User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 333
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    to the critics bashing this game I take their opinion with a grain of salt i mean come on ign gave this game a 4 and yet they give MW3 a 9 which clearly the worst game released so far I mean i hate and I do mean the word HATE Mw3 so much that I don't play with friends that Iv'e known for 7 years or even family members because that game is just simply that bad. so In my opinion Res Evil ORCto the critics bashing this game I take their opinion with a grain of salt i mean come on ign gave this game a 4 and yet they give MW3 a 9 which clearly the worst game released so far I mean i hate and I do mean the word HATE Mw3 so much that I don't play with friends that Iv'e known for 7 years or even family members because that game is just simply that bad. so In my opinion Res Evil ORC is a far better game than mw3 yet it got a 9 so go figure. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Having followed the Resident Evil franchise since it's inception, I for one have been less and less excited with each new release since RE4. The break into a more action styled gameplay and "hulked-out" protagonists have taken the fear factor from this once groundbreaking series and half heartedly turned it into a mash up of B-Movie tropes supported by lackluster storytelling. OperationHaving followed the Resident Evil franchise since it's inception, I for one have been less and less excited with each new release since RE4. The break into a more action styled gameplay and "hulked-out" protagonists have taken the fear factor from this once groundbreaking series and half heartedly turned it into a mash up of B-Movie tropes supported by lackluster storytelling. Operation Raccoon City on the other hand has been quite enjoyable as it does not attempt to disguise itself as a survival horror game. What you see is exactly what you get, a 3rd person shooter set in a familiar universe that provides a vehicle for exciting combat and interesting opportunities for the multi-player experience. However sub-par AI does hamper the threat factor of some opponents and overall storytelling in the game's campaign mode could have used more attention. I for one found the game to be a solid addition to my game collection and well worth the $60 price tag. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I debated between giving this game a 7 or 8 and landed on an 8 just to spite all the incredibly negative reviews of this game! First off, let me say, this game is not even close to as bad as what all these so called critics are saying... you know the critics who said massive pieces of garbage like "Dead Island" were fantastic. It is flawed, but all in all its a pretty enjoyable game. AtI debated between giving this game a 7 or 8 and landed on an 8 just to spite all the incredibly negative reviews of this game! First off, let me say, this game is not even close to as bad as what all these so called critics are saying... you know the critics who said massive pieces of garbage like "Dead Island" were fantastic. It is flawed, but all in all its a pretty enjoyable game. At first playing I would have said no to buying it, but I did rent it, and I've actually been keeping it late and I've enjoyed it so much that if it drops below the initial price point just a bit I would buy it.

    The Pros:
    Great Action
    - Zombie fun and gore
    - Immersive set pieces, particularly when an environment is overrun with the undead. You find yourself truly relying on your team and needing eyes in the back of your head. No space is safe in an overrun area which adds to the tension and fun.
    - Plenty of ammo
    - Great call backs and tie ins to the original series
    - Fast paced fun gameplay
    The Cons:
    - AI can be a little sketchy, not to the level you've heard by any stretch, but it leaves something to be desired at times
    - Guns need a bit more variety in terms of impact and stopping power
    - Play through length... could easily go double
    - Loss of items and guns after dying, seriously the biggest flaw.

    Again, I stress, don't be fooled by all the negative hype... While it is flawed, if you're a fan of the series at all it is pretty enjoyable. Definitely flawed, but maybe something they can address w/ updates, but not flawed enough to stop you from enjoying it at all. I sincerely hope for more DLC missions within Raccoon City or other RE locales!
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This game is great. not a reg res evil . But the studio gave great game play through the action shooting.. the game is played best with friends. The AI is not great if you play alone.
  5. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    I completely disagree with critics and everyone else who dis like this game. I think that this game is really good. Everyone is mad because it says resident evil and this is not a resident evil game like the past ones. Being a fan of the other resident evil games, I think that is a great squad based shooter with zombies thrown in. I thought the multiplayer wouldn't be that good, like mostI completely disagree with critics and everyone else who dis like this game. I think that this game is really good. Everyone is mad because it says resident evil and this is not a resident evil game like the past ones. Being a fan of the other resident evil games, I think that is a great squad based shooter with zombies thrown in. I thought the multiplayer wouldn't be that good, like most other games, but it's actually really good. The modes are all different from each other in good ways but I wish that there was a horde type mode in this game cause it would of fitted well. Overall this is a great game Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    This is a decent game. Its much different than the regular Resident Evil games, and it shouldnt be judged as one. Its a near perfect squad based shooter that many shooter and zombie fans will enjoy.
