Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 308 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak andIt is September 1998 and the action centres on the ill-fated Raccoon City and the horrific consequences of the deadly T-virus outbreak, developed at the Umbrella facility. With a cover up required, Umbrella orders an elite team into Raccoon City to destroy all evidence of the outbreak and eliminate any survivors. Meanwhile, the US Government has quarantined the city and dispatched its own team of elite soldiers to determine the source of the mysterious outbreak. You are an Umbrella Security Services soldier (U.S.S.), competing alone or in up to four player co-op in a battle against all the competing forces at play in Raccoon City. Expect the return of original Resident Evil enemies, iconic landmarks such as the Raccoon City Police Department and fan favourite characters, including Leon S. Kennedy, who, as a rookie police officer in Raccoon City, is on your hit list to eliminate. Three Corner Conflict: Bio-Organic Weapons (B.O.W) and zombies create an unpredictable third force and additional challenge on the battlefield, adding chaos to the shooter game play. Campaign Mode - both single player and up to 4 player co-op: You are part of the Umbrella Security Service. Protect the truth behind the T-Virus outbreak by any means necessary. Fight Online: Robust and fully featured online multiplayer modes. Define your Play Style: Gain new abilities and skills unique to your playable character as your experience level increases. International Team Development: a high quality, fully loaded, third person co-op / multiplayer shooter developed in collaboration between Capcom Japan development studios and an experienced Western multiplayer specialist studio. [Capcom] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 56
  2. Negative: 24 out of 56
  1. Mar 22, 2012
    75
    An enjoyable Spin-Off with 4 players co-op campaign, lots of multiplayer modes and great fanservice. Graphics and AI could be better.
  2. Mar 30, 2012
    70
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is a fun game that is simply buried under too much to be really great.
  3. Mar 30, 2012
    65
    The game has lots of flaws but it's hard to overlook the fact that during a dozen or so hours I had fun. This imperfect collection of ideas has that elusive element of satisfactory gameplay. I can recommend it to gamers with co-op partners that know that it's just a shooter set in a familiar universe.
  4. 50
    None of it feels much like Resident Evil. [Issue#84, p.85]
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    45
    An awkward and clumsy attempt to bring RE fans back to Raccoon City, failing in graphics, gameplay and general mood.
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    40
    A game that doesn't do justice to the name "Resident Evil". It's full of bugs. It's boring. It's a bad, bad game.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    30
    The intelligent use of horror, intensity, and most importantly, subtleness has gone. While this game is only a diversion until Resident Evil 6 arrives, Capcom have done an amazingly awful job. Resident Evil used to be the trendsetter, the series everyone looked up to, now its identity has been de-constructed in a major way.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 139
  2. Negative: 57 out of 139
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    This is not a survival horror, its a 3rd person squad based RE universe game. That being said its fun, the problems some sites are sayingThis is not a survival horror, its a 3rd person squad based RE universe game. That being said its fun, the problems some sites are saying (IGN) or not as bad as they make them. Its a nice step in another direction and I plan to enjoy for a while. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    i don't get why people don't like this game i mean it's not like the rest of the res. evil games but it's fun and i had a good time playing iti don't get why people don't like this game i mean it's not like the rest of the res. evil games but it's fun and i had a good time playing it and i it's a nice zombie survival game Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    to the critics bashing this game I take their opinion with a grain of salt i mean come on ign gave this game a 4 and yet they give MW3 a 9to the critics bashing this game I take their opinion with a grain of salt i mean come on ign gave this game a 4 and yet they give MW3 a 9 which clearly the worst game released so far I mean i hate and I do mean the word HATE Mw3 so much that I don't play with friends that Iv'e known for 7 years or even family members because that game is just simply that bad. so In my opinion Res Evil ORC is a far better game than mw3 yet it got a 9 so go figure. Expand
  4. May 14, 2012
    6
