User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 311 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    to the critics bashing this game I take their opinion with a grain of salt i mean come on ign gave this game a 4 and yet they give MW3 a 9 which clearly the worst game released so far I mean i hate and I do mean the word HATE Mw3 so much that I don't play with friends that Iv'e known for 7 years or even family members because that game is just simply that bad. so In my opinion Res Evil ORCto the critics bashing this game I take their opinion with a grain of salt i mean come on ign gave this game a 4 and yet they give MW3 a 9 which clearly the worst game released so far I mean i hate and I do mean the word HATE Mw3 so much that I don't play with friends that Iv'e known for 7 years or even family members because that game is just simply that bad. so In my opinion Res Evil ORC is a far better game than mw3 yet it got a 9 so go figure. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Having followed the Resident Evil franchise since it's inception, I for one have been less and less excited with each new release since RE4. The break into a more action styled gameplay and "hulked-out" protagonists have taken the fear factor from this once groundbreaking series and half heartedly turned it into a mash up of B-Movie tropes supported by lackluster storytelling. OperationHaving followed the Resident Evil franchise since it's inception, I for one have been less and less excited with each new release since RE4. The break into a more action styled gameplay and "hulked-out" protagonists have taken the fear factor from this once groundbreaking series and half heartedly turned it into a mash up of B-Movie tropes supported by lackluster storytelling. Operation Raccoon City on the other hand has been quite enjoyable as it does not attempt to disguise itself as a survival horror game. What you see is exactly what you get, a 3rd person shooter set in a familiar universe that provides a vehicle for exciting combat and interesting opportunities for the multi-player experience. However sub-par AI does hamper the threat factor of some opponents and overall storytelling in the game's campaign mode could have used more attention. I for one found the game to be a solid addition to my game collection and well worth the $60 price tag. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I debated between giving this game a 7 or 8 and landed on an 8 just to spite all the incredibly negative reviews of this game! First off, let me say, this game is not even close to as bad as what all these so called critics are saying... you know the critics who said massive pieces of garbage like "Dead Island" were fantastic. It is flawed, but all in all its a pretty enjoyable game. AtI debated between giving this game a 7 or 8 and landed on an 8 just to spite all the incredibly negative reviews of this game! First off, let me say, this game is not even close to as bad as what all these so called critics are saying... you know the critics who said massive pieces of garbage like "Dead Island" were fantastic. It is flawed, but all in all its a pretty enjoyable game. At first playing I would have said no to buying it, but I did rent it, and I've actually been keeping it late and I've enjoyed it so much that if it drops below the initial price point just a bit I would buy it.

    The Pros:
    Great Action
    - Zombie fun and gore
    - Immersive set pieces, particularly when an environment is overrun with the undead. You find yourself truly relying on your team and needing eyes in the back of your head. No space is safe in an overrun area which adds to the tension and fun.
    - Plenty of ammo
    - Great call backs and tie ins to the original series
    - Fast paced fun gameplay
    The Cons:
    - AI can be a little sketchy, not to the level you've heard by any stretch, but it leaves something to be desired at times
    - Guns need a bit more variety in terms of impact and stopping power
    - Play through length... could easily go double
    - Loss of items and guns after dying, seriously the biggest flaw.

    Again, I stress, don't be fooled by all the negative hype... While it is flawed, if you're a fan of the series at all it is pretty enjoyable. Definitely flawed, but maybe something they can address w/ updates, but not flawed enough to stop you from enjoying it at all. I sincerely hope for more DLC missions within Raccoon City or other RE locales!
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This game is great. not a reg res evil . But the studio gave great game play through the action shooting.. the game is played best with friends. The AI is not great if you play alone.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    I completely disagree with critics and everyone else who dis like this game. I think that this game is really good. Everyone is mad because it says resident evil and this is not a resident evil game like the past ones. Being a fan of the other resident evil games, I think that is a great squad based shooter with zombies thrown in. I thought the multiplayer wouldn't be that good, like mostI completely disagree with critics and everyone else who dis like this game. I think that this game is really good. Everyone is mad because it says resident evil and this is not a resident evil game like the past ones. Being a fan of the other resident evil games, I think that is a great squad based shooter with zombies thrown in. I thought the multiplayer wouldn't be that good, like most other games, but it's actually really good. The modes are all different from each other in good ways but I wish that there was a horde type mode in this game cause it would of fitted well. Overall this is a great game Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    This is a decent game. Its much different than the regular Resident Evil games, and it shouldnt be judged as one. Its a near perfect squad based shooter that many shooter and zombie fans will enjoy.
  7. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This game is great, but it is also not for everyone, Half the appeal is the set pieces from all the resident evil games and the back side of the main stories.
