Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City Xbox 360

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 313

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    Simplistic combat mixed with a simplistic player levelling system leaves much to be desired. ORC has so much potential, however all glimmers of a great game are slowly worn away by many glitches and a combat system which feels hollow. Guns feel like they have no force behind them and the cover system is automated which becomes annoying as you automatically stick to walls if you get tooSimplistic combat mixed with a simplistic player levelling system leaves much to be desired. ORC has so much potential, however all glimmers of a great game are slowly worn away by many glitches and a combat system which feels hollow. Guns feel like they have no force behind them and the cover system is automated which becomes annoying as you automatically stick to walls if you get too close. Lighting is also a key concern as for most parts you can't see anything until you turn the gamma up.

    However through these faults there is some enjoyable game play. It is best played with friends as the AI is bad, but when you and four friends play through the many versus modes and the campaign time seems to fly. Being able to walk and shoot at the same time is revolutionary for the series and you'll soon wonder how you survived without it.

    All in all ORC has its problems but it definitely worth a play for any Resident Evil fan. Just keep in mind that there will be issues, however these can be possibly rectified through an update.
    Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2012
    5
    Operation Racoon City, this game could have been the start of something beautiful instead its about as ugly as the one track levels and zombies that inhabit them. Firstly i am not going to completely write this game off there are some interesting ideas and gimmicks in this game but they are far out weighed by the clunky control system and lack luster story telling.

    I am a long term fan of
    Operation Racoon City, this game could have been the start of something beautiful instead its about as ugly as the one track levels and zombies that inhabit them. Firstly i am not going to completely write this game off there are some interesting ideas and gimmicks in this game but they are far out weighed by the clunky control system and lack luster story telling.

    I am a long term fan of the Resi series i even enjoyed Resi 5 even though by the time i was finished i wanted to strangle Chris Redfield with is own Boa-sized biceps. Firstly i would really like to point out that the AI for your team mates is down right ridiculous, never in a game have i come across such unintelligent artificial intelligence. The die often, they walk into empty rooms for no reason, set off trip mines and many more silly things in their quest to make you pull your hair out it really is not funny. As for the levels they are very, very dull the only level i liked was when you were going through a foggy graveyard near the start of the level. I thought now its gonna get interesting but sadly it went downhill after that again. Slant Six just threw a load of rooms together and filled them full of undead minions hungry for your team mates flesh. Graphically this game stands up with the rest of the market i can't put them down on this and the gore is very satisfactory. Booby trapped zombies get blown apart in a spray of body parts and blood, usually with your team standing beside the DUH!!!! The bullet impacting is pretty decent aswell zombies flinch back nicely on whatever gun you shoot from the slight impact of handguns to the beefy wallop of a shotgun the physics are pretty decent.

    The soundtrack is well god awful i would rather listen to thousands of zombies scratch through the inside of my skull. Really cheap and god awful to be honest. The voice acting is not too bad to be fair and you will not find yourself wanting to be devoured by brain munchers in an attempt to end it all.

    Four multiplayer modes make the online aspect rather vague and replay value is pretty much null an void as they grow stale rather quickly. There is also a fifth game mode exclusive to XBL called nemesis mode i havent tried it as they were cheap and decided to charge for it. Hero mode is probably my favourite it pits two teams against each other to try and kill the heroes and villiaIns from Resi 2 and 3. As i have said though once you have played these game modes you kind of want to forget about the game soon after.

    All in all ORC had some really good ideas but they are put down by a super short campaign, lack luster multi player and poor, poor AI better when played with friends but not much better. I will be giving this game a 5 for innovation alone but will be trading it in very soon. Next time slant six please use your BRRRAAAAIIIIINNNNSSSS!!!!!
    Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    6
    This game, does some things right. Although almost every gaming critic has given this game a bad review, this isn't as bad as it could've been. Yes, this game certainly has it's flaws, but can also be suprisingly fun at times. So, this game is set in 1998 during the RE2 days and you play one of the Umbrella Security Service members, each with their own weapons and 'powers'. Really, thisThis game, does some things right. Although almost every gaming critic has given this game a bad review, this isn't as bad as it could've been. Yes, this game certainly has it's flaws, but can also be suprisingly fun at times. So, this game is set in 1998 during the RE2 days and you play one of the Umbrella Security Service members, each with their own weapons and 'powers'. Really, this makes NO sense at all considering this won't change the gameplay; there won't be any time in the gameplay where you will need to 'cloak' yourself against zombies. Seriously? Oh, and the A.I. is TERRIBLE. Your teammates will not shoot anyone, and are only good for healing you once or twice. Zombies won't flinch if you shoot them, let alone run after you or anything like that. So, if anything, play with your friends (if your friends can be bothered to go buy this game)
    The graphics, are actually pretty decent. No graphic pops in, and almost no environment is overused in any of the 6 missions. That's right, 6 missions, all about 40 minutes long, with about the same premise:
    Go to some place in Raccoon City, defeat all government teams, find something useful, encounter a boss, run away, etc. As for the story, it's pretty cliched. Just like any other zombie shooter, you have to go investigate the zombie outbreak, something goes wrong, kill everyone, and everything else you'd expect.

    There's a multiplayer mode, but it lacks on what could've been the savior of this game. You have your basic Team Deathmatch mode, and a Capture The Flag style mode, which can be little bit of co-op fun at times. You also have zombies and creatures (Lickers, Hunters, etc.) running around the maps trying to kill anyone on either team. And, you have Heroes mode, is exactly like Team Deathmatch, but with characters like Leon S. Kennedy, Jill Valentine and Claire Redfield playable. Closing Comments:

    This game, certainly isn't a complete disaster, but isn't a masterpiece either, and far from it.
    The graphics are decent, co-operative play with friends is a little bit of fun and combat is playable; but some lackluster multiplayer, annoying A.I., short story and amount of bugs stop this from what could've been something truly unique to RE fans and newcomers alike.
    Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    6
    I was slightly disappointed by the game I expected much better from Capcam and Slant Six, the game is enjoyable but the story is too short, and the character development leaves something to be desired, the game was also extremely glitchy, which is something that they will be able to fix through updates, many times when fighting BOWs if you get caught in a corner, the computer spams anI was slightly disappointed by the game I expected much better from Capcam and Slant Six, the game is enjoyable but the story is too short, and the character development leaves something to be desired, the game was also extremely glitchy, which is something that they will be able to fix through updates, many times when fighting BOWs if you get caught in a corner, the computer spams an attack and keeps you on the ground unable to move or attack eventually killing you. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2012
    6
    Overall this doesnt deserve the grade that Gamespot and IGN put out, My biggest issue with this game is the dull controlls, im the kind of guy that plays cod with a sens of 8/10 and the highest sens settings for this game is below average speed of other games witch bugs the hell out of me. its slooow and the accelerating mechanic of the turning is so idiotic. the hit detection is far fromOverall this doesnt deserve the grade that Gamespot and IGN put out, My biggest issue with this game is the dull controlls, im the kind of guy that plays cod with a sens of 8/10 and the highest sens settings for this game is below average speed of other games witch bugs the hell out of me. its slooow and the accelerating mechanic of the turning is so idiotic. the hit detection is far from perfect, the gameplay is sometimes brilliant, when you do get to play against zombies however as other ppl have been saying its down to 50/50 fighting soldiers and zombies in the campaign and the parts where you end up in a dull firefight with "spec ops" is the part where you just want to break down and cry and say "why...why?" this is RESIDENT EVIL, i have NO problem with this new turn of gameplay, fast paced co-op zombie slaying style is right up my alley but why is there so much soldiers ????? i want ZOMBIES i dont want to shoot at overpowered soldiers that bugs the hell out of me especially when you play on the highest difficulty. the online game has potential but for me its very weak because not alot of europeans play this game so i end up on an american server playing with 1-2 seconds bulletlag witch is so boring. the framerate is far from good also, when **** hit the fan it can litterally almost freeze your screen. alot of ppl have been crying about the cover system witch i actually thought worked pretty well. i do alot of wall licking in mass effect 3 and gears 3 dispite the A button for cover so this was not that bad. i might add that im a huge zombie fan and a huge fan of the Resident Evil series. i did not take this as a resi game that was serious i took this game as a "run n gun" co-op middle game where i just wanted to dry my thirst for zombie slaying for a while. if you can do that and see through this overall budget game then you might actually enjoy the small good parts. you guys have to excuse my dull english im from Sweden but just wanted to express my opinun. bottom line: buy this game at a reduced price if you love slaying zombies, you wont get a good story, the sound effects is mediocre, the multiplayer is "OK" BUT the damage you deal to a zombie with the shotguns is a satisfying feeling worth buying for, you can blow them into pieces in so many different ways that you end up with a smile everytime you do it. 6/10 Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    6
    Resident Evil has created fantastic memories with many gamers from around the world. Because of its success Capcom tried in the past to try switching around the formula. The results ended in a bad gameboy color game, an online specific type Resident Evil game for the PS2, and an on-rail shooter for the Wii and by letting Slant Six Games take control of this project. We have anotherResident Evil has created fantastic memories with many gamers from around the world. Because of its success Capcom tried in the past to try switching around the formula. The results ended in a bad gameboy color game, an online specific type Resident Evil game for the PS2, and an on-rail shooter for the Wii and by letting Slant Six Games take control of this project. We have another mediocre third person shooter in the market.
    I believe the idea sounds great. Instead of seeing Raccoon City through the eyes of a select few, watch as the outbreak is happening right then and there as Umbrella operatives try to cover up their companyâ
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    5
    I really wanted this to be a good game. I was willing to ignore Slant Six's previous body of work (Socom Confrontation) and hope that they would get there stuff together. But lamentably I was wrong. The control scheme isn't fluid. The game isn't balanced either, sometimes you will one shot a zombie and sometimes you'll have to empty an entire clip into a zombies head. Also the cover systemI really wanted this to be a good game. I was willing to ignore Slant Six's previous body of work (Socom Confrontation) and hope that they would get there stuff together. But lamentably I was wrong. The control scheme isn't fluid. The game isn't balanced either, sometimes you will one shot a zombie and sometimes you'll have to empty an entire clip into a zombies head. Also the cover system is frustrating. Unlike standard 3rd person shooters like Gears of War you can't leap over pieces of cover and instead you have to back up and move around. This makes pushing forward on a group of zombies of Spec Ops agents, very difficult. The redeeming factor about the game is that you get to run into various heroes and villains of the Resident Evil series. Overall I would say avoid this title especially if your a hardcore Resident Evil. Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    I was very excited about a third person shooter set in the RE world of RE 2-3,that was until i started playing.The story mode is very short and with very little story.What story does present itself is just a wasted opportunity to tie in in a decent or compelling way with the main series games that the timeline and location is set.Extremely disappointing story mode that is somewhat bareableI was very excited about a third person shooter set in the RE world of RE 2-3,that was until i started playing.The story mode is very short and with very little story.What story does present itself is just a wasted opportunity to tie in in a decent or compelling way with the main series games that the timeline and location is set.Extremely disappointing story mode that is somewhat bareable with friends.

    To make matters worse the meat and potatoes of the RE franchise that come in the form of zombies and BOWs arre mainly only used for backdrop.Zombies pose little threat and only present themselves seldomly to annoy the player while he fighs humans with guns.Which for me was the most disappointing aspect of the game,you will mainly be shooting at military people that shoot at you which would not be bad for certain sections of teh game but in the end human opposition ends up making up the majority of the action.This gives the game an overall feeling of being a generic miltary shooter rather than anything set in a Resident Evil game.

    Competetive multiplayer though is mainly what drew me to make the purchase and after a mediocre at best story mode i was hoping i could find some saving grace in that,sadly i was just as underwhelmed at that as well.First thing you will notice is the amount of glitches the mode has like being attacked by invisible zombies while you are planning a strategy against the opposing team.As cool as invisible zombies sound you can trust me that its horribly frustrating.Slant 6 the developer that Capcom hired to make this game also made Socom Confrontation and if you ever played that you will know what to expect in the form of glitches/bugs and general online connectivity issues.Even when up and running as intended the multiplayer is just plain boring.Only interesting for the first couple of hours and after that it just becomes outright boring and repetitive with very little excitement to be found.

    Story mode should last a little over 4 hours and can be somewhat fun with a group of friends even though you feel like you are playing a generic military shooter rather than a third person shooter set in the RE universe and expect at least several hours of fun in competitive multiplayer before the repetitive nature starts to bore you.

    I would recommend renting/borrowing before making a full purchase,as cool as the game sounds in theory the exocution just doesnt hold up to a 60 dollar price tag.
    Expand
  9. Mar 25, 2012
    6
    "Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City" is a spin-off of the main series of Resident Evil, and ventures into the field of 3rd person shooters, the game passes in 1998, and tells the story of USS Delta Team, who invades the underground laboratory of Raccoon City, to find the Alpha Team leader HUNK, which they should help to stop Dr. Birkin to deliver the T-virus to the U.S. military, and"Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City" is a spin-off of the main series of Resident Evil, and ventures into the field of 3rd person shooters, the game passes in 1998, and tells the story of USS Delta Team, who invades the underground laboratory of Raccoon City, to find the Alpha Team leader HUNK, which they should help to stop Dr. Birkin to deliver the T-virus to the U.S. military, and rescue the G-Virus - but is too late, as the virus spread through the city. Graphically the game has human characters that look too much the same, and the scenarios are relatively well detailed, although do not posses almost no interaction (shots do not destroy anything), and have bad textures on walls.The sounds and music are well done, I do not really have any major critical point in this department, other than the endless repetition of lines and voices of the dying characters that are a little cheesy. The gameplay, as said before, is based on a 3rd person shooter, with a team of 4 players, either on Live or Offline (in this case you and 3 AI) - but be advised the AI is awful: you can choose from a range, each with a skill, with strengths and weaknesses (eg demolition, medical, recon, etc.). To get an idea, the central idea of the game, is of a special assault team, with the characters and elements of the classic RE games, but none of the classic gameplay. So we have the zombies and other enemies in the game (Hunters, Lickers, Nemesis, etc..): the zombies appear in packs, and sometimes by surprise, and attack the player grabbing you (and you can try to get free), trying to bite you, thus infecting you. After a while, if you do not receive an anti-viral spray, you lose control of your player, and he becomes hostile, being attacked by other team members. The game has three basic difficulties, Normal, Veteran and Professional: the gameplay in Professional is not hard, what make it so making are the inconsistencies in the game, with its many bugs and bad AI.For example, early on, there is a explosion on a door that knocks you down: you can run before it, and be more than 30m away that you will fall anyway, the same applies to the action sequences in the game that do not necessarily have cohesion (for example when knocked to the ground by an enemy, no matter your position before, you appear in the ground it without any intermediate animation). You have a life that is represented by a circle formed by segments on the bottom right of the screen: if you get hit, it will not regenerate, and you should use items to restore it, or wait for a staff member (the medic) to do so (the AI almost never does it). This leads to another point: when your allies die, you can resurrect them, but if you die, the game ends.But the worst point of the game: is the AI. The allied AI goes front of you while you shoot, and do not help in the fight on almost anything, worse, go in the midst of the enemy, who also have bad AI, and sometimes fire in empty walls without any reason, rush to a group of enemies at a disadvantage, etc. The cover system is also bad, and too mechanical, with clumsy sliding animations. Your goals are shown above the screen in the radar, and have a indication on the screen, with their distance. The scenarios have logic limits almost all times, although some areas have "invisible" walls, and we have many items to be collected (ammo, weapons, etc.), with a few collectibles distributed in the stages. In general, while playing the the game I remembered another games: Clive Barker's Jericho (2007), with his team of four players with strange garments (such as those of your team), which was much a better game in many ways. Another thing that irritates is the shots detection: the enemies are shot close rage, and do not fall, even Headshots on enemies without head protection does not always kill at the first shot ... even "Matt Harzard" (2009) possessed better shot detection.The highlight of the game is the multiplayer online mode, which was the primary focus of this game: to play with humans, is infinitely better than with the stupid AI and bugs in the game (that exist in the online modes too, mind you) - many modes exist in the game, like Cooperative Campaign, Raccoon Mode (team versus), Heroes Mode (which uses classic characters, such as Leon S. Kennedy, Jill Valentine, etc.) and a unique mode exclusive of the Xbox 360, the Nemesis Mode (where you control him to try to eliminate the other team).Overall the game is even playable, and with a interesting them, if not for the gameplay with its various bugs / glitches, regular graphics, and the absolutely terrible AI - I recommend this game for people who have Xbox Live, because with human players the game becomes enjoyable, 10 times better that offline. Due to many defects in it, and be affiliated with a classic franchise, I would score to it 6.0 / 10.0 - Resident Evil series, to the example of Ninja Gaiden, did not deserve something like this rushed and unpolished game. Expand
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    At it's best, this is an extremely fun zombie survival game. The undead here are more fun to fight than in almost any other game I've played aside from Killing Floor. Playing as Four Eyes and making your own Crimson Heads or throwing a zombie-attracting pheromone grenade to agitate enemies is awesome. As is using a zombie as a shield. And keep in mind - these zombies are FAR from harmlessAt it's best, this is an extremely fun zombie survival game. The undead here are more fun to fight than in almost any other game I've played aside from Killing Floor. Playing as Four Eyes and making your own Crimson Heads or throwing a zombie-attracting pheromone grenade to agitate enemies is awesome. As is using a zombie as a shield. And keep in mind - these zombies are FAR from harmless (as they would be in any other game) . They come in large quantities and every blow has a chance of infecting you, making zombie encounters always tense and of course always fun.
    That's why it's a shame that the game is RARELY at its best, though. Most of the game is spent fighting just human soldiers. I can get that you're here to wipe out survivors and any traces of Umbrella, but why are there so many generic militia men? I would much rather have been killing defenseless civilians, seeing as the cover based shooting in this is pretty bad. Not to mention that all these random militia men are bullet sponges that barely take damage from the best of weapons. They're just about as tough as the soldiers from BLACK. It's ridiculous. And let's not get started on the EXTREMELY frustrating BOWs. They are just a complete pain in the ass to fight. Team AI is awful, but let's be honest here, this is a multiplayer campaign.
    The character balance is a joke, you'd best have a team of Four Eyes, Bertha, Lupa, and Vector or just not have a team at all.
    The visuals are pretty nice, there's a lot of detail in everything, the lighting effects are good (even though you suffer from DOOM 3 sydrome - no flashlights in this game folks), and most character models aside from the generic zombies look nice. The game has nice music as well, sort of reminds me of the better tracks from the movies.
    And of course, what kind of frenetic cover based shooter would be complete without multiplayer? Now this is where the game REALLY shines, there's no hordes of generic bullet sponges to fight - just your team, their team, and a ton of zombies and BOWs in between. And this is great, it skips every problem that plagues the main story mode and gets right down to crazy zombie survival amid an ongoing deathmatch. Only real problem is that melee is ridiculously overpowered, all the matches devolve into who can mash the B button first. And most of the guns are worthless against other players, the weapons are really there to kill the zombies and BOWs while you're on your way to knife another player.
    All in all I enjoy playing this game, it's a blast with friends, but so was Borderlands and Left 4 Dead and even Duke Nukem Forever. On it's own merits I give this one a 6/10. The potential was there but it's marred by problems everywhere.
    Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2012
    7
    Simply put, this game has no relation to any of the previous titles in terms of gameplay. I have found both pros and cons to many of the changes. Among the pros are the ability to run & gun, the addition of a full squad to assist you, more effective (at times too effective) melee attacks, the threat of becoming undead, unique character abilities, and some pretty fun multiplayer modes.Simply put, this game has no relation to any of the previous titles in terms of gameplay. I have found both pros and cons to many of the changes. Among the pros are the ability to run & gun, the addition of a full squad to assist you, more effective (at times too effective) melee attacks, the threat of becoming undead, unique character abilities, and some pretty fun multiplayer modes.

    Among the cons are horrible team AI, no ability to quick-turn, a slow start to the story mode, and a lack of diversity in terms of the undead character models. Though I have read many complaints about the controls and cover mode, I have not personally found these to be all that bothersome. And as far as the lack of storyline, I wasn't expecting much. Afterall, this is something oof an interim release with the main focus being the multiplayer aspect. All in all, its no Left 4 Dead, or RE 4 but its still a fun ride hardly deserving of all the negative reaction it seems to be getting. Rent it first and decide for yourself.
    Expand
  12. Apr 15, 2012
    7
    If there is something that is obvious about this game is that there is a Resident Evil, and involves much less terror.
    It is purely focused on action and thus becomes a generic Shotter.
    This alone disappoint many fans of the series, including me myself. It has a solid formula, and forgetting the fact that not even a horror game is a good game. There is a RE, but it is a median Shotter,
    If there is something that is obvious about this game is that there is a Resident Evil, and involves much less terror.
    It is purely focused on action and thus becomes a generic Shotter.
    This alone disappoint many fans of the series, including me myself. It has a solid formula, and forgetting the fact that not even a horror game is a good game.
    There is a RE, but it is a median Shotter, however is not comparable to other TPS or FPS titles on the market.
    Expand
  13. Mar 22, 2012
    5
    Ever since I saw Hunk in Resident Evil 2 i wondered about the story of him and also of where he came from so when I heard about this game I thought it was an awesome concept, not only because it showed Umbrella's side of things to an extent but it had Nemesis and Mr.X as well as taking place in Raccoon City. It seemed to hit all the spots, especially since I am such a huge Resident EvilEver since I saw Hunk in Resident Evil 2 i wondered about the story of him and also of where he came from so when I heard about this game I thought it was an awesome concept, not only because it showed Umbrella's side of things to an extent but it had Nemesis and Mr.X as well as taking place in Raccoon City. It seemed to hit all the spots, especially since I am such a huge Resident Evil fan....Unfortunately the idea and concept of what the game could be is almost all they got right. The idea of this game on paper is awesome but the execution was horrible. The idea of the multiplayer also had some good ideas. But this game unfortunately I am happy to say I didn't buy and only rented it. I am very glad I am only wasting 5 bucks rather than the 65. Rent this but don't even think about buying.....you would be better off with Resident Evil 4 HD.

    By the way if this were not a Resident Evil game the score would probably be a 3 or 4....
    Expand
  14. Mar 22, 2012
    5
    I was unsure of how i felt about the game but having played a few hours and having already traded the game in I can tell that this won't be a game for everyone. It isn't the worst title I have ever played but it is a game that quickly gets old and loses its hype. Don't even get me started on the game if you are playing alone, the AI is horrid, not a game breaker but when they sit there notI was unsure of how i felt about the game but having played a few hours and having already traded the game in I can tell that this won't be a game for everyone. It isn't the worst title I have ever played but it is a game that quickly gets old and loses its hype. Don't even get me started on the game if you are playing alone, the AI is horrid, not a game breaker but when they sit there not being able to heal you, or revive you they become more of a burden than an asset, meaning this game is definitely a play with friends at all costs title. Playing alone online is just as bad, with little to no background music and little to no ambient sounds except for a few groans and growls from zombies the game is extremely bland, maps are too dark, even to the point if you are in a room that has sunlight pouring in you won't even be able to see what you are doing. If it were not for my friends playing with me banging my head against the wall would have been a better option than continuing to play the game. Don't get me wrong the game is decent but only if you have friends, and only to certain people, for me it got dull extremely fast, for others it was a blast and they continue to play, but if you are unsure definitely rent first, and play with friends to at least get a proper view of the game, if you have to play on your own however you will be popping that disc out of your console faster than you can imagine. Expand
  15. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    While the graphics are the biggest let down, and it has glitches (not unlike a certain game of the year), a few things I have found are intended, like the BOWs breaking off of fighting you (because according to loading screens they supposed to pursue the biggest threat), I thinking it's decent. I understand that it isn't a traditional resident evil shooter, but my friends and I have had aWhile the graphics are the biggest let down, and it has glitches (not unlike a certain game of the year), a few things I have found are intended, like the BOWs breaking off of fighting you (because according to loading screens they supposed to pursue the biggest threat), I thinking it's decent. I understand that it isn't a traditional resident evil shooter, but my friends and I have had a blast. As for a crappy AI I haven't noticed anything as bad as the highly praised Battlefield 3 (on Mission 4), and spend plenty of time getting my trash kicked. The game does feel barely "this gen", but if you have the money and would like to play a more tactical L4D Clone with a Resident Evil theme, otherwise wait until April 10th for the Spec Ops singleplayer free addon, or bargain bin. I like the game, but not everyone will. Expand
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    Game is fun once you get use to it BUT i am kinda pissed about spending 60$ on this.... i was so pumped and couldn't even sleep today because i wanted to get it at 10am today but it turns out this is not what i expected Can not find a Campaign game at all.... i made a game on each difficulty and let it search for players for 20mins EACH and not one person was found.... also did a quickGame is fun once you get use to it BUT i am kinda pissed about spending 60$ on this.... i was so pumped and couldn't even sleep today because i wanted to get it at 10am today but it turns out this is not what i expected Can not find a Campaign game at all.... i made a game on each difficulty and let it search for players for 20mins EACH and not one person was found.... also did a quick match and took 10mins to find one and there was only 1 guy on the team.... checked my firewall settings and my NAT is fine L4D and ever other game finds people just fine i guess i missed the memo but nemesis mode cost microsoft points to buy..... i thought it was included.... and that is the reason why i bought the xbox copy, did a quick google and i guess it was known that it was costing money but i never saw anything before so that was my fault for not digging deeper the AI is BAD went thru a whole lvl with out a teammate to the end and it turns out the whole team needs to be in the same area and i turned around that person is at the START of the level just standing there so i went all the way back to get them and find out there not budging so i had to restart the level because the computer glitched, they also dont really help you heal and they dont heal them self... i have to waste a damn first aid on them because they dont pick up the herbs but putting ALL this aside the game can be fun i guess if they fix the glitch's then this can be a good game but until then not worth 60$ maybe a 39.99 buy. wish i could play co-op on campaign with a full team... had this game since 10am and only ONCE have i played with 1 other guy and the computer glitched with that guy so we had to quit and after that never saw another player again... hopefully tomorrow i can find more people to play with and get my 60$ worth
    also forgot to add WHERE IS THE DAMN SPLIT SCREEN... this is suppose to be a co-op game L4D and halo even has split screen... i mean come on at least 2 player split screen and System leak for 4 players.... have to have 4 xbox's and 4 tvs and 4 active subs to xbox live to play this with friends at a LAN party guess we will just have to stick to L4D2
    Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    People looking for a Resident Evil game play experience will not get it from this game. Its a straight up squad based shooter. Its feels like a Resident Evil game but doesn't play like one. Raccoon City is rendered very nicely and as you play you will be reminded of RE2 and RE3. Fighting zombies in the streets is great but most of the combat is against other military groups. Its not a badPeople looking for a Resident Evil game play experience will not get it from this game. Its a straight up squad based shooter. Its feels like a Resident Evil game but doesn't play like one. Raccoon City is rendered very nicely and as you play you will be reminded of RE2 and RE3. Fighting zombies in the streets is great but most of the combat is against other military groups. Its not a bad game. I'm sure the ''critics' reviews will be lousy, but i am having fun. Be even better with some online co-op. Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    7
    I never really liked the resident evil story lines they seem a little too ridiculous so for someone who isnt really a big fan of resident evil i rely on gameplay resident evil 5's biggest win for me was the co-op mode a silly rip off of 24 but damn good gameplay, Resident Evil ORC was disappointing but not a complete loss the gameplay can be a bit buggy and your ai teammates can be idiotsI never really liked the resident evil story lines they seem a little too ridiculous so for someone who isnt really a big fan of resident evil i rely on gameplay resident evil 5's biggest win for me was the co-op mode a silly rip off of 24 but damn good gameplay, Resident Evil ORC was disappointing but not a complete loss the gameplay can be a bit buggy and your ai teammates can be idiots but the gameplay is smooth as far as movement the days of stop to shoot are finally gone! never the less it still feels a bit Outdated the cover system is clumsy but tolerable, enemies (spec ops) can take quite a bit of punishment (going back to older days of shooters) its updated but still not up to par with greats like Gears of war or Mass Effect gameplays...........if you can get past all that the game is actually really fun, zombies are where its at, parasites that infect your brain dont really matter then again thats just my opinion, but back to ORC the game has quite a bit of potential but if there is to be a sequel or a game of the same idea slat six games should step down and let Capcom handle it SSG had good ideas but Mediocre execution that most people wont find favorable, 5 years ago this game wouldve been one of the greats but i think the magnitude of other third person shooters like GOW and ME, and even ssg's own stupid mistakes will make this game just OK (which now a days "OK" doesnt cut it) Expand
  19. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    The best way to describe resident evil: orc, is jello. This game is semi-solid, and fairly transparent about its intensions, yes its glitchy, yes everyone had way to high of expectations,yes the ai is dumb as a box of rocks, but if you like the resident evil universe, and are willing to put up with some glitches, you just might find this game irrrisistably delicious.
  20. Mar 21, 2012
    6
    Other deception, but I think that Raccoon City is better than Gaiden 3, and yeah have a same case that with Ninja Gaiden, good graphics, story, controls and more, but the biggest problem, and the thing that do all the last titles bad, are the DLC's, because we feel that the game is incomplete. And Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is good, but incomplete.
  21. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    this game is getting unfair reviews, Im not quite sure what is going on here? The core game mechanics are rocksolid, guns feel good, movement and melee is smooth and polished you got zombies and a resident evil backdrop. I think we have case where people are just being ignorant. let me put it this way if Left for Dead was reviewed as a single player game it would be getting 4s and 5sthis game is getting unfair reviews, Im not quite sure what is going on here? The core game mechanics are rocksolid, guns feel good, movement and melee is smooth and polished you got zombies and a resident evil backdrop. I think we have case where people are just being ignorant. let me put it this way if Left for Dead was reviewed as a single player game it would be getting 4s and 5s you know its true, what if left for dead was reviewed just on its story, does Left for Dead even have a story ?? this game is not a single player survival horror canon story game, it is a 3rd person Coop zombie shooter and like Left for Dead it is meant to be played with human controlled squadmates and not Ai bots, and believe it or not this game is actually fun. My critisim of this game is the same critism I had for left for dead and thats about content and price I do not beleive Left for Dead had enough content to justify a 60$ maybe 40 not 60 and the same goes for this game although is feels like ORC is definutely offering more than a counterstrike mod with zombies. Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2012
    7
    Well, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City, what can I say about it? First, I'd like to say that it's received a lot of undeserved bad reviews, I mean, yes the game's buggy, and I mean really buggy, but a future update could easily fix that. I've never really been a fan of the Resident Evil games (I'm more of an FPS kinda guy) and very rarely played them, but if you like killing hordes ofWell, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City, what can I say about it? First, I'd like to say that it's received a lot of undeserved bad reviews, I mean, yes the game's buggy, and I mean really buggy, but a future update could easily fix that. I've never really been a fan of the Resident Evil games (I'm more of an FPS kinda guy) and very rarely played them, but if you like killing hordes of zombies and slaying â Expand
  23. Mar 29, 2012
    7
    Long story short: if you like Resident Evil: Outbreak gameplay and Resident Evil 5 controls and graphics, then pick it up. Otherwise, get rentalzzzzz.
  24. May 30, 2012
    7
    I'll start off by saying i paid only $20 for this game and if i paid $60 my score for this game would be getting chopped down abit to around a 4. though i was wise enough to hold off and the reason is because this by its self is only half a game the rest of it is locked away or wasnt finished apperently and was added later as DLC like the spec ops missions which has you playing as the goodI'll start off by saying i paid only $20 for this game and if i paid $60 my score for this game would be getting chopped down abit to around a 4. though i was wise enough to hold off and the reason is because this by its self is only half a game the rest of it is locked away or wasnt finished apperently and was added later as DLC like the spec ops missions which has you playing as the good guys ...really capcom ... you with hold half the damn game and break it up into to DLC packs and charge $9.99 for them? then there are no unlockables for this game as they are also all DLC . so prepared to have your wallet raped to get the full game . though like i said i paid $20 so for $20 more i got for the most part the rest of the game out side of the unlockables which i passed on. now for the game its self its not bad the graphics are decent but certainly not up to par with what they could have been. game play is some what like Gears of War and the game its self is kind of fun with some friends when you are fighting zombies and monsters , though i hated it any time you fought any guy with a gun and it no longer felt like resident evil just felt like a bland shooter . there are 7 missions (14 if you got the 2 DLC packs) that are around 40-60 min long so the game is about 5-6 hours long or double that if you got the DLC . as for replay value there really isnt alot , i ran through it 3 times although 2 would have been enough but another friend wanted me to run through with him . the classes don't feel like they add much of any thing to the game play since you spend 99% of your time just shooting or moving to the next place to shoot stuff any way and there special abilities do very little to make it feel very differnt from the others. The gun selection is decent but very few of the guns outside of what type of gun feels any differnt from the other. you can't upgrade your guns eather which would have been nice. overall this game just barely gets a score of a 7 and thats only like i said because of the price . its just to much of a bare bones game where capcom's real goal is to milk you to death on DLC for the real game . my advice is rent this first or buy it very cheap do not spend more then $20 on it . Expand
  25. Apr 24, 2012
    7
    The Multiplayer is where this game shines. If you have friends who you play online with, then ORC is guaranteed to give any player a good time. Bugs and graphical issues is what lets this game down, and the single player should not even be there. Overall, if you can pick this up for less than half it's price, then it is a must buy!
  26. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    Not sure how this is scoring lower than the abomination that is Resident Evil 5 but then again I guess gears of war with zombies would be pretty popular.