    Resident Evil has created fantastic memories with many gamers from around the world. Because of its success Capcom tried in the past to tryResident Evil has created fantastic memories with many gamers from around the world. Because of its success Capcom tried in the past to try switching around the formula. The results ended in a bad gameboy color game, an online specific type Resident Evil game for the PS2, and an on-rail shooter for the Wii and by letting Slant Six Games take control of this project. We have another mediocre third person shooter in the market. I believe the idea sounds great. Instead of seeing Raccoon City through the eyes of a select few, watch as the outbreak is happening right then and there as Umbrella operatives try to cover up their company's mistake. But the execution falls short within the games basic ideas. You (and three other people if you choose so) will go through Raccoon City and try to eliminate all witnesses of the incident. But it doesn't take long for players to run into bugs and sloppy gameplay. While playing single player I notice that the AI for both the enemies and your squad mates are about as dumb as a bag of hammers. I have seen enemies run right into my line of fire and allies as well. This creates frustration and ultimately kills any experience the player is feeling at the moment. The actual shooting in the game feels underpowered and bland. I felt as though it didn't matter what gun I had because every gun felt to do the same amount of damage. The cover mechanic is broken as well. I found that actually taking cover works well but when in a frantic firefight this can be a downfall. There is no button you can press that allows you to switch from cover to cover. If you need to go into another area of cover, you have to usually jump into the fray (which you were trying to avoid at the time) just to go complete this task. Which, in turn, leads to death most of the time. Perhaps the most disappointing factor of Resident Evil: ORC is that the campaign somehow turns the most iconic characters, environments, and events into an uninspiring third wheel. You would think that going back into the famous police station and tunnels would be a sight for sore eyes but because the environments are so bland these areas feel lifeless and unimportant. The single player campaign is a mess but I found the most fun out of the multiplayer. I know I bashed the game so far but despite what I have said so far the game is fun at times. This fun can be found in its multiplayer. When playing with other people the game shines. Instead of killing brainless AI you have players that know what they are doing. Add along that there are zombies, lickers, and hunters roaming the areas of multiplayer, the intensity does come up. I found my favorite game mode to be a survival type game. Where you are supposed to survive until a chopper comes, since the chopper can only hold four people, it becomes a race to get there first since there is eight players total in every match. Along with Survival Mode, you have a typical death match game and some objective based modes. This is by no means a completely broken and unplayable game. But this game will satisfy many gamers. If you are looking for a game to play with three of your friends and can look past some obvious flaws then I can assure you that you will have a blast. That is why this game is deserving of a 62%. Expand
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City bad games. I love Resident Evil series, but I don't love spin-off for Resident Evil. This game copyResident Evil: Operation Raccoon City bad games. I love Resident Evil series, but I don't love spin-off for Resident Evil. This game copy Left 4 Dead for multiplayer and bad story with bags and crazy gameplay. Shooter gameplay kill horror on Resident Evil. Why play and buy this game, if i have Left 4 Dead 1,2 and Resident 1-5 and I saw great spin-off Resident Evil: Revelations? Thanks, I don't have this game. Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2014
    3
    Capcom tried to go and make a different approch with the Resident evil series and failed. They tried to mix this game up with 6 protagonistCapcom tried to go and make a different approch with the Resident evil series and failed. They tried to mix this game up with 6 protagonist that no one gives a damn about, and mix the gameplay up with a survival horror , and special op type of ****. This DLC takes you back to Resident Evil 2 in a up to date, BS way. So you're basically Umbrella's clean up crew, and you have to remove any evidence of their involvement. The plot is steel, the AI can be very stupid at times, and there's no polish. Yeah, it's very Glitchy. The combat is so repetitive. It's just knife, knife and kick. I could care less about the extra weapons or abilities. This game is boring,unpolished, and takes itself way too seriously. It is don't buy. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    0
    I shot some one 5 times with the sniper and disn't die, he turned around shot me twice and killed me. CAPCOM if you "want the call of dutyI shot some one 5 times with the sniper and disn't die, he turned around shot me twice and killed me. CAPCOM if you "want the call of duty audience", start with fixing your broken system. Expand

See all 139 User Reviews