    For people like myself who have been begging for return to the horror roots that defined the RE franchise and made it such a huge success, this game
    couldn't be more off the mark... not that i'm surprised though, it has been going downhill for years. Avoid this terrible game!! Expand
  32. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    Overall this doesnt deserve the grade that Gamespot and IGN put out, My biggest issue with this game is the dull controlls, im the kind of guy that plays cod with a sens of 8/10 and the highest sens settings for this game is below average speed of other games witch bugs the hell out of me. its slooow and the accelerating mechanic of the turning is so idiotic. the hit detection is far from perfect, the gameplay is sometimes brilliant, when you do get to play against zombies however as other ppl have been saying its down to 50/50 fighting soldiers and zombies in the campaign and the parts where you end up in a dull firefight with "spec ops" is the part where you just want to break down and cry and say "why...why?" this is RESIDENT EVIL, i have NO problem with this new turn of gameplay, fast paced co-op zombie slaying style is right up my alley but why is there so much soldiers ????? i want ZOMBIES i dont want to shoot at overpowered soldiers that bugs the hell out of me especially when you play on the highest difficulty. the online game has potential but for me its very weak because not alot of europeans play this game so i end up on an american server playing with 1-2 seconds bulletlag witch is so boring. the framerate is far from good also, when **** hit the fan it can litterally almost freeze your screen. alot of ppl have been crying about the cover system witch i actually thought worked pretty well. i do alot of wall licking in mass effect 3 and gears 3 dispite the A button for cover so this was not that bad. i might add that im a huge zombie fan and a huge fan of the Resident Evil series. i did not take this as a resi game that was serious i took this game as a "run n gun" co-op middle game where i just wanted to dry my thirst for zombie slaying for a while. if you can do that and see through this overall budget game then you might actually enjoy the small good parts. you guys have to excuse my dull english im from Sweden but just wanted to express my opinun. bottom line: buy this game at a reduced price if you love slaying zombies, you wont get a good story, the sound effects is mediocre, the multiplayer is "OK" BUT the damage you deal to a zombie with the shotguns is a satisfying feeling worth buying for, you can blow them into pieces in so many different ways that you end up with a smile everytime you do it. 6/10 Expand
  33. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Fans of RE will enjoy the return of some familiar characters and the fleshing out of the RE2 storyline. There's a lot of potential here for more development. Visuals are slick, audio is intense, the action is good, story is engaging. A solid buy for anyone who is a fan of RE or who enjoys 3rd person shooters. Expand
  34. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I feel this game is what it set out to be...an awesome co-op experience, set in the iconic Raccoon City of Resident Evil...if anyone is looking for anything else...well then my dear friends you may get disappointed...and might as well wait for Resident Evil 6 this fall?
  35. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I have played all games in the console series of Resident Evil and I can say, yes Raccoon City is nothing like those games. If you go into it thinking RC will be like all the beloved RE games in the past then prepare to be disappointed. If you like killing zombies and enjoy a ME3 like muiti-player experience then RC is a good choice.
  36. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    This is a decent game. Its much different than the regular Resident Evil games, and it shouldnt be judged as one. Its a near perfect squad based shooter that many shooter and zombie fans will enjoy.
  37. Mar 21, 2012
    7
    Simply put, this game has no relation to any of the previous titles in terms of gameplay. I have found both pros and cons to many of the changes. Among the pros are the ability to run & gun, the addition of a full squad to assist you, more effective (at times too effective) melee attacks, the threat of becoming undead, unique character abilities, and some pretty fun multiplayer modes.

    Among the cons are horrible team AI, no ability to quick-turn, a slow start to the story mode, and a lack of diversity in terms of the undead character models. Though I have read many complaints about the controls and cover mode, I have not personally found these to be all that bothersome. And as far as the lack of storyline, I wasn't expecting much. Afterall, this is something oof an interim release with the main focus being the multiplayer aspect. All in all, its no Left 4 Dead, or RE 4 but its still a fun ride hardly deserving of all the negative reaction it seems to be getting. Rent it first and decide for yourself.
    Expand
  38. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    I was expect a horrid game and was quite surprised how much fun I had. I have not been a fan of RE beyond RE 3. For the 2 campaigns I played it was a fun and glitch free. I don't see why the reviewers are so bad. It is a very good game.
  39. Mar 21, 2012
    6
    Resident Evil has created fantastic memories with many gamers from around the world. Because of its success Capcom tried in the past to try switching around the formula. The results ended in a bad gameboy color game, an online specific type Resident Evil game for the PS2, and an on-rail shooter for the Wii and by letting Slant Six Games take control of this project. We have another mediocre third person shooter in the market.
    I believe the idea sounds great. Instead of seeing Raccoon City through the eyes of a select few, watch as the outbreak is happening right then and there as Umbrella operatives try to cover up their companyâ
    Expand
  40. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    Game is fun once you get use to it BUT i am kinda pissed about spending 60$ on this.... i was so pumped and couldn't even sleep today because i wanted to get it at 10am today but it turns out this is not what i expected Can not find a Campaign game at all.... i made a game on each difficulty and let it search for players for 20mins EACH and not one person was found.... also did a quick match and took 10mins to find one and there was only 1 guy on the team.... checked my firewall settings and my NAT is fine L4D and ever other game finds people just fine i guess i missed the memo but nemesis mode cost microsoft points to buy..... i thought it was included.... and that is the reason why i bought the xbox copy, did a quick google and i guess it was known that it was costing money but i never saw anything before so that was my fault for not digging deeper the AI is BAD went thru a whole lvl with out a teammate to the end and it turns out the whole team needs to be in the same area and i turned around that person is at the START of the level just standing there so i went all the way back to get them and find out there not budging so i had to restart the level because the computer glitched, they also dont really help you heal and they dont heal them self... i have to waste a damn first aid on them because they dont pick up the herbs but putting ALL this aside the game can be fun i guess if they fix the glitch's then this can be a good game but until then not worth 60$ maybe a 39.99 buy. wish i could play co-op on campaign with a full team... had this game since 10am and only ONCE have i played with 1 other guy and the computer glitched with that guy so we had to quit and after that never saw another player again... hopefully tomorrow i can find more people to play with and get my 60$ worth
    also forgot to add WHERE IS THE DAMN SPLIT SCREEN... this is suppose to be a co-op game L4D and halo even has split screen... i mean come on at least 2 player split screen and System leak for 4 players.... have to have 4 xbox's and 4 tvs and 4 active subs to xbox live to play this with friends at a LAN party guess we will just have to stick to L4D2
    Expand
  41. Mar 21, 2012
    3
    Guys... I can't be any more disappointed in this game. I'm a huge Resident Evil fan, and I was a HUGE Socom fan, so I was pumped. This is not only the worst Resident Evil game, but one of the worst games ever created. I can't believe this was even allowed to be $60. I played it for 10 minutes and I was done. It makes me sad to say this, but if they may have single handedly ruin my intrest in any Resident Evil series after today. Great looking character. Poor story. Choppy gameplay. Worst A. I. In any game ever. Sound is horrific. Expand
  42. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I personally liked this game, I have read the reviews, and the negative ones have solid reasoning. Its not like a true RE game that's true, but these guys made SOCOM right? I expected this to be more about being a team and not survival horror. I felt kinda empowered as a member of this team of USS bad asses. The only issue is when you are fighting, the guns just don't feel real tough sometimes. Against zombies, I understand if a few shots are required to bring them down, but a head shot with a sniper rifle should drop a Spec-ops soldier. I love the atmosphere though. These guys have obviously encountered BOW's before, and they act as such, not getting scared. I personally love this game and I'm adding it to my collection. Love it or hate it, I won't judge, its just my opinion. Expand
  43. Mar 22, 2012
    2
    Ok so I was duped...Duped into buying this game, why? Because I had a brief viewing of this game at E3 and as I watched someone else play the game on a big screen it did look sexy. But my time watching it at E3 was, well...too brief. I've seen you say, well its another resident evil game what did you expect? 1st off I've never played any resident evil games, just seen the movies, secondly this game was supposed to be going in an entirely different direction than the rest of the RE games - anticipation and expectations were high. Well...the **** game is a dud.

    Lets start off with a few observations after livestreaming it the other night. #1 - the AI is on an moronic level I just can't seem to get past, your companions run in front of you like a fat kid in COD always running in front of you to steal your kill, but in this game the **** occasionally shoot back at the zombie. #2 - sloppy camera controls and no controller sensitivity! Yes there is a sensitivity toggle in the options menu, and after screwing around with it I learned it did absolutely **** all - so your stuck with a low sensitivity, need to turn around quick because 80 zombies are crawling up your ass, guess what, your just gonna have to deal with them crawling in your ass. The in game music is so light I feel like I'm playing **** mario cart or some ****ed up Wii game which makes me want to rush out into a ditch to get the last shred of self respect back I once had...And the in-game sounds such as weapon sounds feels like I'm shooting BB's at the **** zombies. And zombie sounds, I just don't feel trapped in a city with a horde of undead growling, gurggling, or making those well known squishy sounds I've grown to love from the zombie genre. And the voice acting is - well its on par with your saturday morning cartoons which this game basically feels like during any cut scene #3 - As far as glitchy graphics, blood spatters appear and re-appear in the game which is all I could really tell because the camera controls are so awkward and clunky and makes the hair on the back of my ass stand up in protest! And who ever was the **** genius who said, "lets make it where all you have to do is walk up to an object or structure and the character will automatically take cover." OMG...this is probably one of the most frustrating aspects of the game for me because like in gears you have to actually click a button to stick to a surface and cover. This game your character is literally mister **** velcro, get close to a wall and you'll stick to it, get close to a locked door, stick to it, boxes, stick to it. ****!

    And omg the first boss, or should I say some bad ass dude with an eyeball growing out of his shoulder that looks like **** MO from the 3-stooges. No semblence of horror at all, this thing literally looks like a pissed off MO slamming a big stick on the ground, with an eyeball on his shoulder. And you don't even get to kill it, you have to run away from it. And you cant even run around him, or behind him, the game literally forces you to go a certain way! I mean they were going for this 3rd person squad based zombie horror survival game they could have taken some **** hints from Gears of War. I am so unimpressed, unimused and wished I had **** redboxed this craptastic game. Capcom, hey zombies sell well, horror survival sells well, it doesn't matter if the game stinks, it'll make our rent for the 2 years. With all of the competition out there for console games you'd think they would have at least put some **** time into making this game, it could have been so awesome but instead is a $60 paper weight. Ok so I'll fall on this grenade and buy the game, so I can basically tell you NOT TO! Oh well at least Aliens colonial Marines is on the horizon. But in the meantime, Resident Evil Operation Raccoon **** is NOT BRU APPROVED, and if you bought it on launch, wipe your ass with the disc and take back to tell them the **** stains on the disc killed your xbox, and tell em' brumac sent ya.
    Expand
  44. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    Simplistic combat mixed with a simplistic player levelling system leaves much to be desired. ORC has so much potential, however all glimmers of a great game are slowly worn away by many glitches and a combat system which feels hollow. Guns feel like they have no force behind them and the cover system is automated which becomes annoying as you automatically stick to walls if you get too close. Lighting is also a key concern as for most parts you can't see anything until you turn the gamma up.

    However through these faults there is some enjoyable game play. It is best played with friends as the AI is bad, but when you and four friends play through the many versus modes and the campaign time seems to fly. Being able to walk and shoot at the same time is revolutionary for the series and you'll soon wonder how you survived without it.

    All in all ORC has its problems but it definitely worth a play for any Resident Evil fan. Just keep in mind that there will be issues, however these can be possibly rectified through an update.
    Expand
  45. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I love this game. Reviewers are reets. They always go with popular opinion. If you look at all the high rated games from reviewers like IGN you'll notice they're all games that are accepted and praised by the masses. Reviewers are dumb sheep and more mindless than the Raccoon city's population.
  46. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This game is great, but it is also not for everyone, Half the appeal is the set pieces from all the resident evil games and the back side of the main stories.
  47. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    I really wanted this to be a good game. I was willing to ignore Slant Six's previous body of work (Socom Confrontation) and hope that they would get there stuff together. But lamentably I was wrong. The control scheme isn't fluid. The game isn't balanced either, sometimes you will one shot a zombie and sometimes you'll have to empty an entire clip into a zombies head. Also the cover system is frustrating. Unlike standard 3rd person shooters like Gears of War you can't leap over pieces of cover and instead you have to back up and move around. This makes pushing forward on a group of zombies of Spec Ops agents, very difficult. The redeeming factor about the game is that you get to run into various heroes and villains of the Resident Evil series. Overall I would say avoid this title especially if your a hardcore Resident Evil. Expand
  48. Mar 22, 2012
    3
    Slant Six doesnt understand why their game is getting bad ratings.. Well I will try my best to clarify that with a simple review.. The game is subpar at best.. Bad AI. Dumb Teammate A.I , Broken, predictable gameplay.. Decent storyline.. Tons of glitches and bugs.. Boring characters.. NOT worth the 60 dollars. Not even worth 30 dollars Used. NOT worth to rent at the Redbox or Gamefly.. The only reason why people bought the game was because it had Resident Evil as the title.. Capcom, you are really messing up.. If youre going to do a part 2, dont let Slant Six work on it.. Expand
  49. Mar 21, 2012
    4
    Resident Evil: ORC is an awful game.
    the story is.. nonexistent. the combat is awful and shooting mechanic is extremely frustrating and bad.
    in some parts of the game the sound is actually good like foot steps and some music, but at the most it is straight up bad - the guns sound like toys and the zombies, soldiers and the voice acting is awful.
  50. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    this game, a refreshing installment to the series does come with some bad points to it like graphic errors and some clunky gameplay (at some points). where the game is great for me is the story from the other side of things. being the umbrella task force is great fun and being able to play co-op with friends makes the campaign experience better. the multiplayer is full of fun modes and great old characters that i like to see, plus there are zombies everywhere which made it feel really different and fun from any other online. overall i love how much fun i have online with friends or by myself, i guess killing zombies is just still too fun. Expand
  51. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    For hardcore Resident Evil fans only:

    Alright, listen up guys. If youâ
  52. Apr 15, 2012
    7
    If there is something that is obvious about this game is that there is a Resident Evil, and involves much less terror.
    It is purely focused on action and thus becomes a generic Shotter.
    This alone disappoint many fans of the series, including me myself. It has a solid formula, and forgetting the fact that not even a horror game is a good game.
    There is a RE, but it is a median Shotter,
    however is not comparable to other TPS or FPS titles on the market. Expand
  53. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Having more in common with Left 4 Dead and Lost Planet 2 then any Resident Evil title in terms of gameplay, some may be put off simply because this is so dissimilar to anything else in the RE universe. With that said, if gamers approach Operation Raccoon City bearing in mind that this is an entirely new genre for RE, what they'll find is a game full of RE fan service and plenty of gory fun; at it's best when enjoyed with friends. Expand
  54. dz9
    Mar 24, 2012
    3
    I don't "hate" on this game because of my unwillingness to adapt to the new look. I honestly thought this was a welcome refreshing new look for resident evil (a non main series one however), but where do I begin? This game had so much promise, a good premise, an innovative concept, and for it to fail knowing that... is just inexcusable. The main problem with the game is the shooting and the AI for both your allies and your enemies. The crosshair often times gets mixed up with the red dot sight in the middle and you come to realize you have no idea where your shooting, it feels as if one developer wanted auto-aim but his partner wanted to implement free shooting, but instead of compromising they both just made it their own way and now were playing the confusing aiming they made. On top of that, the camera work is clunky, and the no buttons cover system is unreliable, sometimes you go for an item on the floor and you get sucked into the wall or you want to cover but theirs an unresponsive lag and you get killed before the game lets you suction to it ... and to add insult to injury, enemies are repetitive and dull, and it seems that some of your bullets are made out of styrofoam because sometimes, enemies just absorb them with absolutely no justification for it. Probably the worse thing about this is the AI, which rivals the AI that we have seen in N64 era. There is NO excuse for this, when your playing with AI bot team mates, they constantly walk into your path, which sometimes cause you to run in place and get stuck, they constantly run into traps like mad men, and they are precisely no help. Sometimes, your medic or what have you will assist you or heal you, but its very inconsistent and unreliable, and due to this, your better off just accepting that you are by yourself as alone and just forgetting you have teammates. The enemies are a little bit better however, the zombies are perfectly stupid as they should be, but the soldiers you fight seem to run out in the opening randomly and sometimes repeat the same actions repeatedly. Small problems to add to the pile is the fact that most of the environments are bland and forgettable with just a few exceptions, and the story that the series demands is completely absent. This game isn't a complete lost although, when you are fighting zombies with no USS soldiers, the game has the genuine resident evil feel mixed with action that the game promised, and the addition of the infected system adds tension in an otherwise bland game. The bleeding system is a good afterthought, and if the shooting was actually good, this would be an amazing addition. The online is a little better, the cooperation aspects of the game is pretty enjoyable but however, you never can avoid the clunky camera, the horrible shooting mechanics, and the lack of story motivation to even pick up the game. The Good: Infected system, zombie fighting is fun and lifting, nostalgia of seeing old RE characters. The Bad: Cover system, no story, awful shooting, glitchy presentation, and clunky overall camera and controls. In the End: Even as a hardcore RE fan, I couldn't even pretend to enjoy this game. There is no clever look upon the original story in any way, simply... just pass on this title completely! Expand
  55. Mar 21, 2012
    4
    I was excited about ORC until I saw gameplay. That left me disheartened, but I still had hope that it would keep some of the Resident Evil feel. Instead, what we get is a game that supposedly takes place in the same time as RE2, and plays like Gears of War. I bought a game with Resident Evil on it... that plays like GoW. It doesn't just play like GoW though, it plays like a s***ty version of it. The controls are decent at best, hit detection is questionable, AI is awful; this game is a mess. This is probably one of the worst games I've played in the last ten years that made it to retail. DNF was better than this. Yes, I said it, but that's my opinion, and I honestly had MUCH more fun with Duke Nukem Forever than I did with Op. Raccoon City. Sure this features zombies, but they take way too many bullets to kill (more than they did in the first three games). The one possible saving grace would have been the story, and that is s*** too. That isnt all though, the game has NO split screen! That means no local co op in a forced co op game.... that is unacceptable. You shouldn't need four 360's in order to do four player Co Op in house! I dunno if Capcom got the memo, but people can go over to other peoples houses, and when someone brings a game like this over, its expected that it has f***ing split screen! That may blow someones mind, but its true. Not to mention that to get a game going online could take a while; launch day I tried to go online and I could find no one to play with. Not kidding. Either there is a problem with the online, or no one bought this game, but I doubt the latter. I give this mess a four out of ten, only because the game actually runs, there and the mechanics work most (note that word "MOST") of the time. The rest is dookie. Expand
  56. Mar 21, 2012
    3
    It's **** I won't lie the friendly AI sucks, the level design is lazy, story is near non-existent, it takes a full magazine to take down 3 zombies and for whatever reason they never put in head shot detection on zombies. This is the kind of game you should buy with a couple buddies when it's $20 just for a laugh. You can have fun in it but only with a few good friends otherwise it'll be a lonely boring turd. Expand
  57. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    The best way to describe resident evil: orc, is jello. This game is semi-solid, and fairly transparent about its intensions, yes its glitchy, yes everyone had way to high of expectations,yes the ai is dumb as a box of rocks, but if you like the resident evil universe, and are willing to put up with some glitches, you just might find this game irrrisistably delicious.
  58. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    "Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City" is a spin-off of the main series of Resident Evil, and ventures into the field of 3rd person shooters, the game passes in 1998, and tells the story of USS Delta Team, who invades the underground laboratory of Raccoon City, to find the Alpha Team leader HUNK, which they should help to stop Dr. Birkin to deliver the T-virus to the U.S. military, and rescue the G-Virus - but is too late, as the virus spread through the city. Graphically the game has human characters that look too much the same, and the scenarios are relatively well detailed, although do not posses almost no interaction (shots do not destroy anything), and have bad textures on walls.The sounds and music are well done, I do not really have any major critical point in this department, other than the endless repetition of lines and voices of the dying characters that are a little cheesy. The gameplay, as said before, is based on a 3rd person shooter, with a team of 4 players, either on Live or Offline (in this case you and 3 AI) - but be advised the AI is awful: you can choose from a range, each with a skill, with strengths and weaknesses (eg demolition, medical, recon, etc.). To get an idea, the central idea of the game, is of a special assault team, with the characters and elements of the classic RE games, but none of the classic gameplay. So we have the zombies and other enemies in the game (Hunters, Lickers, Nemesis, etc..): the zombies appear in packs, and sometimes by surprise, and attack the player grabbing you (and you can try to get free), trying to bite you, thus infecting you. After a while, if you do not receive an anti-viral spray, you lose control of your player, and he becomes hostile, being attacked by other team members. The game has three basic difficulties, Normal, Veteran and Professional: the gameplay in Professional is not hard, what make it so making are the inconsistencies in the game, with its many bugs and bad AI.For example, early on, there is a explosion on a door that knocks you down: you can run before it, and be more than 30m away that you will fall anyway, the same applies to the action sequences in the game that do not necessarily have cohesion (for example when knocked to the ground by an enemy, no matter your position before, you appear in the ground it without any intermediate animation). You have a life that is represented by a circle formed by segments on the bottom right of the screen: if you get hit, it will not regenerate, and you should use items to restore it, or wait for a staff member (the medic) to do so (the AI almost never does it). This leads to another point: when your allies die, you can resurrect them, but if you die, the game ends.But the worst point of the game: is the AI. The allied AI goes front of you while you shoot, and do not help in the fight on almost anything, worse, go in the midst of the enemy, who also have bad AI, and