    I like it, it's not perfect and the AI is lacking but it's a fun game and the storyline does not get boring. As for people claiming "it has ruined the franchise" really? You must be new to resident evil because real fans will know that
    Not sure how this is scoring lower than the abomination that is Resident Evil 5 but then again I guess gears of war with zombies would be pretty popular.

    I like it, it's not perfect and the AI is lacking but it's a fun game and the storyline does not get boring. As for people claiming "it has ruined the franchise" really? You must be new to resident evil because real fans will know that Residen Evil died a long time ago in 1999-2000 With Resident Evil 3 and Code Veronica.

    If you don't expect something more simply because of the title this is a very enjoyable and fast/fun zombie killing spree.
    Expand
  27. Mar 26, 2012
    7
    The game is great, good gameplay, good graphics and sound, so why I gave it a 7? Because the name is Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City, an it should call just Operation Raccoon City, because 1/3 of the game is based on battling other humans shooting at you, and the other 2/3 is fighting zombies, lickers and hunters
  28. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Resident Evil: ORC is a 4-player class based tactical 3rd person shooter. Running parallel to the events of Resident Evil 2, the player takes on the role of Umbrella Operatives tasked with destroying evidence that would implicate Umbrella in the outbreak in Raccoon city. For RE fans, the campaign offers a nice slice of G-Virus infected goodness. Bringing back classic characters,Resident Evil: ORC is a 4-player class based tactical 3rd person shooter. Running parallel to the events of Resident Evil 2, the player takes on the role of Umbrella Operatives tasked with destroying evidence that would implicate Umbrella in the outbreak in Raccoon city. For RE fans, the campaign offers a nice slice of G-Virus infected goodness. Bringing back classic characters, locations, and enemy types, it's a nice stroll down memory lane. The game play, on the other hand, needs some serious polish. Playing the game single player can be a frustrating experience. With ally AI scripting being down-right terrible at times, with instances of allies simply standing still, receiving damage, and running into your personal line of fire, The cover mechanic also needs work, as, peeking around/over cover can lead to breaking away from the cover, and being exposed to attack, and grenades will often get stuck, at the players feet. The campaign in multi-player, eliminates the AI shortcomings, and is a genuinely enjoyable experience. The online verses modes have a lot to offer, but glitchy behavior some of the maps make certain game types frustrating. There are also some balance issues between the classes. All and all, the game is decent, at it's current MSRP, it's a better rent then investment, but with some polish, by way of updates, the game could be a nice little gem for any Resident Evil fan, and eliminate the feeling that the product may have been rushed out the door, at 80% complete. Expand
  29. May 14, 2012
    6
    Resident Evil has created fantastic memories with many gamers from around the world. Because of its success Capcom tried in the past to try switching around the formula. The results ended in a bad gameboy color game, an online specific type Resident Evil game for the PS2, and an on-rail shooter for the Wii and by letting Slant Six Games take control of this project. We have anotherResident Evil has created fantastic memories with many gamers from around the world. Because of its success Capcom tried in the past to try switching around the formula. The results ended in a bad gameboy color game, an online specific type Resident Evil game for the PS2, and an on-rail shooter for the Wii and by letting Slant Six Games take control of this project. We have another mediocre third person shooter in the market. I believe the idea sounds great. Instead of seeing Raccoon City through the eyes of a select few, watch as the outbreak is happening right then and there as Umbrella operatives try to cover up their company's mistake. But the execution falls short within the games basic ideas. You (and three other people if you choose so) will go through Raccoon City and try to eliminate all witnesses of the incident. But it doesn't take long for players to run into bugs and sloppy gameplay. While playing single player I notice that the AI for both the enemies and your squad mates are about as dumb as a bag of hammers. I have seen enemies run right into my line of fire and allies as well. This creates frustration and ultimately kills any experience the player is feeling at the moment. The actual shooting in the game feels underpowered and bland. I felt as though it didn't matter what gun I had because every gun felt to do the same amount of damage. The cover mechanic is broken as well. I found that actually taking cover works well but when in a frantic firefight this can be a downfall. There is no button you can press that allows you to switch from cover to cover. If you need to go into another area of cover, you have to usually jump into the fray (which you were trying to avoid at the time) just to go complete this task. Which, in turn, leads to death most of the time. Perhaps the most disappointing factor of Resident Evil: ORC is that the campaign somehow turns the most iconic characters, environments, and events into an uninspiring third wheel. You would think that going back into the famous police station and tunnels would be a sight for sore eyes but because the environments are so bland these areas feel lifeless and unimportant. The single player campaign is a mess but I found the most fun out of the multiplayer. I know I bashed the game so far but despite what I have said so far the game is fun at times. This fun can be found in its multiplayer. When playing with other people the game shines. Instead of killing brainless AI you have players that know what they are doing. Add along that there are zombies, lickers, and hunters roaming the areas of multiplayer, the intensity does come up. I found my favorite game mode to be a survival type game. Where you are supposed to survive until a chopper comes, since the chopper can only hold four people, it becomes a race to get there first since there is eight players total in every match. Along with Survival Mode, you have a typical death match game and some objective based modes. This is by no means a completely broken and unplayable game. But this game will satisfy many gamers. If you are looking for a game to play with three of your friends and can look past some obvious flaws then I can assure you that you will have a blast. That is why this game is deserving of a 62%. Expand
  30. May 15, 2012
    5
    Now I know where capcom has been hiding all there jank. This game is janky janky janky. It has some cool moments and Love the concept but the execution is off the mark. Gun controls, dumb AI, really cheap checkpoint system, and being rewarded for dying in co-op(when you die you respawn with full ammo and more grenades) All these things break the game and put it in a sub-par category. But iNow I know where capcom has been hiding all there jank. This game is janky janky janky. It has some cool moments and Love the concept but the execution is off the mark. Gun controls, dumb AI, really cheap checkpoint system, and being rewarded for dying in co-op(when you die you respawn with full ammo and more grenades) All these things break the game and put it in a sub-par category. But i was able to finish it and if you're a achievement score whore like myself it worth a few hours to boost up DAT G. Expand
  31. May 17, 2012
    5
    This game sucks plain and simple. It does not feel like a RE game and the gameplay is so boring and lame. The characters are all boring and the story sucks. The character models are good but the levels are all bland and boring. It also has issues where wall cover will get you killed and picking up items can be a chore. Skip this and wait for Resident Evil 6 this fall.
  32. Nov 4, 2012
    5
    I wanted to like this game. I really did. The concept is extremely cool, but the execution is downright sloppy. "Operation Raccoon City" is like a blend of "Gears of War" and "Left 4 Dead". If only it played as good as either franchise. Unfortunately, the developers at Slant Six (PSP's SOCOM) managed to squeeze out only a fraction of fun with ORC. The game takes place during the events ofI wanted to like this game. I really did. The concept is extremely cool, but the execution is downright sloppy. "Operation Raccoon City" is like a blend of "Gears of War" and "Left 4 Dead". If only it played as good as either franchise. Unfortunately, the developers at Slant Six (PSP's SOCOM) managed to squeeze out only a fraction of fun with ORC. The game takes place during the events of "Resident Evil 2" but is told through the perspective of the bad guys. While a biohazard outbreak occurs in Raccoon City, a group of Umbrella operatives are sent into the "hot zone" to dispose evidence of the company's involvement. The team encounters cop Leon S. Kennedy , groups of Umbrella mercenaries and plenty of zombies along the way. Playing the campaign online is the best way to experience it since horrible friendly A.I. all but ruins the single player mode. Glitches and poor game design also hurt the campaign which has good moments, but is ultimately uninspired. The competitive modes aren't too interesting either and suffer from balance issues. "Raccoon City" isn't a total loss due to some good ideas and some decent moments, but it could've been a great co-op game. Too bad. Expand
  33. Oct 16, 2012
    5
    This title is a pretty generic shooter, which based its charm in the online aspect, offering possibilities there that his poor individual campaign depletes us. A title too generic and nothing particularly remarkable or funny, he finds redemption in multiplayer.
  34. Feb 4, 2013
    5
    Finally got around to picking this game up, despite the shaky reviews on it. Used, of course. Oddly enough, my complaints on the game actually differ a bit on a few issues. First of all, unlike every other review on the game, I have no real complaint with the controls. If anything, I prefer this over the standard RE tank-style controls anyday. However, the cover system is kinda lame. It'sFinally got around to picking this game up, despite the shaky reviews on it. Used, of course. Oddly enough, my complaints on the game actually differ a bit on a few issues. First of all, unlike every other review on the game, I have no real complaint with the controls. If anything, I prefer this over the standard RE tank-style controls anyday. However, the cover system is kinda lame. It's set so that you take cover next to walls and debris whenever you walk into it. Not only does this create moments where you'd accidentally get stuck on a dumpster or something when you're trying to run away from a horde of crimson heads, but it actually pulls the reverse, where I'm desperately trying to get to cover and away from spec-ops gunfire, but my character decided that he'd rather just stand next to that car and soak up the bullets with his face. The melee fighting, while badass, is cumbersome and needs work.

    The enemy AI presents another problem. It really is a bad as people say it is, making it almost impossible to deal with certain parts in the campaign that would normally require a team to finish an objective. Everything's pretty much left up to you, alone. While the logical solution would be to take advantage of the online matchmaking and get a co-op campaign started, there's one obstacle in the way. There is absolutely NOBODY playing the campaign online. It was more than once that I started up a pre-game lobby, with the hopes of getting some players to help me get through this part of the story that I was stuck on. Instead, I'd sit there for over 20-30 minutes, without as much as a single gamertag popping up on the screen for even a second. I even once had it up for over an hour while I was on my laptop. I figure that anyone who has this game is probably playing the versus mode, if anything.

    Next topic.

    Here's a VERY common scenario that you'd often run into when playing through the campaign by yourself. You're going around kicking some zombie ass, popping heads like a professional, when all of a sudden, you somehow got infected. Now your health is draining and you have no anti-virus sprays in your inventory. But look! A glowing blue cylinder at the far end of the room! Perhaps you got lucky and a zombie randomly dropped an anti-virus spray? Maybe you can make it through this after all! You run past all of the zombies in a mad dash to keep yourself from dying when you finally reach your luminescent prize... Only to find that it's, in fact, a stun grenade (which glows a very slightly different shade of blue from the antivirus). Not only that, but you already have the maximum amount that you can possibly carry in you inventory as they're useless against zombies. Finally, you succumb to the disease and turn into a zombie. Game Over.