  7. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    This game is great, but it is also not for everyone, Half the appeal is the set pieces from all the resident evil games and the back side of the main stories.
  8. Mar 22, 2012
    9
    For hardcore Resident Evil fans only:

    Alright, listen up guys. If youâ
  9. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    i don't get why people don't like this game i mean it's not like the rest of the res. evil games but it's fun and i had a good time playing it and i it's a nice zombie survival game
  10. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Don't Believe what the critics say, its a good game all in all. there are a few bugs here and there, but nothing that can't be a fixed with a quick patch. the game play is steady and sometimes challenging on the higher difficulties. its a good squad shooter to play with some friends. honestly i like the game because of the bigger arsenal and the ability's you can pick up through the game.
  11. Mar 20, 2012
    8
    Don't believe the anti-hype. if you're the type that buys and plays all of the various RE games across multiple platforms- Revelations, Umbrella Chronicles, Outbreak, the numbered sequels, and so on, you'll fit right in here. I'm amazed at how many people are bashing the "single player" portion of this game. I can't imagine anyone buying a L4D game and complaining that the AI teammates areDon't believe the anti-hype. if you're the type that buys and plays all of the various RE games across multiple platforms- Revelations, Umbrella Chronicles, Outbreak, the numbered sequels, and so on, you'll fit right in here. I'm amazed at how many people are bashing the "single player" portion of this game. I can't imagine anyone buying a L4D game and complaining that the AI teammates are no fun to play with, or that the story wasn't great. ORC mostly does what it sets out to do, even if it could use a little tlc in places. Great variety, the modes are fun with other players, and it explores different aspects of the RE universe than what we've seen before. At the end of the day, its a shooter, so don't penalize it for not being something else. Expand
  12. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    honestly enjoying this game. its not supposed to be like the other resident evils. If you look at it for what it is, ie: a 3rd person action game with zombies and some great multi player/co-op ideas its great. a lot of the negative reviews are people crying its not resident evil 4-2
  13. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    I personally liked this game, I have read the reviews, and the negative ones have solid reasoning. Its not like a true RE game that's true, but these guys made SOCOM right? I expected this to be more about being a team and not survival horror. I felt kinda empowered as a member of this team of USS bad asses. The only issue is when you are fighting, the guns just don't feel real toughI personally liked this game, I have read the reviews, and the negative ones have solid reasoning. Its not like a true RE game that's true, but these guys made SOCOM right? I expected this to be more about being a team and not survival horror. I felt kinda empowered as a member of this team of USS bad asses. The only issue is when you are fighting, the guns just don't feel real tough sometimes. Against zombies, I understand if a few shots are required to bring them down, but a head shot with a sniper rifle should drop a Spec-ops soldier. I love the atmosphere though. These guys have obviously encountered BOW's before, and they act as such, not getting scared. I personally love this game and I'm adding it to my collection. Love it or hate it, I won't judge, its just my opinion. Expand
  14. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This is not a survival horror, its a 3rd person squad based RE universe game. That being said its fun, the problems some sites are saying (IGN) or not as bad as they make them. Its a nice step in another direction and I plan to enjoy for a while.
  15. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    I was expect a horrid game and was quite surprised how much fun I had. I have not been a fan of RE beyond RE 3. For the 2 campaigns I played it was a fun and glitch free. I don't see why the reviewers are so bad. It is a very good game.
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    ORC is not Resident Evil in the waiting (I mean the survival horror, back to the roots). ORC is a shooter in the Resident Evil universe, which is not supposed to be horror, but shooting a network with friends. Those who like to play Resident Evil and Left 4 Dead should buy the game. RE universe is unique and unrepeatable, and only now have the opportunity to play the bad ones (SAA) whichORC is not Resident Evil in the waiting (I mean the survival horror, back to the roots). ORC is a shooter in the Resident Evil universe, which is not supposed to be horror, but shooting a network with friends. Those who like to play Resident Evil and Left 4 Dead should buy the game. RE universe is unique and unrepeatable, and only now have the opportunity to play the bad ones (SAA) which is a big plus.Plot is interesting and do not forget that this is not a fully-fledged part of the series, it's only the spin-off. Expand
  17. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    Resident Evil has been a staple in my gaming career for years now, and I've come to love the series, even 4 and 5. When Operation Raccoon City was announced I was overjoyed, it looked like a slick, multiplayer title. I have to admit when the reviews started to come out for it I was iffy on picking it up, but I was not dissapointed at all. I jumped right into the campaign and was glad IResident Evil has been a staple in my gaming career for years now, and I've come to love the series, even 4 and 5. When Operation Raccoon City was announced I was overjoyed, it looked like a slick, multiplayer title. I have to admit when the reviews started to come out for it I was iffy on picking it up, but I was not dissapointed at all. I jumped right into the campaign and was glad I completely disagreed with most of the critics. The combat is fun and fast paced, enemies are numerous and challenging, and melee takedowns are satisfying as all hell. The story is immersive, and it is great to play from the viewpoint of Umbrella. I regretfully have to agree the cover system is completely broken and the AI is shamelessly stupid. But there is an easy fix to this...grab your buddies and get ready for some zombie slaughtering! But not on the same TV of course, because split screen is inexcusably absent. The versus modes in this game are ridiculously addictive, my personal favorite being survivor. The game types work well, providing gamers with endless hours of enjoyment, and you may find yourself playing to the early hours of the morning with countless zombies' blood on your hands. Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I have played all games in the console series of Resident Evil and I can say, yes Raccoon City is nothing like those games. If you go into it thinking RC will be like all the beloved RE games in the past then prepare to be disappointed. If you like killing zombies and enjoy a ME3 like muiti-player experience then RC is a good choice.
  19. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    I love this game. Reviewers are reets. They always go with popular opinion. If you look at all the high rated games from reviewers like IGN you'll notice they're all games that are accepted and praised by the masses. Reviewers are dumb sheep and more mindless than the Raccoon city's population.
  20. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    Co-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Fans of RE will enjoy the return of some familiar characters and the fleshing out of the RE2 storyline. There's a lot of potential here for more development. Visuals are slick, audio isCo-op was a pretty daring direction for RE but, I feel that it works. As I'm playing through with my friends its got pretty some intense moments. I love the style of the team and I'm having fun playing it. Fans of RE will enjoy the return of some familiar characters and the fleshing out of the RE2 storyline. There's a lot of potential here for more development. Visuals are slick, audio is intense, the action is good, story is engaging. A solid buy for anyone who is a fan of RE or who enjoys 3rd person shooters. Expand
  21. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    If you're looking for survival horror, you came to the wrong place. If you wanted a fun squad shooter, you're in the right place. Some game play mechanics can hinder you such as the ally AI and Spec. Ops take a few more bullets then they should. Other than that i found it as a solid game.
  22. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    this game is going back to its original self with the characters and the original zombies its a must buy game so zombie fans go get it. it has the experience of the 1st couple of games with the nemisis and a reunion with some of the old character
  23. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I feel this game is what it set out to be...an awesome co-op experience, set in the iconic Raccoon City of Resident Evil...if anyone is looking for anything else...well then my dear friends you may get disappointed...and might as well wait for Resident Evil 6 this fall?