  8. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    For hardcore Resident Evil fans only:

    Alright, listen up guys. If youâ
  9. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Don't Believe what the critics say, its a good game all in all. there are a few bugs here and there, but nothing that can't be a fixed with a quick patch. the game play is steady and sometimes challenging on the higher difficulties. its a good squad shooter to play with some friends. honestly i like the game because of the bigger arsenal and the ability's you can pick up through the game.
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Don't believe the anti-hype. if you're the type that buys and plays all of the various RE games across multiple platforms- Revelations, Umbrella Chronicles, Outbreak, the numbered sequels, and so on, you'll fit right in here. I'm amazed at how many people are bashing the "single player" portion of this game. I can't imagine anyone buying a L4D game and complaining that the AI teammates areDon't believe the anti-hype. if you're the type that buys and plays all of the various RE games across multiple platforms- Revelations, Umbrella Chronicles, Outbreak, the numbered sequels, and so on, you'll fit right in here. I'm amazed at how many people are bashing the "single player" portion of this game. I can't imagine anyone buying a L4D game and complaining that the AI teammates are no fun to play with, or that the story wasn't great. ORC mostly does what it sets out to do, even if it could use a little tlc in places. Great variety, the modes are fun with other players, and it explores different aspects of the RE universe than what we've seen before. At the end of the day, its a shooter, so don't penalize it for not being something else. Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    honestly enjoying this game. its not supposed to be like the other resident evils. If you look at it for what it is, ie: a 3rd person action game with zombies and some great multi player/co-op ideas its great. a lot of the negative reviews are people crying its not resident evil 4-2
  12. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I personally liked this game, I have read the reviews, and the negative ones have solid reasoning. Its not like a true RE game that's true, but these guys made SOCOM right? I expected this to be more about being a team and not survival horror. I felt kinda empowered as a member of this team of USS bad asses. The only issue is when you are fighting, the guns just don't feel real toughI personally liked this game, I have read the reviews, and the negative ones have solid reasoning. Its not like a true RE game that's true, but these guys made SOCOM right? I expected this to be more about being a team and not survival horror. I felt kinda empowered as a member of this team of USS bad asses. The only issue is when you are fighting, the guns just don't feel real tough sometimes. Against zombies, I understand if a few shots are required to bring them down, but a head shot with a sniper rifle should drop a Spec-ops soldier. I love the atmosphere though. These guys have obviously encountered BOW's before, and they act as such, not getting scared. I personally love this game and I'm adding it to my collection. Love it or hate it, I won't judge, its just my opinion. Expand
  13. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This is not a survival horror, its a 3rd person squad based RE universe game. That being said its fun, the problems some sites are saying (IGN) or not as bad as they make them. Its a nice step in another direction and I plan to enjoy for a while.
  14. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    I was expect a horrid game and was quite surprised how much fun I had. I have not been a fan of RE beyond RE 3. For the 2 campaigns I played it was a fun and glitch free. I don't see why the reviewers are so bad. It is a very good game.
  15. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    ORC is not Resident Evil in the waiting (I mean the survival horror, back to the roots). ORC is a shooter in the Resident Evil universe, which is not supposed to be horror, but shooting a network with friends. Those who like to play Resident Evil and Left 4 Dead should buy the game. RE universe is unique and unrepeatable, and only now have the opportunity to play the bad ones (SAA) whichORC is not Resident Evil in the waiting (I mean the survival horror, back to the roots). ORC is a shooter in the Resident Evil universe, which is not supposed to be horror, but shooting a network with friends. Those who like to play Resident Evil and Left 4 Dead should buy the game. RE universe is unique and unrepeatable, and only now have the opportunity to play the bad ones (SAA) which is a big plus.Plot is interesting and do not forget that this is not a fully-fledged part of the series, it's only the spin-off. Expand
  16. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil has been a staple in my gaming career for years now, and I've come to love the series, even 4 and 5. When Operation Raccoon City was announced I was overjoyed, it looked like a slick, multiplayer title. I have to admit when the reviews started to come out for it I was iffy on picking it up, but I was not dissapointed at all. I jumped right into the campaign and was glad IResident Evil has been a staple in my gaming career for years now, and I've come to love the series, even 4 and 5. When Operation Raccoon City was announced I was overjoyed, it looked like a slick, multiplayer title. I have to admit when the reviews started to come out for it I was iffy on picking it up, but I was not dissapointed at all. I jumped right into the campaign and was glad I completely disagreed with most of the critics. The combat is fun and fast paced, enemies are numerous and challenging, and melee takedowns are satisfying as all hell. The story is immersive, and it is great to play from the viewpoint of Umbrella. I regretfully have to agree the cover system is completely broken and the AI is shamelessly stupid. But there is an easy fix to this...grab your buddies and get ready for some zombie slaughtering! But not on the same TV of course, because split screen is inexcusably absent. The versus modes in this game are ridiculously addictive, my personal favorite being survivor. The game types work well, providing gamers with endless hours of enjoyment, and you may find yourself playing to the early hours of the morning with countless zombies' blood on your hands. Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I have played all games in the console series of Resident Evil and I can say, yes Raccoon City is nothing like those games. If you go into it thinking RC will be like all the beloved RE games in the past then prepare to be disappointed. If you like killing zombies and enjoy a ME3 like muiti-player experience then RC is a good choice.