    The ease of contracting the virus in this game is staggering. Not only can you get infected by getting bitten by a zombie, but also when a zombie pukes on you, scratches you, or so much as looks at you funny. I'm also fairly sure that half of the BOWs don't even need to damage you to infect you. What I found really out of place, is that despite being put through the above scenario far more times than I'd like, a check through my records show that I have never once been bitten by a zombie. I probably wouldn't mind as much if infection wasn't an instant death sentence in single-player. But as it is, it makes playing through the campaign by yourself a nightmare.

    What really makes me sad is, that even though I really do enjoy the zombie killing in this title, this is one of the few games where I find that I'm actually forcing myself to beat the story. I don't hate the game, but there are just too many problems as a whole for me to fully enjoy it. I really feel that this game could've been far better if it was held in development for just a little longer. The AI could've been improved which, alone, would've greatly enhanced the gameplay. Maybe they could've also tweaked the melee fighting into better working order. Not to mention, smooth out the cover system.
    Expand
  35. Nov 11, 2013
    5
    Having been a big fan of RE since its earliest days i was kind of excited to hear about this game. Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City sounded pretty awesome on paper and was interesting to me as a fan of the series. I will also say i don't like what capcom has done to the series by taking it away from its intense atmospheric moments in favor of fast paced action but with ORC i knew whatHaving been a big fan of RE since its earliest days i was kind of excited to hear about this game. Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City sounded pretty awesome on paper and was interesting to me as a fan of the series. I will also say i don't like what capcom has done to the series by taking it away from its intense atmospheric moments in favor of fast paced action but with ORC i knew what the game was and wasn't worried about that. However it really just fails to bring itself above any of the competition in a meaningful way and is pretty bland and repetative. The controls are clunky and don't function well at all times specifically trying to switch weapons often locks me into the sidearm mode since its mapped to the same button and the cover is poorly done with no button mechanic. The visuals are sub par but aren't bad and the AI is downright dumb as hell. This game deserved nothing more than a bargain bin price but somehow sold over 2 million copies. I think this game rode success on the name alone but i'll give it that its not a bad game its just not really a good game either. Very mediocre and very underwhelming. You could do a lot better with your money but you could also do worse. 5/10 Expand
  36. Jan 8, 2014
    5
    Personally first i would like to say i am new to the Resident Evil series i own Resident Evil 4, Resident Evil 5, Resident Evil 6 and Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City. But so far i have liked and enjoyed them but this one was a bit of a mixed bag for me. Let me start off with a short summary because thankfully the plot is easy to follow. You are part of an Umbrella hit squad where youPersonally first i would like to say i am new to the Resident Evil series i own Resident Evil 4, Resident Evil 5, Resident Evil 6 and Resident Evil Operation Raccoon City. But so far i have liked and enjoyed them but this one was a bit of a mixed bag for me. Let me start off with a short summary because thankfully the plot is easy to follow. You are part of an Umbrella hit squad where you can play as one of six characters who are Lupo, Four Eyes, Bertha, Beltway, Spector, and Vector and you are sent into Raccoon city after the first mission where you fail to retrieve virus samples from William Birkin who is a scientist behind the G-Virus which was a more advanced version of the T-Virus which was the original virus and the one you mainly deal with in this game. While in Raccoon City you deal with a series of problems umbrella has but it mainly boils down to this you are covering up Umbrella's involvement in the Raccoon city incident. Along the story you will meet series favorites such as Leon S. Kennedy, Claire Red field, and Sherry Birkin. Now i want to this some of the positives with this game because yes even though the game is deficient in some areas i have still put considerable time into this game. As i said in the beginning the story is easy to follow and it is somewhat entertaining, the six characters you play has have cool descriptions about them plus when their class abilities because each characters has at least 6 different abilities some are passive the others are more direct. Personally my favorite and probably the most useful is Bertha's ability to immediate;y cure an infection because in this game you can can infected and if gone on too long your characters will just become basically rabid. Another positive is that there is a big selection of guns to unlock and to me that was a reason to put the amount of time that i have played in this game. Also i found the action in the game very cinematic, and for what this game is the graphics are ok. I also enjoyed the bone chilling voice overs during the cut scenes that occur before each missions. One final thing i enjoyed was how there is a leveling up system to where you spend the xp you earn to purchase weapons and upgrade your abilities. Now lets get to the games negatives, even though i said the story is entertaining it is also very short. I beat my first play through in just 5 hours and 25 minutes, then without much upgrades to Beltway on a second play through i beat the game in 4 hours
    then when i did a third play though as vector i beta the game in 2 hours and 5 minutes. WHY the heck is the game so SHORT! My third play through is even shorter than Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows part 2 video game which should take you 2 hours and 52 minutes. Another big negative is that the team AI as well as the enemy AI is very deficient on more than one occasion my team AI would not move through the level with me stand out in the open, and or not even fire at the military personal when fighting them. Also even though Berth at times would have like 3 health spray cans she would only use them on herself and not bother with the other team when myself and the other 2 Ai players were on very low health. Now the enemy Ai is not much better sometimes they will just charge your positions and other times they won't even shoot at you but for some reason these problems occur less so with the enemy Ai then the team Ai. Another problem with the both Ai's is that if you or the enemy military place land minds on the ground on more than one occasion either side would just blindly walk into the mines. This next negative isn't as big but something that i feel needs to be mentioned when you level up all it does is give you experience to purchase weapons and upgrades an nothing else i felt like there should have been more stuff to spend it on like concept art or additional characters and hidden bonuses. One last negative is that while there are two endings the final battle is climactic but the cut scenes that result afterwards are a mixed bag, the good ending is actually somewhat satisfying but when or if you choose the evil ending after the battle the cut scene just ends abruptly. Now putting everything aside i still somehow enjoyed them game because as is aid you can level up and i have played the game for so long that i am rank 71 and still have not hit the level cap yet. So if you are just looking to get into the Resident Evil series i could recommend this game because it does a decent enough job to get you introduced to the series if you have not done so already but if you already are a big Resident Evil fan like some other people out there i could say you can just skip this game.
    Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 56
  2. Negative: 24 out of 56
  1. May 4, 2012
    40
    The characters, the story, the controls, the difficulty, and even the central premise... all of it seems to be on the right track, but none of it hits the mark. I still think there's a lot of potential here, but like any other game, the basics have to be nailed before it can start reaching for greatness.
  2. 50
    None of it feels much like Resident Evil. [Issue#84, p.85]
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    30
    An insult to Resident Evil fans, a failure at the most basic level for shooter fans, and a possible friendship-ender for those looking for a cooperative experience, Raccoon City is a disaster zone better left abandoned.