  24. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    Having more in common with Left 4 Dead and Lost Planet 2 then any Resident Evil title in terms of gameplay, some may be put off simply because this is so dissimilar to anything else in the RE universe. With that said, if gamers approach Operation Raccoon City bearing in mind that this is an entirely new genre for RE, what they'll find is a game full of RE fan service and plenty of goryHaving more in common with Left 4 Dead and Lost Planet 2 then any Resident Evil title in terms of gameplay, some may be put off simply because this is so dissimilar to anything else in the RE universe. With that said, if gamers approach Operation Raccoon City bearing in mind that this is an entirely new genre for RE, what they'll find is a game full of RE fan service and plenty of gory fun; at it's best when enjoyed with friends. Expand
  25. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Let me start off saying that anyone that is considering getting this game I highly suggest not to read any of the major critics review even if it is a good one. Since they give games like MW3 a near perfect score, but time to cut to the chase. This not your average RE game. But does that mean that its not good no! I personally really enjoyed this game. This is more of a squad base shooterLet me start off saying that anyone that is considering getting this game I highly suggest not to read any of the major critics review even if it is a good one. Since they give games like MW3 a near perfect score, but time to cut to the chase. This not your average RE game. But does that mean that its not good no! I personally really enjoyed this game. This is more of a squad base shooter with the RE feel to it. When playing the campaign I was playing with my friends which makes the overall experience 10x more better. Raccoon City is more of a coop game and really enjoyable with friends. The online was a surprise to me. I didnt expect it to be as good as it is. There is a deep selection of weapons which I didnt expect at all. When purchasing weapons its the same as the COD system you purchase them with XP! The modes are good but I think by far the best and most intense one is "Survivor" knowing that you will have to kill one of your friends you are playing with to get on the helicopter since there is a limited amount of seats. But for die-hard RE fans you should definitely buy the game its something new but very enjoyable at the same time. Such as someone that just wants 2 play should just rent it. But its a good game overall! Expand
  26. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    It's difficult to judge this game as it completely represents Capcom visions through different perspectives, but since they didn't dig deep into it, it makes it easier yet a bit painful to admit its far behind complete. it holds potential in many areas for instance: Gameplay is irrelevant to previous installments in the franchise, but its controls are addictive enough to keep your flameIt's difficult to judge this game as it completely represents Capcom visions through different perspectives, but since they didn't dig deep into it, it makes it easier yet a bit painful to admit its far behind complete. it holds potential in many areas for instance: Gameplay is irrelevant to previous installments in the franchise, but its controls are addictive enough to keep your flame burning, Multiplayer is unique as it holds very interesting modes and competitive match-making. Cutting it short, Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is worth a try, at least the blast of nostalgic familiarity around it will prove it worthy. Expand
  27. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    This game was everything i hoped it to be, if you're true Resident Evil fan you'll like this game not only because it's Resident Evil, but because it is really fun, stop whining and getting on the bandwagon haters

    Haters gonna hate lovers gonna love.
  28. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    Yes the storys short but this game has great replayability! When I rented it I had lots of fun with it and went out and bought it. It is a awful resident evil game but a great game.
  29. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    this game, a refreshing installment to the series does come with some bad points to it like graphic errors and some clunky gameplay (at some points). where the game is great for me is the story from the other side of things. being the umbrella task force is great fun and being able to play co-op with friends makes the campaign experience better. the multiplayer is full of fun modes andthis game, a refreshing installment to the series does come with some bad points to it like graphic errors and some clunky gameplay (at some points). where the game is great for me is the story from the other side of things. being the umbrella task force is great fun and being able to play co-op with friends makes the campaign experience better. the multiplayer is full of fun modes and great old characters that i like to see, plus there are zombies everywhere which made it feel really different and fun from any other online. overall i love how much fun i have online with friends or by myself, i guess killing zombies is just still too fun. Expand
  30. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    I love the game. I got it just because the reviews were so bad on a hyped game. I'm not a Resident Evil Fanboy-never really played one. I like fps like b3 and mw3. The single player is action packed. Interface out of game is slick. Combat controls intuitive. Multiplayer rocks! 8 player survivor is fantastic. Horror shooting at its best; moody and desperate. Weapon unlocks give longI love the game. I got it just because the reviews were so bad on a hyped game. I'm not a Resident Evil Fanboy-never really played one. I like fps like b3 and mw3. The single player is action packed. Interface out of game is slick. Combat controls intuitive. Multiplayer rocks! 8 player survivor is fantastic. Horror shooting at its best; moody and desperate. Weapon unlocks give long term-fun. Critics hate Stephen King too, but I like bubblegum horror and bubblegum horror games. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 56
  2. Negative: 24 out of 56
  1. May 4, 2012
    40
    The characters, the story, the controls, the difficulty, and even the central premise... all of it seems to be on the right track, but none of it hits the mark. I still think there's a lot of potential here, but like any other game, the basics have to be nailed before it can start reaching for greatness.
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 3, 2012
    50
    None of it feels much like Resident Evil. [Issue#84, p.85]
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    30
    An insult to Resident Evil fans, a failure at the most basic level for shooter fans, and a possible friendship-ender for those looking for a cooperative experience, Raccoon City is a disaster zone better left abandoned.