  18. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I love this game. Reviewers are reets. They always go with popular opinion. If you look at all the high rated games from reviewers like IGN you'll notice they're all games that are accepted and praised by the masses. Reviewers are dumb sheep and more mindless than the Raccoon city's population.
  19. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Fans of RE will enjoy the return of some familiar characters and the fleshing out of the RE2 storyline. There's a lot of potential here for more development. Visuals are slick, audio isCo-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Fans of RE will enjoy the return of some familiar characters and the fleshing out of the RE2 storyline. There's a lot of potential here for more development. Visuals are slick, audio is intense, the action is good, story is engaging. A solid buy for anyone who is a fan of RE or who enjoys 3rd person shooters. Expand
  20. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    If you're looking for survival horror, you came to the wrong place. If you wanted a fun squad shooter, you're in the right place. Some game play mechanics can hinder you such as the ally AI and Spec. Ops take a few more bullets then they should. Other than that i found it as a solid game.
  21. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    this game is going back to its original self with the characters and the original zombies its a must buy game so zombie fans go get it. it has the experience of the 1st couple of games with the nemisis and a reunion with some of the old character
  22. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I feel this game is what it set out to be...an awesome co-op experience, set in the iconic Raccoon City of Resident Evil...if anyone is looking for anything else...well then my dear friends you may get disappointed...and might as well wait for Resident Evil 6 this fall?
  23. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Having more in common with Left 4 Dead and Lost Planet 2 then any Resident Evil title in terms of gameplay, some may be put off simply because this is so dissimilar to anything else in the RE universe. With that said, if gamers approach Operation Raccoon City bearing in mind that this is an entirely new genre for RE, what they'll find is a game full of RE fan service and plenty of goryHaving more in common with Left 4 Dead and Lost Planet 2 then any Resident Evil title in terms of gameplay, some may be put off simply because this is so dissimilar to anything else in the RE universe. With that said, if gamers approach Operation Raccoon City bearing in mind that this is an entirely new genre for RE, what they'll find is a game full of RE fan service and plenty of gory fun; at it's best when enjoyed with friends. Expand
  24. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Let me start off saying that anyone that is considering getting this game I highly suggest not to read any of the major critics review even if it is a good one. Since they give games like MW3 a near perfect score, but time to cut to the chase. This not your average RE game. But does that mean that its not good no! I personally really enjoyed this game. This is more of a squad base shooterLet me start off saying that anyone that is considering getting this game I highly suggest not to read any of the major critics review even if it is a good one. Since they give games like MW3 a near perfect score, but time to cut to the chase. This not your average RE game. But does that mean that its not good no! I personally really enjoyed this game. This is more of a squad base shooter with the RE feel to it. When playing the campaign I was playing with my friends which makes the overall experience 10x more better. Raccoon City is more of a coop game and really enjoyable with friends. The online was a surprise to me. I didnt expect it to be as good as it is. There is a deep selection of weapons which I didnt expect at all. When purchasing weapons its the same as the COD system you purchase them with XP! The modes are good but I think by far the best and most intense one is "Survivor" knowing that you will have to kill one of your friends you are playing with to get on the helicopter since there is a limited amount of seats. But for die-hard RE fans you should definitely buy the game its something new but very enjoyable at the same time. Such as someone that just wants 2 play should just rent it. But its a good game overall! Expand
  25. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    It's difficult to judge this game as it completely represents Capcom visions through different perspectives, but since they didn't dig deep into it, it makes it easier yet a bit painful to admit its far behind complete. it holds potential in many areas for instance: Gameplay is irrelevant to previous installments in the franchise, but its controls are addictive enough to keep your flameIt's difficult to judge this game as it completely represents Capcom visions through different perspectives, but since they didn't dig deep into it, it makes it easier yet a bit painful to admit its far behind complete. it holds potential in many areas for instance: Gameplay is irrelevant to previous installments in the franchise, but its controls are addictive enough to keep your flame burning, Multiplayer is unique as it holds very interesting modes and competitive match-making. Cutting it short, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is worth a try, at least the blast of nostalgic familiarity around it will prove it worthy. Expand
  26. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This game was everything i hoped it to be, if you're true Resident Evil fan you'll like this game not only because it's Resident Evil, but because it is really fun, stop whining and getting on the bandwagon haters

    Haters gonna hate lovers gonna love.
  27. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    Yes the storys short but this game has great replayability! When I rented it I had lots of fun with it and went out and bought it. It is a awful resident evil game but a great game.
