Resident Evil: Revelations Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story's action is set at a time before the Kijuju and Lanshiang bioterror incidents when the BSAA was only a young organization. Join Jill Valentine aboard a ghost ship in the Mediterranean Sea searching for her old partner Chris Redfield. Discover the hidden truth behind the destructionThe story's action is set at a time before the Kijuju and Lanshiang bioterror incidents when the BSAA was only a young organization. Join Jill Valentine aboard a ghost ship in the Mediterranean Sea searching for her old partner Chris Redfield. Discover the hidden truth behind the destruction of a floating city. Or play in Raid Mode for a co-op killing-spree with friends over the Internet. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Resident Evil: Revelations - Gameplay Video #3
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Games Master UK
    May 30, 2013
    91
    Epic beyond its 3DS roots, Revelations takes survival horror back to basics. [July 2013, p.78]
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 13, 2013
    86
    I liked Resident Evil: Revelations on the 3DS, and I enjoy it on Xbox 360. Revelations gets all the areas right where Resident Evil 6 failed. [June 2013]
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Jul 2, 2013
    80
    You wouldn't know that this used to be a 3DS game. [Issue#99, p.73]
  4. May 20, 2013
    75
    It offers up a decent amount of missed opportunities, but still manages to capture some of the magic that Resident Evil was known for. If you’ve been waiting for a game in the franchise to return to its horror roots, this isn’t quite it, but it should leave you somewhat satisfied.
  5. Jun 14, 2013
    70
    After a couple of mis-steps, between Revelations and RE6, the franchise is firmly back on track.
  6. May 20, 2013
    70
    A great port of a good game that has a few problems, the result being something well worth picking up if you’re looking for some decent home console Resi action, or just something to get rid of the lingering taste of Resident Evil 6. Although this re-release is somewhat surprising, it is far from unpleasant.
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    55
    The developers had a full year to get this game ready for consoles and bring it up to the level of current RE titles. Instead of doing that, they shifted the graphics from 3D to HD. What a waste.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    Great game. Not an action game like 5 and 6 which is the way resident evil is suppose to be. People are complaining about the texture ofGreat game. Not an action game like 5 and 6 which is the way resident evil is suppose to be. People are complaining about the texture of graphics, but the atmosphere is scary. Graphics do not always make a good game. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    Amazing! Finally a RE game that isn't a brain dead Michael Bay action film! Revelations brings the series back to it's roots. Ammo and herbsAmazing! Finally a RE game that isn't a brain dead Michael Bay action film! Revelations brings the series back to it's roots. Ammo and herbs are in short supply (aside from the side story segments) the emphasis is back on exploration and the occasional puzzles to solve. It's a true survival horror game and it has tons of atmosphere!

    The setting works well and in many parts reminds me of the mansion from RE1. For fans of the classic style this is a godsend! Now if only we could get more like this! A RE2-3 REmake is definitely in order! If you are like me and can't stand RE5-6 then this is the game for you. Maybe Capcom will see that and start listening to fans!

    It would be nice to get a throwback title complete with fixed camera angles but that's just wishful thinking and most likely will never happen.
    Expand
  3. May 24, 2013
    9
    I'm a little confused by the moderate to poor reviews that most critics are giving this game it's everything it was on the 3DS and then some.I'm a little confused by the moderate to poor reviews that most critics are giving this game it's everything it was on the 3DS and then some. Personally, I think the graphics look very good on the console port, and really that's a testament to how well they were on the 3DS in the first place. The controls feel very smooth to me, though the only moderate gripe I can throw out there is the lack of a laser pointer for the aiming system. You now have a set crosshair that glows blue, red or green when it is locked onto a damageable target. Again, nothing huge but I do miss my laser pointer. Many critics have complained about the textures looking washed and blurry....however I have absolutely no complaints about them. As a matter of fact, I find myself soaking in the environment and even noticing things that I simply didn't when I played this game on the 3DS, so I'd say that's a nice improvement. Overall, this game is solid, and definitely a RE experience worth your time and money. Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2016
    8
    The XBOX 360 HD version of "Revelations" (originally made for the portable 3DS) is a pleasant surprise. It's actually a better RE game thanThe XBOX 360 HD version of "Revelations" (originally made for the portable 3DS) is a pleasant surprise. It's actually a better RE game than the much bigger "Resident Evil 6". Chronologically, this entry occurs between the events of 5 and 6. And it features both Jill Valentine and Chris Redfield who made their first appearances in the very first "Resident Evil" game. However, there are no zombies in "Revelations"; just disgustingly designed creatures than can be a real headache to kill.

    The great thing about "Revelations" is its "back to basics" approach. While there are action-filled segments (and cutscenes), it plays more like a classic RE title. Another words, it's a slower-paced adventure with an emphasis on discovery and puzzle solving. The firearms you'll find can also be upgraded with parts scattered throughout the levels. The narrative of "Revelations" is also structured like a "Call of Duty" game with each level containing a different protagonist and setting.

    In addition to the campaign, "Revelations" also features an "arcade" mode which can be played solo or cooperatively online. An RPG-like take on the typical "Mercenaries" bonus game, the players can control numerous "Resident Evil" characters and power up their weapons and abilities to defeat the increasingly difficult enemies in over 20 levels. It's a lengthy and fun add-on that Capcom will probably evolve over the course of many new titles.

    In the end, "Resident Evil: Revelations" feels more like an original XBOX 360 title than a port of a portable game. It's a quality spin-off that ranks up with "Dead Space", "Resident Evil 5" and "Bioshock" when it comes to good horror games available on the 360 console.
    Expand
  5. May 21, 2013
    7
    A good return to the original Resident Evil feel, but still could use some innovations on certain facets that has never been resolved in this series.
  6. Jun 1, 2013
    7
    Good Resident Evil game. It is in fact a Resident Evil as we know it, apart from the difficulties and frustrations of the past, such as theGood Resident Evil game. It is in fact a Resident Evil as we know it, apart from the difficulties and frustrations of the past, such as the inventory, or the typewriter saves, or the weapon equip method etc.

    The technical aspect of this game is average at best, the gun sounds are made for a portable device and lack the lower frequences, the textures, animations, detail, etc. all point towards the least amount of system memory used. It' s obviously optimized for the 3DS. The models don't look that awful and the controls are great.

    The atmosphere, the music, the pacing and the suspense are the good parts of this title. If Capcom weren't so greedy as to charge for a full and they sold it as a budget title, anyone could recommend this. For a full price title, it might be a better game than most other titles out there, but you're being ripped off your audiovisual pleasure, as it could have been much more. Obviously, after RE6 didn't meet Capcom's exxpectations, they had to go to plan B to counter the losses.

    If you have been expecting a Resi game like the old days, you're in for a treat. Just keep in mind that this is a port from a portable system. And not the powerful one.

    ps. Graphx are somewhere between Resi 4 HD and Resi 5. Probably near 4.
    Expand
  7. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    I will tell you why I think this game could not possibly deserve more than a score of 0 for the xbox 360 console. It feels like someone tookI will tell you why I think this game could not possibly deserve more than a score of 0 for the xbox 360 console. It feels like someone took their high school homework to university thinking they could pass it for a term paper. Maybe it was good for the 3DS platform, but it is ridiculous and offensive that they are selling this on the xbox 360 console for the price that they are selling it. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews