User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 297 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This is not a survival horror, its a 3rd person squad based RE universe game. That being said its fun, the problems some sites are saying (IGN) or not as bad as they make them. Its a nice step in another direction and I plan to enjoy for a while.
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    honestly enjoying this game. its not supposed to be like the other resident evils. If you look at it for what it is, ie: a 3rd person action game with zombies and some great multi player/co-op ideas its great. a lot of the negative reviews are people crying its not resident evil 4-2
  3. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    If you're looking for survival horror, you came to the wrong place. If you wanted a fun squad shooter, you're in the right place. Some game play mechanics can hinder you such as the ally AI and Spec. Ops take a few more bullets then they should. Other than that i found it as a solid game.
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This game is great. not a reg res evil . But the studio gave great game play through the action shooting.. the game is played best with friends. The AI is not great if you play alone.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    this game is going back to its original self with the characters and the original zombies its a must buy game so zombie fans go get it. it has the experience of the 1st couple of games with the nemisis and a reunion with some of the old character
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    ORC is not Resident Evil in the waiting (I mean the survival horror, back to the roots). ORC is a shooter in the Resident Evil universe, which is not supposed to be horror, but shooting a network with friends. Those who like to play Resident Evil and Left 4 Dead should buy the game. RE universe is unique and unrepeatable, and only now have the opportunity to play the bad ones (SAA) which is a big plus.Plot is interesting and do not forget that this is not a fully-fledged part of the series, it's only the spin-off. Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    I completely disagree with critics and everyone else who dis like this game. I think that this game is really good. Everyone is mad because it says resident evil and this is not a resident evil game like the past ones. Being a fan of the other resident evil games, I think that is a great squad based shooter with zombies thrown in. I thought the multiplayer wouldn't be that good, like most other games, but it's actually really good. The modes are all different from each other in good ways but I wish that there was a horde type mode in this game cause it would of fitted well. Overall this is a great game Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Fans of RE will enjoy the return of some familiar characters and the fleshing out of the RE2 storyline. There's a lot of potential here for more development. Visuals are slick, audio is intense, the action is good, story is engaging. A solid buy for anyone who is a fan of RE or who enjoys 3rd person shooters. Expand
  9. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I feel this game is what it set out to be...an awesome co-op experience, set in the iconic Raccoon City of Resident Evil...if anyone is looking for anything else...well then my dear friends you may get disappointed...and might as well wait for Resident Evil 6 this fall?
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I have played all games in the console series of Resident Evil and I can say, yes Raccoon City is nothing like those games. If you go into it thinking RC will be like all the beloved RE games in the past then prepare to be disappointed. If you like killing zombies and enjoy a ME3 like muiti-player experience then RC is a good choice.
  11. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    This is a decent game. Its much different than the regular Resident Evil games, and it shouldnt be judged as one. Its a near perfect squad based shooter that many shooter and zombie fans will enjoy.
  12. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    I was expect a horrid game and was quite surprised how much fun I had. I have not been a fan of RE beyond RE 3. For the 2 campaigns I played it was a fun and glitch free. I don't see why the reviewers are so bad. It is a very good game.
  13. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I love this game. Reviewers are reets. They always go with popular opinion. If you look at all the high rated games from reviewers like IGN you'll notice they're all games that are accepted and praised by the masses. Reviewers are dumb sheep and more mindless than the Raccoon city's population.
  14. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This game is great, but it is also not for everyone, Half the appeal is the set pieces from all the resident evil games and the back side of the main stories.
  15. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    this game, a refreshing installment to the series does come with some bad points to it like graphic errors and some clunky gameplay (at some points). where the game is great for me is the story from the other side of things. being the umbrella task force is great fun and being able to play co-op with friends makes the campaign experience better. the multiplayer is full of fun modes and great old characters that i like to see, plus there are zombies everywhere which made it feel really different and fun from any other online. overall i love how much fun i have online with friends or by myself, i guess killing zombies is just still too fun. Expand
  16. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    For hardcore Resident Evil fans only:

    Alright, listen up guys. If youâ
  17. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Having more in common with Left 4 Dead and Lost Planet 2 then any Resident Evil title in terms of gameplay, some may be put off simply because this is so dissimilar to anything else in the RE universe. With that said, if gamers approach Operation Raccoon City bearing in mind that this is an entirely new genre for RE, what they'll find is a game full of RE fan service and plenty of gory fun; at it's best when enjoyed with friends. Expand
  18. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Let me start off saying that anyone that is considering getting this game I highly suggest not to read any of the major critics review even if it is a good one. Since they give games like MW3 a near perfect score, but time to cut to the chase. This not your average RE game. But does that mean that its not good no! I personally really enjoyed this game. This is more of a squad base shooter with the RE feel to it. When playing the campaign I was playing with my friends which makes the overall experience 10x more better. Raccoon City is more of a coop game and really enjoyable with friends. The online was a surprise to me. I didnt expect it to be as good as it is. There is a deep selection of weapons which I didnt expect at all. When purchasing weapons its the same as the COD system you purchase them with XP! The modes are good but I think by far the best and most intense one is "Survivor" knowing that you will have to kill one of your friends you are playing with to get on the helicopter since there is a limited amount of seats. But for die-hard RE fans you should definitely buy the game its something new but very enjoyable at the same time. Such as someone that just wants 2 play should just rent it. But its a good game overall! Expand
  19. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    I love the game. I got it just because the reviews were so bad on a hyped game. I'm not a Resident Evil Fanboy-never really played one. I like fps like b3 and mw3. The single player is action packed. Interface out of game is slick. Combat controls intuitive. Multiplayer rocks! 8 player survivor is fantastic. Horror shooting at its best; moody and desperate. Weapon unlocks give long term-fun. Critics hate Stephen King too, but I like bubblegum horror and bubblegum horror games. Expand
  20. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Loving this game. A real blast co-op. Love the graphics and feel of most of the environments. This game is a perfect example of being victimized by IGNorants and the mainstream. You won't regret playing this especially if you have a few friends to roll with. Probably one of my favorite releases in the last year+
  21. Mar 24, 2012
    10
    this game is garbage! after the back to the classic formula with Revelations that merge perfectlly the horror and the action elements I tought Op. Raccoon city would be something like that but what you get is basiclly a Left 4 Dead clone yeah zombies are back but not the athmosphere. The characters are zero interesting they are just your generic bad ass squad and the story is iteresting but at the end I dont care because the story is a "¿What if Umbrella cleaned the city without leaving any trace?" and It doesnt change the series direccion. The AI is the major problem with this game, your allies are more stupid than Sheva from RE:5 and the enemies hit point are just random I was playing and I killed a hunter with a full machinegun magazine and suddenly other hunter appears, of course that it didnt attack me because the enemies AI also sucks, but anyway I got my gun out and with 3 bullets I killed it I was like WTF! I think that developers tought that if they just put zombies in the game by fan demand and then rush in to make the game, it would be succsesfull but no the game is not scary even with familiar RE creatures like likers, hunters and Nemesis himself, is a massive dissapointment. If you are looking for a good RE game get Revelations or wait until RE:6 came out. Expand
  22. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This game was everything i hoped it to be, if you're true Resident Evil fan you'll like this game not only because it's Resident Evil, but because it is really fun, stop whining and getting on the bandwagon haters

    Haters gonna hate lovers gonna love.
  23. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Well it really disappoints me to see all the negative attitudes towards this game. I have been a resident evil fan since the very first release, and I happen to really enjoy this game. I believe that people need to take this game for what it is, instead of what it could have been. I think Capcom tried to deliver something new, something different for the fans.Yes there are so many things they could have done with game and they did have a lot potential on their hands, but at the end of the day I find this to be a very enjoyable game because I play it for what it is. I definitely think many people did not give this game enough time. People that are complaining about the gameplay honestly haven't spent that much time with it in order to understand the system. The system seems to really shine in versus matches. With the variety of character abilities, weapons and maps, it really can become a strategic, intense affair. Most matches can be filled with mayhem. I find myself dodging across the floor from explosions, initiating cinematic brutal attacks to opposing players with the cqc system, setting up strategic placements depending on which class I am using, there are just so many possibilities. Its just a shame that there are a lot of people who don't realize this and haven't given the game a chance to discover this. The true enjoyment with this game shows through in the multiplayer. If Capcom allows slant six to patch some the issues with this game and people were to open their eyes to see the absolute fun that can come out of this game, I'm sure people would start to have a better view towards this game. Oh and some tips about the system. You can initiate brutal attacks by pressing AX after a cqc attack. Each character has unique special moves in cqc also. For example Vector/Willow can can slit an opponents throat then immediately take on that character's persona, which can be incredibly useful in versus MP. CQC attacks can be avoided through dodging. You are not destined to be repeatedly hacked at into a corner, most people that do that do not understand the system and the different possibilities you have like I explained above. Other things include the ability to smash someone's head into a wall. This is done by using cqc to stun your opponent against the wall then pressing A/ X to initiate the attack. Opponents can also be held in a special hold by holding B after a cqc attack. You then have the option of shooting your opponent in the head or hitting them with your pistol. I believe its little things like these that lead people to see the enjoyment in this game. Expand
  24. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I think everyone that hates this game, hates it because they tried to play versus and I owned them to the point of destroying their controllers. ;D GT is BirrML, bring it!