  28. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    this game, a refreshing installment to the series does come with some bad points to it like graphic errors and some clunky gameplay (at some points). where the game is great for me is the story from the other side of things. being the umbrella task force is great fun and being able to play co-op with friends makes the campaign experience better. the multiplayer is full of fun modes andthis game, a refreshing installment to the series does come with some bad points to it like graphic errors and some clunky gameplay (at some points). where the game is great for me is the story from the other side of things. being the umbrella task force is great fun and being able to play co-op with friends makes the campaign experience better. the multiplayer is full of fun modes and great old characters that i like to see, plus there are zombies everywhere which made it feel really different and fun from any other online. overall i love how much fun i have online with friends or by myself, i guess killing zombies is just still too fun. Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    I love the game. I got it just because the reviews were so bad on a hyped game. I'm not a Resident Evil Fanboy-never really played one. I like fps like b3 and mw3. The single player is action packed. Interface out of game is slick. Combat controls intuitive. Multiplayer rocks! 8 player survivor is fantastic. Horror shooting at its best; moody and desperate. Weapon unlocks give longI love the game. I got it just because the reviews were so bad on a hyped game. I'm not a Resident Evil Fanboy-never really played one. I like fps like b3 and mw3. The single player is action packed. Interface out of game is slick. Combat controls intuitive. Multiplayer rocks! 8 player survivor is fantastic. Horror shooting at its best; moody and desperate. Weapon unlocks give long term-fun. Critics hate Stephen King too, but I like bubblegum horror and bubblegum horror games. Expand
  30. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    I think people need to realise this ISN'T trying to be a Resident Evil game, Operation Raccoon City is only trying to deliver you a 3rd person tactical online shooter akin to G.R.A.W, but in the Resident Evil universe, which is does very well. If you're here for the story or scares you'll be disappointed but if you're just after a really fun online experience then grab your mates and getI think people need to realise this ISN'T trying to be a Resident Evil game, Operation Raccoon City is only trying to deliver you a 3rd person tactical online shooter akin to G.R.A.W, but in the Resident Evil universe, which is does very well. If you're here for the story or scares you'll be disappointed but if you're just after a really fun online experience then grab your mates and get ready for laughs! This games online doesn't disappoint, aside from the dull campaign co-op. The campaign actually feels like it was bolted on last minute to just bulk the game out a bit. However, the real fun is found in the competitive online modes, several different game types really give RE: ORC lasting appeal, the sound and graphics are nothing to shout about, they are all well done and decent but nothing amazing like Crysis 2 etc. The controls are where it shines for a Resident Evil game, they're a lot like the controls you'd be used to if Resident Evil 4 and 5 are your kinda Resi, except they are A LOT more fluid making it easy to be competitive, for those who are wondering, this game DOES support SOUTH PAW players, a rarity these days.

    In summary, I recommend this game to anyone just wanting a fun romp online with friends with unique online gameplay twists. But honestly don't get this if you're a diehard Resi 0 to 3:Nemesis fan, this will be WAY to much of a spin-off.
    Expand
  31. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    Based on reading all of the poor reviews, I was very skeptical about purchasing this game. As much as I wanted to be a Resident Evil fan, RE5 and even RE4 when re-released on this generation of consoles just didn't do anything for me. The stand-still-and-shoot mechanic just took me out of the game. I actually bought RE5 twice thinking maybe the first time I didn't give it enough of aBased on reading all of the poor reviews, I was very skeptical about purchasing this game. As much as I wanted to be a Resident Evil fan, RE5 and even RE4 when re-released on this generation of consoles just didn't do anything for me. The stand-still-and-shoot mechanic just took me out of the game. I actually bought RE5 twice thinking maybe the first time I didn't give it enough of a chance. After playing it two times, I realized that game-play style just isn't for me. I'm a big fan of zombie shooters though, so I thought, "What the heck! I'll give Raccoon City a try and see for myself how I feel about it." I am so glad I did because the game is actually a lot of fun! When I say fun, I mean when played co-op. Playing single player is okay, but the co-op experience is where this game shines. My brother bought a copy and I bought one as well and then we had a blast playing this game! I can see how RE fans may a little disappointed because it's not completely in the tradition of the signature RE survival horror play-style, but as a fan of shooters and a lover of most things zombie, I found Raccoon City to be a good combination of both genres. The fact that you can finally move and shoot in a RE game is what hooked me in. It's not a perfect game by any means, but I feel it was well worth the money spent.

    If you've got friends or family to play this game with, ignore the negative reviews and try this game for yourself. I get the feeling you may be surprised by how much you enjoy it.
    Expand
  32. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Well it really disappoints me to see all the negative attitudes towards this game. I have been a resident evil fan since the very first release, and I happen to really enjoy this game. I believe that people need to take this game for what it is, instead of what it could have been. I think Capcom tried to deliver something new, something different for the fans.Yes there are so many thingsWell it really disappoints me to see all the negative attitudes towards this game. I have been a resident evil fan since the very first release, and I happen to really enjoy this game. I believe that people need to take this game for what it is, instead of what it could have been. I think Capcom tried to deliver something new, something different for the fans.Yes there are so many things they could have done with game and they did have a lot potential on their hands, but at the end of the day I find this to be a very enjoyable game because I play it for what it is. I definitely think many people did not give this game enough time. People that are complaining about the gameplay honestly haven't spent that much time with it in order to understand the system. The system seems to really shine in versus matches. With the variety of character abilities, weapons and maps, it really can become a strategic, intense affair. Most matches can be filled with mayhem. I find myself dodging across the floor from explosions, initiating cinematic brutal attacks to opposing players with the cqc system, setting up strategic placements depending on which class I am using, there are just so many possibilities. Its just a shame that there are a lot of people who don't realize this and haven't given the game a chance to discover this. The true enjoyment with this game shows through in the multiplayer. If Capcom allows slant six to patch some the issues with this game and people were to open their eyes to see the absolute fun that can come out of this game, I'm sure people would start to have a better view towards this game. Oh and some tips about the system. You can initiate brutal attacks by pressing AX after a cqc attack. Each character has unique special moves in cqc also. For example Vector/Willow can can slit an opponents throat then immediately take on that character's persona, which can be incredibly useful in versus MP. CQC attacks can be avoided through dodging. You are not destined to be repeatedly hacked at into a corner, most people that do that do not understand the system and the different possibilities you have like I explained above. Other things include the ability to smash someone's head into a wall. This is done by using cqc to stun your opponent against the wall then pressing A/ X to initiate the attack. Opponents can also be held in a special hold by holding B after a cqc attack. You then have the option of shooting your opponent in the head or hitting them with your pistol. I believe its little things like these that lead people to see the enjoyment in this game. Expand
  33. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Loving this game. A real blast co-op. Love the graphics and feel of most of the environments. This game is a perfect example of being victimized by IGNorants and the mainstream. You won't regret playing this especially if you have a few friends to roll with. Probably one of my favorite releases in the last year+
  34. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    this game is garbage! after the back to the classic formula with Revelations that merge perfectlly the horror and the action elements I tought Op. Raccoon city would be something like that but what you get is basiclly a Left 4 Dead clone yeah zombies are back but not the athmosphere. The characters are zero interesting they are just your generic bad ass squad and the story is iterestingthis game is garbage! after the back to the classic formula with Revelations that merge perfectlly the horror and the action elements I tought Op. Raccoon city would be something like that but what you get is basiclly a Left 4 Dead clone yeah zombies are back but not the athmosphere. The characters are zero interesting they are just your generic bad ass squad and the story is iteresting but at the end I dont care because the story is a "¿What if Umbrella cleaned the city without leaving any trace?" and It doesnt change the series direccion. The AI is the major problem with this game, your allies are more stupid than Sheva from RE:5 and the enemies hit point are just random I was playing and I killed a hunter with a full machinegun magazine and suddenly other hunter appears, of course that it didnt attack me because the enemies AI also sucks, but anyway I got my gun out and with 3 bullets I killed it I was like WTF! I think that developers tought that if they just put zombies in the game by fan demand and then rush in to make the game, it would be succsesfull but no the game is not scary even with familiar RE creatures like likers, hunters and Nemesis himself, is a massive dissapointment. If you are looking for a good RE game get Revelations or wait until RE:6 came out. Expand
  35. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a widely underestimated game, because everybody believes it will tie in with the next installment in the Resident Evil series, Resident Evil 6, coming out later this year, but it only offers another view on the events that happened in Resident Evil 2 and 3, nothing more, nothing less. The game play is very different from the previous Resident EvilResident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a widely underestimated game, because everybody believes it will tie in with the next installment in the Resident Evil series, Resident Evil 6, coming out later this year, but it only offers another view on the events that happened in Resident Evil 2 and 3, nothing more, nothing less. The game play is very different from the previous Resident Evil games, for instance, there is no inventory system, you can carry only two weapons, a handgun and a rifle, there are abilities that you can use to survive Raccoon City, like Camouflage, Stimpaks or Motion Detectors, as well as the possibility of you getting infected with the T-Virus. The addition of the Multiplayer is somewhat alright, there are interesting game modes, like Biohazard, in which you have to get a G-Virus sample to your extraction point before the opposing team, or the Heroes mode, in which you play as some of the famous characters like HUNK, Ada, Jill, Leon, and others, and try to eliminate the opposing team before they eliminate your heroes. But the most interesting mode, in my opinion is Survival, in which you have to survive until extraction, but there are only four places in the chopper, and each time you die your respawning timer gets longer, losing precious time, so in the end it is a race against your enemies, as well as your allies.