sometimes fire in empty walls without any reason, rush to a group of enemies at a disadvantage, etc. The cover system is also bad, and too mechanical, with clumsy sliding animations. Your goals are shown above the screen in the radar, and have a indication on the screen, with their distance. The scenarios have logic limits almost all times, although some areas have "invisible" walls, and we have many items to be collected (ammo, weapons, etc.), with a few collectibles distributed in the stages. In general, while playing the the game I remembered another games: Clive Barker's Jericho (2007), with his team of four players with strange garments (such as those of your team), which was much a better game in many ways. Another thing that irritates is the shots detection: the enemies are shot close rage, and do not fall, even Headshots on enemies without head protection does not always kill at the first shot ... even "Matt Harzard" (2009) possessed better shot detection.The highlight of the game is the multiplayer online mode, which was the primary focus of this game: to play with humans, is infinitely better than with the stupid AI and bugs in the game (that exist in the online modes too, mind you) - many modes exist in the game, like Cooperative Campaign, Raccoon Mode (team versus), Heroes Mode (which uses classic characters, such as Leon S. Kennedy, Jill Valentine, etc.) and a unique mode exclusive of the Xbox 360, the Nemesis Mode (where you control him to try to eliminate the other team).Overall the game is even playable, and with a interesting them, if not for the gameplay with its various bugs / glitches, regular graphics, and the absolutely terrible AI - I recommend this game for people who have Xbox Live, because with human players the game becomes enjoyable, 10 times better that offline. Due to many defects in it, and be affiliated with a classic franchise, I would score to it 6.0 / 10.0 - Resident Evil series, to the example of Ninja Gaiden, did not deserve something like this rushed and unpolished game. Expand
  59. Mar 21, 2012
    6
    Other deception, but I think that Raccoon City is better than Gaiden 3, and yeah have a same case that with Ninja Gaiden, good graphics, story, controls and more, but the biggest problem, and the thing that do all the last titles bad, are the DLC's, because we feel that the game is incomplete. And Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is good, but incomplete.
  60. Mar 23, 2012
    0
    Wow. I love the resident evil franchise, but this was so bad it was nearly unplayable! A horrible game. Luckily I could take it back to the store for a refund.
  61. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Let me start off saying that anyone that is considering getting this game I highly suggest not to read any of the major critics review even if it is a good one. Since they give games like MW3 a near perfect score, but time to cut to the chase. This not your average RE game. But does that mean that its not good no! I personally really enjoyed this game. This is more of a squad base shooter with the RE feel to it. When playing the campaign I was playing with my friends which makes the overall experience 10x more better. Raccoon City is more of a coop game and really enjoyable with friends. The online was a surprise to me. I didnt expect it to be as good as it is. There is a deep selection of weapons which I didnt expect at all. When purchasing weapons its the same as the COD system you purchase them with XP! The modes are good but I think by far the best and most intense one is "Survivor" knowing that you will have to kill one of your friends you are playing with to get on the helicopter since there is a limited amount of seats. But for die-hard RE fans you should definitely buy the game its something new but very enjoyable at the same time. Such as someone that just wants 2 play should just rent it. But its a good game overall! Expand
  62. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    I love the game. I got it just because the reviews were so bad on a hyped game. I'm not a Resident Evil Fanboy-never really played one. I like fps like b3 and mw3. The single player is action packed. Interface out of game is slick. Combat controls intuitive. Multiplayer rocks! 8 player survivor is fantastic. Horror shooting at its best; moody and desperate. Weapon unlocks give long term-fun. Critics hate Stephen King too, but I like bubblegum horror and bubblegum horror games. Expand
  63. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    this game is getting unfair reviews, Im not quite sure what is going on here? The core game mechanics are rocksolid, guns feel good, movement and melee is smooth and polished you got zombies and a resident evil backdrop. I think we have case where people are just being ignorant. let me put it this way if Left for Dead was reviewed as a single player game it would be getting 4s and 5s you know its true, what if left for dead was reviewed just on its story, does Left for Dead even have a story ?? this game is not a single player survival horror canon story game, it is a 3rd person Coop zombie shooter and like Left for Dead it is meant to be played with human controlled squadmates and not Ai bots, and believe it or not this game is actually fun. My critisim of this game is the same critism I had for left for dead and thats about content and price I do not beleive Left for Dead had enough content to justify a 60$ maybe 40 not 60 and the same goes for this game although is feels like ORC is definutely offering more than a counterstrike mod with zombies. Expand
  64. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    Well, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City, what can I say about it? First, I'd like to say that it's received a lot of undeserved bad reviews, I mean, yes the game's buggy, and I mean really buggy, but a future update could easily fix that. I've never really been a fan of the Resident Evil games (I'm more of an FPS kinda guy) and very rarely played them, but if you like killing hordes of zombies and slaying â Expand
  65. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City bad games. I love Resident Evil series, but I don't love spin-off for Resident Evil. This game copy Left 4 Dead for multiplayer and bad story with bags and crazy gameplay. Shooter gameplay kill horror on Resident Evil. Why play and buy this game, if i have Left 4 Dead 1,2 and Resident 1-5 and I saw great spin-off Resident Evil: Revelations? Thanks, I don't have this game. Expand
  66. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil has been a staple in my gaming career for years now, and I've come to love the series, even 4 and 5. When Operation Raccoon City was announced I was overjoyed, it looked like a slick, multiplayer title. I have to admit when the reviews started to come out for it I was iffy on picking it up, but I was not dissapointed at all. I jumped right into the campaign and was glad I completely disagreed with most of the critics. The combat is fun and fast paced, enemies are numerous and challenging, and melee takedowns are satisfying as all hell. The story is immersive, and it is great to play from the viewpoint of Umbrella. I regretfully have to agree the cover system is completely broken and the AI is shamelessly stupid. But there is an easy fix to this...grab your buddies and get ready for some zombie slaughtering! But not on the same TV of course, because split screen is inexcusably absent. The versus modes in this game are ridiculously addictive, my personal favorite being survivor. The game types work well, providing gamers with endless hours of enjoyment, and you may find yourself playing to the early hours of the morning with countless zombies' blood on your hands. Expand
  67. Mar 29, 2012
    2
    This game was really necessary? It has nothing to do with Resident Evil at all. I don't know if Capcom is really getting any benefit from these crappy spin offs and bad use of a popular franchise name. Please Capcom stop giving your franchise to cheap studios and take more care about them.
  68. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    It's difficult to judge this game as it completely represents Capcom visions through different perspectives, but since they didn't dig deep into it, it makes it easier yet a bit painful to admit its far behind complete. it holds potential in many areas for instance: Gameplay is irrelevant to previous installments in the franchise, but its controls are addictive enough to keep your flame burning, Multiplayer is unique as it holds very interesting modes and competitive match-making. Cutting it short, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is worth a try, at least the blast of nostalgic familiarity around it will prove it worthy. Expand
  69. Apr 2, 2012
    0
    THIS GAME IS GOD AWEFUL. I've been a huge Resident Evil fan since day one, and I'm forced to pretend like this game never existed! Don't waste your money! Even after seeing the horrible revies I remained optimistic, but this time I really should ha listened to the reviews. Hardcore gamers stay away, I have no idea why their are even good reviews, most likely coming from gamers under 17.
  70. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Loving this game. A real blast co-op. Love the graphics and feel of most of the environments. This game is a perfect example of being victimized by IGNorants and the mainstream. You won't regret playing this especially if you have a few friends to roll with. Probably one of my favorite releases in the last year+
  71. Mar 29, 2012
    5
    Operation Racoon City, this game could have been the start of something beautiful instead its about as ugly as the one track levels and zombies that inhabit them. Firstly i am not going to completely write this game off there are some interesting ideas and gimmicks in this game but they are far out weighed by the clunky control system and lack luster story telling.

    I am a long term fan of
    the Resi series i even enjoyed Resi 5 even though by the time i was finished i wanted to strangle Chris Redfield with is own Boa-sized biceps. Firstly i would really like to point out that the AI for your team mates is down right ridiculous, never in a game have i come across such unintelligent artificial intelligence. The die often, they walk into empty rooms for no reason, set off trip mines and many more silly things in their quest to make you pull your hair out it really is not funny. As for the levels they are very, very dull the only level i liked was when you were going through a foggy graveyard near the start of the level. I thought now its gonna get interesting but sadly it went downhill after that again. Slant Six just threw a load of rooms together and filled them full of undead minions hungry for your team mates flesh. Graphically this game stands up with the rest of the market i can't put them down on this and the gore is very satisfactory. Booby trapped zombies get blown apart in a spray of body parts and blood, usually with your team standing beside the DUH!!!! The bullet impacting is pretty decent aswell zombies flinch back nicely on whatever gun you shoot from the slight impact of handguns to the beefy wallop of a shotgun the physics are pretty decent.

    The soundtrack is well god awful i would rather listen to thousands of zombies scratch through the inside of my skull. Really cheap and god awful to be honest. The voice acting is not too bad to be fair and you will not find yourself wanting to be devoured by brain munchers in an attempt to end it all.

    Four multiplayer modes make the online aspect rather vague and replay value is pretty much null an void as they grow stale rather quickly. There is also a fifth game mode exclusive to XBL called nemesis mode i havent tried it as they were cheap and decided to charge for it. Hero mode is probably my favourite it pits two teams against each other to try and kill the heroes and villiaIns from Resi 2 and 3. As i have said though once you have played these game modes you kind of want to forget about the game soon after.

    All in all ORC had some really good ideas but they are put down by a super short campaign, lack luster multi player and poor, poor AI better when played with friends but not much better. I will be giving this game a 5 for innovation alone but will be trading it in very soon. Next time slant six please use your BRRRAAAAIIIIINNNNSSSS!!!!!
    Expand
  72. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    this game is garbage! after the back to the classic formula with Revelations that merge perfectlly the horror and the action elements I tought Op. Raccoon city would be something like that but what you get is basiclly a Left 4 Dead clone yeah zombies are back but not the athmosphere. The characters are zero interesting they are just your generic bad ass squad and the story is iteresting but at the end I dont care because the story is a "¿What if Umbrella cleaned the city without leaving any trace?" and It doesnt change the series direccion. The AI is the major problem with this game, your allies are more stupid than Sheva from RE:5 and the enemies hit point are just random I was playing and I killed a hunter with a full machinegun magazine and suddenly other hunter appears, of course that it didnt attack me because the enemies AI also sucks, but anyway I got my gun out and with 3 bullets I killed it I was like WTF! I think that developers tought that if they just put zombies in the game by fan demand and then rush in to make the game, it would be succsesfull but no the game is not scary even with familiar RE creatures like likers, hunters and Nemesis himself, is a massive dissapointment. If you are looking for a good RE game get Revelations or wait until RE:6 came out. Expand
  73. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    I think people need to realise this ISN'T trying to be a Resident Evil game, Operation Raccoon City is only trying to deliver you a 3rd person tactical online shooter akin to G.R.A.W, but in the Resident Evil universe, which is does very well. If you're here for the story or scares you'll be disappointed but if you're just after a really fun online experience then grab your mates and get ready for laughs! This games online doesn't disappoint, aside from the dull campaign co-op. The campaign actually feels like it was bolted on last minute to just bulk the game out a bit. However, the real fun is found in the competitive online modes, several different game types really give RE: ORC lasting appeal, the sound and graphics are nothing to shout about, they are all well done and decent but nothing amazing like Crysis 2 etc. The controls are where it shines for a Resident Evil game, they're a lot like the controls you'd be used to if Resident Evil 4 and 5 are your kinda Resi, except they are A LOT more fluid making it easy to be competitive, for those who are wondering, this game DOES support SOUTH PAW players, a rarity these days.

    In summary, I recommend this game to anyone just wanting a fun romp online with friends with unique online gameplay twists. But honestly don't get this if you're a diehard Resi 0 to 3:Nemesis fan, this will be WAY to much of a spin-off.
    Expand
  74. Apr 2, 2012
    3
    This is not a Resident Evil game at all at first I was a little happy I could finally move and shoot but the whole tactics idea came into play and that just doesn't seem like it fits for a RE game. Squads is not a big part in the series and they went out on a limb with it. Also it feels like maybe the creators where being rushed because there is not a very large storyline other then oh no zombies kill them cover up. Graphics were nice though. I'm hoping that six is much better than this. Expand
  75. Mar 22, 2012
    5
    Ever since I saw Hunk in Resident Evil 2 i wondered about the story of him and also of where he came from so when I heard about this game I thought it was an awesome concept, not only because it showed Umbrella's side of things to an extent but it had Nemesis and Mr.X as well as taking place in Raccoon City. It seemed to hit all the spots, especially since I am such a huge Resident Evil fan....Unfortunately the idea and concept of what the game could be is almost all they got right. The idea of this game on paper is awesome but the execution was horrible. The idea of the multiplayer also had some good ideas. But this game unfortunately I am happy to say I didn't buy and only rented it. I am very glad I am only wasting 5 bucks rather than the 65. Rent this but don't even think about buying.....you would be better off with Resident Evil 4 HD.