    I think the game is great, and refreshing after being stuck with so many COD clones, including COD's own clones. Meh, sorry, this game is different. Can't take it? Go back to playing your n00b friendly COD. If you use
    straegy and know how to do something other than run and shoot, you might fair decently in this game. It's all about tactics and using your powers properly. People who play dumbed down shooters, that only allow for run n gun, hate this game, of course, because gamers like me destroy them. Go back to your weak FPS and let the men handle this one ;D Expand
  25. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    for all you prick that keep complaining that its not like resident evil at all and it was a total faliure, and that it was to short, they are just morons. the makers stated plenty of times that it was going to be very different from the usual residents evils, so if you didn't want different just go play RE5 and stop complaining and making this game look bad. And yes the story was quite short but the story had very high replay value with all the things to collect and how much fun it is to just run around and kill zombies. plus, they have already released for campaign missions thru DLC and are going to release much more. As well as multiple campaign add ons there is multiplayer. The graphics were great, the co-op is fun to play with freinds, and the fast paced gameplay was a new and exciting feel to RE. So for all the idiots comparing this game to the other RE games, just stop, because its made to be different from every other RE and should not be compared with the old games. Whoever puts this game down is truly not a Resident Evil fan, and they are clearly to stupid to be happy with the new game and just got to keep complaining at every little thing they mention. Dont listen to the critics who over-analyze every little detail, there is plenty to do in this game and was quite a fun experience for me and my friends. Expand
  26. Jun 4, 2012
    9
    I seriously hate all of you for making me think this game was garbage. This game fully made me learn that I cannot trust ANYONE on the internet when looking at reviews. All of you gave this game a bad rap for the following reasons : it's not scary like the originals; it's action packed and doesn't feel like RE; the lackluster AI; short story mode. There are probably other petty reasons, but those are the main ones. First of all, judging a game because it's not like the previous games is just bias and awful. You have to judge this as a standalone game because it's a spinoff made by another company. Second, the AI isn't even that bad - playing with other people can solve this greatly, seeing as how that's how they designed the game. The short story mode doesn't matter because it has replayability. The difficulties help with this as well. You'll always want to go through the campaign again because you get XP and you get to experience the different classes. The XP lets you unlock perks and weapons, which carry over to the versus modes, which by the way, are also very fun. SO PLEASE, DON'T LISTEN TO THESE NEGATIVE REVIEWS. FORM YOUR OWN OPINION. THIS GAME IS GREAT IF YOU'RE INTO ZOMBIES AND JUST OVERALL FUN ACTION WITH YOUR FRIENDS. FORM YOUR OWN OPINION. FORM YOUR OWN OPINION. FORM YOUR OWN OPINION. I give this game an 8.5. But I'll just round it up to a 9 since it won't do decimals. Expand
  27. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    Operation raccoon city. A game which has been slammed by critics and fans alike. Seriously this game is everything i expected it to be, a third person socom with zombies. The story is set in many well known locations such as raccoon city police department, hospital, cemetery, (the building in resi 3 with the guy who locks himself in a storage tanker.) the gameplay is fun and controls really well, the cover which people seem to hate iv had no problem with, the shooting mechanic is really good and the abilities can be pretty cool. The melee which everyone seems to complain at is really brutal an makes you feel badass however online it is easily spammed and does no damage at all, speaking of which online the heroes mode is rediculous the heroes are total bullet sponges which is just stupid they should have the same health as in any other multiplayer mode. People keep also saying that there is no atmosphere this is wrong just from the fact that every location you are in is very well known.

    This game is alot of fun, if you are thinking this is going to be like other resi games you ll be disappointed you should know what ur buying before you do so watch some youtube gameplay and if you get the game remember to turn the gamma in options on the game to full because then you can see everything, the really dark areas are still dark but know you can slightly see whats there.
    Expand
  28. Jun 11, 2013
    9
    I don't see why everyone is ranting about this game.. I love it! Positives; -The graphics are amazing. -You can choose your character and team before playing. -You can choose from four different difficulty levels (casual, normal, veteran and professional). -The cut scenes aren't too long. -The loading screens aren't always long, but even when they are, there is only one in each mission which is at the start (never any in the middle of game play).
    -The story line is strong and links to every mission.
    -It is highly addictive; when you start playing you can't stop!

    Negatives;
    -The AI team are absolute sh*t, so it's best to play co-op.
    -Unlike some of the earlier RE games, this game is focused more on the action less than the actual horror.
    -You can sometimes be out of your depths with the amount of enemies.
    -Some of the enemies are extremely hard to take out- for example, hunters.
    -Some of the levels are hard to pass, even in the early stages.
    Expand
  29. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    I think it was a good idea but Capcom gave little money Slant Six Game to create a game based. The characters are charismatic, weapons are well balanced (except the Samurai Edge destroys any other gun). Of course it has some flaws such as having no real cutscenes, the unbalanced difficulty, lack of bilities for the characters, some mythical enemy of the saga are not present (where ravens and spiders?) .. . with a little more money and time, I think that RE could be worthy of a 5 RE ... But Capcom has preferred to focus on RE 6, very bad and unworthy of the saga. It's a shame, I still hope a sequel ! Expand
  30. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    i don't get why people don't like this game i mean it's not like the rest of the res. evil games but it's fun and i had a good time playing it and i it's a nice zombie survival game
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 56
  2. Negative: 24 out of 56
  1. May 4, 2012
    40
    The characters, the story, the controls, the difficulty, and even the central premise... all of it seems to be on the right track, but none of it hits the mark. I still think there's a lot of potential here, but like any other game, the basics have to be nailed before it can start reaching for greatness.
  2. 50
    None of it feels much like Resident Evil. [Issue#84, p.85]
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    30
    An insult to Resident Evil fans, a failure at the most basic level for shooter fans, and a possible friendship-ender for those looking for a cooperative experience, Raccoon City is a disaster zone better left abandoned.