    Some of the downfalls of this game are that it's sometimes too dark, in the way that you can't see anything at all, so you can miss a grenade launcher, because it is in the shadows, and there are no flashlights. The other issue is that sometimes, when you play, you can get stuck in the floor, or an enemy will spam you with attacks until you die, which is fine, until you see that the enemy has killed you with a slash of a knife from a mile away. The story is relatively non-canon with a few cameos. I treat this game as a new take on the Resident Evil scheme, that ended up so-so. All in all, the game is under rated for the most part, the game is an interesting take on the zombie outbreak, as well as an interesting pass-time with the great multiplayer.
    All in all, if you want a Resident Evil game with zombies in it and that it happens in Raccoon City, mixed in with a new control scheme and abilities, that allow you to dominate the battlefield with up to 3 friends, this is the game for you.
    Expand
  36. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    To most people the name Raccoon City might be hard to place. However, for fans of the Resident Evil series, Raccoon City has long been the primary locale in which all things bad emerge, as well as being the location of the evil Umbrella Corporation. Though not every game in the series or its spinoffs have directly involved Raccoon City the connection to it and Umbrella has remainedTo most people the name Raccoon City might be hard to place. However, for fans of the Resident Evil series, Raccoon City has long been the primary locale in which all things bad emerge, as well as being the location of the evil Umbrella Corporation. Though not every game in the series or its spinoffs have directly involved Raccoon City the connection to it and Umbrella has remained constant throughout the series. In the new game Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City, players get to take a look back to the events of the original outbreak in 1998 to see a different side of how it all began. Playing as one of the members of the elite Umbrella Security Service, the special forces team is sent into the city to retrieve an experimental virus. Naturally things do not go as planned and it soon learned that the virus that they were sent to retrieve has spread into the streets, changing the mission parameters from a search and recovery, to a search and destroy. And survive. And of course, with top priority being to cover up all evidence of Umbrella Corp.â Expand
  37. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I think everyone that hates this game, hates it because they tried to play versus and I owned them to the point of destroying their controllers. ;D GT is BirrML, bring it!

    I think the game is great, and refreshing after being stuck with so many COD clones, including COD's own clones. Meh, sorry, this game is different. Can't take it? Go back to playing your n00b friendly COD. If you use
    I think everyone that hates this game, hates it because they tried to play versus and I owned them to the point of destroying their controllers. ;D GT is BirrML, bring it!

    I think the game is great, and refreshing after being stuck with so many COD clones, including COD's own clones. Meh, sorry, this game is different. Can't take it? Go back to playing your n00b friendly COD. If you use straegy and know how to do something other than run and shoot, you might fair decently in this game. It's all about tactics and using your powers properly. People who play dumbed down shooters, that only allow for run n gun, hate this game, of course, because gamers like me destroy them. Go back to your weak FPS and let the men handle this one ;D
    Expand
  38. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil a name known by many to represent a Triple-AAA title. And so it comes as no suprise when everyone and their little brother see RE:ORC as a A title at best. Sure the story line and the AI are crappy but COD:MW3 is a copy and paste and it recieves Triple-AAA status. Dont get me wrong I play MW3 just as much as everyone else. But there are alot of people to play with. It blowsResident Evil a name known by many to represent a Triple-AAA title. And so it comes as no suprise when everyone and their little brother see RE:ORC as a A title at best. Sure the story line and the AI are crappy but COD:MW3 is a copy and paste and it recieves Triple-AAA status. Dont get me wrong I play MW3 just as much as everyone else. But there are alot of people to play with. It blows my mind that before the release of RE:ORC I could jump right into a game with no worries what so ever but a couple people review it and the servers dry up. Enough of my RANT and get to my review.


    Story: Mediocre at best you play as 1 of 6 umbrella special operatives and their is no reason to try to follow your characters story cause there isn't one. The story as a whole though is still uneventfull I really found myself wanting to skip cutscenes and that is totally unlike me im the guy who gets pissed and has to restart the game if I accedently push start during the opening of any game. But anyways you really wont miss the story because the gameplay is where it shines.

    Gameplay: Gameplay is king here through the campaign and multiplayer! RE:ORC uses an exp based system to level your character up. and to purchase upgrades.You choose a character to play with and that character has different roles from medic to soldier. Each character has their own set of perks that are upgradeable and you can buy different guns with your exp. Controls are overall tight and responsive but you do find yourself from time to time struggling to kill said' licker with said' grenade launcher. But you could always use hand to hand combat wich seems to do more damage than a pistol "a patch could easily fix". Nothing is better than playing coop with your friends and this pulls it all together nicely. Multiplayer is set in several different modes in Biohazard and Team Attack its basiclly capture the flag and team deathmatch. Survivors mode is the countdown to a helicopter escape the player with the most points at the end of the match wins.And Heroes is a mode of hero's vs villians you can play as past and present heros or villians in team death match.

    Graphics: The game is on par with most games today but does not set any standards like past RE games.

    Final Thoughts:With all the bad and all the good can we just give this game alittle bit of a chance.