    By the way if this were not a Resident Evil game the score would probably be a 3 or 4....
    Expand
  76. Mar 22, 2012
    5
    I was unsure of how i felt about the game but having played a few hours and having already traded the game in I can tell that this won't be a game for everyone. It isn't the worst title I have ever played but it is a game that quickly gets old and loses its hype. Don't even get me started on the game if you are playing alone, the AI is horrid, not a game breaker but when they sit there not being able to heal you, or revive you they become more of a burden than an asset, meaning this game is definitely a play with friends at all costs title. Playing alone online is just as bad, with little to no background music and little to no ambient sounds except for a few groans and growls from zombies the game is extremely bland, maps are too dark, even to the point if you are in a room that has sunlight pouring in you won't even be able to see what you are doing. If it were not for my friends playing with me banging my head against the wall would have been a better option than continuing to play the game. Don't get me wrong the game is decent but only if you have friends, and only to certain people, for me it got dull extremely fast, for others it was a blast and they continue to play, but if you are unsure definitely rent first, and play with friends to at least get a proper view of the game, if you have to play on your own however you will be popping that disc out of your console faster than you can imagine. Expand
  77. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    Based on reading all of the poor reviews, I was very skeptical about purchasing this game. As much as I wanted to be a Resident Evil fan, RE5 and even RE4 when re-released on this generation of consoles just didn't do anything for me. The stand-still-and-shoot mechanic just took me out of the game. I actually bought RE5 twice thinking maybe the first time I didn't give it enough of a chance. After playing it two times, I realized that game-play style just isn't for me. I'm a big fan of zombie shooters though, so I thought, "What the heck! I'll give Raccoon City a try and see for myself how I feel about it." I am so glad I did because the game is actually a lot of fun! When I say fun, I mean when played co-op. Playing single player is okay, but the co-op experience is where this game shines. My brother bought a copy and I bought one as well and then we had a blast playing this game! I can see how RE fans may a little disappointed because it's not completely in the tradition of the signature RE survival horror play-style, but as a fan of shooters and a lover of most things zombie, I found Raccoon City to be a good combination of both genres. The fact that you can finally move and shoot in a RE game is what hooked me in. It's not a perfect game by any means, but I feel it was well worth the money spent.

    If you've got friends or family to play this game with, ignore the negative reviews and try this game for yourself. I get the feeling you may be surprised by how much you enjoy it.
    Expand
  78. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This game was everything i hoped it to be, if you're true Resident Evil fan you'll like this game not only because it's Resident Evil, but because it is really fun, stop whining and getting on the bandwagon haters

    Haters gonna hate lovers gonna love.
  79. Mar 26, 2012
    4
    Nope, simply no. Third person shooters are good, but mixing the Resident Evil gameplay with Third Person Shooter simply... doesn't work.
    Probably the most disappointing game of the year. Really hope Resident Evil 6 has a 100% different gameplay, this simply doesn't feel right, sell the game and buy yourself something else, or save for a better game, this game is simply bad
  80. Mar 29, 2012
    7
    Long story short: if you like Resident Evil: Outbreak gameplay and Resident Evil 5 controls and graphics, then pick it up. Otherwise, get rentalzzzzz.
  81. Mar 31, 2012
    6
    This game, does some things right. Although almost every gaming critic has given this game a bad review, this isn't as bad as it could've been. Yes, this game certainly has it's flaws, but can also be suprisingly fun at times. So, this game is set in 1998 during the RE2 days and you play one of the Umbrella Security Service members, each with their own weapons and 'powers'. Really, this makes NO sense at all considering this won't change the gameplay; there won't be any time in the gameplay where you will need to 'cloak' yourself against zombies. Seriously? Oh, and the A.I. is TERRIBLE. Your teammates will not shoot anyone, and are only good for healing you once or twice. Zombies won't flinch if you shoot them, let alone run after you or anything like that. So, if anything, play with your friends (if your friends can be bothered to go buy this game)
    The graphics, are actually pretty decent. No graphic pops in, and almost no environment is overused in any of the 6 missions. That's right, 6 missions, all about 40 minutes long, with about the same premise:
    Go to some place in Raccoon City, defeat all government teams, find something useful, encounter a boss, run away, etc. As for the story, it's pretty cliched. Just like any other zombie shooter, you have to go investigate the zombie outbreak, something goes wrong, kill everyone, and everything else you'd expect.

    There's a multiplayer mode, but it lacks on what could've been the savior of this game. You have your basic Team Deathmatch mode, and a Capture The Flag style mode, which can be little bit of co-op fun at times. You also have zombies and creatures (Lickers, Hunters, etc.) running around the maps trying to kill anyone on either team. And, you have Heroes mode, is exactly like Team Deathmatch, but with characters like Leon S. Kennedy, Jill Valentine and Claire Redfield playable. Closing Comments:

    This game, certainly isn't a complete disaster, but isn't a masterpiece either, and far from it.
    The graphics are decent, co-operative play with friends is a little bit of fun and combat is playable; but some lackluster multiplayer, annoying A.I., short story and amount of bugs stop this from what could've been something truly unique to RE fans and newcomers alike.
    Expand
  82. Mar 31, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Operation Raccoon City one dissapointment after the another. I knew it wouldn't be a "Proper" Resi game, we haven't had one of those for some time, but I at least expected it to be worth it's salt and FUN. It is neither of these things. Some terrible design choices, gunplay, AI, and overall polish leave the game in a horrible position. This is where the only way you can even get a minute bit of enjoyment out of it is to go on Co-op and laugh at how bad the game is with your friends. The game starts out as it means to go on, with making you run down a corridor, or con-straining you in a very small area and having you fight Soldiers, Zombies, B.O.W's, or all three. With the wealth of material surrounding the Raccoon story, the story is poorly linked with the story of Resident Evil 2, offers no additional content and is just plain boring. Most of the time the game is purely frustrating, with little to no fun at all. It is an endless slog-fest of holding down the right trigger and sobbing at the lack of fun and ingenuity. I will offer an example, actually, I will offer many. The game will often put you in a room and put monster boxes everywhere, until you complete an objective. At one point, you are "Fighting" Ada Wong, who you see ONCE in the entire game. She is at the end of a tiny corridor. The Corridor is mined, and has explosive barrels everywhere. The cover system (Clunky as all hell and just..plain bad.) becomes your worst enemy as you try to move quickly. Her pistol does 3 times the damage any other normal pistol fire does, and she throws Incendiary grenades at you. When you finally reach her at the end of the corridor, she turns and leisurely jogs out of the room, and your team-mates announce, "She escaped". This is OP Raccoon in a nutshell. Now for the most amazing thing ever, and sealed the deal for me. You know how they touted you being able to "Kill Leon Kennedy" ? Oh yeah, it happens. You seem him for the first time in mission five out of seven. Then, at the very end of the game, you catch up to him and you get a decision. You either press the left trigger to "Execute" him, or press the right trigger to "Defend" him. The game then suddenly decides with no explanation, no cutscene or anything to suddenly transport Leon into a building. If you chose Execute (This is the only ending I've played, but I assume it's the same for Defend too, just flipped around.) you are suddenly against two of your AI team-mates and Leon Kennedy. ?????

