Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 310 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak andIt is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak and eliminate any survivors. Meanwhile, the US Government has quarantined the city and dispatched its own team of elite soldiers to determine the source of the mysterious outbreak. You are an Umbrella Security Services soldier (U.S.S.), competing alone or in up to four player co-op in a battle against all the competing forces at play in Raccoon City. Expect the return of original Resident Evil enemies, iconic landmarks such as the Raccoon City Police Department and fan favourite characters, including Leon S. Kennedy, who, as a rookie police officer in Raccoon City, is on your hit list to eliminate. Three Corner Conflict: Bio-Organic Weapons (B.O.W) and zombies create an unpredictable third force and additional challenge on the battlefield, adding chaos to the shooter game play. Campaign Mode - both single player and up to 4 player co-op: You are part of the Umbrella Security Service. Protect the truth behind the T-Virus outbreak by any means necessary. Fight Online: Robust and fully featured online multiplayer modes. Define your Play Style: Gain new abilities and skills unique to your playable character as your experience level increases. International Team Development: a high quality, fully loaded, third person co-op / multiplayer shooter developed in collaboration between Capcom Japan development studios and an experienced Western multiplayer specialist studio. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 56
  2. Negative: 24 out of 56
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    75
    An enjoyable Spin-Off with 4 players co-op campaign, lots of multiplayer modes and great fanservice. Graphics and AI could be better.
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    70
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a fun game that is simply buried under too much to be really great.
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    65
    The game has lots of flaws but it's hard to overlook the fact that during a dozen or so hours I had fun. This imperfect collection of ideas has that elusive element of satisfactory gameplay. I can recommend it to gamers with co-op partners that know that it's just a shooter set in a familiar universe.
  4. 50
    None of it feels much like Resident Evil. [Issue#84, p.85]
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    45
    An awkward and clumsy attempt to bring RE fans back to Raccoon City, failing in graphics, gameplay and general mood.
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    40
    A game that doesn't do justice to the name "Resident Evil". It's full of bugs. It's boring. It's a bad, bad game.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    30
    The intelligent use of horror, intensity, and most importantly, subtleness has gone. While this game is only a diversion until Resident Evil 6 arrives, Capcom have done an amazingly awful job. Resident Evil used to be the trendsetter, the series everyone looked up to, now its identity has been de-constructed in a major way.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 140
  2. Negative: 58 out of 140
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This is not a survival horror, its a 3rd person squad based RE universe game. That being said its fun, the problems some sites are sayingThis is not a survival horror, its a 3rd person squad based RE universe game. That being said its fun, the problems some sites are saying (IGN) or not as bad as they make them. Its a nice step in another direction and I plan to enjoy for a while. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    i don't get why people don't like this game i mean it's not like the rest of the res. evil games but it's fun and i had a good time playing iti don't get why people don't like this game i mean it's not like the rest of the res. evil games but it's fun and i had a good time playing it and i it's a nice zombie survival game Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    to the critics bashing this game I take their opinion with a grain of salt i mean come on ign gave this game a 4 and yet they give MW3 a 9to the critics bashing this game I take their opinion with a grain of salt i mean come on ign gave this game a 4 and yet they give MW3 a 9 which clearly the worst game released so far I mean i hate and I do mean the word HATE Mw3 so much that I don't play with friends that Iv'e known for 7 years or even family members because that game is just simply that bad. so In my opinion Res Evil ORC is a far better game than mw3 yet it got a 9 so go figure. Collapse
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    6
    Resident Evil: ORC is a 4-player class based tactical 3rd person shooter. Running parallel to the events of Resident Evil 2, the player takesResident Evil: ORC is a 4-player class based tactical 3rd person shooter. Running parallel to the events of Resident Evil 2, the player takes on the role of Umbrella Operatives tasked with destroying evidence that would implicate Umbrella in the outbreak in Raccoon city. For RE fans, the campaign offers a nice slice of G-Virus infected goodness. Bringing back classic characters, locations, and enemy types, it's a nice stroll down memory lane. The game play, on the other hand, needs some serious polish. Playing the game single player can be a frustrating experience. With ally AI scripting being down-right terrible at times, with instances of allies simply standing still, receiving damage, and running into your personal line of fire, The cover mechanic also needs work, as, peeking around/over cover can lead to breaking away from the cover, and being exposed to attack, and grenades will often get stuck, at the players feet. The campaign in multi-player, eliminates the AI shortcomings, and is a genuinely enjoyable experience. The online verses modes have a lot to offer, but glitchy behavior some of the maps make certain game types frustrating. There are also some balance issues between the classes. All and all, the game is decent, at it's current MSRP, it's a better rent then investment, but with some polish, by way of updates, the game could be a nice little gem for any Resident Evil fan, and eliminate the feeling that the product may have been rushed out the door, at 80% complete. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2012
    4
    Resident Evil: ORC is an awful game.
    the story is.. nonexistent. the combat is awful and shooting mechanic is extremely frustrating and bad.
    Resident Evil: ORC is an awful game.
    the story is.. nonexistent. the combat is awful and shooting mechanic is extremely frustrating and bad.
    in some parts of the game the sound is actually good like foot steps and some music, but at the most it is straight up bad - the guns sound like toys and the zombies, soldiers and the voice acting is awful.
    Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2012
    3
    I played only singleplayer, but the AI is terrible, bad story and sounds. Uncontrollable on PC. Short and repetitive campaign, only 3-4 hoursI played only singleplayer, but the AI is terrible, bad story and sounds. Uncontrollable on PC. Short and repetitive campaign, only 3-4 hours long. No waste your money! Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    I shot some one 5 times with the sniper and disn't die, he turned around shot me twice and killed me. CAPCOM if you "want the call of dutyI shot some one 5 times with the sniper and disn't die, he turned around shot me twice and killed me. CAPCOM if you "want the call of duty audience", start with fixing your broken system. Expand

See all 140 User Reviews