    Expand
  39. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    I have been a Resident Evil fan since RE2 for the N64. I see this game as a minor set back, it could have been better, the trailers got our hopes up etc. Stupid A.I i could carless about because this is Capcoms first total multiplayer RE game soo i give them credit for making a RE game that has us killing some of the monster we love killing. Story line was pretty damn good i enjoyed everyI have been a Resident Evil fan since RE2 for the N64. I see this game as a minor set back, it could have been better, the trailers got our hopes up etc. Stupid A.I i could carless about because this is Capcoms first total multiplayer RE game soo i give them credit for making a RE game that has us killing some of the monster we love killing. Story line was pretty damn good i enjoyed every second of it except the last mission, that whole stage thing was rather stupid. Multiplayer i enjoy it alot. Only thing i dislike is the models. I was hoping that in multiplayer we could have been the SPEC OPS we fight, not some people that look like civys with kevlar. The USS i was hoping would be the soldiers we saw in the first mission that were killed by G-Birkin not WOLFPACK. The last thing i disliked was the bodies disappearing when you killed them, I can understand multiplayer bodies disappearing but not the mission ones. I mean, Zombies disappearing sure I can handle that but the SPEC OPS disappearing? just what the hell man? Those are just my thoughts of this game. Expand
  40. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    for all you prick that keep complaining that its not like resident evil at all and it was a total faliure, and that it was to short, they are just morons. the makers stated plenty of times that it was going to be very different from the usual residents evils, so if you didn't want different just go play RE5 and stop complaining and making this game look bad. And yes the story was quitefor all you prick that keep complaining that its not like resident evil at all and it was a total faliure, and that it was to short, they are just morons. the makers stated plenty of times that it was going to be very different from the usual residents evils, so if you didn't want different just go play RE5 and stop complaining and making this game look bad. And yes the story was quite short but the story had very high replay value with all the things to collect and how much fun it is to just run around and kill zombies. plus, they have already released for campaign missions thru DLC and are going to release much more. As well as multiple campaign add ons there is multiplayer. The graphics were great, the co-op is fun to play with freinds, and the fast paced gameplay was a new and exciting feel to RE. So for all the idiots comparing this game to the other RE games, just stop, because its made to be different from every other RE and should not be compared with the old games. Whoever puts this game down is truly not a Resident Evil fan, and they are clearly to stupid to be happy with the new game and just got to keep complaining at every little thing they mention. Dont listen to the critics who over-analyze every little detail, there is plenty to do in this game and was quite a fun experience for me and my friends. Expand
  41. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    I seriously hate all of you for making me think this game was garbage. This game fully made me learn that I cannot trust ANYONE on the internet when looking at reviews. All of you gave this game a bad rap for the following reasons : it's not scary like the originals; it's action packed and doesn't feel like RE; the lackluster AI; short story mode. There are probably other petty reasons,I seriously hate all of you for making me think this game was garbage. This game fully made me learn that I cannot trust ANYONE on the internet when looking at reviews. All of you gave this game a bad rap for the following reasons : it's not scary like the originals; it's action packed and doesn't feel like RE; the lackluster AI; short story mode. There are probably other petty reasons, but those are the main ones. First of all, judging a game because it's not like the previous games is just bias and awful. You have to judge this as a standalone game because it's a spinoff made by another company. Second, the AI isn't even that bad - playing with other people can solve this greatly, seeing as how that's how they designed the game. The short story mode doesn't matter because it has replayability. The difficulties help with this as well. You'll always want to go through the campaign again because you get XP and you get to experience the different classes. The XP lets you unlock perks and weapons, which carry over to the versus modes, which by the way, are also very fun. SO PLEASE, DON'T LISTEN TO THESE NEGATIVE REVIEWS. FORM YOUR OWN OPINION. THIS GAME IS GREAT IF YOU'RE INTO ZOMBIES AND JUST OVERALL FUN ACTION WITH YOUR FRIENDS. FORM YOUR OWN OPINION. FORM YOUR OWN OPINION. FORM YOUR OWN OPINION. I give this game an 8.5. But I'll just round it up to a 9 since it won't do decimals. Expand
  42. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    I don't see why everyone is ranting about this game.. I love it!
    Positives;
    -The graphics are amazing. -You can choose your character and team before playing. -You can choose from four different difficulty levels (casual, normal, veteran and professional). -The cut scenes aren't too long. -The loading screens aren't always long, but even when they are, there is only one in each
    I don't see why everyone is ranting about this game.. I love it!
    Positives;
    -The graphics are amazing.
    -You can choose your character and team before playing.
    -You can choose from four different difficulty levels (casual, normal, veteran and professional).
    -The cut scenes aren't too long.
    -The loading screens aren't always long, but even when they are, there is only one in each mission which is at the start (never any in the middle of game play).
    -The story line is strong and links to every mission.
    -It is highly addictive; when you start playing you can't stop!