    Yup, suddenly, and with no explanation, two of your team defect to the other side and try to stop you from killing him. Yyyyyyyyuuuuuuuuuuuuup. So you have to kill them, then kill Kennedy, where you get a crappy little cutscene and then credits roll. Not impressed.

    I also want to comment on how badly this game is balanced. The evade mechanic is so clunky, you have to press in the left stick and a direction, then press the A button to evade. Why couldn't it just be A and a direction? Too hard? This gets particularly fun when there are enemies that melee you to death rushing at you. Not. Also, every single soldier takes a ridiculous amount of bullets, and don't die instantly if you shoot them in the head. All in all, OP Raccoon City is a terrible game, avoid it. Go play Gears of War and imagine the Locust are Zombies. Much better.
    Expand
  83. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    The franchise parody known as Operation Raccoon City... What a dissapointment this game was. This is run and gun trash out its worst. There were 6 out most builds for zombies, so if there are 20 zombies on the screen the majority of them will be wearing the same thing--it was the Super Mario 2 of Resident Evil games. I couldn't have been more upset with this title. We all just need to wait for SIX to come out near the end of the year... This should have been a XBLA game for 1200 points, not a retail waste of shelf space. http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  84. Apr 3, 2012
    2
    I love Resident Evil. I'm a 27 year old man-child who dresses up as a zombie for Halloween. I loves me EVERYTHING associated with this franchise.

    This game is absolute **** It's not "it doesn't keep with the spirit of the game, it's not keeping with the cannon blah blah blah". The game is just half assed and broken. It's a horrible shooter. I reralize I'm comparing it to Mass Effect 3 and
    Crysis 2, but if mythical space aliens can only take 3-4 rounds to the head, random Umbrella guys should be following suit. Expand
  85. Apr 4, 2012
    3
    I wish i had know prior to pre-ordering that this wasn't a typical resident evil game. The game feels weak. Poor graphics and AI. Feels like darkness is used more to hide the graphical deficiencies rather than to set mood
  86. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Well it really disappoints me to see all the negative attitudes towards this game. I have been a resident evil fan since the very first release, and I happen to really enjoy this game. I believe that people need to take this game for what it is, instead of what it could have been. I think Capcom tried to deliver something new, something different for the fans.Yes there are so many things they could have done with game and they did have a lot potential on their hands, but at the end of the day I find this to be a very enjoyable game because I play it for what it is. I definitely think many people did not give this game enough time. People that are complaining about the gameplay honestly haven't spent that much time with it in order to understand the system. The system seems to really shine in versus matches. With the variety of character abilities, weapons and maps, it really can become a strategic, intense affair. Most matches can be filled with mayhem. I find myself dodging across the floor from explosions, initiating cinematic brutal attacks to opposing players with the cqc system, setting up strategic placements depending on which class I am using, there are just so many possibilities. Its just a shame that there are a lot of people who don't realize this and haven't given the game a chance to discover this. The true enjoyment with this game shows through in the multiplayer. If Capcom allows slant six to patch some the issues with this game and people were to open their eyes to see the absolute fun that can come out of this game, I'm sure people would start to have a better view towards this game. Oh and some tips about the system. You can initiate brutal attacks by pressing AX after a cqc attack. Each character has unique special moves in cqc also. For example Vector/Willow can can slit an opponents throat then immediately take on that character's persona, which can be incredibly useful in versus MP. CQC attacks can be avoided through dodging. You are not destined to be repeatedly hacked at into a corner, most people that do that do not understand the system and the different possibilities you have like I explained above. Other things include the ability to smash someone's head into a wall. This is done by using cqc to stun your opponent against the wall then pressing A/ X to initiate the attack. Opponents can also be held in a special hold by holding B after a cqc attack. You then have the option of shooting your opponent in the head or hitting them with your pistol. I believe its little things like these that lead people to see the enjoyment in this game. Expand
  87. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    Yes the storys short but this game has great replayability! When I rented it I had lots of fun with it and went out and bought it. It is a awful resident evil game but a great game.
  88. Nov 29, 2012
    0
    WHAT THE FU*K IS THAT? WORST GAME OF RESIDENT EVIL SERIES.GRAPHIC,AI...EVERYTHING SUCK ON THIS GAME,WHAT THE **** THEY THINK WHEN THEY RELASING THIS GAME? I PLAYED THIS 1 HOUR AND SOLD THIS ON EBAY.
  89. Jan 22, 2013
    2
    honestly, let me start out sayin i want my damn money back,second,it doesnt look like that story could ever exsist in the resident evil storyline, and third.....WTF??
  90. Mar 12, 2013
    2
    My God almighty...
    What the hell happened here?
    How can anyone destroy such a great premiss in such a way?
    When I heard of this I honestly thought it was a great idea. Playing a team working for the Umbrella Corporation busy getting rid of evidence in Raccoon City during the second game... AWESOME!
    And what we got was nothing short of one of the most generic, boring, and broken 3rd
    person shooters I've ever played.
    The lack of feeling of threat is astounding. This is mainly caused by an AI which couldn't outwit a used teabag. I can live with zombies not acting intelligently, but human enemies running around like headless chickens and friendlies intent on lighting themselves on fire (when not running blindly into mines) happens so often hysterical laughter of disbelief is replaced by frustrated screams of rage.
    Add to this an appallingly lazy level design, scripted events with the timing of most public transportation services and you've got a game which should be avoided at all costs.
    The only reason I can give it a two is because the flaws of this game more often than not caused me to laugh out loud.
    Expand
  91. May 30, 2012
    7
    I'll start off by saying i paid only $20 for this game and if i paid $60 my score for this game would be getting chopped down abit to around a 4. though i was wise enough to hold off and the reason is because this by its self is only half a game the rest of it is locked away or wasnt finished apperently and was added later as DLC like the spec ops missions which has you playing as the good guys ...really capcom ... you with hold half the damn game and break it up into to DLC packs and charge $9.99 for them? then there are no unlockables for this game as they are also all DLC . so prepared to have your wallet raped to get the full game . though like i said i paid $20 so for $20 more i got for the most part the rest of the game out side of the unlockables which i passed on. now for the game its self its not bad the graphics are decent but certainly not up to par with what they could have been. game play is some what like Gears of War and the game its self is kind of fun with some friends when you are fighting zombies and monsters , though i hated it any time you fought any guy with a gun and it no longer felt like resident evil just felt like a bland shooter . there are 7 missions (14 if you got the 2 DLC packs) that are around 40-60 min long so the game is about 5-6 hours long or double that if you got the DLC . as for replay value there really isnt alot , i ran through it 3 times although 2 would have been enough but another friend wanted me to run through with him . the classes don't feel like they add much of any thing to the game play since you spend 99% of your time just shooting or moving to the next place to shoot stuff any way and there special abilities do very little to make it feel very differnt from the others. The gun selection is decent but very few of the guns outside of what type of gun feels any differnt from the other. you can't upgrade your guns eather which would have been nice. overall this game just barely gets a score of a 7 and thats only like i said because of the price . its just to much of a bare bones game where capcom's real goal is to milk you to death on DLC for the real game . my advice is rent this first or buy it very cheap do not spend more then $20 on it . Expand
  92. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a widely underestimated game, because everybody believes it will tie in with the next installment in the Resident Evil series, Resident Evil 6, coming out later this year, but it only offers another view on the events that happened in Resident Evil 2 and 3, nothing more, nothing less. The game play is very different from the previous Resident Evil games, for instance, there is no inventory system, you can carry only two weapons, a handgun and a rifle, there are abilities that you can use to survive Raccoon City, like Camouflage, Stimpaks or Motion Detectors, as well as the possibility of you getting infected with the T-Virus. The addition of the Multiplayer is somewhat alright, there are interesting game modes, like Biohazard, in which you have to get a G-Virus sample to your extraction point before the opposing team, or the Heroes mode, in which you play as some of the famous characters like HUNK, Ada, Jill, Leon, and others, and try to eliminate the opposing team before they eliminate your heroes. But the most interesting mode, in my opinion is Survival, in which you have to survive until extraction, but there are only four places in the chopper, and each time you die your respawning timer gets longer, losing precious time, so in the end it is a race against your enemies, as well as your allies.
    Some of the downfalls of this game are that it's sometimes too dark, in the way that you can't see anything at all, so you can miss a grenade launcher, because it is in the shadows, and there are no flashlights. The other issue is that sometimes, when you play, you can get stuck in the floor, or an enemy will spam you with attacks until you die, which is fine, until you see that the enemy has killed you with a slash of a knife from a mile away. The story is relatively non-canon with a few cameos. I treat this game as a new take on the Resident Evil scheme, that ended up so-so. All in all, the game is under rated for the most part, the game is an interesting take on the zombie outbreak, as well as an interesting pass-time with the great multiplayer.
    All in all, if you want a Resident Evil game with zombies in it and that it happens in Raccoon City, mixed in with a new control scheme and abilities, that allow you to dominate the battlefield with up to 3 friends, this is the game for you.
    Expand
  93. Jun 11, 2012
    3
    I played only singleplayer, but the AI is terrible, bad story and sounds. Uncontrollable on PC. Short and repetitive campaign, only 3-4 hours long. No waste your money!
  94. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    To most people the name Raccoon City might be hard to place. However, for fans of the Resident Evil series, Raccoon City has long been the primary locale in which all things bad emerge, as well as being the location of the evil Umbrella Corporation. Though not every game in the series or its spinoffs have directly involved Raccoon City the connection to it and Umbrella has remained constant throughout the series. In the new game Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City, players get to take a look back to the events of the original outbreak in 1998 to see a different side of how it all began. Playing as one of the members of the elite Umbrella Security Service, the special forces team is sent into the city to retrieve an experimental virus. Naturally things do not go as planned and it soon learned that the virus that they were sent to retrieve has spread into the streets, changing the mission parameters from a search and recovery, to a search and destroy. And survive. And of course, with top priority being to cover up all evidence of Umbrella Corp.â Expand
  95. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I think everyone that hates this game, hates it because they tried to play versus and I owned them to the point of destroying their controllers. ;D GT is BirrML, bring it!

    I think the game is great, and refreshing after being stuck with so many COD clones, including COD's own clones. Meh, sorry, this game is different. Can't take it? Go back to playing your n00b friendly COD. If you use
    straegy and know how to do something other than run and shoot, you might fair decently in this game. It's all about tactics and using your powers properly. People who play dumbed down shooters, that only allow for run n gun, hate this game, of course, because gamers like me destroy them. Go back to your weak FPS and let the men handle this one ;D Expand
  96. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    The Multiplayer is where this game shines. If you have friends who you play online with, then ORC is guaranteed to give any player a good time. Bugs and graphical issues is what lets this game down, and the single player should not even be there. Overall, if you can pick this up for less than half it's price, then it is a must buy!
  97. Jul 23, 2012
    2
    Quite simply an abomination to the series. Not even going to go into it. Seriously why would anyone want to relive the garbage they just waded through. The game experience was that bad I just want to forget this piece of crap ever existed.
  98. May 2, 2012
    2
    Was Capcom under the influence when making this? The idea behind this "game" was amazing, but once you pop it in, you'll realize that this game was just filler until RE6 and that Capcom only made this game in order to expand the budget for RE6. The companion AI might aswell be non-exisistent, and the fact that I only made it through the first level and realized that is a big red flag. The shooting is made to be weak and just downright stupid, and enemy AI might as well be actual braindead zombies themselves. Just wait for RE 6 to release, nothing to see here Expand
  99. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil a name known by many to represent a Triple-AAA title. And so it comes as no suprise when everyone and their little brother see RE:ORC as a A title at best. Sure the story line and the AI are crappy but COD:MW3 is a copy and paste and it recieves Triple-AAA status. Dont get me wrong I play MW3 just as much as everyone else. But there are alot of people to play with. It blows my mind that before the release of RE:ORC I could jump right into a game with no worries what so ever but a couple people review it and the servers dry up. Enough of my RANT and get to my review.


    Story: Mediocre at best you play as 1 of 6 umbrella special operatives and their is no reason to try to follow your characters story cause there isn't one. The story as a whole though is still uneventfull I really found myself wanting to skip cutscenes and that is totally unlike me im the guy who gets pissed and has to restart the game if I accedently push start during the opening of any game. But anyways you really wont miss the story because the gameplay is where it shines.

    Gameplay: Gameplay is king here through the campaign and multiplayer! RE:ORC uses an exp based system to level your character up. and to purchase upgrades.You choose a character to play with and that character has different roles from medic to soldier. Each character has their own set of perks that are upgradeable and you can buy different guns with your exp. Controls are overall tight and responsive but you do find yourself from time to time struggling to kill said' licker with said' grenade launcher. But you could always use hand to hand combat wich seems to do more damage than a pistol "a patch could easily fix". Nothing is better than playing coop with your friends and this pulls it all together nicely. Multiplayer is set in several different modes in Biohazard and Team Attack its basiclly capture the flag and team deathmatch. Survivors mode is the countdown to a helicopter escape the player with the most points at the end of the match wins.And Heroes is a mode of hero's vs villians you can play as past and present heros or villians in team death match.

    Graphics: The game is on par with most games today but does not set any standards like past RE games.

    Final Thoughts:With all the bad and all the good can we just give this game alittle bit of a chance.
    Expand
  100. Apr 30, 2012
    4
    This game is horrible. It's not fun and the animations and graphics suck. It is nothing like a Resident evil game at all instead they tried to make it some sort of cover based shooter. They failed. If your a RE fan your going to be much more than dissapointed and even if your a newcomer good luck having fun.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 56
  2. Negative: 24 out of 56
  1. May 4, 2012
    40
    The characters, the story, the controls, the difficulty, and even the central premise... all of it seems to be on the right track, but none of it hits the mark. I still think there's a lot of potential here, but like any other game, the basics have to be nailed before it can start reaching for greatness.
  2. 50
    None of it feels much like Resident Evil. [Issue#84, p.85]
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    30
    An insult to Resident Evil fans, a failure at the most basic level for shooter fans, and a possible friendship-ender for those looking for a cooperative experience, Raccoon City is a disaster zone better left abandoned.