    Negatives;
    -The AI team are absolute sh*t, so it's best to play co-op.
    -Unlike some of the earlier RE games, this game is focused more on the action less than the actual horror.
    -You can sometimes be out of your depths with the amount of enemies.
    -Some of the enemies are extremely hard to take out- for example, hunters.
    -Some of the levels are hard to pass, even in the early stages.
    Expand
  43. Dec 4, 2014
    10
    This game got way over criticized to the point I think a lot of gamers are becoming as disillusioned as IGN, because its actually a fun game with a pinch of Resident Evil nostalgia set in a what if universe and the game is like a cross between gears of war and left 4 dead, so maybe its a tad bit buggy, but its still a fun game and if you paid 10 or so bucks then you got moneys worth forThis game got way over criticized to the point I think a lot of gamers are becoming as disillusioned as IGN, because its actually a fun game with a pinch of Resident Evil nostalgia set in a what if universe and the game is like a cross between gears of war and left 4 dead, so maybe its a tad bit buggy, but its still a fun game and if you paid 10 or so bucks then you got moneys worth for sure, so don't pay attention to all the haters, because they probably drink the Bill Gates kool aid. Expand
  44. Sep 18, 2012
    8
    Purchasing this title, i went in, expecting the worst, however, i was very pleasantly surprised. I found this game to be both enjoyable and unique. ORC has flaws (aiming system, enemy health variation) but i found these avoidable and not all that bothersome or extreme as portrayed by some critics. I can see why die hard fans of the resident evil series would be disappointed as it did notPurchasing this title, i went in, expecting the worst, however, i was very pleasantly surprised. I found this game to be both enjoyable and unique. ORC has flaws (aiming system, enemy health variation) but i found these avoidable and not all that bothersome or extreme as portrayed by some critics. I can see why die hard fans of the resident evil series would be disappointed as it did not resemble resident evil 5, or 4, or any others, but is a fun game for someone looking for an action oriented 3rd person shooter. Expand
  45. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Operation raccoon city. A game which has been slammed by critics and fans alike. Seriously this game is everything i expected it to be, a third person socom with zombies. The story is set in many well known locations such as raccoon city police department, hospital, cemetery, (the building in resi 3 with the guy who locks himself in a storage tanker.) the gameplay is fun and controlsOperation raccoon city. A game which has been slammed by critics and fans alike. Seriously this game is everything i expected it to be, a third person socom with zombies. The story is set in many well known locations such as raccoon city police department, hospital, cemetery, (the building in resi 3 with the guy who locks himself in a storage tanker.) the gameplay is fun and controls really well, the cover which people seem to hate iv had no problem with, the shooting mechanic is really good and the abilities can be pretty cool. The melee which everyone seems to complain at is really brutal an makes you feel badass however online it is easily spammed and does no damage at all, speaking of which online the heroes mode is rediculous the heroes are total bullet sponges which is just stupid they should have the same health as in any other multiplayer mode. People keep also saying that there is no atmosphere this is wrong just from the fact that every location you are in is very well known.

    This game is alot of fun, if you are thinking this is going to be like other resi games you ll be disappointed you should know what ur buying before you do so watch some youtube gameplay and if you get the game remember to turn the gamma in options on the game to full because then you can see everything, the really dark areas are still dark but know you can slightly see whats there.
    Expand
  46. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    I think it was a good idea but Capcom gave little money Slant Six Game to create a game based. The characters are charismatic, weapons are well balanced (except the Samurai Edge destroys any other gun). Of course it has some flaws such as having no real cutscenes, the unbalanced difficulty, lack of bilities for the characters, some mythical enemy of the saga are not present (where ravensI think it was a good idea but Capcom gave little money Slant Six Game to create a game based. The characters are charismatic, weapons are well balanced (except the Samurai Edge destroys any other gun). Of course it has some flaws such as having no real cutscenes, the unbalanced difficulty, lack of bilities for the characters, some mythical enemy of the saga are not present (where ravens and spiders?) .. . with a little more money and time, I think that RE could be worthy of a 5 RE ... But Capcom has preferred to focus on RE 6, very bad and unworthy of the saga. It's a shame, I still hope a sequel ! Expand
  47. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    i don't get why people don't like this game i mean it's not like the rest of the res. evil games but it's fun and i had a good time playing it and i it's a nice zombie survival game
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 56
  2. Negative: 24 out of 56
  1. May 4, 2012
    40
    The characters, the story, the controls, the difficulty, and even the central premise... all of it seems to be on the right track, but none of it hits the mark. I still think there's a lot of potential here, but like any other game, the basics have to be nailed before it can start reaching for greatness.
  2. 50
    None of it feels much like Resident Evil. [Issue#84, p.85]
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    30
    An insult to Resident Evil fans, a failure at the most basic level for shooter fans, and a possible friendship-ender for those looking for a cooperative experience, Raccoon City is a disaster zone better left abandoned.